DETAILED ACTION
Double Patenting
Claims 1-20 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-20 of U.S. Patent No. 12069586. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because all the claims in the pending Application are transparently found in US 12069586 with obvious wording variations. See the table below for comparison:
Pending Application 18805328
US 12069586
1. A method for transmitting a physical uplink control channel (PUCCH), the method comprising: receiving a number of transport blocks (TBs); determining: a number of hybrid automatic repeat request acknowledgement (HARQ-ACK) information bits in response to the reception of the number of TBs, and a power, wherein: the power depends on the number of HARQ-ACK information bits when a TB from the number of TBs provides unicast information, and the power does not depend on the number of HARQ-ACK information bits when all TBs from the number of TBs provide multicast information; and transmitting the PUCCH using the power, wherein the PUCCH provides the number of HARQ-ACK information bits.
2. The method of claim 1, wherein at least one HARQ-ACK information bit from the number of HARQ-ACK information bits indicates negative acknowledgement when all TBs provide multicast information.
10. The method of claim 1, wherein: a unicast TB is identified by a first radio network temporary identifier (RNTI), and a multicast TB is identified by a second RNTI.
1. A method comprising: determining: a sum of: a first number of received transport blocks (TBs) associated with a first set of radio network temporary identifiers (RNTIs), a second number of received TBs associated with a second set of RNTIs, and a third number of non-received TBs associated with the second set of RNTIs, and a power for a physical uplink control channel (PUCCH) transmission based on the sum, wherein the PUCCH includes first hybrid automatic repeat request acknowledgement (HARQ-ACK) information bits associated with the first set of RNTIs and second HARQ-ACK information bits associated with the second set of RNTIs; and transmitting the PUCCH using the power.
3. The method of claim 1, wherein transmission of the PUCCH is according to a PUCCH format 1.
4. The method of claim 1, further comprising: transmitting the PUCCH with a number of repetitions over a number of slots using a resource, wherein: when the resource is determined based on a first downlink control information (DCI) format associated with a RNTI from the first set of RNTIs, the number of repetitions is indicated by the first DCI format, and when the resource is determined based on a second DCI format associated with a RNTI from the second set of RNTIs, the number of repetitions is indicated by radio resource control (RRC) signaling.
4. The method of claim 1, wherein: all TBs from the number of TBs provide multicast information, and a maximum value for the number of HARQ-ACK information bits is four.
5. The method of claim 1, wherein: all TBs from the number of TBs provide multicast information, and a resource used for transmission of the PUCCH indicates values for the number of HARQ-ACK information bits.
7. The method of claim 1, further comprising encoding jointly the first HARQ-ACK information bits and the second HARQ-ACK information bits using a Reed-Muller code, wherein a sum of a number of the first HARQ-ACK information bits and of a number of the second HARQ-ACK information bits is smaller than 12.
6. The method of claim 1, wherein: all TBs from the number of TBs provide multicast information, a resource used for transmission of the PUCCH is from a set of resources, a first set of resources from the set of resources is used when the number of HARQ-ACK information bits is M, a second set of resources from the set of resources is used when the number of HARQ-ACK information bits is N, a first set of resources is a subset of the second set of resources, and M is smaller than N.
4. The method of claim 1, further comprising: transmitting the PUCCH with a number of repetitions over a number of slots using a resource, wherein: when the resource is determined based on a first downlink control information (DCI) format associated with a RNTI from the first set of RNTIs, the number of repetitions is indicated by the first DCI format, and when the resource is determined based on a second DCI format associated with a RNTI from the second set of RNTIs, the number of repetitions is indicated by radio resource control (RRC) signaling.
7. The method of claim 1, further comprising: determining the power based on a value of a closed loop power control (CLPC) adjustment state, wherein the CLPC adjustment state: is a first CLPC adjustment state or a second CLPC adjustment state when all TBs are unicast, and is the first CLPC adjustment state when all TBs are multicast.
9. The method of claim 8, wherein: the CLPC adjustment state is a first CLPC adjustment state or a second CLPC adjustment state when a number of the first HARQ-ACK information bits is not zero, and the CLPC adjustment state is the first CLPC adjustment state when the number of the first HARQ-ACK information bits is zero.
8. The method of claim 7, wherein: the CLPC adjustment state is a sum of transmission power control (TPC) command values, and a TPC command value: is provided by each downlink control information (DCI) format associated with a unicast TB, and is not provided by any DCI format associated with a multicast TB.
8. The method of claim 1, further comprising: determining the power based on a value of closed loop power control (CLPC) adjustment state that is a sum of transmission power control (TPC) values, wherein a TPC command value: is provided by each downlink control information (DCI) format associated with the first set of RNTIs, and is not provided by any DCI format associated with the second set of RNTIs.
9. The method of claim 1, further comprising: determining a number of repetitions for transmission of the PUCCH, wherein: an indication for the number of repetitions is included in a resource used for transmission of the PUCCH when a TB from the number of TBs provides unicast information, and an indication for the number of repetitions is not included in a resource used for transmission of the PUCCH when all TBs from the number of TBs provide multicast information; and transmitting the PUCCH with the number of repetitions.
