DETAILED ACTION
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the “wherein the substrate further defines a plurality of circuitries” as recited in claims 2 and 13 must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are: “the driver units receive” and “functional elements driven” in claim 1; “pixel control units receive” and “functional elements configured to” in claim 12.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-23 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Regarding claims 1 and 12
Claim limitations “the driver units receive…” in claim 1 and “pixel control units receive…” in claim 12 invoke 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph. However, the written description fails to disclose the corresponding structure, material, or acts for performing the entire claimed function and to clearly link the structure, material, or acts to the function. The figures merely depict the driver units and the pixel control units as black boxes, and the written description does not describe any internal circuitry or hardware components corresponding to the claimed functions. Therefore, the claim is indefinite and is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, second paragraph.
Applicant may:
(a) Amend the claim so that the claim limitation will no longer be interpreted as a limitation under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph;
(b) Amend the written description of the specification such that it expressly recites what structure, material, or acts perform the entire claimed function, without introducing any new matter (35 U.S.C. 132(a)); or
(c) Amend the written description of the specification such that it clearly links the structure, material, or acts disclosed therein to the function recited in the claim, without introducing any new matter (35 U.S.C. 132(a)).
If applicant is of the opinion that the written description of the specification already implicitly or inherently discloses the corresponding structure, material, or acts and clearly links them to the function so that one of ordinary skill in the art would recognize what structure, material, or acts perform the claimed function, applicant should clarify the record by either:
(a) Amending the written description of the specification such that it expressly recites the corresponding structure, material, or acts for performing the claimed function and clearly links or associates the structure, material, or acts to the claimed function, without introducing any new matter (35 U.S.C. 132(a)); or
(b) Stating on the record what the corresponding structure, material, or acts, which are implicitly or inherently set forth in the written description of the specification, perform the claimed function. For more information, see 37 CFR 1.75(d) and MPEP §§ 608.01(o) and 2181.
Regarding claims 1 and 12:
Claims 1 and 12 recite that “one or ones of the switches is enabled via one or ones of prompt signal(s)”. However, the term “prompt signal(s)” lacks proper antecedent basis, as no prompt signal is previously introduced or defined in the claims. As a result, the scope and nature of the “prompt signal(s)” are unclear.
Additionally, claims 1 and 12 recite that signals are transmitted “by the corresponding one or once of the switches enabling”. This phrase is grammatically and functionally unclear, as it does not clearly specify what is being enabled or the manner in which the switches enable signal transmission. Accordingly, the scope of the claims is uncertain.
Therefore, claims 1 and 12 are indefinite under §112(b).
Regarding claims 2-11:
Claims 2-11 depend on claim 1 and inherit at least the same deficiencies as discussed above.
Regarding claims 13-23:
Claims 13-23 depend on claim 12 and inherit at least the same deficiencies as discussed above.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-2, 5, 9, 12-13, 16 and 21 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by [Choi; Youngjun et al., US 20240212594 A1].
