DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1 - 20 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1 - 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Han et al (US 2019/0394491, hereafter Han) in view of Lim et al (US 2019/0273922, hereafter Lim) in further view of Jhu et al (US 12,452,460, hereafter Jhu).
As per claim 1, a method of video decoding performed at a computing system having memory and one or more processors, the method comprising:
receiving a video bitstream comprising a plurality of blocks and a first indicator associated with one or more partitioning types (¶ 52);
parsing, from the video bitstream, the first indicator; when the first indicator has a first value, partitioning a first block of the plurality of blocks according to a first partitioning mode, including partitioning the first block into N equal-sized subblocks (¶ 72).
However, Han does not explicitly teach wherein N = 2M and wherein M is a positive integer that is greater than 2; and decoding the first block in accordance with the partitioning.
In the same field of endeavor, Lim teaches wherein N = 2M and wherein M is a positive integer that is greater than 2; and decoding the first block in accordance with the partitioning (¶ 632).
However, Han or Lim does not teach when the first indicator has a first value, parsing one or more partitioning parameters for the plurality of blocks and partitioning the plurality of blocks according to the one or more partitioning parameters.
In the same field of endeavor, teaches when the first indicator has a first value,
parsing one or more partitioning parameters for the plurality of blocks and partitioning the plurality of blocks according to the one or more partitioning parameters (Table 11; column 83; partition_constraints_override_flag equal 1 specifies that partition constrain parameters are present in the PH. partition_constraints_override_flag equal to 0 specifies that partition constraint parameters are not present in the PH.)
Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was effectively filed to modify the invention of Han in view of Lim. The advantage is an improvement in video coding.
As per claim 2, Han discloses the method of claim 1.
However, Han does not explicitly teach wherein N is a fixed number.
In the same field of endeavor, Lim teaches wherein N is a fixed number (¶632).
Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was effectively filed to modify the invention of Han in view of Lim. The advantage is an improvement in video coding.
As per claim 3, Han discloses the method of claim 1.
However, Han does not explicitly teach further comprising parsing a value for N from the video bitstream.
In the same field of endeavor, Lim teaches further comprising parsing a value for N from the video bitstream (¶ 632).
Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was effectively filed to modify the invention of Han in view of Lim. The advantage is an improvement in video coding.
As per claim 4, Han discloses the method of claim 1, wherein each subblock of the N equal-sized subblocks is square (¶ 72).
As per claim 5, Han discloses the method of claim 1, wherein the first block is a superblock (¶ 25).
As per claim 6, Han discloses the method of claim 1, wherein the first block is partitioned into the N equal-sized subblocks when the first block has a size that meets one or more criteria (¶ 81).
As per claim 7, Han discloses the method of claim 1, wherein the first partitioning mode is restricted to a predetermined number of uses with the first block (¶ 33).
As per claim 8, Han discloses the method of claim 1, wherein when the first indicator has the first value, the plurality of blocks are partitioned (¶ 26).
As per claim 9, Han discloses the method of claim 1, further comprising parsing, from the video bitstream, a second indicator that indicates whether the first partitioning mode is enabled at a first partitioning point of the first block (¶ 52).
As per claim 10, Han discloses the method of claim 9, wherein the second indicator is signaled in conjunction with a third indicator, the third indicator indicating that the first block is split into more than one subblock (¶ 52 and 72).
As per claim 11, Han discloses the method of claim 9, wherein the second indicator is encoded using a first context, the first context being based on a comparison between a block size of the first block and one or more neighboring block sizes (¶ 129).
As per claim 12, Han discloses the method of claim 11, wherein the first context is the same as a context for partitioning a block into 4 equal-sized subblocks (¶ 72).
As per claim 13, Han discloses the method of claim 11, wherein the first block corresponds to a first picture, and wherein the first context is based on a partitioning flag of a second block of the plurality of blocks, the second block corresponding to another picture, different than the first picture (¶ 52 and 72).
As per claim 14, Han discloses the method of claim 11, wherein the first block corresponds to a first color component, and wherein the first context is based on a partitioning flag of a second block of the plurality of blocks, the second block corresponding to a second color component, different than the first color component (¶ 66).
As per claim 15, Han discloses the method of claim 1, wherein block partitioning context is based on whether the first partitioning mode has been applied to a parent partitioning node for the first block (¶ 75).
As per claim 16, Han discloses the method of claim 1, wherein the first indicator is signaled via a high-level syntax of the video bitstream (¶ 52).
Regarding claim 17, arguments analogous to those presented for claim 1 are applicable for claim 17.
Regarding claim 18, arguments analogous to those presented for claim 5 are applicable for claim 18.
Regarding claim 19, arguments analogous to those presented for claim 4 are applicable for claim 19.
Regarding claim 20, arguments analogous to those presented for claim 1 are applicable for claim 20.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/CHIKAODILI E ANYIKIRE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2487