DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed on 08/10/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Regarding Rejections under 35 U.S.C. § 102
Applicant’s arguments (Remarks, pp. 10-12) that the previous mapping of each “circuitry” to a single subpixel SP of Choi does not read on amended claims 1 and 12 is persuasive as to that mapping: in Choi’s Fig. 7, each subpixel contains one driving circuit, one light emitting control transistor, and one light emitting element, and therefore does not contain “ones” of the elements and “ones” of the switches. That mapping is not maintained.
The argument is not persuasive as to allowability. First, applicant argues that “in each circuitry, the single driver unit 21 (or 21b) is coupled to multiple functional elements 22 … and multiple switches 23” (Remarks, p.12). The claims do not recite that configuration. The final wherein clause requires only that one of the driver units, ones of the switches “are provided in a corresponding one of the circuitries”; the driving relationship is separately governed by “a plurality of self-emitting elements driven by corresponding ones of the driver units,” which a one-to-one correspondence satisfies. Arguments predicated Yeah on a single driver unit driving the multiple elements of its circuitry are not commensurate with the scope of the claims, and limitations from the specification are not read into the claims. In re Van Geuns, 988 F.2d 1181, 26 USPQ2d 1057 (Fed. Cir. 1993). Second, as set forth below Choi discloses the co-location the claims actually recite under the construction of “circuitry” that applicant’s own remarks advance – a region delimited by signal lines, requiring no illustrated boundary. Third, claim 12’s incorporation of the photo sensor limitation of former claim 20 is addressed by the new ground over Choi in view of Lee and Jung, necessitated by the amendment.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 5, and 9 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by [Choi; Youngjun et al., US 20240212594 A1].
Regarding claim 1:
Choi discloses:
1. An electronic device (100) [Choi: Fig.1: display device 100] comprising:
a substrate (10) [Choi: Fig.1: substrate SUB] including:
a plurality of driver units (21) [Choi: Fig.7: driving circuits PAM1, PAM2, PAM3],
wherein one or ones of the driver units (21) [Choi: Fig.5: driving circuit PAM] receive a plurality of data signals (Sd) [Choi: Fig.5: data voltage VDATA] and convert corresponding ones of the data signals (Sd) [Choi: Fig.5: data voltage VDATA] into a plurality of driving signals [Choi: ¶ 0091: “When the data switching transistor DST is turned on, a data voltage VDATA can be applied to the first node N1 of the driving transistor DRT”];
a plurality of self-emitting elements (22) [Choi: Fig.7: light emitting elements ED1, ED2, ED3; ¶ 0172: “ Each of the first light emitting element ED1, the second light emitting element ED2, and the third light emitting element ED3 may be a light emitting diode”; Examiner: A light emitting diode emits its own light and is a self-emitting element.] driven by corresponding ones of the driver units (21) [Choi: ¶ 0125: “The driving circuit PAM may be connected to the light emitting element ED, a scan line SCL, and a data line DL, and can be configured to drive the light emitting element ED”], and
a plurality of switches (23) [Choi: Fig.7: light emitting control transistor EMT1, EMT2, EMT3] coupling to the driver units (21) [Choi: Fig.5: driving circuit PAM; ¶ 0125: “The driving circuit PAM may be connected to the light emitting element ED”; ¶ 0126: “The light emitting control transistor EMT can be turned on or off by a light emitting control signal EM applied to its gate node, and control a connection between the light emitting element ED and the driving circuit PAM”] and the self-emitting elements (22) [Choi: Fig.5: light emitting element ED; Examiner: In Fig.5, the transistor EMT is connected between the driving circuit PAM and the anode of the element ED.];
