DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-4, 5-7, 9, 10, and 13-18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over PUBG Mobile and Knives Out video games as evidence provided in YouTube videos: PUBG Mobile VS Knives Out ! COMPARISON (PlayerUnknown's Battlegrounds VS Knives Out) - https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=F7wcEyQ6Vvk to GamingRfan in view of Rules of Survival video game as evidence provided in YouTube video “ in view of Rules of Survival BEST Tips and Tricks!!” - https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=vHhfND-ZAXo to ExxotikGaming.
Claims 1, 13, and 17. GamingRfan discloses an apparatus for state switching in a virtual scene, comprising:
(as required by claim 13) a memory and (as required by claim 17) non-transitory computer-readable storage medium storing a plurality of instructions; and
(as required by claim 13) a processor configured to execute the plurality of instructions, and upon execution of the plurality of instructions (note, PUBG Mobile and Knives Outs are video games played on computing devices such as smartphones, gaming consoles, computers that require memory, game programs, and a processor in order to present video game play), is configured to:
display, in a screen of a virtual scene via a display, a virtual object equipped with a virtual item and a state switching control for the virtual object (see PUBG Mobile and Knives Outs gameplay at 3:02-3:35 there are user interfaces, e.g., buttons/icons, that a user presses to store, change, or use different equipment), wherein the state switching control comprises a single control configured to simultaneously control both a motion state of the virtual object and an equipment state of the virtual item in response to a first input operation (see PUBG gameplay at 3:12-3:13, see Knives out gameplay at 3:19-3:20, a user taps a weapon icon then the player character’s arm motion to swap weapon, stowing a first rifle then using a second gun, the motion state is related to player character movement, e.g., arm or body movements, and the equipment state is related to stow and holding different items, e.g., weapons, guns, or the like);
receive the first input operation on the state switching control (see PUBG gameplay at 3:12-3:13, see Knives out gameplay at 3:19-3:20); and
in response to receipt of the first input operation on the state switching control, simultaneously change, via the display, a display of the virtual object from being in a first motion state to being in a second motion state and a display of the virtual item from being in a first equipment state to being in a second equipment state (see PUBG gameplay at 3:12-3:13, see Knives out gameplay at 3:19-3:20, a user taps a weapon icon then the player character’s arm motion to swap weapon, stowing a first rifle then using a second gun, the motion state is related to player character movement, e.g., arm or body movements, and the equipment state is related to stow and holding different items, e.g., weapons, guns, or the like).
However, if it is later deemed that Gamingfan does not disclose wherein the state switching control comprises a single control configured to simultaneously control both a motion state of the virtual object and an equipment state of the virtual item in response to a first input operation, see ExxotikGaming (Rules of Survival video gameplay at 7:09-7:11, a user a presses button to move player character in the car and stow current holding weapon, also, at 8:02-8:06 provides a weapon selection list, selection of new weapon causes player character's arm motion to stow first weapon and now hold second weapon). The video games of PUBG Mobile and Knives Out would have motivation to use the teachings of Rules of Survival video game in order to provide additional game changing options for the user to control virtual characters in doing so would make it easier for users to play the video game in doing so would provide a better gaming experience.
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the games of PUBG Mobile and Knives Out with the teachings of Rules of Survival video game as alternative ways to control virtual game characters.
Claims 2 and 14. GamingRfan in view of ExxotikGaming teaches wherein before the displaying the virtual object in the first motion state in the screen of the virtual scene, the method further comprises:
displaying a direction joystick control in the screen of the virtual scene (virtual directional control pad);
obtaining, in response to a drag operation on the direction joystick control, a drag position corresponding to the drag operation (a game player uses finger to touch, hold, and move the virtual directional control pad around); and
controlling, in response to the drag position being located at a target position, the virtual object to be in the first motion state (the virtual directional control pad causes the game character to move around the game world).
Claims 3 and 15. GamingRfan in view of ExxotikGaming teaches wherein the virtual object in the second motion state controls the virtual object in the second equipment state (user interface displaying areas for a game player to interact with different equipment, e.g., stow and switched weapons).
