DETAILED ACTION
Status
1. This Office Action is responsive to claims filed for Application no. 18805372 on February 18, 2026. Please note claims 1-20 are pending and have been examined.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
4. Claim 20 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Rhe et al. (US 20200388667 A1).
Regarding claim 20, (Currently Amended), Rhe discloses: A display device (see Fig. 3, flexible electroluminescent display device 10) comprising:
a substrate comprising a bending area (see Fig. 9, Fig. 10A, substate SUB comprising bending area BA);
a signal line running through the bending area (see Fig. 9, Figs. 10, data lines DL, first routing wire TW, and the second routing wire RW in bending area BA); and
a protective link line connected in parallel with the signal line (see Fig. 9, Fig. 10A, second data link pattern DLP2 (M3) connected in parallel with the data line DL (M1/M2)),
wherein the protective link line has a first end and a second end (see annotated Fig. 9 above, Fig. 10A, second data link pattern DLP2 (M3) having a first end connected to first metal layer M1 in pad area PA and a second end connected to data line in link area LA), where the first end is electrically connected to the signal line outside the bending area , and the second end is electrically connected to the signal line inside the bending area (see annotated Fig. 10A above),
wherein at least a portion of the protective link line extends in a lengthwise direction of the bending area in the bending area (see annotated Fig. 9 above, Fig. 10A, lengthwise extension of the data line DL/third metal layer M3 in bending area), the lengthwise direction of the bending area corresponding to a row direction in which a plurality of gate lines for carrying gate signals are disposed (see Fig. 3, Fig. 9, Fig. 10A, see arrangement of gate lines G1 to Gn), and
wherein a sensor protective layer (Fig. 10A, second insulation layer INS2) of the touch sensor layer on the substrate extends from the display area to the non-display area and is configured to cover the protective link line (see Fig. 10A, second insulation layer INS2 over the first touch electrodes TX and second touch electrodes RX extends from active area AA in which display elements disposed to the bezel area ZA and is configured to cover the protective link (i. e., M3) as illustrated in figure).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
7. Claims 1, 2, 4, 6-9 and 12-17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Rhe et al. (US 20200388667 A1) in view of Nakanishi (US 20050083472 A1).
Regarding claim 1 (Currently Amended), Rhe discloses: A display device (see Fig. 3, flexible electroluminescent display device 10) comprising:
a substrate comprising a display area configured to display an image (see Fig. 3, Fig. 10, [0063], discloses substrate SUB comprising an active area AA in which display elements are disposed), and a non-display area located outside of the display area and comprising a bending area and a pad area (see Fig.9, Figs. 10, bezel area ZA outside of the active area AA comprising a bending area BA and pad area PA);
a touch sensor layer disposed on the substrate (see Fig. 9, Figs. 10, TX/RX electrode layer and first and second routing wires TW and RW are disposed on the substate SUB in active area AA);
a signal line connected to a pad disposed in the pad area (see Fig. 9, data lines DL connected to pad in the pad area PA), comprising a metal different from the touch sensor layer (see Fig. 9, Figs. 10, [0066], [0073], discloses the data line DL (M1) is formed by a conductive material having excellent ductility, such as gold (Au), silver (Ag), and/or aluminum (Al), and touch sensor (TX/RX) is formed by transparent conductive material, such as indium tin oxide (ITO), indium zinc oxide (IZO), or gallium-doped zinc oxide (GZO)), and configured to deliver a display driving-related signal (see Fig. 9, Figs. 10, data line DL for supplying signal to display pixels); and
a protective link line having a first end and a second end (see Fig. 9, Fig. 10A, second data link pattern DLP2 (M3) having a first end connected to first metal layer M1 in pad area PA and a second end connected to data line in link area LA), where the first end is electrically connected to the signal line outside the bending area, and the second end is electrically connected to the signal line inside the bending area (see annotated Fig. 10A below),
wherein a sensor protective layer (Fig. 10A, second insulation layer INS2) of the touch sensor layer extends from the display area to the non-display area and is configured to cover the protective link line (see Fig. 10A, second insulation layer INS2 over the first touch electrodes TX and second touch electrodes RX extends from active area AA in which display elements disposed to the bezel area ZA and is configured to cover the protective link (i. e., M3) as illustrated in figure).
