Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-3, 6, 11-12, 16 and 21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over MURAYAMA et al (JP 2008226469, and MURAYAMA hereinafter, IDS submitted and Translation provided by Examiner) in view of (JP S59194243 U, and JP243 hereinafter, IDS submitted and Translation provided by Examiner)
Regarding claim 1, MURAYAMA discloses (figs 1 and 5-6) a waterproof button module, comprising: a base (5 and 12) comprising a slotted hole (7); a button main body (9-11) disposed on the base and covering the slotted hole, wherein the button main body is made of a flexible material (rubber), and the button main body comprises: a pressing portion (9) exposed to the slotted hole; a connecting portion (10-11) integrally connected to and surrounding the pressing portion, and the connecting portion disposed in the slotted hole (fig.5); and at least two annular protruding structures (10B) separated from each other and disposed on the connecting portion, and the at least two annular protruding structures abutting against an inner surface of the slotted hole (fig.5).
MURAYAMA does not explicitly disclose a button shaft element disposed on the base, wherein a first end portion of the button shaft element is connected to an inner surface of the button main body, and a second end portion of the button shaft element is for pressing a touch unit; and at least one elastic connecting element, wherein a first end of the at least one elastic connecting element is fixedly disposed on the base, and a second end of the at least one elastic connecting element is connected to the button shaft element. However, JP243 teaches (see annotated fig below) a button shaft element disposed on the base, wherein a first end portion of the button shaft element is connected to an inner surface of the button main body, and a second end portion of the button shaft element is for pressing a touch unit (4); and at least one elastic connecting element (3), wherein a first end of the at least one elastic connecting element is fixedly disposed on the base, and a second end of the at least one elastic connecting element is connected to the button shaft element.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine at least one elastic connecting element of JP243 as claimed to device of MURAYAMA in order to easily transmitting the pressing operation power from outside to a switch body certainly (JP243, claim 1).
Regarding claim 2, MURAYAMA/JP243 discloses the waterproof button module of claim 1. MURAYAMA further discloses (figs 1 and 5-6) wherein the base further comprises: a first main body (5) connected to the connecting portion, wherein the inner surface of the slotted hole is located on the first main body; and a second main body (12) connected to the first main body, wherein the second main body comprises an annular limiting structure (13), the annular limiting structure abuts against the button main body, and the annular limiting structure is for positioning the button main body (fig.5).
Regarding claim 3, MURAYAMA/JP243 discloses the waterproof button module of claim 2. MURAYAMA further discloses (figs 1 and 5-6) wherein: the first main body is correspondingly connected to the second main body to form an inner space of the base (inner space between 5 and 2), and the annular limiting structure is disposed in the inner space of the base; and the button main body further comprises an extending portion (11A), wherein the extending portion is disposed in the inner space of the base, and the annular limiting structure abuts against a surface of the extending portion (fig.5).
Regarding claim 6, MURAYAMA/JP243 discloses the waterproof button module of claim 1. JP243 teaches wherein the at least one elastic connecting element is a curved cantilever. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine at least one elastic connecting element having curved cantilever of JP243 as claimed to device of MURAYAMA in order to easily transmitting the pressing operation power from outside to a switch body certainly (JP243, claim 1).
Regarding claim 11, MURAYAMA discloses (figs 1 and 5-6) an electronic device, comprising: a case element (1) having an accommodating space; a printed circuit board (2) disposed in the accommodating space, and the printed circuit board comprising a touch unit (4); and a waterproof button module (8) disposed on the case element, and the waterproof button module comprising: a base (5 and 12) disposed on the case element, and the base comprising a slotted hole (7); a button main body (9-11) disposed on the base and covering the slotted hole, wherein the button main body is made of a flexible material (rubber), and the button main body comprises: a pressing portion (9) exposed to the slotted hole; a connecting portion (10-11) integrally connected to and surrounding the pressing portion, and the connecting portion disposed in the slotted hole (fig.5); and at least two annular protruding structures (10B) separated from each other and disposed on the connecting portion, and the at least two annular protruding structures abutting against an inner surface of the slotted hole (fig.5).
