DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-5, 7-16, and 18-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Lee et al (US 20240381378)- relying on Foreign App. Priority-KR1020240163990- May,11,2023.
As to claim 1 and 19 Lee discloses a first apparatus (first apparatus being a target UE, anchor UE, or server UE)- Lee, Fig.4 ¶0065- ¶0067 and a UE comprising (Lee Fig.11): at least one memory; and at least one processor coupled with the at least one memory and configured to cause the first apparatus to: transmit (Lee ¶0332), to a second apparatus- second apparatus being a target UE, anchor UE, server UE-(Lee Fig. 4, ¶0065- ¶0067), a configuration message comprising an indication to perform one or more of sidelink positioning reference signal (SL-PRS) or SL positioning data message transmission (Lee ¶0148-the UE 700 may make a request for transmission resources for SL-PRS transmission. Lee ¶0156-SL-PRS pre-configuration: may include resource allocation configuration information for SL-PRS resources or an SL-PRS resource set. Referring to FIG. 6, the existing sidelink data transmission resources may be specified through slot timing and a subchannel index), the configuration message comprising one or more SL positioning parameters (Lee ¶0149- each piece of SL-PRS resource request information may include the follow parameters. ¶0149- sl-DestinationIdentity: indicates a destination of requested/allocated SL-PRS transmission resources); and receive, from the second apparatus, a resource configuration message comprising a set of time-frequency resources in which to perform the one or more of the SL-PRS or SL positioning data message transmission- time- time frequency resource examples being dedicated SL-PRS only resource pool, shared pool including SL-PRS and SL data (Lee ¶0154- 1st sentence-In operation 717, the gNB 705 may configure information required for SL-PRS transmission in the UE 700 through an RRCReconfiguration procedure. ¶0155- SL-PRS transmission resource pool configuration (for example, SL-BWP-PRS-PoolConfig): may include resource pool information available by the UE for SL-PRS transmission. The shared resource pool or the dedicated resource pool may be configured as the SL resource pool for SL-PRS transmission); Lee ¶0167 In operation 723, the UE 700 may make a request for SL-PRS transmission resources to the gNB 705. As messages for making a request for SL-PRS transmission resources, a PHY layer L1 signal, a MAC layer MAC CE, and an RRC layer message may be used. When there is no UL grant required for transmitting the message making a request for SL-PRS transmission resources, the UE 700 may transmit an SL-PRS transmission resource request message by using scheduling request resources configured by the gNB 705 for the SL-PRS transmission resource request in operation 717).
As to claim 2 Lee discloses the first apparatus of claim 1, wherein the at least one processor is configured to cause the first apparatus to receive a higher-layer trigger to perform the one or more of the SL-PRS or SL positioning data message transmission (Lee ¶0147-In operation 713, the UE 700 may receive an indication of SL-PRS transmission for sidelink positioning from the LMF through LTE positioning protocol (LPP) signaling or an indication of SL-PRS transmission for sidelink positioning from another sidelink UE (for example, a server UE serving as the LMF in sidelink positioning) through a sidelink positioning protocol (SLPP).
As to claim 3 Lee discloses the first apparatus of claim 2, wherein the higher-layer trigger comprises sidelink positioning protocol (SLPP) layer (Lee ¶0147 ¶0169- SL-PRS Bandwidth: may include the size of a BW through which the SL-PRS is transmitted. Since the accuracy of sidelink positioning varies depending on the size of the BW through which SL-PRS is transmitted, requirements for an SL-PRS bandwidth may be configured in the UE by higher-layer signaling (LPP or SLPP),).
As to claim 4 Lee discloses the first apparatus of claim 2, wherein the at least one processor is configured to cause the first apparatus to receive the higher-layer trigger from a UE via one or more of: higher-layer signaling comprising one or more of sidelink positioning protocol layer (SLPP) (Lee ¶0147), PC5 radio resource control (RRC) (Lee ¶0097); or lower layer signaling comprising one or more of first stage sidelink control information (SCI) (Lee ¶0097- last sentence- The SCI may be divided into a 1st-stage SCI transmitted through the PSCCH and a 2nd-stage SCI transmitted through the PSSCH, and the 1st-stage SCI may include at least one piece of the following information); first stage medium access control (MAC) control element (CE), second stage SCI (Lee ¶0103, ¶0113- the 2nd-stage SCI may be included in PSSCH resources indicated to the 1st-stage SCI transmitted in operation 519, and may be transmitted along with data in operation 521), or second stage MAC CE (Lee ¶0167- 2nd sentence- As messages for making a request for SL-PRS transmission resources, a PHY layer L1 signal, a MAC layer MAC CE, and an RRC layer message may be used).
