DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Double Patenting
Claims 1-20 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-20 of copending Application No. 19/025,430 in view of Zanelli et al. (US 2010/0228163; hereinafter Zanelli). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the current application and copending Application No. 19/025,430 are directed to ultrasound treatment device comprising a housing, ultrasonic element, control unit, a graphical user interface, one or more processors, a hand wand comprising shaft, motor, communication interface cable, and a circuit board connected to a pin connector, interchangeable transducer module, but copending Application No. 19/025,430 fails to explicitly state that the housing is sealed with an acoustic fluid. Zanelli discloses an ultrasound treatment device with sealed housing comprising acoustic fluid (see par. [0024]). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing of the claimed invention, to have utilized the teaching of sealed housing with acoustic fluid in the invention of copending Application No. 19/025,430, as taught by Zanelli, to provide coupling medium for the ultrasound transmission for better treatment.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Claims 1-20 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-20 of copending Application No. 19/025,676 in view of Zanelli et al. (US 2010/0228163; hereinafter Zanelli). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the current application and copending Application No. 19/025,676 are directed to ultrasound treatment device comprising a housing, ultrasonic element, control unit, a graphical user interface, one or more processors, a hand wand comprising motor, communication interface cable, and a circuit board connected to PIN connectors, interchangeable transducer module but copending Application No. 19/025,676 fails to explicitly state that the housing is sealed. Zanelli discloses an ultrasound treatment device with sealed housing (see par. [0024]). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing of the claimed invention, to have utilized the teaching of sealed housing in the invention of copending Application No. 19/025,676, as taught by Zanelli, to provide a leak free housing.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Claims 1-20 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-20 of copending Application No. 19/025,353 in view of Bockenstedt et al. (US 2009/0240146; hereinafter Bockenstedt). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the current application and copending Application No. 19/025,353 are both directed to an ultrasound treatment system with a sealed housing, ultrasonic element, control unit, a graphical user interface, one or more processors, a hand wand comprising latch, motor, communication interface cable, and a circuit board connected to PIN connectors, interchangeable transducer module, but copending Application No. 19/025,353 fails to explicitly state a graphical user interface comprising a touch screen display.
Bockenstedt discloses a mechanical arm. Bockenstedt teaches that the user interface is a touch screen display (see par. [0056]). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing of the claimed invention, to have utilized the teaching of the user interface is a touch screen display, in the invention of copending Application No. 19/025,353, as taught by Bockenstedt, to provide a better user interface by having a faster and more Efficient Interaction.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 7-8 and 17-18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Regarding claim 7, the claim limitation “a circuit board for electrical connection to a pin connector” is indefinite because it is unclear if this circuit board and pin connection are same as the circuit board and pin connector that is already recited in claim 1. For examining purpose, it is assumed they are the same. Claim 8 is rejected as it depends from rejected claim 7.
Regarding claim 17, the claim limitation “a circuit board for direct electrical connection to a pin connector” is indefinite because it is unclear if this circuit board and pin connection are same as the circuit board and pin connector that is already recited in claim 12. For examining purpose, it is assumed they are the same. Claim 18 is rejected as it depends from rejected claim 17.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
(a) A patent may not be obtained though the invention is not identically disclosed or described as set forth in section 102, if the differences between the subject matter sought to be patented and the prior art are such that the subject matter as a whole would have been obvious at the time the invention was made to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which said subject matter pertains. Patentability shall not be negated by the manner in which the invention was made.
Claims 1-2, 4-6, 9, 11-13, 15-16, and 19 are rejected under pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 103(a) as being unpatentable over Zanelli et al. (US 2010/0228163; hereinafter), in view of Bockenstedt et al. (US 2009/0240146; hereinafter Bockenstedt).
