DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
This office action is responsive to the amendment filed on 10/08/2026. As directed by the amendment: claims 1 and 3 have been amended and claims 2, 5-11, and 14-20 have been cancelled. Thus, claims 1, 3, 4, 12, and 13 are presently pending in this application.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 3 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 3 recites “wherein the sheath member comprises an elongated cylindrical tube, wherein the hollow cavity is configured with a first dimension, the first dimension of the hollow cavity corresponding to the inner diameter of the hollow cavity, and wherein the hollow cavity of the first dimension allows insertion of the guidewire therein” however independent claim 1 recites “an inner diameter of the hollow cavity is configured in conformity with the guidewire such that only the guidewire is inserted through the hollow cavity” which fully encompasses the scope of what is recited in claim 3. The only limiting portion of claim 3 is “wherein the sheath member comprises an elongated cylindrical tube” and The Office recommends amending claim 3 to just recite that portion. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 3, 4, and 13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Bergin et al. (US 20080015481 A1).
Regarding claim 1 Bergin discloses (fig. 3-4) a tamponade device, comprising:
a sheath member 60 comprising a hollow cavity 76 defined along a length of the sheath member 60 (see fig. 3 and [0054]), the hollow cavity configured to allow insertion of a guidewire 20 therein (see fig. 3 and [0055]),
wherein an inner diameter of the hollow cavity 76 is configured in conformity with the guidewire (see fig. 3 showing the cavity and guidewire being a similar shape) such that only the guidewire is inserted through the hollow cavity (see [0054]-[0058] which describes the use and only a guidewire is inserted therein),
wherein the sheath member 60 is configured to be positioned at a vascular access point of a subject over the guidewire 20 deployed in a lumen of a blood vessel (see fig. 3 and [0057]), and
wherein the sheath member 60 is configured with a predefined diametrical size (size of 64) that impedes the tamponade device from being deployed into the lumen of the blood vessel through the vascular access point of the subject, thereby positioning the sheath member at the vascular access point to occlude the vascular access point of the blood vessel (see fig. 3, [0057], [0077], and [0078]), and
wherein the predefined diametrical size (size of 64) corresponds to an outer diameter of the sheath member 60 (see fig. 3), and wherein the outer diameter of the sheath member is greater than a size of the vascular access point (see fig. 3), thereby impeding the tamponade device from being deployed into the lumen of the blood vessel through the vascular access point (see fig. 3).
Regarding claim 3 Bergin further discloses (fig. 3-4) the sheath member 60 comprises an elongated cylindrical tube 68, wherein the hollow cavity 76 is configured with a first dimension, the first dimension of the hollow cavity corresponding to the inner diameter of the hollow cavity (see fig. 3), and wherein the hollow cavity of the first dimension allows insertion of the guidewire therein (see fig. 3 and [0057]).
Regarding claim 4 Bergin further discloses (fig. 3-4) the sheath member 60 when positioned at the vascular access point is configured to apply focal pressure at one of a skin level 44 of the subject and the vascular access point of the subject, thus resulting in hemostasis at the vascular access point (See fig. 3 and [0077]).
Regarding claim 13 Bergin further discloses (fig. 3-4) the sheath member 60 is configured to be positioned at the vascular access point to occlude the lumen of the blood vessel based on a serial dilation induced by a dilator device 10 at the vascular access point (see fig. 3, [0057], [0077], and [0078]).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 12 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bergin in view of Pipenhagen (US 20090171387 A1).
Regarding claim 12, Bergin discloses the claimed invention substantially as claimed, as set forth above for claim 1. Bergin is silent regarding the sheath member is made of biocompatible plastic materials.
However Pipenhagen, in the same filed of endeavor, teaches (fig. 2) a sheath member 50 that is made of biocompatible plastic materials (see [0040]).
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify Bergin to have the sheath member is made of biocompatible plastic materials as taught by Pipenhagen, for the purpose of having the device made of a medical grade material to reduce reactions from the body when the device is used (see Pipenhagen [0040]).
Conclusion
/KATHERINE H MENDEZ/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3771