Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-7, 18, and 19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ahn (US 20220344399 A1), in view of Srinivasamurthy (US 20190139189 A1).
Regarding independent claim 1, Ahn teaches an image sensor (Fig. 1, 1000; [0061], "FIG. 1 is a block diagram of an image sensor 1000 according to an example embodiment."), comprising: a sensor substrate comprising a plurality of pixels configured to sense light (Fig. 4A, 110, 111, 112, Fig. 4B, 110, 113, 114; [0079], "...the image sensor 1000 includes a sensor substrate 110 including a plurality of pixels 111, 112, 113, and 114 for sensing light…");and a spectral filter configured to separate incident light into at least four different wavelength bands and to provide the separated incident light to the plurality of pixels (Fig. 3A, CSLA; [0067], "The color separating lens array CSLA may be partitioned in various ways."), wherein the spectral filter comprises: a routing filter array comprising a plurality of nano-structures configured to color-separate the incident light into at least three different wavelength bands and to condense the separated incident light onto the plurality of pixels (Fig. 4A, 130; [0087], "In addition, similar to the above description with reference to FIG. 3B, the color separating lens array 130 may be partitioned as a green light condensing region for condensing the green light, a blue light condensing region for condensing the blue light, and a red light condensing region for condensing the red light."; Fig. 3A, NP; [0067], "Referring to FIG. 3A, a color separating lens array CSLA may include a plurality of nanoposts NP that change a phase of incident light Li differently from incident locations thereof. ").
However, Ahn does not teach and a spectral filter array between the sensor substrate and the routing filter array, and comprising a plurality of unit filters having different transmission spectrums, the plurality of unit filters respectively corresponding to the plurality of pixels.
However, in the same field of endeavor, Srinivasamurthy teaches a spectral filter array between the sensor substrate and the routing filter array (Fig. 4, 140; [0043], " Referring to FIGS. 4 and 5, sensor panel 121 (also called an image sensor and/or a pixel array) can include a microlens array 130, a spectral filter array 140 (also called a “color filter array” or a “filter array”)…"), and comprising a plurality of unit filters having different transmission spectrums, the plurality of unit filters respectively corresponding to the plurality of pixels (Fig. 6, 141; [0043], "Spectral filter array 140 can include a plurality of spectral filters 141 (also called “color filters” or “filters”).", [0050], "As explained below, a spectral unit can represent a spectral filter or a spectral channel of an image pixel.").
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to combine the image sensor of Ahn with the spectral filter array of Srinivasamurthy so as to "capture metrics of the light channel spectrum", (Srinivasamurthy, [0006]).
Regarding dependent claim 2, Ahn, as previously modified by Srinivasamurthy, teaches the image sensor of claim 1, and further teaches wherein the routing filter array comprises a first meta-region, a second meta-region, a third meta-region, and a fourth meta-region, wherein each of the first meta-region, the second meta-region, the third meta-region, and the fourth meta-region correspond to one of the plurality of pixels and to one of the plurality of unit filters (Fig. 2C, R, G, B, W; [0065], "Also, referring to FIG. 2C, an RGBW arrangement, in which a green pixel G, a red pixel R, a blue pixel, and a white pixel W configure one unit pattern, may be used.", [0067], "For example, the color separating lens array CSLA may be partitioned as a first pixel corresponding region R1 corresponding to a first pixel PX1 on which first wavelength light L.sub.λ1 included in the incident light Li is condensed, and a second pixel corresponding region R2 corresponding to a second pixel PX2 on which second wavelength light L.sub.λ2 included in the incident light Li is condensed."), wherein the plurality of nano-structures are disposed in each of the first meta-region, the second meta-region, the third meta-region, and the fourth meta-region (Fig. 3A, NP; [0067], "Each of the first and second pixel corresponding regions R1 and R2 may include one or more nanoposts NP…"), and wherein the plurality of nano-structures are further configured to change a phase of the incident light (Fig. 3A, NP; [0067], "Referring to FIG. 3A, a color separating lens array CSLA may include a plurality of nanoposts NP that change a phase of incident light Li differently from incident locations thereof. ").
