DETAILED ACTION
This office action is a response to application no. 18/805,748 filed on 08/15/2024.
Claims 1 – 12 are pending and ready for examination.
Priority
This application is a continuation application of US Patent Application no. 17/829,763 (Now Patent US 12,114,182 B2) filed on June 1, 2022, which is a continuation application of US Patent Application No. 16/851,932 (Now Patent US 11,381,983 B2) filed on 04/17/2020, which is claims priority to US continuation application no. 15/757,432 (Now Patent US 10,667,146 B2) filed on 03/05/2018, which is a National stage of International Application no. PCT/JP2016/004157 filed on 09/13/2016, which claims priority to Japanese patent application no. JP2015-217963 filed on 11/05/2015.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 08/15/2024 is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Claim Objections
Claims 1, 4, 7 and 10 are objected to because of the following informalities:
Claims 1, 4, 7 and 10 recite “ra” and “mac”. Descriptions of the acronyms are required for the first time use in a claim. “ra” is described later part of the claims; but it is preferable to recite at the first time.
Appropriate corrections are required.
Double Patenting
Claims 1 – 12 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory obviousness-type double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1 – 4 of U.S. patent no. 12,114,182 B2 (Application No. 17/829,763) in view of LEE et al. (US 2018/0063722 A1), claims 1, 2, 4, 5 of U.S. patent no. 11,381,983 B2 (Application No. 16/851,932) in view of LEE and BAKER et al. (CN 104811995 B) and claims 1, 7, 10, 11, 19 of U.S. patent no. 10,667,146 B2 (Application No. 15/757,432) in view of LEE, Priyanto et al. (US 2017/0099682 A1) and BAKER. Although the claims at issue are not identical, but they are not patentably distinct from each other because both inventions are directed towards communication between UE and BS in different coverage enhancement levels. With respect to the independent claims of instant application and patent 12,114,182 B2, please see the direct claim comparison in the Table 1 below.
Table 1: Claim comparison between instant application and Patent
Instant application no. 18/805,748
Patent no. US 12,114,182 B2
1. A base station comprising:
a memory; and
at least one processor coupled to the memory, wherein the at least one processor is configured to:
broadcast system information, the system information including a first value of a ra-ResponseWindowSize, a second value of mac-ContentionResolutionTimer and at least one multiplier factor corresponding to a coverage enhancement level;
receive a Random Access (RA) preamble from a User Equipment (UE) in the coverage enhancement level, the UE performing radio communication according to Narrow Band-Internet of Things (NB-IoT); and
in response to the receiving the RA preamble, transmit a RA Response (RAR) to the UE within a RA Response Window whose length is indicated by a third value of the ra-ResponseWindowSize,
wherein the third value of the ra-ResponseWindowSize is derived by multiplying the first value of the ra-ResponseWindowSize with the at least one multiplier factor corresponding to the coverage enhancement level,
wherein a fourth value of the mac-ContentionResolutionTimer is derived by multiplying the second value of the mac-ContentionResolutionTimer with the at least one multiplier factor corresponding to the coverage enhancement level, and
wherein the at least one multiplier factor is also configured as a value corresponding to a number of repetitions for the RAR of a random access procedure.
1. A base station comprising:
a memory; and
at least one processor coupled to the memory, wherein the at least one processor is configured to:
broadcast system information, the system information including a first value of a ra-ResponseWindowSize and at least one multiplier factor corresponding to a coverage enhancement level;
receive a Random Access (RA) preamble from a User Equipment (UE) in the coverage enhancement level, the UE performing radio communication according to Narrow Band-Internet of Things (NB-IoT); and;
in response to the received RA preamble, transmit a RA Response (RAR) to the UE,
wherein the RAR is received within a RA Response Window whose length is indicated by a second value of the ra-ResponseWindowSize,
wherein the second value of the ra-ResponseWindowSize is derived by multiplying the first value of the ra-ResponseWindowSize with the at least one multiplier factor corresponding to the coverage enhancement level, and
wherein the at least one multiplier factor is also configured as a value corresponding to a number of repetitions for the RAR of a random access procedure.
As can be seen from the direct claim comparison of Table 1, claim of the instant application is pretty similar to that of the Patented claim 1. The dissimilar parts of the claims are underlined. Similar claim comparison can be shown for the instant claims 4, 7, 10 vs. patented claims 2, 3, 4, respectively.
The patented claim does not recite
a second value of mac-ContentionResolutionTimer;
wherein a fourth value of the mac-ContentionResolutionTimer is derived by multiplying the second value of the mac-ContentionResolutionTimer with the at least one multiplier factor corresponding to the coverage enhancement level.
However, LEE teaches
broadcast system information, the system information including (Fig.11 and [0194], A BS broadcasts a list including one or more timer values corresponding to one or more CE levels (S1100); The list is broadcasted through system information. [0131], The UE receives a list including one or more values corresponding to one or more CE levels through broadcast signaling) a second value of mac-ContentionResolutionTimer ([0189], a list including one or more values ‘mac-ContentionResolutionTimer’ corresponding to one or more CE levels);
wherein a fourth value of the mac-ContentionResolutionTimer is derived by multiplying the second value of the mac-ContentionResolutionTimer with the at least one multiplier factor corresponding to the coverage enhancement level ([0190], The UE uses the offset value to adjust mac-ContentionResolutionTimer. The adjustment is performed by multiplication, addition, subtraction, and/or division. The adjusted value is different from each other depending on the CE level of the UE. Here, the offset value/ multiplier factor corresponding to the coverage enhancement level is used to generate adjusted mac-ContentionResolutionTimer by multiplication; therefore, it obvious that a fourth value of the mac-ContentionResolutionTimer is derived by multiplying the second value of the mac-ContentionResolutionTimer with the at least one multiplier factor corresponding to the CE level).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Patent 12,114,182 B2 and incorporate the teaching of LEE. The motivation for doing so would have been to provide a method by which a terminal applies a value corresponding to a CE level on the basis of the CE level in a wireless communication system, wherein the terminal is an MTC UE that has a small amount of data to transmit and is occasionally involved in uplink/downlink data transmission/reception, it is effective to reduce the cost of the UE and to decrease battery consumption thereof according to a low data transmission rate (LEE, Abstract and [0122]).
