DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1-22 have been considered but are moot in view of the new ground(s) of rejection.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-6, 8-17 and 19-22 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Worrall et al. (hereinafter ‘Worrall’, Pub. No. 2016/0142856) in view of Padro et al. (hereinafter ‘Padro’, WO 2012049223).
Regarding claims 1 and 12, Worral teaches a system (100, Fig. 1; [0039]) (with corresponding method) comprising:
a computing platform including a hardware processor and a memory ([0036]; [0039]; [0040]);
the memory storing a software code and a content delivery application deployable to a plurality of personal communication devices ([0040]); and
a plurality of directional antennas communicatively coupled to the computing platform (Fig. 5B; [0042]; [0043]; [0062]);
the hardware processor configured to execute the software code to:
transmit, using a first directional antenna of the plurality of directional antennas, a content activation signal to a predetermined area within a venue (1205, Fig. 12; [0027]-[0029]; [0043]; [0048]; [0049]);
wherein the content activation signal causes a content relevant to an event at the predetermined area to be played out by the content delivery application deployed to a first personal communication device of the plurality of personal communication devices, only when the first personal communication device is present in the predetermined area ([0052]; [0055]; [0057]-[0062]).
On the other hand, Worral does not explicitly teach
wherein the content relevant to the event is at least one of: (i) pre-loaded on the first personal communication device, or (ii) transmitted to the first personal communication device, in response to the system receiving a request from the first personal communication device.
However, in an analogous art, Padro teaches a system that allows a particular user to listen to a synchronized, alternate audio at a cinema/theater (page 11 line 30 to page 12 line 22). The user, through an app on his/her phone, receives content from a server that is played back as translation of the content being presented (page 17 lines 20-27; page 21 lines 4-9). The alternate audio could be received upon user selection through the app and can be delivered in different ways: downloaded in full on the mobile device in advance, right before the film starts or streamed in real or near-real time (page 13 lines 1-22). The mobile starts syncing after receiving a signal when the user is at the cinema (page 11 line 30 to page 12 line 22). The signal could be from the original audio content while playing or other forms, such as light or wireless (WiFi or Bluetooth) (page 24 lines 4-22).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Worral’s invention with Padro’s feature of receiving content relevant to event pre-loaded or transmitted in response to a request from the device for the benefit of allowing personalized enjoyment of a user through the known audio without interrupting others enjoying original audio.
Regarding claims 2 and 13, Worral and Padro teach wherein the content relevant to the event is pre-loaded on the first personal communication device, and wherein the content activation signal triggers playout of the content relevant to the event (Padro: Alternate audio could be received upon user selection through the app and can be delivered in different ways: downloaded in full on the mobile device in advance, right before the film starts or streamed in real or near-real time, page 13 lines 1-22. The mobile starts syncing after receiving a signal when the user is at the cinema, page 11 line 30 to page 12 line 22).
Regarding claims 3 and 14, Worral and Padro teach wherein the event comprises a performance or a narration in a first language, and wherein the content relevant to the event includes an audio translation of the performance or narration into a second language (Padro: page 2 line 23 to page 3 line 19; page 18 lines 1-15).
Regarding claims 4 and 15, Worral and Padro teach wherein the event comprises a performance or a narration in a spoken language, and wherein the content relevant to the event includes a translation of the performance or narration into a sign language (Padro: page 2 line 23 to page 3 line 19; page 18 lines 1-15).
Regarding claims 5 and 16, Worral and Padro teach wherein before the content relevant to the event is played out by the content delivery application deployed to the first personal communication device (Padro: page 12 lines 26-34; page 14 lines 7-21),
receive, from the first personal communication device, the request (Worral: ([0077]-[0088], where the user device can also send an advertisement and being interpreted as a request to activate content. Padro: page 12 lines 26-34); and
transmit to the first personal communication device, in response to receiving the request and using a second directional antenna of the plurality of directional antennas, the content relevant to the event (Worral: [0077]-[0088], the requested content can be transmitted through a second channel or antenna. Padro: Alternate audio could be received upon user selection through the app and can be delivered in different ways: downloaded in full on the mobile device in advance, right before the film starts or streamed in real or near-real time, page 13 lines 1-22. The mobile starts syncing after receiving a signal when the user is at the cinema, page 11 line 30 to page 12 line 22).
Regarding claims 6 and 17, Worrall and Padro teach wherein the performance or narration is a live performance or narration (Worral: [0087]).
Regarding claims 8 and 19, Worrall and Padro teach wherein the venue is one of:
a resort property, a hotel room, a casino, a cruise ship, an airplane, a train, or a safari vehicle (Worral: [0048]; [0055]; [0057]. Padro: page 19 lines 10-19).
Regarding claims 9 and 20, Worrall and Padro teach wherein;
the venue is a multiplex cinema including a plurality of theaters, and the predetermined area is a single theater of the plurality of theaters (Worral: [0074]. Padro: page 13 lines 1-22) ;
the venue is a museum, and the predetermined area is a museum exhibit; or
the venue is a theme park, and the predetermined area is a segment of a theme park ride or queue (Worral: [0055]; [0059]).
Regarding claims 10 and 21, Worrall and Padro teach wherein the plurality of directional antennas comprise at least one of Bluetooth antennas or Bluetooth Low Energy antennas (Worrall: [0006]; [0042]; [0046]; [0066]) .
Regarding claims 11 and 22, Worrall and Padro teach wherein the predetermined area is a specific location on a path of a theme park ride or a queue for the theme park ride, and wherein the content relevant to the event is played out by the content delivery application deployed to the first personal communication device (Padro: page 12 lines 26-34; page 14 lines 7-21) in synchronization with an action by an interactive feature of the theme park ride or the queue for the theme park ride at the specific location (Worrall: [0055]-[0058]).
Claim(s) 7 and 18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Worrall et al. (hereinafter ‘Worrall’, Pub. No. 2016/0142856) in view of Padro et al. (hereinafter ‘Padro’, WO 2012049223) in further view of Suiter et al. (hereinafter ‘Suiter’, Patent No. 11,201,981).
Regarding claims 7 and 18, although Worrall and Padro teach wherein the content relevant to the event is encrypted content reserved for users having an entitlement, and wherein before the content relevant to the event is played out to the user (Worrall: [0052]-[0054]), the hardware processor is further configured to execute the software code to: receive, from the one of the plurality of personal communication devices, an authentication data establishing that the user has the entitlement; and transmit to the one of the plurality of personal communication devices, in response to receiving the authentication data and using a second directional antenna of the plurality of directional antennas, at least one of a decryption key for the encrypted premium content or the encrypted content (Worrall: [0052]-[0054]), Worrall and Padro do not explicitly teach that the encrypted content is premium content.
However, in an analogous art, Suiter teaches a system that displays/presents content dependent on the location of the device. Suiter teaches that the system is able to present premium content that the user subscribes to/pays for (col. 34 line 51 to col. 35 line 9; col. 36 lines 1-40; col. 43 lines 22-30).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Worrall and Padro’s invention with Suiter’s feature of presenting premium content for the benefit of allowing the content provider to create revenue.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/OMAR S PARRA/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2421