4. The method of claim 1, further comprising: transmitting the PUCCH with a number of repetitions over a number of slots using a resource, wherein: when the resource is determined based on a first downlink control information (DCI) format associated with a RNTI from the first set of RNTIs, the number of repetitions is indicated by the first DCI format, and when the resource is determined based on a second DCI format associated with a RNTI from the second set of RNTIs, the number of repetitions is indicated by radio resource control (RRC) signaling.
11. A user equipment (UE) comprising: a transceiver configured to receive a number of transport blocks (TBs); and a processor operably coupled to the transceiver, the processor configured to determine: a number of hybrid automatic repeat request acknowledgement (HARQ-ACK) information bits in response to the reception of the number of TBs, and a power, wherein: the power depends on the number of HARQ-ACK information bits when a TB from the number of TBs provides unicast information, and the power does not depend on the number of HARQ-ACK information bits when all TBs from the number of TBs provide multicast information, wherein: the transceiver is further configured to transmit a physical uplink control channel (PUCCH) using the power, wherein the PUCCH provides the number of HARQ-ACK information bits.
12. The UE of claim 11, wherein at least one HARQ-ACK information bit from the number of HARQ-ACK information bits indicates negative acknowledgement when all TBs provide multicast information.
20. The UE of claim 11, wherein: a unicast TB is identified by a first radio network temporary identifier (RNTI), and a multicast TB is identified by a second RNTI.
11. A user equipment (UE) comprising: a processor configured to determine: a sum of: a first number of received transport blocks (TBs) associated with a first set of radio network temporary identifiers (RNTIs), a second number of received TBs associated with a second set of RNTIs, and a third number of non-received TBs associated with the second set of RNTIs; and a power for a physical uplink control channel (PUCCH) transmission based on the sum, wherein the PUCCH includes first hybrid automatic repeat request acknowledgement (HARQ-ACK) information bits associated with the first set of RNTIs and second HARQ-ACK information bits associated with the second set of RNTIs; and a transceiver operably coupled to the processor, the transceiver configured to transmit the PUCCH using the power.
13. The UE of claim 11, wherein transmission of the PUCCH is according to a PUCCH format 1.
14. The UE of claim 11, wherein: the transceiver is further configured to transmit the PUCCH with a number of repetitions over a number of slots using a resource, when the resource is determined based on a first downlink control information (DCI) format associated with a RNTI from the first set of RNTIs, the number of repetitions is indicated by the first DCI format, and when the resource is determined based on a second DCI format associated with a RNTI from the second set of RNTIs, the number of repetitions is indicated by radio resource control (RRC) signaling.
14. The UE of claim 11, wherein: all TBs from the number of TBs provide multicast information, and a maximum value for the number of HARQ-ACK information bits is four.
15. The UE of claim 11, wherein: all TBs from the number of TBs provide multicast information, and a resource used for transmission of the PUCCH indicates values for the number of HARQ-ACK information bits.
17. The UE of claim 11, further comprising an encoder configured to encode jointly the first HARQ-ACK information bits and the second HARQ-ACK information bits using a Reed-Muller code, wherein a sum of a number of the first HARQ-ACK information bits and of a number of the second HARQ-ACK information bits is smaller than 12.
16. The UE of claim 11, wherein: all TBs from the number of TBs provide multicast information, a resource used for transmission of the PUCCH is from a set of resources, and a first set of resources from the set of resources is used when the number of HARQ-ACK information bits is M, a second set of resources from the set of resources is used when the number of HARQ-ACK information bits is N, a first set of resources is a subset of the second set of resources, and M is smaller than N.
14. The UE of claim 11, wherein: the transceiver is further configured to transmit the PUCCH with a number of repetitions over a number of slots using a resource, when the resource is determined based on a first downlink control information (DCI) format associated with a RNTI from the first set of RNTIs, the number of repetitions is indicated by the first DCI format, and when the resource is determined based on a second DCI format associated with a RNTI from the second set of RNTIs, the number of repetitions is indicated by radio resource control (RRC) signaling.
17. The UE of claim 11, wherein: the processor is further configured to determine the power based on a value of a closed loop power control (CLPC) adjustment state, and the CLPC adjustment state: is a first CLPC adjustment state or a second CLPC adjustment state when all TBs are unicast, and is the first CLPC adjustment state when all TBs are multicast.
18. The UE of claim 11, wherein: the processor is further configured to determine the power based on a value of closed loop power control (CLPC) adjustment state that is a sum of transmission power control (TPC) values, and a TPC command value: is provided by each downlink control information (DCI) format associated with the first set of RNTIs, and is not provided by any DCI format associated with the second set of RNTIs.
