DETAILED ACTION
Specification
The lengthy specification has not been checked to the extent necessary to determine the presence of all possible minor errors. Applicant’s cooperation is requested in correcting any errors of which applicant may become aware in the specification.
Claim Objections
Claims 14-17 are objected to because of the following informalities: claim 14, line 2, the limitations “a first switchable matching circuit coupled to an input of the first filter circuit” are redundant because they are already included in claim 1, last line. Therefore, the redundant limitation should be removed from the claim.
Claims 15-17 are objected to for being dependent on an objected claim. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 14-17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 14, line 2, “a first switchable matching circuit” and “an input of the first filter circuit” each is vague and indefinite as there is a respective antecedent basis recited in claim 1, last line.
Claims 15-17 are rejected for being dependent on a rejected claim.
Double Patenting
Claims 1-2 and 12 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 2 of copending Application No. 18/805,380 in view of Takagi et al US Patent Application Publication No. US20090267842 A.
As per claim 1 of the instant application, claim 2 of the copending application teaches every feature recited in the claim (1) but it simply fails to teach a first switchable matching circuit coupled to the first filter circuit. Takagi et al teaches first switchable matching circuit (fig. 10, 21A/B) coupled to a first tuner (13 A) (the first turner requires a filter and therefore is inherently provided). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one skill in the art to implement the matching circuit as switchable in order to obtain high antenna performance as taught by Takagi et al para. [0085] line 4). Claim 1 of the instant application differs also from claim 2 of the copending application by the fact that claim 1 of the instant application is directed to an apparatus while claim 2 of the copending application is directed to a method. It would have been obvious to one skill in the art to implement the method claim as an apparatus as would have provided more flexibility to an end user for a better experience.
As per claim 2 of the instant application, claim 2 of the copending application teaches every feature recited in the claim (2) it simply fails to teach a second switchable matching circuit coupled to the second filter circuit. Takagi et al teaches second switchable matching circuit (fig. 10, 21C/D) coupled to a first tuner (13 B) (the second turner (13B) requires a filter and therefore is inherently provided). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one skill in the art to implement the matching circuit as switchable and the motivation to do so would have been the same as provided in claim 1 above.
As per claim 12 of the instant application, claim 2 of the copending application teaches every limitation recited in claim 12. The claim is similarly rejected as claim 2 of the instant application.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Thomsen et al, US Patent No. 6,249,687.
As per claim 18,Thomsen et al discloses circuitry (fig. 2 and fig. 4) comprising: a first impedance matching circuit (45) configured to receive a radio-frequency signal (see input 85 and col. 2, lines 19-35 that teaches that the signals are received at GSM frequencies that are defined as RF frequencies) ; a second impedance matching circuit (50) configured to receive the radio-frequency signal see input 90 and col. 2, lines 19-35 that teaches that the signals are received at GSM frequencies that are defined as RF frequencies); and a summing node (combiner) (note where the outputs of both 45 and 50 meet) having a first input coupled to the first impedance matching circuit and having a second input coupled to the second impedance matching circuit (note fig. 4), wherein: the first input of the combiner is configured to receive a first signal associated with a first frequency band; and the second input of the combiner is configured to receive a second signal associated with a second frequency band different than the first frequency band ( note fig. 8 that shows the signal in each path comprises different frequency bands and col. 2, lines 19-35.)
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-2, 5, 7, 8 and 18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Rousu et al US Patent Application Publication No. US 20130244722 A1 in view of Takagi et al US Patent Application Publication No. US20090267842 A1.
As per claim 1, Rousu et al discloses a method and apparatus (Fig. 1, Fig. 2 and Fig. 11) comprising a first filter circuit (207) configured to output signals in a first frequency range (Fig. 1); a second filter circuit (209) configured to output signals in a second frequency range different than the first frequency range (Fig. 1); a signal combiner (216) having a first input coupled to the first filter circuit (207) and having a second input coupled to the second filter circuit (209); and a matching circuit coupled to an input of the first filter circuit (note 54 and para. [0052], reciting the additional limitations of “matching circuits”). However, it fails to teach that the matching circuits are switchable matching circuits. Takagi et al teaches the implementation of a match circuit as switchable matching circuit (note fig. 10 and para. [0093], lines 9-20). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one skill in the art to implement the match circuit as a switchable match circuit in order to obtain high antenna performance as taught by Takagi et al para. [0085] line 4).
As per claim 2, in para. [0052], Rousu et al teaches that a plurality of “matching circuits” are used. It does not however teach the matching circuits are switchable matching circuits. Takagi et al teaches the implementation of a match filter as switchable matching circuit (note fig. 10 and para. [0093], lines 9-20). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one skill in the art to implement the match circuit as a switchable match circuit and the motivation to do so would have been the same as provided with respect to claim 1.
