DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Species 1B (FIGS. 5-7) of Group 1 (slots extend through the side wall), corresponding to claims 1-2, 4-6, 11-12, 14-16 and 19-20 in the reply filed on December 18, 2025 is acknowledged. Claims 3, 7-10, 13 and 17-18 withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected Species.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-2, 4-6, 11-12, 14-16 and 19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Mialhe (US 2007/0078504, hereinafter “Mialhe”) in view of Chen et al. (US 2020/0170647, hereinafter “Chen”).
Referring to claim 1, Mialhe discloses a delivery device for an occlusive implant (Figs. 1-18, Figs. 4 and 11-12 are reproduced below), the delivery device comprising:
a delivery sheath 2 (Figs. 1-2, 5 and 11-14) having a proximal region and a laser cut distal tip region (nose 14 includes four slots/cuts 15a, 15b, 15c, and 15d as shown in Figs. 4-5, 11 and 14; paras. [0071]-[0073]). Examiner notes that the limitation of “laser cut” has been interpreted as product by process limitation. Here it is noted that a comparison of the recited process with the prior art processes does NOT serve to resolve the issue concerning patentability of the product. In re Fessman, 489 F2d 742, 180 U.S. P.Q. 324 (CCPA 1974). Once the examiner provides a rationale tending to show that the claimed product appears to be the same or similar to that of the prior art, although produced by a different process, the burden shifts to applicant to come forward with evidence establishing an nonobvious difference between the claimed product and the prior art product (MPEP chapter 2113 Product-by-Process Claims);
wherein the laser cut distal tip region has one or more laser cuts formed therein that form a patterned distal section (Fig. 4), the patterned distal section being configured to shift between a delivery configuration and an expanded configuration (Fig. 14);
a core member 4 (Figs. 10-11; para. [0077]) slidably disposed within the delivery sheath; and
an occlusive implant 10 releasably coupled to the core member 4 (Fig. 11; paras. [0075] and [0084]).
Mialhe discloses the invention substantially as claimed except for disclosing a reinforcing member extending along the proximal region of the delivery sheath.
However, in the same field of endeavor, which is a delivery device for an occlusive implant (Figs. 1-2), Chen discloses delivery sheath 12 includes a distal portion 26 is more flexible than proximal portion 24 to facilitate navigation in tortuous vasculature (para. [0038]). Chen further discloses that the proximal portion 24 includes a reinforcing layer in the form of a braid layer to enhance the pushability of the delivery sheath (para. [0038]). In view of Chen’s teaching, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filling date of the application, to have made the delivery sheath of Mialhe according to Chen’s teaching so that it too would have the same advantage.
Referring to claim 2, Mialhe/Chen discloses the delivery device of claim 1, wherein at least some of the one or more laser cuts 15a-15d go completely through a wall surface of the laser cut distal tip region 14 (Fig. 14 is reproduced below).
Referring to claim 4, Mialhe/Chen discloses the delivery device of claim 1, wherein the one or more laser cuts 15a-15d all extend the same distance proximally along the laser cut distal tip region.
Referring to claim 5, Mialhe/Chen discloses the delivery device of claim 1, wherein at least some of the one or more laser cuts extend a different distance proximally along the laser cut distal tip region. (in paragraph [0072] Mialhe discloses “The number of slots (16a, 16b, 16c and 16d) on device (1) and their longitudinal length are not restricted to the example illustrated here.” Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the application, to have made one pair of slots with a distance proximal to the distal tip region different from another pair of slots. Since Mialhe discloses the longitudinal length are not restricted to the example, examiner contends that variation in the length of the slots does not require a leap of inventiveness).
Referring to claim 6, Mialhe/Chen discloses the delivery device of claim 1, wherein the patterned distal section includes a plurality of rounded projections (attention is directed to Figs. 4 and 11, which are reproduced above. The figures show that the distal region 14 has a cone shape, thus, the distal end of each segment 16a-16d, which created by slots 15a-15d, has a rounded projection).