18. The UE of claim 17, wherein: the CLPC adjustment state is a sum of transmission power control (TPC) command values, and a TPC command value: is provided by each downlink control information (DCI) format associated with a unicast TB, and is not provided by any DCI format associated with a multicast TB.
18. The UE of claim 11, wherein: the processor is further configured to determine the power based on a value of closed loop power control (CLPC) adjustment state that is a sum of transmission power control (TPC) values, and a TPC command value: is provided by each downlink control information (DCI) format associated with the first set of RNTIs, and is not provided by any DCI format associated with the second set of RNTIs.
19. The UE of claim 11, wherein: the processor is further configured to determine a number of repetitions for transmission of the PUCCH, an indication for the number of repetitions is included in a resource used for transmission of the PUCCH when a TB from the number of TBs provides unicast information, an indication for the number of repetitions is not included in a resource used for transmission of the PUCCH when all TBs from the number of TBs provide multicast information, and the transceiver is further configured to transmit the PUCCH with the number of repetitions.
4. The method of claim 1, further comprising: transmitting the PUCCH with a number of repetitions over a number of slots using a resource, wherein: when the resource is determined based on a first downlink control information (DCI) format associated with a RNTI from the first set of RNTIs, the number of repetitions is indicated by the first DCI format, and when the resource is determined based on a second DCI format associated with a RNTI from the second set of RNTIs, the number of repetitions is indicated by radio resource control (RRC) signaling.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 2, 11 and 12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Baldemair (US 20210022082, hereinafter “Baldemair”), and further in view of Liu et al. (US 20210250905, hereinafter “Liu”).
Regarding claim 1, Baldemair discloses,
A method for transmitting a physical uplink control channel (PUCCH) (The feedback signaling is may in general be transmitted on a control channel like PUCCH or PSCCH, or a data channel like PUSCH or PSSCH, [0012]), the method comprising:
receiving a number of transport blocks (TBs) (The first part in the formula (the first sum) is used to determine missed DL (scheduling) assignments respectively the number of relevant A/N bits, for consideration in power control, [0039]-[0040]);
determining: a number of hybrid automatic repeat request acknowledgement (HARQ-ACK) information bits in response to the reception of the number of TBs (The first part in the formula (the first sum) is used to determine missed DL (scheduling) assignments respectively the number of relevant A/N bits, for consideration in power control [0037]-[0040]. Feedback signaling may comprise and/or carry and/or represent acknowledgement information, in particular A/N bits, e.g. according to a HARQ codebook, which may be determined dynamically. A HARQ codebook may generally indicate the number of A/N bits and/or which bits pertain to which HARQ process and/or scheduled transmission (e.g., data transmission scheduled for reception by a scheduling assignment [0022]), and a power (the power level may be based on a number of bits associated to determined missed scheduling assignments, thus being based on the determined missed scheduling assignments [0015]), wherein:
the power depends on the number of HARQ-ACK information bits when a TB from the number of TBs provides unicast information (A received scheduling assignment may be an assignment that has been received and/or decoded and/or demodulated correctly, and/or based on which a UE can determine a transmission scheduled for reception by the UE, e.g. on resources indicated by the scheduling assignment [0009]; all assignments and scheduled transmissions in here pertain to one event of feedback signaling by one UE, and/or for one HARQ codebook, e.g. in one PUCCH transmission or message, or one PUSCH transmission (in which case it may be punctured or rate-matched on PUSCH [0034]; the first sum is used to determine missed DL (scheduling) assignments respectively the number of relevant A/N bits, for consideration in power control, [0039]-[0040]); and
transmitting the PUCCH using the power ([0034]; [0038]-[0040]), wherein the PUCCH provides the number of HARQ-ACK information bits (The first part in the formula (the first sum) is used to determine missed DL (scheduling) assignments respectively the number of relevant A/N bits, for consideration in power control [0037]-[0040]. Feedback signaling may comprise and/or carry and/or represent acknowledgement information, in particular A/N bits, e.g. according to a HARQ codebook, which may be determined dynamically. A HARQ codebook may generally indicate the number of A/N bits and/or which bits pertain to which HARQ process and/or scheduled transmission (e.g., data transmission scheduled for reception by a scheduling assignment [0022]).
However, Baldemair does not explicitly disclose, the power does not depend on the number of HARQ-ACK information bits when all TBs from the number of TBs provide multicast information.
In the same field of endeavor, Liu discloses, the power does not depend on the number of HARQ-ACK information bits when all TBs from the number of TBs provide multicast information (The present disclosure provides techniques for multicast feedback with flexible switching between a common NACK-only feedback mode and a UE-specific ACK/NACK feedback mode. For instance, a BS may configure each UE in a multicast group with a multicast feedback configuration. The multicast feedback configuration may indicate a first resource configuration for a NACK feedback mode and a second resource configuration for an ACK/NACK feedback mode, [0039]. the NACK-only feedback and the ACK/NACK feedback may use different, separate power control procedures. For example, a power control for the NACK-only feedback may include a first target received power (at a BS) and a first pathloss compensation coefficient and a power control for the ACK/NACK feedback may include a second target received power (at a BS) and a second pathloss compensation coefficient, where the first target received power is different than the second target received power and the first pathloss compensation coefficient is different than the second pathloss compensation coefficient. By using orthogonal PUCCH resources for a NACK-only feedback and for an ACK/NACK feedback, different target received powers may not impact the reception of each PUCCH feedback [0090]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed inventio to modify Baldemair by specifically providing the power does not depend on the number of HARQ-ACK information bits when all TBs from the number of TBs provide multicast information, as taught by Liu for the purpose of using HARQ techniques to improve communication reliability, for example, to provide a URLLC service [0060].