As per claim 5, Takagi et al teaches the first and second matching circuits are configured to provide a plurality of different impedances (see at least para. [0058](high and low impedances)). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one skill in the art to have modify the first and second switchable matching circuits to provide a plurality of different impedances and the motivation would have been the same as provided with respect to claim 1.
As per claim 7, Rousu et al further teaches use of only one RF amplifier (118) coupled to the output of the combiner (216).
As per claim 8, Rousu et al further teaches a radio-frequency amplifier (218) coupled to an output of the signal combiner(216); and a receiver (222) coupled to an output of the radio-frequency amplifier (218) .
As per claim 18, see rejection of claim 5.
Claim(s) 11 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Rousu et al US Patent Application Publication No. US 20130244722 A1 in view of Takagi et al US Patent Application Publication No. US20090267842 A1 further in view of Desclos US Patent application publication No. US20150155624 A1.
As per claim 11, as applied to claim 1 above, Rousu et al and Takagi et al teaches every limitation recited in the claim but does not explicitly teach that the filters are active filters. Desclos teaches the additional limitations of implementing a first and second filters as active filters (see fig. 2, 22a and 22b). Therefore it would have been obvious to one skill in the art to have implemented the filters of Rousu et al as active filters in order to optimize isolation between antenna and filters (Desclos para. [0014, last four lines).
Claim(s) 12 and 19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Rousu et al US Patent Application Publication No. US 20130244722 A1 in view of Takagi et al US Patent Application Publication No. US20090267842 A1 further in view of Madadi et al US Patent application publication No. US20170170810 A1.
As per claim 12, as applied to claim 1 above, Rousu et al and Takagi et al teaches every limitation recited in the claim but does not explicitly teach use of a Lowpass to bandpass conversion filters in each of the first and second filters. Madadi et al teaches the implementation of N-path filters as Lowpass to bandpass conversion filters see para. [0004], lines 18-22. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one skill in the art to implement the first filter and the second filter as a lowpass to bandpass conversion filter, respectively, as such filters provide good selectivity(para.` [0004]).
As per claim 19, see rejection of claim 12.
Claim(s) 13 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Rousu et al US Patent Application Publication No. US 20130244722 A1 in view of Takagi et al US Patent Application Publication No. US20090267842 A1 further in view of Aggarwal et al US Patent application publication No. US20130335163 A1.
As per claim 13, as applied to claim 1 above, Rousu et al and Takagi et al teaches every limitation recited in the claim but does not explicitly teach that the first filter circuit comprises a first N-path filter, wherein the second filter circuit comprises a second N-path filter, and wherein N is an integer greater than two. Aggarwal et al teaches (fig. 4 and fig. 2) the first filter circuit (202) comprises a first N-path filter (fig. 2), and the second filter circuit (212) comprises a second N-path filter (fig. 2), and wherein N is an integer greater than two (fig. 2, N is 4 which is greater than 2). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one skill in the art to configure each of the filters of Rousu to be a N-path filter, where N is greater than 2 in order to achieve a higher out of band rejection (Aggarwal et al, para. [0031], last two lines.)
Claim(s) 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Rousu et al US Patent Application Publication No. US 20130244722 A1 in view of Takagi et al US Patent Application Publication No. US20090267842 A1 further in view of Desclos US Patent application publication No. US20150155624 A1.
As per claim 20, Rousu et al discloses a method and apparatus (Fig. 1, Fig. 2 and Fig. 11) comprising a first filter circuit (207) configured to output signals in a first frequency range (Fig. 1); a second filter circuit (209) configured to output signals in a second frequency range different than the first frequency range (Fig. 1) ; a signal combiner (216) having a first input coupled to the first filter circuit (207) and having a second input coupled to the second filter circuit (209); and a matching circuit coupled to an input of the first filter circuit (note 54 and para. [0052], reciting the additional limitations of “matching circuits” (by definition, a plurality of “matching circuits” includes at least a first matching circuit and a second matching circuit). However, it fails to teach that the matching circuits are switchable matching circuits. Takagi et al teaches the implementation of a match filter as switchable matching circuit (note fig. 10 and para. [0093], lines 9-20). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one skill in the art to implement the match circuits as switchable match circuits in order to obtain high antenna performance as taught by Takagi et al para. [0085] line 4). Rousu et al also fail to teach the first and second filters are active filters. Desclos teaches the additional limitations of implementing a first and second filters as active filters (see fig. 2, 22a and 22b). Therefore it would have been obvious to one skill in the art to have implemented the filters of Rousu et al as active filters in order to optimize isolation between antenna and filters (Desclos para. [0014, last four lines).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 3-4, 6, 9 and 10 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Claims 14-17 would be allowable if rewritten to overcome the rejection(s) under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), 2nd paragraph, set forth in this Office action and to include all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
/JEAN B CORRIELUS/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2633