wherein one or ones of the switches (23) [Choi: Fig.5: light emitting control transistor EMT] is enabled by one or more prompt signals (Sp) [Choi: Fig.5: light emitting control signal EM; ¶ 0126: “The light emitting control transistor EMT can be turned on or off by a light emitting control signal EM applied to its gate node, and control a connection between the light emitting element ED and the driving circuit PAM”] to activate one or ones of the driving signals (Sdr) to a corresponding one or ones of the self-emitting elements (22) [Choi: Fig.5: light emitting element ED; ¶ 0132: “the light emitting control transistor EMT can be turned on or off by the light emitting control signal EM applied to its gate node, and control a connection between the second node N2 of the driving transistor DRT and the anode electrode AND of the light emitting element ED”];
the driving signals (Sdr) are transmitted from one or ones of the driver units (21) [Choi: Fig.5: driving circuit PAM] to one or ones of the self-emitting elements (22) [Choi: Fig.5: light emitting element ED] via the corresponding one or ones of the switches (23) [Choi: Fig.5: light emitting control transistor EMT] enabled by the one or more prompt signals [Choi: ¶ 0132: “ Referring to FIG. 5, the light emitting control transistor EMT can be turned on or off by the light emitting control signal EM applied to its gate node, and control a connection between the second node N2 of the driving transistor DRT and the anode electrode AND of the light emitting element ED”];
wherein the substrate (10) [Choi: Fig.1: substrate SUB] further defines a plurality of circuitries [Choi: Fig.7: regions each containing a group of subpixels connected to a common scan line; ¶ 0159: “the plurality of subpixels SP may further include a second subpixel SP2 and a third subpixel SP3 connected to the first scan line SCL1”; Examiner: Under the broadest reasonable interpretation (BRI) consistent with ¶¶ 0074-0075 (PGPUB) of the instant specification, a “circuitry” is a region of the substrate, delimited by signal lines, in which the recited components are provided; no illustrated boundary is required. Each region of Choi’s Fig.7 bounded by the scan lines SCL1 and the crossing data lines DL1-DL3 are control signal lines EMSCL1- EMSCL3 is such a region. ], and the circuitries receive the plurality of data signals (Sd) [Choi: ¶ 0161: “a second data line DL2 through which a second data voltage VDATA2 is transmitted”; ¶ 0166: “ a third data line DL3 through which a third data voltage VDATA3 is transmitted”]; and
wherein one of the driver units (21) [Choi: Fig.7: driving circuit PAM1; Examiner: The open “including” transition does not exclude the additional driving circuits PAM2-PAM3 present in the same region; the claim requires that one of the driver units be provided in the circuitry, not that only one be.], ones of the self-emitting elements (22) [Choi: Fig.7: light emitting elements ED1, ED2, ED3], and ones of the switches are provided in a corresponding one of the circuitries [Choi: Fig.7: ¶¶ 0159-0168; Examiner: The region defined by the common scan signal line SCL1 and the crossing signal lines contains one of the driving circuits, plural light emitting elements, and plural control transistors.].
Regarding claim 5:
Choi discloses:
5. The electronic device (100) [Choi: Fig.1: display device 100] as claimed in claim 1,
wherein one or ones of the driver units (21) [Choi: Fig.5: driving circuit PAM] is a component individual from [Choi: Figs.5 and 7: driving circuit PAM; Examiner: PAM is construed as a “component individual” since its illustrated as separate block in the figures.] and disposed on the substrate (10) [Choi: Fig.1: substrate SUB; Examiner: As shown in Fig.1 in view of Fig.5, subpixel which comprise driving circuit PAM are disposed on the substrate SUB].
Regarding claim 9:
Choi discloses:
9. The electronic device (100) [Choi: Fig.1: display device 100] as claimed in claim 1,
wherein the substrate (10) [Choi: Fig.1: substrate SUB] further defines at least one active area [Choi: FIg.1: display area DA];
wherein one or ones of the driver units (21) [Choi: Fig.5: driving circuit PAM], one or ones of the self-emitting elements (22) [Choi: Fig.5: light emitting element ED], and one or ones of the switches (23) [Choi: Fig.5: light emitting control transistor EMT] are arranged within the at least one active area [Choi: FIg.1: display area DA; ¶ 0056: “For example, a plurality of subpixels SP for displaying images may be disposed in the display area DA of the display panel 110”; Examiner: PAM and ED are subcomponents of SP.].
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
In the alternative, claim(s) 1 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over [Choi; Youngjun et al., US 20240212594 A1] in view of [Jung; Youngki et al., US 20210241682 A1].
