DETAILED ACTION
Double Patenting
Claims 1-9 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-11 of U.S. Patent No. 11150046 and claims 1-7 of U.S. Patent No. 12196238. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because all the limitations of the present claims are found in the claims of the subject patents.
Claim Objections
Claim 1 is objected to because of the following informalities: claim 1 should end in a period.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 4,6 and 7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
In claim 4 there is no antecedent basis for the term “said lip”. It appears that claim 4 is meant to depend from claim 3. For the purposes of examination it was assumed that claim 4 depended from claim 3, as this is what was meant to be claimed per the examiner’s best understanding of the claimed invention.
In claim 6 there is no antecedent basis for the term “said lip”. It appears that claim 6 is meant to depend from claim 3. For the purposes of examination it was assumed that claim 6 depended from claim 3, as this is what was meant to be claimed per the examiner’s best understanding of the claimed invention.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 1,2,3,5-9 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Cheng(US20100307046) and further in view of Peterson(US7571563).
[claim 1] Cheng teaches a system for a quick detach stick, the system comprising a body(31) coupled to at least one leg(21) via a flexible joint(22), wherein the body comprises a recess(311), wherein the body comprises a release switch(332) coupled to a stopper(3311) wherein the stopper extends into the center of the recess(as seen in figure 3a).
Cheng teaches a system for a quick detach stick as detailed above, with a generally rectangular recess(311) having a center. Cheng however does not teach that the recess is circular. Peterson teaches a similar system for a quick detach stick which uses a circular recess(110) to receive an adapter from a vertical direction. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art as of the effective filing date to use a circular recess with the body of Cheng, in place of the generally rectangular recess, as a matter of obvious design choice, as the two are the obvious functional equivalents of one another, as they perform substantially the same function in substantially the same manner.
[claim 2] wherein the flexible joint comprises a coil spring(24).
[claim 3] wherein the recess is located atop said body, and wherein said recess comprises an open top, side walls, and an open side, and wherein the recess further comprises a lip(around upper side of 311 seen in figure 4) extending from the side wall into the recess.
[claim 5] further comprising an adapter(11,12) which can be coupled to the body via said recess.
[claim 6] further comprising an adapter(11,12) wherein said adapter comprises a groove(above 322) which mates with the lip, and a void(3312) which mates with the stopper.
[claim 7] wherein the void is located on the bottom of the adaptor, and wherein the groove is located along the outer perimeter of the adapter, and wherein the stopper of the body is received by the void of the adapter, as seen in figures 3a,3b.
[claim 8] Cheng teaches a device as detailed above, with an adaptor(11,12) having vertical set screws(14). Cheng however does not teach the use of a horizontal set screw. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art as of the effective filing date to use additional set screws, such as horizontally oriented screws, to attach the adapter to the rifle, as this would be the mere duplication of parts essential to the practice of the invention.
[claim 9] further comprising a yoke(11) which can be coupled to the body via the recess.
Allowable Subject Matter
In view of the claim interpretation as detailed above, Claim 4 is objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims, and upon amendment to overcome the above 112 rejections, and upon filing of a Terminal Disclaimer as detailed above.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter: The prior art does not teach a system for a quick detach stick as recited in claims 1 and 3, and wherein the lip is semi-circular as recited in claim 4.
Conclusion
/BRADLEY DUCKWORTH/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3632