Regarding claim 2, the combination of Baldemair and Liu discloses everything claimed as applied above (see claim 1), in addition Liu discloses, wherein at least one HARQ-ACK information bit from the number of HARQ-ACK information bits indicates negative acknowledgement when all TBs provide multicast information (] HARQ techniques are commonly used in unicast services to provide high-reliability communications. While HARQ techniques can also be applied to multicast services to improve communication reliability, currently HARQ is not applied to multicast services due to the complexity of having to receive and manage ACK/NACK feedbacks from a large number of recipients or user equipment devices (UEs). One approach to reducing the amount of feedback signaling and feedback resources is to assign all UEs in a multicast group with the same resource for NACK-only feedbacks, [0035]; [0039]).
Regarding claim 11, Baldemair discloses,
A user equipment (UE) (FIG. 3 schematically shows a radio node, in particular a terminal or wireless device 10) comprising:
A transceiver (Radio node 10 also comprises radio circuitry 22 providing receiving and transmitting or transceiving functionality (e.g., one or more transmitters and/or receivers and/or transceivers, [0046]), configured to receive a number of transport blocks (TBs) (The first part in the formula (the first sum) is used to determine missed DL (scheduling) assignments respectively the number of relevant A/N bits, for consideration in power control, [0039]-[0040]);
a processor operably coupled to transceiver (Radio node 10 comprises processing circuitry (which may also be referred to as control circuitry) 20, [0046]), the processor configured to
determine: a number of hybrid automatic repeat request acknowledgement (HARQ-ACK) information bits in response to the reception of the number of TBs (The first part in the formula (the first sum) is used to determine missed DL (scheduling) assignments respectively the number of relevant A/N bits, for consideration in power control [0037]-[0040]. Feedback signaling may comprise and/or carry and/or represent acknowledgement information, in particular A/N bits, e.g. according to a HARQ codebook, which may be determined dynamically. A HARQ codebook may generally indicate the number of A/N bits and/or which bits pertain to which HARQ process and/or scheduled transmission (e.g., data transmission scheduled for reception by a scheduling assignment [0022]), and a power (the power level may be based on a number of bits associated to determined missed scheduling assignments, thus being based on the determined missed scheduling assignments [0015]), wherein:
the power depends on the number of HARQ-ACK information bits when a TB from the number of TBs provides unicast information (A received scheduling assignment may be an assignment that has been received and/or decoded and/or demodulated correctly, and/or based on which a UE can determine a transmission scheduled for reception by the UE, e.g. on resources indicated by the scheduling assignment [0009]; all assignments and scheduled transmissions in here pertain to one event of feedback signaling by one UE, and/or for one HARQ codebook, e.g. in one PUCCH transmission or message, or one PUSCH transmission (in which case it may be punctured or rate-matched on PUSCH [0034]; the first sum is used to determine missed DL (scheduling) assignments respectively the number of relevant A/N bits, for consideration in power control, [0039]-[0040]); and
the transceiver is further configured to transmit a physical uplink control channel (PUCCH) using the power ([0034]; [0038]-[0040]), wherein the PUCCH provides the number of HARQ-ACK information bits (The first part in the formula (the first sum) is used to determine missed DL (scheduling) assignments respectively the number of relevant A/N bits, for consideration in power control [0037]-[0040]. Feedback signaling may comprise and/or carry and/or represent acknowledgement information, in particular A/N bits, e.g. according to a HARQ codebook, which may be determined dynamically. A HARQ codebook may generally indicate the number of A/N bits and/or which bits pertain to which HARQ process and/or scheduled transmission (e.g., data transmission scheduled for reception by a scheduling assignment [0022]).
However, Baldemair does not explicitly disclose, the power does not depend on the number of HARQ-ACK information bits when all TBs from the number of TBs provide multicast information.