Regarding claim 1:
Choi discloses:
1. An electronic device (100) [Choi: Fig.1: display device 100] comprising:
a substrate (10) [Choi: Fig.1: substrate SUB] including:
a plurality of driver units (21) [Choi: Fig.5: driving circuit PAM],
wherein one or ones of the driver units (21) [Choi: Fig.5: driving circuit PAM] receive a plurality of data signals (Sd) [Choi: Fig.5: data voltage VDATA] and convert corresponding ones of the data signals (Sd) [Choi: Fig.5: data voltage VDATA] into a plurality of driving signals [Choi: ¶ 0091: “When the data switching transistor DST is turned on, a data voltage VDATA can be applied to the first node N1 of the driving transistor DRT”];
a plurality of functional elements (22) [Choi: Fig.5: light emitting element ED] driven by corresponding ones of the driver units (21) [Choi: Fig.5: driving circuit PAM; ¶ 0125: “The driving circuit PAM may be connected to the light emitting element ED, a scan line SCL, and a data line DL, and can be configured to drive the light emitting element ED”], and
a plurality of switches (23) [Choi: Fig.5: light emitting control transistor EMT] coupling to the driver units (21) [Choi: Fig.5: driving circuit PAM; ¶ 0125: “The driving circuit PAM may be connected to the light emitting element ED”] and the functional elements (22) [Choi: Fig.5: light emitting element ED; Examiner: As shown in Fig.5, the drain electrode of EMT is connected to the anode of ED.];
wherein one or ones of the switches (23) [Choi: Fig.5: light emitting control transistor EMT] is enabled via one or ones prompt signal (Sp) [Choi: Fig.5: light emitting control signal EM; ¶ 0132: “Referring to FIG. 5, the light emitting control transistor EMT can be turned on or off by the light emitting control signal EM applied to its gate node”] to activate one or ones of the driving signals to a corresponding one or ones of the functional elements (22) [Choi: Fig.5: light emitting element ED; ¶ 0126: “The light emitting control transistor EMT can be turned on or off by a light emitting control signal EM applied to its gate node, and control a connection between the light emitting element ED and the driving circuit PAM”];
the driving signals are transmitted from one or ones of the driver units (21) [Choi: Fig.5: driving circuit PAM] to one or ones of the functional elements (22) [Choi: Fig.5: light emitting element ED] by the corresponding one or ones of the switches (23) [Choi: Fig.5: light emitting control transistor EMT] enabling [Choi: ¶ 0132: “ Referring to FIG. 5, the light emitting control transistor EMT can be turned on or off by the light emitting control signal EM applied to its gate node, and control a connection between the second node N2 of the driving transistor DRT and the anode electrode AND of the light emitting element ED”].
Regarding claim 2:
Choi discloses:
2. The electronic device (100) [Choi: Fig.1: display device 100] as claimed in claim 1,
wherein the substrate (10) [Choi: Fig.1: substrate SUB] further defines a plurality of circuitries [Choi: FIg.1: subpixels SP], and the circuitries [Choi: FIg.1: subpixels SP] receive the plurality of data signals (Sd) [Choi: Fig.1; ¶ 0055: “The display panel 110 may include a plurality of subpixels SP connected to the plurality of gate lines GL and the plurality of data lines DL”];
wherein one of the driver units (21) [Choi: Fig.5: driving circuit PAM], one or ones of the functional elements (22) [Choi: Fig.5: light emitting element ED], and one or ones of the switches (23) [Choi: Fig.5: light emitting control transistor EMT] are provided in a corresponding one of the circuitries [Choi: Fig.5: subpixels SP; ¶ 0123: “Referring to FIG. 5, in one or more embodiments, each of a plurality of subpixels SP disposed on the display panel 110 of the display device 100 according to aspects of the present disclosure may include a light emitting element ED, a driving circuit PAM, and a light emitting control transistor EMT”].
Regarding claim 5:
Choi discloses:
5. The electronic device (100) [Choi: Fig.1: display device 100] as claimed in claim 1,
wherein one or ones of the driver units (21) [Choi: Fig.5: driving circuit PAM] is a component individual from [Choi: Figs.5 and 7: driving circuit PAM; Examiner: PAM is construed as a “component individual” since its illustrated as separate block in the figures.] and disposed on the substrate (10) [Choi: Fig.1: substrate SUB; Examiner: As shown in Fig.1 in view of Fig.5, subpixel which comprise driving circuit PAM are disposed on the substrate SUB].
Regarding claim 9:
Choi discloses:
9. The electronic device (100) [Choi: Fig.1: display device 100] as claimed in claim 1,
wherein the substrate (10) [Choi: Fig.1: substrate SUB] further defines at least one active area [Choi: FIg.1: display area DA];
wherein one or ones of the driver units (21) [Choi: Fig.5: driving circuit PAM], one or ones of the functional elements (22) [Choi: Fig.5: light emitting element ED], and one or ones of the switches (23) [Choi: Fig.5: light emitting control transistor EMT] are arranged within the at least one active area [Choi: FIg.1: display area DA; ¶ 0056: “For example, a plurality of subpixels SP for displaying images may be disposed in the display area DA of the display panel 110”; Examiner: PAM and ED are subcomponents of SP.].