Rhe further teaches the protective link line (i. e., second data link pattern DLP2 (M3)) is made of be one of: molybdenum (Mo), chromium (Cr), titanium (Ti), nickel (Ni), neodymium (Nd), copper (Cu), magnesium (Mg), and an alloy thereof, and touch sensor layer (i. e. Tx and Rx) electrodes are made of a transparent conductive material, such as ITO, IZO, or GZO (see [0073] and [0102]). Rhe does not seem to explicitly teach the protective link line comprising the same metal as the touch sensor layer.
However, it has been well known in the display device would have been used the protective link line made of ITO for secure connection and routing the signal lines. For example, Nakanishi teaches protective link line made of ITO (see Fig. 1, Figs. 2, [0030]-[0031] discloses the first-type lead 111 includes an ITO line 114 covered with an insulating film 115 and extending from the periphery of the display area 108 toward the driver mounting area 109. The proximal end of the ITO line 114 is connected to a metallic line 117, which extends in the display area 108, whereas the distal end of the ITO line 114 is connected to an ITO pad 116 through an opening of the insulating film 115 in the driver mounting area 109).
Therefore, in view of teachings of Rhe and Nakanishi, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the material of the protective link line of display device as taught by Rhe with Nakanishi’s teachings of protective link line made of ITO in order to achieve a long-term reliability and lower the line resistance (Nakanishi, abstract). Additionally, such modification improve significant manufacturing and performance benefits, primarily by ensuring consistent electrical properties, maximizing safety and durability by avoiding material incompatibilities, and improving the efficiency of the manufacturing process.
Regarding claim 2 (Previously Presented), Rhe in view of Nakanishi teaches the limitations of parent claim 1. Rhe further teaches wherein at least a portion of the protective link line extends in a lengthwise direction of the bending area in the bending area (see annotated Fig. 9 below, Fig. 10A, lengthwise extension of the data line DL/third metal layer M3 in bending area), the lengthwise direction of the bending area corresponding to a row direction in which a plurality of gate lines for carrying gate signals are disposed (see Fig. 3, Fig. 9, Fig. 10A, see arrangement of gate lines G1 to Gn),
Regarding claim 4 (Original), Rhe in view of Nakanishi teaches the limitations of parent claim 1. Rhe further teaches wherein the non-display area (see Fig. 3, Fig. 9, area outside of active area AA in which pixels/touch sensor electrodes reside) comprises: a first non-display area located outside of the display area in a first direction; a second non-display area located outside of the display area in a second direction different from the first direction; a third non-display area located outside of the display area in a direction opposite to the first direction; and a fourth non-display area located outside of the display area in a direction opposite to the second direction, wherein the first non-display area comprises the bending area and the pad area, wherein the protective link line is disposed in the first non-display area, and wherein at least a portion of the protective link line extends in the second direction in the bending area (see Fig. 3, annotated Fig. 9 below and Figs. 10).
Regarding claim 6 (Original), Rhe in view of Nakanishi teaches the limitations of parent claim 4. Rhe further teaches wherein the protective link line comprises a horizontal sub-link line extending in the second direction in the bending area (see Fig. 9, Fig. 10A, a horizontal extended portion of second data link pattern DLP2 in bending area), and a vertical sub- link line extending from the horizontal sub-link line in the first direction (see Fig. 9, Fig. 10A, a vertical extended portion of second data link pattern DLP2 in bending area), and
wherein a line width of the protective link line is greater than a line width of the signal line (see Fig. 9, Figs. 10, width of the data lines DL/ second data link pattern DLP2 in bending area BA is greater than a line width of the signal line in active area AA as illustrated in figure).
Regarding claim 7 (Previously Presented), Rhe in view of Nakanishi teaches the limitations of parent claim 1. Rhe further teaches wherein the signal line is electrically connected to the protective link line in a first non-display area (see Fig. 9, Fig. 10A, discloses the data line DL is electrically connected to a third metal layer M3 (i. e. protective link line) in the bezel area ZA),
wherein the pad area comprises a first pad area and a second pad area (see Fig. 9, pads RP, TP and DP),
wherein the signal line comprises (see Figs. 9-10):
a first line part electrically connected to the first end and extending to the first pad area (see Fig. 9, Fig. 10A, data line in pad area PA);
a second line part electrically connected to the second end and extending outside the bending area (see Fig. 9, Fig. 10A, data line DL in active area AA); and
a third line part electrically connected in parallel with the protective link line between the first end and the second end (see Fig. 9, Fig. 10A, DLP1 (M2)).
