DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 21 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor, or for pre-AIA the applicant regards as the invention.
Claim 21 (fourth clause) recites the phrase: “different areas in a single image sensor”. However, the term “a single image sensor” is earlier-recited in Claim 21 (second clause). Thus, it is unclear whether this phrase is intended to be the first instance of the claimed “single image sensor” or is intended to refer to the earlier-recited “single image sensor”. For examination, this phrase will be treated as: “different areas in the single image sensor”.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 2, 4-7 and 12-21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Uemura, U.S. Pat. Appl. Pub. No. 2013/0057732 A1.
Regarding Claim 1, Uemura discloses: A stereoscopic optical system comprising (the Office notes that the term “comprising” is an open-ended transitional phrase which permits additional elements or features):
two optical systems arranged in parallel (zoom lenses L100a, L100b are arranged in parallel and may be part of a stereoscopic optical system; paragraphs [0115], [0118], [0292] and FIGS. 1A, 1B, 22, 23, 31A of Uemura);
wherein optical images corresponding to the two optical systems are formed on different areas in a single image sensor (zoom lenses L100a, L100b are arranged in such a way as to form images of an object in different regions of the image pickup surface of the same image pickup element 4; paragraph [0062] and FIGS. 1A, 1B, 2A, 2B, 22 of Uemura);
wherein each of the two optical systems includes a plurality of lens units (zoom lenses L100a, L100b may each have several lens groups, e.g., lens groups G1, G2, G3, G4; paragraphs [0064], [0083], [0120], [0165] and FIGS. 1A, 1B, 5A-5C of Uemura);
wherein a distance between adjacent lens units changes when a focal length changes in each of the two optical systems (in at least one particular example, during zooming from the wide angle end to the telephoto end, the first lens group G1 is fixed, the second lens group G2 moves toward the object side, the third lens group G3 moves first toward the object side and then reverses its course toward the image side, and the fourth lens group G4 moves toward the object side, such that the distance between adjacent lens groups changes; paragraph [0166] and FIGS. 5A-5C of Uemura);
wherein one of the plurality of lens units is a movable lens unit (in at least one particular example, during zooming, lens group G1 is fixed, and lens groups G2, G3, and G4 move; paragraph [0166] and FIGS. 5A-5C of Uemura; the Office notes that the claims do not require that only one of the lens units is movable, and the remainder are fixed or stationary);
wherein a focal length is changed by moving the movable lens unit (the movement of lens groups G2, G3, and G4 changes the focal length state between wide angle end and telephoto end, including intermediate state(s) therebetween; see paragraph [0160] and FIGS. 5A-5C of Uemura; see also the “focal length” row of the tables of Examples 1-8 in paragraphs [0227]-[0234] of Uemura); and
wherein the following inequality is satisfied: 0.5 ≤ Din / fw ≤ 50.0 where Din is a distance between optical axes of lenses closest to an object in the two optical systems, and fw is a focal length of each of the two optical systems at a wide-angle end (a focal length “fw” of Uemura may be 8.29 mm [see wide angle focal length in the table of Example 1 of paragraph [0227] of Uemura], and although Uemura does not appear to explicitly disclose a distance between the optical axes of the object-side lenses of zoom lenses L100a, L100b, Uemura does disclose the use of the stereoscopic imaging device in a cellular phone, showing a side-by-side arrangement of lenses [component 405 in FIG. 31A], such lenses shown having a distance between their centers of about 17% of the width of the cellular phone, wherein a typical width of such classic style [early 2000s years] cellular phone is 50 mm [and not significantly more or less than this], and thus the spacing of lenses [“Din”] is most likely 8.5 mm [17% of 50 mm is 8.5 mm], for a “Din / fw” value of 1.025 [8.5 mm / 8.29 mm = 1.025], and 1.025 is a number between 0.5 and 50.0, and the Office notes that even if the spacing of the lenses were ten times the estimated amount [10 x 8.5 mm = 85 mm] the “Din / fw” value would be 10.25 [85 mm / 8.29 mm], and 10.25 is a number between 0.5 and 50.0, and the Office further notes that even if the spacing of the lenses were half of the estimated amount [8.5 mm / 2 = 4.25 mm] the “Din / fw” value would be 0.513 [4.25 mm / 8.29 mm = 0.513], and 0.513 is a number between 0.5 and 50.0).
