DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 09/17/24 has been considered by the examiner.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 3-4, 10-11 and 16-17 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The dependent claims 3-4, 10-11 and 16-17 are objected as allowable because the closest prior art found fails to disclose, teach or suggest either alone or render obvious in a combined teachings of the prior art, the uniquely distinct features in the specific order, structure and combination of limitations together as a whole of the limitations recited in the dependent claims in combination with all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims in between.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 8-9 and 13 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Deenoo et al. (US Patent Publication 2020/0374960 herein after referenced as Deenoo) in view of Zhou et al. (US Patent Publication 2019/0075014 herein after referenced as Zhou).
Regarding claim 8, Deenoo discloses:
A base station comprising: one or more processors; and memory storing instructions that, when executed by the one or more processors, cause the base station to: transmit a physical downlink control channel (PDCCH) order triggering a random-access procedure, (Deenoo, [0232] discloses The WTRU 704 may be configured to initiate beam recovery on the Scell 710 when the WTRU 704 receives a PDCCH order 720 (i.e. reads on transmit a PDCCH order) from the gNB 706 (i.e. reads on base station) on the SpCell 708. The PDCCH order 720 from the SpCell 708 may include an Scell index and/or a DL QCL reference e.g., SSB index and/or CSI-RS resource index associated with the Scell 710. The WTRU 704 may be configured to initiate random access procedure (i.e. reads on triggering a random-access procedure) on the Scell 710 using the UL beam 702 determined based on the Scell 710 DL QCL reference indicated in the PDCCH order 720; Deenoo, [0019] discloses Each of the base stations 114a, 114b may be any type of device configured to wirelessly interface with at least one of the WTRUs 102a, 102b, 102c, 102d to facilitate access to one or more communication networks. By way of example, the base stations 114a, 114b may be a base transceiver station BTS, a Node-B, an eNode B, a Home Node B, a Home eNode B, a next generation gNB, a new radio NR NodeB, a site controller, an access point AP, a wireless router, and the like; Deenoo, [0081] discloses physical downlink control channel PDCCH reception; Deenoo, [0254] discloses the methods described herein may be implemented in a computer program, software, or firmware incorporated in a computer-readable medium for execution by a computer or processor).
wherein: a first value of the field indicates that the reference signal is a downlink reference signal that is quasi-collocated with(Deenoo, [0232] discloses The PDCCH order 720 from the SpCell 708 may include an Scell index and/or a DL QCL reference e.g., SSB index (i.e. reads on and a second value of the field indicates that the reference signal is a synchronization signal block) and/or CSI-RS resource index (i.e. reads on a first value of the field indicates that the reference signal is a downlink reference signal that is quasi-collocated with the PDCCH order) associated with the Scell 710; Deenoo, [0100] discloses indirectly by measuring an RS which is QCLed with the serving PDCCH e.g., SS Block SSB, CSI-RS).
receive, for the random-access procedure, a random-access preamble (Deenoo, Fig. 7 & [0232] discloses The PDCCH order 720 from the SpCell 708 may include an Scell index and/or a DL QCL reference e.g., SSB index and/or CSI-RS resource index associated with the Scell 710. The WTRU 704 may be configured to initiate random access procedure on the Scell 710 using the UL beam 702 determined based on the Scell 710 DL QCL reference indicated in the PDCCH order 720. The random procedure (i.e. reads on for the random-access procedure) may include the WTRU 704 sending a random access preamble 724 (i.e. reads on receive a random-access preamble) on the Scell 710 on beam 702 and Fig. 7 shows the WTRU transmitting the preamble to the Scell of the gNB).
Deenoo discloses a mobile device receiving via a PDCCH, a QCL parameter indicating a downlink reference signal CSI-RS is QCLed with a PDCCH but fails to explicitly recite that said downlink reference signal is QCLed with a demodulation reference signal and therefore fails to disclose “the reference signal is a downlink reference signal that is quasi-collocated with a demodulation reference signal (DM-RS) of the PDCCH order;”.
