Priority
Acknowledgment is made of applicant's claim for foreign priority based on an applications filed in KR on 15 April 2022 and 13 May 2022. It is noted, however, that applicant has not filed a certified copy of the KR10-2022-0046778 and KR10-2022-0058779 applications as required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-4, 8-12, 16-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Kim (US 2020.0162596).
Regarding claim 1, Kim disclose:
An electronic device comprising: a housing including a first housing and a second housing configured to pivot with respect to the first housing around a folding axis; a display including a first display area disposed on the first housing, a second display area disposed on the second housing, and a folding area disposed between the first display area and the second display area; a hinge module disposed inside the housing, providing the folding axis, and pivotably connecting the first housing and the second housing to each other; and at least one flexible printed circuit board including at least one fixing plate disposed on one surface thereof, and extending from the first housing to the second housing across the hinge module (see Fig. 1-2, 5, 8-9, 12-13; [0034-0050, 0097-0098, 0111-0120]; electronic device 100; first housing 110; second housing 120; folding axis (vertical center line) with first display 1201 (disposed on 110); second display 1202 (disposed on 120); with folding area 1203 in between; hinge module 130 providing folding axis and connecting 110 and 120; FPCB 200 extending across 110/120 with fixing plate 903)
at least one of the first housing or the second housing includes: a support plate supporting at least a portion of one of the first display area and the second display area, and forming at least one through hole penetrating respective surfaces thereof; and a guide member disposed in the through hole and forming a wiring hole, and wherein at least a portion of the flexible printed circuit board is disposed to pass through the wiring hole, and the fixing plate is disposed on an inner wall of the wiring hole (see Fig. 1-2, 5, 8-9, 12-13; [0034-0050, 0097-0098, 0111-0120]; support plate 110a/120a supporting display areas 1201/1202 forming through hole 117 guide member 900 forming a wiring hole; at least one portion of the FPCB passed through the wiring hole with a fixing plate on the inner side)
Regarding claim 2, the rejection of claim 1 is incorporated herein. Kim further disclose:
a first portion of the flexible printed circuit board is disposed between one surface of the support plate and the display, and a second portion of the flexible printed circuit board extends from the first portion through the wiring hole and is disposed on the other surface of the support plate (see Fig. 8, 9; first part 201b/201a between 120 on display 150; second portion 200c/200b extending from at 201b/201a through wiring hole and on to other surface of 120)
Regarding claim 3, the rejection of claim 2 is incorporated herein. Kim further disclose:
the fixing plate is disposed inclined or perpendicular to the first display area or the second display area (see Fig. 9)
Regarding claim 4, the rejection of claim 2 is incorporated herein. Kim further disclose:
the flexible printed circuit board further includes a connector disposed on the second portion (see Fig. 8; connector 171)
Regarding claim 8, the rejection of claim 1 is incorporated herein. Kim further disclose:
a guide plate disposed between the display and the support plate, wherein the guide plate is at least partially disposed between the flexible printed circuit board and the display (see Fig. 2; guide plate 151)
Regarding claim 9, the rejection of claim 1 is incorporated herein. Kim further disclose:
the guide member includes: a seating groove formed in an area of the inner wall of the wiring hole, facing a direction in which the hinge module is disposed; stopper walls disposed on portions of edges of the seating groove and provided to face each other in a direction side by side with the folding axis or in a direction parallel to the folding axis; and stopper ribs protruding from the inner wall of the wiring hole in other portions of the edges of the seating groove, and aligned along a direction intersecting the folding axis or along a direction perpendicular to the folding axis, and wherein the fixing plate is disposed in the seating groove, at least partially surrounded by the stopper walls and the stopper ribs (see Fig. 9; seated groove at 901a/902a; stopper wall at 901b/902b; stopper ribs at top of 901a/902a; fixing plate 903 in seated groove and partially surrounded by stopper walls and ribs)
Regarding claim 10, the rejection of claim 9 is incorporated herein. Kim further disclose:
a waterproof member disposed at least partially in the wiring hole, between the flexible printed circuit board and the hinge module, wherein: the waterproof member is configured to restrain the fixing plate within the seating groove, the guide member further includes a guide stopper protruding from the inner wall of the wiring hole, the guide stopper being at least partially disposed between the waterproof member and the display, and the electronic device further comprises a bonding material filled in a portion of the wiring hole with the waterproof member disposed between the bonding material and the display and with the waterproof member configured to form a waterproof structure within the wiring hole (see Fig. 9; water proof member 900 in 117, between FPCB and hinge; 900 restraining 903; guide stopper is top and bottom of 900; [0141-0142] where waterproof member is bonded)
Regarding claim 11, claim 11 is rejected under the same rationale as claim 1.