With respect to the independent claims of instant application and patent 11,381,983 B2, please see the direct claim comparison in the Table 2 below.
Table 2: Claim comparison between instant application and Patent
Instant application no. 18/805,748
Patent no. US 11,381,983 B2
1. A base station comprising:
a memory; and
at least one processor coupled to the memory, wherein the at least one processor is configured to:
broadcast system information, the system information including a first value of a ra-ResponseWindowSize, a second value of mac-ContentionResolutionTimer and at least one multiplier factor corresponding to a coverage enhancement level;
receive a Random Access (RA) preamble from a User Equipment (UE) in the coverage enhancement level, the UE performing radio communication according to Narrow Band-Internet of Things (NB-IoT); and
in response to the receiving the RA preamble, transmit a RA Response (RAR) to the UE within a RA Response Window whose length is indicated by a third value of the ra-ResponseWindowSize,
wherein the third value of the ra-ResponseWindowSize is derived by multiplying the first value of the ra-ResponseWindowSize with the at least one multiplier factor corresponding to the coverage enhancement level,
wherein a fourth value of the mac-ContentionResolutionTimer is derived by multiplying the second value of the mac-ContentionResolutionTimer with the at least one multiplier factor corresponding to the coverage enhancement level, and
wherein the at least one multiplier factor is also configured as a value corresponding to a number of repetitions for the RAR of a random access procedure.
1. A base station comprising:
a memory; and
at least one processor coupled to the memory and configured to:
broadcast system information, the system information including a first base value of a random access response window size, a second base value of a Medium Access Control (MAC) contention resolution timer, and multiplier factors corresponding to respective coverage enhancement levels;
receive a random access preamble, from a User Equipment (UE) which performs radio communication according to Narrow Band-Internet of Things (NB-IoT) corresponding to a coverage enhancement level that is determined by the UE according to Reference Signals Received Power (RSRP) measured by the UE;
control transmission of a random access response message based on duration of the random access response window size that is derived by multiplying the first base value of the random access response window size with a multiplier factor corresponding to the coverage enhancement level of the UE; and
control transmission of a MAC contention resolution message based on duration indicated by a timer value of the MAC contention resolution timer that is derived by multiplying the second base value of the MAC contention resolution timer with the multiplier factor corresponding to the coverage enhancement level,
wherein the multiplier factors are values of an information element of a radio resource configuration that is different from the random access response window size and from the MAC contention resolution timer,
wherein the values of the information element are used for indicating a number of repetitions for third and fourth messages of a random access procedure, and
wherein the fourth message is the MAC contention resolution message.
As can be seen from the direct claim comparison of Table 2, claim of the instant application is a broader version of the Patented claim 1. The dissimilar parts of the claims are underlined. Similar claim comparison can be shown for the instant claims 4, 7, 10 vs. patented claims 1, 2, 4, 5, respectively.
The patented claim does not recite
in response to the receiving the RA preamble, transmit a RA Response (RAR) to the UE;
a number of repetitions for the RAR of a random access procedure.
However, LEE teaches
in response to the receiving the RA preamble, transmit a RA Response (RAR) to the UE (Fig.10 and [0177], Second message reception (S1020); [0178], The UE receives random access response information from the BS. That is, after transmitting a random access preamble (S1010). Here, the BS transmits a RAR to the UE in response to receiving the RA preamble).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Patent 11,381,983 B2 and incorporate the teaching of LEE. The motivation for doing so would have been to provide a method by which a terminal applies a value corresponding to a CE level on the basis of the CE level in a wireless communication system, wherein the terminal is an MTC UE that has a small amount of data to transmit and is occasionally involved in uplink/downlink data transmission/reception, it is effective to reduce the cost of the UE and to decrease battery consumption thereof according to a low data transmission rate (LEE, Abstract and [0122]).
LEE does not recite
wherein the at least one multiplier factor is also configured as a value corresponding to a number of repetitions for the RAR of a random access procedure.
However, BAKER teaches
wherein the at least one multiplier factor is also configured as a value corresponding to a number of repetitions for the RAR of a random access procedure (Pg.14: para 2nd, number of repetitions used for transmitting the fourth message to the second message, wherein the scaling factor is selected from a plurality of predetermined scaling factor in; e.g., if RAR repeating times is 100 times and only by 50 times of transmission is successfully decoded by the UE, the UE reports the scaling factor a=0.5, namely fourth message is repeated 0.5x100 = 50 times. Here, the scaling factor is considered as a multiplier factor and RAR repeating times is used to determine the scaling factor. Pg.3: para 4th, message 2 random access response (RAR). As the RAR is a one of messages in the random access procedure; therefore, the at least one multiplier factor is configured as a value corresponding to a number of repetitions for the RAR of a random access procedure).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified combination of the patent 11,381,983 and LEE and further incorporate the teaching of BAKER. The motivation for doing so would have been to provide method and apparatus for controlling the repetitive level measurement report transmission, thereby realizing the coverage enhancement method and base station and corresponding device. It provides greater flexibility, so that the network operator can configured according to specific condition so as to not increase downlink signaling obtained under the condition of improving the resource efficiency (BAKER, Pg.25: para middle).
With respect to the independent claims of instant application and patent 10,667,146 B2, please see the direct claim comparison in the Table 3 below.