As to claim 5 Lee discloses the first apparatus of claim 1, wherein the configuration message comprises SL-PRS transmission characteristics (Lee ¶0167- 3rd sentence- the UE 700 may transmit an SL-PRS transmission resource request message by using scheduling request resources configured by the gNB 705 for the SL-PRS transmission resource request in operation 717.).
As to claim 7 Lee discloses the first apparatus of claim 1, wherein the first apparatus comprises one or more of a target user equipment (UE), an anchor UE, a server UE, or an apparatus configured to perform one or more of SL-PRS or SL positioning data message transmission (Lee Fig. 4, ¶0065- ¶0067- For the SL-P operation, the target UE 103 may transmit and receive the SL-PRS to and from the anchor UE 104 through a PC5 interface. Further, the target UE 103 and the anchor UE 104 may exchange control messages (for example, sidelink positioning protocol (SLPP) messages) for transmitting and receiving the SL-PRS and performing SL-P through the PC5 interface. A mode 1 or mode 2 scheme may be used as a method of configuring resources for sidelink (hereinafter, referred to as SL) transmission of the target UE/anchor UE 103/104).
As to claim 8 Lee discloses the first apparatus of claim 1, wherein the configuration message comprises one or more of: a SL positioning transmission resource request (Lee ¶0167- 2nd sentence- the UE 700 may transmit an SL-PRS transmission resource request message by using scheduling request resources configured by the gNB 705 for the SL-PRS transmission resource request in operation 717); at least one of a SL positioning receiver unicast, groupcast, or broadcast destination list; one or more of a SL positioning transmitter or receiver frequency list (Lee ¶0152- sl-TxInterestedFreqList: a list including indexes of frequency bands in which the UE is interested for NR sidelink transmission (here, for SL-PRS transmission) A scheme indicating a frequency corresponding to a first entry of sl-FreqInfoList broadcasted through SIB12 when an index value is 1); one or more SL positioning capabilities (Lee ¶0148- In operation 715, the UE 700 may make a request for transmission resources for SL-PRS transmission; Lee ¶0153- sl-CapabilityInformationSidelink: UECapabilityInformationSidelink message received from a peer UE (UE to receive SL-PRS); a SL positioning destination identifier (Lee ¶0159- Destination ID: may directly include a destination L2 ID of an SL-PRS reception UE. …When the gNB indicates the destination as the entry index value, the UE may analyze sl-DestinationIdentity within the SL-PRS-ResourceRequest IE corresponding to the corresponding index as the destination ID); a SL positioning cast type (Lee ¶0150- sl-CastType: a cast type corresponding to the destination of the requested SL-PRS transmission resources;).
As to claim 9 Lee discloses the first apparatus of claim 1, wherein the configuration message comprises one or more of SL-PRS dedicated shared pools for at least one of mode 1 and Scheme 1 transmission or mode 2 and scheme 2 transmission Lee ¶0075- 1st sentence- In the mode 1 and mode 2 resource configuration, a shared resource pool or a dedicated resource pool may be configured as the SL resource pool for the SL-P operation.; ¶0154- 1st and 2nd sentences-In operation 717, the gNB 705 may configure information required for SL-PRS transmission in the UE 700 through an RRCReconfiguration procedure. At this time, SL-PRS transmission-related configuration information may include the following information. ¶0155- SL-PRS transmission resource pool configuration (for example, SL-BWP-PRS-PoolConfig): may include resource pool information available by the UE for SL-PRS transmission. The shared resource pool or the dedicated resource pool may be configured as the SL resource pool for SL-PRS transmission).