Claim 4. GamingRfan in view of ExxotikGaming teaches wherein the displaying the state switching control for the virtual object comprises:
displaying, in the screen of the virtual scene, a direction joystick control configured to control a motion state of the virtual object and an equipment state of the virtual item; and
displaying, in response to a drag operation on the direction joystick control, the state switching control for the virtual object when a drag distance corresponding to the drag operation reaches a target distance (note, the positioning of the equipment, e.g., stowed/stored away, strapped to player character’s back, occurs during different movement of the player character such as sprint, operate a vehicle as the user touches and moves the virtual directional game pad, e.g., d-pad, to a particular space away from the center).
Claim 5. GamingRfan in view of ExxotikGaming teaches wherein the displaying the state switching control for the virtual object comprises:
displaying an achievement obtained by the virtual object in the virtual scene (display messages, e.g., kills, completions, collected item, status updates); and
displaying the state switching control for the virtual object in response to the achievement reaching an achievement threshold (see ExxotikGaming at 0:41-0:50, 1:08-1:14 e.g., player1 kills player2 then player1 receives access to the items player2 had before being killed by player1).
Claim 6. GamingRfan in view of ExxotikGaming teaches further comprising changing the state switching control from being displayed in a first display style to being displayed in a second display style (an area for switching between weapons is highlighted, inventory menu) in response to the simultaneously changing the display of the virtual object from the first motion state to the second motion state and the display of the virtual item from the first equipment state to the second equipment state (in some cases the option to switch between weapons is turned off or particular equipment options are grayed-out or removed from the display screen, for instance, when a player character is driving a particular vehicle or runs out of ammunition of a particular weapon).
Claim 7. GamingRfan in view of ExxotikGaming teaches wherein the first input operation comprises a press operation, and wherein simultaneously changing the display of the virtual object from being in the first motion state to being in the second motion state and the display of the virtual item from being in the first equipment state to being the second equipment state is further in response to a press parameter of the press operation satisfying a state switching condition (user interface display areas that comprise of icons associated with the video game that are activated by touch by a user, note, touch buttons inherently have touch parameters to recognize when an touchscreen location has been pressed by a user).
Claims 9 and 16. GamingRfan in view of ExxotikGaming teaches further comprising:
determining a scene category of a scene in which the virtual object is located; and
matching the first equipment state of the virtual item with the scene category, and matching the first motion state of the virtual object with the scene category (various motions are used in the different game scenes which correspond to the weapons availability for use, e.g., a player character aims and shoots a gun while on foot, however, the gun is stowed away during driving particular vehicles).
Claims 10 and 18. GamingRfan in view of ExxotikGaming teaches when the virtual object is in the second motion state, displaying a target state icon in a target region in a display region of a direction joystick control to indicate that the virtual object is in the second motion state (for example, vehicle direction icons are displayed during corresponding game scenes).
Double Patenting
Claims 1-20 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-17 of U.S. Patent No. 12097428. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because both cases recite the same key limitations related to single control/input in response to an input operation on a state switching control to change a virtual object (i) from being in a first motion state to being in a second motion state, and (ii) from being in a first equipment state to being in a second equipment state.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 8/7/26 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
On pg. 9, the Applicant submits that GamingRfan cited gameplay videos motion state and equipment state are controlled by separate, independent controls. Neither control alone is configured to simultaneously control both states. By contrast, the amended claim 1 provides a single control specifically configured to simultaneously switch both the motion state and the equipment state in response to one input operation. However, the Examiner disagrees as in the GamigRfan reference, at 3:12-3:13, the PUBG gameplay on left side of screen provides an instance with the player character’s arm motion to swap weapons, i.e., stowing a first rifle then holding a second gun, this occurs upon the user tapping a different weapon icon than the weapon currently being held by the player character; the motion state is related to player character movement, e.g., arm or body movements, and the equipment state is related to stow and holding different items, e.g., weapons, guns, or the like. Also, in GamigRfan reference, at 3:19-3:20, Knives out gameplay on the right side of the screen, like instance above, the player character’s arm motion to swap weapons, i.e., stowing a first rifle then using a second gun in response to an icon press by the user. Hence, GamingRfan disclosure (of PUBG Mobile and Knives Out video games) appears to still read on independent claims 1, 13, and 17.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/DAMON J PIERCE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3715