DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 08/15/2024. The submission is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Priority
Acknowledgment is made of applicant’s claim for foreign priority under 35 U.S.C. 119 (a)-(d). The certified copy has been filed in parent Application No. KR10-2022-0017879, filed on 02/11/2022.
Double Patenting
Claims 1-20 rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-11 of U.S. Patent No. 12,090,914 B2. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the difference thereof merely involves with description language that would been deemed obvious variations of forms of representation to a person skilled in the art.
Instant Application: 18/805,906
U.S Patent No. 12,090,914 B2
1. A system for controlling a headlamp of a mobility device, comprising: a light source unit disposed at a front of the mobility device and including a plurality of light emitting elements; and a control unit configured to: receive environmental information of the mobility device, the environmental information including steering angle information of the mobility device and further including at least one of road surface information and road navigation information; and control, based on the received environmental information, the light source unit to change a relative position or range of a high luminance region within a predetermined light irradiation region.
2. The system of claim 1, wherein the control unit is configured to: calculate, based on the steering angle information, an expected movement route of the mobility device; calculate, based on at least one of the road surface information and road navigation information, a curvature of a road; and in response to a curvature of the expected movement route being greater than the curvature of the road, change a position of the high luminance region in a steering direction of the mobility device based on the steering angle information.
3. The system of claim 1, wherein the control unit is configured to: calculate, based on the steering angle information, an expected movement route of the mobility device; calculate, based on at least one of the road surface information and road navigation information, a curvature of a road; and in response to a curvature of the expected movement route being equal to or less than the curvature of the road, adjust a position of the high luminance region based on the curvature of the road.
4. The system of claim 3, wherein the control unit is configured to: sequentially set a plurality of reference values for the calculated curvature of the road; compare the plurality of reference values with the calculated curvature of the road; and adjust the position of the high luminance region in a plurality of phases.
5. The system of claim 1, wherein: the environmental information further includes object information regarding an object in front of the mobility device, and in response to the object information indicating that the object exists in front of the mobility device, the control unit is configured to: designate, as a low luminance region, a region at which the object is positioned within the light irradiation region, and control the light source unit to set a luminance of the low luminance region to be equal to or lower than a first value.
6. The system of claim 5, wherein, in response to the low and high luminance regions at least partially overlapping each other to form an overlapping portion, the control unit is configured to: control the light source unit to irradiate the overlapping portion with a light quantity corresponding to the low luminance region, and control the light source unit to expand or change the relative position or range of the high luminance region externally of the low luminance region.
7. The system of claim 6, wherein, to expand or change the relative position or range of the high luminance region externally of the low luminance region, the control unit is configured to expand or change the relative position or range of the high luminance region in at least one of vertical and horizontal directions with respect to the low luminance region.
8. The system of claim 5, wherein the control unit controls the light source unit in such a way that the range of the high luminance region adjusted to be positioned outside the low luminance region has the same size as that of the range of the high luminance range before the adjustment.
9. The system of claim 5, wherein in response to the light source unit being controlled only in a horizontal direction and emitting light in such a way that an entire range corresponding to a width of an obstacle in a vertical direction becomes the low luminance region, the control unit designates the high luminance region in such a way that the high luminance region is moved in the horizontal direction with respect to the low luminance region to position the high luminance region outside the low luminance region.
10. The system of claim 5, wherein in response to the light source unit being controlled in a vertical direction and a horizontal direction and emitting light in such a way that only a range corresponding to a position of an obstacle becomes the low luminance region, the control unit designates the high luminance region in such a way that the high luminance region is moved in the horizontal direction and the vertical direction with respect to the low luminance region outside the low luminance region to position the high luminance region outside the low luminance region.
11. The system of claim 8, wherein in response to the low luminance region and the high luminance region being adjacent to each other, the control unit adjusts quantities of light of adjacent portions to an intermediate value between a quantity of light in the low luminance region and a quantity of light in the high luminance region.
