DETAILED ACTION
This is responsive to Application 18/805,257 filed 08/14/2024 in which claims 1-20 are presented for examination.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 10 and 20 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-9 and 11-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Kim (US 2022/0022279 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Kim teaches a user equipment (UE) in a wireless communication system, the UE comprising:
a transceiver configured to receive a set of configurations or pre-configurations; and a processor operably coupled to the transceiver (Kim: Fig. 10; [0166], [0207], terminal configured via RRC with SL DRX), the processor configured to:
determine, based on the set of configurations or pre-configurations, at least one sidelink (SL) discontinuous reception (DRX) configuration (Kim: Fig. 10; [0207], terminal configured via RRC with SL DRX);
determine a DRX cycle based on the at least one SL DRX configuration (Kim: Fig. 10; [0207], [0211], determining DRX cycle 1007);
determine an active time duration in the DRX cycle (Kim: Fig. 10; [0207], [0211], determining DRX on-Duration 1008);
determine reception occasions of a first sidelink control information (SCI) format that are before a start of the active time duration (Kim: Fig. 10; [0198], [0211], SL-WUS/SCI format determined in SL-WUS offset 1009);
determine whether the first SCI format is received based on the reception occasions; and when the first SCI format is received in the reception occasions, determine, based on an indication in the first SCI format, whether to receive a second SCI format in the active time duration (Kim: Fig. 10; [0199], [0209] determining whether to monitor SL-DRX on-duration for SCI/second SCI format based on SL-WUS).
Regarding claim 11, Kim teaches a method of a user equipment (UE) in a wireless communication system, the method comprising:
receiving a set of configurations or pre-configurations (Kim: Fig. 10; [0166], [0207], terminal configured via RRC with SL DRX);
determining, based on the set of configurations or pre-configurations, at least one sidelink (SL) discontinuous reception (DRX) configuration Kim: Fig. 10; [0207], terminal configured via RRC with SL DRX);
determining a DRX cycle based on the at least one SL DRX configuration (Kim: Fig. 10; [0207], [0211], determining DRX cycle 1007);
determining an active time duration in the DRX cycle(Kim: Fig. 10; [0207], [0211], determining DRX on-Duration 1008);
determining reception occasions of a first sidelink control information (SCI) format that are before a start of the active time duration (Kim: Fig. 10; [0198], [0211], SL-WUS/SCI format determined in SL-WUS offset 1009);
determining whether the first SCI format is received based on the reception occasions; and when the first SCI format is received in the reception occasions, determining, based on an indication in the first SCI format, whether to receive a second SCI format in the active time duration (Kim: Fig. 10; [0199], [0209] determining whether to monitor SL-DRX on-duration for SCI/second SCI format based on SL-WUS).
Regarding claims 2 and 12, Kim teaches wherein, when a resource allocation mode is a first mode, the transceiver is further configured to receive, from a base station (BS), time domain and frequency domain information of the reception occasions (Kim: Fig. 7; [0122], mode 1 resource allocation).
Regarding claims 3 and 13, Kim teaches wherein the time domain and frequency domain information is indicated in a downlink control information (DCI) format (Kim: Fig. 7; [0122], [0136] mode 1 resource allocation).
Regarding claims 4 and 14, Kim teaches wherein, when a resource allocation mode is a second mode, the processor is further configured to determine time domain and frequency domain information of the reception occasions from a resource selection window (Kim: Fig. 8; [0123], [0136] mode 2 resource allocation; Fig. 10; [0207], monitoring window 1002/resource selection windows).
Regarding claims 5 and 15, Kim teaches wherein slots in the resource selection window are: from a first SL resource pool for a physical sidelink shared channel (PSSCH), a physical sidelink control channel (PSCCH), or a physical sidelink feedback channel (PSFCH); or from a second SL resource pool for the first SCI format (Kim: Fig. 10; [0192], [0207]-[0209], monitoring window 1002/resource selection windows comprising SCI/PSSCH).
Regarding claims 6 and 16, Kim teaches wherein: the time domain and frequency domain information of the reception occasions is determined based on a sensing result from a resource sensing window, and the resource sensing window is before the resource selection window (Kim: Fig. 8; [0123], [0136] [0194] mode 2 resource allocation via sensing; Fig. 10; [0207], monitoring window 1002/resource selection windows).
Regarding claims 7 and 17, Kim teaches wherein, when the first SCI format is associated with a unicast transmission, the DRX cycle is associated with a pair of a layer 2 (L2) destination identity (ID) and a L2 source ID (Kim: [0151]; [0164], [195], [0199]).
Regarding claims 8 and 18, Kim teaches wherein, when the first SCI format is associated with a groupcast transmission or a broadcast transmission, the DRX cycle is associated with a layer 2 (L2) destination identity (ID), and applicable for all quality of service (QoS) profiles (Kim: [0151], [0155], [0157]).
Regarding claims 9 and 19, Kim teaches wherein the transceiver is further configured to receive the second SCI format during the active time duration of the DRX cycle when the first SCI format is not received based on the reception occasions (Kim: Fig. 10: [0201]; [0210]).
Conclusion
/KODZOVI ACOLATSE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2478