Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, see 7-10, filed 5/25/2026, with respect to the rejection(s) of claim(s) 1-4, 7-20 under 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103 have been fully considered and are persuasive. Therefore, the rejection has been withdrawn. However, upon further consideration, a new ground(s) of rejection is made in view of Nose et al (JP 2017035167 A), Kitahara et al (JP 2004074875 A), Foderaro et al (US 3,790805 A) and Deshpande et al (DE 60317419 T2). A final rejection is made necessitated by amendment to claims 1-2, 4-5, 7, 9, 13-14, 19.
Response to Amendment
The amendment submitted 5/25/2026 has been accepted and entered. Claim 3 is cancelled. Claims 1-2, 4-5, 7, 9, 13-14, 19 are amended. New claim 21 is added. Thus, claims 1-2 ,4-21 are examined. A Final Rejection is necessitated by amendment.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-2, 4, 7-11, 13-15, 18-21 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Nose et al (JP 2017035167 A) in view of Kitahara et al (JP 2004074875 A).
Regarding claim 1, Nose et al discloses moving trolley (mobile x-ray apparatus) (1) for carrying an imaging device, the moving trolley (108) comprising: a trolley body comprising a power-assisted travelling mechanism, wherein the power-assisted travelling mechanism comprises a driving wheel (110), a steering angle of the driving wheel relative to a longitudinal direction of the moving trolley being variable (i.e. movable mechanism (11) (wheel position moving mechanism) (See Abstract and page 6, paragraphs 2-4). Nose et al is silent with regards to force detection, orientation and control unit as claimed. Kitahara et al discloses a motor-driven cart (power assisted electric trolley) comprising: force unit (operation force detected by load cell (18), and speed and direction reflected to steering wheel and driven wheel (See Abstract) arranged on the trolley body (motor-driven cart) and configured to detect force information on a driving force applied to the trolley body (motor-driven cart) by an operator, the force information on the driving force comprising at least a direction of the driving force (See Abstract and an orientation detection unit configured to determine an orientation of the driving wheel based on the steering angle of the driving wheel relative to the longitudinal direction of the moving trolley, and transmit the determined orientation of the driving wheel to the control unit (paragraph [0008]) and a control unit (12) connected to the force detection unit and configured to acquire the force information and the orientation of the driving wheel, and control, based on the force information and the orientation of the driving wheel, the power-assisted travelling mechanism to move relative to ground (paragraphs [0028], [0030]-[0032]). Thus, it would have been obvious to modify Nose et al with the teaching of Kitahara et al, so as to reduce operator force needed to move and steer equipment.
Regarding claim 2, Nose et al in view of Kitahara et al discloses wherein the power assisted travelling mechanism comprises a driving wheel, the driving wheel being is rotatable around a horizontal rotation axis, and being the driving wheel is swivelable (rotate) around a vertical swivel axis to adjust the steering angle of the driving wheel (6) relative to the longitudinal direction of the moving trolley, and the driving wheel being is configured to be independently drivable to drive the moving trolley to move in the longitudinal direction of the moving trolley or steer relative to the longitudinal direction of the moving trolley (paragraphs [0023]-[0024]).
Regarding claim 4, Nose et al in view of Kitahara et al discloses wherein the control unit (12) is configured to control at least one of a rotation direction or rotation speed of driving wheel based on orientation of driving wheel received from the orientation detection unit (paragraphs [0028]-[0029]).
Regarding claim 7, Nose et al in view of Kitahara et al discloses wherein the orientation of the driving wheel comprises a transverse orientation (paragraphs [0032], [0042], [0044]) and a longitudinal orientation, when the driving wheel is in the transverse orientation, the rotation axis of the driving wheel is parallel to the longitudinal direction of the moving trolley, and when the driving wheel is in the longitudinal orientation, the rotation axis of the driving wheel (6) is parallel to a transverse direction of the moving trolley.
Regarding claim 8, Nose et al in view of Kitahara et al discloses wherein the driving wheel comprises a first driving wheel and a second driving wheel spaced in a transverse direction of the moving trolley, each of the first and second driving wheels being independently drivable to selectively rotate in a clockwise or counterclockwise direction; wherein when each of the first and second driving wheels is in the longitudinal orientation, the control unit (12) is configured to control the first and second driving wheels to rotate in a same direction and at a same speed, or to control the first and second driving wheels to rotate in opposite directions and at different speeds (paragraphs [0036]-[0039]) and wherein when each of the first and second driving wheels is in the transverse orientation, the control unit is configured to control the first and second driving wheels to rotate in the same direction and at the same speed (See Fig. 6A and paragraphs [0028], [0032],
Regarding claim 9, Nose et al in view of Kitahara et al discloses wherein motor-driven cart (power assisted electric trolley) comprising: a base, the driving wheel (4) is mounted on a bottom surface of the base (See Fig. 1 and paragraph [0012]), and the swivel axis of the driving wheel is perpendicular to the bottom surface of the base; and the power-assisted travelling mechanism further comprises a motor (46) (configured to drive the driving wheel (4) to rotate around the rotation axis (paragraphs [0020], [0023]-[0024]).