12. A method of operating a front headlamp control system having a light source unit for a mobility device, comprising: receiving environmental information of the mobility device, the environmental information including steering angle information of the mobility device and further including at least one of road surface information and road navigation information; calculating, based on the received environmental information, a curvature of a road; and setting or adjusting, based on the received environmental information, a high luminance region.
13. The control method of claim 12, wherein setting or adjusting the high luminance region includes, in response to a curvature of an expected route of the mobility device being greater than the curvature of the road, adjusting a position of the high luminance region by a distance proportional to a steering angle change in a steering direction of the mobility device.
14. The control method of claim 12, wherein setting or adjusting the high luminance region includes: in response to a curvature of an expected route of the mobility device being equal to or less than the curvature of the road, setting first to (n)th reference values for the curvature of the road, wherein (n) is a positive integer greater than one; in response to the curvature of the road being less than the first reference value, maintaining a current position of the high luminance region; and in response to the curvature of the road being less than an (i)th reference value, (i) being a positive integer greater than 1 and equal to or smaller than (n), adjusting the position of the high luminance region by a first distance corresponding to an (i−1)th reference value.
15. The control method of claim 12, wherein: the environmental information includes object information regarding an object in front of the mobility device, and the method further comprises, in response to the object information indicating that the object exists in front of the mobility device, performing: designating, as a low luminance region, a region at which the object is positioned within a light irradiation region of a light source unit; and adjusting the low and high luminance regions to generate a final light pattern.
16. The control method of claim 15, wherein designating, as the low luminance region, the region at which the object is positioned within the light irradiation region of the light source unit includes: temporarily storing a position of the adjusted high luminance region; receiving and storing position information of the object; and comparing the position information of the object with the light irradiation region of the light source unit to determine the low luminance region, and in response to the high and low luminance regions at least partially overlapping each other, expanding the high luminance region in at least one of vertical and horizontal directions with respect to the low luminance region.
17. The control method of claim 16, wherein in expanding the high luminance region, the control unit controls the light source unit in such a way that a range of the high luminance region adjusted to be positioned outside the low luminance region has the same size as that of the range of the high luminance range before the adjustment.
18. The control method of claim 16, wherein in expanding the high luminance region, in response to the light source unit being controlled only in the horizontal direction and emitting light in such a way that an entire range corresponding to a width of an obstacle in the vertical direction becomes the low luminance region, the control unit designates the high luminance region in such a way that the high luminance region is moved in the horizontal direction with respect to the low luminance region to position the high luminance region outside the low luminance region.
19. The control method of claim 16, wherein in expanding the high luminance region, in response to the light source unit being controlled in the vertical direction and the horizontal direction and emitting light in such a way that only a range corresponding to a position of an obstacle becomes the low luminance region, the control unit designates the high luminance region in such a way that the high luminance region is moved in the horizontal direction and the vertical direction with respect to the low luminance region outside the low luminance region to position the high luminance region outside the low luminance region.
20. The control method of claim 17, wherein in response to the low luminance region and the high luminance region being adjacent to each other, the control unit adjusts quantities of light of adjacent portions to an intermediate value between a quantity of light in the low luminance region and a quantity of light in the high luminance region.
1. A system for controlling a headlamp of a mobility device, comprising: a light source unit disposed at a front of the mobility device and including a plurality of light emitting elements; and a control unit configured to: receive environmental information of the mobility device, the environmental information including steering angle information of the mobility device and further including at least one of road surface information and road navigation information; and control, based on the received environmental information, the light source unit to change a relative position or range of a high luminance region within a predetermined light irradiation region, wherein the control unit is further configured to: calculate, based on the steering angle information, an expected movement route of the mobility device; calculate, based on at least one of the road surface information and road navigation information, a curvature of a road; and in response to a curvature of the expected movement route being equal to or less than the curvature of the road, adjust a position of the high luminance region based on the curvature of the road, and wherein the control unit is further configured to: sequentially set a plurality of reference values for the calculated curvature of the road; compare the plurality of reference values with the calculated curvature of the road; and in response to a curvature of an expected route of the mobility device being equal to or less than the curvature of the road, setting first to (n)th reference values for the curvature of the road, wherein (n) is a positive integer greater than one; in response to the curvature of the road being less than the first reference value, maintaining a current position of the high luminance region; and in response to the curvature of the road being less than an (i)th reference value, (i) being a positive integer greater than 1 and equal to or smaller than (n), adjusting the position of the high luminance region by a first distance corresponding to an (i-1)th reference value.