MURAYAMA does not explicitly disclose a button shaft element disposed on the base, wherein a first end portion of the button shaft element is connected to an inner surface of the button main body, and a second end portion of the button shaft element is for pressing a touch unit; and at least one elastic connecting element, wherein a first end of the at least one elastic connecting element is fixedly disposed on the base, and a second end of the at least one elastic connecting element is connected to the button shaft element. However, JP243 teaches (see annotated fig below) a button shaft element disposed on the base, wherein a first end portion of the button shaft element is connected to an inner surface of the button main body, and a second end portion of the button shaft element is for pressing a touch unit (4); and at least one elastic connecting element (3), wherein a first end of the at least one elastic connecting element is fixedly disposed on the base, and a second end of the at least one elastic connecting element is connected to the button shaft element.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine at least one elastic connecting element of JP243 as claimed to device of MURAYAMA in order to easily transmitting the pressing operation power from outside to a switch body certainly (JP243, claim 1).
Regarding claim 12, MURAYAMA/JP243 discloses the electronic device of claim 11. MURAYAMA further discloses (figs 1 and 5-6) wherein the base further comprises: a first main body (5) connected to the connecting portion, wherein the inner surface of the slotted hole is located on the first main body; and a second main body (12) connected to the first main body, wherein the second main body comprises an annular limiting structure (13), the annular limiting structure abuts against the button main body, and the annular limiting structure is for positioning the button main body (fig.5).
Regarding claim 16, MURAYAMA/JP243 discloses the electronic device of claim 11. JP243 teaches wherein the at least one elastic connecting element is a curved cantilever. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine at least one elastic connecting element having curved cantilever of JP243 as claimed to device of MURAYAMA in order to easily transmitting the pressing operation power from outside to a switch body certainly (JP243, claim 1).
Regarding claim 21, MURAYAMA discloses (figs 1 and 5-6) a waterproof button module, which is applied to an electronic device, comprising: a button main body (9-11) made of a flexible material, and the button main body comprising: a pressing portion (9); a connecting portion (10-11) integrally connected to and surrounding the pressing portion, and at least two annular protruding (10B) structures separated from each other and disposed on the connecting portion.
MURAYAMA does not explicitly disclose a button shaft element, wherein a first end portion of the button shaft element is connected to an inner surface of the button main body, and a second end portion of the button shaft element is for pressing a touch unit; and at least one elastic connecting element connected to the button shaft element, wherein the at least one elastic connecting element is a curved cantilever.
However, JP243 teaches (see annotated fig below) a button shaft element, wherein a first end portion of the button shaft element is connected to an inner surface of the button main body, and a second end portion of the button shaft element is for pressing a touch unit (4); and at least one elastic connecting element connected to the button shaft element, wherein the at least one elastic connecting element(3) is a curved cantilever.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine at least one elastic connecting element of JP243 as claimed to device of MURAYAMA in order to easily transmitting the pressing operation power from outside to a switch body certainly (JP243, claim 1).
Claims 4 and 14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over MURAYAMA et al in view of JP243 and further in view of (JP 20099823 and JP823 hereinafter, IDS submitted)
Regarding claim 4, MURAYAMA/JP243 discloses the waterproof button module of claim 1, but fails to disclose wherein the button main body further comprises: an annular sheet integrally connected to the pressing portion, and the annular sheet extended from the pressing portion and covering the slotted hole. However, JP823 teaches wherein the button main body further comprises: an annular sheet (15) integrally connected to the pressing portion (10), and the annular sheet extended from the pressing portion and covering the slotted hole (4).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine an annular sheet of JP823 as claimed to device of MURAYAMA/JP243 in order to cover the base surface. (JP823).
Regarding claim 14, MURAYAMA/JP243 discloses the electronic device of claim 11, but fails to disclose wherein the button main body further comprises: an annular sheet integrally connected to the pressing portion, and the annular sheet extended from the pressing portion and covering the slotted hole. However, JP823 teaches wherein the button main body further comprises: an annular sheet (15) integrally connected to the pressing portion (10), and the annular sheet extended from the pressing portion and covering the slotted hole (4).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine an annular sheet of JP823 as claimed to device of MURAYAMA/JP243 in order to cover the base surface. (JP823).
Claims 8, 18 and 24 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over MURAYAMA et al in view of JP243 and further in view of Takahashi et al (US Pub No. 2014/0284191 A1 and Takahashi hereinafter)
Regarding claim 8, MURAYAMA/JP243 discloses the waterproof button module of claim 1, but fails to disclose wherein: the button main body further comprises a binding structure disposed on the inner surface of the button main body; and the button shaft element comprises a connecting structure disposed on the first end portion, and the connecting structure is connected to the binding structure. However, Takahashi teaches (fig.4) wherein: the button main body further comprises a binding structure (36) disposed on the inner surface of the button main body; and the button shaft element comprises a connecting structure (32) disposed on the first end portion, and the connecting structure is connected to the binding structure. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine a binding structure of Takahashi as claimed to device of MURAYAMA/JP243 in order provide stiffness than the pressing portion of the button. (Takahashi, [0037]).