Regarding claim 1:
Choi discloses:
all limitations of claim 1 as mapped in the § 102 rejection above, which mapping is incorporated herein.
However, to the extent the final wherein clause is construed, requiring that the recited one driver unit drive the plural self-emitting elements through the plural switches of its circuitry, Choi does not expressly disclose:
one of the driver units, ones of the self-emitting elements, and ones of the switches are provided in a corresponding one of the circuitries.
Jung discloses:
one of the driver units [Jung: Fig.4A: LED driving circuit 121], ones of the self-emitting elements [Jung: Fig.4A: light-emitting diodes 111-1, 112-1; ¶ 0061: “ The LED driving circuit 121 may be connected to a light-emitting diode 111-1 included in the group 1 111 and a light-emitting diode 112-1 included in the group 2 112.”], and ones of the switches [Jung: Fig.4A: first transistor 411 and second transistor 412; ¶ 0077: “the LED driving circuit 121 may be connected to a first transistor 411 included in the group 1 111 which is connected to the light-emitting diode 111-1 driven by the LED driving circuit 121, and a second transistor 412 included in the group 2 112 which is connected to the light-emitting diode 112-1 driven by the LED driving circuit 121”] are provided in a corresponding one of the circuitries [Jung: Fig.4A: ¶ 0080: “ the first transistor 411 may be switched according to the first control signal Emi (1) 451, and the second transistor 412 may be switched according to the second control signal Emi (2) 452”; Examiner: One driving circuit, plural diodes, and plural respective switching transistors form a single circuit region in which the one driving circuit drives the plural diodes through the plural enabled switches.].
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Choi such that one driving circuit drives a plural self-emitting elements through a plural respective switches within each circuitry, as taught by Jung, in order to reduce manufacturing cost by reducing the number of driving circuits required to drive the plurality of light-emitting elements and to reduce the instantaneous and average power consumed by the display, benefits Jung expressly attributes to dividing and driving two or more light-emitting diodes through one driving circuit (Jung, ¶¶ 0022-0023), the modified device predictably displaying images with fewer driving circuits by time-division driving of the elements of each circuitry.
Claim(s) 3-4 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over [Choi; Youngjun et al., US 20240212594 A1] in view of [Kim; Yang Wan, US 20060114199 A1].
Regarding claim 3:
Choi discloses:
3. The electronic device (100) [Choi: Fig.1: display device 100] as claimed in claim 1.
However, Choi does not expressly disclose:
wherein the driver units (21) receive the data signals (Sd) sequentially within a timeframe.
Kim discloses:
wherein the driver units (21) [Kim: Figs.1 and 3: pixels 40] receive the data signals (Sd) [Choi: Figs.1 and 3:D1, D2, …, Dm] sequentially within a timeframe [Kim: Fig.4: 1 frame; ¶ 0028: “The data driver 20 supplies data voltages to the data lines D1 through Dm during a light emitting sub-frame period among a plurality of sub-frames constituting one frame”; ¶ 0034: “Referring to FIG. 1 and FIG. 4, one frame is composed of a plurality of sub-frames. More particularly, the one frame of FIG. 4 is shown to be composed of 4 sub-frames SF1, SF2, SF3, and SF4”; ¶ 0035: “The first sub-frame SF1 is a light-emitting sub-frame. When a scan signal of the first sub-frame SF1 is provided, data voltages V.sub.data1 to V.sub.datan are applied to the data line Dm. Accordingly, the pixel portion 30 emits light corresponding to V.sub.data1 to V.sub.datan applied during the period of the first sub-frame SF1”].
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Choi to have the driver units receive data signals sequentially within a time frame, as taught by Kim, in order to supply data voltages during sub-frame periods within a frame for proper image display. This modification applies a known sequential data-driving technique to a similar display device and represents a predictable use of prior-art elements with no unexpected results.
Regarding claim 4:
Choi discloses: Oh
4. The electronic device (100) [Choi: Fig.1: display device 100] as claimed in claim 3.
However, Choi does not expressly disclose:
wherein the driving signals are transmitted from one or ones of the driver units (21) to the corresponding one or ones of the self-emitting elements (22) within a sub-timeframe,
wherein the sub-timeframe is broken down from the timeframe.