Referring to claim 11, Mialhe/Chen discloses a delivery device for an occlusive implant, the delivery device comprising (see rejection of claim 1 above):
a delivery sheath 2 (see rejection of claim 1 above) having a proximal region and a distal tip region 14 (see rejection of claim 1 above); wherein the distal tip region includes a patterned distal section (see Fig. 4, which is reproduce above); wherein the patterned distal section is configured to allow the distal tip region to shift between a delivery configuration (Fig. 11, which is reproduced above) and an expanded configuration (Fig. 14, which is reproduced above); and
a proximal reinforcing member disposed along the proximal region (see rejection of claim 1 above).
Referring to claim 12, Mialhe/Chen discloses the delivery device of claim 11, wherein the patterned distal section includes laser cuts 15a-15d that go completely through a wall surface of the distal tip region 14 (Fig. 14). Examiner notes that the limitation of “laser cut” has been interpreted as product by process limitation. Here it is noted that a comparison of the recited process with the prior art processes does NOT serve to resolve the issue concerning patentability of the product. In re Fessman, 489 F2d 742, 180 U.S. P.Q. 324 (CCPA 1974). Once the examiner provides a rationale tending to show that the claimed product appears to be the same or similar to that of the prior art, although produced by a different process, the burden shifts to applicant to come forward with evidence establishing an nonobvious difference between the claimed product and the prior art product (MPEP chapter 2113 Product-by-Process Claims).
Referring to claim 14, Mialhe/Chen discloses the delivery device of claim 11, wherein the patterned distal section includes laser cuts that all extend the same distance proximally along the distal tip region (Figs. 13-14). Examiner notes that the limitation of “laser cut” has been interpreted as product by process limitation. Here it is noted that a comparison of the recited process with the prior art processes does NOT serve to resolve the issue concerning patentability of the product. In re Fessman, 489 F2d 742, 180 U.S. P.Q. 324 (CCPA 1974). Once the examiner provides a rationale tending to show that the claimed product appears to be the same or similar to that of the prior art, although produced by a different process, the burden shifts to applicant to come forward with evidence establishing an nonobvious difference between the claimed product and the prior art product (MPEP chapter 2113 Product-by-Process Claims).
Referring to claim 15, Mialhe/Chen discloses the delivery device of claim 11, wherein the patterned distal section includes laser cuts that extend a differing distance proximally along the distal tip region. (in paragraph [0072] Mialhe discloses “The number of slots (16a, 16b, 16c and 16d) on device (1) and their longitudinal length are not restricted to the example illustrated here.” Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the application, to have made one pair of slots with a distance proximal to the distal tip region different from another pair of slots. Since Mialhe discloses the longitudinal length are not restricted to the example, examiner contends that variation in the length of the slots does not require a leap of inventiveness).
Referring to claim 16, Mialhe/Chen discloses the delivery device of claim 11, wherein the patterned distal section includes a plurality of rounded projections. (attention is directed to Figs. 4 and 11, which are reproduced above. The figures show that the distal region 14 has a cone shape, thus, the distal end of each segment 16a-16d, which created by slots 15a-15d, has a rounded projection).
Referring to claim 19, Mialhe/Chen discloses the delivery device of claim 11, further comprising a core member 4 (Figs. 10-11; para. [0077]) slidably disposed within the delivery sheath 2 and an occlusive implant 10 releasably coupled to the core member (Fig. 11; paras. [0075] and [0084]).
Claim(s) 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Mialhe (US 2007/0078504, hereinafter “Mialhe”) in view of Chen et al. (US 2020/0170647, hereinafter “Chen”) and further in view of Zaver et al. (US 2007/0135826, hereinafter “Zaver”).