Regarding dependent claim 3, Ahn, as previously modified by Srinivasamurthy, teaches the image sensor of claim 2, and further teaches wherein the plurality of nano-structures are further configured to: condense a first light of incident light onto first pixels corresponding to the first meta-region and the fourth meta-region, the first light having a first wavelength band, the incident light being incident on the first meta-region, the second meta-region, the third meta-region, and the fourth meta-region (Fig. 6D, GL1; [0100], "As shown in FIG. 6D, the green light incident on the vicinity of the first green pixel corresponding region 131 is condensed to the first green pixel 111 by the color separating lens array 130, and the green light from the blue and red pixel corresponding regions 132 and 133, in addition to the first green pixel corresponding region 131, is also incident on the first green pixel 111.", Fig. 7F, GL2; [0108], "Referring to FIGS. 7F and 7G, the green light incident on the vicinity of the second green pixel corresponding region 134 travels similarly to the green light incident on the vicinity of the first green pixel corresponding region 131, and as shown in FIG. 7F, the green light is condensed onto the second green pixel 114. "); condense a second light of the incident light onto a second pixel corresponding to the second meta-region, the second light having a second wavelength band (Fig. 6F, BL; [0102], "The blue light is condensed onto the blue pixel 112 by the color separating lens array 130 as shown in FIG. 6F, and the blue light from the pixel corresponding regions 131, 132, 133, and 134 is incident on the blue pixel 112."); and condense a third light of the incident light onto a third pixel corresponding to the third meta-region, the third light having a third wavelength band (Fig. 7D, RL; [0107], "The red light is condensed onto the red pixel 113 by the color separating lens array 130 as shown in FIG. 7D, and the red light from the pixel corresponding regions 131, 132, 133, and 134 is incident on the red pixel 113.").
Regarding dependent claim 4, Ahn, as previously modified by Srinivasamurthy, teaches the image sensor of claim 2, and further teaches wherein the plurality of nano-structures are further configured to: condense a first light of incident light onto a first pixel corresponding to the first meta-region, the first light having a first wavelength band, the incident light being incident on the first meta-region, the second meta-region, the third meta-region, and the fourth meta-region (Fig. 6D, GL1; [0100], "As shown in FIG. 6D, the green light incident on the vicinity of the first green pixel corresponding region 131 is condensed to the first green pixel 111 by the color separating lens array 130, and the green light from the blue and red pixel corresponding regions 132 and 133, in addition to the first green pixel corresponding region 131, is also incident on the first green pixel 111."); condense a second light of the incident light onto a second pixel corresponding to the second meta-region, the second light having a second wavelength band (Fig. 6F, BL; [0102], "The blue light is condensed onto the blue pixel 112 by the color separating lens array 130 as shown in FIG. 6F, and the blue light from the pixel corresponding regions 131, 132, 133, and 134 is incident on the blue pixel 112."); condense a third light of the incident light onto a third pixel corresponding to the third meta-region, the third light having a third wavelength band (Fig. 7D, RL; [0107], "The red light is condensed onto the red pixel 113 by the color separating lens array 130 as shown in FIG. 7D, and the red light from the pixel corresponding regions 131, 132, 133, and 134 is incident on the red pixel 113."); condense a fourth light of the incident light onto a fourth pixel corresponding to the fourth meta-region, the fourth light having a fourth wavelength band (Fig. 7F, GL2; [0108], "Referring to FIGS. 7F and 7G, the green light incident on the vicinity of the second green pixel corresponding region 134 travels similarly to the green light incident on the vicinity of the first green pixel corresponding region 131, and as shown in FIG. 7F, the green light is condensed onto the second green pixel 114. ", [0065], "Also, referring to FIG. 2C, an RGBW arrangement, in which a green pixel G, a red pixel R, a blue pixel, and a white pixel W configure one unit pattern, may be used.", (Given that the white pixel is in the place of the second green pixel and is disclosed as an alternate arrangement, it can be said that this art teaches condensing a fourth wavelength)).
