DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1 – 7, 9 – 13, 15, and 18 - 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Deng et al (US 2023/0396777, hereafter Deng).
As per claim 1, Deng discloses a method of video decoding performed at a computing system having memory and one or more processors, the method comprising:
receiving a video bitstream comprising a plurality of frames; identifying a set of reference frames for a current frame of the video bitstream, the current frame having a plurality of blocks, including a current block; selecting a reference frame from the set of reference frames for use with the current block (¶ 69);
determining a frame padding area size for the reference frame; and reconstructing the current block using the reference frame with a frame padding area having the determined frame padding area size (¶ 74).
As per claim 2, Deng discloses the method of claim 1, wherein the frame padding area size is indicated by an indicator in the video bitstream (¶ 96).
As per claim 3, Deng discloses the method of claim 2, wherein the frame padding area size is explicitly signaled in the video bitstream (¶ 96).
As per claim 4, Deng discloses the method of claim 2, wherein a plurality of frame padding area sizes are predefined, and the indicator comprises an index to the plurality of frame padding area sizes (¶ 96).
As per claim 5, Deng discloses the method of claim 1, wherein determining the frame padding area size for the reference frame comprises determining a horizontal padding size and a vertical padding size (¶ 74).
As per claim 6, Deng discloses the method of claim 1, wherein determining the frame padding area size for the reference frame comprises determining separate left padding, right padding, top padding, and bottom padding values (¶ 74).
As per claim 7, Deng discloses the method of claim 6, wherein a first subset of the left padding, right padding, top padding, and bottom padding values are signaled in the video bitstream, and wherein a second subset of the left padding, right padding, top padding, and bottom padding values are derived (¶ 74 and 96).
As per claim 9, Deng discloses the method of claim 8, wherein the plurality of predefined frame padding area sizes consists of sizes corresponding to powers of 2 (¶ 70).
As per claim 10, Deng discloses the method of claim 1, wherein the frame padding area size is defined by a non-negative integer value that is less than or equal to a maximum value (¶ 104 and 105).
As per claim 11, Deng discloses the method of claim 10, wherein the maximum value is based on a block size of the current block (¶ 104 and 105).
As per claim 12, Deng discloses the method of claim 10, wherein the maximum value corresponds to a superblock size multiplied by a scalar value (¶ 104 and 105).
As per claim 13, Deng discloses the method of claim 1, wherein determining the frame padding area size for the reference frame comprises deriving the frame padding area size based on coded information (¶ 96).
As per claim 15, Deng discloses the method of claim 13, wherein determining the frame padding area size comprises determining a horizontal padding value and a vertical padding value for the frame padding area (¶ 74).
Regarding claim 18, arguments analogous to those presented for claim 1 are applicable for claim 18.
Regarding claim 19, arguments analogous to those presented for claim 2 are applicable for claim 19.
Regarding claim 20, arguments analogous to those presented for claim 1 are applicable for claim 20.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 8 and 17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Deng in view of Li et al (US 2022/0394309, hereafter Li).
As per claim 8, Deng discloses the method of claim 1.
However, Deng does not explicitly teach wherein the frame padding area size for the reference frame is selected from a plurality of predefined frame padding area sizes.
In the same field of endeavor, Li teaches wherein the frame padding area size for the reference frame is selected from a plurality of predefined frame padding area sizes (¶ 205 - 215).
Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was effectively filed to modify the invention of Deng in view of Li. The advantage is improving the accuracy of video coding.
As per claim 17, Deng discloses the method of claim 1.
However, Deng does not explicitly teach wherein a number of samples in the frame padding area is constant for different frame padding area sizes.
In the same field of endeavor, Li teaches wherein a number of samples in the frame padding area is constant for different frame padding area sizes (¶ 205 – 230).
Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was effectively filed to modify the invention of Deng in view of Li. The advantage is improving the accuracy of video coding.
Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was effectively filed to modify the invention of Deng in view of Li. The advantage is improving the accuracy of video coding.
Claim(s) 14 and 16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Deng in view of LeLeannec et al (US 2025/0220221, hereafter LeLeannec).
As per claim 14, Deng discloses the method of claim 13.
However, Deng does not explicitly teach wherein the coded information comprises a global motion vector for the current frame.
In the same field of endeavor, LeLeannec discloses wherein the coded information comprises a global motion vector for the current frame (¶ 80).
Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was effectively filed to modify the invention of Deng in view of LeLeannec. The advantage is improving the accuracy of video coding.
As per claim 16, Deng discloses the method of claim 13.
However, Deng does not explicitly teach wherein the coded information comprises a distribution of block-level motion vectors for the current frame.
In the same field of endeavor, LeLeannec teaches wherein the coded information comprises a distribution of block-level motion vectors for the current frame.
Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was effectively filed to modify the invention of Deng in view of LeLeannec. The advantage is improving the accuracy of video coding.
Conclusion
/CHIKAODILI E ANYIKIRE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2487