Regarding Claim 2, Uemura discloses the limitations of Claim 1 and further discloses: wherein each of the two optical systems includes, in order from an object side to an image side, a first lens unit, a second lens unit, and a third lens unit, and wherein in changing the focal length, the first lens unit and the third lens unit do not move, but the second lens unit moves as the movable lens unit (in some examples, there are six lens groups G1 through G6, wherein the first lens group G1 and the last lens group G6 are fixed and may be identified as the claimed “first lens unit” and “third lens unit”, respectively, and wherein the middle lens groups G2 through G5 move during zooming and any of these lens groups may be identified as the claimed “second lens unit”; FIGS. 11A-11C, 13A-13C, 17A-17C, 19A-19C of Uemura).
Regarding Claim 4, Uemura discloses the limitations of Claim 1 and further discloses: further comprising a structure configured to integrally move movable lens units in the two optical systems (zoom lenses L100a, L100b be integrally held by a common member 101, 102 among the zoom lenses L100a, L100b, and each of the lens frames 120 and 130 is adapted to integrally hold one or more lens groups 121a, 121b, 131a, 131b in the two zoom lenses, and thus variation in the accuracy in the shift and tilt position of the lens among the zoom lenses can be made smaller; paragraphs [0083], [0111], [0120]-[0122] and FIGS. 1A, 1B, 3, 4 of Uemura).
Regarding Claim 5, Uemura discloses the limitations of Claim 1 and further discloses: wherein the following inequality is satisfied: 0.3 ≤ Din / ft ≤ 30.0 where ft is a focal length of each of the two optical systems at a telephoto end (as explained above in the rejection of Claim 1, the most likely value for “Din” based on the disclosures of Uemura is 8.5 mm [and not significantly more or less than this], and a focal length “ft” of Uemura at a telephoto end may be 24.45 mm [8.5 mm / 24.45 mm = 0.348], and thus “Din / ft” may be 0.348, and 0.348 is a number between 0.3 and 30.0; paragraph [0227] and FIG. 31A of Uemura).
Regarding Claim 6, Uemura discloses the limitations of Claim 1 and further discloses: wherein the following inequality is satisfied: 2.0 ≤ TL / ft ≤ 20.0 where TL is a distance on an optical axis from a lens surface closest to the object in each of the two optical systems to an image plane, and ft is a focal length of each of the two optical systems at a telephoto end (in at least one example, the sum [TL] of the “lens total length” plus the “bf” [back focus] is 71.69 mm [54.15 mm + 17.54 mm = 71.69 mm], and a focal length “ft” of Uemura at a telephoto end may be 24.45 mm, and thus “TL / ft” may be 2.932 [71.69 mm / 24.45 mm = 2.932], and 2.932 is a number between 2.0 and 20.0; paragraph [0227] of Uemura).
Regarding Claim 7, Uemura discloses the limitations of Claim 1 and further discloses: wherein the following inequality is satisfied: 3.0 ≤ TL / fw ≤ 50.0 where TL is a distance on an optical axis from a lens surface closest to the object in each of the two optical systems to an image plane (in at least one example, the sum [TL] of the “lens total length” plus the “bf” [back focus] is 71.70 mm [54.15 mm + 17.55 mm = 71.70 mm], and a focal length “fw” of Uemura at a wide angle end may be 8.29 mm, and thus “TL / fw” may be 8.649 [71.70 mm / 8.29 mm = 8.649], and 8.649 is a number between 3.0 and 50.0; paragraph [0227] of Uemura).
Regarding Claim 12, Uemura discloses the limitations of Claim 1 and further discloses: wherein the movable lens unit includes an aperture stop (an aperture stop S may be functionally part of moving lens group G2; FIGS. 5A-5C of Uemura).
