Priority
Acknowledgment is made of applicant's claim for foreign priority based on an application filed in China on 4/24/22. It is noted, however, that applicant has not filed a certified copy of the CN202210435708 application as required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 9/11/24, 4/23/25 and 6/27/25 are in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to abstract idea without significantly more. Claim 1 recites “displaying a first interface in response to a first operation input by a user, wherein the first interface comprises information about a first exercise ability of the user”, “displaying a second interface in response to a second operation input by the user, wherein the second interface comprises one or more movement distances”, “receiving a target movement distance input by the user on the second interface” and “displaying a third interface that comprises a plurality of exercise levels and an exercise performance range corresponding to each exercise level, wherein the exercise performance range is determined based on the corresponding exercise level, the target movement distance, and the first exercise ability”. The broadest reasonable interpretation of the step “displaying a third interface that comprises a plurality of exercise levels and an exercise performance range corresponding to each exercise level, wherein the exercise performance range is determined based on the corresponding exercise level, the target movement distance, and the first exercise ability” is that this step falls within the mental process groupings of abstract ideas because it covers concepts performed in the human mind, including observation, evaluation, judgment, and opinion. A human is able to observe the input data, evaluate the user ability and movement distance and give an opinion on the workout that are best for the data received.
The limitations “displaying a first interface in response to a first operation input by a user, wherein the first interface comprises information about a first exercise ability of the user”, “displaying a second interface in response to a second operation input by the user, wherein the second interface comprises one or more movement distances”, “receiving a target movement distance input by the user on the second interface” are mere data gathering and output recited at a high level of generality, and thus are insignificant extra-solution activity. See MPEP 2106.05(g) (“whether the limitation is significant”). In addition, all uses of the recited judicial exceptions require such data gathering and output, and, as such, these limitations do not impose any meaningful limits on the claim. These limitations amount to necessary data gathering and outputting. See MPEP 2106.05. Thus, this judicial exception is not integrated into a practical application and does not include additional elements that are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception because the additional elements are insignificant extra-solution activity.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Schwartz et al., United States Patent Publication 20070219059 (hereinafter “Schwartz”).
Claim 1:
Schwartz discloses:
An exercise guidance method, wherein the method is applied to an electronic device, and the method comprises:
displaying a first interface in response to a first operation input by a user, wherein the first interface comprises information about a first exercise ability of the user (see paragraph [0070]). Schwartz teaches displaying an interface that accepts input from a user about the user’s health and ability;
displaying a second interface in response to a second operation input by the user, wherein the second interface comprises one or more movement distances (see paragraphs [0071] and [0101]). Schwartz teaches displaying a second interface receiving inputs from the user or personal trainer for workouts or goals to achieve;
receiving a target movement distance input by the user on the second interface (see paragraphs [0069], [0071] and [0101]). Schwartz teaches receiving goals to be achieved; and
displaying a third interface that comprises a plurality of exercise levels and an exercise performance range corresponding to each exercise level, wherein the exercise performance range is determined based on the corresponding exercise level, the target movement distance, and the first exercise ability (see paragraph [0069], [0086], [0090] and [0091]). Schwartz teaches displaying exercises based on different levels, speed, distance, body parts, etc.
Claim 2:
Schwartz discloses:
the method further comprising:
displaying a first exercise interface in response to a first target exercise level input by the user on the third interface, wherein the first target exercise level corresponds to a first exercise performance range (see paragraphs [0092] and [0093]). Schwartz teaches displaying the workouts based on the user inputs.
Claim 3:
Schwartz discloses:
wherein after the displaying the first interface, the method further comprises:
displaying a fourth interface that comprises a first control used to modify the first exercise ability; and displaying a fifth interface in response to an operation performed by the user on the first control, wherein the fifth interface comprises an option used to modify the first exercise ability (see paragraphs [0090]-[0093], [0105]). Schwartz teaches giving user options to modify the workout based on reps, weights or machine not working. Schwartz also offers an interface to enter the modification. A user is also able modify the target goal/level.
Claim 4:
Schwartz discloses:
wherein the first interface comprises heart rate information of the user, and the fourth interface comprises a second control used to modify the heart rate information (see paragraphs [0104], [0175] and [0176]). Schwartz teaches extracting and displaying heart rate information and also an interface the modify the heart rate recommended range.