Table 3: Claim comparison between instant application and Patent
Instant application no. 18/805,748
Patent no. US 10,667,146 B2
1. A base station comprising:
a memory; and
at least one processor coupled to the memory, wherein the at least one processor is configured to:
broadcast system information, the system information including a first value of a ra-ResponseWindowSize, a second value of mac-ContentionResolutionTimer and at least one multiplier factor corresponding to a coverage enhancement level;
receive a Random Access (RA) preamble from a User Equipment (UE) in the coverage enhancement level, the UE performing radio communication according to Narrow Band-Internet of Things (NB-IoT); and
in response to the receiving the RA preamble, transmit a RA Response (RAR) to the UE within a RA Response Window whose length is indicated by a third value of the ra-ResponseWindowSize,
wherein the third value of the ra-ResponseWindowSize is derived by multiplying the first value of the ra-ResponseWindowSize with the at least one multiplier factor corresponding to the coverage enhancement level,
wherein a fourth value of the mac-ContentionResolutionTimer is derived by multiplying the second value of the mac-ContentionResolutionTimer with the at least one multiplier factor corresponding to the coverage enhancement level, and
wherein the at least one multiplier factor is also configured as a value corresponding to a number of repetitions for the RAR of a random access procedure.
1. A base station comprising:
a memory; and
at least one processor coupled to the memory and configured to
transmit to a radio terminal a first value of a first radio resource configuration information element and information about a conversion factor, the first value being associated with normal coverage or with a first coverage enhancement level, wherein
a value of the conversion factor obtained from the information about the conversion factor is used by the radio terminal to derive a second value of the first radio resource configuration information element from the first value, the second value being associated with a second coverage enhancement level.
As can be seen from the direct claim comparison of Table 3, claim of the instant application is a narrower version of the Patented claim. The dissimilar parts of the claims are underlined. Similar claim comparison can be shown for the instant claims 4, 7 vs. patented claims 10, 11, respectively. All the limitation of the instant claims are taught by combination of LEE, Priyanto and BAKER. Therefore, the instant claim 1 can be rejected by modified combination of 10,667,146 B2 in view of LEE, Priyanto and BAKER (same as above and the rejection below).
Accordingly, claims 1 – 12 of the instant application is rejected on the ground of nonstatutory obviousness-type double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1 – 4 of patent 12,114,182 B2 in view of LEE, claims 1, 2, 4, 5 of patent 11,381,983 B2 in view of LEE and BAKER and claims 1, 7, 10, 11, 19 of patent 10,667,146 B2 in view of LEE, Priyanto and BAKER.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1 – 12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over LEE et al. (LEE hereinafter referred to LEE) (US 2018/0063722 A1) (relies on filing date of us-provisional-application US 62/144,338 that completely supports all citation) in view of Priyanto et al. (Priyanto hereinafter referred to Priyanto) (US 2017/0099682 A1) (relies on filing date of us-provisional-application US 62/236,623 that completely supports all citation) ad further in view of BAKER et al. (BAKER hereinafter referred to BAKER) (CN 104811995 B) (all are cited in IDS).
Regarding claim 1, LEE teaches (Title, Method and device for applying value on basis of coverage extension level) a base station (Fig.15 and [0232], Base station 1500), comprising:
a memory (Fig.15 and [0232], memory 1502); and
at least one processor (Fig.15 and [0232], processor 1501) coupled to the memory ([0232], The memory 1502 is connected to the processor 1501), wherein the at least one processor is configured to ([0232], processor 1501 implements proposed functions, processes and/or methods):
broadcast system information ([0137], A broadcast message (e.g., SIB)), the system information including (Fig.11 and [0194], A BS broadcasts a list including one or more timer values corresponding to one or more CE levels (S1100); The list is broadcasted through system information. [0131], The UE receives a list including one or more values corresponding to one or more CE levels through broadcast signaling) a first value of a ra-ResponseWindowSize ([0180], a list including one or more values ‘ra-ResponseWindowSize’ corresponding to one or more CE levels), a second value of mac-ContentionResolutionTimer ([0189], a list including one or more values ‘mac-ContentionResolutionTimer’ corresponding to one or more CE levels) and at least one multiplier factor corresponding to a coverage enhancement level ([0203], A BS broadcasts a timer value and one or more offsets corresponding to one or more CE levels; [0135], UE receives a different offset value related to the CE level through broadcast signaling; [0136], UE manipulates a specific value by using the received offset value. The manipulation is performed by multiplication, addition…. Here, the offset value corresponding to a CE level is considered as a multiplier factor, as it converts the specific value to a manipulated/ updated value by multiplication);
receive a Random Access (RA) preamble from a User Equipment (UE) in the coverage enhancement level (Fig.10 and [0170], First message transmission (S1010); [0171], The UE randomly selects one random access preamble from a set of random access preambles and transmit the selected preamble; [0172], The maximum number of preambles to be transmitted for each CE level (maxNumPreambleAttemptCE) indicates, for each CE level, the maximum number of preambles which are transmitted until the UE starts the specific operation while performing the random access operation. Here, a RA preamble is received from a UE in a CE level), and