2. The system of claim 1, wherein: the plurality of light emitting elements includes first and second light emitting elements, and the control unit is configured to control, in response to the first light emitting element irradiating the high luminance region and the second light emitting element not irradiating the high luminance region, the light source unit to set an intensity of first light emitted from the first light emitting element to be higher than that of second light emitted from the second light emitting element.
3. The system of claim 1, wherein: the light source unit further includes a direction adjustment actuator configured to adjust a light irradiation direction of the light emitting element, and the control unit is configured to control the direction adjustment actuator to set a luminance of the high luminance region to be higher than that of a region outside the high luminance region.
4. The system of claim 1, wherein the control unit is configured to: calculate, based on the steering angle information, an expected movement route of the mobility device; calculate, based on at least one of the road surface information and road navigation information, a curvature of a road; and in response to a curvature of the expected movement route being greater than the curvature of the road, change a position of the high luminance region in a steering direction of the mobility device based on the steering angle information.
5. The system of claim 1, wherein: the environmental information further includes object information regarding an object in front of the mobility device, and in response to the object information indicating that the object exists in front of the mobility device, the control unit is configured to: designate, as a low luminance region, a region at which the object is positioned within the light irradiation region, and control the light source unit to set a luminance of the low luminance region to be equal to or lower than a first value.
6. The system of claim 5, wherein, in response to the low and high luminance regions at least partially overlapping each other to form an overlapping portion, the control unit is configured to: control the light source unit to irradiate the overlapping portion with a light quantity corresponding to the low luminance region, and control the light source unit to expand or change the relative position or range of the high luminance region externally of the low luminance region.
7. The system of claim 6, wherein, to expand or change the relative position or range of the high luminance region externally of the low luminance region, the control unit is configured to expand or change the relative position or range of the high luminance region in at least one of vertical and horizontal directions with respect to the low luminance region.
8. A method of operating a front headlamp control system having a light source unit for a mobility device, comprising: receiving environmental information of the mobility device, the environmental information including steering angle information of the mobility device and further including at least one of road surface information and road navigation information; calculating, based on the received environmental information, a curvature of a road and a curvature of an expected route of the mobility device; and setting or adjusting, based on the received environmental information, a high luminance region and control, based on the received environmental information, the light source unit to change a relative position or range of a high luminance region within a predetermined light irradiation region, wherein setting or adjusting the high luminance region and control the light source unit includes: in response to a curvature of an expected route of the mobility device being equal to or less than the curvature of the road, setting first to (n)th reference values for the curvature of the road, wherein (n) is a positive integer greater than one; in response to the curvature of the road being less than the first reference value, maintaining a current position of the high luminance region; and in response to the curvature of the road being less than an (i)th reference value, (i) being a positive integer greater than 1 and equal to or smaller than (n), adjusting the position of the high luminance region by a first distance corresponding to an (i−1)th reference value.
9. The control method of claim 8, wherein setting or adjusting the high luminance region includes, in response to a curvature of an expected route of the mobility device being greater than the curvature of the road, adjusting a position of the high luminance region by a distance proportional to a steering angle change in a steering direction of the mobility device.
10. The control method of claim 8, wherein: the environmental information includes object information regarding an object in front of the mobility device, and the method further comprises, in response to the object information indicating that the object exists in front of the mobility device, performing: designating, as a low luminance region, a region at which the object is positioned within a light irradiation region of a light source unit; and adjusting the low and high luminance regions to generate a final light pattern.