In the same field of endeavor, Liu discloses, the power does not depend on the number of HARQ-ACK information bits when all TBs from the number of TBs provide multicast information (The present disclosure provides techniques for multicast feedback with flexible switching between a common NACK-only feedback mode and a UE-specific ACK/NACK feedback mode. For instance, a BS may configure each UE in a multicast group with a multicast feedback configuration. The multicast feedback configuration may indicate a first resource configuration for a NACK feedback mode and a second resource configuration for an ACK/NACK feedback mode, [0039]. the NACK-only feedback and the ACK/NACK feedback may use different, separate power control procedures. For example, a power control for the NACK-only feedback may include a first target received power (at a BS) and a first pathloss compensation coefficient and a power control for the ACK/NACK feedback may include a second target received power (at a BS) and a second pathloss compensation coefficient, where the first target received power is different than the second target received power and the first pathloss compensation coefficient is different than the second pathloss compensation coefficient. By using orthogonal PUCCH resources for a NACK-only feedback and for an ACK/NACK feedback, different target received powers may not impact the reception of each PUCCH feedback [0090]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed inventio to modify Baldemair by specifically providing the power does not depend on the number of HARQ-ACK information bits when all TBs from the number of TBs provide multicast information, as taught by Liu for the purpose of using HARQ techniques to improve communication reliability, for example, to provide a URLLC service [0060].
Regarding claim 12, the combination of Baldemair and Liu discloses everything claimed as applied above (see claim 11), in addition Liu discloses, wherein at least one HARQ-ACK information bit from the number of HARQ-ACK information bits indicates negative acknowledgement when all TBs provide multicast information (] HARQ techniques are commonly used in unicast services to provide high-reliability communications. While HARQ techniques can also be applied to multicast services to improve communication reliability, currently HARQ is not applied to multicast services due to the complexity of having to receive and manage ACK/NACK feedbacks from a large number of recipients or user equipment devices (UEs). One approach to reducing the amount of feedback signaling and feedback resources is to assign all UEs in a multicast group with the same resource for NACK-only feedbacks, [0035]; [0039]).
Claims 3 and 13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Baldemair, in view of Liu and further in view of Lin et al. (Us 20230163896, hereinafter “Lin”).
Regarding claim 3, the combination of Baldemair and Liu discloses everything claimed as applied above (see claim 1), however the combination of Baldemair and Liu does not disclose, wherein transmission of the PUCCH is according to a PUCCH format 1.
In the same field of endeavor, Lin does not disclose wherein transmission of the PUCCH is according to a PUCCH format 1 (PUCCH format 0 and/or format 1 resource(s) may be used for the MBS reception status feedback, [0067]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the combination of Baldemair and Liu by specifically providing wherein transmission of the PUCCH is according to a PUCCH format 1, as taught by Lin for the purpose of improvements in wireless communication for the next-generation wireless communication system by providing a method of performing a feedback transmission for a multicast or broadcast service (MBS) and a related device [0005]-[0006].
Regarding claim 13, the combination of Baldemair and Liu discloses everything claimed as applied above (see claim 11), however the combination of Baldemair and Liu does not disclose, wherein transmission of the PUCCH is according to a PUCCH format 1.
In the same field of endeavor, Lin does not disclose wherein transmission of the PUCCH is according to a PUCCH format 1 (PUCCH format 0 and/or format 1 resource(s) may be used for the MBS reception status feedback, [0067]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the combination of Baldemair and Liu by specifically providing wherein transmission of the PUCCH is according to a PUCCH format 1, as taught by Lin for the purpose of improvements in wireless communication for the next-generation wireless communication system by providing a method of performing a feedback transmission for a multicast or broadcast service (MBS) and a related device [0005]-[0006].
Claims 4, 5, 14 and 15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Baldemair, in view of Liu and further in view of Liu et al. (US 20200358559, hereinafter “Liu2”).
Regarding claim 4, the combination of Baldemair and Liu discloses everything claimed as applied above (see claim 1), however the combination of Baldemair and Liu does not disclose, wherein: all TBs from the number of TBs provide multicast information, and a maximum value for the number of HARQ-ACK information bits is four. In the same field of endeavor, Liu2 discloses, wherein: all TBs from the number of TBs provide multicast information, and a maximum value for the number of HARQ-ACK information bits is four (PUCCH format 1b is used to transmit 2 bits of HARQ-ACK. PUCCH format 1b with channel selection is used to transmit up to 4 bits of HARQ-ACK in a case that more than one serving cells are configured for the terminal apparatus [0048]; FIG. 5 is a diagram illustrating an example of mapping of HARQ-ACK (j) and a transport block according to the present embodiment. In FIG. 5, HARQ-ACK (0) corresponds to the transport block 421, HARQ-ACK (1) corresponds to the transport block 422, HARQ-ACK (2) corresponds to the transport block 431, and HARQ-ACK (3) corresponds to the transport block 432, [0086]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the combination of Baldemair and Liu by specifically providing wherein: all TBs from the number of TBs provide multicast information, and a maximum value for the number of HARQ-ACK information bits is four, as taught by Liu2 for the purpose of providing a system capable of transmitting uplink control information efficiently and capable of receiving uplink control information efficiently [0010].