Kim discloses:
wherein the driving signals are transmitted from one or ones of the driver units (21) [Kim: Figs.1 and 3: pixels 40] to the corresponding one or ones of the self-emitting elements (22) [Kim: Fig.3: organic light emitting diode OLED] within a sub-timeframe [Kim: Fig.4: SF1; ¶ 0028: “The data driver 20 supplies data voltages to the data lines D1 through Dm during a light emitting sub-frame period among a plurality of sub-frames constituting one frame”; ¶ 0035: “The first sub-frame SF1 is a light-emitting sub-frame. When a scan signal of the first sub-frame SF1 is provided, data voltages V.sub.data1 to V.sub.datan are applied to the data line Dm. Accordingly, the pixel portion 30 emits light corresponding to V.sub.data1 to V.sub.datan applied during the period of the first sub-frame SF1”],
wherein the sub-timeframe is broken down from the timeframe [Kim: Fig.4; ¶ 0034: “Referring to FIG. 1 and FIG. 4, one frame is composed of a plurality of sub-frames”].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify Choi before the effective filing date of the claimed invention so that driving signals are transmitted from the driver units to the corresponding self-emitting elements within a sub-timeframe, as taught by Kim, where a frame is divided into a plurality of subframes. This modification applies Kim’s known subframe driving scheme to Choi’s display device to control light emission during defined sub-timeframes and represents a predictable use of prior-art techniques with no unexpected results.
Claim(s) 6 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over [Choi; Youngjun et al., US 20240212594 A1] in view of [Ghosh; Amalkumar P. et al., US 20180269260 A1].
Regarding claim 6:
Choi discloses:
6. The electronic device (100) [Choi: Fig.1: display device 100] as claimed in claim 1.
However, Choi does not expressly disclose:
wherein either or both of at least one of the driver units (21) and the switches (23) is a semiconductor IC.
Ghosh discloses:
wherein either or both of at least one of the driver units (21) and the switches (23) is a semiconductor IC [Ghosh: ¶ 0095: “High resolution active matrix displays may include millions of pixels and sub-pixels that are individually addressed by the OLED drive circuit 960. Each sub-pixel can have several semiconductor transistors and other IC components. Each OLED may correspond to a pixel or a sub-pixel, and these terms are used interchangeably herein”].
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to implement the driver units and/or switches of Choi as semiconductor ICs, as taught by Ghosh, to yield the predictable result of achieving a high-resolution active-matrix display.
Claim(s) 7 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over [Choi; Youngjun et al., US 20240212594 A1] in view of [Li; Yan, US 20240038195 A1].
Regarding claim 7:
Choi discloses:
7. The electronic device (100) [Choi: Fig.1: display device 100] as claimed in claim 1.
However, Choi does not expressly disclose:
wherein one or ones of the switches (23) is integrated within the substrate (10) or integrated with a corresponding one of the self-emitting elements (22).
Li discloses:
wherein one or ones of the switches (23) is integrated within the substrate (10) or integrated with a corresponding one of the self-emitting elements (22) [Li: ¶ 0058: “The pixel driving circuit integrates multiple thin film transistors and light emitting diodes in one pixel driving circuit unit, so as to improve the gray level of the display panel, reduce the production cost of the display device, and effectively improve the display quality and display effect of the display device”].
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have included the concept above of Li in the invention of Choi to yield the predictable results of improving the display quality and display effect of the electronic device.
Claim(s) 8 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over [Choi; Youngjun et al., US 20240212594 A1] in view of [Lu; Jiahao et al., US 20160035282 A1].
Regarding claim 8:
Choi discloses:
8. The electronic device (100) [Choi: Fig.1: display device 100] as claimed in claim 1.
However, Choi does not expressly disclose:
wherein one or ones of the switches (23) includes/ is a thin film transistor.
Lu discloses:
wherein one or ones of the switches (23) includes/ is a thin film transistor [Lu: Claim 3: “The pixel circuit for an active-matrix organic light-emitting diode display according to claim 2, wherein each of the first, second, third, fourth, fifth, and sixth switches and the driving transistor is an N-type thin-film transistor”].