As to claim 10 Lee discloses the first apparatus of claim 1, wherein the configuration message comprises one or more SL-PRS and SL communication data dedicated resource pools for at least one of mode 1 and Scheme 1 transmission or mode 2 and scheme 2 transmission (Lee ¶0075- 1st sentence).
As to claim 11 Lee discloses the first apparatus of claim 1, wherein the configuration message comprises a coverage status indication of a set of discovered user equipment (UE), and wherein the coverage status indication comprises whether each discovered UE is in coverage or out of coverage (Lee ¶0065- 1st sentence- Referring to FIG. 4, there SL-P scenarios below may be defined according to whether a target/anchor UE is within each base station communication range (that is, cell coverage of the gNB); ¶0066-In Coverage scenario 100:¶0071- Partial coverage scenario 150: a scenario in which the target UE 103 of which the location is to be estimated in SL-P is located outside the communication range of the gNB 120 and the anchor UE 104 helping in location estimation is within the communication range of the gNB 120. ¶0075- ¶0076- Out-of-coverage scenario 152: a scenario in which the target UE 143 and the anchor UE 145 of which the location is to be estimated in SL-P are all located outside the gNB communication range).
As to claim 12 Lee discloses a processor for wireless communication (Lee Fig.12), comprising: at least one controller coupled with at least one memory (Lee ¶0342) and configured to cause the processor to: transmit, from a first apparatus to a second apparatus, a configuration message comprising an indication to perform one or more of sidelink positioning reference signal (SL-PRS) or SL positioning data message transmission Lee ¶0148-the UE 700 may make a request for transmission resources for SL-PRS transmission. Lee ¶0156-SL-PRS pre-configuration: may include resource allocation configuration information for SL-PRS resources or an SL-PRS resource set. Referring to FIG. 6, the existing sidelink data transmission resources may be specified through slot timing and a subchannel index), the configuration message comprising one or more SL positioning parameters Lee ¶0149- each piece of SL-PRS resource request information may include the follow parameters. ¶0149- sl-DestinationIdentity: indicates a destination of requested/allocated SL-PRS transmission resources); and receive, from the second apparatus, a resource configuration message comprising a set of time-frequency resources in which to perform the one or more of the SL-PRS or SL positioning data message transmission time- time frequency resource examples being dedicated SL-PRS only resource pool, shared pool including SL-PRS and SL data (Lee ¶0154- 1st sentence-In operation 717, the gNB 705 may configure information required for SL-PRS transmission in the UE 700 through an RRCReconfiguration procedure. ¶0155- SL-PRS transmission resource pool configuration (for example, SL-BWP-PRS-PoolConfig): may include resource pool information available by the UE for SL-PRS transmission. The shared resource pool or the dedicated resource pool may be configured as the SL resource pool for SL-PRS transmission); Lee ¶0167 In operation 723, the UE 700 may make a request for SL-PRS transmission resources to the gNB 705. As messages for making a request for SL-PRS transmission resources, a PHY layer L1 signal, a MAC layer MAC CE, and an RRC layer message may be used. When there is no UL grant required for transmitting the message making a request for SL-PRS transmission resources, the UE 700 may transmit an SL-PRS transmission resource request message by using scheduling request resources configured by the gNB 705 for the SL-PRS transmission resource request in operation 717).
As to claim 13 Lee discloses the processor of claim 12, wherein the at least one controller is configured to cause the processor to receive a higher-layer trigger to perform the one or more of the SL-PRS or SL positioning data message transmission(Lee ¶0147-In operation 713, the UE 700 may receive an indication of SL-PRS transmission for sidelink positioning from the LMF through LTE positioning protocol (LPP) signaling or an indication of SL-PRS transmission for sidelink positioning from another sidelink UE (for example, a server UE serving as the LMF in sidelink positioning) through a sidelink positioning protocol (SLPP).
As to claim 14 Lee discloses the processor of claim 13, wherein the higher-layer trigger comprises sidelink positioning protocol (SLPP) layer (Lee ¶0147 ¶0169- SL-PRS Bandwidth: may include the size of a BW through which the SL-PRS is transmitted. Since the accuracy of sidelink positioning varies depending on the size of the BW through which SL-PRS is transmitted, requirements for an SL-PRS bandwidth may be configured in the UE by higher-layer signaling (LPP or SLPP)).