Regarding Claim 13, Uemura discloses the limitations of Claim 1 and further discloses: further comprising a structure configured to entirely move each of the two optical systems for focusing, and to integrally move the two optical systems (zoom lenses L100a, L100b be integrally held by a common member 101, 102 among the zoom lenses L100a, L100b, and each of the lens frames 120 and 130 is adapted to integrally hold one or more lens groups 121a, 121b, 131a, 131b in the two zoom lenses, and thus variation in the accuracy in the shift and tilt position of the lens among the zoom lenses can be made smaller; paragraphs [0083], [0111], [0120]-[0122] and FIGS. 1A, 1B, 3, 4 of Uemura).
Regarding Claim 14, Uemura discloses the limitations of Claim 1 and further discloses: wherein the following inequality is satisfied: 2.0 ≤ PeW / fw ≤ 50.0 where PeW is an exit pupil distance of each of the two optical systems at a wide-angle end (a distance [PeW] from the aperture stop S [exit pupil] to the image plane at the wide-angle end is no less than 25.95 mm [which is the combined width of lens groups G2, G3, G4; see column “d” for surface numbers 8 through 18 in Example 1] and no greater than 71.70 mm, which is the sum of the “lens total length” plus the back focus “bf” [54.15 mm + 17.55 mm = 71.70 mm], and the focal length at a wide-angle end may be 8.29 mm, and thus the ratio of “PeW / fw” is between 3.13 and 8.649 [25.95 mm / 8.29 mm = 3.13, and whereas 71.70 mm / 8.29 mm = 8.649), and 3.13 to 8.649 is a range of numbers between 2.0 and 50.0; paragraph [0227] of Uemura).
Regarding Claim 15, Uemura discloses the limitations of Claim 1 and further discloses: wherein the following inequality is satisfied: 2.0 ≤ PeT / ft ≤ 50.0 where PeT is an exit pupil distance at a telephoto end of each of the two optical systems, and ft is a focal length of each of the two optical systems at the telephoto end (a distance [PeT] from the aperture stop S [exit pupil] to the image plane at the wide-angle end is no less than 25.95 mm [which is the combined width of lens groups G2, G3, G4; see column “d” for surface numbers 8 through 18 in Example 1] and no greater than 71.70 mm, which is the sum of the “lens total length” plus the back focus “bf” [54.15 mm + 17.55 mm = 71.70 mm], and the focal length at a telephoto end may be 24.45 mm, and thus the ratio of “PeT / ft” is between 1.061 and 2.933 [25.95 mm / 24.45 mm = 1.061, and whereas 71.70 mm / 24.45 mm = 2.933), and 1.061 to 2.933 is a range of numbers which includes a lower end of the range 2.0 and 50.0; paragraph [0227] of Uemura).
Regarding Claim 16, Uemura discloses the limitations of Claim 1 and further discloses: wherein the following inequality is satisfied: 0.2 ≤ fm / ft ≤ 5.0 where fm is a focal length of the movable lens unit, and ft is a focal length of each of the two optical systems at a telephoto end (lens group G2 may identified as the claimed “moveable lens unit” and, in at least one example, may have a focal length [fm] of 12.52 mm [“f2 = 12.52”], and the focal length at a telephoto end may be 24.45 mm, and thus the ratio of “fm / ft” may be 0.512 [12.52 mm / 24.45 mm = 0.512), and 0.512 is a number between 0.2 and 5.0; paragraph [0227] of Uemura).
Regarding Claim 17, Uemura discloses the limitations of Claim 1 and further discloses: wherein the following inequality is satisfied in a case where a moving amount is set positive when the movable lens unit is closer to the object at a telephoto end than at the wide-angle end in each of the two optical systems: 0 < Dm / ft ≤ 5.0 where Dm is the moving amount of the movable lens unit, and ft is a focal length of each of the two optical systems at the telephoto end (lens group G2 may identified as the claimed “moveable lens unit” and, in at least one example, may have a “moving amount” [Dm] which is necessarily greater than zero, but less than 54.15 mm [lens total length], and the focal length at a telephoto end [ft] may be 24.45 mm, and thus the ratio of “Dm / ft” is between zero and 2.215 [0 / 24.45 = 0, and whereas 54.15 mm / 24.45 mm = 2.215), and the numbers between zero and 2.215 are a range of numbers that fall between 0 and 5.0; see paragraph [0227] of Uemura, and see, e.g., FIGS. 5A-5C of Uemura).