Regarding dependent claim 5, Ahn, as previously modified by Srinivasamurthy, teaches the image sensor of claim 1, and further teaches wherein the routing filter array further comprises a first meta-region, a second meta-region, a third meta-region, and a fourth meta-region, wherein each of the first meta-region, the second meta-region, the third meta-region, and the fourth meta-region correspond to four pixels arranged in a 2×2 array from among the plurality of pixels (Fig. 3A, NP; [0067], "Each of the first and second pixel corresponding regions R1 and R2 may include one or more nanoposts NP…", [0064], "...in a unit pattern of a 2×2 array."), and correspond to four unit filters arranged in the 2×2 array from among the plurality of unit filters (Fig. 4A, Fig. 4B, [0086], "That is, the pixel corresponding regions 131, 132, 133, and 134 of the color separating lens array 130 may be arranged respectively facing the pixels 111, 112, 113, and 114 of the sensor substrate 110 in the vertical direction. "), and wherein the plurality of nano-structures are disposed in each of the first meta-region, the second meta-region, the third meta-region, and the fourth meta-region (Fig. 3A, NP; [0067], "Each of the first and second pixel corresponding regions R1 and R2 may include one or more nanoposts NP…"), and wherein the plurality of nano-structures are further configured to change a phase of the incident light (Fig. 3A, NP; [0067], "Referring to FIG. 3A, a color separating lens array CSLA may include a plurality of nanoposts NP that change a phase of incident light Li differently from incident locations thereof. ").
Regarding dependent claim 6, Ahn, as previously modified by Srinivasamurthy, teaches the image sensor of claim 5, and further teaches wherein the plurality of nano-structures are further configured to: condense a first light of incident light onto four first pixels respectively corresponding to the first meta-region and the fourth meta-region (Fig. 5A; [0081], "Referring to FIG. 5A, some or all of the pixels 111, 112, 113, and 114 may each include four or more photosensitive cells, and four or more photosensitive cells included in one pixel may share the light condensing regions of the color separating lens array."), the first light having a first wavelength band, the incident light being incident on the first meta-region, the second meta-region, the third meta-region, and the fourth meta-region (Fig. 6D, GL1; [0100], "As shown in FIG. 6D, the green light incident on the vicinity of the first green pixel corresponding region 131 is condensed to the first green pixel 111 by the color separating lens array 130, and the green light from the blue and red pixel corresponding regions 132 and 133, in addition to the first green pixel corresponding region 131, is also incident on the first green pixel 111.", Fig. 7F, GL2; [0108], "Referring to FIGS. 7F and 7G, the green light incident on the vicinity of the second green pixel corresponding region 134 travels similarly to the green light incident on the vicinity of the first green pixel corresponding region 131, and as shown in FIG. 7F, the green light is condensed onto the second green pixel 114. "); condense a second light of the incident light onto four second pixels corresponding to the second meta-region (Fig. 5A; [0081], "Referring to FIG. 5A, some or all of the pixels 111, 112, 113, and 114 may each include four or more photosensitive cells, and four or more photosensitive cells included in one pixel may share the light condensing regions of the color separating lens array."), the second light having a second wavelength band (Fig. 6F, BL; [0102], "The blue light is condensed onto the blue pixel 112 by the color separating lens array 130 as shown in FIG. 6F, and the blue light from the pixel corresponding regions 131, 132, 133, and 134 is incident on the blue pixel 112."); and condense a third light of the incident light onto four third pixels corresponding to the third meta-region (Fig. 5A; [0081], "Referring to FIG. 5A, some or all of the pixels 111, 112, 113, and 114 may each include four or more photosensitive cells, and four or more photosensitive cells included in one pixel may share the light condensing regions of the color separating lens array."), the third light having a third wavelength band (Fig. 7D, RL; [0107], "The red light is condensed onto the red pixel 113 by the color separating lens array 130 as shown in FIG. 7D, and the red light from the pixel corresponding regions 131, 132, 133, and 134 is incident on the red pixel 113.").
