DETAILED ACTION
This FINAL action is in response to Application No. 18/805,285 filed 8/14/2024. The present application, filed on or after March 16, 2013, is being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA . The amendment presented on 9/18/2026 which provides amendments to claims 1, 7, 8, 14, and 15, cancelations of claims 5, 12, and 19, and new claims 21-23, is hereby acknowledged. Claims 1-4, 6-11, 13-18, and 20-23 are currently pending.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments with respect to claims 1, 8, and 15 have been considered, however, the amendment(s) to the claims necessitated a new consideration and search resulting in new prior art cited below.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 2, 6-9, 13-16, 19, and 20-23 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Duggan et al. (US 2017/0277671 A1, hereinafter “Duggan”), in view of Coch et al. (US 2016/0255029 A1, hereinafter “Coch”), and further in view of GIS Cloud (“GIS Cloud Learning Center”, https://manual.giscloud.com/knowledge-base/share-layer/, “Share Layer” and “Layer List” published 6/30/2020, and “How to add new features to an existing layer?” published 7/14/2020).
Regarding claim 1, Duggan teaches a method comprising:
displaying a view of a physical environment on a display of a first electronic device using map data stored locally on the first electronic device. More specifically, at least Figures 1-6 depict user interfaces displaying a map environment. Figure 8 depict the environment where annotations/notes can be shared among a group of devices that display the retrieved/stored map environment (Duggan, abstract, [0064]).
receiving a user input comprising at least one annotation for the view; displaying a revised view of the physical environment on the display, the revised view comprising the at least one annotation. More specifically, at least Figures 1A-1C depict annotations on a map that have been added by user input (Duggan, abstract, [0023]-[0026]).
concurrently maintaining, on the first electronic device, the revised view and one or more additional views, wherein the one or more additional views are generated from the map data and include a different set of one or more annotations. More specifically, a map may utilize a tabbed interface, where each tab represents the same geographic area from the same perspective, though includes different annotations. Each tab can represent a different note group/category/collection and a category/collection can be shared with others (Duggan, [0036], [0043], [0063], any annotated tab could be considered a revised view).
…;
transmitting view information about the revised view to one or more second electronic devices, the view information comprising location information and the at least one annotation without the map data. More specifically, the annotations/notes include view parameters such as zoom and orientation as well as geographic location (e.g., latitude and longitude) information (Duggan, abstract, Figure 9, [0021], [0073]-[0079]). Sharing the annotation/note may occur automatically via wired/wireless communication between devices belonging to the first and second users (Duggan [0063]).
wherein the transmitted view information is configured to enable the one or more second electronic devices to generate and display the revised view on a corresponding display using second map data. More specifically, upon receiving the shared note, a device belonging to the second user may selectively display the shared note in a map application as an annotation (Duggan, [0063]).
However, Duggan does not explicitly teach every aspect of
[the second map data] stored locally on the one or more second electronic devices; and
wherein the one or more second electronic devices are configured to display the revised view substantially concurrently with the revised view on the first electronic device.
Coch discloses collaborating on geographical maps between two or more computers (Coch, abstract). At least Figures 3A-3L depict user interfaces displaying a map environment at each computing device in geo-collaboration (Coch, abstract, Figure 2, 3A-3L). During a process for creating and sharing an annotation (creating a “map item”), the map file is depicted as locally stored at the geo-collaborating computing devices (Coch, Figure 12, [0110], step 1265). A map item is created and shown in the mapping environment (Coch, Figures 3K-3L and 12, [0064]-[0065], [0079], [0110], steps 1210-1230). A PropertyReplicator process running on each geo-collaborating computing device, performs the function of informing other computing devices of the created map items. The XML representation of the map item is sent to the other computing devices and non-map portions of the user interface is updated (Coch, [0067], [0080]-[0081]). Among the geo-collaboration computing devices, a user/device can be set up as a “leader” while other users/devices can be set up as “followers” such that the view perspective of the followers’ devices is synchronized to the view perspective of the leader device (Coch, [0054]). Therefore, Coch suggests a geo-collaboration annotation system where map data is stored locally on each device and annotations and view parameters are sent to collaborating devices and displayed substantially concurrently.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention given the teachings of Duggan and Coch that a method for annotating and revising a view of a map environment on a first device and transmitting the revised view comprising the annotation to one or more second devices would include that the map data stored locally on the one or more second devices and view being revised on the one or more second devices substantially concurrently with the first device. With Duggan and Coch disclosing sharing map views and map annotations among a plurality of devices, and with Coch additionally disclosing that the map data is stored locally on the plurality of devices as well as that the view and annotations are updated on the plurality of devices substantially concurrently, one of ordinary skill in the art of implementing a metho d of method for annotating and revising a view of a map environment on a first device and transmitting the revised view comprising the annotation to one or more second devices would include that the map data stored locally on the one or more second devices and view being revised on the one or more second devices substantially concurrently with the first device in order to have the updated map view on the plurality of devices occur as fast as possible for situations such as navigating to a location collectively. One would therefore be motivated to combine these teachings as in doing so would create this method for method for annotating and revising a view of a map environment on a first device and transmitting the revised view comprising the annotation to one or more second devices.
