DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
2. Claim(s) 1-4, 11, 13, 16, and 18-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hou et al. (US Patent/PGPub. No. 20180024650) in view of Baugh et al. (US Patent/PGPub. No. 10936092).
Regarding Claim 1, (Currently Amended)
Hou et al. teach
a stylus ([0027], FIG. 1-7 & 17, i.e. stylus 1), comprising:
a housing ([0038], FIG. 1-7 & 17, i.e. stylus barrel 10);
a flexible circuit ([0035], FIG. 1-7 & 17, i.e. flexible PCB 180 … on the circuit board 110) positioned between (FIG. 1-7 & 17, i.e. as shown by the figure(s) 180 positioned between 10 and 113) an interior surface ([0038], FIG. 1-7 & 17, i.e. interior surface of 10) of the housing (i.e. please see above citation(s)) and a center ([0042], FIG. 1-7 & 17, i.e. as shown by the figure(s) the center where switch 113 located (FIG. 3)) of the housing (i.e. please see above citation(s));
a material ([0042], FIG. 1-7 & 17, i.e. hinged segment 121A) positioned between (FIG. 1-7 & 17, i.e. as shown by the figure(s) 121A positioned between 180/110 and center of the housing (FIG. 2-3)) the flexible circuit and the center of the housing (i.e. please see above citation(s)), operable to move when a force is applied ([0042], FIG. 1-7 & 17, i.e. it presses … against the hinged segment 121A and the inward force is applied to a switch 113) to the housing (i.e. please see above citation(s));
a first sensor component ([0027], FIG. 1-7 & 17, i.e. proximity sensors 130) disposed within ([0027], FIG. 1-7 & 17, i.e. attached to or formed upon a flexible PCB 180) the flexible circuit (i.e. please see above citation(s)), facing (FIG. 1-7 & 17, i.e. as shown by the figure(s) 130 facing 10 (FIG. 2 & 17)) the interior surface of the housing (i.e. please see above citation(s));
a second sensor component ([0027], FIG. 1-7 & 17, i.e. slide sensor 140) disposed within ([0027], FIG. 1-7 & 17, i.e. attached to or formed upon a flexible PCB 180) the flexible circuit (i.e. please see above citation(s)), facing the material (FIG. 1-7 & 17, i.e. as shown by the figure(s) 140 facing 121A (FIG. 2 & 17)); and
a shield disposed between ((FIG. 4-6, i.e. as shown by the figure(s) gap/space between 130 and 140) the first sensor component and the second sensor component (i.e. please see above citation(s)).
However, Hou et al. do not explicitly teach
the first sensor being at least partially positioned between the second sensor and the interior surface of the housing.
In the same field of endeavor, Baugh et al. teach
the first sensor (Col. 11, Ln. 18-26, FIG. 5A & 5B, i.e. force sensor 150) being at least partially positioned between (FIG. 5A & 5B, i.e. as shown by the figure(s) 156, which is a part of 150, partially positioned between 170 and 154) the second sensor (Col. 12, Ln. 43-49, FIG. 5A & 5B, i.e. force sensor 170) and the interior surface of the housing (Col. 11, Ln. 59-67, FIG. 5A & 5B, i.e. housing 154).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention’s effective date was filed to modify Hou et al. teaching of a stylus comprising two sensors with Baugh et al. teaching of a stylus comprising two sensors in which one sensor being disposed between another and the housing to effectively detect both axial and circumferential movements of the tip relative to the stylus axis by disposing one sensor between another and the housing (Baugh et al.’s Col. 11, Ln. 26-33).
Regarding Claim 2, (Original)
the stylus of claim 1,
Hou et al. teach
further comprising a controller ([0035], FIG. 1-7 & 17, i.e. controller 116) that is operable to determine a first input ([0035], FIG. 1-7 & 17, i.e. manages the capacitive sensing (of 130 and 140) ; [0030], FIG. 1-7 & 17, i.e. senses proximity) to the stylus using at least the first sensor component (i.e. please see above citation(s)).
Regarding Claim 3, (Original)
the stylus of claim 2, wherein
Hou et al. teach
the controller (i.e. please see above citation(s)) is operable to determine a second input ([0035], FIG. 1-7 & 17, i.e. manages the capacitive sensing (of 130 and 140) ; [0029], FIG. 1-7 & 17, i.e. sense a relative position of a target along the length of the slide sensor 140) to the stylus using at least the second sensor component (i.e. please see above citation(s)).