Regarding claim 10, Nose et al in view of Kitahara et al discloses wherein the trolley body further comprises a non-driving wheel mounted on the bottom surface of the base, the non-driving wheel be spaced from the driving wheel in the longitudinal direction of the moving trolley, the non-driving wheel (non-driven caster) (42) comprising a universal wheel (paragraph [0019]).
Regarding claim 11, Nose et al in view of Kitahara et al discloses wherein the motor is incorporated into a hub of the driving wheel to form a hub motor (paragraphs [0019]-[0020]).
Regarding claim 13, Nose et al in view of Kitahara et al discloses wherein the trolley body motor-driven cart (power assisted electric trolley) further comprises a stand and a pushing handle (16) connected to the stand (See Fig. 1), the pushing handle being configured to receive the driving force applied to the trolley body by the operator; and wherein the force detection unit is arranged at a connection between the pushing handle and the stand (paragraph [0030]).
Regarding claim 14, Nose et al in view of Kitahara et al discloses wherein the trolley body further comprises a steering handle (16) connected to the stand, the steering handle being drivingly connected to the driving wheel (6) and configured to adjust the steering angle of the driving wheel relative to the longitudinal direction of the moving trolley (paragraph [0042]).
Regarding claim 15, Nose et al in view of Kitahara et al discloses wherein the trolley body further comprises an anti-false triggering unit (erroneous operation) (paragraph [0042]) connected to the control unit, the anti-false triggering unit is arranged on the pushing handle, and configured to generate an activation signal when the anti-false triggering unit is touched or pressed by the operator, and transmit the activation signal to the control unit; and wherein the control unit (14) is configured to acquire the force information after receiving the activation signal from the anti-false triggering unit, and control, based on the force information, the power-assisted travelling mechanism to move (paragraph [0042]).
Regarding claim 18, Nose et al in view of Kitahara et al discloses wherein further comprising an electric power storage device (56) mounted on the vehicle body and electrically connected to the power-assisted travelling mechanism, the electric power storage device being configured to be rechargeable by an external power source and to supply power to the power-assisted travelling mechanism (paragraph [0021]).
Regarding claim 19, Nose et al discloses mobile medical imaging apparatus (mobile x-ray apparatus) (1) comprising: a moving trolley (108); an imaging device mounted on the moving trolley, wherein the moving trolley comprises: a trolley body comprising a power-assisted travelling mechanism, wherein the power-assisted travelling mechanism comprises a driving wheel (110), a steering angle of the driving wheel relative to a longitudinal direction of the moving trolley being variable (i.e. movable mechanism (11) (wheel position moving mechanism) (See Abstract and page 6, paragraphs 2-4). Nose et al is silent with regards to force detection, orientation and control unit as claimed. Kitahara et al discloses a motor-driven cart (power assisted electric trolley) comprising: force unit (operation force detected by load cell (18), and speed and direction reflected to steering wheel and driven wheel (See Abstract) arranged on the trolley body (motor-driven cart) and configured to detect force information on a driving force applied to the trolley body (motor-driven cart) by an operator, the force information on the driving force comprising at least a direction of the driving force (See Abstract and an orientation detection unit configured to determine an orientation of the driving wheel based on the steering angle of the driving wheel relative to the longitudinal direction of the moving trolley, and transmit the determined orientation of the driving wheel to the control unit (paragraph [0008]) and a control unit (12) connected to the force detection unit and configured to acquire the force information and the orientation of the driving wheel, and control, based on the force information and the orientation of the driving wheel, the power-assisted travelling mechanism to move relative to ground (paragraphs [0028], [0030]-[0032]). Thus, it would have been obvious to modify Nose et al with the teaching of Kitahara et al, so as to reduce operator force needed to move and steer equipment.
Regarding claim 20, Nose et al discloses wherein the imaging device is a C-arm X-ray device (arm supporting x-ray device) (See Abstract).
Regarding claim 21, Nose et al in view of Kitahara et al discloses wherein the control unit controls the power-assisted travelling mechanism to move relative to the ground based on a relationship between a direction of the driving force and the orientation of the driving wheel (paragraphs [0008], [0028], [0030]-[0032]).
Claim(s) 16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Nose et al (JP 2017035167 A) in view of Kitahara et al (JP 2004074875 A), as applied to claim 15 above, and further in view of Foderaro et al (US 3,790805 A).
