DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
1. Claims 1-3, 6, 8, 11-13, and 16-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Faibish et al. (US 2007/0260842), “Faibish”.
2. As per claim 1, Faibish discloses one or more processors [a computer including a processor 22, figure 1]; and memory [a computer including a memory 22, figure 1] storing instructions that, when executed by the one or more processors, cause the system to: send, to a first device, a first command requesting metadata [sending metadata request to a primary data mover, paragraph 48]; receive the metadata based on the first command [returning the metadata, paragraph 48]; extract a logical block address and an offset from the metadata [a logical block address and an offset extracted, paragraphs 55 & 107] [The examiner interprets that the metadata already includes the logical bocks address and the offset. Since there is no actual transformation of a data into another, the interpretation is proper]; convert the first command to a second command based on the logical block address and the offset [a command utilizing the extracted logical block address and the offset, paragraph 107]; and send the second command to a second device to access data associated with the metadata [data access based on the metadata, figure 14 & paragraph 8].
3. As per claim 2, Faibish discloses to send the data to an application, wherein the first command is based on receiving an object storage command from the application [file access request from an application program, paragraph 4] and converting the object storage command to the first command [such request is converted to the metadata request, paragraph 48].
4. As per claim 3, Faibish discloses wherein: the metadata comprises object storage metadata stored on the first device [the metadata on the primary data mover, paragraph 48], and the data comprises object storage data stored on the second device [the data on the disk array, paragraph 8].
5. As per claim 6, Faibish discloses wherein the logical block address and the offset indicate where the data is stored on the second device [a command utilizing the extracted logical block address and the offset, paragraph 107].
6. As per claim 8, Faibish discloses wherein the logical block address and the offset indicate where the data is stored on the second device [a command utilizing the extracted logical block address and the offset, paragraph 107].
7. As per claims 11-13, and 16-19, the examiner directs the applicant’s attention to the claims rejection above.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
1. Claims 7, 9, and 10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Faibish et al. (US 2007/0260842), “Faibish”, in view of Ahn et al. (US 2017/0139594), “Ahn”.
2. As per claim 7, Faibish discloses the system recited in claim 1.
Faibish does not disclose expressly a key-value command and a NVMe command.
Ahn discloses such features in paragraph 39.
Faibish and Ahn are analogous art because they are from the same field of endeavor of storage device control.
Before the effective filing date of the application, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to modify Faibish by including the key-value translation layer for the NVMe device as taught by Ahn in paragraph 39.
The motivation for doing so would have been to reduce they system overhead as expressly taught by Ahn in paragraph 39.
3. As per claims 9 and 10, the examiner directs the applicant’s attention to the claim rejection above.
Arguments Concerning Prior Art Rejection
The applicant argues that the prior art fails to disclose extracting a logical address and an offset from a metadata. However, Faibish teaches utilizing a metadata for logical/virtual addressing thought the reference. For example, Faibish discloses in paragraph 148 & figure 27, using a metadata for a virtual address allocation, wherein the virtual LU identification (0, 1,…N) can be interpreted as the claimed “logical address” and the block identification of the virtual LU can be interpreted as the claimed “offset”. The examiner strongly suggests the applicant to further elaborate in the claim language what the “extraction” step really is.
Further, the applicant argues that the prior art fails to disclose converting the first command to a second command based on the logical address and the offset. Specifically, the applicant asserts that Faibish teaches two separate commands instead of converting a command into another. However, as demonstrated above, Faibish teaches the metadata command associated with the virtual LU identification and virtual LU block identification, and (a second command) using such identifications for allocation/access in paragraph 148 & figure 27. Since the second command relies on the result (the logical address and offset) of the first metadata command, such is interpreted as the claimed “conversion”. Again, the applicant needs to further define what the conversion step actually is in the claim language.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
A. Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 4, 5, 14, 15, and 20 are objected to.
The closest prior art of record, “Faibish” discloses metadata based addressing in the abstract.
The primary reasons for allowance of claims 4, 14, and 20 in the instant application is the combination with the inclusion in these claims that “wherein: a first portion of the metadata is stored on the first device and a second portion of the metadata is stored on a third device, and the first portion of the metadata and the second portion of the metadata are retrieved in parallel based on the first command”. The prior art of record neither anticipates nor renders obvious the above recited combination.
The primary reasons for allowance of claims 5 and 15 in the instant application is the combination with the inclusion in these claims that “wherein: a first portion of the data is stored on the second device and a second portion of the data is stored on a fourth device, and the first portion of the data and the second portion of the data are accessed in parallel based on the second command”. The prior art of record neither anticipates nor renders obvious the above recited combination.
As allowable subject matter has been indicated, applicant's response must either comply with all formal requirements or specifically traverse each requirement not complied with. See 37 C.F.R. § 1.111(b) and § 707.07(a) of the MPEP.
B. Claims Rejected
Claims 1-3, 6-13, and 16-19 are rejected.
C. Direction for Future Remarks
/JAE U YU/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2138