11. The control method of claim 10, wherein designating, as the low luminance region, the region at which the object is positioned within the light irradiation region of the light source unit includes: temporarily storing a position of the adjusted high luminance region; receiving and storing position information of the object; and comparing the position information of the object with the light irradiation region of the light source unit to determine the low luminance region, and in response to the high and low luminance regions at least partially overlapping each other, expanding the high luminance region in at least one of vertical and horizontal directions with respect to the low luminance region.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 12 and 15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Nakanish et al [US 2011/0025209 A1] in view of Son et al [US 2016/0368414 A1]
In regards to claim 1. Nakanish discloses a system (Fig. 3, 30) for controlling a headlamp of a mobility device (Fig. 3, 100), comprising: a light source unit (Fig. 3, 14L and 14R) disposed at a front of the mobility device (Fig. 3, 100) and including; and
a control unit (Fig. 3, 102) configured to:
receive environmental information (Fig. 3, 108 & Paragraph [0038]) of the mobility device (Fig. 3, 100), the environmental information including steering angle information (Paragraph [0026 & 0048]) of the mobility device (Fig. 3, 100) and further including at least one of road surface information (Fig. 3, 114 & Paragraph [0039]) and road navigation information (Fig. 3, 114 & Paragraph [0039]); and
control (Fig. 8, S30 to S52), based on the received environmental information (Fig. 3, 108 & Paragraph [0038]), the light source unit (Fig. 3, 14L and 14R) to change a relative position or range of a high luminance region within a predetermined light irradiation region (Fig. 8, S52 or S36 & Paragraph [0077-78]).
Nakanish does not specify a plurality of light emitting elements
Son discloses a plurality of light emitting elements (Paragraph [0007 & 0081]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the invention was made to modify Nakanish with a plurality of light emitting elements for purpose of forms a low beam pattern or a high beam pattern to secure the driver's view ahead of the vehicle in a low light condition (e.g., at night). The headlamp therefore improves safe driving as disclosed by Son (Paragraph [0005])
In regards to claim 12. Nakanish in view of Son discloses a method (Fig. 3, 30) of operating a front headlamp control system (Fig. 3, 30 and 100) having a light source unit (Fig. 3, 14L and 14R) for a mobility device (Fig. 3, 100), comprising:
receiving environmental information (Fig. 3, 108 & Paragraph [0038]) of the mobility device (Fig. 3, 100), the environmental information (Fig. 3, 108 & Paragraph [0038]) including steering angle information (Paragraph [0026 & 0048]) of the mobility device (Fig. 3, 100) and further including at least one of road surface information (Fig. 3, 114 & Paragraph [0039]) and road navigation information (Fig. 3, 114 & Paragraph [0039]);
calculating (Fig. 8, S30 to S52), based on the received environmental information (Fig. 3, 108 & Paragraph [0038]), a curvature of a road (Fig. 3, 114 & Paragraph [0039]); and
Nakanish does not specify setting or adjusting, based on the received environmental information, a high luminance region.
Son discloses setting or adjusting (Paragraph [0006]), based on the received environmental information (Paragraph [0070]), a high luminance region (Fig. 11, P20).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the invention was made to modify Nakanish with setting or adjusting, based on the received environmental information, a high luminance region for purpose of forms a low beam pattern or a high beam pattern to secure the driver's view ahead of the vehicle in a low light condition (e.g., at night). The headlamp therefore improves safe driving as disclosed by Son (Paragraph [0005]).
In regards to claim 15. Nakanish in view of Son discloses the control method of claim 12, wherein:
the environmental information (Paragraph [0070-72]) includes object information (Son: Fig. 9, D) regarding an object in front of the mobility device (Fig. 3, 100), and the method further comprises,
in response to the object information (Paragraph [0070-72]) indicating that the object exists (Fig. 5a to 5c & Paragraph [0047]) in front of the mobility device (Fig. 3, 100), performing:
designating, as a low luminance region (Son: Fig. 9, D), a region at which the object (Son: Fig. 9, D) is positioned within a light irradiation region of a light source unit (Son: Fig. 9, P20); and
adjusting the low and high luminance regions (Son: Paragraph [0007 & 0028]) to generate a final light pattern (Son: Fig. 8-21).