Regarding claim 12:
Choi discloses:
12. An electronic device (100) [Choi: Fig.1: display device 100] comprising:
a substrate (10) [Choi: Fig.1: substrate SUB] including:
a plurality of pixel control units (21f) [Choi: Fig.5: driving circuit PAM],
wherein one or ones of the pixel control units (21f) [Choi: Fig.5: driving circuit PAM] receive a plurality of sensing signals [Choi: Fig.5: data voltage VDATA] and convert corresponding ones of the sensing signals [Choi: Fig.5: data voltage VDATA] into a plurality of readout signals [Choi: ¶ 0091: “When the data switching transistor DST is turned on, a data voltage VDATA can be applied to the first node N1 of the driving transistor DRT”];
a plurality of functional elements (22) [Choi: Fig.5: light emitting element ED] configured to corresponding ones of the pixel control units (21f) [Choi: Fig.5: driving circuit PAM; ¶ 0125: “The driving circuit PAM may be connected to the light emitting element ED, a scan line SCL, and a data line DL, and can be configured to drive the light emitting element ED”];
and a plurality of switches (23) [Choi: Fig.5: light emitting control transistor EMT] coupling to the pixel control units (21f) [Choi: Fig.5: driving circuit PAM; ¶ 0125: “The driving circuit PAM may be connected to the light emitting element ED”] and the functional elements (22) [Choi: Fig.5: light emitting element ED; Examiner: As shown in Fig.5, the drain electrode of EMT is connected to the anode of ED.];
wherein one or ones of the switches (23) [Choi: Fig.5: light emitting control transistor EMT] is enabled via one or ones of prompt signals [Choi: Fig.5: light emitting control signal EM; ¶ 0132: “Referring to FIG. 5, the light emitting control transistor EMT can be turned on or off by the light emitting control signal EM applied to its gate node”] to activate one or ones of the sensing signals from a corresponding one or ones of the functional elements (22) [Choi: Fig.5: light emitting element ED; ¶ 0126: “The light emitting control transistor EMT can be turned on or off by a light emitting control signal EM applied to its gate node, and control a connection between the light emitting element ED and the driving circuit PAM”];
one or ones of the sensing signals [Choi: Fig.5: data voltage VDATA] are transmitted from one or ones of the functional elements (22) [Choi: Fig.5: light emitting element ED] to one or ones of the pixel control units (21f) [Choi: Fig.5: driving circuit PAM] by the corresponding one or ones of the switches (23) enabling [Choi: Fig.5: light emitting control transistor EMT] enabling [Choi: ¶ 0132: “ Referring to FIG. 5, the light emitting control transistor EMT can be turned on or off by the light emitting control signal EM applied to its gate node, and control a connection between the second node N2 of the driving transistor DRT and the anode electrode AND of the light emitting element ED”].
Regarding claim 13:
The limitations of claim 13 have been addressed in the discussion of claim 2 above.
Regarding claim 16:
The limitations of claim 16 have been addressed in the discussion of claim 5 above.
Regarding claim 21:
The limitations of claim 21 have been addressed in the discussion of claim 9 above.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 3-4 and 14-15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over [Choi; Youngjun et al., US 20240212594 A1] in view of [Kim; Yang Wan, US 20060114199 A1].
Regarding claim 3:
Choi discloses:
3. The electronic device (100) [Choi: Fig.1: display device 100] as claimed in claim 1.
However, Choi does not expressly disclose:
wherein the driver units (21) receive the data signals (Sd) sequentially within a timeframe.
Kim discloses:
wherein the driver units (21) [Kim: Figs.1 and 3: pixels 40] receive the data signals (Sd) [Choi: Figs.1 and 3:D1, D2, …, Dm] sequentially within a timeframe [Kim: Fig.4: 1 frame; ¶ 0028: “The data driver 20 supplies data voltages to the data lines D1 through Dm during a light emitting sub-frame period among a plurality of sub-frames constituting one frame”; ¶ 0034: “Referring to FIG. 1 and FIG. 4, one frame is composed of a plurality of sub-frames. More particularly, the one frame of FIG. 4 is shown to be composed of 4 sub-frames SF1, SF2, SF3, and SF4”; ¶ 0035: “The first sub-frame SF1 is a light-emitting sub-frame. When a scan signal of the first sub-frame SF1 is provided, data voltages V.sub.data1 to V.sub.datan are applied to the data line Dm. Accordingly, the pixel portion 30 emits light corresponding to V.sub.data1 to V.sub.datan applied during the period of the first sub-frame SF1”].