Regarding Claim 18, Uemura discloses the limitations of Claim 1 and further discloses: wherein the two optical systems each include an aperture stop, and the following inequality is satisfied: 0.2 ≤ Lb / fb ≤ 10.0 where Lb is a distance from the aperture stop at the wide-angle end to an image plane in each of the two optical systems, and fb is a combined focal length of a portion on an image side of the aperture stop at the wide-angle end (a distance [Lb] from the aperture stop S to the image plane at the wide-angle end is no less than 25.95 mm [which is the combined width of lens groups G2, G3, G4; see column “d” for surface numbers 8 through 18 in Example 1] and no greater than 71.70 mm, which is the sum of the “lens total length” plus the back focus “bf” [54.15 mm + 17.55 mm = 71.70 mm], and a combined focal length [fb; f23] of second lens group G2 [f2] and third lens group G3 [f3] is 18.2879 [using the lens maker’s equation: 1/f23 = 1/f2 + 1/f3], and thus the ratio of “Lb / fb” is between 1.419 and 3.921 [25.95 mm / 18.2879 mm = 1.419, and whereas 71.70 mm / 18.2879 mm = 3.921], and wherein the range of numbers 1.419 to 3.921 is contained with the range of 0.2 to 10.0).
Regarding Claim 19, Uemura discloses the limitations of Claim 1 and further discloses: wherein the following inequality is satisfied: 2.0 ≤ TDL / fw ≤ 50.0 where TDL is a distance on an optical axis from a lens surface closest to the object to a lens surface closest to an image plane in each of the two optical systems (in at least one example, the “lens total length” is 53.76 mm, and a focal length “fw” of Uemura at a wide angle end may be 8.29 mm, and thus “TL / fw” may be 6.489 [53.76 mm / 8.29 mm = 6.489], and 6.489 is a number between 3.0 and 50.0; paragraph [0227] of Uemura).
Regarding Claim 20, Uemura discloses the limitations of Claim 1 and further discloses: wherein the following inequality is satisfied: 0.2 ≤ BF / fw ≤ 5.0 where BF is a back focus at the wide-angle end of each of the two optical systems (in at least one example, the back focus “fb” [BF] is 18.69 mm, and a focal length “fw” of Uemura at a wide angle end may be 8.29 mm, and thus “BF / fw” may be 2.255 [18.69 mm / 8.29 mm = 2.255], and 2.255 is a number between 0.2 and 5.0; paragraph [0227] of Uemura).
Regarding Claim 21, as best understood, Uemura discloses: An image pickup apparatus comprising (the Office notes that the term “comprising” is an open-ended transitional phrase which permits additional elements or features):
a stereoscopic optical system (digital camera 100; FIGS. 1A, 1B of Uemura); and
a single image sensor configured to perform imaging of an object through the stereoscopic optical system (image pickup element 4, wherein zoom lenses L100a, L100b are arranged in such a way as to form images of an object in different regions of the image pickup surface of the image pickup element 4; paragraph [0062] and FIGS. 1A, 1B, 2A, 2B, 22 of Uemura);
wherein the stereoscopic optical system includes two optical systems arranged in parallel (zoom lenses L100a, L100b are arranged in parallel and may be part of a stereoscopic optical system; paragraphs [0115], [0118], [0292] and FIGS. 1A, 1B, 22, 23, 31A of Uemura);
wherein optical images corresponding to the two optical systems are formed on different areas in a single image sensor (zoom lenses L100a, L100b are arranged in such a way as to form images of an object in different regions of the image pickup surface of the same image pickup element 4; paragraph [0062] and FIGS. 1A, 1B, 2A, 2B, 22 of Uemura);
wherein each of the two optical systems includes a plurality of lens units (zoom lenses L100a, L100b may each have several lens groups, e.g., lens groups G1, G2, G3, G4; paragraphs [0064], [0083], [0120], [0165] and FIGS. 1A, 1B, 5A-5C of Uemura);
wherein a distance between adjacent lens units changes when a focal length changes in each of the two optical systems (in at least one particular example, during zooming from the wide angle end to the telephoto end, the first lens group G1 is fixed, the second lens group G2 moves toward the object side, the third lens group G3 moves first toward the object side and then reverses its course toward the image side, and the fourth lens group G4 moves toward the object side, such that the distance between adjacent lens groups changes; paragraph [0166] and FIGS. 5A-5C of Uemura);