In a related field of endeavor, Zhou discloses:
the reference signal is a downlink reference signal that is quasi-collocated with a demodulation reference signal (DM-RS) of the PDCCH order; (Zhou, [0150] discloses If a base station transmits a signal indicating a spatial QCL parameters between CSI-RS and DM-RS for PDCCH, a wireless device may use CSI-RSs (i.e. reads on the reference signal is a downlink reference signal) QCLed with DM-RS (i.e. reads on that is quasi-collocated with a DM-RS) for a PDCCH (i.e. reads on of the PDCCH order) to monitor beam pair link quality; Zhou, [0182] discloses The base station 2702 may transmit, to the wireless device 2701, one or more messages comprising at least one configuration parameters for a downlink beam management procedure e.g., “DL BM config” in FIG. 27. The one or more messages may comprise one or more: control information messages e.g., DCI via one or more PDCCH, such as indicated by “DCI X” in FIG. 27. The one or more configuration parameters for the downlink beam management procedure may comprise one or more of: at least one RS type e.g., SS block, CSI-RS, and/or DMRS of PBCH; a RS configuration, such as a CSI-RS resource configuration e.g., CRI, CSI-R ports, time and/or frequency, and/or periodicity, for example, if a CSI-RS is configured for the downlink beam management procedure; QCL parameters e.g., an indication indicating whether a RS resource is QCLed with a DMRS of a PDCCH; Zhou, [0148] discloses A base station may transmit one or more indications of a spatial QCL assumption between a first DL RS antenna port(s) and a second DL RS antenna port(s). The first DL RS antenna port(s) may be for one or more of a cell-specific CSI-RS, device-specific CSI-RS, SS block, PBCH with DM-RSs of PBCH, and/or PBCH without DM-RSs of PBCH. The second DL RS antenna port(s) may be for demodulation of a DL control channel).
Therefore, at the time before the effective filing date of the invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the invention of Deenoo to incorporate the teachings of Zhou for the purpose of providing the system with a means to conform to known properties of QCL parameters (Zhou, [0182]) and for the purpose of making the system more dynamic and adaptable by providing the system with added functionalities and various different alternatives in design, thereby allowing the system to handle a number of various different combination of specific design structure and scenarios and thereby, preventing the system from being limited to a single specific design structure and scenario (Deenoo, [0254]) and furthermore, one of ordinary skill in the art would recognize based on the guidelines to rationales supporting a conclusion of obviousness seen on MPEP 2143, that the modification would involve use of a simple substitution of one known element and base device (i.e. performing a process of a mobile device receiving via a PDCCH, a QCL parameter indicating a downlink reference signal CSI-RS is QCLed with a PDCCH as taught by Deenoo) with another known element and comparable device utilizing a known technique (i.e. performing a process of a mobile device receiving via a PDCCH, a QCL parameter indicating a downlink reference signal CSI-RS is QCLed with a PDCCH as taught by Zhou) to improve the similar devices in the same way and to obtain the predictable result of the system performing a process of a mobile device receiving via a PDCCH, a QCL parameter indicating a downlink reference signal CSI-RS is QCLed with a PDCCH (i.e. as taught by both Deenoo & Zhou) and is dependent upon the specific intended use, design incentives, needs and requirements (i.e. such as due to teachings of a known standard, current technology, conservation of resources, personal preferences, economic considerations, etc.) of the user and the system as has been established in MPEP 2144.04.
Regarding claim 9, Deenoo in view of Zhou discloses:
The base station of claim 8, wherein the instructions further cause the base station to (see claim 8).