Regarding claim 5, the combination of Baldemair and Liu discloses everything claimed as applied above (see claim 1), however the combination of Baldemair and Liu does not disclose, all TBs from the number of TBs provide multicast information, and a resource used for transmission of the PUCCH indicates values for the number of HARQ-ACK information bits. In the same field of endeavor, Liu2 discloses, wherein: all TBs from the number of TBs provide multicast information, and a resource used for transmission of the PUCCH indicates values for the number of HARQ-ACK information bits (PUCCH format 1b is used to transmit 2 bits of HARQ-ACK. PUCCH format 1b with channel selection is used to transmit up to 4 bits of HARQ-ACK in a case that more than one serving cells are configured for the terminal apparatus [0048]; FIG. 5 is a diagram illustrating an example of mapping of HARQ-ACK (j) and a transport block according to the present embodiment. In FIG. 5, HARQ-ACK (0) corresponds to the transport block 421, HARQ-ACK (1) corresponds to the transport block 422, HARQ-ACK (2) corresponds to the transport block 431, and HARQ-ACK (3) corresponds to the transport block 432, [0086]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the combination of Baldemair and Liu by specifically providing all TBs from the number of TBs provide multicast information, and a resource used for transmission of the PUCCH indicates values for the number of HARQ-ACK information bits, as taught by Liu2 for the purpose of providing a system capable of transmitting uplink control information efficiently and capable of receiving uplink control information efficiently [0010].
Regarding claim 14, the combination of Baldemair and Liu discloses everything claimed as applied above (see claim 11), however the combination of Baldemair and Liu does not disclose, wherein: all TBs from the number of TBs provide multicast information, and a maximum value for the number of HARQ-ACK information bits is four. In the same field of endeavor, Liu2 discloses, wherein: all TBs from the number of TBs provide multicast information, and a maximum value for the number of HARQ-ACK information bits is four (PUCCH format 1b is used to transmit 2 bits of HARQ-ACK. PUCCH format 1b with channel selection is used to transmit up to 4 bits of HARQ-ACK in a case that more than one serving cells are configured for the terminal apparatus [0048]; FIG. 5 is a diagram illustrating an example of mapping of HARQ-ACK (j) and a transport block according to the present embodiment. In FIG. 5, HARQ-ACK (0) corresponds to the transport block 421, HARQ-ACK (1) corresponds to the transport block 422, HARQ-ACK (2) corresponds to the transport block 431, and HARQ-ACK (3) corresponds to the transport block 432, [0086]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the combination of Baldemair and Liu by specifically providing wherein: all TBs from the number of TBs provide multicast information, and a maximum value for the number of HARQ-ACK information bits is four, as taught by Liu2 for the purpose of providing a system capable of transmitting uplink control information efficiently and capable of receiving uplink control information efficiently [0010].
Regarding claim 15, the combination of Baldemair and Liu discloses everything claimed as applied above (see claim 11), however the combination of Baldemair and Liu does not disclose, all TBs from the number of TBs provide multicast information, and a resource used for transmission of the PUCCH indicates values for the number of HARQ-ACK information bits. In the same field of endeavor, Liu2 discloses, wherein: all TBs from the number of TBs provide multicast information, and a resource used for transmission of the PUCCH indicates values for the number of HARQ-ACK information bits (PUCCH format 1b is used to transmit 2 bits of HARQ-ACK. PUCCH format 1b with channel selection is used to transmit up to 4 bits of HARQ-ACK in a case that more than one serving cells are configured for the terminal apparatus [0048]; FIG. 5 is a diagram illustrating an example of mapping of HARQ-ACK (j) and a transport block according to the present embodiment. In FIG. 5, HARQ-ACK (0) corresponds to the transport block 421, HARQ-ACK (1) corresponds to the transport block 422, HARQ-ACK (2) corresponds to the transport block 431, and HARQ-ACK (3) corresponds to the transport block 432, [0086]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the combination of Baldemair and Liu by specifically providing all TBs from the number of TBs provide multicast information, and a resource used for transmission of the PUCCH indicates values for the number of HARQ-ACK information bits, as taught by Liu2 for the purpose of providing a system capable of transmitting uplink control information efficiently and capable of receiving uplink control information efficiently [0010].
Claims 7 and 17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Baldemair, in view of Liu and further in view of Jeon et al. (US 20210235388, hereinafter “Jeon”).