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Choi to include the thin-film transistor switches as taught by Lu. Such a modification represents a predictable substitution of one known switching device for another in a pixel circuit, yielding the known and expected advantages of TFTs in display applications, including reduced power consumption, improved pixel-level current control, and support for higher-resolution displays.
Claim(s) 10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over [Choi; Youngjun et al., US 20240212594 A1] in view of [Jung; Youngki et al., US 20210241682 A1].
Regarding claim 10:
Choi discloses:
10. The electronic device (100) [Choi: Fig.1: display device 100] as claimed in claim 1.
However, Choi does not expressly disclose:
wherein the self-emitting elements (22) are grouped, and one or ones group of the self-emitting elements (22) is driven by a corresponding one or ones of the driver units (21);
the switches (23) are grouped, and one or ones groups of the grouped switches (23) relates to corresponding one or ones groups of the grouped self-emitting elements (22);
wherein one or ones of the driver units (21) defines one or more outputs corresponding to one or ones groups of the grouped self-emitting elements (22).
Jung discloses:
wherein the self-emitting elements (22) [Jung: Fig.1: light emitting diode 111-1, 111-2, 111-3] are grouped [Jung: Fig.1: Group 1 (111); ¶ 0062: “The LED driving circuit 122 may be connected to the light-emitting diode 111-2 included in the group 1 111”; ¶ 0063: “In this case, while the LED driving circuit 121 drives the light-emitting diode 111-1 included in the group 1 111,”], and one or ones group of the self-emitting elements (22) [Jung: Fig.1: light emitting diode 111-1, 111-2, 111-3] is driven by a corresponding one or ones of the driver units (21) [Jung: Fig.1: LED driving circuits 121, 122 and/or 123; ¶ 0061: “The LED driving circuit 121 may be connected to a light-emitting diode 111-1 included in the group 1 111 and a light-emitting diode 112-1 included in the group 2 112”];
the switches (23) [Jung: Fig.4A: first transistor 411 and second transistor 412] are grouped [Jung: ¶ 0077: “Referring to FIG. 4A, the LED driving circuit 121 may be connected to a first transistor 411 included in the group 1 111 which is connected to the light-emitting diode 111-1 driven by the LED driving circuit 121, and a second transistor 412 included in the group 2 112 which is connected to the light-emitting diode 112-1 driven by the LED driving circuit 121, or the like”], and one or ones groups of the grouped switches (23) relates to corresponding one or ones groups of the grouped self-emitting elements (22);
wherein one or ones of the driver units (21) [Jung: Fig.1: LED driving circuits 121, 122 and/or 123] defines one or more outputs corresponding to one or ones groups of the grouped self-emitting elements (22) [Jung: Fig.1: light emitting diode 111-1, 111-2, 111-3; ¶ 0061: “The LED driving circuit 121 may be connected to a light-emitting diode 111-1 included in the group 1 111 and a light-emitting diode 112-1 included in the group 2 112. Also, the LED driving circuit 121 may also be connected to light-emitting diodes belonging to groups 3 and 4 . . . . The LED driving circuit 121 may sequentially (time-division) drive the light-emitting diode 111-1 and the light-emitting diode 112-1”].
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the electronic device of Choi to include grouped self-emitting elements, grouped switches, and corresponding driver-unit output as taught by Jung. This modification represents the use of a known display architecture to achieve predictable results. Grouping self-emitting elements and associated switches and driving them with corresponding units was well-understood design approach in display systems and would predictably provided improved driving efficiency, scalable control of display elements, and flexible allocation of driver outputs without changing the fundamental operation of the device. The combination merely involves application of known techniques to a known device to yield expected results.
Claim(s) 11 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over [Choi; Youngjun et al., US 20240212594 A1] in view of [Liu; Changyu, US 20250252912 A1].
Regarding claim 11:
Choi discloses:
11. The electronic device (100) [Choi: Fig.1: display device 100] as claimed in claim 1.
However, Choi does not expressly disclose:
wherein the driver units (21) are electrically connected in serial, and a later one of the driver units (21) is driven by a previous one of the driver units (21).