As to claim 15 Lee discloses the processor of claim 13, wherein the at least one controller is configured to cause the processor to receive the higher-layer trigger from a user equipment (UE) via one or more of: higher-layer signaling comprising one or more of sidelink positioning protocol layer (SLPP) (Lee ¶0147 ¶0169), PC5 radio resource control (RRC) (Lee ¶0097); or lower layer signaling comprising one or more of first stage sidelink control information (SCI) (Lee ¶0097- last sentence- The SCI may be divided into a 1st-stage SCI transmitted through the PSCCH and a 2nd-stage SCI transmitted through the PSSCH, and the 1st-stage SCI may include at least one piece of the following information); first stage medium access control (MAC) control element (CE), second stage SCI(Lee ¶0103, ¶0113- the 2nd-stage SCI may be included in PSSCH resources indicated to the 1st-stage SCI transmitted in operation 519, and may be transmitted along with data in operation 521), or second stage MAC CE (Lee ¶0167- 2nd sentence- As messages for making a request for SL-PRS transmission resources, a PHY layer L1 signal, a MAC layer MAC CE, and an RRC layer message may be used.).
As to claim 16 Lee discloses the processor of claim 12, wherein the configuration message comprises SL-PRS transmission characteristics (Lee ¶0167- 3rd sentence- the UE 700 may transmit an SL-PRS transmission resource request message by using scheduling request resources configured by the gNB 705 for the SL-PRS transmission resource request in operation 717.).
As to claim 18 Lee discloses the processor of claim 12, wherein the first apparatus comprises one or more of a target user equipment (UE), an anchor UE, a server UE, or an apparatus configured to perform one or more of SL-PRS or SL positioning data message transmission(Lee Fig. 4, ¶0065- ¶0067- For the SL-P operation, the target UE 103 may transmit and receive the SL-PRS to and from the anchor UE 104 through a PC5 interface. Further, the target UE 103 and the anchor UE 104 may exchange control messages (for example, sidelink positioning protocol (SLPP) messages) for transmitting and receiving the SL-PRS and performing SL-P through the PC5 interface. A mode 1 or mode 2 scheme may be used as a method of configuring resources for sidelink (hereinafter, referred to as SL) transmission of the target UE/anchor UE 103/104).
As to claim 20 Lee discloses a network equipment for wireless communication (Lee Fig.12),
comprising: at least one memory; and at least one processor coupled with the at least one memory (Lee ¶0342) and configured to cause the network equipment to: receive, from a second apparatus, a configuration message comprising an indication to perform one or more of sidelink positioning reference signal (SL-PRS) or SL positioning data message transmission (Lee ¶0148-the UE 700 may make a request for transmission resources for SL-PRS transmission. Lee ¶0156-SL-PRS pre-configuration: may include resource allocation configuration information for SL-PRS resources or an SL-PRS resource set. Referring to FIG. 6, the existing sidelink data transmission resources may be specified through slot timing and a subchannel index), the configuration message comprising one or more SL positioning parameters(Lee ¶0149- each piece of SL-PRS resource request information may include the follow parameters. ¶0149- sl-DestinationIdentity: indicates a destination of requested/allocated SL-PRS transmission resources); and transmit, to the second apparatus, a resource configuration message comprising a set of time-frequency resources in which to perform the one or more of the SL-PRS or SL positioning data message transmission time- time frequency resource examples being dedicated SL-PRS only resource pool, shared pool including SL-PRS and SL data (Lee ¶0154- 1st sentence-In operation 717, the gNB 705 may configure information required for SL-PRS transmission in the UE 700 through an RRCReconfiguration procedure. ¶0155- SL-PRS transmission resource pool configuration (for example, SL-BWP-PRS-PoolConfig): may include resource pool information available by the UE for SL-PRS transmission. The shared resource pool or the dedicated resource pool may be configured as the SL resource pool for SL-PRS transmission).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 6 and 17 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure..
Manolakos et al- Signaling for Sidelink Positioning- WO 2024025704, ¶0101.
/DERRICK V ROSE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2462