Regarding dependent claim 7, Ahn, as previously modified by Srinivasamurthy, teaches the image sensor of claim 5, and further teaches wherein the plurality of nano-structures are further configured to: condense a first light of incident light onto four first pixels corresponding to the first meta-region (Fig. 5A; [0081], "Referring to FIG. 5A, some or all of the pixels 111, 112, 113, and 114 may each include four or more photosensitive cells, and four or more photosensitive cells included in one pixel may share the light condensing regions of the color separating lens array."), the first light having a first wavelength band, the incident light being incident on the first meta-region, the second meta-region, the third meta-region, and the fourth meta-region (Fig. 6D, GL1; [0100], "As shown in FIG. 6D, the green light incident on the vicinity of the first green pixel corresponding region 131 is condensed to the first green pixel 111 by the color separating lens array 130, and the green light from the blue and red pixel corresponding regions 132 and 133, in addition to the first green pixel corresponding region 131, is also incident on the first green pixel 111."); condense a second light of the incident light onto four second pixels corresponding to the second meta-region (Fig. 5A; [0081], "Referring to FIG. 5A, some or all of the pixels 111, 112, 113, and 114 may each include four or more photosensitive cells, and four or more photosensitive cells included in one pixel may share the light condensing regions of the color separating lens array."), the second light having a second wavelength band (Fig. 6F, BL; [0102], "The blue light is condensed onto the blue pixel 112 by the color separating lens array 130 as shown in FIG. 6F, and the blue light from the pixel corresponding regions 131, 132, 133, and 134 is incident on the blue pixel 112."); condense a third light of the incident light onto four third pixels corresponding to the third meta-region (Fig. 5A; [0081], "Referring to FIG. 5A, some or all of the pixels 111, 112, 113, and 114 may each include four or more photosensitive cells, and four or more photosensitive cells included in one pixel may share the light condensing regions of the color separating lens array."), the third light having a third wavelength band (Fig. 7D, RL; [0107], "The red light is condensed onto the red pixel 113 by the color separating lens array 130 as shown in FIG. 7D, and the red light from the pixel corresponding regions 131, 132, 133, and 134 is incident on the red pixel 113."); and condense a fourth light of the incident light onto four fourth pixels corresponding to the fourth meta-region (Fig. 5A; [0081], "Referring to FIG. 5A, some or all of the pixels 111, 112, 113, and 114 may each include four or more photosensitive cells, and four or more photosensitive cells included in one pixel may share the light condensing regions of the color separating lens array."), the fourth light having a fourth wavelength band (Fig. 7F, GL2; [0108], "Referring to FIGS. 7F and 7G, the green light incident on the vicinity of the second green pixel corresponding region 134 travels similarly to the green light incident on the vicinity of the first green pixel corresponding region 131, and as shown in FIG. 7F, the green light is condensed onto the second green pixel 114. ", [0065], "Also, referring to FIG. 2C, an RGBW arrangement, in which a green pixel G, a red pixel R, a blue pixel, and a white pixel W configure one unit pattern, may be used.", (Given that the white pixel is in the place of the second green pixel and is disclosed as an alternate arrangement, it can be said that this art teaches condensing a fourth wavelength)).
Regarding dependent claim 18, Ahn, as previously modified by Srinivasamurthy, teaches the image sensor of claim 1. However, as previously combined, they do not teach wherein a bandwidth of the transmission spectrum of the routing filter array is greater than a bandwidth of the transmission spectrum of each of the plurality of unit filters in the spectral filter array.
However, Ahn and Srinivasamurthy together further teach wherein a bandwidth of the transmission spectrum of the routing filter array is greater than a bandwidth of the transmission spectrum of each of the plurality of unit filters in the spectral filter array ((Ahn, [0087]), "In addition, similar to the above description with reference to FIG. 3B, the color separating lens array 130 may be partitioned as a green light condensing region for condensing the green light, a blue light condensing region for condensing the blue light, and a red light condensing region for condensing the red light.", (Srinivasamurthy, [0055], "Green filters 141 admit light within the green spectrum and block light falling outside the green spectrum. Blue filters 141 admit light within the blue spectrum and block light falling outside the blue spectrum. Red filters 141 admit light within the red spectrum and block light falling outside the red spectrum.", (As shown from this, the routing filter of Ahn lets all light in but directs it to other places, while the spectral filters of Srinivasamurthy each only let in light of one small band).).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to combine the image sensor as described by the combination of Ahn and Srinivasamurthy with the bandwidth of the routing filter of Ahn and the bandwidth of the spectral filter of Srinivasamurthy so as "to produce a color image", (Srinivasamurthy, [0058]).