Claims 2-3 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Nakanish et al [US 2011/0025209 A1] in view of Son et al [US 2016/0368414 A1] and further in view of Fukawa [US 2003/0067780 A1].
In regards to claim 2. Nakanish in view of Son discloses the system of claim 1, wherein the control unit is configured to:
calculate (Paragraph [0076]), based on the steering angle information (Paragraph [0026]), an expected movement (Paragraph [0066]) route of the mobility device;
calculate (Paragraph [0078]), based on at least one of the road surface information (Fig. 3, 114 & Paragraph [0039]) and road navigation information (Fig. 3, 114 & Paragraph [0039]), a curvature of a road (Fig. 4, 98); and
change (Paragraph [0076-79]) a position of the high luminance region (Fig. 8, s48-54) in a steering direction of the mobility device (Fig. 3, 100) based on the steering angle information (Paragraph [0026]).
Nakanish in view of Son does not specify in response to a curvature of the expected movement route being greater than the curvature of the road,
Fukawa discloses in response to a curvature of the expected movement route being greater than the curvature of the road (Paragraph [0030] “when the steering angle is equal to or greater than a predetermined angle as shown in a solid line of FIG. 5B.”),
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the invention was made to modify Nakanish with in response to a curvature of the expected movement route being greater than the curvature of the road for purpose of maintaining the safety running of the vehicle on an intersection road or at time of a lane change as disclosed by Fukawa (Abstract)
In regards to claim 3. Nakanish in view of Son discloses the system of claim 1, wherein the control unit is configured to:
calculate (Paragraph [0076]), based on the steering angle information (Paragraph [0026]), an expected movement (Paragraph [0066]) route of the mobility device;
calculate (Paragraph [0078]), based on at least one of the road surface information (Fig. 3, 114 & Paragraph [0039]) and road navigation information (Fig. 3, 114 & Paragraph [0039]), a curvature of a road (Fig. 4, 98); and
adjust (Paragraph [0076-79]) a position of the high luminance region (Fig. 8, s48-54) based on the curvature of the road (Fig. 4, 98).
Nakanish in view of Son does not specify in response to a curvature of the expected movement route being equal to or less than the curvature of the road
Fukawa discloses in response to a curvature of the expected movement route being equal to or less than the curvature of the road (Paragraph [0030] “when the steering angle is equal to or greater than a predetermined angle as shown in a solid line of FIG. 5B.”),
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the invention was made to modify Nakanish with in response to a curvature of the expected movement route being equal to or less than the curvature of the road for purpose of maintaining the safety running of the vehicle on an intersection road or at time of a lane change as disclosed by Fukawa (Abstract)
Claims 4 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Nakanish et al [US 2011/0025209 A1] in view of Son et al [US 2016/0368414 A1] in view of Fukawa [US 2003/0067780 A1] and further in view of Hayee et al [US 2019/0186948 A1]
In regards to claim 4. Nakanish in view of Son and further in view of Fukawa discloses the system of claim 3, wherein the control unit is configured to: adjust the position of the high luminance region (Fig. 12, s180 & Paragraph [0121]) in a plurality of phases (Fig. 12, S180 to S190).
Nakanish in view of Son and further in view of Fukawa does not specify sequentially set a plurality of references values for the calculated curvature of the road; compare the plurality of reference values with the calculated curvature of the road; and
Hayee discloses sequentially set a plurality of references values for the calculated curvature of the road (Paragraph [0046-48]); compare the plurality of reference values with the calculated curvature of the road (Paragraph [0057-59])
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the invention was made to modify Nakanish with sequentially set a plurality of references values for the calculated curvature of the road; compare the plurality of reference values with the calculated curvature of the road for purpose of accessing information stored for positions along a road and using the accessed information to identify an expected trajectory for a vehicle as disclosed by Hayee (Abstract).
