DETAILED ACTION
Claim Objections
Claims 30, 31 are objected to because of the following informalities: the two claims are identical. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 35, 36 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by U.S. Patent 4,927,227 to Bensel, III et al.
Regarding claim 35, Bensel teaches an organizer assembly for a butt closure, the organizer assembly defining a mutually orthogonal coordinate system comprising a longitudinal axis, a lateral axis, and a transverse axis, (length, depth and thickness directions of a tray 120 shown in Fig. 1B) the organizer assembly comprising: a plurality of organizer trays (120), each of the plurality of organizer trays rotatably (about a hinge shown in Fig. 6) connectable to a bracket assembly (100), wherein each of the plurality of organizer trays comprises a plurality of positioning slots (recesses 136) and a positioning tab (detent 134), wherein the positioning tab of the organizing tray is insertable into a different positioning slot of the neighboring organizer tray when rotating from a first position to a second position (Figs. 2, 7 show the plurality of trays 120, one of which is an up or open position, while the remaining are in a down position, for which the detents 134--134 are adapted to become disposed in recesses 136--136 formed in the frame 101 or to snap lock to an underlying tray).
Regarding claim 36, Bensel further teaches a primary basket (cover 23, Fig. 1A) extending along the longitudinal axis between a first open end and a second closed end, the primary basket defining an interior.
Double Patenting
Claim 21 is rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 1 of U.S. Patent No. 11,487,071. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because each of the claimed limitations is disclosed by the corresponding claim of the ‘071 patent (see table below).
Claim 35 is rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 18 of U.S. Patent No. 11,487,071. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because each of the claimed limitations is disclosed by the corresponding claims of the ‘071 patent (see table below).
‘071 patent
Instant applicant
Claim 1. An organizer assembly for a butt closure, the organizer assembly defining a mutually orthogonal coordinate system comprising a longitudinal axis, a lateral axis, and a transverse axis, the organizer assembly comprising:
a primary basket extending along the longitudinal axis between a first open end and a second closed end, the primary basket defining an interior;
a bracket assembly extending along the transverse axis at the first open end of the basket, the bracket assembly comprising a plurality of hinge assemblies;
a plurality of organizer trays, each of the plurality of organizer trays rotatably connectable to the bracket assembly at one of the plurality of hinge assemblies,
each of the plurality of organizer trays rotatable between a first position wherein the organizer tray is aligned along the longitudinal axis and a second position wherein the organizer tray is aligned along the transverse axis,
wherein each of the plurality of organizer trays comprises a plurality of positioning slots and a positioning tab, wherein the positioning tab of one of the plurality of organizer trays is inserted in one of the plurality of positioning slots of a neighboring organizer tray when the plurality of organizer trays is in the first position, and wherein the positioning tab of the one of the plurality of organizer trays is inserted in another one of the plurality of positioning slots of the neighboring organizer tray when the plurality of organizer trays is in the second position, and wherein the positioning tab of one of the plurality of organizer trays is inserted in yet another one of the plurality of positioning slots of the neighboring organizer tray when the plurality of organizer trays is removed from the bracket assembly and stacked together.
Claim 21. An organizer assembly for a butt closure, the organizer assembly defining a mutually orthogonal coordinate system comprising a longitudinal axis, a lateral axis, and a transverse axis, the organizer assembly comprising:
a plurality of organizer trays, each of the plurality of organizer trays rotatably connectable to a bracket assembly,
wherein each of the plurality of organizer trays comprises a plurality of positioning slots and a positioning tab, wherein the positioning tab of one of the plurality of organizer trays is inserted in one of the plurality of positioning slots of a neighboring organizer tray when the plurality of organizer trays is in a first position, and wherein the positioning tab of the one of the plurality of organizer trays is inserted in another one of the plurality of positioning slots of the neighboring organizer tray when the plurality of organizer trays is in a second position, and wherein the positioning tab of one of the plurality of organizer trays is inserted in yet another one of the plurality of positioning slots of the neighboring organizer tray when the plurality of organizer trays is removed from the bracket assembly and stacked together.
Claim 1. An organizer assembly for a butt closure, the organizer assembly defining a mutually orthogonal coordinate system comprising a longitudinal axis, a lateral axis, and a transverse axis, the organizer assembly comprising:
a primary basket extending along the longitudinal axis between a first open end and a second closed end, the primary basket defining an interior;
a bracket assembly extending along the transverse axis at the first open end of the basket, the bracket assembly comprising a plurality of hinge assemblies;
a plurality of organizer trays, each of the plurality of organizer trays rotatably connectable to the bracket assembly at one of the plurality of hinge assemblies, each of the plurality of organizer trays rotatable between a first position wherein the organizer tray is aligned along the longitudinal axis and a second position wherein the organizer tray is aligned along the transverse axis,
wherein each of the plurality of organizer trays comprises a plurality of positioning slots and a positioning tab,
wherein the positioning tab of one of the plurality of organizer trays is inserted in one of the plurality of positioning slots of a neighboring organizer tray when the plurality of organizer trays is in the first position, and wherein the positioning tab of the one of the plurality of organizer trays is inserted in another one of the plurality of positioning slots of the neighboring organizer tray when the plurality of organizer trays is in the second position, and wherein the positioning tab of one of the plurality of organizer trays is inserted in yet another one of the plurality of positioning slots of the neighboring organizer tray when the plurality of organizer trays is removed from the bracket assembly and stacked together.
Claim 18. The organizer assembly of claim 17, wherein the positioning tab of the organizing tray is insertable into a different positioning slot of the neighboring organizer tray when rotating from the first position to the second position.
Claim 35. An organizer assembly for a butt closure, the organizer assembly defining a mutually orthogonal coordinate system comprising a longitudinal axis, a lateral axis, and a transverse axis, the organizer assembly comprising:
a plurality of organizer trays, each of the plurality of organizer trays rotatably connectable to a bracket assembly,
wherein each of the plurality of organizer trays comprises a plurality of positioning slots and a positioning tab,
wherein the positioning tab of the organizing tray is insertable into a different positioning slot of the neighboring organizer tray when rotating from a first position to a second position.
Dependent claims 22, 23, 24, 25, 26, 27, 28, 29, 30, 31, 32, are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over dependent claims 4, 5, 6, 7, 8, 12, 13, 14, 15, 15, 19, of U.S. Patent No. 11,487,071. These dependent claims are identical to the respective dependent claims of the ‘071 patent.
Claims 33, 34 is rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 2, 3 of U.S. Patent No. 11,487,071. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because each of the claimed limitations is disclosed by the corresponding claims of the ‘071 patent.
Claims 36, 37, 38, 40 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1, 2 of U.S. Patent No. 11,487,071. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because each of the claimed limitations is disclosed by the corresponding claims of the ‘071 patent.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 21-34 would be allowable if rewritten or amended to overcome the double patenting rejection(s) set forth in this Office action. Claim 38-40 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims. Prior art of record fails to further teach or reasonably suggest a modification to include the positioning tab of the one of the plurality of organizer trays is inserted in yet another one of the plurality of positioning slots of the neighboring organizer tray, i.e., at least three positioning slots on the tray, when considered in view of the rest of the limitations of the claim.
Claims 37 is objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims. Prior art of record fails to further teach or reasonably suggest a modification to include a plurality of removable retainer tabs, each connectable to the primary basket adjacent the upper peripheral lip, when considered in view of the rest of the limitations of the claim.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. JPH09304631A discloses using locking claw pieces between adjacent trays.
/CHARLIE Y PENG/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2883