transmit one or more configuration parameters indicating one or more control resource sets (coresets) for a cell, wherein the transmitting the PDCCH order is via a coreset of the one or more coresets (Deenoo, [0089]-[0090] discloses A WTRU may be configured with one or more beam sets, and each beam set may include a configuration for one or more beams. The configuration for beam sets may be cell specific. A WTRU may be configured with one or more beam sets. The configured beam sets may include, but is not limited to include, one or more of the following sets: PDCCH monitoring set and discloses If the WTRU is configured with a PDCCH monitoring set, the WTRU may monitor the PDCCH and decode DCI transmissions based on the received beam-specific PDCCH monitoring configuration in each beam of the PDCCH monitoring set. The beam-specific PDCCH monitoring configuration may include one or more of the following: a PDCCH resource allocation e.g., parameters to determine a control-resource set CORESET; Deenoo, [0242] discloses the WTRU may monitor DCI in a CORESET preconfigured for BFR in Scell. In another example, if a CORESET for Scell is not configured explicitly, the WTRU may assume the same BFR CORESET for all configured serving cells e.g., reuse SpCell BFR CORESET configuration for Scell; Deenoo, [0156] discloses The WTRU 504 may be configured by the gNB 506 and/or RRC signaling 508 with a set of possible configuration sets 530, where each configuration set may include a CORESET configuration; Deenoo, [0232] discloses The PDCCH order 720 from the SpCell 708 may include an Scell index and/or a DL QCL reference e.g., SSB index and/or CSI-RS resource index associated with the Scell 710. The WTRU 704 may be configured to initiate random access procedure on the Scell 710 using the UL beam 702 determined based on the Scell 710 DL QCL reference indicated in the PDCCH order 720. The random procedure may include the WTRU 704 sending a random access preamble 724 on the Scell 710 on beam 702; Deenoo, [0003] discloses A WTRU may monitor for beam failure on a secondary cell Scell. The WTRU may transmit a random access preamble on the SCell using the selected QCL reference and the selected candidate beam, and may receive a first random access response RAR on the selected candidate beam on the Scell).
Regarding claim 13, Deenoo in view of Zhou discloses:
The base station of claim 8, (see claim 8).
wherein the PDCCH order indicates the synchronization signal block (Deenoo, [0232] discloses The PDCCH order 720 from the SpCell 708 may include an Scell index and/or a DL QCL reference e.g., SSB index and/or CSI-RS resource index associated with the Scell 710).
Claim(s) 1-2, 5-7, 12, 14-15 and 18-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Deenoo et al. (US Patent Publication 2020/0374960 herein after referenced as Deenoo) in view of Zhou et al. (US Patent Publication 2019/0075014 herein after referenced as Zhou) and further in view of JIANG et al. (US Patent Publication 2019/0313345 herein after referenced as Jiang).
Regarding claim 1 and claim 14, Deenoo discloses:
A wireless device comprising: one or more processors; and memory storing instructions that, when executed by the one or more processors, cause the wireless device to: and A non-transitory computer-readable medium comprising instructions that, when executed by one or more processors of a wireless device, cause the wireless device to: receive a physical downlink control channel (PDCCH) order triggering a random-access procedure, (Deenoo, [0232] discloses The WTRU 704 may be configured to initiate beam recovery on the Scell 710 when the WTRU 704 (i.e. reads on wireless device) receives a PDCCH order 720 (i.e. reads on receive a PDCCH order) from the gNB 706 on the SpCell 708. The PDCCH order 720 from the SpCell 708 may include an Scell index and/or a DL QCL reference e.g., SSB index and/or CSI-RS resource index associated with the Scell 710. The WTRU 704 may be configured to initiate random access procedure (i.e. reads on triggering a random-access procedure) on the Scell 710 using the UL beam 702 determined based on the Scell 710 DL QCL reference indicated in the PDCCH order 720; Deenoo, [0019] discloses Each of the base stations 114a, 114b may be any type of device configured to wirelessly interface with at least one of the WTRUs 102a, 102b, 102c, 102d to facilitate access to one or more communication networks. By way of example, the base stations 114a, 114b may be a base transceiver station BTS, a Node-B, an eNode B, a Home Node B, a Home eNode B, a next generation gNB, a new radio NR NodeB, a site controller, an access point AP, a wireless router, and the like; Deenoo, [0081] discloses physical downlink control channel PDCCH reception; Deenoo, [0254] discloses the methods described herein may be implemented in a computer program, software, or firmware incorporated in a computer-readable medium for execution by a computer or processor).