Claims 5-11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Nakanish et al [US 2011/0025209 A1] in view of Son et al [US 2016/0368414 A1] and further in view of Utida et al [US 2007/0253597 A1]
In regards to claim 5. Nakanish in view of Son discloses the system of claim 1, wherein: the environmental information (Fig. 3, 108 & Paragraph [0038]) further includes object information regarding an object in front of the mobility device (Fig. 3, 100), and in response to the object information indicating (Paragraph [0038]) that the object exists in front of the mobility device (Fig. 3, 100), the control unit (Fig. 3, 102) is configured to: designate, as a low luminance region (Fig. 5, Usual Low Beam), a region at which the object is positioned within the light irradiation region (Paragraph [0040]), and
Nakanish in view of Son does not specify control the light source unit to set a luminance of the low luminance region to be equal to or lower than a first value.
Utida discloses control the light source unit to set a luminance of the low luminance region to be equal to or lower than a first value (Paragraph [0043] “A high-brightness light source is a light source having gray level equal to or higher than a preset threshold value.”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the invention was made to modify Nakanish with control the light source unit to set a luminance of the low luminance region to be equal to or lower than a first value for purpose of controlling the headlamp to prevent the driver of the other vehicle from being dazzled as disclosed by Utida (Paragraph [0057])
In regards to claim 6. Nakanish in view of Son and further in view of Utida discloses the system of claim 5, wherein, in response to the low and high luminance regions (Paragraph [0040]) at least partially overlapping each other to form an overlapping portion (Paragraph [0058]), the control unit (Fig. 3, 102) is configured to: control the light source unit (Fig. 3, 14L and 14R) to irradiate the overlapping portion (Son: Paragraph [0028]) with a light quantity corresponding to the low luminance region (Son: Fig. 2, P10), and control the light source unit (Son: Fig. 22, 800a & 800b) to expand or change the relative position or range of the high luminance region (Son: Fig. 30, 100%) externally of the low luminance region (Son: Fig. 2, P10).
In regards to claim 7. Nakanish in view of Son and further in view of Utida discloses the system of claim 6, wherein, to expand or change the relative position or range of the high luminance region (Son: Fig. 30, 30% to 100%) externally of the low luminance region (Son: Fig. 2, P10), the control unit (Son: Fig. 22, 700) is configured to expand or change the relative position or range of the high luminance region (Son: Fig. 30, 30% to 100%) in at least one of vertical and horizontal directions (Son: Fig. 30, 30% to 100%) with respect to the low luminance region (Son: Fig. 2, P10).
In regards to claim 8. Nakanish in view of Son and further in view of Utida discloses the system of claim 5, wherein the control unit (Utida Fig. 1, 70) controls the light source unit (Utida: Fig. 1, 30) in such a way that the range of the high luminance region (Utida: Fig. 5c, 91 & Paragraph [0069]) adjusted to be positioned outside the low luminance region (Utida: Fig. 5c, 90 & Paragraph [0067]) has the same size as that of the range of the high luminance range (Utida: Fig. 5c, 91 & Paragraph [0069]) before the adjustment.
In regards to claim 9. Nakanish in view of Son and further in view of Utida discloses the system of claim 5, wherein in response to the light source unit (Utida: Fig. 1, 30) being controlled only in a horizontal direction (Utida Paragraph [0028]) and emitting light in such a way that an entire range corresponding to a width of an obstacle in a vertical direction (Utida Paragraph [0028]) becomes the low luminance region (Utida: Paragraph [0067]), the control unit designates the high luminance region (Utida: Fig. 5c, 91 & Paragraph [0069]) in such a way that the high luminance region is moved in the horizontal direction (Utida Paragraph [0028]) with respect to the low luminance region (Utida: Paragraph [0067]) to position the high luminance region outside the low luminance region (Utida: Paragraph [0067]).