in response to the receiving the RA preamble, transmit a RA Response (RAR) to the UE (Fig.10 and [0177], Second message reception (S1020); [0178], The UE receives random access response information from the BS. That is, after transmitting a random access preamble (S1010). Here, the BS transmits a RAR to the UE in response to receiving the RA preamble) within a RA Response Window whose length is indicated by a third value of the ra-ResponseWindowSize (0178], the UE attempts to receive its random attach response within a random access response window size (ra-ResponseWindowSize) indicated by the BS; [0179], The random access response window size (ra-ResponseWindowSize) is a maximum time duration in which the UE which has transmitted the preamble waits to receive the random access response message. Here, the RAR is transmitted within a ra-ResponseWindowSize, length of which is considered as a third value of the ra-ResponseWindowSize),
wherein the third value of the ra-ResponseWindowSize is derived by multiplying the first value of the ra-ResponseWindowSize with the at least one multiplier factor corresponding to the coverage enhancement level ([0180], The UE receives from the network a list including one or more values ‘ra-ResponseWindowSize’ corresponding to one or more CE levels; The higher the CE level, the greater the ra-ResponseWindowSize. That is, a maximum time duration in which the UE waits to receive the random access response message is increased in proportion to an increase in the CE level. [0181], UE uses the offset value to adjust ra-ResponseWindowSize. The adjustment is performed by multiplication, addition, subtraction, and/or division. The adjusted value is different from each other depending on the CE level of the UE. Here, the offset value/ multiplier factor corresponding to the coverage enhancement level is used to generate adjusted ra-ResponseWindowSize by multiplication; therefore, it obvious that the third value of the ra-ResponseWindowSize is derived by multiplying the first value of the ra-ResponseWindowSize with the at least one multiplier factor corresponding to the CE level),
wherein a fourth value of the mac-ContentionResolutionTimer is derived by multiplying the second value of the mac-ContentionResolutionTimer with the at least one multiplier factor corresponding to the coverage enhancement level ([0189], The UE receives from the network a list including one or more values ‘mac-ContentionResolutionTimer’ corresponding to one or more CE levels; The higher the CE level, the greater the mac-ContentionResolutionTimer. [0190], The UE uses the offset value to adjust mac-ContentionResolutionTimer. The adjustment is performed by multiplication, addition, subtraction, and/or division. The adjusted value is different from each other depending on the CE level of the UE. Here, the offset value/ multiplier factor corresponding to the coverage enhancement level is used to generate adjusted mac-ContentionResolutionTimer by multiplication; therefore, it obvious that a fourth value of the mac-ContentionResolutionTimer is derived by multiplying the second value of the mac-ContentionResolutionTimer with the at least one multiplier factor corresponding to the CE level).
LEE does not specifically teach
the UE performing radio communication according to Narrow Band-Internet of Things (NB-IoT).
However, Priyanto teaches (Title, Apparatus, systems and methods for user equipment (UE) coverage enhancement level definition, selection and allocation)
the UE performing radio communication according to Narrow Band-Internet of Things (NB-IoT) ([0051], invention provides mechanisms for Coverage Enhancement (CE)-level update through implementation of User Equipment (UE) selection/re-selection of random access resources and/or base station allocation and/or re-allocation of resources between CE levels. The UE is a NB IoT (NB Internet of Things) device, a MTC (Machine Type Communication) device or other similar device; [0079] NB-IoT Coverage Enhancement Class Allocation; Fig.8 and [0082], proposed CE classes with finer granularity for NB-IoT. Therefore, UE performs radio communication according to NB-IoT).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified LEE as mentioned above and further incorporate the teaching of Priyanto. The motivation for doing so would have been to provide systems, apparatus, methods, computer program products and the like for updating CE (Coverage Enhancement)-level of a User Terminal/Equipment (UE), in which re-allocation of PRACH resources over multiple CE levels based on the number of devices in each CE level, thereby increasing network utilization and efficiency (Priyanto, Abstract and [0073]).
The combination of LEE and Priyanto does not specifically teach
wherein the at least one multiplier factor is also configured as a value corresponding to a number of repetitions for the RAR of a random access procedure.
However, BAKER teaches (Title, Sending Control Repeating The Level Measurement Report To Enhance Coverage Of Method And Device)
wherein the at least one multiplier factor is also configured as a value corresponding to a number of repetitions for the RAR of a random access procedure (Pg.14: para 2nd, number of repetitions used for transmitting the fourth message to the second message, wherein the scaling factor is selected from a plurality of predetermined scaling factor in; e.g., if RAR repeating times is 100 times and only by 50 times of transmission is successfully decoded by the UE, the UE reports the scaling factor a=0.5, namely fourth message is repeated 0.5x100 = 50 times. Here, the scaling factor is considered as a multiplier factor and RAR repeating times is used to determine the scaling factor. Pg.3: para 4th, message 2 random access response (RAR). As the RAR is a one of messages in the random access procedure; therefore, the at least one multiplier factor is configured as a value corresponding to a number of repetitions for the RAR of a random access procedure).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified combination of LEE and Priyanto as mentioned above and further incorporate the teaching of BAKER. The motivation for doing so would have been to provide method and apparatus for controlling the repetitive level measurement report transmission, thereby realizing the coverage enhancement method and base station and corresponding device. It provides greater flexibility, so that the network operator can configured according to specific condition so as to not increase downlink signaling obtained under the condition of improving the resource efficiency (BAKER, Pg.25: para middle).