Regarding dependent claim 19, Ahn, as previously modified by Srinivasamurthy, teaches the image sensor of claim 1, and further teaches wherein the spectral filter further comprises a space layer between the spectral filter array and the routing filter array, and wherein the spacer layer has a refractive index that is less than refractive indexes of the plurality of nano-structures (Fig. 4A, 120; [0082], "The spacer layer 120 may include a material transparent with respect to the visible ray, for example, a dielectric material having a lower refractive index than that of the nanoposts NP and low absorption coefficient in the visible ray band, e.g., SiO.sub.2, siloxane-based spin on glass (SOG), etc.").
Claim(s) 8-10 and 15-17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ahn (US 20220344399 A1), in view of Srinivasamurthy (US 20190139189 A1) and Kim (US 20220342130 A1).
Regarding dependent claim 8, Ahn, as previously modified by Srinivasamurthy, teaches the image sensor of claim 1. However, as previously combined, they do not teach wherein each of the plurality of unit filters comprises: a first reflector; a second reflector above the first reflector; and a cavity between the first reflector and the second reflector, and wherein each of the plurality of unit filters has a transmission spectrum with at least two different transmission peak wavelengths.
However, in the same field of endeavor, Kim teaches wherein each of the plurality of unit filters comprises: a first reflector; a second reflector above the first reflector; and a cavity between the first reflector and the second reflector (Fig. 1, 81, 82, 83; [0082], "Each resonator may include a first reflection layer 81 and a second reflection layer 82, which are spaced apart from each other, and cavities 83a, 83b, 83c, and 83d disposed between the first reflection layer 81 and the second reflection layer 82."), and wherein each of the plurality of unit filters has a transmission spectrum with at least two different transmission peak wavelengths (Fig. 16; [0175], "FIG. 16 illustrates transmission spectrums of the spectral filter 2000 of FIG. 15.", (It is clear from the graph that each spectrum has multiple peaks)).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to combine the image sensor as described by the combination of Ahn and Srinivasamurthy with the unit filter structure of Kim so as "to cause resonance of light of a particular desired wavelength region", (Kim, [0082]).
Regarding dependent claim 9, Ahn, as previously modified by Srinivasamurthy and Kim, teaches the image sensor of claim 8. Kim further teaches wherein a plurality of cavities of the plurality of unit filters have a same thickness (Fig. 1, 83a,b,c,d, (It is obvious from the diagram that they are all the same thickness)).
Regarding dependent claim 10, Ahn, as previously modified by Srinivasamurthy and Kim, teaches the image sensor of claim 8. However, as previously combined, they do not teach wherein the cavity comprises: a cavity lower layer having a lower dielectric pattern formed by a first dielectric material having a first refractive index and a second dielectric material having a second refractive index that is greater than the first refractive index; and a cavity upper layer having an upper dielectric pattern formed by a third dielectric material having a third refractive index and a fourth dielectric material having a fourth refractive index that is greater than the third refractive index.
However, Kim further teaches wherein the cavity comprises: a cavity lower layer having a lower dielectric pattern formed by a first dielectric material having a first refractive index and a second dielectric material having a second refractive index that is greater than the first refractive index; and a cavity upper layer having an upper dielectric pattern formed by a third dielectric material having a third refractive index and a fourth dielectric material having a fourth refractive index that is greater than the third refractive index (Fig. 13, 871, 872; [0155], " Each of the first and second dielectric layers 871 and 872 may include a first material layer and at least one second material layer disposed in the first material layer and having a refractive index different than that of the first material layer.").