the PDCCH order comprising a field indicating a reference signal, (Deenoo, [0232] discloses The PDCCH order 720 (i.e. reads on the PDCCH order) from the SpCell 708 may include (i.e. reads on comprising) an Scell index and/or a DL QCL reference (i.e. reads on a field) e.g., SSB index and/or CSI-RS resource index (i.e. reads on indicating a reference signal) associated with the Scell 710; Deenoo, [0100] discloses indirectly by measuring an RS which is QCLed with the serving PDCCH e.g., SS Block SSB, CSI-RS; Deenoo, [0080] discloses The term reference signal RS may refer to any signal, preamble or system signature that may be received and/or transmitted by the WTRU for one or more of the purposes described herein. Reference signals may be defined for beam management in the downlink DL and/or uplink UL. For example, channel state information reference signals CSI-RS, demodulation reference signals DMRS, synchronization signals and/or other signals, may be implemented for DL beam management).
wherein: a first value of the field indicates that the reference signal is a downlink reference signal that is quasi-collocated with(Deenoo, [0232] discloses The PDCCH order 720 from the SpCell 708 may include an Scell index and/or a DL QCL reference e.g., SSB index (i.e. reads on and a second value of the field indicates that the reference signal is a synchronization signal block) and/or CSI-RS resource index (i.e. reads on a first value of the field indicates that the reference signal is a downlink reference signal that is quasi-collocated with the PDCCH order) associated with the Scell 710; Deenoo, [0100] discloses indirectly by measuring an RS which is QCLed with the serving PDCCH e.g., SS Block SSB, CSI-RS).
transmit, for the random-access procedure, a random-access preamble (Deenoo, [0232] discloses The PDCCH order 720 from the SpCell 708 may include an Scell index and/or a DL QCL reference e.g., SSB index and/or CSI-RS resource index (i.e. reads on reference signal) associated with the Scell 710. The WTRU 704 may be configured to initiate random access procedure on the Scell 710 using the UL beam 702 determined based on the Scell 710 DL QCL reference (i.e. read on based on the reference signal indicated by the field) indicated in the PDCCH order 720. The random procedure (i.e. reads on for the random-access procedure) may include the WTRU 704 sending a random access preamble 724 (i.e. reads on transmit a random-access preamble) on the Scell 710 on beam 702; Deenoo, [0248] discloses then the WTRU may perform any one or more of the following actions: retransmit preamble in the Scell, with power ramping; Deenoo, [0100] discloses indirectly by measuring an RS which is QCLed with the serving PDCCH e.g., SS Block SSB, CSI-RS).
Deenoo discloses a mobile device receiving via a PDCCH, a QCL parameter indicating a downlink reference signal CSI-RS is QCLed with a PDCCH but fails to explicitly recite that said downlink reference signal is QCLed with a demodulation reference signal and therefore fails to disclose “the reference signal is a downlink reference signal that is quasi-collocated with a demodulation reference signal (DM-RS) of the PDCCH order;”.
In addition, Deenoo discloses a mobile device transmitting a random access preamble based on the reference signal field but fails to explicitly recite that said transmission utilizes a transmission power based on a reference signal and therefore fails to disclose “transmit, for the random-access procedure, a random-access preamble using a transmission power, wherein the transmission power of the random-access preamble is based on the reference signal.”
In a related field of endeavor, Zhou discloses:
the reference signal is a downlink reference signal that is quasi-collocated with a demodulation reference signal (DM-RS) of the PDCCH order; (Zhou, [0150] discloses If a base station transmits a signal indicating a spatial QCL parameters between CSI-RS and DM-RS for PDCCH, a wireless device may use CSI-RSs (i.e. reads on the reference signal is a downlink reference signal) QCLed with DM-RS (i.e. reads on that is quasi-collocated with a DM-RS) for a PDCCH (i.e. reads on of the PDCCH order) to monitor beam pair link quality; Zhou, [0182] discloses The base station 2702 may transmit, to the wireless device 2701, one or more messages comprising at least one configuration parameters for a downlink beam management procedure e.g., “DL BM config” in FIG. 27. The one or more messages may comprise one or more: control information messages e.g., DCI via one or more PDCCH, such as indicated by “DCI X” in FIG. 27. The one or more configuration parameters for the downlink beam management procedure may comprise one or more of: at least one RS type e.g., SS block, CSI-RS, and/or DMRS of PBCH; a RS configuration, such as a CSI-RS resource configuration e.g., CRI, CSI-R ports, time and/or frequency, and/or periodicity, for example, if a CSI-RS is configured for the downlink beam management procedure; QCL parameters e.g., an indication indicating whether a RS resource is QCLed with a DMRS of a PDCCH; Zhou, [0148] discloses A base station may transmit one or more indications of a spatial QCL assumption between a first DL RS antenna port(s) and a second DL RS antenna port(s). The first DL RS antenna port(s) may be for one or more of a cell-specific CSI-RS, device-specific CSI-RS, SS block, PBCH with DM-RSs of PBCH, and/or PBCH without DM-RSs of PBCH. The second DL RS antenna port(s) may be for demodulation of a DL control channel).