Regarding claim 1, Zanelli discloses an ultrasound treatment device. Zanelli shows a device for ultrasound treatment (see fig. 2; ), comprising: a control unit (see par. [0025]) comprising: a graphical user interface comprising a display (see par. [0025]), the graphical user interface configured to display at least one operating condition such as treatment parameters (see fig. 3 and par. [0025]), one or more processor configured to execute software (see fig. 6; par. [0027])), and a power supply and a driver circuit configured to provide power (see fig. 6; par. [0025])); a hand wand (see par. [0024]; fig. 4-5) comprising: one or more button or switch configured to be operated by a user (see par. [0025]); a motor (see par. [0013], [0015], [0024]), a shaft (see fig. 5), and a communication interface cable to facilitate communication between the hand wand and the control unit (see fig. 5 and 6); a transducer module comprising: a sealed housing configured for comprising an acoustic fluid (see par. [0024]; fig. 5) and an acoustically transparent window (see par. [0024]; fig. 5), an ultrasonic piezoelectric element configured to focus ultrasound at a depth below a skin surface with a treatment frequency (see par. [0024]; 106 in fig. 5), and wherein the motor is configured to move the ultrasonic piezoelectric element to direct an ultrasonic treatment in a sequence of thermal lesions in a tissue (see [0003], [0023], [0026]).
But, Zanelli fails to explicitly state that the user interface is a touch screen display, the hand wand comprising a latch, that the transducer module is removable, the motor is configured to move the shaft and the shaft is configured to move the ultrasonic piezoelectric element, a circuit board configured for direct electrical connection to a pin connection comprising one or more pins, wherein the circuit board is configured to be operably coupled to the hand wand at a circuit board interface, wherein the removable transducer module is configured to removably couple with the circuit board interface and the latch of the hand wand, and wherein the removable transducer module is configured to detach from the hand wand via operation of the latch.
Bockenstedt discloses a mechanical arm. Bockenstedt teaches that the user interface is a touch screen display (see par. [0056]), the hand wand comprising a latch (see fig. 6A), that the transducer module is removable (see par. [0038]), the motor is configured to move the shaft and the shaft is configured to move the ultrasonic piezoelectric element (see par. [0061], [0063]), a circuit board configured for direct electrical connection to a pin connection comprising one or more pins, wherein the circuit board is configured to be operably coupled to the hand wand at a circuit board interface (see fig. 5A; par. [0069]); wherein the removable transducer module is configured to removably couple with the circuit board interface and latch of the hand wand (see par. [0038] and fig. 5A, 6A), and wherein the removable transducer module is configured to detach from the hand wand via operation of the latch (see par. [0038] and fig. 6A).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing of the claimed invention, to have utilized the teaching of the user interface is a touch screen display, the hand wand comprising a latch, that the transducer module is removable, the motor is configured to move the shaft and the shaft is configured to move the ultrasonic piezoelectric element, a circuit board configured for direct electrical connection to a pin connection comprising one or more pins, wherein the circuit board is configured to be operably coupled to the hand wand at a circuit board interface, wherein the removable transducer module is configured to removably couple with the circuit board interface and latch of the hand wand, and wherein the removable transducer module is configured to detach from the hand wand via operation of the latch in the invention of Zanelli, as taught by Bockenstedt, to provide a better user interface by having a faster and more Efficient Interaction, and be able to provide specific ultrasound module with specific treatment parameter for specific treatment with removable ultrasound transducer module, and to provide electrical connection between the hand wand and transducer module which would provide power to the transducer module.
Regarding claim 2, Zanelli and Bockenstedt disclose the invention substantially as described in the 103 rejection above, furthermore, Zanelli shows wherein the ultrasonic piezoelectric element is configured to configured to focus ultrasound along a linear thermal lesion path at the depth below the skin surface (see par. [0011] and fig. 5).
Regarding claim 4, Zanelli and Bockenstedt disclose the invention substantially as described in the 103 rejection above, furthermore, Zanelli shows wherein the driver circuit comprises a radio frequency (RF) driver circuit (see fig. 6; par. [0025]).
Regarding claim 5, Zanelli and Bockenstedt disclose the invention substantially as described in the 103 rejection above, furthermore, Zanelli shows wherein the one or more processors are configured to execute software to provide acoustic coupling detection (see par. [0022], [0024]).