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Choi to have the driver units receive data signals sequentially within a time frame, as taught by Kim, in order to supply data voltages during sub-frame periods within a frame for proper image display. This modification applies a known sequential data-driving technique to a similar display device and represents a predictable use of prior-art elements with no unexpected results.
Regarding claim 4:
Choi discloses:
4. The electronic device (100) [Choi: Fig.1: display device 100] as claimed in claim 3.
However, Choi does not expressly disclose:
wherein the driving signals are transmitted from one or ones of the driver units (21) to the corresponding one or ones of the functional elements (22) within a sub-timeframe,
wherein the sub-timeframe is broken down from the timeframe.
Kim discloses:
wherein the driving signals are transmitted from one or ones of the driver units (21) [Kim: Figs.1 and 3: pixels 40] to the corresponding one or ones of the functional elements (22) [Kim: Fig.3: organic light emitting diode OLED] within a sub-timeframe [Kim: Fig.4: SF1; ¶ 0028: “The data driver 20 supplies data voltages to the data lines D1 through Dm during a light emitting sub-frame period among a plurality of sub-frames constituting one frame”; ¶ 0035: “The first sub-frame SF1 is a light-emitting sub-frame. When a scan signal of the first sub-frame SF1 is provided, data voltages V.sub.data1 to V.sub.datan are applied to the data line Dm. Accordingly, the pixel portion 30 emits light corresponding to V.sub.data1 to V.sub.datan applied during the period of the first sub-frame SF1”],
wherein the sub-timeframe is broken down from the timeframe [Kim: Fig.4; ¶ 0034: “Referring to FIG. 1 and FIG. 4, one frame is composed of a plurality of sub-frames”].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify Choi before the effective filing date of the claimed invention so that driving signals are transmitted from the driver units to the corresponding functional elements within a sub-timeframe, as taught by Kim, where a frame is divided into a plurality of subframes. This modification applies Kim’s known subframe driving scheme to Choi’s display device to control light emission during defined sub-timeframes and represents a predictable use of prior-art techniques with no unexpected results.
Regarding claim 14:
The limitations of claim 14 have been addressed in the discussion of claim 3 above.
Regarding claim 15:
The limitations of claim 15 have been addressed in the discussion of claim 4 above.
Claim(s) 6 and 17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over [Choi; Youngjun et al., US 20240212594 A1] in view of [Ghosh; Amalkumar P. et al., US 20180269260 A1].
Regarding claim 6:
Choi discloses:
6. The electronic device (100) [Choi: Fig.1: display device 100] as claimed in claim 1.
However, Choi does not expressly disclose:
wherein either or both of at least one of the driver units (21) and the switches (23) is a semiconductor IC.
Ghosh discloses:
wherein either or both of at least one of the driver units (21) and the switches (23) is a semiconductor IC [Ghosh: ¶ 0095: “High resolution active matrix displays may include millions of pixels and sub-pixels that are individually addressed by the OLED drive circuit 960. Each sub-pixel can have several semiconductor transistors and other IC components. Each OLED may correspond to a pixel or a sub-pixel, and these terms are used interchangeably herein”].
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to implement the driver units and/or switches of Choi as semiconductor ICs, as taught by Ghosh, to yield the predictable result of achieving a high-resolution active-matrix display.
Regarding claim 17:
The limitations of claim 17 have been addressed in the discussion of claim 6 above.
Claim(s) 7 and 18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over [Choi; Youngjun et al., US 20240212594 A1] in view of [Li; Yan, US 20240038195 A1].
Regarding claim 7:
Choi discloses:
7. The electronic device (100) [Choi: Fig.1: display device 100] as claimed in claim 1.
However, Choi does not expressly disclose:
wherein one or ones of the switches (23) is integrated within the substrate (10) or integrated with a corresponding one of the functional elements (22).