Therefore, at the time before the effective filing date of the invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the invention of Deenoo to incorporate the teachings of Zhou for the purpose of providing the system with a means to conform to known properties of QCL parameters (Zhou, [0182]) and for the purpose of making the system more dynamic and adaptable by providing the system with added functionalities and various different alternatives in design, thereby allowing the system to handle a number of various different combination of specific design structure and scenarios and thereby, preventing the system from being limited to a single specific design structure and scenario (Deenoo, [0254]) and furthermore, one of ordinary skill in the art would recognize based on the guidelines to rationales supporting a conclusion of obviousness seen on MPEP 2143, that the modification would involve use of a simple substitution of one known element and base device (i.e. performing a process of a mobile device receiving via a PDCCH, a QCL parameter indicating a downlink reference signal CSI-RS is QCLed with a PDCCH as taught by Deenoo) with another known element and comparable device utilizing a known technique (i.e. performing a process of a mobile device receiving via a PDCCH, a QCL parameter indicating a downlink reference signal CSI-RS is QCLed with a PDCCH as taught by Zhou) to improve the similar devices in the same way and to obtain the predictable result of the system performing a process of a mobile device receiving via a PDCCH, a QCL parameter indicating a downlink reference signal CSI-RS is QCLed with a PDCCH (i.e. as taught by both Deenoo & Zhou) and is dependent upon the specific intended use, design incentives, needs and requirements (i.e. such as due to teachings of a known standard, current technology, conservation of resources, personal preferences, economic considerations, etc.) of the user and the system as has been established in MPEP 2144.04.
Deenoo in view of Zhou fails to disclose “transmit, for the random-access procedure, a random-access preamble using a transmission power, wherein the transmission power of the random-access preamble is based on the reference signal.”
In a related field of endeavor, Jiang discloses:
transmit, for the random-access procedure, a random-access preamble using a transmission power, wherein the transmission power of the random-access preamble is based on the reference signal (Jiang, [0169]-[0170] discloses a random access power control apparatus 400 includes a first calculating unit 401 configured to calculate transmission power used by the UE in transmitting random access preambles and discloses by using a pathloss estimated based on an synchronization signal/physical broadcast channel block SS/PBCH block and/or a channel state information reference signal currently selected by UE, the first calculating unit 401 calculates the transmission power used by the UE in transmitting random access preambles; Jiang, [0190] discloses in calculating the transmission power, the first calculating unit 401 may calculate the transmission power according to feature parameters related to the UE, that is, the first calculating unit 401 may calculate the transmission power used by the UE in transmitting the preamble in the random access procedure according to the power ramping counter, the pathloss estimated based on the synchronization signal/physical broadcast channel block SS/PBCH block and/or the channel state information reference signal CSI-RS selected by the UE and the feature parameters related to the UE; Jiang, [0201] discloses Embodiment 5 provides UE, configured with the random access power control apparatus 400 describe in Embodiment 3 or the random access power control apparatus 500 describe in Embodiment 4; Jiang, [0216] discloses the time-frequency resources used in transmitting the SS/PBCH block may be indicated by transmitting the first indication information and/or the second indication information, which facilitates UE in performing data transmission/reception and measurement; Jiang, [0023] discloses An advantage of the embodiments of this disclosure exists in that in calculating the transmission power used by the UE in transmitting random access preambles, influences of multiple parameters are taken into account, which may be adapted for random access procedures of the UE in complex scenarios).