Regarding Claim 4, (Original)
the stylus of claim 1,
Hou et al. teach
further comprising a controller ([0035], FIG. 1-7 & 17, i.e. controller 116), wherein:
the first sensor component (i.e. please see above citation(s)) comprises at least one touch sensor component ([0029], FIG. 1-7 & 17, i.e. “touch” is used to indicate the detection of a target in proximity); and
the controller (i.e. please see above citation(s)) is operable to detect a touch moving along the housing ([0029], FIG. 1-7 & 17, i.e. relative position of a target along the length of the slide sensor 140) using the at least one touch sensor component (i.e. please see above citation(s)).
Regarding Claim 11, (Currently Amended)
Hou et al. teach
a stylus ([0027], FIG. 1-7 & 17, i.e. stylus 1), comprising:
a housing ([0038], FIG. 1-7 & 17, i.e. stylus barrel 10);
a flexible circuit ([0035], FIG. 1-7 & 17, i.e. flexible PCB 180 … on the circuit board 110) positioned between (FIG. 1-7 & 17, i.e. as shown by the figure(s) 180 positioned between 10 and 113) an interior surface ([0038], FIG. 1-7 & 17, i.e. interior surface of 10) of the housing (i.e. please see above citation(s)) and a center ([0042], FIG. 1-7 & 17, i.e. as shown by the figure(s) the center where switch 113 located (FIG. 3)) of the housing (i.e. please see above citation(s));
a spring member ([0042], FIG. 1-7 & 17, i.e. hinged segment 121A) positioned between (FIG. 1-7 & 17, i.e. as shown by the figure(s) 121A positioned between 180/110 and center of the housing (FIG. 2-3)) the flexible circuit and the center of the housing (i.e. please see above citation(s)) operable to allow the flexible circuit to move toward the center of the housing when a force is applied ([0042], FIG. 1-7 & 17, i.e. it presses … against the hinged segment 121A and the inward force is applied to a switch 113) to the housing (i.e. please see above citation(s)); and
a force sensor component ([0042], FIG. 1-7 & 17, i.e. force is applied to a switch 113) disposed within the flexible circuit ([0042], FIG. 1-7 & 17, i.e. switch 113 … on the circuit board 110) facing (FIG. 1-7 & 17, i.e. as shown by the figure(s) 113 facing 121A (FIG. 2 & 3)) the spring member (i.e. please see above citation(s)).
However, Hou et al. do not explicitly teach
[force sensor component] positioned at least partially between the spring member and the housing.
In the same field of endeavor, Baugh et al. teach
[force sensor component] (Col. 12, Ln. 43-49, FIG. 5A & 5B, i.e. force sensor 170) positioned at least partially between (FIG. 5A & 5B, i.e. as shown by the figure(s) 170 positioned between 156 and 154) the spring member (Col. 13, Ln. 43-49, FIG. 5A & 5B, i.e. compliant member 156 … deformed according to a spring characteristic) and the housing (Col. 11, Ln. 59-67, FIG. 5A & 5B, i.e. housing 154).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention’s effective date was filed to modify Hou et al. teaching of a stylus comprising two sensors with Baugh et al. teaching of a stylus comprising a sensor being disposed between a spring-like and the housing to effectively detect both axial and circumferential movements of the tip relative to the stylus axis by disposing one sensor between another and the housing (Baugh et al.’s Col. 11, Ln. 26-33).
Regarding Claim 13, (Original)
the stylus of claim 11, wherein
Hou et al. teach
a first end (FIG. 2-3, i.e. as shown by the figure(s) top end of 110/180) of the flexible circuit overlaps (FIG. 2-3, i.e. as shown by the figure(s) bottom end of 113 overlaps top end of 110/180) a second end (FIG. 2-3, i.e. as shown by the figure(s) bottom end of 121A) of the spring member (i.e. please see above citation(s)).
Regarding Claim 16, (Original)
the stylus of claim 11,
Hou et al. teach
further comprising a ground component ([0035], FIG. 3, 11, 13, & 15, i.e. common-tied ground electrodes 130AG,130BG,140G) disposed in the center of the housing (FIG. 3, 11, 13, & 15, i.e. as shown by the figure(s) 130AG,130BG,140G disposed in the center) that is operable to ground the force sensor component ([0035], FIG. 3, 11, 13, & 15, i.e. overall circuit ground).