Regarding claim 4, LEE teaches a method (Title, Method and device for applying value on basis of coverage extension level) for a base station (Fig.15 and [0232], Base station 1500), the method comprising:
broadcasting system information ([0137], A broadcast message (e.g., SIB)), the system information including (Fig.11 and [0194], A BS broadcasts a list including one or more timer values corresponding to one or more CE levels (S1100); The list is broadcasted through system information. [0131], The UE receives a list including one or more values corresponding to one or more CE levels through broadcast signaling) a first value of a ra-ResponseWindowSize ([0180], a list including one or more values ‘ra-ResponseWindowSize’ corresponding to one or more CE levels), a second value of mac-ContentionResolutionTimer ([0189], a list including one or more values ‘mac-ContentionResolutionTimer’ corresponding to one or more CE levels) and at least one multiplier factor corresponding to a coverage enhancement level ([0203], A BS broadcasts a timer value and one or more offsets corresponding to one or more CE levels; [0135], UE receives a different offset value related to the CE level through broadcast signaling; [0136], UE manipulates a specific value by using the received offset value. The manipulation is performed by multiplication, addition…. Here, the offset value corresponding to a CE level is considered as a multiplier factor, as it converts the specific value to a manipulated/ updated value by multiplication);
receive a Random Access (RA) preamble from a User Equipment (UE) in the coverage enhancement level (Fig.10 and [0170], First message transmission (S1010); [0171], The UE randomly selects one random access preamble from a set of random access preambles and transmit the selected preamble; [0172], The maximum number of preambles to be transmitted for each CE level (maxNumPreambleAttemptCE) indicates, for each CE level, the maximum number of preambles which are transmitted until the UE starts the specific operation while performing the random access operation. Here, a RA preamble is received from a UE in a CE level), and
in response to the receiving the RA preamble, transmitting a RA Response (RAR) to the UE (Fig.10 and [0177], Second message reception (S1020); [0178], The UE receives random access response information from the BS. That is, after transmitting a random access preamble (S1010). Here, the BS transmits a RAR to the UE in response to receiving the RA preamble) within a RA Response Window whose length is indicated by a third value of the ra-ResponseWindowSize (0178], the UE attempts to receive its random attach response within a random access response window size (ra-ResponseWindowSize) indicated by the BS; [0179], The random access response window size (ra-ResponseWindowSize) is a maximum time duration in which the UE which has transmitted the preamble waits to receive the random access response message. Here, the RAR is transmitted within a ra-ResponseWindowSize, length of which is considered as a third value of the ra-ResponseWindowSize),
wherein the third value of the ra-ResponseWindowSize is derived by multiplying the first value of the ra-ResponseWindowSize with the at least one multiplier factor corresponding to the coverage enhancement level ([0180], The UE receives from the network a list including one or more values ‘ra-ResponseWindowSize’ corresponding to one or more CE levels; The higher the CE level, the greater the ra-ResponseWindowSize. That is, a maximum time duration in which the UE waits to receive the random access response message is increased in proportion to an increase in the CE level. [0181], UE uses the offset value to adjust ra-ResponseWindowSize. The adjustment is performed by multiplication, addition, subtraction, and/or division. The adjusted value is different from each other depending on the CE level of the UE. Here, the offset value/ multiplier factor corresponding to the coverage enhancement level is used to generate adjusted ra-ResponseWindowSize by multiplication; therefore, it obvious that the third value of the ra-ResponseWindowSize is derived by multiplying the first value of the ra-ResponseWindowSize with the at least one multiplier factor corresponding to the CE level),
wherein a fourth value of the mac-ContentionResolutionTimer is derived by multiplying the second value of the mac-ContentionResolutionTimer with the at least one multiplier factor corresponding to the coverage enhancement level ([0189], The UE receives from the network a list including one or more values ‘mac-ContentionResolutionTimer’ corresponding to one or more CE levels; The higher the CE level, the greater the mac-ContentionResolutionTimer. [0190], The UE uses the offset value to adjust mac-ContentionResolutionTimer. The adjustment is performed by multiplication, addition, subtraction, and/or division. The adjusted value is different from each other depending on the CE level of the UE. Here, the offset value/ multiplier factor corresponding to the coverage enhancement level is used to generate adjusted mac-ContentionResolutionTimer by multiplication; therefore, it obvious that a fourth value of the mac-ContentionResolutionTimer is derived by multiplying the second value of the mac-ContentionResolutionTimer with the at least one multiplier factor corresponding to the CE level).
LEE does not specifically teach
the UE performing radio communication according to Narrow Band-Internet of Things (NB-IoT).
However, Priyanto teaches (Title, Apparatus, systems and methods for user equipment (UE) coverage enhancement level definition, selection and allocation)
the UE performing radio communication according to Narrow Band-Internet of Things (NB-IoT) ([0051], invention provides mechanisms for Coverage Enhancement (CE)-level update through implementation of User Equipment (UE) selection/re-selection of random access resources and/or base station allocation and/or re-allocation of resources between CE levels. The UE is a NB IoT (NB Internet of Things) device, a MTC (Machine Type Communication) device or other similar device; [0079] NB-IoT Coverage Enhancement Class Allocation; Fig.8 and [0082], proposed CE classes with finer granularity for NB-IoT. Therefore, UE performs radio communication according to NB-IoT).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified LEE as mentioned above and further incorporate the teaching of Priyanto. The motivation for doing so would have been to provide systems, apparatus, methods, computer program products and the like for updating CE (Coverage Enhancement)-level of a User Terminal/Equipment (UE), in which re-allocation of PRACH resources over multiple CE levels based on the number of devices in each CE level, thereby increasing network utilization and efficiency (Priyanto, Abstract and [0073]).
The combination of LEE and Priyanto does not specifically teach
wherein the at least one multiplier factor is also configured as a value corresponding to a number of repetitions for the RAR of a random access procedure.
However, BAKER teaches (Title, Sending Control Repeating The Level Measurement Report To Enhance Coverage Of Method And Device)
wherein the at least one multiplier factor is also configured as a value corresponding to a number of repetitions for the RAR of a random access procedure (Pg.14: para 2nd, number of repetitions used for transmitting the fourth message to the second message, wherein the scaling factor is selected from a plurality of predetermined scaling factor in; e.g., if RAR repeating times is 100 times and only by 50 times of transmission is successfully decoded by the UE, the UE reports the scaling factor a=0.5, namely fourth message is repeated 0.5x100 = 50 times. Here, the scaling factor is considered as a multiplier factor and RAR repeating times is used to determine the scaling factor. Pg.3: para 4th, message 2 random access response (RAR). As the RAR is a one of messages in the random access procedure; therefore, the at least one multiplier factor is configured as a value corresponding to a number of repetitions for the RAR of a random access procedure).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified combination of LEE and Priyanto as mentioned above and further incorporate the teaching of BAKER. The motivation for doing so would have been to provide method and apparatus for controlling the repetitive level measurement report transmission, thereby realizing the coverage enhancement method and base station and corresponding device. It provides greater flexibility, so that the network operator can configured according to specific condition so as to not increase downlink signaling obtained under the condition of improving the resource efficiency (BAKER, Pg.25: para middle).