Regarding claim 7, the combination of Baldemair and Liu discloses everything claimed as applied above (see claim 1), however the combination of Baldemair and Liu does not disclose, determining the power based on a value of a closed loop power control (CLPC) adjustment state, wherein the CLPC adjustment state: is a first CLPC adjustment state or a second CLPC adjustment state when all TBs are unicast, and is the first CLPC adjustment state when all TBs are multicast. In the same field of endeavor, determining the power based on a value of a closed loop power control (CLPC) adjustment state (if the wireless device transmits the PUCCH on a carrier f in the primary cell c using PUCCH power control adjustment state with index l, [0412]- [0414]), wherein the CLPC adjustment state: is a first CLPC adjustment state or a second CLPC adjustment state when all TBs are unicast, and is the first CLPC adjustment state when all TBs are multicast (For the PUCCH power control adjustment state for a carrier f of a primary cell c and a PUCCH transmission period i, δ.sub.PUCCH,f,c(i−K.sub.PUCCH, l) may be a correction value, which may be a TPC command, and may be in a PDCCH with a DCI format (e.g., DCI format 1_0 or DCI format 1_1) for the carrier f of the primary cell c that the wireless device may detect in PUCCH transmission period i−K.sub.PUCCH, or jointly coded with one or more TPC commands in a PDCCH with a DCI format (e.g., DCI format 2_2) having CRC parity bits scrambled by a particular RNTI (e.g., TPC-PUCCH-RNTI) and l ∈ {1, 2} as indicated by a higher layer parameter (e.g., num-pucch-pcadjustment-states), [0418]-[0419]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the combination of Baldemair and Liu by specifically providing determining the power based on a value of a closed loop power control (CLPC) adjustment state, wherein the CLPC adjustment state: is a first CLPC adjustment state or a second CLPC adjustment state when all TBs are unicast, and is the first CLPC adjustment state when all TBs are multicast, as taught by Jeon for the purpose of providing an improved wireless communications without adversely increasing signaling overhead and/or decreasing spectral efficiency [0002].
Regarding claim 17, the combination of Baldemair and Liu discloses everything claimed as applied above (see claim 11), however the combination of Baldemair and Liu does not disclose, determining the power based on a value of a closed loop power control (CLPC) adjustment state, wherein the CLPC adjustment state: is a first CLPC adjustment state or a second CLPC adjustment state when all TBs are unicast, and is the first CLPC adjustment state when all TBs are multicast. In the same field of endeavor, determining the power based on a value of a closed loop power control (CLPC) adjustment state (if the wireless device transmits the PUCCH on a carrier f in the primary cell c using PUCCH power control adjustment state with index l, [0412]- [0414]), wherein the CLPC adjustment state: is a first CLPC adjustment state or a second CLPC adjustment state when all TBs are unicast, and is the first CLPC adjustment state when all TBs are multicast (For the PUCCH power control adjustment state for a carrier f of a primary cell c and a PUCCH transmission period i, δ.sub.PUCCH,f,c(i−K.sub.PUCCH, l) may be a correction value, which may be a TPC command, and may be in a PDCCH with a DCI format (e.g., DCI format 1_0 or DCI format 1_1) for the carrier f of the primary cell c that the wireless device may detect in PUCCH transmission period i−K.sub.PUCCH, or jointly coded with one or more TPC commands in a PDCCH with a DCI format (e.g., DCI format 2_2) having CRC parity bits scrambled by a particular RNTI (e.g., TPC-PUCCH-RNTI) and l ∈ {1, 2} as indicated by a higher layer parameter (e.g., num-pucch-pcadjustment-states), [0418]-[0419]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the combination of Baldemair and Liu by specifically providing determining the power based on a value of a closed loop power control (CLPC) adjustment state, wherein the CLPC adjustment state: is a first CLPC adjustment state or a second CLPC adjustment state when all TBs are unicast, and is the first CLPC adjustment state when all TBs are multicast, as taught by Jeon for the purpose of providing an improved wireless communications without adversely increasing signaling overhead and/or decreasing spectral efficiency [0002].
Claims 10 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Baldemair, in view of Liu and further in view of Zhou et al. (US 20230071767, hereinafter “Zhou”).
Regarding claim 10, the combination of Baldemair and Liu discloses everything claimed as applied above (see claim 1), however the combination of Baldemair and Liu does not disclose, wherein: a unicast TB is identified by a first radio network temporary identifier (RNTI), and a multicast TB is identified by a second RNTI.
In the same field of endeavor, Zhou discloses, wherein: a unicast TB is identified by a first radio network temporary identifier (RNTI) (As shown in FIG. 27A, a first wireless device (e.g., WD1) may receive, from a base station, transport blocks (TBs) dedicated for the first wireless device, and/or scheduled by a DCI with a first UE specific RNTI (e.g., C-RNTI, CS-RNTI, MCS-C-RNTI, etc.,) [0273]-[0274]), and a multicast TB is identified by a second RNTI (The base station may accordingly transmit to the wireless device MBS configuration parameters comprising a RNTI dedicated for receiving DCI scheduling the MBS TBs [0273]-[0274]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the combination of Baldemair and Liu by specifically providing wherein: a unicast TB is identified by a first radio network temporary identifier (RNTI), and a multicast TB is identified by a second RNTI, as taught by Zhou for the purpose of providing improving data transmission latency, reduce power consumption of a wireless device and/or increase data transmission accuracy. [0377].
Regarding claim 20, the combination of Baldemair and Liu discloses everything claimed as applied above (see claim 11), however the combination of Baldemair and Liu does not disclose, wherein: a unicast TB is identified by a first radio network temporary identifier (RNTI), and a multicast TB is identified by a second RNTI.