Claim 5:
Schwartz discloses:
displaying a second exercise interface in response to a third operation input by the user, wherein the second exercise interface comprises a current exercise parameter of the user, an annular indication region located on an interface edge, and a pointer; and the pointer points to the annular indication region, the annular indication region comprises a first indication region, a second indication region, and a third indication region, a first end of the first indication region is connected to a second end of the second indication region, and a second end of the first indication region is connected to a first end of the third indication region (see paragraphs [0101] and [0106]). Schwartz teaches displaying the current exercise parameter and using graphical indicators to display indications of progress with the workout and the different parameters, wherein
the first indication region comprises an annular region corresponding to a first parameter range, and the first parameter range is a recommended range of the electronic device for the exercise parameter; and the second indication region comprises an annular region greater than a maximum value of the first parameter range, the third indication region comprises an annular region less than a minimum value of the first parameter range, and a location at which the pointer points to the annular indication region indicates whether the current exercise parameter of the user exceeds the first parameter range (see paragraphs [0101] and [0106]). Schwartz teaches displaying different ranges and statistical measures of the progress. analyzes workout routines, calculates statistics, generates charts, and produces trends of progress in terms of workout and physiological effects. As shown in FIG. 8, graphs can be generated for trends in the athlete's performance on specific exercises, overall changes in fitness levels such as cardio endurance and arm strength among others. The amount of calories burned during workouts as a function of time can also be graphed. The annular indication is a design choice for visual indicators.
Claim 6:
Schwartz discloses:
wherein when the current exercise parameter of the user exceeds the first parameter range, the pointer points to the second indication region or the third indication region, the second exercise interface further comprises first prompt information, and the first prompt information is used to prompt the user that the current exercise parameter exceeds the first parameter range. (see paragraph [0112]). Schwartz teaches displaying that the heart rate, respiratory or page exceeding the threshold, recommending/prompting to adjust to lower the heart rate.
Claim 7:
Schwartz discloses:
obtaining a first exercise parameter of the user in an exercise process; and
displaying a third exercise interface when the first exercise parameter exceeds the first parameter range for more than preset duration, wherein the third exercise interface is used to recommend the user to adjust a second exercise parameter, and the first parameter range is a recommended range of the electronic device for the first exercise parameter (see paragraphs [0112] and [0113]). Schwartz teaches displaying exercise parameters such as pace of training for a spin class and adjusting the level or pace of the training to a recommended level or pace.
Claim 8:
Schwartz discloses:
wherein the first exercise parameter comprises a heart rate, and the second exercise parameter comprises a pace (see paragraph [0112]). Schwartz teaches a heart rate and pace; and
wherein the displaying the third exercise interface when the first exercise parameter exceeds the first parameter range for more than preset duration (see paragraph [0112]). Schwartz teaches displaying that the heart rate exceeds a threshold range, comprises:
displaying the third exercise interface when the heart rate is greater than the maximum value of the first parameter range, wherein the third exercise interface is used to recommend the user to reduce the pace; or displaying the third exercise interface when the heart rate is less than the minimum value of the first parameter range, wherein the third exercise interface is used to recommend the user to increase the pace (see paragraph [0112]). Schwartz teaches displaying that the heart rate is exceeding the threshold, recommending to adjust the pace to lower the heart rate.
Claim 9:
Schwartz discloses:
wherein the displaying the third exercise interface comprises:
displaying the third exercise interface within first duration, and displaying a fifth exercise interface after the first duration, wherein user interface (UI) effect of the fifth exercise interface is different from UI effect of the third exercise interface (see paragraph [0112]). Schwartz teaches displaying the heart rate, breathing rates and pace during a duration then displaying a user interface to modify the level and pace of the training.
Claim 10:
Schwartz discloses:
wherein after the displaying the third exercise interface, the method further comprises:
displaying a sixth exercise interface in response to a fourth operation input by the user, wherein user interface (UI) effect of the sixth exercise interface is different from UI effect of the third exercise interface (see paragraphs [0175] and [0180]). Schwartz teaches displaying the effects of the modifying of the heart rate or pace.
Claim 11:
Schwartz discloses:
the method further comprising:
displaying a second exercise interface that interface comprises a first parameter range, wherein the first parameter range is related to a first physical status of the user at a first moment in an exercise process (see paragraphs [0175]). Schwartz teaches displaying an interface with ranges at two different time ranges according to physical efforts levels; and
displaying a fourth exercise interface that comprises a second parameter range, wherein the second parameter range is related to a second physical status of the user at a second moment in the exercise process, and the first parameter range is different from the second parameter range, and the first moment is different from the second moment (see paragraphs [0175]). Schwartz teaches displaying an interface with ranges at two different time ranges according to physical efforts levels. Heart rate, physical effort or respiratory rate can be displayed using color-coded displays.