Regarding claim 12, claim 12 is rejected under the same rationale as claims 2-4.
Regarding claims 16-18, claims 16-18 are rejected under the same rationale as claims 8-10, respectively.
Regarding claim 19, Kim disclose:
A foldable electronic device comprising: a pivotable housing with display and foldable areas; and a flexible printed circuit board (PCB) comprising a surface and a fixing plate on the surface and extending to the housing, the housing comprising: a support plate supporting a portion of the display area and forming a through-hole penetrating a surface thereof; a guide member in the through-hole and forming a wiring hole through which a portion of the flexible PCB passes with the fixing plate disposed on an inner wall of the wiring hole (see Fig. 1-2, 5, 8-9, 12-13; [0034-0050, 0097-0098, 0111-0120]; electronic device 100; first housing 110; second housing 120; pivotable axis (vertical center line) with first display 1201 (disposed on 110); second display 1202 (disposed on 120); with folding area 1203 in between; hinge module 130 providing folding axis and connecting 110 and 120; FPCB 200 extending across 110/120 with fixing plate 903; support plate 110a/120a supporting display areas 1201/1202 forming through hole 117 guide member 900 forming a wiring hole; at least one portion of the FPCB passed through the wiring hole with a fixing plate on the inner side)
a waterproof member in the wiring hole between the flexible PCB and the hinge module; and a bonding member disposed between the display and the waterproof member and configured to bond the waterproof member to the flexible PCB (see [0099, 0115-0116]; water proofing member 900 in 117; bonding member 171a/171b to bond to FPCB).
Regarding claim 20, claim 20 is rejected under the same rationale as claim 8.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 5-7 and 13-15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim.
Regarding claim 5, the rejection of claim 1 is incorporated herein. While Kim Is not explicit as to the guide member 900, with water proofing capabilities, being a ‘synthetic resin’, however, [0044, 0057, 0115-0116] disclose a waterproofing material to be of rubber, polymer, etc. Thus, using a synthetic resin for the guide member, in light of the Kim disclosure, would have been obvious to try by one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of applicant’s filing, since there are a finite number of identified, predictable potential solutions (e.g., waterproofing materials) to be pursued by one of ordinary skill in the art with a reasonable expectation of success.
Regarding claim 6, the rejection of claim 1 is incorporated herein. While Kim Is not explicit as to the fixing plate 903, with water proofing capabilities, being a ‘synthetic resin’ or a ‘metal material’, however, [0044, 0057, 0115-0116] disclose a waterproofing material to be of rubber, polymer, etc. Thus, using a synthetic resin for the fixing member, in light of the Kim disclosure, would have been obvious to try by one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of applicant’s filing, since there are a finite number of identified, predictable potential solutions (e.g., waterproofing materials) to be pursued by one of ordinary skill in the art with a reasonable expectation of success.
Regarding claim 7, the rejection of claim 1 is incorporated herein. Kim further disclose:
a waterproof member disposed at least partially in the wiring hole, between the flexible printed circuit board and the hinge module; and a bonding member disposed between the display and the waterproof member (see [0099, 0115-0116]; water proofing member 900 in 117; bonding member 171a/171b to bond to FPCB).
While Kim Is not explicit as to water proofing member 900 being a ‘synthetic resin’ or a ‘metal material’, however, [0044, 0057, 0115-0116] disclose a waterproofing material to be of rubber, polymer, etc. Thus, using a synthetic resin for the water proofing member, in light of the Kim disclosure, would have been obvious to try by one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of applicant’s filing, since there are a finite number of identified, predictable potential solutions (e.g., waterproofing materials) to be pursued by one of ordinary skill in the art with a reasonable expectation of success.
Regarding claims 13-15, claims 13-15 are rejected under the same rationale as claims 5-7, respectively.
Conclusion
/kenneth bukowski/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2621