Referring to claim 20, Mialhe discloses a method for implanting an occlusive implant into a location in a blood vessel (para. [0065]), the method comprising:
advancing a delivery device (Figs. 1-2) to a position adjacent to the location in the blood vessel, the delivery device comprising:
a delivery sheath 2 (Figs. 1-2, 5 and 11-14) having a proximal region and a laser cut 15a-15d distal tip region 14, wherein the laser cut distal tip region has one or more laser cuts formed therein that form a patterned distal section (nose 14 includes four slots/cuts 15a, 15b, 15c, and 15d as shown in Figs. 4-5, 11 and 14; paras. [0071]-[0073]) (Examiner notes that the limitation of “laser cut” has been interpreted as product by process limitation. Here it is noted that a comparison of the recited process with the prior art processes does NOT serve to resolve the issue concerning patentability of the product. In re Fessman, 489 F2d 742, 180 U.S. P.Q. 324 (CCPA 1974). Once the examiner provides a rationale tending to show that the claimed product appears to be the same or similar to that of the prior art, although produced by a different process, the burden shifts to applicant to come forward with evidence establishing an nonobvious difference between the claimed product and the prior art product (MPEP chapter 2113 Product-by-Process Claims)), the patterned distal section being configured to shift between a delivery configuration (Fig. 11) and an expanded configuration (Fig. 14),
a core member 4 (Figs. 10-11; para. [0077]) slidably disposed within the delivery sheath, and
an occlusive implant 10 releasably coupled to the core member (Fig. 11; paras. [0075] and [0084]); and
advancing the core member 4 such that the occlusive implant 10 advances out from the laser cut distal tip region 14 (Figs. 13-18).
Mialhe discloses the invention substantially as claimed except for disclosing (1) a reinforcing member extending along the proximal region of the delivery sheath and (2) the occlusive implant is implanted into a left atrial appendage.
As to (1), however, in the same field of endeavor, which is a delivery device for an occlusive implant (Figs. 1-2), Chen discloses delivery sheath 12 includes a distal portion 26 is more flexible than proximal portion 24 to facilitate navigation in tortuous vasculature (para. [0038]). Chen further discloses that the proximal portion 24 includes a reinforcing layer in the form of a braid layer to enhance the pushability of the delivery sheath (para. [0038]). In view of Chen’s teaching, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filling date of the application, to have made the delivery sheath of Mialhe according to Chen’s teaching so that it too would have the same advantage.
As to (2), Mialhe discloses the device may be used to place other types of implant (para. [0065]: “The following description details the use of the device according to the invention when placing the vaso-occlusive device indicated in said document. However, this is merely one example of a possible use and should not be considered as a limitation on the application of the present invention. In particular, the device may be used to place other types of implant, especially with a single element expandable across its width.”). In the same field of endeavor, which is a delivery device for delivering an occlusive implant, Zaver discloses “Approximately 80,000 strokes per year are attributable to atrial fibrillation. Atrial fibrillation is an arrhythmia of the heart that results in a rapid and chaotic heartbeat that produces lower cardiac output and irregular and turbulent blood flow in the vascular system. There are over five million people worldwide with atrial fibrillation, with about four hundred thousand new cases reported each year. Atrial fibrillation is associated with a 500 percent greater risk of stroke due to the condition.” (paras. [0002]-[0003]). To solve this problem, a catheter system is used to deliver an expandable occlusive device into the left atrial appendage of the heart using a minimally invasive approach (para. [0008]).
Referring again to item 2), in view of the disclosures above, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filling date of the application, to have utilized the catheter system of Mialhe to deliver the implant to left atrial appendage (LAA) to treat atrial fibrillation to improve market share of the device of Mialhe because it has been held that known work in one field of endeavor may prompt variations of it for use in either the same field or a different one based on design incentives or other market forces if the variations are predictable to one of ordinary skill in the art (KSR Int'l Co. v. Teleflex Inc., 550 U.S. 398, 415-421, 82 USPQ2d 1385, 1395-97 (2007)).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Johson et al. (US 2002/0188313) discloses distal end of delivery catheter includes a plurality of cuts to form a plurality of expandable segments. The distal terminal end of each segment is rounded (FIG. 3C, which is reproduced below).
/TUAN V NGUYEN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3771