Regarding claim 7, LEE teaches (Title, Method and device for applying value on basis of coverage extension level) a User Equipment (UE) (Fig.15 and [0233], UE 1510), comprising:
a memory (Fig.15 and [0233], memory 1512); and
at least one processor (Fig.15 and [0233], processor 1511) coupled to the memory ([0233], memory 1512 is connected to the processor 1511), wherein the at least one processor is configured to ([ [0233], processor 1511 implements proposed functions, processes and/or methods):
receive system information ([0137], A broadcast message (e.g., SIB)) from a base station, the system information including (Fig.11 and [0194], A BS broadcasts a list including one or more timer values corresponding to one or more CE levels (S1100); The list is broadcasted through system information. [0131], The UE receives a list including one or more values corresponding to one or more CE levels through broadcast signaling) a first value of a ra-ResponseWindowSize ([0180], a list including one or more values ‘ra-ResponseWindowSize’ corresponding to one or more CE levels), a second value of mac-ContentionResolutionTimer ([0189], a list including one or more values ‘mac-ContentionResolutionTimer’ corresponding to one or more CE levels) and at least one multiplier factor corresponding to a coverage enhancement level ([0203], A BS broadcasts a timer value and one or more offsets corresponding to one or more CE levels; [0135], UE receives a different offset value related to the CE level through broadcast signaling; [0136], UE manipulates a specific value by using the received offset value. The manipulation is performed by multiplication, addition…. Here, the offset value corresponding to a CE level is considered as a multiplier factor, as it converts the specific value to a manipulated/ updated value by multiplication);
transmit a Random Access (RA) preamble to the base station in the coverage enhancement level (Fig.10 and [0170], First message transmission (S1010); [0171], The UE randomly selects one random access preamble from a set of random access preambles and transmit the selected preamble; [0172], The maximum number of preambles to be transmitted for each CE level (maxNumPreambleAttemptCE) indicates, for each CE level, the maximum number of preambles which are transmitted until the UE starts the specific operation while performing the random access operation. Here, a RA preamble is received from a UE in a CE level), and
receive a RA Response (RAR) from the base station in response to the transmitted the RA preamble (Fig.10 and [0177], Second message reception (S1020); [0178], The UE receives random access response information from the BS. That is, after transmitting a random access preamble (S1010). Here, the BS transmits a RAR to the UE in response to receiving the RA preamble) within a RA Response Window whose length is indicated by a third value of the ra-ResponseWindowSize (0178], the UE attempts to receive its random attach response within a random access response window size (ra-ResponseWindowSize) indicated by the BS; [0179], The random access response window size (ra-ResponseWindowSize) is a maximum time duration in which the UE which has transmitted the preamble waits to receive the random access response message. Here, the RAR is transmitted within a ra-ResponseWindowSize, length of which is considered as a third value of the ra-ResponseWindowSize),
wherein the third value of the ra-ResponseWindowSize is derived by multiplying the first value of the ra-ResponseWindowSize with the at least one multiplier factor corresponding to the coverage enhancement level ([0180], The UE receives from the network a list including one or more values ‘ra-ResponseWindowSize’ corresponding to one or more CE levels; The higher the CE level, the greater the ra-ResponseWindowSize. That is, a maximum time duration in which the UE waits to receive the random access response message is increased in proportion to an increase in the CE level. [0181], UE uses the offset value to adjust ra-ResponseWindowSize. The adjustment is performed by multiplication, addition, subtraction, and/or division. The adjusted value is different from each other depending on the CE level of the UE. Here, the offset value/ multiplier factor corresponding to the coverage enhancement level is used to generate adjusted ra-ResponseWindowSize by multiplication; therefore, it obvious that the third value of the ra-ResponseWindowSize is derived by multiplying the first value of the ra-ResponseWindowSize with the at least one multiplier factor corresponding to the CE level),
wherein a fourth value of the mac-ContentionResolutionTimer is derived by multiplying the second value of the mac-ContentionResolutionTimer with the at least one multiplier factor corresponding to the coverage enhancement level ([0189], The UE receives from the network a list including one or more values ‘mac-ContentionResolutionTimer’ corresponding to one or more CE levels; The higher the CE level, the greater the mac-ContentionResolutionTimer. [0190], The UE uses the offset value to adjust mac-ContentionResolutionTimer. The adjustment is performed by multiplication, addition, subtraction, and/or division. The adjusted value is different from each other depending on the CE level of the UE. Here, the offset value/ multiplier factor corresponding to the coverage enhancement level is used to generate adjusted mac-ContentionResolutionTimer by multiplication; therefore, it obvious that a fourth value of the mac-ContentionResolutionTimer is derived by multiplying the second value of the mac-ContentionResolutionTimer with the at least one multiplier factor corresponding to the CE level).
LEE does not specifically teach
the UE performing radio communication according to Narrow Band-Internet of Things (NB-IoT).
However, Priyanto teaches (Title, Apparatus, systems and methods for user equipment (UE) coverage enhancement level definition, selection and allocation)
the UE performing radio communication according to Narrow Band-Internet of Things (NB-IoT) ([0051], invention provides mechanisms for Coverage Enhancement (CE)-level update through implementation of User Equipment (UE) selection/re-selection of random access resources and/or base station allocation and/or re-allocation of resources between CE levels. The UE is a NB IoT (NB Internet of Things) device, a MTC (Machine Type Communication) device or other similar device; [0079] NB-IoT Coverage Enhancement Class Allocation; Fig.8 and [0082], proposed CE classes with finer granularity for NB-IoT. Therefore, UE performs radio communication according to NB-IoT).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified LEE as mentioned above and further incorporate the teaching of Priyanto. The motivation for doing so would have been to provide systems, apparatus, methods, computer program products and the like for updating CE (Coverage Enhancement)-level of a User Terminal/Equipment (UE), in which re-allocation of PRACH resources over multiple CE levels based on the number of devices in each CE level, thereby increasing network utilization and efficiency (Priyanto, Abstract and [0073]).