Regarding claim 16, Nose et al and Kitahara et al disclose all of the limitations of claim 15, as describes supra however, Nose et al and Kitahara et al are silent with regards to anti-false trigger component as claimed. Foderaro et al discloses a mobile x-ray unit (10) (See Fig. 1 and Abstract) comprising: an anti-false trigger unit comprises a mechanical pressing component (col. 3, lines 29-50). Thus, it would have been obvious to modify Nose et al and Kitahara et al with the teaching of Foderaro et al, so as to improve safety of device.
Claim(s) 17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Nose et al (JP 2017035167 A) in view of Kitahara et al (JP 2004074875 A), as applied to claim 15 above, and further in view of Deshpande et al (DE 60317419 T2).
Regarding claim 17, Nose et al and Kitahara et al disclose all of the limitations of claim 1, as describes supra however, Nose et al and Kitahara et al are silent with regards to magnitude of drive force as claimed. Deshpande et al discloses a C-arm x-ray machine with anticollision agent comprising: wherein the force information on the driving force further comprises a magnitude of the driving force, and the control unit is configured to control the power- assisted travelling mechanism to generate a motion adapted to the force information when the magnitude of the driving force in the force information is greater than a predetermined threshold (See Description: paragraph 9). Thus, it would have been obvious to modify Shirota et al with the teaching of Deshpande et al so as to improve safety of apparatus.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 5-6, 12 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Regarding claim 5, the prior art fails to disclose or reasonably suggest wherein the orientation detection unit comprises a trigger member and a plurality of microswitches arranged around the trigger member, the trigger member is swivelable around its swivel axis, the trigger member is configured to swivel synchronously with the swiveling of the driving wheel, and to be able to touch at least one of the plurality of microswitches to trigger the at least one of the plurality of microswitches during swiveling within a predetermined angle range.
Regarding claim 6, the prior art fails to disclose or reasonably suggest wherein the trolley body further comprises a driving wheel steering linkage, and the trigger member is connected to the driving wheel through the driving wheel steering linkage so that the trigger member is able to swivel synchronously with the swiveling of the driving wheel.
Regarding claim 12, the prior art fails to disclose or reasonably suggest wherein the motor is mounted on the base; and wherein the power-assisted travelling mechanism further comprises a transmission member, the motor is drivingly connected to the driving wheel through the transmission member, and the motor and the transmission member are swivelable about the swivel axis of the driving wheel in synchronism with the steering of the driving wheel.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Hara et al (JP 2024-122344 A) discloses a power-assisted trolley that can operate auxiliary driving forces for forward/rear translation and left/right turning even when an operating force is applied from any location and any direction. The power-assisted trolley 100 moves by receiving an operating force from an operator, and includes a base section 1 having drive wheels 11 and an electric motor 14 that drives the drive wheels 11, a loading platform section 3 supported on the base section 1 via a suspension 2, a detection section 4 that detects information on the inclination angle of the loading platform section 3, an operating force estimation section 5 that estimates the operating force based on the detection result of the detection section 4, an impedance control section 6 that provides a command value according to the operating force estimated by the operating force estimation section 5, and a motor control section 7 that controls the electric motor 14 based on the command value from the impedance control section 6.
Yamashita et al (JP 3826687 B2) discloses an omni-directional mobile trolley that has not been realized as a conventional human-guided trolley and has extremely flexibility in the drive direction that can be moved in all directions. a vehicle body 4 including at least three or more drive wheels 1 movable in all directions, a drive unit 2 for driving the drive wheels 1, an operation unit 3 for applying an operation force by an operator, and the operation unit and an operating force detecting means 5 for detecting an operation force H applied to 3, by the control means 6 which is mounted on the body 4, the drive element D 1 and the vehicle body for driving the vehicle body 4 in the longitudinal direction in the lateral direction drive The drive element value D of the drive system defined by the drive element D 2 to be driven and the drive element D 3 for turning the vehicle body is optimized according to the operation force H detected by the operation force detection means 5, and the obtained drive system Each drive wheel 1 is driven according to the drive element value D
Derision et al (US 8876379 B2) discloses a mobile radiography apparatus has a portable transport frame and a sectioned vertical column mounted on the frame and defining a vertical axis and having a base section having a fixed vertical position relative to the vertical axis and at least one movable section that is translatable to a variable vertical position along the vertical axis. A counterbalance apparatus is coupled to the at least one movable section of the vertical column with an actuator that is energizable to translate the at least one movable section along the vertical axis. A boom apparatus supports an x-ray source and is coupled to the at least one movable section for vertical displacement of the boom apparatus to a height position. A height sensing element provides a signal that is indicative of the height position of the boom apparatus.
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/F.P.B./Examiner, Art Unit 2884
/UZMA ALAM/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2884