Claim 12:
Schwartz discloses:
wherein the first physical status is determined based on an exercise parameter of the user at the first moment, and the second physical status is determined based on an exercise parameter of the user at the second moment (see paragraphs [0112], [0175]-[0177]). Schwartz teaches a physical status such as heart rate and another physical status such as respiratory rate, or pace at different time regions.
Claim 13:
Schwartz discloses:
the method further comprising: presenting second prompt information when a difference between the second parameter range and the first parameter range is greater than a threshold (see paragraph [0112]). Schwartz teaches presenting prompt information when the threshold is greater than a predetermined value, present the user interface to adjust parameters.
Claim 14:
Schwartz discloses:
wherein the second exercise interface comprises estimated duration for completing the target movement distance, and the estimated duration is determined based on the first physical status of the user, the target movement distance, and the first exercise performance range (see paragraph [0162]-[0163]). Schwartz teaches the workout and the duration is based on the target distance/goal, performance range and physical status of the user.
Claim 15:
Schwarz discloses:
wherein the second exercise interface further comprises
a first icon, a second icon, and a progress bar, the first icon indicates, on the progress bar, a location of the current finished movement distance of the user in the target movement distance, and the second icon indicates, on the progress bar, a location that is of the user in the target movement distance and that is expected based on the first exercise performance range (see paragraph [0178]-[0179]). Schwartz teaches a display to display statistical data for person to understand the current performance levels, comparative charts of training process and improvement of fitness levels.
Claim 16:
Schwartz discloses:
displaying a sixth interface, wherein the sixth interface comprises third prompt information, and the third prompt information is used to prompt the user to do exercise to obtain the first exercise ability (see paragraph [0098]). Schwartz teaches after a workout is performed, the exercise ability can be manually changed or deviations can be made based on the workout performed..
Claim 17:
Schwartz discloses:
the method further comprising:
displaying a seventh interface that comprises the first target exercise level, wherein the first target exercise level corresponds to a second exercise performance range (see paragraphs [0096] and [0097]). Schwartz teaches the first level corresponding to the performance range the user wishes to be in;
the second exercise performance range is determined based on the first target exercise level, the target movement distance, and a second exercise ability of the user; and the second exercise performance range is different from the first exercise performance range, and the first exercise ability is different from the second exercise ability (see paragraph [0096] and [0097]). Schwartz teaches the performance range is based on the users ability and target distance/goal.
Claim 18:
Schwartz discloses:
the method further comprising:
displaying a seventh exercise interface in the exercise process of the user in response to a fifth operation input by the user, wherein the seventh exercise interface comprises a third control used to modify an exercise level (see paragraph [0023] and [0112]). Schwartz teaches measured on the basis of achieving targeted exertion levels (target zones) defined by percentages of the maximum heart rate (Max HR). Max HR is the highest heart-rate value that can be reached with an all-out effort to the point of exhaustion. Schwartz teaches having different levels of target zones to reach and modifying the levels if the parameters are exceeded.
Claim 19:
Schwartz discloses:
wherein after the displaying the seventh exercise interface, the method further comprises:
receiving an operation performed by the user on the third control, and displaying an eighth exercise interface, wherein the eighth exercise interface comprises information about a plurality of exercise levels (see paragraphs [0097], [0112] and [0113]). Schwartz teaches receiving information about multiple workout intensity or zone levels for the user; and
receiving a second target exercise level input by the user on the eighth exercise interface (see paragraphs [0112] and [0113]). Schwartz teaches receiving input to change the level, and
displaying a ninth exercise interface, wherein the second target exercise level is different from the first target exercise level (see paragraphs [0097], [0112] and [0113]). Schwartz teaches having difference exercise levels.
Claim 20:
Schwartz discloses:
wherein before the receiving the first operation input by the user, the method further comprises:
displaying an eighth interface that comprises a plurality of exercise types; and receiving a target exercise type input by the user on the eighth interface, and displaying a ninth interface, wherein the first operation is performed on the ninth interface (see paragraph [0163]). Schwartz teaches displaying an interface and display for input of the exercise type.
Pertinent Art
20200164251 – continuously monitoring in real-time workout data and parameters based on the workout. The workouts are recommended based on an imaged body part.
Conclusion
/TIONNA M BURKE/Examiner, Art Unit 2178 7/25/26