The combination of LEE and Priyanto does not specifically teach
wherein the at least one multiplier factor is also configured as a value corresponding to a number of repetitions for the RAR of a random access procedure.
However, BAKER teaches (Title, Sending Control Repeating The Level Measurement Report To Enhance Coverage Of Method And Device)
wherein the at least one multiplier factor is also configured as a value corresponding to a number of repetitions for the RAR of a random access procedure (Pg.14: para 2nd, number of repetitions used for transmitting the fourth message to the second message, wherein the scaling factor is selected from a plurality of predetermined scaling factor in; e.g., if RAR repeating times is 100 times and only by 50 times of transmission is successfully decoded by the UE, the UE reports the scaling factor a=0.5, namely fourth message is repeated 0.5x100 = 50 times. Here, the scaling factor is considered as a multiplier factor and RAR repeating times is used to determine the scaling factor. Pg.3: para 4th, message 2 random access response (RAR). As the RAR is a one of messages in the random access procedure; therefore, the at least one multiplier factor is configured as a value corresponding to a number of repetitions for the RAR of a random access procedure).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified combination of LEE and Priyanto as mentioned above and further incorporate the teaching of BAKER. The motivation for doing so would have been to provide method and apparatus for controlling the repetitive level measurement report transmission, thereby realizing the coverage enhancement method and base station and corresponding device. It provides greater flexibility, so that the network operator can configured according to specific condition so as to not increase downlink signaling obtained under the condition of improving the resource efficiency (BAKER, Pg.25: para middle).
Regarding claim 10, LEE teaches a method (Title, Method and device for applying value on basis of coverage extension level) for a User Equipment (UE) (Fig.15 and [0233], UE 1510), the methos comprising:
receiving system information ([0137], A broadcast message (e.g., SIB)) from a base station, the system information including (Fig.11 and [0194], A BS broadcasts a list including one or more timer values corresponding to one or more CE levels (S1100); The list is broadcasted through system information. [0131], The UE receives a list including one or more values corresponding to one or more CE levels through broadcast signaling) a first value of a ra-ResponseWindowSize ([0180], a list including one or more values ‘ra-ResponseWindowSize’ corresponding to one or more CE levels), a second value of mac-ContentionResolutionTimer ([0189], a list including one or more values ‘mac-ContentionResolutionTimer’ corresponding to one or more CE levels) and at least one multiplier factor corresponding to a coverage enhancement level ([0203], A BS broadcasts a timer value and one or more offsets corresponding to one or more CE levels; [0135], UE receives a different offset value related to the CE level through broadcast signaling; [0136], UE manipulates a specific value by using the received offset value. The manipulation is performed by multiplication, addition…. Here, the offset value corresponding to a CE level is considered as a multiplier factor, as it converts the specific value to a manipulated/ updated value by multiplication);
transmitting a Random Access (RA) preamble to the base station in the coverage enhancement level (Fig.10 and [0170], First message transmission (S1010); [0171], The UE randomly selects one random access preamble from a set of random access preambles and transmit the selected preamble; [0172], The maximum number of preambles to be transmitted for each CE level (maxNumPreambleAttemptCE) indicates, for each CE level, the maximum number of preambles which are transmitted until the UE starts the specific operation while performing the random access operation. Here, a RA preamble is received from a UE in a CE level), and
receiving a RA Response (RAR) from the base station in response to the transmitted the RA preamble (Fig.10 and [0177], Second message reception (S1020); [0178], The UE receives random access response information from the BS. That is, after transmitting a random access preamble (S1010). Here, the BS transmits a RAR to the UE in response to receiving the RA preamble) within a RA Response Window whose length is indicated by a third value of the ra-ResponseWindowSize (0178], the UE attempts to receive its random attach response within a random access response window size (ra-ResponseWindowSize) indicated by the BS; [0179], The random access response window size (ra-ResponseWindowSize) is a maximum time duration in which the UE which has transmitted the preamble waits to receive the random access response message. Here, the RAR is transmitted within a ra-ResponseWindowSize, length of which is considered as a third value of the ra-ResponseWindowSize),
wherein the third value of the ra-ResponseWindowSize is derived by multiplying the first value of the ra-ResponseWindowSize with the at least one multiplier factor corresponding to the coverage enhancement level ([0180], The UE receives from the network a list including one or more values ‘ra-ResponseWindowSize’ corresponding to one or more CE levels; The higher the CE level, the greater the ra-ResponseWindowSize. That is, a maximum time duration in which the UE waits to receive the random access response message is increased in proportion to an increase in the CE level. [0181], UE uses the offset value to adjust ra-ResponseWindowSize. The adjustment is performed by multiplication, addition, subtraction, and/or division. The adjusted value is different from each other depending on the CE level of the UE. Here, the offset value/ multiplier factor corresponding to the coverage enhancement level is used to generate adjusted ra-ResponseWindowSize by multiplication; therefore, it obvious that the third value of the ra-ResponseWindowSize is derived by multiplying the first value of the ra-ResponseWindowSize with the at least one multiplier factor corresponding to the CE level),
wherein a fourth value of the mac-ContentionResolutionTimer is derived by multiplying the second value of the mac-ContentionResolutionTimer with the at least one multiplier factor corresponding to the coverage enhancement level ([0189], The UE receives from the network a list including one or more values ‘mac-ContentionResolutionTimer’ corresponding to one or more CE levels; The higher the CE level, the greater the mac-ContentionResolutionTimer. [0190], The UE uses the offset value to adjust mac-ContentionResolutionTimer. The adjustment is performed by multiplication, addition, subtraction, and/or division. The adjusted value is different from each other depending on the CE level of the UE. Here, the offset value/ multiplier factor corresponding to the coverage enhancement level is used to generate adjusted mac-ContentionResolutionTimer by multiplication; therefore, it obvious that a fourth value of the mac-ContentionResolutionTimer is derived by multiplying the second value of the mac-ContentionResolutionTimer with the at least one multiplier factor corresponding to the CE level).