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to combine the image sensor as described by the combination of Ahn, Srinivasamurthy, and Kim with the cavity structure of Kim so as to "improve the transmittance of the first to third filters", (Kim, [0184]).
Regarding dependent claim 15, Ahn, as previously modified by Srinivasamurthy and Kim, teaches the image sensor of claim 10. However, as previously combined, they do not teach wherein the cavity further comprises a dielectric separation layer between the cavity lower layer and the cavity upper layer, and wherein the dielectric separation layer has a refractive index less than or equal to the second refractive index or the fourth refractive index.
However, Kim further teaches wherein the cavity further comprises a dielectric separation layer between the cavity lower layer and the cavity upper layer (Fig. 12, 740a; [0150], "Specifically, when the first to third cavities 741, 742, and 743 include silicon oxide, the etch stop layer 740a may include hafnium oxide.", (This material is stated in the application to be dielectric. In addition, this layer is on top of the reflection layer, which is between the two cavities in Fig. 13)), and wherein the dielectric separation layer has a refractive index less than or equal to the second refractive index or the fourth refractive index ([0150], "Here, each of the first to third cavities 741, 742, and 743 may include an etch stop layer 740a disposed on the first metal reflection layer 631…", (This layer only reflects, so it does not have a refractive index)).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to combine the image sensor as described by the combination of Ahn, Srinivasamurthy, and Kim with the dielectric separation layer of Kim so as to "facilitate a patterning process for formation of a cavity", (Kim, [0150]).
Regarding dependent claim 16, Ahn, as previously modified by Srinivasamurthy and Kim, teaches the image sensor of claim 15. However, as previously combined, they do not teach wherein the dielectric separation layer comprises at least one of hafnium oxide (HfO2) or titanium oxide (TiO2).
However, Kim further teaches wherein the dielectric separation layer comprises at least one of hafnium oxide (HfO2) or titanium oxide (TiO2) (Fig. 12, 740a; [0150], "Specifically, when the first to third cavities 741, 742, and 743 include silicon oxide, the etch stop layer 740a may include hafnium oxide.", (This material is stated in the application to be dielectric. In addition, this layer is on top of the reflection layer, which is between the two cavities in Fig. 13)).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to combine the image sensor as described by the combination of Ahn, Srinivasamurthy, and Kim with the hafnium oxide of Kim so as to "include a material having an etching rate two or more times (e.g., five or more times) lower than that of a dielectric material constituting the first to third cavities", (Kim, [0150]).
Regarding dependent claim 17, Ahn, as previously modified by Srinivasamurthy and Kim, teaches the image sensor of claim 15. Kim further teaches wherein the dielectric separation layer has a thickness of 10 nm to 100 nm ([0163], "For example, the metal reflection layers 931 and 932 may have a thickness of about 10 nm to about 80 nm.", (Since the previously stated layer is part of this one, it can be said to have this thickness)).
Claim(s) 11-14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ahn (US 20220344399 A1), in view of Srinivasamurthy (US 20190139189 A1), Kim (US 20220342130 A1) , and Eilmsteiner (US 20210164831 A1) .
Regarding dependent claim 11, Ahn, as previously modified by Srinivasamurthy and Kim, teaches the image sensor of claim 10. However, as previously combined, they do not teach wherein a first effective refractive index of the cavity lower layer is determined according to a first volume ratio of a first volume occupied by the first dielectric material to a second volume occupied by the second dielectric material in the cavity lower layer, wherein a second effective refractive index of the cavity upper layer is determined according to a second volume ratio of a third volume occupied by the third dielectric material to a fourth volume occupied by the fourth dielectric material in the cavity upper layer, and wherein the effective refractive indexes and thicknesses of the cavity lower layer and the cavity upper layer are determined in each of the plurality of unit filters, such that each of the plurality of unit filters has a transmission spectrum having at least two different peak wavelengths.