Therefore, at the time before the effective filing date of the invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the invention of Deenoo in view of Zhou to incorporate the teachings of Jiang for the purpose of providing the system with a means to take into account influences of multiple parameters which may be adapted for random access procedures of the UE in complex scenarios (Jiang, [0023]) and for the purpose of making the system more dynamic and adaptable by providing the system with added functionalities and various different alternatives in design, thereby allowing the system to handle a number of various different combination of specific design structure and scenarios and thereby, preventing the system from being limited to a single specific design structure and scenario (Deenoo, [0254]) and furthermore, one of ordinary skill in the art would recognize based on the guidelines to rationales supporting a conclusion of obviousness seen on MPEP 2143, that the modification would involve use of a simple substitution of one known element and base device (i.e. performing a process of a mobile device transmitting a random access preamble based on the reference signal as taught by Deenoo) with another known element and comparable device utilizing a known technique (i.e. performing a process of a mobile device transmitting a random access preamble based on the reference signal, wherein the transmission of the random access preamble utilizes a transmission power based on the reference signal and its corresponding path loss as taught by Jiang) to improve the similar devices in the same way and to obtain the predictable result of the system performing a process of a mobile device transmitting a random access preamble based on the reference signal (i.e. as taught by both Deenoo & Jiang) and is dependent upon the specific intended use, design incentives, needs and requirements (i.e. such as due to teachings of a known standard, current technology, conservation of resources, personal preferences, economic considerations, etc.) of the user and the system as has been established in MPEP 2144.04.
Regarding claim 2 and claim 15, Deenoo in view of Zhou and further in view of Jiang discloses:
The wireless device of claim 1, wherein the instructions further cause the wireless device to (see claim 1) and The non-transitory computer-readable medium of claim 14, further comprising (see claim 14).
receive one or more configuration parameters indicating one or more control resource sets (coresets) for a cell, wherein the receiving the PDCCH order is via a coreset of the one or more coresets (Deenoo, [0089]-[0090] discloses A WTRU may be configured with one or more beam sets, and each beam set may include a configuration for one or more beams. The configuration for beam sets may be cell specific. A WTRU may be configured with one or more beam sets. The configured beam sets may include, but is not limited to include, one or more of the following sets: PDCCH monitoring set and discloses If the WTRU is configured with a PDCCH monitoring set, the WTRU may monitor the PDCCH and decode DCI transmissions based on the received beam-specific PDCCH monitoring configuration in each beam of the PDCCH monitoring set. The beam-specific PDCCH monitoring configuration may include one or more of the following: a PDCCH resource allocation e.g., parameters to determine a control-resource set CORESET; Deenoo, [0242] discloses the WTRU may monitor DCI in a CORESET preconfigured for BFR in Scell. In another example, if a CORESET for Scell is not configured explicitly, the WTRU may assume the same BFR CORESET for all configured serving cells e.g., reuse SpCell BFR CORESET configuration for Scell; Deenoo, [0156] discloses The WTRU 504 may be configured by the gNB 506 and/or RRC signaling 508 with a set of possible configuration sets 530, where each configuration set may include a CORESET configuration; Deenoo, [0232] discloses The PDCCH order 720 from the SpCell 708 may include an Scell index and/or a DL QCL reference e.g., SSB index and/or CSI-RS resource index associated with the Scell 710. The WTRU 704 may be configured to initiate random access procedure on the Scell 710 using the UL beam 702 determined based on the Scell 710 DL QCL reference indicated in the PDCCH order 720. The random procedure may include the WTRU 704 sending a random access preamble 724 on the Scell 710 on beam 702; Deenoo, [0003] discloses A WTRU may monitor for beam failure on a secondary cell Scell. The WTRU may transmit a random access preamble on the SCell using the selected QCL reference and the selected candidate beam, and may receive a first random access response RAR on the selected candidate beam on the Scell).