In the same field of endeavor, Zhou discloses, wherein: a unicast TB is identified by a first radio network temporary identifier (RNTI) (As shown in FIG. 27A, a first wireless device (e.g., WD1) may receive, from a base station, transport blocks (TBs) dedicated for the first wireless device, and/or scheduled by a DCI with a first UE specific RNTI (e.g., C-RNTI, CS-RNTI, MCS-C-RNTI, etc.,) [0273]-[0274]), and a multicast TB is identified by a second RNTI (The base station may accordingly transmit to the wireless device MBS configuration parameters comprising a RNTI dedicated for receiving DCI scheduling the MBS TBs [0273]-[0274]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the combination of Baldemair and Liu by specifically providing wherein: a unicast TB is identified by a first radio network temporary identifier (RNTI), and a multicast TB is identified by a second RNTI, as taught by Zhou for the purpose of providing improving data transmission latency, reduce power consumption of a wireless device and/or increase data transmission accuracy. [0377].
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 6, 8, 9, 16, 18 and 19 objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Regarding claim 6, the closest prior arts, Baldemair and Liu, whether taken alone or in combination does not disclose the following novel feature:
“the method comprising wherein: all TBs from the number of TBs provide multicast information, a resource used for transmission of the PUCCH is from a set of resources, a first set of resources from the set of resources is used when the number of HARQ-ACK information bits is M, a second set of resources from the set of resources is used when the number of HARQ-ACK information bits is N, a first set of resources is a subset of the second set of resources, and M is smaller than N”, in combination with the other limitations in claim 1.
Regarding claim 8, the closest prior arts, Baldemair, Liu and Jeon, whether taken alone or in combination does not disclose the following novel feature:
“the method comprising wherein: the CLPC adjustment state is a sum of transmission power control (TPC) command values, and a TPC command value: is provided by each downlink control information (DCI) format associated with a unicast TB, and is not provided by any DCI format associated with a multicast TB”, in combination with the other limitations in claims 1 and 7.
Regarding claim 9, the closest prior arts, Baldemair and Liu, whether taken alone or in combination does not disclose the following novel feature:
“the method comprising determining a number of repetitions for transmission of the PUCCH, wherein: an indication for the number of repetitions is included in a resource used for transmission of the PUCCH when a TB from the number of TBs provides unicast information, and an indication for the number of repetitions is not included in a resource used for transmission of the PUCCH when all TBs from the number of TBs provide multicast information; and transmitting the PUCCH with the number of repetitions”, in combination with the other limitations in claim 1.
Regarding claim 16, the closest prior arts, Baldemair and Liu, whether taken alone or in combination does not disclose the following novel feature:
“the device comprising wherein: all TBs from the number of TBs provide multicast information, a resource used for transmission of the PUCCH is from a set of resources, a first set of resources from the set of resources is used when the number of HARQ-ACK information bits is M, a second set of resources from the set of resources is used when the number of HARQ-ACK information bits is N, a first set of resources is a subset of the second set of resources, and M is smaller than N”, in combination with the other limitations in claim 1.
Regarding claim 18, the closest prior arts, Baldemair, Liu and Jeon, whether taken alone or in combination does not disclose the following novel feature:
“the device comprising wherein: the CLPC adjustment state is a sum of transmission power control (TPC) command values, and a TPC command value: is provided by each downlink control information (DCI) format associated with a unicast TB, and is not provided by any DCI format associated with a multicast TB”, in combination with the other limitations in claims 11 and 17.
Regarding claim 19, the closest prior arts, Baldemair and Liu, whether taken alone or in combination does not disclose the following novel feature:
“the device comprising determining a number of repetitions for transmission of the PUCCH, wherein: an indication for the number of repetitions is included in a resource used for transmission of the PUCCH when a TB from the number of TBs provides unicast information, and an indication for the number of repetitions is not included in a resource used for transmission of the PUCCH when all TBs from the number of TBs provide multicast information; and transmitting the PUCCH with the number of repetitions”, in combination with the other limitations in claim 11.
Prior Art of the Record:
The prior art made of record not relied upon and considered pertinent to
Applicant’s disclosure:
US 20220256573: Systems and methods for joint Hybrid Automatic Repeat Request (HARQ) feedback for Physical Downlink Shared Channel (PDSCH) transmission over multiple TRPs are provided. In some embodiments, a method performed by a wireless device for enabling transmission feedback includes: receiving a first Transport Block (TB) and a second TB.
US 20220045805: There is disclosed a receiving radio node in a wireless communication network, the method including transmitting feedback signaling based on a received control information message scheduling multiple separate data transmission for reception by the receiving radio node. The disclosure also pertains to related devices and methods.
US 20210266106: Method and apparatus for data transmission are disclosed. One method of a network equipment includes transmitting a control signal for scheduling at least one transport blocks, wherein the control signal includes a field for a number of scheduled transport blocks, and further includes at least one of following fields, a first field for NDI, a second field for RV, a third field for HARQ process ID, a fourth field.
Conclusion
/GOLAM SOROWAR/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2641