However, in the same field of endeavor, Eilmsteiner teaches wherein a first effective refractive index of the cavity lower layer is determined according to a first volume ratio of a first volume occupied by the first dielectric material to a second volume occupied by the second dielectric material in the cavity lower layer, wherein a second effective refractive index of the cavity upper layer is determined according to a second volume ratio of a third volume occupied by the third dielectric material to a fourth volume occupied by the fourth dielectric material in the cavity upper layer ([0006], "The effective refractive index and peak wavelength are directly related to the volume ratio, and by changing the lateral dimensions of the nanostructures the effective refractive index of the Fabry-Perot cavity is increased and the wavelength shift can be compensated."), and wherein the effective refractive indexes and thicknesses of the cavity lower layer and the cavity upper layer are determined in each of the plurality of unit filters, such that each of the plurality of unit filters has a transmission spectrum having at least two different peak wavelengths (Fig. 2B; [0076], "FIG. 2B shows spectral transmission curves of the example embodiment of the filter assembly of FIG. 2A.").
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to combine the image sensor as described by the combination of Ahn, Srinivasamurthy, and Kim with the volume ratios of Eilmsteiner so that "the wavelength shift can be compensated", (Eilmsteiner, [0006]).
Regarding dependent claim 12, Ahn, as previously modified by Srinivasamurthy, Kim, and Eilmsteiner, teaches the image sensor of claim 11. Kim further teaches wherein two or more of a plurality of cavities in the plurality of unit filters have same lower dielectric patterns and same upper dielectric patterns (Fig. 13, 871, 872; [0155], " Each of the first and second dielectric layers 871 and 872 may include a first material layer and at least one second material layer disposed in the first material layer and having a refractive index different than that of the first material layer.", (The art does not specify if they are the same or different)).
Regarding dependent claim 13, Ahn, as previously modified by Srinivasamurthy, Kim, and Eilmsteiner, teaches the image sensor of claim 11, wherein a plurality of spectral channels are formed by combinations of the routing filter array and the plurality of unit filters of the spectral filter array. However, as previously combined, they do not teach and wherein a number of cavities of a plurality of cavities having different lower dielectric patterns or different upper dielectric patterns in the spectral filter array is less than a number of spectral channels.
However, Kim further teaches and wherein a number of cavities of a plurality of cavities having different lower dielectric patterns or different upper dielectric patterns in the spectral filter array is less than a number of spectral channels (Fig. 34, F25, Fig. 13, 810, 820, 871, 872; [0279], "With reference to FIG. 34, each filter group 9130 may include twenty-five filters…", [0155], " Each of the first and second dielectric layers 871 and 872 may include a first material layer and at least one second material layer disposed in the first material layer and having a refractive index different than that of the first material layer.", (There are 25 filters and 6 columns each with 2 cavities with different dielectric patterns, meaning there are 12 dielectric patterns, so there are less than the channels)).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to combine the image sensor as described by the combination of Ahn, Srinivasamurthy, Kim, and Eilmsteiner with the number of cavities of Kim so as to " be employed in various high performance optical devices or high performance electronic devices", (Kim, [0280]).
Regarding dependent claim 14, Ahn, as previously modified by Srinivasamurthy, Kim, and Eilmsteiner, teaches the image sensor of claim 11. However, as previously combined, they do not teach wherein, based on the image sensor having N spectral channels and the routing filter array separating and condensing the incident light of A wavelength bands, a number N’ of cavities having different lower dielectric patterns or different upper dielectric patterns satisfies a condition N/A≤N'<N, and wherein N and A are positive integers greater than or equal to four.