Liu discloses:
wherein the driver units (21) [Liu: Fig.8: gate driving modules 20] are electrically connected in serial [Liu: Fig.8; ¶ 0052: “Multiple gate driving modules 20 are sequentially connected in series”], and a later one of the driver units (21) is driven by a previous one of the driver units (21) [Liu: ¶ 0052: “ Multiple gate driving modules 20 are sequentially connected in series and transmit the initial scanning signal Scan row-by-row from top to bottom. Therefore, the gate driving module 20 of the previous stage triggers the gate driving module 20 of the next stage, so as to generate the initial scanning signal Scan, so that all gate driving modules 20 output the initial scanning signals Scan in sequence, thereby achieving a row-by-row refresh for the pixel circuit 30 that needs to be refreshed”].
It would have been obvious to one or ordinary skill in the art, prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the electronic device of Choi to include serially connected driver units such that a later driver unit is driven by a previous driver unit, as taught by Liu. Serially connecting driver units was a well-known technique in display driving systems to enable orderly row-by-row scanning and coordinate signal propagation. Applying this technique to the device of Choi would have predictably improved timing control and simplified signal routing for refreshing pixel circuits.
Claim(s) 12, 16, and 21-22 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over [Choi; Youngjun et al., US 20240212594 A1] in view of [Lee; Hyun Dae et al., US 20230154411 A1], and further in view of [Jung; Youngki et al., US 20210241682 A1].
Regarding claim 12:
Choi discloses:
12. An electronic device (100) [Choi: Fig.1: display device 100] comprising:
a substrate (10) [Choi: Fig.1: substrate SUB] including:
a plurality of pixel control units (21) [Choi: Fig.7: driving circuit PAM 1, PAM2, PAM3; Examiner: The instant specification, ¶ 0078 (PGPUB), states “the driver unit 21 is considered as a pixel control unit”; Choi’s driving circuits are the circuit units controlling the element of each subpixel.],
a plurality of functional elements (22) [Choi: Fig.7: light emitting elements ED1, ED2, ED3] configured to corresponding ones of the pixel control units (21f) [Choi: Fig.5: driving circuit PAM; ¶ 0125: “The driving circuit PAM may be connected to the light emitting element ED, a scan line SCL, and a data line DL, and can be configured to drive the light emitting element ED”]
and a plurality of switches (23) [Choi: Fig.7: light emitting control transistors EMT1, EMT2, EMT3] coupling to the pixel control units (21f) [Choi: Fig.5: driving circuit PAM; ¶ 0125: “The driving circuit PAM may be connected to the light emitting element ED”; ¶ 0126: “The light emitting control transistor EMT can be turned on or off by a light emitting control signal EM applied to its gate node, and control a connection between the light emitting element ED and the driving circuit PAM”] and the functional elements (22) [Choi: Fig.5: light emitting element ED; Examiner: EMT is connected between PAM and the anode of the ED.];
wherein one or ones of the switches (23) [Choi: Fig.5: light emitting control transistor EMT] is enabled by one or more prompt signals [Choi: Fig.5: light emitting control signal EM; ¶ 0126: “The light emitting control transistor EMT can be turned on or off by a light emitting control signal EM applied to its gate node, and control a connection between the light emitting element ED and the driving circuit PAM”; ¶ 0132: “Referring to FIG. 5, the light emitting control transistor EMT can be turned on or off by the light emitting control signal EM applied to its gate node”]
wherein the substrate (10) [Choi: Fig.1: substrate SUB] further defines a plurality of circuitries [Choi: Fig.7: regions each containing a group of subpixels connected to a common scan line; ¶ 0159: “the plurality of subpixels SP may further include a second subpixel SP2 and a third subpixel SP3 connected to the first scan line SCL1”; Examiner: Under the broadest reasonable interpretation (BRI) consistent with ¶¶ 0074-0075 (PGPUB) of the instant specification, a “circuitry” is a region of the substrate, delimited by signal lines, in which the recited components are provided; no illustrated boundary is required. Each region of Choi’s Fig.7 bounded by the scan lines SCL1 and the crossing data lines DL1-DL3 are control signal lines EMSCL1- EMSCL3 is such a region. ]
However, Choi does not expressly disclose:
pixel control units that receive a plurality of sensing signals and convert corresponding ones of the sensing signals into a plurality of readout signals;
one or ones of the functional elements is a photo sensor or an ultrasonic transducer;
the switches enabled to activate one or ones of the sensing signals from a corresponding one or ones of the functional elements;
the sensing signals transmitted from one or ones of the functional elements to one or ones of the pixel control units via the corresponding one or ones of the switches enabled by the one or more prompt signals;
and the circuitries receive the sensing signals.