Regarding claim 6, Zanelli and Bockenstedt disclose the invention substantially as described in the 103 rejection above, furthermore, Zanelli shows wherein the ultrasonic piezoelectric element is configured for acoustic coupling to the acoustically transparent window via an acoustic liquid in the sealed housing (see par. [0024]; fig. 5), wherein the ultrasonic piezoelectric element is configured to focus ultrasound energy at the depth for treatment in at least one of the group consisting of: a dermis tissue (see par. [0011], [0020]), and Bockenstedt teaches removable ultrasound transducer (see par. [0038]), and an interface port adapted to allow interfacing from the hand wand to the removable transducer module without affecting integrity of the sealed housing (see fig. 6A). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing of the claimed invention, to have utilized the teaching of an interface port adapted to allow interfacing from the hand wand to the removable transducer module without affecting integrity of the sealed housing in the invention of Zanelli, as taught by Bockenstedt, be able to provide specific ultrasound module with specific treatment parameter for specific treatment with removable ultrasound transducer module and avoid leaking of the ultrasound coupling medium.
Regarding claim 9, Zanelli and Bockenstedt disclose the invention substantially as described in the 103 rejection above, furthermore, Bockenstedt teaches a magnetic coupling (see par. [0067]).
Regarding claim 11, Zanelli and Bockenstedt disclose the invention substantially as described in the 103 rejection above, furthermore, Zanelli shows wherein the ultrasonic piezoelectric element is configured to focus ultrasound energy at a depth for treatment in dermis tissue (see par. [0011], [0020]).
Regarding claim 12: Zanelli discloses an ultrasound treatment device. Zanelli shows an ultrasound system, comprising (see fig. 2; ), comprising: a control unit (see par. [0025]) comprising: a graphical user interface comprising a display (see par. [0025]), the graphical user interface configured to display at least one operating condition (see fig. 3 and par. [0025]), one or more processor configured to execute software (see fig. 6; par. [0027])), and a power supply and a driver circuit configured to provide power (see fig. 6; par. [0025])); a hand wand (see par. [0024]; fig. 4-5) comprising: one or more button or switch configured to be operated by a user (see par. [0025]); a motor (see par. [0013], [0015], [0024]), and a communication interface cable to facilitate communication between the hand wand and the control unit (see fig. 5 and 6); a transducer module comprising an ultrasonic piezoelectric element (see par. [0024]; 106 in fig. 5), and wherein the motor in the hand wand is configured to linearly move the ultrasonic treatment piezoelectric element in the transducer module (see [0003], [0023], [0026] and fig. 5).
But, Zanelli fails to explicitly state that the transducer module is removable, wherein the removable transducer module is configured to removably couple with the hand wand such that the removable transducer module is configured to detach from the hand wand; a circuit board, wherein the circuit board configured for direct electrical connection to a pin connector comprising one or more pins, wherein the circuit board is configured to be operably coupled to the hand wand at the circuit board interface.
Bockenstedt discloses a mechanical arm. Bockenstedt teaches that the transducer module is removable (see par. [0038]), wherein the removable transducer module is configured to removably couple with the hand wand such that the removable transducer module is configured to detach from the hand wand (see par. [0038] and fig. 6A); a circuit board (see par. [0069]), wherein the circuit board configured for direct electrical connection to a pin connector comprising one or more pins (see fig. 5A and par. [0069]), wherein the circuit board is configured to be operably coupled to the hand wand at the circuit board interface (see fig. 5A).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing of the claimed invention, to have utilized the teaching of that the transducer module is removable, wherein the removable transducer module is configured to removably couple with the hand wand such that the removable transducer module is configured to detach from the hand wand, a circuit board, wherein the circuit board configured for direct electrical connection to a pin connector comprising one or more pins, wherein the circuit board is configured to be operably coupled to the hand wand at the circuit board interface in the invention of Zanelli, as taught by Bockenstedt, be able to provide specific ultrasound module with specific treatment parameter for specific treatment with removable ultrasound transducer module, and to provide electrical connection between the hand wand and transducer module which would provide power to the transducer module.
Regarding claim 13, Zanelli and Bockenstedt disclose the invention substantially as described in the 103 rejection above, furthermore, Zanelli shows wherein the ultrasonic treatment piezoelectric element is configured to configured to focus ultrasound along a linear thermal lesion path at a depth below a skin surface (see par. [0011] and fig. 5).
Regarding claim 15, Zanelli and Bockenstedt disclose the invention substantially as described in the 103 rejection above, furthermore, Zanelli shows wherein the driver circuit comprises a radio frequency (RF) driver circuit (see fig. 6; par. [0025]).