In regards to claim 10. Nakanish in view of Son and further in view of Utida discloses the system of claim 5, wherein in response to the light source unit (Utida: Fig. 1, 30) being controlled in a vertical direction (Utida Paragraph [0028]) and a horizontal direction (Utida Paragraph [0028]) and emitting light in such a way that only a range corresponding to a position of an obstacle becomes the low luminance region, the control unit (Utida Fig. 1, 70) designates the high luminance region in such a way that the high luminance region is moved in the horizontal direction and the vertical direction with respect to the low luminance region outside the low luminance region to position the high luminance region outside the low luminance region.
In regards to claim 11 Nakanish in view of Son and further in view of Utida discloses the system of claim 8, wherein in response to the low luminance region (Utida: Fig. 5c, 91 & Paragraph [0067]) and the high luminance region (Utida: Fig. 5c, 91 & Paragraph [0069]) being adjacent to each other, the control unit (Utida Fig. 1, 70) adjusts quantities of light of adjacent portions to an intermediate value (Utida: Paragraph [0058]) between a quantity of light in the low luminance region (Son: Fig. 8-20 LH and HP & Paragraph [0069-80]) and a quantity of light in the high luminance region (Son: Fig. 8-20 LH and HP & Paragraph [0069-80]).
Claims 13 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Nakanish et al [US 2011/0025209 A1] in view of Son et al [US 2016/0368414 A1] and further in view of Fukawa [US 2003/0067780 A1]
In regards to claim 13. Nakanish in view of Son discloses the control method of claim 12, wherein setting or adjusting the high luminance region (Son: Paragraph [0006]) includes, adjusting (Paragraph [0026-30]) a position of the high luminance region (Son: Fig. 11, P20) by a distance proportional to a steering angle (Paragraph [0026 & 0048]) change in a steering direction of the mobility device (Fig. 3, 100).
Nakanish in view of Son does not specify in response to a curvature of an expected route of the mobility device being greater than the curvature of the road,
Fukawa discloses in response to a curvature of an expected route of the mobility device being greater than the curvature of the road,(Paragraph [0030] “when the steering angle is equal to or greater than a predetermined angle as shown in a solid line of FIG. 5B.”),
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the invention was made to modify Nakanish with in response to a curvature of an expected route of the mobility device being greater than the curvature of the road for purpose of maintaining the safety running of the vehicle on an intersection road or at time of a lane change as disclosed by Fukawa (Abstract).
Claims 16-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Nakanish et al [US 2011/0025209 A1] in view of Son et al [US 2016/0368414 A1] and further in view of Kim [US 2016/0332568 A1].
In regards to claim 16. Nakanish in view of Son discloses the control method of claim 15, wherein designating, as the low luminance region (Son: Fig. 2, P10), the region at which the object is positioned (Son: Fig. 9, D) within the light irradiation region of the light source unit (Son: Fig. 2, P10 & P20) includes:
comparing (Fig. 6a to 6C & Paragraph [0067-70]) the position information of the object (Son: Fig. 9, D) with the light irradiation region of the light source unit (Son: Fig. 2, P10 & P20) to determine the low luminance region (Son: Fig. 2, P10), and
in response to the high and low luminance regions (Son: Fig. 2, P10 & P20) at least partially overlapping each other (Paragraph [0058]), expanding the high luminance region (Son: Fig. 2, P20) in at least one of vertical and horizontal directions (Son: Fig. 30, 30% to 100%) with respect to the low luminance region (Son: Fig. 2, P10).
Nakanish in view of Son does not specify temporarily storing a position of the adjusted high luminance region; receiving and storing position information of the object;
Kim discloses temporarily storing a position of the adjusted high luminance region; receiving and storing position information of the object (Paragraph [0040-42 & 0276]);
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the invention was made to modify Nakanish with temporarily storing a position of the adjusted high luminance region; receiving and storing position information of the object for purpose of safety driving of the following vehicle may be ensured based on the delivered information as disclosed by Shibata (Paragraph [0495])
In regards to claim 17. Nakanish in view of Son and further in view of Utida discloses the control method of claim 16, wherein in expanding the high luminance region (Utida: Fig. 5c, 91 & Paragraph [0069]), wherein the control unit (Utida Fig. 1, 70) controls the light source unit (Utida: Fig. 1, 30) in such a way that the range of the high luminance region (Utida: Fig. 5c, 91 & Paragraph [0069]) adjusted to be positioned outside the low luminance region (Utida: Fig. 5c, 90 & Paragraph [0067]) has the same size as that of the range of the high luminance range (Utida: Fig. 5c, 91 & Paragraph [0069]) before the adjustment.