However, Kim further teaches wherein, based on the image sensor having N spectral channels and the routing filter array separating and condensing the incident light of A wavelength bands, a number N’ of cavities having different lower dielectric patterns or different upper dielectric patterns satisfies a condition N/A≤N'<N, and wherein N and A are positive integers greater than or equal to four (Fig. 34, F25, Fig. 13, 810, 820, 871, 872; [0003], "...image sensors classify wavelength bands into three sections, i.e., red (R), green (G), and blue (B)…", [0279], "With reference to FIG. 34, each filter group 9130 may include twenty-five filters…", [0155], " Each of the first and second dielectric layers 871 and 872 may include a first material layer and at least one second material layer disposed in the first material layer and having a refractive index different than that of the first material layer.", (There are 25 filters for 3 bands, meaning N/A is ~8. There are 6 different columns each with 2 cavities with different dielectric patterns, meaning there are 12 dielectric patterns, so the expression given is satisfied).).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to combine the image sensor as described by the combination of Ahn, Srinivasamurthy, Kim, and Eilmsteiner with the number of channels and cavities of Kim so as to " be employed in various high performance optical devices or high performance electronic devices", (Kim, [0280]).
Claim(s) 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Srinivasamurthy (US 20190139189 A1), in view of Ahn (US 20220344399 A1).
Regarding independent claim 20, Srinivasamurthy teaches an electronic apparatus, comprising: a lens assembly configured to form an optical image of a subject; and an image sensor configured to convert the optical image formed by the lens assembly into an electrical signal (Fig. 4, 121, 130; [0043], "Referring to FIGS. 4 and 5, sensor panel 121 (also called an image sensor and/or a pixel array) can include a microlens array 130…"); and a processor configured to process a signal generated by the image sensor (Fig. 18, 1801; [0157], "Processing system 1800 can include one or more processors 1801…"), wherein the image sensor comprises: a sensor substrate comprising a plurality of pixels configured to sense light (Fig. 4, 121, Fig. 6, 171; [0043], "Referring to FIGS. 4 and 5, sensor panel 121 (also called an image sensor and/or a pixel array) can include a microlens array 130, a spectral filter array 140 (also called a “color filter array” or a “filter array”), a spacer layer 150, and a silicon layer 160.", [0045], "FIG. 6 shows camera pixels 171 including first camera pixel 171m and second camera pixel 171n. "); and a spectral filter configured to separate incident light into at least four different wavelength bands and to provide the separated incident light to the plurality of pixels (Fig. 4, 140; [0043], " Referring to FIGS. 4 and 5, sensor panel 121 (also called an image sensor and/or a pixel array) can include a microlens array 130, a spectral filter array 140 (also called a “color filter array” or a “filter array”)…"), and wherein the spectral filter comprises: a spectral filter array between the sensor substrate and the routing filter array (Fig. 4, 140; [0043], " Referring to FIGS. 4 and 5, sensor panel 121 (also called an image sensor and/or a pixel array) can include a microlens array 130, a spectral filter array 140 (also called a “color filter array” or a “filter array”)…"), and comprising a plurality of unit filters having different transmission spectrums, the plurality of unit filters respectively corresponding to the plurality of pixels (Fig. 6, 141; [0043], "Spectral filter array 140 can include a plurality of spectral filters 141 (also called “color filters” or “filters”).", [0050], "As explained below, a spectral unit can represent a spectral filter or a spectral channel of an image pixel.").
However, Srinivasamurthy does not teach a routing filter array comprising a plurality of nano-structures configured to color-separate the incident light into at least three different wavelength bands and to condense the separated incident light onto the plurality of pixels.
However, in the same field of endeavor, Ahn teaches a routing filter array comprising a plurality of nano-structures configured to color-separate the incident light into at least three different wavelength bands and to condense the separated incident light onto the plurality of pixels (Fig. 4A, 130; [0087], "In addition, similar to the above description with reference to FIG. 3B, the color separating lens array 130 may be partitioned as a green light condensing region for condensing the green light, a blue light condensing region for condensing the blue light, and a red light condensing region for condensing the red light."; Fig. 3A, NP; [0067], "Referring to FIG. 3A, a color separating lens array CSLA may include a plurality of nanoposts NP that change a phase of incident light Li differently from incident locations thereof. ").
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to combine the electronic device of Srinivasamurthy with the routing filter array of Ahn for "ocusing incident light separately according to wavelengths of the incident light", (Ahn, [0004]).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
US 20210297607 A1,.
/TIMOTHY JAMES MATTABONI/Examiner, Art Unit 2897 /CHAD M DICKE/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2897