Lee discloses:
pixel control units that receive a plurality of sensing signals and convert corresponding ones of the sensing signals into a plurality of readout signals [Lee: Fig. 9: readout circuit 300; ¶ 0081: “The readout circuit 300 may generate fingerprint sensing data according to the magnitude of a current sensed by each photo sensor PS and transmit the fingerprint sensing data to the processor 100”; Examiner: The fingerprint sensing data generated from the receiving sensing currents are readout signals.];
one or ones of the functional elements is a photo sensor [Lee: Fig.5: photo sensor PS (PD); ¶ 0061 “Photo sensors PS that react to light may be disposed in the fingerprint sensing area FSA. Each of the photo sensors PS may include a photoelectric converter PD (refer to FIG. 5) that senses incident light and converts the incident light into an electrical signal”] or an ultrasonic transducer [Examiner: Limitation recited in the alternative “or”. ]
the switches enabled to activate one or ones of the sensing signals from a corresponding one or ones of the functional elements [Lee: Fig.5: second sensing transistor LT2; ¶ 0110: “the second and third sensing transistors LT2 and LT3 may be transistors serving as switch elements that are turned on or off according to a reset signal and a scan signal transmitted to their respective gate electrodes”; ¶ 0116: “The second sensing transistor LT2 may be turned on by the scan signal of the first scan write line GWL1 to electrically connect the second electrode of the first sensing transistor LT1 and the fingerprint sensing line FRL”; Examiner: The scan signal is a prompt signal enabling the switch LT2, whose enabled activates output of the sensing signal from the photo sensor.];
the sensing signals transmitted from one or ones of the functional elements to one or ones of the pixel control units via the corresponding one or ones of the switches enabled by the one or more prompt signals; and the circuitries receive the sensing signals [Lee: ¶ 0080: “The readout circuit 300 may be electrically connected to each photo sensor PS through a fingerprint sensing line FRL and may receive a current flowing through each photo sensor PS to sense a user's fingerprint input”; Examiner: The sensing signals are generated in and conveyed through the circuitry regions containing the photo sensor via the fingerprint sensing lines.].
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Choi to incorporate Lee’s photo sensors, together with their sensing transistors, sensing lines, and readout control circuitry, among the elements disposed in Choi’s display area, in order to enable fingerprint sensing through the display panel itself, as taught by Lee, the modified device predictably both displaying images and reading a user’s fingerprint from light sensed at the panel.
However, Choi in view of Lee does not expressly disclose:
one of the pixel control units, ones of the functional elements, and ones of the switches are provided in a corresponding one of the circuitries.
Jung discloses:
one of the pixel control units [Jung: Fig.4A: LED driving circuit 121], ones of the functional elements [Jung: Fig.4A: light-emitting diodes 111-1, 112-1; ¶ 0061: “ The LED driving circuit 121 may be connected to a light-emitting diode 111-1 included in the group 1 111 and a light-emitting diode 112-1 included in the group 2 112.”], and ones of the switches [Jung: Fig.4A: first transistor 411 and second transistor 412; ¶ 0077: “the LED driving circuit 121 may be connected to a first transistor 411 included in the group 1 111 which is connected to the light-emitting diode 111-1 driven by the LED driving circuit 121, and a second transistor 412 included in the group 2 112 which is connected to the light-emitting diode 112-1 driven by the LED driving circuit 121”] are provided in a corresponding one of the circuitries [Jung: Fig.4A: ¶ 0080: “ the first transistor 411 may be switched according to the first control signal Emi (1) 451, and the second transistor 412 may be switched according to the second control signal Emi (2) 452”; Examiner: One driving circuit, plural diodes, and plural respective switching transistors form a single circuit region in which the one driving circuit drives the plural diodes through the plural enabled switches.].