Regarding claim 18, MURAYAMA/JP243 discloses the electronic device of claim 11, but fails to disclose wherein: the button main body further comprises a binding structure disposed on the inner surface of the button main body; and the button shaft element comprises a connecting structure disposed on the first end portion, and the connecting structure is connected to the binding structure. However, Takahashi teaches (fig.4) wherein: the button main body further comprises a binding structure (36) disposed on the inner surface of the button main body; and the button shaft element comprises a connecting structure (32) disposed on the first end portion, and the connecting structure is connected to the binding structure. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine a binding structure of Takahashi as claimed to device of MURAYAMA/JP243 in order provide stiffness than the pressing portion of the button. (Takahashi, [0037]).
Regarding claim 24, MURAYAMA/JP243 discloses the waterproof button module of claim 21, but fails to disclose wherein: the button main body further comprises a binding structure disposed on the inner surface of the button main body; and the button shaft element comprises a connecting structure disposed on the first end portion, and the connecting structure is connected to the binding structure. However, Takahashi teaches (fig.4) wherein: the button main body further comprises a binding structure (36) disposed on the inner surface of the button main body; and the button shaft element comprises a connecting structure (32) disposed on the first end portion, and the connecting structure is connected to the binding structure. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine a binding structure of Takahashi as claimed to device of MURAYAMA/JP243 in order provide stiffness than the pressing portion of the button. (Takahashi, [0037]).
Claims 5, 15 and 23 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over MURAYAMA et al in view of JP243 and further in view of Yang et al (US Pub No. 2023/0266717 A1 and Yang hereinafter)
Regarding claim 5, MURAYAMA/JP243 discloses the waterproof button module of claim 1, but fails to disclose wherein heights of the at least two annular protruding structures are gradually increased along a direction from the pressing portion to the touch unit. However, Yang teaches (figs. 1-14) wherein heights of the at least two annular protruding structures are gradually increased (fig.14) along a direction from the pressing portion to the touch unit (50). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine heights of the at least two annular protruding structures are gradually increased of Yang as claimed to device of MURAYAMA/JP243 in order to provide a comfort level of a hand feeling of the key component (Yang, [0056]).
Regarding claim 15, MURAYAMA/JP243 discloses the electronic device of claim 11, but fails to disclose wherein heights of the at least two annular protruding structures are gradually increased along a direction from the pressing portion to the touch unit. However, Yang teaches (figs. 1-14) wherein heights of the at least two annular protruding structures are gradually increased (fig.14) along a direction from the pressing portion to the touch unit (50). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine heights of the at least two annular protruding structures are gradually increased of Yang as claimed to device of MURAYAMA/JP243 in order to provide a comfort level of a hand feeling of the key component (Yang, [0056]).
Regarding claim 23, MURAYAMA/JP243 discloses the waterproof button module of claim 21, but fails to disclose wherein heights of the at least two annular protruding structures are gradually increased along a direction from the pressing portion to the touch unit. However, Yang teaches (figs. 1-14) wherein heights of the at least two annular protruding structures are gradually increased (fig.14) along a direction from the pressing portion to the touch unit (50). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine heights of the at least two annular protruding structures are gradually increased of Yang as claimed to device of MURAYAMA/JP243 in order to provide a comfort level of a hand feeling of the key component (Yang, [0056]).
Claims 7, 17 and 22 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over MURAYAMA et al in view of JP243 and further in view of CHEONG et al (US Pub No. 2014/0144762 A1 and CHEONG hereinafter)
Regarding claim 7, MURAYAMA/JP243 discloses the waterproof button module of claim 6, but fails to disclose wherein a number of the at least one elastic connecting element is two, and a sum of lengths of the two elastic connecting elements is 60 mm to 100 mm. However, CHEONG teaches (figs. 1-7) wherein a number of the at least one elastic connecting element is two (right 531 and left 531, fig.5), but does not teach a sum of lengths of the two elastic connecting elements is 60 mm to 100 mm. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to optimized the sum of lengths of the two elastic connecting elements is 60 mm to 100 mm to improve operability for the pressing of the key button (CHEONG, [0060]).