Regarding claim 8 (Previously Presented), Rhe in view of Nakanishi teaches the limitations of parent claim 7. Rhe further teaches wherein at least a portion of the third line part is configured to extend in a first direction in the bending area (see Fig. 9, Fig. 10A, extension of the first data link pattern DLP1 in the bezel area ZA).
Regarding claim 9 (Original), Rhe in view of Nakanishi teaches the limitations of parent claim 7. Rhe further teaches wherein the third line part is disposed in a metal layer located closer to the substrate than the touch sensor layer (see Fig. 10A, first data link pattern DLP1 (M2) is disposed in a metal layer M1 located closer to substrate SUB than the touch sensor layer of TX/RX).
Regarding claim 12 (Previously Presented), Rhe in view of Nakanishi teaches the limitations of parent claim 1. Rhe further teaches wherein the signal line is electrically connected to the protective link line in a first non-display area (see Fig. 9, Fig. 10A, data line DL is electrically connected to data link pattern DLP2(M3) in bezel area ZA as illustrated in figure),
wherein the pad area comprises a first pad area and a second pad area (see Fig. 9, pads RP, DP and TP),
wherein the signal line comprises a first line part electrically connected to the first end (see Fig. 9, Fig. 10A, data line DL in pad area PA) and extending to the first pad area, and a second line part electrically connected to the second end and extending outside the bending area (see Fig. 9, Fig. 10A, data line DL in active area AA), and
wherein a portion of the protective link line extends from inside the bending area toward outside the bending area along a column direction in which a plurality of data lines for carrying data signals are disposed (see Fig. 9, Fig. 10A, arrangement of the second data link pattern DLP2 (M3)).
Regarding claim 13 (Original), Rhe in view of Nakanishi teaches the limitations of parent claim 13. Rhe further teaches wherein the first line part and the second line part are disposed outside of the bending area (see Fig. 9, Fig. 10A, data line DL in active area AA and pad area PA).
Regarding claim 14 (Original), Rhe in view of Nakanishi teaches the limitations of parent claim 13. Rhe further teaches wherein the first line part and the second line part are disposed in a metal layer different from the protective link line (see Fig. 9, Fig. 10A, data line DL in active area AA and pad area PA disposed in metal layer M2).
Regarding claim 15 (Original), ), Rhe in view of Nakanishi teaches the limitations of parent claim 1. Rhe further teaches a driving chip connected to a first pad area included in the pad area (see Fig. 3, Fig. 9, data driving circuit 12 connected to data pad DP in pad area PA); and
a printed circuit connected to a second pad area included in the pad area (see Fig. 9, first and second touch pads TP and RP in pad area AP in which touch circuit connected),
wherein the protective link line is located closer to the driving chip among the driving chip and the printed circuit (see Fig. 3, Fig. 9 and Figs. 10, second data link pattern DLP2 in bezel area ZA).
Regarding claim 16 (Previously Presented), Rhe in view of Nakanishi teaches the limitations of parent claim 15. Rhe further teaches wherein the signal line further comprises a line part extending from a point between two points, which are connected respectively to the first end and the second end of the protective link line to the second pad area (see Fig. 10A, DLP1 (M1)).
Regarding claim 17 (Original), Rhe in view of Nakanishi teaches the limitations of parent claim 15. Rhe further teaches comprising a sensor-related line disposed in the non-display area and overlapping with the protective link line in the bending area (see Fig. 9, Figs. 10, first and second routing wires TW and RW disposed in bezel area ZA and overlapping the second data link pattern DLP2 (M3)), wherein the sensor-related line comprises a main line part not overlapping with the protective link line, and a jumping line part electrically connected to the main line part and overlapping with the protective link line, and wherein the main line part is disposed in a same metal layer as the protective link line, and the jumping line part is disposed in a metal layer different from the protective link line (Fig. 9, Figs. 10, see arrangement/layout of first and second routing wires TW and RW and second data link pattern DLP2 (M3) in the bezel area ZA).
8. Claim 18 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Rhe et al. (US 20200388667 A1) in view of Choi et al. (US 20170262109 A1).