LEE does not specifically teach
the UE performing radio communication according to Narrow Band-Internet of Things (NB-IoT).
However, Priyanto teaches (Title, Apparatus, systems and methods for user equipment (UE) coverage enhancement level definition, selection and allocation)
the UE performing radio communication according to Narrow Band-Internet of Things (NB-IoT) ([0051], invention provides mechanisms for Coverage Enhancement (CE)-level update through implementation of User Equipment (UE) selection/re-selection of random access resources and/or base station allocation and/or re-allocation of resources between CE levels. The UE is a NB IoT (NB Internet of Things) device, a MTC (Machine Type Communication) device or other similar device; [0079] NB-IoT Coverage Enhancement Class Allocation; Fig.8 and [0082], proposed CE classes with finer granularity for NB-IoT. Therefore, UE performs radio communication according to NB-IoT).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified LEE as mentioned above and further incorporate the teaching of Priyanto. The motivation for doing so would have been to provide systems, apparatus, methods, computer program products and the like for updating CE (Coverage Enhancement)-level of a User Terminal/Equipment (UE), in which re-allocation of PRACH resources over multiple CE levels based on the number of devices in each CE level, thereby increasing network utilization and efficiency (Priyanto, Abstract and [0073]).
The combination of LEE and Priyanto does not specifically teach
wherein the at least one multiplier factor is also configured as a value corresponding to a number of repetitions for the RAR of a random access procedure.
However, BAKER teaches (Title, Sending Control Repeating The Level Measurement Report To Enhance Coverage Of Method And Device)
wherein the at least one multiplier factor is also configured as a value corresponding to a number of repetitions for the RAR of a random access procedure (Pg.14: para 2nd, number of repetitions used for transmitting the fourth message to the second message, wherein the scaling factor is selected from a plurality of predetermined scaling factor in; e.g., if RAR repeating times is 100 times and only by 50 times of transmission is successfully decoded by the UE, the UE reports the scaling factor a=0.5, namely fourth message is repeated 0.5x100 = 50 times. Here, the scaling factor is considered as a multiplier factor and RAR repeating times is used to determine the scaling factor. Pg.3: para 4th, message 2 random access response (RAR). As the RAR is a one of messages in the random access procedure; therefore, the at least one multiplier factor is configured as a value corresponding to a number of repetitions for the RAR of a random access procedure).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified combination of LEE and Priyanto as mentioned above and further incorporate the teaching of BAKER. The motivation for doing so would have been to provide method and apparatus for controlling the repetitive level measurement report transmission, thereby realizing the coverage enhancement method and base station and corresponding device. It provides greater flexibility, so that the network operator can configured according to specific condition so as to not increase downlink signaling obtained under the condition of improving the resource efficiency (BAKER, Pg.25: para middle).
Regarding claims 2, 5, 8 and 11, combination of LEE, Priyanto and BAKER teaches all the features with respect to claims 1, 4, 7 and 10, respectively as outlined above.
LEE further teaches
wherein the first value is associated with normal coverage ([0011], one or more window sizes corresponding to the one or more CE levels) and the second value is associated with normal coverage ([0010], one or more timer values corresponding to the one or more CE levels. Here, both the first and second values correspond to the one or more CE levels. These CE levels are not special or specific; i.e. the first and second values are associated with normal coverage).
Regarding claims 3, 6, 9 and 12, combination of LEE, Priyanto and BAKER teaches all the features with respect to claims 1, 4, 7 and 10, respectively as outlined above.
LEE further teaches
wherein the coverage enhancement level where the UE locates is associated with a second coverage enhancement level ([0138], A first type of the broadcast message is a common broadcast message for all UEs which use a different CE level; A second type is a separate broadcast message for each CE UE. [0139], A different broadcast message (e.g., SIB) is defined for each CE level to provide information related to each CE level. Here, the UE is associated with different CE level, i.e. a second coverage enhancement level).
Conclusion
The prior arts made of record and not relied upon are considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
PARK et al. (Pub. No. US 2017/0366996 A1) – “METHOD AND DEVICE FOR SELECTING CELL IN WIRELESS COMMUNICATION SYSTEM” discloses random access response window that represents the maximum time section when the UE that transmits the preamble is waiting for the random access response message. The random access response window has the length of ‘ra-ResponseWindowSize’, which starts from the subframe after 3 subframes from the last subframe in which the preamble is transmitted. That is, the UE is waiting for receiving the random access response during the random access window secured after 3 subframes from the subframe in which the preamble transmission is completed. The UE may acquire the random access window size (‘ra-ResponseWindowsize’) parameter value through the system information, and the random access window size may be determined as a value from 2 to 10.
Information Regarding the status of an application may be obtained from the Patent Application Information Retrieval (PAIR) system. Status information for published applications may be obtained from either Private PAIR or Public PAIR. Status information for unpublished applications is available through Private PAIR only. For more information about the PAIR system, see http://pair-direct.uspto.gov. Should you have questions on access to the Private PAIR system, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free). If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer Service Representative or access to the automated information system, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000.
/ROWNAK ISLAM/
Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2474