Regarding claim 5 and claim 18, Deenoo in view of Zhou and further in view of Jiang discloses:
The wireless device of claim 2, (see claim 2) and The non-transitory computer-readable medium of claim 14, further comprising (see claim 14).
wherein the transmitting the random-access preamble is via the cell (Deenoo, [0232] discloses The PDCCH order 720 from the SpCell 708 may include an Scell index and/or a DL QCL reference e.g., SSB index and/or CSI-RS resource index associated with the Scell 710. The WTRU 704 may be configured to initiate random access procedure on the Scell 710 using the UL beam 702 determined based on the Scell 710 DL QCL reference indicated in the PDCCH order 720. The random procedure may include the WTRU 704 sending a random access preamble 724 on the Scell 710 on beam 702; Deenoo, [0003] discloses A WTRU may monitor for beam failure on a secondary cell Scell. The WTRU may transmit a random access preamble on the SCell using the selected QCL reference and the selected candidate beam, and may receive a first random access response RAR on the selected candidate beam on the Scell).
Regarding claim 6 and claim 19, Deenoo in view of Zhou and further in view of Jiang discloses:
The wireless device of claim 1, (see claim 1) and The non-transitory computer-readable medium of claim 14, further comprising (see claim 14).
wherein the transmission power is determined based on a pathloss estimate of the reference signal indicated by the field (Jiang, [0170] discloses by using a pathloss estimated based on an synchronization signal/physical broadcast channel block SS/PBCH block and/or a channel state information reference signal currently selected by UE, the first calculating unit 401 calculates the transmission power used by the UE in transmitting random access preambles; Jiang, [0190] discloses in calculating the transmission power, the first calculating unit 401 may calculate the transmission power according to feature parameters related to the UE, that is, the first calculating unit 401 may calculate the transmission power used by the UE in transmitting the preamble in the random access procedure according to the power ramping counter, the pathloss estimated based on the synchronization signal/physical broadcast channel block SS/PBCH block and/or the channel state information reference signal CSI-RS selected by the UE and the feature parameters related to the UE).
Regarding claim 7 and claim 20, Deenoo in view of Zhou and further in view of Jiang discloses:
The wireless device of claim 1, (see claim 1) and The non-transitory computer-readable medium of claim 14, further comprising (see claim 14).
wherein the PDCCH order indicates the synchronization signal block (Deenoo, [0232] discloses The PDCCH order 720 from the SpCell 708 may include an Scell index and/or a DL QCL reference e.g., SSB index and/or CSI-RS resource index associated with the Scell 710).
Regarding claim 12, Deenoo in view of Zhou discloses:
The base station of claim 9, (see claim 9).
wherein: the receiving the random-access preamble is via the cell; (Deenoo, [0232] discloses The PDCCH order 720 from the SpCell 708 may include an Scell index and/or a DL QCL reference e.g., SSB index and/or CSI-RS resource index associated with the Scell 710. The WTRU 704 may be configured to initiate random access procedure on the Scell 710 using the UL beam 702 determined based on the Scell 710 DL QCL reference indicated in the PDCCH order 720. The random procedure may include the WTRU 704 sending a random access preamble 724 on the Scell 710 on beam 702; Deenoo, [0003] discloses A WTRU may monitor for beam failure on a secondary cell Scell. The WTRU may transmit a random access preamble on the SCell using the selected QCL reference and the selected candidate beam, and may receive a first random access response RAR on the selected candidate beam on the Scell).
and (Deenoo, [0232] discloses The PDCCH order 720 from the SpCell 708 may include an Scell index and/or a DL QCL reference e.g., SSB index and/or CSI-RS resource index associated with the Scell 710. The WTRU 704 may be configured to initiate random access procedure on the Scell 710 using the UL beam 702 determined based on the Scell 710 DL QCL reference indicated in the PDCCH order 720. The random procedure may include the WTRU 704 sending a random access preamble 724 on the Scell 710 on beam 702; Deenoo, [0248] discloses then the WTRU may perform any one or more of the following actions: retransmit preamble in the Scell, with power ramping; Deenoo, [0100] discloses indirectly by measuring an RS which is QCLed with the serving PDCCH e.g., SS Block SSB, CSI-RS).
Deenoo discloses a mobile device transmitting a random access preamble based on the reference signal field but fails to explicitly recite that said transmission utilizes a transmission power based on a reference signal and therefore fails to disclose “and a transmission power of the random-access preamble is determined based on a pathloss estimate of the reference signal”.