Regarding Claim 18, (Currently Amended)
Hou et al. teach
a stylus ([0027], FIG. 1-7 & 17, i.e. stylus 1), comprising:
a housing ([0038], FIG. 1-7 & 17, i.e. stylus barrel 10);
a flexible circuit ([0035], FIG. 1-7 & 17, i.e. flexible PCB 180 … on the circuit board 110) positioned between (FIG. 1-7 & 17, i.e. as shown by the figure(s) 180 positioned between 10 and 113) an interior surface ([0038], FIG. 1-7 & 17, i.e. interior surface of 10) of the housing (i.e. please see above citation(s)) and a center ([0042], FIG. 1-7 & 17, i.e. as shown by the figure(s) the center where switch 113 located (FIG. 3)) of the housing (i.e. please see above citation(s));
a moveable member ([0042], FIG. 1-7 & 17, i.e. hinged segment 121A) positioned between (FIG. 1-7 & 17, i.e. as shown by the figure(s) 121A positioned between 180/110 and center of the housing (FIG. 2-3)) the flexible circuit and the center of the housing (i.e. please see above citation(s));
a force sensor component ([0042], FIG. 1-7 & 17, i.e. force is applied to a switch 113) disposed within ([0042], FIG. 1-7 & 17, i.e. switch 113 … on the circuit board 110) the flexible circuit (i.e. please see above citation(s)).
However, Hou et al. do not explicitly teach
[force sensor component] positioned at least partially between the moveable member and the housing; and
a controller operable to determine an input to the stylus using a change in capacitance detected using the force sensor component.
In the same field of endeavor, Baugh et al. teach
[force sensor component] (Col. 12, Ln. 43-49, FIG. 5A & 5B, i.e. force sensor 170) positioned at least partially between (FIG. 5A & 5B, i.e. as shown by the figure(s) 170 positioned between 156 and 154) the moveable member (Col. 13, Ln. 43-49, FIG. 5A & 5B, i.e. compliant member 156 … deformed according to a spring characteristic) and the housing (Col. 11, Ln. 59-67, FIG. 5A & 5B, i.e. housing 154); and
a controller (Col. 30, Ln. 16-20, FIG. 17, i.e. processing unit 1708b) operable to determine an input (Col. 11, Ln. 18-26, FIG. 17, i.e. input structure 152 … configured to measure or estimate a force input) to the stylus (Col. 11, Ln. 18-26, FIG. 2-5, i.e. input device 120) using a change in capacitance (Col. 12, Ln. 49-64, FIG. 5A & 5B, i.e. capacitance between the first and second electrodes 172a, 172b may change) detected using the force sensor component (Col. 12, Ln. 60-64, FIG. 5A & 5B, i.e. sensor 170 may include first and second electrodes 172a, 172b … change in capacitance may be indicative of a distance D separating the first and second electrodes 172a, 172b).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention’s effective date was filed to modify Hou et al. teaching of a stylus comprising two sensors with Baugh et al. teaching of a stylus comprising controller and force sensor disposed between moveable member and the housing to effectively detect both axial and circumferential movements of the tip relative to the stylus axis by a controller determining capacitance change in the sensor (Baugh et al.’s Col. 11, Ln. 26-33).
Regarding Claim 19, (Original)
the stylus of claim 18, wherein
Hou et al. teach
the flexible circuit extends around at least two sides (FIG. 3, i.e. as shown by the figure(s) 110 extends around top and bottom sides of 114) of an object ([0038], FIG. 1-7 & 17, i.e. accelerometer 114) disposed at the center of the housing (FIG. 3, i.e. as shown by the figure(s) 114 disposed at the center of the housing).
Regarding Claim 20, (Original)
the stylus of claim 18, wherein
Hou et al. teach
an object ([0038], FIG. 1-7 & 17, i.e. slide sensor 140) disposed at the center of the housing (FIG. 2, i.e. as shown by the figure(s) 140 disposed at the center (left and right sides) of the housing) contacts the interior surface of the housing ([0038], FIG. 1-7 & 17, i.e. slide sensor 140 against an interior surface of the stylus barrel 10).
3. Claim(s) 5-10 and 14-15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hou et al. (US Patent/PGPub. No. 20180024650) and Baugh et al. (US Patent/PGPub. No. 10936092) in view of Attarian et al. (US Patent/PGPub. No. 10564740).
