DETAILED ACTION
Claims 1 – 9 are pending in this application.
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers submitted under 35 U.S.C. 119(a)-(d), which papers have been placed of record in the file.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statements (IDS) submitted on 11/13/2024 was filed in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97 and 1.98. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Applicant has provided an explanation of relevance of cited document(s) JP-2021-160203 on page 1 of the specification.
Yamada (U.S PreGrant Publication No. 2021/0306516 A1) is the U.S version of JP-2021-160203.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitations are: Obtaining Unit, Determining Unit, Transmitting Unit, First Transmitting Unit, Obtaining Unit and Second Transmitting Unit in claim 1.
Obtaining unit is read by the Examiner as being a service management server in which is obtaining usage situation information, Specification on ¶0026.
Determining unit is also read by the Examiner as being the service management server in which determine if contract has been concluded, Specification on ¶0044 with ¶0055.
Transmitting Unit is read by the Examiner as being item 205 of Fig. 3, in which corresponds to a communication I/F, Specification on ¶0040.
First transmitting unit is read by the Examiner as being item 405 of Fig. 5, in which corresponds to a communication I/F (from communication terminal 400), Specification on ¶0043 - ¶0044.
Obtaining unit is read by the Examiner as being a communication terminal in which is obtaining contract information, Specification on ¶0060.
Second transmitting unit is also read by the Examiner as being the communication terminal, in which issue/send release instruction to an image forming apparatus, Specification on ¶0070 with ¶0085.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1 - 6, 8 and 9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sugiyama (U.S PreGrant Publication No. 2022/0334510 A1, hereinafter ‘Sugiyama’) in view of Kojima (U.S PreGrant Publication No. 2002/0050646 A1, hereinafter ‘Kojima’).
With respect to claim 1, Sugiyama teaches a management system (e.g., an image forming system, ¶0005) comprising: an image forming apparatus (e.g., an image forming apparatus, ¶0005); a server that manages information for providing a subscription service of the image forming apparatus (e.g., a server that manages payment for said image forming apparatus, ¶0006, Fig. 3); and a communication terminal (e.g., a registration terminal 5, Fig. 1) that communicates with the server via a network (e.g., capable of communicating with said server 4, Fig. 1) e.g., a controller 43, Fig. 1); and a memory (e.g., a memory 433, Fig. 1) coupled to the processor storing instructions that, when executed by the processor, cause the processor to function as:
an obtaining unit that obtains usage situation information of the image forming apparatus that has been transmitted from the communication terminal, and contract information regarding the subscription service of the image forming apparatus (e.g., acquires status/usage/management status of said image forming apparatus that been provided from said registration terminal and contract regarding payment of said image forming apparatus, ¶0052); a determining unit that determines whether or not the image forming apparatus is available for use based on the usage situation information of the image forming apparatus and the contract information (e.g., determining whether or not said image forming apparatus is still under contract based on the acquired status/usage/management status, ¶0068 - ¶0069, ¶0120 - ¶0121, Fig. 9A); and a transmitting unit that transmits a determination result obtained by the determining unit (e.g., transmits result upon determining, ¶0121), and the communication terminal (e.g., said registration terminal 5, ¶0042, Fig. 1) comprises at least one processor (e.g., a controller 53, Fig. 1); and a memory (e.g., a memory 533, Fig. 1) coupled to the processor storing instructions that, when executed by the processor, cause the processor to function as:
a first transmitting unit that transmits the usage situation information of the image forming apparatus and the contract information based on information obtained from the image forming apparatus (e.g., transmits usage information of said image forming apparatus and contract information based on the acquired information from said image forming apparatus, ¶0042, ¶0046, ¶0052 - ¶0053, ¶0095);
an obtaining unit that obtains the determination result transmitted from the server (e.g., obtains the result upon determining, ¶0052- ¶0054, ¶0121); and a second transmitting unit that, in a case that the determination result indicates that the image forming apparatus is available for use, transmits, to the image forming apparatus, an instruction for controlling the image forming apparatus to be available for use (e.g., transmits, in a case that the determination result is indicating that said image forming apparatus is under contract, a release instruction is provided so that said image forming apparatus can be used, ¶0080, ¶0121, Fig. 9A); but fails to teach that said communication terminal is directly communicating with said image forming apparatus that is not connected to the network.