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Choi in view of Lee such that one pixel control unit serves plural of the photo-sensing functional elements as taught by Lee through plural respective switches within each circuitry, as taught by Jung, in order to reduce manufacturing cost by reducing the number of control circuits required to serve the plurality elements and to reduce instantaneous and average power, benefits Jung expressly attributes to serving two or more elements through one circuit by time division (Jung, ¶¶ 0022-0023); Jung’s time division scheme applies with equal predictability to sequentially reading plural sensors as to sequentially driving plural diodes, and the arrangement does not interfere with Lee’s readout path, each sensor still reaching the control unit through its own switch enabled by its own prompt signal.
Regarding claim 16:
The limitations of claim 16 have been addressed in the discussion of claim 5 above.
Regarding claim 21:
The limitations of claim 21 have been addressed in the discussion of claim 9 above.
Regarding claim 22:
The limitations of claim 22 have been addressed in the discussion of claim 10 above.
Claim(s) 14-15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over [Choi; Youngjun et al., US 20240212594 A1] in view of [Lee; Hyun Dae et al., US 20230154411 A1], [Jung; Youngki et al., US 20210241682 A1] and further in view of [Kim; Yang Wan, US 20060114199 A1].
Regarding claim 14:
The limitations of claim 14 have been addressed in the discussion of claim 3 above.
Regarding claim 15:
The limitations of claim 15 have been addressed in the discussion of claim 4 above.
Claim(s) 17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over [Choi; Youngjun et al., US 20240212594 A1] in view of [Lee; Hyun Dae et al., US 20230154411 A1], [Jung; Youngki et al., US 20210241682 A1], and further in view of [Ghosh; Amalkumar P. et al., US 20180269260 A1].
Regarding claim 17:
The limitations of claim 17 have been addressed in the discussion of claim 6 above.
Claim(s) 18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over [Choi; Youngjun et al., US 20240212594 A1] in view of [Lee; Hyun Dae et al., US 20230154411 A1], [Jung; Youngki et al., US 20210241682 A1], and further in view of [Li; Yan, US 20240038195 A1].
Regarding claim 18:
The limitations of claim 18 have been addressed in the discussion of claim 7 above.
Claim(s) 19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over [Choi; Youngjun et al., US 20240212594 A1] in view of [Lee; Hyun Dae et al., US 20230154411 A1], [Jung; Youngki et al., US 20210241682 A1], and further in view of [Lu; Jiahao et al., US 20160035282 A1].
Regarding claim 19:
The limitations of claim 19 have been addressed in the discussion of claim 8 above.
Claim(s) 23 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over [Choi; Youngjun et al., US 20240212594 A1] in view of [Lee; Hyun Dae et al., US 20230154411 A1], [Jung; Youngki et al., US 20210241682 A1], and further in view of [Liu; Changyu, US 20250252912 A1].
Regarding claim 23:
The limitations of claim 23 have been addressed in the discussion of claim 11 above.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
[Lin; Chin Wei et al., US 10395590 B1] discloses:
“Methods, systems, and apparatuses for controlling an emission of the light emitting devices are described herein. The light emitting devices may be light emitting diode (LED) devices including μLED devices or organic LED (OLED) devices. Emission control of the LED may be performed using a micro-scale driving circuit (e.g., μDriver) containing drive transistors for constant current driving of the light emitting devices. One embodiment provides for a display driver hardware circuit comprising a thin film transistor (TFT) backplane, an integrated circuit including emission logic to cause an LED emission pulse, and a ramp signal generator to cause a voltage ramp having a slope based on an analog input voltage from the TFT backplane. The length of the LED emission pulse is related to the slope of the voltage ramp. In one embodiment the TFT backplane includes a low temperature poly-silicon (LTPS) transistor and/or an Indium Gallium Zinc Oxide (IGZO) transistor,“ as recited in the abstract.
Finality
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
Inquiry
/KOOSHA SHARIFI-TAFRESHI/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2628