Li discloses:
wherein one or ones of the switches (23) is integrated within the substrate (10) or integrated with a corresponding one of the functional elements (22) [Li: ¶ 0058: “The pixel driving circuit integrates multiple thin film transistors and light emitting diodes in one pixel driving circuit unit, so as to improve the gray level of the display panel, reduce the production cost of the display device, and effectively improve the display quality and display effect of the display device”].
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have included the concept above of Li in the invention of Choi to yield the predictable results of improving the display quality and display effect of the electronic device.
Regarding claim 18:
The limitations of claim 18 have been addressed in the discussion of claim 7 above.
Claim(s) 8 and 19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over [Choi; Youngjun et al., US 20240212594 A1] in view of [Lu; Jiahao et al., US 20160035282 A1].
Regarding claim 8:
Choi discloses:
8. The electronic device (100) [Choi: Fig.1: display device 100] as claimed in claim 1.
However, Choi does not expressly disclose:
wherein one or ones of the switches (23) includes/ is a thin film transistor.
Lu discloses:
wherein one or ones of the switches (23) includes/ is a thin film transistor [Lu: Claim 3: “The pixel circuit for an active-matrix organic light-emitting diode display according to claim 2, wherein each of the first, second, third, fourth, fifth, and sixth switches and the driving transistor is an N-type thin-film transistor”].
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Choi to include the thin-film transistor switches as taught by Lu. Such a modification represents a predictable substitution of one known switching device for another in a pixel circuit, yielding the known and expected advantages of TFTs in display applications, including reduced power consumption, improved pixel-level current control, and support for higher-resolution displays.
Regarding claim 19:
The limitations of claim 19 have been addressed in the discussion of claim 8 above.
Claim(s) 10 and 22 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over [Choi; Youngjun et al., US 20240212594 A1] in view of [Jung; Youngki et al., US 20210241682 A1].
Regarding claim 10:
Choi discloses:
10. The electronic device (100) [Choi: Fig.1: display device 100] as claimed in claim 1.
However, Choi does not expressly disclose:
wherein the functional elements (22) are grouped, and one or ones group of the functional elements (22) is driven by a corresponding one or ones of the driver units (21);
the switches (23) are grouped, and one or ones groups of the grouped switches (23) relates to corresponding one or ones groups of the grouped functional elements (22);
wherein one or ones of the driver units (21) defines one or more outputs corresponding to one or ones groups of the grouped functional elements (22).
Jung discloses:
wherein the functional elements (22) [Jung: Fig.1: light emitting diode 111-1, 111-2, 111-3] are grouped [Jung: Fig.1: Group 1 (111); ¶ 0062: “The LED driving circuit 122 may be connected to the light-emitting diode 111-2 included in the group 1 111”; ¶ 0063: “In this case, while the LED driving circuit 121 drives the light-emitting diode 111-1 included in the group 1 111,”], and one or ones group of the functional elements (22) [Jung: Fig.1: light emitting diode 111-1, 111-2, 111-3] is driven by a corresponding one or ones of the driver units (21) [Jung: Fig.1: LED driving circuits 121, 122 and/or 123; ¶ 0061: “The LED driving circuit 121 may be connected to a light-emitting diode 111-1 included in the group 1 111 and a light-emitting diode 112-1 included in the group 2 112”];
the switches (23) [Jung: Fig.4A: first transistor 411 and second transistor 412] are grouped [Jung: ¶ 0077: “Referring to FIG. 4A, the LED driving circuit 121 may be connected to a first transistor 411 included in the group 1 111 which is connected to the light-emitting diode 111-1 driven by the LED driving circuit 121, and a second transistor 412 included in the group 2 112 which is connected to the light-emitting diode 112-1 driven by the LED driving circuit 121, or the like”], and one or ones groups of the grouped switches (23) relates to corresponding one or ones groups of the grouped functional elements (22);
wherein one or ones of the driver units (21) [Jung: Fig.1: LED driving circuits 121, 122 and/or 123] defines one or more outputs corresponding to one or ones groups of the grouped functional elements (22) [Jung: Fig.1: light emitting diode 111-1, 111-2, 111-3; ¶ 0061: “The LED driving circuit 121 may be connected to a light-emitting diode 111-1 included in the group 1 111 and a light-emitting diode 112-1 included in the group 2 112. Also, the LED driving circuit 121 may also be connected to light-emitting diodes belonging to groups 3 and 4 . . . . The LED driving circuit 121 may sequentially (time-division) drive the light-emitting diode 111-1 and the light-emitting diode 112-1”].