In regards to claim 18. Nakanish in view of Son and further in view of Utida discloses the control method of claim 16, wherein in expanding the high luminance region (Utida: Fig. 5c, 91 & Paragraph [0069]), in response to the light source unit (Utida: Fig. 1, 30) being controlled only in the horizontal direction (Utida Paragraph [0028]) and emitting light in such a way that an entire range corresponding to a width of an obstacle (Son: Fig. 19, D & Paragraph [0077]) in the vertical direction (Utida Paragraph [0028]) becomes the low luminance region (Utida: Fig. 5c, 90 & Paragraph [0067]), the control unit designates the high luminance region (Utida: Fig. 5c, 91 & Paragraph [0069]) in such a way that the high luminance region (Utida: Fig. 5c, 91 & Paragraph [0069]) is moved in the horizontal direction with respect to the low luminance region (Utida: Fig. 5c, 90 & Paragraph [0067]) to position the high luminance region (Utida: Fig. 5c, 91 & Paragraph [0069]) outside the low luminance region (Utida: Fig. 5c, 90 & Paragraph [0067]).
In regards to claim 19. Nakanish in view of Son and further in view of Utida discloses the control method of claim 16, wherein in expanding the high luminance region (Utida: Fig. 5c, 91 & Paragraph [0069]), in response to the light source unit (Utida: Fig. 1, 30) being controlled in the vertical direction and the horizontal direction (Utida Paragraph [0028]) and emitting light in such a way that only a range corresponding to a position of an obstacle (Son: Fig. 19, D & Paragraph [0077])becomes the low luminance region (Utida: Fig. 5c, 90 & Paragraph [0067]), the control unit designates the high luminance region (Utida: Fig. 5c, 91 & Paragraph [0069]) in such a way that the high luminance region (Utida: Fig. 5c, 91 & Paragraph [0069]) is moved in the horizontal direction and the vertical direction (Utida Paragraph [0028]) with respect to the low luminance region (Utida: Fig. 5c, 90 & Paragraph [0067]) outside the low luminance region (Utida: Fig. 5c, 90 & Paragraph [0067]) to position the high luminance region (Utida: Fig. 5c, 91 & Paragraph [0069]) outside the low luminance region (Utida: Fig. 5c, 90 & Paragraph [0067]).
In regards to claim 20. Nakanish in view of Son and further in view of Utida discloses the control method of claim 17, wherein in response to the low luminance region (Utida: Fig. 5c, 91 & Paragraph [0067]) and the high luminance region (Utida: Fig. 5c, 91 & Paragraph [0069]) being adjacent to each other, the control unit (Utida Fig. 1, 70) adjusts quantities of light of adjacent portions to an intermediate value (Utida: Paragraph [0058]) between a quantity of light in the low luminance region (Son: Fig. 8-20 LH and HP & Paragraph [0069-80]) and a quantity of light in the high luminance region (Son: Fig. 8-20 LH and HP & Paragraph [0069-80]).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 14 is objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
“wherein setting or adjusting the high luminance region includes: in response to a curvature of an expected route of the mobility device being equal to or less than the curvature of the road, setting first to (n)th reference values for the curvature of the road, wherein (n) is a positive integer greater than one; in response to the curvature of the road being less than the first reference value, maintaining a current position of the high luminance region; and in response to the curvature of the road being less than an (i)th reference value, (i) being a positive integer greater than 1 and equal to or smaller than (n), adjusting the position of the high luminance region by a first distance corresponding to an (i−1)th reference value.” as shown in claim 14.
Conclusion
WEI (VICTOR) CHAN
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 2844
/WEI (VICTOR) Y CHAN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2844