Regarding claim 18 (Currently Amended), Rhe discloses: A display device (see Fig. 3, flexible electroluminescent display device 10) comprising:
a substrate comprising a display area configured to display an image (see Fig. 3, Fig. 10, [0063], discloses substrate SUB comprising an active area AA in which display elements are disposed), and a non-display area located outside of the display area and comprising a bending area and a pad area (see Fig.9, Figs. 10, bezel area ZA outside of the active area AA comprising a bending area BA and pad area PA);
a signal line connected to a pad disposed in the pad area (see Fig. 9, data lines DL connected to pad in the pad area PA); and
a protective link line disposed in the non-display area and connected in parallel with the signal line (see Fig. 9, Fig. 10A, second data link pattern DLP2 (M3) connected parallel to data line DL (M1)/DLP1(M2) in bezel area ZA as illustrated in figures),
wherein the protective link line has a first end and a second end (see annotated Fig. 9 below, Fig. 10A, second data link pattern DLP2 (M3) having a first end connected to first metal layer M1 in pad area PA and a second end connected to data line in link area LA), where the first end is electrically connected to the signal line outside the bending area, and the second end is electrically connected to the signal line inside the bending area (see annotated Fig. 10A below),
wherein at least a portion of the protective link line extends in the bending area in a lengthwise direction of the bending area (see annotated Fig. 9 and 10A below, lengthwise extension of the data line DL/third metal layer M3 in bending area), the lengthwise direction of the bending area corresponding to a row direction in which a plurality of gate lines for carrying gate signals are disposed (see Fig. 3, Fig. 9, Fig. 10A, see arrangement of gate lines G1 to Gn), and
wherein a sensor protective layer (see Fig. 10A, second insulation layer INS2) of the touch sensor layer extends from the display area to the non-display area and is configured to cover the protective link line (see Fig. 10A, second insulation layer INS2 over the first touch electrodes TX and second touch electrodes RX extends from active area AA in which display elements disposed to the bezel area ZA and is configured to cover the protective link (i. e., M3) as illustrated in figure).
Rhe does not seem to explicitly teach display device comprising at least one transistor on the substrate; at least one light emitting element on the at least one transistor; an encapsulation layer on the at least one light emitting element; and a touch sensor layer on the encapsulation layer.
However, in the same field of endeavor of the touch panel display device, Choi teaches at least one transistor on the substrate (see Fig. 2C, TFT 210 on the substate 100); at least one light emitting element on the at least one transistor (see Fig. 2C, organic light-emitting device 300 on the TFT 210); an encapsulation layer on the at least one light emitting element (see Fig. 2C, organic encapsulation layer 420); and a touch sensor layer on the encapsulation layer (see Fig. 2C, touch electrode 710 on the organic encapsulation layer 420).
Therefore, in view of teachings of Rhe and Choi, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the display device as taught by Rhe with Choi’s teachings of at least one transistor on the substrate; at least one light emitting element on the at least one transistor; an encapsulation layer on the at least one light emitting element; and a touch sensor layer on the encapsulation layer in order to design touch panel integrated organic light emitting display device.
9. Claim 19 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Rhe et al. (US 20200388667 A1), in view of Choi et al. (US 20170262109 A1), further in view of Nakanishi (US 20050083472 A1).
Regarding claim 19 (Original), Rhe in view of Choi teaches the limitations of parent claim 18. Rhe further teaches the protective link line (see Fig. 9, Fig. 10A, second data link pattern DLP2 (M3)) and touch sensor layer (see Fig. 9, Figs. 10, touch sensor layer having TX and Rx electrode). Rhe further teaches the protective link line (i. e., third metal layer M3) is made of be one of: molybdenum (Mo), chromium (Cr), titanium (Ti), nickel (Ni), neodymium (Nd), copper (Cu), magnesium (Mg), and an alloy thereof and touch sensor layer (i. e. Tx and Rx) electrodes are made of a transparent conductive material, such as ITO, IZO, or GZO (see [0073] and [0102]. Rhe in view of Choi does not seem to explicitly teach the protective link line comprising the same metal as the touch sensor layer.
However, it has been well known in the display device would have been used the protective link line made of ITO. For example, Nakanishi teaches protective link line made of ITO (see Fig. 1, Figs. 2, [0030]-[0031] discloses the first-type lead 111 includes an ITO line 114 covered with an insulating film 115 and extending from the periphery of the display area 108 toward the driver mounting area 109. The proximal end of the ITO line 114 is connected to a metallic line 117, which extends in the display area 108, whereas the distal end of the ITO line 114 is connected to an ITO pad 116 through an opening of the insulating film 115 in the driver mounting area 109).