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the electronic device of Choi to include grouped functional elements, grouped switches, and corresponding driver-unit output as taught by Jung. This modification represents the use of a known display architecture to achieve predictable results. Grouping functional elements and associated switches and driving them with corresponding units was well-understood design approach in display systems and would predictably provided improved driving efficiency, scalable control of display elements, and flexible allocation of driver outputs without changing the fundamental operation of the device. The combination merely involves application of known techniques to a known device to yield expected results.
Regarding claim 22:
The limitations of claim 22 have been addressed in the discussion of claim 10 above.
Claim(s) 11 and 23 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over [Choi; Youngjun et al., US 20240212594 A1] in view of [Liu; Changyu, US 20250252912 A1].
Regarding claim 11:
Choi discloses:
11. The electronic device (100) [Choi: Fig.1: display device 100] as claimed in claim 1.
However, Choi does not expressly disclose:
wherein the driver units (21) are electrically connected in serial, and a later one of the driver units (21) is driven by a previous one of the driver units (21).
Liu discloses:
wherein the driver units (21) [Liu: Fig.8: gate driving modules 20] are electrically connected in serial [Liu: Fig.8; ¶ 0052: “Multiple gate driving modules 20 are sequentially connected in series”], and a later one of the driver units (21) is driven by a previous one of the driver units (21) [Liu: ¶ 0052: “ Multiple gate driving modules 20 are sequentially connected in series and transmit the initial scanning signal Scan row-by-row from top to bottom. Therefore, the gate driving module 20 of the previous stage triggers the gate driving module 20 of the next stage, so as to generate the initial scanning signal Scan, so that all gate driving modules 20 output the initial scanning signals Scan in sequence, thereby achieving a row-by-row refresh for the pixel circuit 30 that needs to be refreshed”].
It would have been obvious to one or ordinary skill in the art, prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the electronic device of Choi to include serially connected driver units such that a later driver unit is driven by a previous driver unit, as taught by Liu. Serially connecting driver units was a well-known technique in display driving systems to enable orderly row-by-row scanning and coordinate signal propagation. Applying this technique to the device of Choi would have predictably improved timing control and simplified signal routing for refreshing pixel circuits.
Regarding claim 23:
The limitations of claim 23 have been addressed in the discussion of claim 11 above.
Claim(s) 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over [Choi; Youngjun et al., US 20240212594 A1] in view of [Lee; Hyun Dae et al., US 20230154411 A1].
Regarding claim 20:
Choi discloses:
20. The electronic device (100) [Choi: Fig.1: display device 100] as claimed in claim 12.
However, Choi does not expressly disclose:
wherein one or ones of the functional elements (22) is a photo sensor or an ultrasonic transducer.
Lee discloses:
wherein one or ones of the functional elements (22) is a photo sensor or an ultrasonic transducer [Lee: Fig.5: photo sensor PS; ¶ 0061: “Photo sensors PS that react to light may be disposed in the fingerprint sensing area FSA”].
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have included the concept above of Lee in the invention of Choi to yield the predictable results of enabling fingerprint sensing.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
[Jeong; Jin-Tae, US 10102800 B2] discloses:
“An organic light emitting display device includes pixel driving circuits to control pixels which include organic light emitting diodes. The pixel driving circuits include a first pixel driving circuit and a second pixel driving circuit, and the organic light emitting diodes include a first organic light emitting diode. The first organic light emitting diode emits light at a first brightness based on a driving current from the first pixel driving circuit in a first frame, and emits light at a second brightness based on a driving current from the second pixel driving circuit in a second frame”, as recited in the abstract.
Inquiry
/KOOSHA SHARIFI-TAFRESHI/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2628