However, in the same field of endeavor of managing contracts via server and communication between user device, server and printer, the mentioned claim limitations are well-known in the art as evidenced by Kojima. In particular, Kojima teaches a communication terminal (e.g., host terminal, ¶0014, Fig. 1) that communicates with a server via a network (e.g., capable of exchanging data (bi-directional) with a server 16 via network 12, ¶0047, Fig. 1) and directly communicates with the image forming apparatus that is not connected to the network (e.g., eventually can communicate with a printing apparatus 18 when a printing apparatus is offline or directly connected via USB, ¶0039 - ¶0040, ¶0074 - ¶0075).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to modify the management system of Sugiyama as taught by Kojima since Kojima suggested within ¶0039 - ¶0040 and/or ¶0074 - ¶0075 that such modification would anticipate resources/usage/consumption in order to manage printing in offline time
With respect to claim 2, Sugiyama in view of Kojima teaches the management system according to claim 1, wherein the information obtained from the image forming apparatus is information transmitted from the image forming apparatus as a response to an obtaining request made to the image forming apparatus by the communication terminal in accordance with receiving an instruction to generate a job to be submitted into the image forming apparatus from a user (e.g., Information acquired from the image forming apparatus is information related to an operation mode change request and based on a print request, ¶0079 - ¶0084, Figs. 2 & 5).
With respect to claim 3, Sugiyama in view of Kojima teaches the management system according to claim 1, wherein the information obtained from the image forming apparatus is information transmitted from the image forming apparatus when the image forming apparatus receives a job generating instruction from a user (e.g., in response to a print request, usage or consumption information is also analyzed, ¶0079 - ¶0084).
With respect to claims 4 and 5, Sugiyama in view of Kojima teaches the management system according to claims 2 and 3, respectively, wherein the user is a contractor to the subscription service of the image forming apparatus (Fig. 3), and the communication terminal is a terminal used by the user (e.g., said registration terminal (or communication device) can be used by any user, ¶0004, ¶0042).
With respect to claim 6, Sugiyama in view of Kojima teaches the management system according to claim 1, wherein the communication terminal is connected to the image forming apparatus by a USB cable and communicates with the image forming apparatus via the USB cable (e.g. design choice: a host terminal 14 is connected to a printing apparatus 18 by a wired connection such as USB, ¶0039).
With respect to claim 8, this is a method claim corresponding to the system claim 1. Therefore, this is rejected for the same reasons as the system claim 1.
With respect to claim 9, Sugiyama notes that the invention may be realized through the execution by a CPU (Fig. 1 - CPU 291 / CPU 431) of instruction codes (e.g., program, ¶0031 or ¶0038) stored in a non-transitory computer readable storage medium (e.g., stored in a memory 293 or memory 433, ¶0031 or ¶0038). The further limitations are met by the teachings as previously discussed with respect to claim 1.
Claim 7 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sugiyama in view of Kojima and further in view of Mikami (U.S PreGrant Publication No. 2021/0237494 A1).
With respect to calm 7, Sugiyama in view of Kojima teaches the management system according to claim 1, wherein the communication terminal wirelessly communicates with the image forming apparatus based on a wireless communication, but fails to teach that said wireless communication is specifically a Bluetooth Low Energy (BLE).
However, in the same endeavor of communication between printers and user device, Mikami teaches a Bluetooth Low Energy (BLE) (e.g., a host apparatus can communicate with a printing apparatus 18 via Bluetooth, ¶0041 - ¶0044).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to modify the management system of Sugiyama in view of Kojima as taught by Mikami since Mikami suggested within ¶0041 - ¶0044 that such modification of having a Bluetooth (BLE) would provides convenient, short-range wireless connectivity that eliminate physical cable while operating at a low power cost; thereby reducing cost.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon are considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure:
Mukai (U.S PG Publication No. 2022/0006920 A1)1
Wong (U.S PG Publication No. 2021/0368063 A1)2
1This reference teaches an apparatus, other than a server, that can directly communicate with an image forming apparatus when a short-range communication circuit is enabled; therefore, it’s not connected to a network.
2This reference teaches a system including a subscription management server; at least a user device and at least a printer; wherein determine, based on received data, a plan for the image rendering device 106-1. In an example, the engine(s) may comprise a subscription plan determination engine 216 which may determine the plan for the image rendering device 106-1 using the subscription plan data 218 residing in the data 208 of the server 102. The subscription plan data 218 may comprise a list of various available plans wherein each of the plan may provide for an amount of print material or a number of media or both for a subscription fee. In an example, the list of plans in the subscription plan data 218 may be stored and updated time-to-time by the service provider. The subscription plan determination engine 216 may compare the print material consumption of the image rendering device 106-1 with an amount of print material defined for each of the plans in the list of plans available in the subscription plan data 218 and may determine a plan based on the print material consumption of the image rendering device 106-1.
/JUAN M GUILLERMETY/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2682