wherein one of the plurality of lens units is a movable lens unit (in at least one particular example, during zooming, lens group G1 is fixed, and lens groups G2, G3, and G4 move; paragraph [0166] and FIGS. 5A-5C of Uemura; the Office notes that the claims do not require that only one of the lens units is movable, and the remainder are fixed or stationary);
wherein a focal length is changed by moving the movable lens unit (the movement of lens groups G2, G3, and G4 changes the focal length state between wide angle end and telephoto end, including intermediate state(s) therebetween; see paragraph [0160] and FIGS. 5A-5C of Uemura; see also the “focal length” row of the tables of Examples 1-8 in paragraphs [0227]-[0234] of Uemura); and
wherein the following inequality is satisfied: 0.5 ≤ Din / fw ≤ 50.0 where Din is a distance between optical axes of lenses closest to an object in the two optical systems, and fw is a focal length of each of the two optical systems at a wide-angle end (a focal length “fw” of Uemura may be 8.29 mm [see wide angle focal length in the table of Example 1 of paragraph [0227] of Uemura], and although Uemura does not appear to explicitly disclose a distance between the optical axes of the object-side lenses of zoom lenses L100a, L100b, Uemura does disclose the use of the stereoscopic imaging device in a cellular phone, showing a side-by-side arrangement of lenses [component 405 in FIG. 31A], such lenses shown having a distance between their centers of about 17% of the width of the cellular phone, wherein a typical width of such classic style [early 2000s] cellular phone is 50 mm [and not significantly more or less than this], and thus the spacing of lenses [“Din”] is most likely 8.5 mm [17% of 50 mm is 8.5 mm], for a “Din / fw” value of 1.025 [8.5 mm / 8.29 mm = 1.025], and 1.025 is a number between 0.5 and 50.0, and the Office notes that even if the spacing of the lenses were ten times the estimated amount [10 x 8.5 mm = 85 mm] the “Din / fw” value would be 10.25 [85 mm / 8.29 mm], and 10.25 is a number between 0.5 and 50.0, and the Office further notes that even if the spacing of the lenses were half of the estimated amount [8.5 mm / 2 = 4.25 mm] the “Din / fw” value would be 0.513 [4.25 mm / 8.29 mm = 0.513], and 0.513 is a number between 0.5 and 50.0).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 3 and 8-11 are rejected as being dependent on a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if amended to include all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter.
With respect to Claim 3, although the prior art discloses various stereoscopic optical systems, including:
The prior art does not appear to disclose or suggest the above combination of features further comprising:
With respect to Claims 8-11, these claims each depend from Claim 3, and are therefore allowable for at least the reasons stated above.
Examiner Note – Consider Entirety of Reference
Although various text and figures of the cited reference have been specifically cited in this Office Action to show disclosures and teachings which correspond to specific claim language, Applicant is advised to consider the complete disclosure of the reference, including portions which have not been specifically cited by the Examiner.
Conclusion
Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to RYAN S DUNNING whose telephone number is 571-272-4879. The examiner can normally be reached Monday thru Friday 10:30AM to 7:00PM Eastern Time Zone. Examiner interviews are available via telephone, in-person, and video conferencing using a USPTO supplied web-based collaboration tool. To schedule an interview, applicant is encouraged to use the USPTO Automated Interview Request (AIR) at http://www.uspto.gov/interviewpractice
/RYAN S DUNNING/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2872