DETAILED ACTION
This office action is in response to the application filed on 08/14/2024. Claims 1-8 are pending and are examined.
Priority
Applicant’s benefit claim is hereby acknowledged of the U.S patent application No. 17/654,944, filed on 03/15/2022, which papers have been placed on record in the file.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 08/14/2024 was filed. The submission is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Double Patenting
Claims 1-8 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory obviousness-type double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1, 3-10, 12-18 and 20 of any patents granted on application No. 17/654,944.
Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because they are both claiming a common subject matter, “receiving from a trusted entity an endorsement pointer, referencing to a transaction claim which is approved by the same trusted entity and recording the pointer on a branch blockchain leger wherein the transaction was originally initiated.”.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Mehmet Aydar et al. ("Towards a Blockchain based digital identity verification, record attestation and record sharing system", ARXIV.ORG, CORNELL UNIVERSITY LIBRARY, 201 OLIN LIBRARY CORNELL UNIVERSITY ITHACA, NY, Pages: 1-25, 24 June 2019, referred to as Mehmet) in view of Zhong Tao et el. ("JointCloud Cross-chain Verification Model of Decentralized Identifiers", 2021 IEEE INTERNATIONAL PERFORMANCE, COMPUTING, AND COMMUNICATIONS CONFERENCE (IPCCC), IEEE, pages: 1-8, 29 October 2021, Referred to as Zhong).
Regarding claims 1, 4 and 7, Mehmet teaches:
creating a trunk blockchain ledger (Mehmet: P9. Par 3.3: Self-sovereign identity, “Self-sovereign identity (SSI) is an identity model in which any person; organization, or thing fully owns and controls their own data, and it is not governed by centralized authorities”; fig. 4: user's SSI; P12; Par 4.1: Digital identity management”), comprising:
a first unique identifier usable to access the trunk blockchain ledger (Mehmet: Fig. 4; P12, Par 4.1: Digital identity management,” A DDO includes the public key associated with the corresponding DID and metadata. needed to prove ownership the corresponding DID, and. endpoints of the DID objects to initiate trusted peer interactions between the ledger entities.”);
one or more signature rules (Mehmet: P7- P9, Par. Cryptography, hashing and digital signature); and
one or more public keys (Mehmet: Fig. 4; P12, Par 4.1: Digital identity management,” A DDO includes the public key associated with the corresponding DID and metadata. needed to prove ownership the corresponding DID, and. endpoints of the DID objects to initiate trusted peer interactions between the ledger entities.”);
creating, a first branch blockchain ledger off of the trunk blockchain ledger, the first branch blockchain ledger (Mehmet: fig. 3, P10; fig. 4, P12) comprising:
the first unique identifier (Mehmet: Fig. 4; P12, Par 4.1: Digital identity management, “DID”); and
a second unique identifier usable to access the first branch blockchain ledger (Mehmet: Fig. 4; P12, Par 4.1: Digital identity management, “DDO”);
recording, on the first branch blockchain ledger, at least a first blockchain transaction, wherein the first blockchain transaction comprises a first claim that is digitally signed using a private key corresponding to a public key of the one or more public keys (Mehmet: fig. 3, P11- P12, Par. 4: Proposed solution; Fig. 4, P12, Par. 4.1: Digital identity management);
providing the first claim to a trusted entity (Mehmet: fig.3, P10- P11, Par 3.5: Verifiable credentials; fig. 6, P14- P16, Par 4.3 Verifiable credentials in the system);
receiving, from the trusted entity, a first endorsement pointer that references the first claim, wherein the first endorsement pointer (Mehmet: fig. 3, fig. 6; P10- P11 and P14- P16) comprises:
a first hash of the first claim (Mehmet: P8- P9; hashed version; fig. 7; P17); and
recording, on the first branch blockchain ledger, the first endorsement pointer (Mehmet: fig. 3, fig. 6, fig. 7; 6; P10- P11 and P14- P17).
Mehmet does not explicitly disclose, however Zhong teaches:
a reference to a first endorsement that is located on a second blockchain ledger that is controlled by the trusted entity (Zhong: Fig. 4, D. Phases: (3) issuing verifiable claims, (4) signing for verifiable claims).
It would have been obvious to one ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teaching of Mehmet by Zhong for an entity to store a verifiable claim on its blockchain in order to allow every entity to conduct verification for the claim.
Regarding claims 2 and 5, the combination of Mehmet and Zhong teaches all the features of claim 1 and 4, as outlined above.
Mehmet further teaches:
wherein the second blockchain ledger comprises a plurality of hashes corresponding to different endorsements (Mehmet: P8- P9; hashed version; fig. 7; P17).
Claims 3, 6 and 8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Mehmet in view of Zhong and further in view of Novotny et al. (U.S Pub No. 2022/0398567 A1, referred to as Novotny).
Regarding claims 3, 6 and 8, the combination of Mehmet and Zhong teaches all the features of claim 1, 4 and 7, as outlined above.
Mehmet in view of Zhong does not explicitly disclose, however Novotny teaches:
wherein the first claim is encoded in a plaintext format (Novotny: Fig. 8, Step 810; ¶ 0145, “For example, plaintext claims are validated against the hashed claims in the secret information proof on the blockchain network by encrypting the plaintext claims and comparing them to the hashed claim. If the encrypted claims are identical or similar to the hashed claims, the plaintext claims may be verified.”).
It would have been obvious to one ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teaching of Mehmet in view of Zhong by to validate plaintext claims against claims in a secret information proof on a blockchain network by encrypting the plaintext claims and comparing them to the hashed claim in order to verify plaintext claims in a blockchain network environment. (Novotny: ¶ 0145).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure: See PTO-892.
/HASSAN SAADOUN/Examiner, Art Unit 2435
/JOSEPH P HIRL/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2435