However, Duggan and Coch may not explicitly teach every aspect of
receiving one or more user actuations on the display of the first electronic device that (i) designate the revised view as a shared view and (ii) grant one or more second electronic devices permission to modify the shared view.
withholding the one or more additional views while the shared view is shared with and modifiable by the one or more second electronic devices.
GIS Cloud is a collaborative map application where annotations can be added to individual layers (GIS Cloud, “How to add new features to an existing layer?”, Page 7-8). The visibility of each of the layers can be toggled on and off (GIS Cloud, “Layer List”, Page 13, construable as tabs). Each layer can individually be shared with permissions including view only or view and edit (GIS Cloud, “Layer List”, Page 13). Therefore, the layers of GIS Cloud are construable as toggleable tab views, any of which can be considered revised views.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention given the teachings of Duggan and Coch with GIS Cloud that a method for annotating one or more views of a map environment on a first device where different views/groups of annotations can be organized into tabs and shared with one or more second devices would include user actuations designating a view to be shared and granting one or more second devices permission to modify the shared view. With Duggan, Coch, and GIS Cloud disclosing sharing map views and map annotations among a plurality of devices, with Duggan suggesting annotations grouped under tabs can be shared, and with GIS Cloud additionally disclosing the user interactions for designating individual layers, construed as tabs, with annotations to be shared as well as modified by others, one of ordinary skill in the art of implementing a method for annotating one or more views of a map environment on a first device where different views/groups of annotations can be organized into tabs and shared with one or more second devices would include user actuations designating a view to be shared and granting one or more second devices permission to modify the shared view in order to allow granular control of map views when numerous users are to collaborate. One would therefore be motivated to combine these teachings as in doing so would create this method for annotating and revising a view of a map environment on a first device and transmitting the revised view comprising the annotation to one or more second devices.
Regarding claim 2, Duggan and Coch with GIS Cloud teach the method of Claim 1, wherein the location information comprises at least one of: two-dimensional or three-dimensional coordinates, an angle of orientation or rotation, or a zoom level. More specifically, the information included with the shared annotation is location data which may include two-dimensional coordinates for a location associated with a note, expressed as longitude and latitude, and may include a 3rd coordinate, expressed as an elevation/altitude of the note, or a zoom level of a map at the time the note was created (Duggan, [0021], [0060], [0063]-[0064]).
Regarding claim 6, Duggan and Coch with GIS Cloud teach the method of Claim 1, further comprising: receiving team location information identifying a location of at least one of the first electronic device or the one or more second electronic devices; and displaying an icon on the view indicating the location of the at least one of the first electronic device or the one or more second electronic devices. More specifically, the location of team members can be shown on the map (Coch, [0105]-[0106], [0064]-[0065], icons are used).
Regarding claim 7, Duggan and Coch with GIS Cloud teach the method of Claim 1, wherein the physical environment is at a location associated with a situation, the situation comprising at least one of: an emergency situation, a search and rescue operation, a natural disaster, an active shooter situation, or a military conflict. More specifically, an example map item/annotation is an emergency such as a bridge accident (Coch, [0059], Figures 3E and 3H-3J).
Regarding claim 21, Duggan and Coch with GIS Cloud teach the method of Claim 1, further comprising: displaying a plurality of tabs on the display of the first electronic device, each of the tabs corresponding to a respective one of the revised view and the one or more additional views; and responsive to a user selection of one of the tabs, displaying a view corresponding to the selected tab, wherein one or more annotations of the view corresponding to the selected tab are maintained and re-displayed. More specifically, a map may utilize a tabbed interface, where each tab represents the same geographic area from the same perspective, though includes different annotations. Each tab can represent a different note group/category/collection and a category/collection can be shared with others (Duggan, [0036], [0043], [0063]).
Regarding claims 8, 9, 13, 14, and 22 these claims recite the electronic device that performs the functions of the first electronic device of claims 1, 2, 6, 7, and 21, therefore, the same rationale of rejection is applicable.
Regarding claims 15, 16, 20, and 23 these claims recite the non-transitory computer readable medium containing instructions for performing the functions of the first electronic device of claims 1, 2, 6, and 21, therefore, the same rationale of rejection is applicable.