Regarding Claim 5, (Original)
Hou et al. and Baugh et al. teach
the stylus of claim 1.
However, Hou et al. and Baugh et al. do not explicitly teach
further comprising a controller that is operable to determine an input to the stylus using a touch detected using the first sensor component and a non-binary amount of the force, the non-binary amount of the force determined using the second sensor component.
In the same field of endeavor, Attarian et al. teach
further comprising a controller (Col. 8, Ln. 54-67, FIG. 3, i.e. EM signal generator 320) that is operable to determine an input to the stylus using a touch (Col. 8, Ln. 52-55, FIG. 3, i.e. user operable to close the circuit path 310) detected using the first sensor component (Col. 8, Ln. 52-58, FIG. 3, i.e. button 210) and a non-binary amount of the force (Col. 10, Ln. 23-29, FIG. 3, i.e. resistance value that changes according to a level of pressure exerted on the resistor), the non-binary amount of the force (i.e. please see above citation(s)) determined using the second sensor component (Col. 10, Ln. 23-29, FIG. 3, i.e. button 220).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention’s effective date was filed to modify Hou et al. and Baugh et al. teaching of a stylus comprising proximity sensor and force sensor with Attarian et al. teaching of a stylus comprising proximity sensor and various levels of force sensor to effectively produce variety of pressures exerted on the force sensor utilizing various levels of force sensor (Attarian et al.’s Col. 10, Ln. 29-33).
Regarding Claim 6, (Original)
the stylus of claim 5, wherein
Hou et al. teach
the controller (i.e. please see above citation(s)) is disposed at the center (FIG. 2-3, i.e. as shown by the figure(s) controller 116 disposed at the center of the housing near 113) of the housing (i.e. please see above citation(s)).
Regarding Claim 7, (Original)
the stylus of claim 6, wherein
Hou et al. teach
the controller (i.e. please see above citation(s)) is sputtered, plated, or deposited with a conductive material ([0010], FIG. 3, i.e. first conductive layer of the flexible PCB).
Regarding Claim 8, (Original)
Hou et al. and Baugh et al. teach
the stylus of claim 1.
However, Hou et al. and Baugh et al. do not explicitly teach
further comprising an antenna assembly.
In the same field of endeavor, Attarian et al. teach
further comprising an antenna assembly (Col. 10, Ln. 6-10, FIG. 3, i.e. antenna 344).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention’s effective date was filed to combine Hou et al. and Baugh et al. teaching of a stylus comprising proximity sensor and force sensor with Attarian et al. teaching of a stylus comprising sensors and antenna to effectively communicate with other electronic devices and transmitting pertinent signals using an antenna (Attarian et al.’s Col. 10, Ln. 8-17).
Regarding Claim 9, (Original)
the stylus of claim 8, wherein
Attarian et al. teach
the antenna assembly (i.e. please see above citation(s)) is disposed at the center of the housing (FIG. 2-3, i.e. as shown by the figure(s) antenna 344 is connected to controller 340 (FIG. 3) on electronic circuit 240 which is disposed at the center of the housing near 113 (FIG. 2)).
Regarding Claim 10, (Original)
Hou et al. and Baugh et al. teach
the stylus of claim 1.
However, Hou et al. and Baugh et al. do not explicitly teach
wherein the material is deformable.
In the same field of endeavor, Attarian et al. teach
wherein the material (Col. 7, Ln. 38-42, FIG. 2, i.e. spring 212) is deformable (Col. 7, Ln. 38-42, FIG. 2, i.e. to return the click member 114 to an undepressed position).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention’s effective date was filed to realize that Hou et al. and Baugh et al. teaching of a stylus comprising proximity sensor and force sensor having a “hinged segment 121A” which is not a hinge but essentially being a physical connection between push button and switch would have acted as a return spring (although not explicitly disclosed) as taught by Attarian et al. teaching a stylus comprising proximity sensor and force sensor having a return spring to effectively return the button to an undepressed position after user releases the button (Attarian et al.’s Col. 7, Ln. 38-42).
Regarding Claim 14, (Original)
Hou et al. and Baugh et al. teach
the stylus of claim 11.
However, Hou et al. and Baugh et al. do not explicitly teach
further comprising an antenna assembly, wherein the flexible circuit is coupled to the antenna assembly.