Regarding claim 16, Zanelli and Bockenstedt disclose the invention substantially as described in the 103 rejection above, furthermore, Zanelli shows wherein the one or more processors are configured to execute software to provide acoustic coupling detection (see par. [0022], [0024]).
Regarding claim 19, Zanelli and Bockenstedt disclose the invention substantially as described in the 103 rejection above, furthermore, Bockenstedt teaches a magnetic coupling (see par. [0067]).
Claims 3 and 14 are rejected under pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 103(a) as being unpatentable over Zanelli et al. (US 2010/0228163; hereinafter), in view of Bockenstedt et al. (US 2009/0240146; hereinafter Bockenstedt) as applied to claims 1 and 12 above, and further in view of Takahashi et al. (US 2005/0033201; hereinafter Takahashi).
Regarding claims 3 and 14, Zanelli and Bockenstedt disclose the invention substantially as described in the 103 rejection above, but fails to explicitly state a foot switch electrically connected to the control unit.
Takahashi discloses ultrasound surgical system and teaches state a foot switch electrically connected to the control unit configured for operation of removable transducer module (fig. and par. [0031]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing of the claimed invention, to have utilized the teaching of a foot switch electrically connected to the control unit in the invention of Zanelli and Bockenstedt, as taught by Takahashi, to provide a easy way to control the ultrasound module while the physician can use both hands to perform treatment.
Claims 7-8, 10, 17-18 and 20 are rejected under pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 103(a) as being unpatentable over Zanelli et al. (US 2010/0228163; hereinafter), in view of Bockenstedt et al. (US 2009/0240146; hereinafter Bockenstedt) as applied to claims 1 and 12 above, and further in view of Gliklich et al. (US 2007/0032784; hereinafter Gliklich).
Regarding claim 7, Zanelli and Bockenstedt disclose the invention substantially as described in the 103 rejection above, furthermore, Zanelli shows that the transducer module comprising: the ultrasonic piezoelectric element being configured to focus ultrasound with the treatment frequency (see par. [0011]), wherein the ultrasonic piezoelectric element is configured to focus ultrasound energy at a depth for treatment in at least one of the group consisting of: a dermis tissue (see par. [0011], [0020]); and Bockenstedt teaches a circuit board configured for electrical connection to a pin connector operably coupled to the hand wand (see par. [0041], [0048], [0049], [0074]). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing of the claimed invention, to have utilized the teaching of a circuit board configured for electrical connection to a pin connector operably coupled to the hand wand in the invention of Zanelli, as taught by Bockenstedt, to provide electronic communication.
But, Zanelli and Bockenstedt fail to explicitly state that the treatment frequency in a range of 1 MHz to 10 MHz.
Gliklich discloses a targeted muscle ablation for reducing signs of aging and teaches treatment frequency in a range of 1 MHz to 10 MHz (see par. [0016], [0032]). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing of the claimed invention, to have utilized the teaching of treatment frequency in a range of 1 MHz to 10 MHz in the invention of Zanelli and Bockenstedt, as taught by Gliklich, to be able to safely treat layers beneath the dermal layer.
Regarding claim 8, Zanelli, Bockenstedt and Gliklich disclose the invention substantially as described in the 103 rejection above, furthermore, Bockenstedt teaches wherein the pin connector comprises a spring pin connector (see par. [0041]).
Regarding claim 10, Zanelli and Bockenstedt disclose the invention substantially as described in the 103 rejection above, but fail to explicitly state wherein the ultrasonic piezoelectric element is configured to focus ultrasound energy at the depth for treatment of superficial muscular aponeurotic system (SMAS) tissue.
Gliklich discloses a targeted muscle ablation for reducing signs of aging and teaches wherein the ultrasonic piezoelectric element is configured to focus ultrasound energy at a depth for treatment of superficial muscular aponeurotic system (SMAS) tissue (see par. [0039]). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing of the claimed invention, to have utilized the teaching of wherein the ultrasonic piezoelectric element is configured to focus ultrasound energy at a depth for treatment of superficial muscular aponeurotic system (SMAS) tissue in the invention of Zanelli and Bockenstedt, as taught by Gliklich, to be able create control lesion to affect movement of muscle which reduce signs of aging.