Therefore, in view of teachings of Rhe, Choi and Nakanishi, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the material of the protective link line of display device as taught by Rhe and Choi with Nakanishi’s teachings of protective link line made of ITO in order to form both protective link line and the touch sensor layer made of same material i. e., ITO. The motivation would have been improving significant manufacturing and performance benefits, primarily by ensuring consistent electrical properties, maximizing safety and durability by avoiding material incompatibilities, and improving the efficiency of the manufacturing process.
Allowable Subject Matter
10. Claims 3 and 5, 10 and 11 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter:
Regarding claim 3, the closest prior art Lin (US 20130293508 A1) further teaches wherein the touch sensor layer comprises at least one bridge metal (see Fig. 3C, bridge line 172) and at least one sensor metal (see Fig. 3C, 176), a sensor interlayer insulating layer (see Fig. 3C, insulating layer 150) disposed between the at least one bridge metal and the at least one sensor metal, and a sensor protective layer (see Fig. 3C, protection layer 190) disposed on the at least one bridge metal and the at least one sensor metal. However, none of the prior art, whether considered alone or in combination, fail to disclose the technical features of the sensor protective layer disposed on the at least one bridge metal and the at least one sensor metal, in the context of detailed structure for preventing cracking of the signal lines in bending area of the display device, as a whole, in the manner claimed is not sufficiently taught or suggested in the prior art.
Regarding claim 5, Rhe further teaches wherein the protective link line comprises a first protective link line and a second protective link line, wherein the signal line comprises a first signal line electrically connected to the first protective link line in the first non-display area, and a second signal line electrically connected to the second protective link line in the first non-display area (see Fig. 9, Figs. 10, discloses the multiple data lines DL/routing wire RW and TW with protective line in non-display area). However, none of the prior art, whether considered alone or in combination, fail to disclose the technical features of wherein the first protective link line and the first signal line transfer a high level gate voltage as the display driving-related signal, and wherein the second protective link line and the second signal line transfer a low level gate voltage as the display driving-related signal, in the context of detailed structure and driving method of the display device, as a whole, in the manner claimed is not sufficiently taught or suggested in the prior art.
Regarding claim 10, none of the prior art, whether considered alone or in combination, fail to disclose the technical features of at least one transistor on the substrate; at least one light emitting element on the at least one transistor; an encapsulation layer on the at least one light emitting element; and a relay electrode configured to electrically interconnect a source electrode or a drain electrode of the at least one transistor and a pixel electrode of the at least one light emitting element, wherein the touch sensor layer is disposed on the encapsulation layer, the source electrode or the drain electrode is disposed in a first source-drain metal layer, and the relay electrode is disposed in a second source-drain metal layer, and wherein the third line part is disposed in the second source-drain metal layer in the context of detailed structure for preventing cracking of the signal lines in bending area of the display device, as a whole, in the manner claimed is not sufficiently taught or suggested in the prior art.
Regarding claim 11, none of the prior art, whether considered alone or in combination, fail to disclose the technical features of wherein the first line part, the second line part, and the third line part are disposed in a metal layer different from the protective link line, and wherein at least one of the first line part, the second line part, and the third line part is disposed in a metal layer different from a remaining one or more of the first line part, the second line part and the third line part, in the context of detailed structure for preventing cracking of the signal lines in bending area of the display device, as a whole, in the manner claimed is not sufficiently taught or suggested in the prior art.
Response to Arguments
11. Applicant's arguments filed on 02/18/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. Specifically, applicant incorporated the only the portion of the limitations from previously objected claim 3 into independent claims 1, 18 and 20, which changes the scope and interpretations of the claims. The current amended limitation at least in independent claims do not require detail arrangement/structure of the claimed sensor protective layer as required in the previously objected claim 3 as a whole. Therefore, Rhe et al. (US 20200388667 A1) teaches the limitation of a sensor protective layer of the touch sensor layer extends from the display area to the non-display area and is configured to cover the protective link line (see Fig. 10A, second insulation layer INS2 over the first touch electrodes TX and second touch electrodes RX extends from active area AA in which display elements disposed to the bezel area ZA and is configured to cover the protective link (i. e., M3) as illustrated in figure). See above rejection for details.
Conclusion
12. Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/KRISHNA P NEUPANE/
Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2629