MPEP § 2144.05-II (A) states “[W]here the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, it is not inventive to discover the optimum or workable ranges by routine experimentation.” In reAller, 220 F.2d 454, 456, 105 USPQ 233, 235 (CCPA 1955) (Claimed process which was performed at a temperature between 40°C and 80°C and an acid concentration between 25% and 70% was held to be prima facie obvious over a reference process which differed from the claims only in that the reference process was performed at a temperature of 100°C and an acid concentration of 10%.).
Furthermore, MPEP § 2144.05-II (B) describes that it is considered to be prima facie obvious when there is a motivation to optimize result-effective variables, i.e. a variable which achieves a recognized result.
Regarding claim 17, MURAYAMA/JP243 discloses the electronic device of claim 16, but fails to disclose wherein a number of the at least one elastic connecting element is two, and a sum of lengths of the two elastic connecting elements is 60 mm to 100 mm. However, CHEONG teaches (figs. 1-7) wherein a number of the at least one elastic connecting element is two (right 531 and left 531, fig.5), but does not teach a sum of lengths of the two elastic connecting elements is 60 mm to 100 mm. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to optimized the sum of lengths of the two elastic connecting elements is 60 mm to 100 mm to improve operability for the pressing of the key button (CHEONG, [0060]).
MPEP § 2144.05-II (A) states “[W]here the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, it is not inventive to discover the optimum or workable ranges by routine experimentation.” In reAller, 220 F.2d 454, 456, 105 USPQ 233, 235 (CCPA 1955) (Claimed process which was performed at a temperature between 40°C and 80°C and an acid concentration between 25% and 70% was held to be prima facie obvious over a reference process which differed from the claims only in that the reference process was performed at a temperature of 100°C and an acid concentration of 10%.).
Furthermore, MPEP § 2144.05-II (B) describes that it is considered to be prima facie obvious when there is a motivation to optimize result-effective variables, i.e. a variable which achieves a recognized result.
Regarding claim 22, MURAYAMA/JP243 discloses the electronic device of claim 21, but fails to disclose wherein a number of the at least one elastic connecting element is two, and a sum of lengths of the two elastic connecting elements is 60 mm to 100 mm. However, CHEONG teaches (figs. 1-7) wherein a number of the at least one elastic connecting element is two (right 531 and left 531, fig.5), but does not teach a sum of lengths of the two elastic connecting elements is 60 mm to 100 mm. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to optimized the sum of lengths of the two elastic connecting elements is 60 mm to 100 mm to improve operability for the pressing of the key button (CHEONG, [0060]).
MPEP § 2144.05-II (A) states “[W]here the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, it is not inventive to discover the optimum or workable ranges by routine experimentation.” In reAller, 220 F.2d 454, 456, 105 USPQ 233, 235 (CCPA 1955) (Claimed process which was performed at a temperature between 40°C and 80°C and an acid concentration between 25% and 70% was held to be prima facie obvious over a reference process which differed from the claims only in that the reference process was performed at a temperature of 100°C and an acid concentration of 10%.).
Furthermore, MPEP § 2144.05-II (B) describes that it is considered to be prima facie obvious when there is a motivation to optimize result-effective variables, i.e. a variable which achieves a recognized result.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 9-10, 19-20 and 25 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Regarding claims 9 and 19 the prior art fails to disclose “wherein: the button shaft element comprises a first sliding block, and the first sliding block extends from the first end portion towards the second end portion; and the base further comprises a sliding slot, the sliding slot is disposed on a side of the base different from the button main body, and the first sliding block is moveable and limited in the sliding slot.”
Claims 10 and 20 are objected being depend on claims 9 and 19.
Regarding claim 25, the prior art fails to disclose “ wherein the button shaft element comprises: a first sliding block extending from the first end portion towards the second end portion; and two side plates respectively disposed on two sides of the first sliding block, and each of the two side plates comprising a second sliding block; wherein a direction of height of the first sliding block is vertical to a direction of height of each of the second sliding blocks, the first sliding block is moveable and limited in a sliding slot of the electronic device, and the two second sliding blocks of the two side plates are respectively moveable and limited in the two sliding bases of the electronic device.”
Conclusion
/ROCKSHANA D CHOWDHURY/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2841