In the same field of endeavor, Attarian et al. teach
further comprising an antenna assembly (Col. 10, Ln. 6-10, FIG. 3, i.e. antenna 344), wherein the flexible circuit (Col. 10, Ln. 1-5, FIG. 3, i.e. electronic circuitry 240) is coupled to (FIG. 2-3, i.e. as shown by the figure(s) 344 is connected to 340 (FIG. 3) on 240 (FIG. 2)) the antenna assembly (i.e. please see above citation(s)).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention’s effective date was filed to combine Hou et al. and Baugh et al. teaching of a stylus comprising proximity sensor and force sensor with Attarian et al. teaching of a stylus comprising sensors and antenna to effectively communicate with other electronic devices and transmitting pertinent signals using an antenna (Attarian et al.’s Col. 10, Ln. 8-17).
Regarding Claim 15, (Original)
the stylus of claim 14, wherein
Attarian et al. teach
the flexible circuit is positioned between the antenna assembly (FIG. 2-3, i.e. as shown by the figure(s) 344 is connected to 240 (FIG. 3) and 240 position above center of housing (FIG. 2)) and the center of the housing (i.e. please see above citation(s)).
4. Claim(s) 12 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hou et al. (US Patent/PGPub. No. 20180024650) and Baugh et al. (US Patent/PGPub. No. 10936092) in view of XI et al. (US Patent/PGPub. No. 20180101272).
Regarding Claim 12, (Original)
Hou et al. and Baugh et al. teach
the stylus of claim 11.
Hou et al. and Baugh et al. teach
wherein the spring member is formed of metal.
In the same field of endeavor, XI et al. teach
wherein the spring member ([0011], i.e. reset spring) is formed of metal ([0011], i.e. may be a metal wire spring).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention’s effective date was filed to modify Hou et al. and Baugh et al. teaching of a stylus comprising proximity sensors and connecting means with XI et al. teaching of a stylus comprising proximity sensors and metal spring to effectively produce return mechanism to a push button after user releases the button using a metal spring (XI et al.’s [0011])).
5. Claim(s) 17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hou et al. (US Patent/PGPub. No. 20180024650) and Baugh et al. (US Patent/PGPub. No. 10936092) in view of Logan et al. (US Patent/PGPub. No. 9182856).
Regarding Claim 17, (Original)
Hou et al. and Baugh et al. teach
the stylus of claim 11.
However, Hou et al. and Baugh et al. do not explicitly teach
wherein a capacitance of the force sensor component is operable to change as the flexible circuit moves with respect to the center of the housing.
In the same field of endeavor, Logan et al. teach
wherein a capacitance (Col. 11, Ln. 17-24, FIG. 5, i.e. capacitance) of the force sensor component (Col. 10, Ln. 6-10, FIG. 5, i.e. force sensor 42 may be implemented as a capacitive sensor) is operable to change (Col. 11, Ln. 17-24, FIG. 5, i.e. change of capacitance) as the flexible circuit moves (Col. 10, Ln. 6-10, FIG. 5, i.e. applied force on spring structure 62 causes a displacement of a portion of … cutout portion 70; Col. 10, Ln. 61-67, FIG. 5, i.e. 64 and 66 may be formed from one or more metal layers of PCB 60 (Please note that 62 is a cut-out portion of PCB 6)) with respect to the center of the housing (FIG. 5, i.e. as shown by the figure(s) 62 moved upward toward top center of the housing when force applied).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention’s effective date was filed to modify that Hou et al. and Baugh et al. teaching of a stylus comprising proximity sensor and force sensor at the tip Logan et al. teaching a stylus comprising proximity sensor and capacitive force sensor at the tip to effectively detect movement of the tip utilizing capacitive force sensor (Logan et al.’s Abstract).
Response to Argument/Amendment
6. Applicant’s arguments with respect to Claim(s) 1, 11, and 18 has/have been considered but are moot because the arguments do not apply to the newly added reference(s) being used in the current rejection.
7. All dependent claims are properly rejected or objected as shown above.
8. Applicants’ Response to the Non-Final Office Action, 03/09/2026, has been entered and made of record. Claim(s) 1, 11, and 18 is/are amended. Thus, Claim(s) 1-20 is/are pending in this application.
9. Applicant’s arguments, see P. 6, filed 07/06/2026, with respect to Drawing Objections have been fully considered and are persuasive. The Drawing Objections has/have been withdrawn.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/VINH T LAM/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2628