Regarding claim 17, Zanelli and Bockenstedt disclose the invention substantially as described in the 103 rejection above, furthermore, Zanelli shows wherein the transducer module comprises: a sealed housing comprising an acoustic liquid (see par. [0024]) and an acoustically transparent window (see fig. 5), the ultrasonic treatment piezoelectric element being configured to focus ultrasound at a depth below a skin surface with a treatment frequency (see par. [0011]), wherein the ultrasonic treatment piezoelectric element is acoustically coupled to the acoustically transparent window via the acoustic liquid in the sealed housing (see fig. 5), and Bockenstedt teaches a circuit board configured for electrical connection to a pin connector operably coupled to the hand wand (see par. [0041], [0048], [0049], [0074]). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing of the claimed invention, to have utilized the teaching of a circuit board configured for electrical connection to a pin connector operably coupled to the hand wand in the invention of Zanelli, as taught by Bockenstedt, to provide electronic communication.
But, Zanelli and Bockenstedt fail to explicitly state that the treatment frequency in a range of 1 MHz to 10 MHz.
Gliklich discloses a targeted muscle ablation for reducing signs of aging and teaches treatment frequency in a range of 1 MHz to 10 MHz (see par. [0016], [0032]). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing of the claimed invention, to have utilized the teaching of treatment frequency in a range of 1 MHz to 10 MHz in the invention of Zanelli and Bockenstedt, as taught by Gliklich, to be able to safely treat layers beneath the dermal layer.
Regarding claim 18, Zanelli, Bockenstedt and Gliklich disclose the invention substantially as described in the 103 rejection above, furthermore, Bockenstedt teaches wherein the pin connector comprises a spring pin connector (see par. [0041]).
Regarding claim 20, Zanelli and Bockenstedt disclose the invention substantially as described in the 103 rejection above, but fail to explicitly state wherein the ultrasonic piezoelectric element is configured to focus ultrasound energy at a depth for treatment of superficial muscular aponeurotic system (SMAS) tissue.
Gliklich discloses a targeted muscle ablation for reducing signs of aging and teaches wherein the ultrasonic piezoelectric element is configured to focus ultrasound energy at a depth for treatment of superficial muscular aponeurotic system (SMAS) tissue (see par. [0039]). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing of the claimed invention, to have utilized the teaching of wherein the ultrasonic piezoelectric element is configured to focus ultrasound energy at a depth for treatment of superficial muscular aponeurotic system (SMAS) tissue in the invention of Zanelli and Bockenstedt, as taught by Gliklich, to be able create control lesion to affect movement of muscle which reduce signs of aging.
Response to Arguments
The previous objection to specification has been withdrawn in view of Applicant’s amendment to the specification.
The previous rejection under 35 USC 112 (b) to claims 2, 6, 7-8, 10 and 11 has been withdrawn in view of Applicant’s amendments to the claims.
Applicant's arguments filed on 08/28/2026, have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. In response to Applicant’s on pages 8-9, with respect to prior art rejection of independent claims, the examiner respectfully disagrees. The examiner maintains that combined invention of Zanelli and Bockenstedt does disclose all the claim limitations set forth in independent claims 1 and 12, particularly a circuit board configured for direct electrical connection to a pin connection comprising one or more pins, wherein the circuit board is configured to be operably coupled to the hand wand at a circuit board interface; wherein the removable transducer module is configured to removably couple with the circuit board interface and latch of the hand wand, and wherein the removable transducer module is configured to detach from the hand wand via operation of the latch.
The examiner notes that prior art Bockenstedt does teach a circuit board (see 28 in fig. 5A; par. [0069]) configured for direct electrical connection to a pin connection comprising one or more pins (see 24 or 40 in fig. 5A; par. [0069]), wherein the circuit board is configured to be operably coupled to the hand wand at a circuit board interface (see fig. 5A; par. [0069]); wherein the removable transducer module is configured to removably couple with the circuit board interface and latch of the hand wand (see par. [0038] and fig. 5A, 6A), and wherein the removable transducer module is configured to detach from the hand wand via operation of the latch (see par. [0038] and fig. 6A).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Randall (US 2008/0194960) discloses a removable transducer module (see fig. 3) and circuit board (see abstract).
/SHAHDEEP MOHAMMED/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3797