DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Claims 20, 21 and 34 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected species, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on 6/22/2026. Additionally, claim 33 is drawn to a non-elected species (Figure 11) and is hereby additionally withdrawn.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the beads must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 16, 18, 19, 26, 32, 35 and 36 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a1) and (a2) as being anticipated by Kim et al. (hereinafter Kim, US Publication Number 20140008936).
Regarding claim 16, Kim disclose a crash box for a bumper arrangement of a motor vehicle (Figures 1-4), the crash box comprising: at least one outer hollow chamber (Figures 1-3 element 120); at least one inner hollow chamber (Figures 1-3 element 130); a vehicle-side end portion (Figures 1-3 element 110); and a bumper-side front portion (Figures 1-3 unlabeled front portion of elements 120 and 130), wherein, the at least one outer hollow chamber is connected to the at least one inner hollow chamber so as to form a closed multi-chamber profile in the vehicle-side end portion (Figures 2 and 3),in the bumper-side front portion, the at least one outer hollow chamber is separated and spaced apart from the at least one inner hollow chamber (Figures 1-3), and in the vehicle-side end portion, the at least one outer hollow chamber and the at least one inner hollow chamber each comprise a partition which delimits the at least one outer hollow chamber and the at least one inner hollow chamber on an inner side (Figure 2 element 200 and Figure 3).
Regarding claim 18, see figures 2 and 3.
Regarding claim 19, see figure 3.
Regarding claim 26, see figure 2 unlabeled slot between elements 120 and 130.
Regarding claim 32, Kim discloses a bumper arrangement of a motor vehicle (Figure 1), the bumper arrangement comprising: two crash boxes as recited in claim 16 (Figure 1 elements 110, 120 and 130); and at least one crossmember which connects the two crash boxes to one another (Figure 1 element 140).
Regarding claims 35 and 36, see figures 1 and 2 and Paragraph 47.
Claim(s) 16, 18, 19, 22-24 and 26 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a1) and (a2) as being anticipated by Braunbeck et al. (hereinafter Braunbeck, US Publication Number 20140319860).
Regarding claim 16, Braunbeck disclose a crash box for a bumper arrangement of a motor vehicle (Figures 1-5 and 8), the crash box comprising: at least one outer hollow chamber (Figure 3 element 3); at least one inner hollow chamber (Figure 3 element 2’); a vehicle-side end portion (Figures 3 and 4 unlabeled aft portion of element 1’); and a bumper-side front portion (Figures 3 and 4 unlabeled front portion of element 1’), wherein, the at least one outer hollow chamber is connected to the at least one inner hollow chamber so as to form a closed multi-chamber profile in the vehicle-side end portion (Figure 4),in the bumper-side front portion, the at least one outer hollow chamber is separated and spaced apart from the at least one inner hollow chamber (Figure 4), and in the vehicle-side end portion, the at least one outer hollow chamber and the at least one inner hollow chamber each comprise a partition which delimits the at least one outer hollow chamber and the at least one inner hollow chamber on an inner side (Figure 3 element 6 and unlabeled inner side wall if element 2’).
Regarding claim 18, see figure 3 elements 8 and 9 and figure 4.
Regarding claim 19, see figures 3 and 4.
Regarding claims 22 and 23, see figures 4 and 8.
Regarding claim 24, see unlabeled slot between elements 3 and 2’ in figures 3 and 4.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 31 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Braunbeck.
Regarding claim 31, Braunbeck discloses the above crash box wherein each chamber has a constant width (Figures 4 and 8), but is silent as to the width of each chamber.
However, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to make the constant width sections be at least 20mm wide, since it has been held that discovering an optimum value of a result effective variable involves only routine skill in the art. In re Boesch, 617 F.2d 272, 205 USPQ 215 (CCPA 1980). This would provide for the predictable result of providing sufficient structural integrity in the case of a minor crash.
Claim(s) 37 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kutscher et al. (hereinafter Kutscher, US Publication Number 20160304044) further in view of Braunbeck.
Regarding claim 37, Kutscher discloses a method comprising providing two multi-chamber crash boxes (Figure 1 element 20) and joining them to a crossmember (Figure 1 element 10, Paragraph 35), but fails to teach of the claimed structure of the crash boxes.
However, Braunbeck discloses a similar method comprising providing two multi-chambered hollow profiles (Figure 1 elements 2 and 3 and Figure 5 element 2) and introducing a slot as claimed (Figure 4).
Regarding claim 37, it would have been obvious for a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method of Kutscher to comprise the crash box formation steps of Braunbeck for the predictable result of providing a bumper arrangement capable of absorbing a large amount of collision energy (Braunbeck, Paragraph 4).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 17, 25 and 27-30 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The examiner notes that while claims 29 and 30 are indicated as having allowable subject matter, the claimed subject matter is subject to a drawing objection.
/Nicholas McFall/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3644