DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Group I (claims 1-8 and 17-18, 20 and 21) and Species A (figs. 1-4b) in the reply filed on September 24, 2025 is acknowledged. Applicant states the associated claims for the elected species are claims 1-18 and 21 (claims 1-8, 17, 18 and 21). Applicant further states that at least claims 1-3, 5, 8-13, 15, 16, 17 and 21 (respectively) are generic to all the species (see election pg. 5).
Upon further review of the claims, examiner respectfully disagrees with applicant’s assertion that claims 18 and 20 being associated with elected species A (i.e. Figs. 1-4b).
For instance, the claimed limitations or features of claim 18, specifically, “…a first curved portion and a second curved portion….a curved recess between the first curved portion and the second curved portion…” IS NOT shown in the elected species BUT INSTEAD in non-elected species C (i.e. Figs. 6a-6b). Therefore, examiner withdraws claim 18; emphasis added.
Additionally, the claimed limitations or features of claim 20 (which depends from claim 18), specifically, “…the first curved portion….the second curved portion…” IS NOT shown in the elected species BUT INSTEAD in non-elected species C (i.e. Figs. 6a-6b). Therefore, examiner withdraws claim 20; emphasis added.
Therefore, Claims 9-16, 18 and 20 is/are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected invention and/or species, there being no allowable generic or linking claim.
In summary, claims 1-8, 17 and 21 (respectively) as being associated with the elected invention and species A and will be examined on their merits herein.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 3-6 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor, or for pre-AIA the applicant regards as the invention.
In claim 3, ln. 2-3, the phrase, “…at a non-vertical angle from a respective wall of the first set of walls…” renders the claim to be vague and indefinite because it is unclear as to what structural limitation(s) or relationship(s) is being encompassed with such language. The term, “…non-vertical angle…” is not defined by the claim, the specification DOES NOT provide a standard for ascertaining the requisite degree, and one of ordinary skill in the art would not be reasonably apprised of the scope of the invention.
In other words, the metes and bounds of the claim are unclear because what surface is vertical in relation to? Is vertical just 90 degrees or would any angle that has a vertical extend be excluded? With this in mind, further clarification is required.
As for claims 4-6, due to their dependencies from claim 3, they too have these deficiencies.
Examiner's note: The forgoing analysis may not be exhaustive. Applicant should carefully proofread all claims and make all necessary corrections.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-2, 7-8, 17 and 21 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Waldner (US 4840277 A; hereinafter Waldner).
Regarding claims 1 and 17, Waldner discloses cushion a bumper (12) comprising:
a base (14) member;
a cavity (44) sized to receive at least part of an object; and
a protrusion (34, 36 and 46) extending from the base member into the cavity and comprising a geometric shape configured to deform in the X-, Y-, and Z-directions in response to the application of a compressive force on the protrusion (Waldner Col. 2 ln. 50 – Col. 4 ln. 20 and Figs. 1-5).
Regarding claim 2, Waldner further discloses wherein the protrusion comprises a first set of walls that each extend at an angle of less than 90 degrees from the base member (see annotated Waldner Fig. 5 above).
Regarding claim 7, Waldner further discloses an end wall member (16 and 26), wherein the protrusion extends from both the base member and the end wall member (see annotated Waldner Fig. 5 above).
Regarding claims 8 and 21, Waldner further discloses wherein the cushion bumper is formed from at least one of a foam material (specifically foam plastic; see Waldner Abstract & Col. 2 ln. 54-62).
Alternative art rejection(s):
Claims 1-2, 7-8, 17 and 21 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Hopkins et al. (US 6499599 B1; hereinafter Hopkins).
Regarding claims 1 and 17, Hopkins discloses a bumper (10) comprising:
a base member (11);
a cavity (19) sized to receive at least part of an object; and
a protrusion (i.e. in the form of corrugations (16)) extending from the base member into the cavity and comprising a geometric shape configured to deform in the X-, Y-, and Z-directions in response to the application of a compressive force on the protrusion (Hopkins Col. 2 ln. 12 – Col. 3 ln. 3 and Figs. 1-4).
Regarding claim 2, Hopkins further discloses wherein the protrusion comprises a first set of walls that each extend at an angle of less than 90 degrees from the base member (see annotated Hopkins Fig. 2 above).
Regarding claim 7, Hopkins further discloses an end wall member (12 and 17-18), wherein the protrusion extends from both the base member and the end wall member (see annotated Hopkins Fig. 2 above).
Regarding claims 8 and 21, Hopkins further discloses wherein the cushion bumper is formed from at least one of a foam material (specifically foam plastic; Hopkins Col. 2 ln. 66 – Col. 3 ln. 4).
Claims 1, 7-8, 17 and 21 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Merrell et al. (US 20130048534 A1; hereinafter Merrell).
Regarding claims 1 and 17, Merrell discloses a bumper embodiment (1; as shown in Figs. 8-11) comprising:
a base member (i.e. in the form of interior surface(s) 56, 58 and 60 that make up overall bumper);
a cavity (i.e. the void created once all the sides are folded or erected into an enclosing space) sized to receive at least part of an object; and
a protrusion (10 and 12) extending from the base member into the cavity and comprising a geometric shape configured to deform in the X-, Y-, and Z-directions in response to the application of a compressive force on the protrusion (Merrell [0049-0056]).
Regarding claim 7, Merrell further discloses an end wall member, wherein the protrusion extends from both the base member and the end wall member (see Merrell Figs. 8-11).
Regarding claims 8 and 21, Merrell further discloses wherein the cushion bumper is formed from at least one of a foam material (Merrell [0045]).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. The cited documents are listed on the attached PTO-892 form.
Examiner has cited particular paragraphs and/or columns and line numbers in the references as applied to the claims above for the convenience of the applicant. Although the specified citations are representative of the teachings of the art and are applied to the specific limitations within the individual claim, other passages and figures may apply as well. It is respectfully requested of the applicant, in preparing responses, to fully consider the references in entirety as potentially teaching all or part of the claimed invention, as well as the context of the passage as taught by the prior art or prior art(s) disclosed by the Examiner (in the attached PTO-892 form).
/B. V. P./
Examiner, Art Unit 3736
/ORLANDO E AVILES/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3736