Claim(s) 3, 4, 10, 11, 17, and 18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Duggan and Coch, and further in view of Dayan et al. (US 8,122,341 A1, hereinafter “Dayan”).
Regarding claim 3, Duggan and Coch and GIS Cloud teach the method of Claim 1, and while Duggan and Coch both describe sharing annotations, it does not appear they disclose that a particular user interface map view depicts the annotation from the first device as well as an annotation from one or more second devices concurrently. More specifically, Duggan, Coch, and GIS Cloud may not explicitly teach every aspect of
further comprising:
receiving second view information from at least one of the one or more second electronic devices, the second view information comprising at least one second annotation; and
displaying a second revised view of the physical environment on the display, the second revised view comprising the at least one second annotation;
wherein the one or more second electronic devices are configured to display the second revised view concurrently with the second revised view on the first electronic device.
Dayan discloses users can collaborate to annotate a map by sharing geographical information. Map data can be stored locally or remotely while annotations are stored in an annotation server. A presentation device such as a personal computer can use the map data to display a map and can access the annotations on the annotation server and display them. Different users can edit the annotations and save them on the annotation server. The annotations presented to users who are simultaneously viewing them can be synchronized (Dayan, abstract). A group of people can collaborate by simultaneously editing annotations. When one person changes an annotation, the other people can see the change (Dayan, col 2, line 66- col 3, line 6). The annotations are embedded with viewing parameters such as orientation, scale, map center point, disabled/enabled layers (Dayan, col 5, lines 44-56). Therefore, Dayan suggests that annotations created by first and second users will be displayed in a map view for each of the first and second users simultaneously.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention given the teachings of Duggan, Coch, and GIS Cloud with Dayan that a method for annotating and revising a view of a map environment on a first device and transmitting the revised view comprising the annotation to one or more second devices would include that the first device and the one or more second devices will concurrently show annotations created at any of the first device and one or more second devices. With Duggan, Coch, GIS Cloud, and Dayan disclosing sharing map views and map annotations among a plurality of devices, and with Dayan additionally disclosing that annotations received from any of the devices in a group can be displayed simultaneously at the devices of the group, one of ordinary skill in the art of implementing a method of method for annotating and revising a view of a map environment on a first device and transmitting the revised view comprising the annotation to one or more second devices would include method for annotating and revising a view of a map environment on a first device and transmitting the revised view comprising the annotation to one or more second devices would include that the first device and the one or more second devices will concurrently show annotations created at any of the first device and one or more second devices in order to allow other users in the group, besides a leader, to provide annotations that may benefit the rest of the group. One would therefore be motivated to combine these teachings as in doing so would create this method for method for annotating and revising a view of a map environment on a first device and transmitting the revised view comprising the annotation to one or more second devices.
Regarding claim 4, Duggan, Coch, and GIS Cloud with Dayan teach the method of Claim 3, wherein the at least one annotation and the at least one second annotation comprise at least one of: an icon indicating a location of a person or equipment, or one or more drawn lines indicating movement of an object or a plan of future activity. More specifically, a map item may be a location, a point, a line, a shape, an icon, or the like indicating where users are planning to meet (Coch, [0043], [0079], [0083]). Additionally, annotations may be drawn freeform ink lines used for planning trips (Duggan, [0023], [0026]-[0027], [0035]). Additionally, annotations can pertain to wind monitoring equipment (Dayan, col 4, lines 34-51)
Regarding claims 10 and 11, these claims recite the electronic device that performs the functions of the first electronic device of claims 3 and 4, therefore, the same rationale of rejection is applicable.
Regarding claims 17 and 18, these claims recite the non-transitory computer readable medium containing instructions for performing the functions of the first electronic device of claims 3 and 4, therefore, the same rationale of rejection is applicable.
Pertinent Prior Art
The prior art made of record on form PTO-892 and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Applicant is required under 37 C.F.R. § 1.111(c) to consider these references fully when responding to this action.
Mitchel (US 20170010763 A1) - discloses methods for sharing a map context of an originating computer user with a plurality of other users is presented (Mitchel, abstract). At least Figures 1A-1F depict a map user interface showing routing annotations on the map and represented by “cards” (each “card” is construed as a view). The “cards” are a collection of information visually represented/added to a map (annotation). Each of the cards can be individually selected for sharing with other users. At least Figure 2 shows the other users only see the cards and their associated map annotations shared with them (Mitchel, [0016], [0019]-[0027]).
Hallenbeck (US 8,941,677 B1) – collaborative annotation of maps by emergency teams.
Beyer (US 9,749,829 B2) – collaborative annotation of maps by emergency teams.
Martin (US 2013/0132846 A1) – collaborative annotation of maps with permission levels.
Gordon (US 2007/0288164 A1) – collaborative annotation of maps.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/PATRICK F RIEGLER/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2171