In a related field of endeavor, Jiang discloses:
and a transmission power of the random-access preamble is determined based on a pathloss estimate of the reference signal (Jiang, [0169]-[0170] discloses a random access power control apparatus 400 includes a first calculating unit 401 configured to calculate transmission power used by the UE in transmitting random access preambles and discloses by using a pathloss estimated based on an synchronization signal/physical broadcast channel block SS/PBCH block and/or a channel state information reference signal currently selected by UE, the first calculating unit 401 calculates the transmission power used by the UE in transmitting random access preambles; Jiang, [0190] discloses in calculating the transmission power, the first calculating unit 401 may calculate the transmission power according to feature parameters related to the UE, that is, the first calculating unit 401 may calculate the transmission power used by the UE in transmitting the preamble in the random access procedure according to the power ramping counter, the pathloss estimated based on the synchronization signal/physical broadcast channel block SS/PBCH block and/or the channel state information reference signal CSI-RS selected by the UE and the feature parameters related to the UE; Jiang, [0201] discloses Embodiment 5 provides UE, configured with the random access power control apparatus 400 describe in Embodiment 3 or the random access power control apparatus 500 describe in Embodiment 4; Jiang, [0216] discloses the time-frequency resources used in transmitting the SS/PBCH block may be indicated by transmitting the first indication information and/or the second indication information, which facilitates UE in performing data transmission/reception and measurement; Jiang, [0023] discloses An advantage of the embodiments of this disclosure exists in that in calculating the transmission power used by the UE in transmitting random access preambles, influences of multiple parameters are taken into account, which may be adapted for random access procedures of the UE in complex scenarios).
Therefore, at the time before the effective filing date of the invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the invention of Deenoo in view of Zhou to incorporate the teachings of Jiang for the purpose of providing the system with a means to take into account influences of multiple parameters which may be adapted for random access procedures of the UE in complex scenarios (Jiang, [0023]) and for the purpose of making the system more dynamic and adaptable by providing the system with added functionalities and various different alternatives in design, thereby allowing the system to handle a number of various different combination of specific design structure and scenarios and thereby, preventing the system from being limited to a single specific design structure and scenario (Deenoo, [0254]) and furthermore, one of ordinary skill in the art would recognize based on the guidelines to rationales supporting a conclusion of obviousness seen on MPEP 2143, that the modification would involve use of a simple substitution of one known element and base device (i.e. performing a process of a mobile device transmitting a random access preamble based on the reference signal as taught by Deenoo) with another known element and comparable device utilizing a known technique (i.e. performing a process of a mobile device transmitting a random access preamble based on the reference signal, wherein the transmission of the random access preamble utilizes a transmission power based on the reference signal and its corresponding path loss as taught by Jiang) to improve the similar devices in the same way and to obtain the predictable result of the system performing a process of a mobile device transmitting a random access preamble based on the reference signal (i.e. as taught by both Deenoo & Jiang) and is dependent upon the specific intended use, design incentives, needs and requirements (i.e. such as due to teachings of a known standard, current technology, conservation of resources, personal preferences, economic considerations, etc.) of the user and the system as has been established in MPEP 2144.04.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Ohta et al. (US Patent Publication 2021/0211985) discloses a terminal that includes a transmission power control unit 114 that judges, based on the SSB or the CSI-RS referred to when the PRACH has been decided by the PRACH deciding unit 112, whether the transmission power used for the PRACH is increased. Specifically, when the CSI-RS transmitted by the best downlink beam is selected, the transmission power control unit 114 judges, based on whether the SSB with which the CSI-RS is quasi co-located has been changed, whether the transmission power of the PRACH is increased. The transmission power control unit 114 judges the transmission power to be increased if the selected CSI-RS is quasi co-located with different SSBs before and after the best downlink beam is selected. Furthermore, the transmission power control unit 114 judges the transmission power to be maintained if the selected CSI-RS is quasi co-located with the same SSB before and after the best downlink beam is selected. Then, in accordance with the judgement result, the transmission power control unit 114 controls the transmission power that is used for the PRACH.
/MICHAEL Y MAPA/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2645