DETAILED ACTION
Claims 1-16 are pending in the present application.
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers submitted under 35 U.S.C. 119(a)-(d), which papers have been placed of record in the file.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 8-16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Regarding claims 8 and 11-16, a single claim which claims both an apparatus and the method steps of using the apparatus is indefinite under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, second paragraph (see MPEP 2173.05(p)). In this case, claims 8 and 10-16 are each apparatus claims that include the method step of “the base band, the first liquid leakage detection wire and the second liquid leakage detection wire are allowed to be cut along a body of the first splice sheet and a body of the second splice sheet”. For the purpose of examination, the phrase has been read as “the base band, the first liquid leakage detection wire, and the second liquid leakage detection wire include a cut along a body of the first splice sheet and a body of the second splice sheet”.
Regarding claim 10, a single claim which claims both an apparatus and the method steps of using the apparatus is indefinite under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, second paragraph (see MPEP 2173.05(p)). In this case, claim 10 is an apparatus claim that includes the method step of “the base band, the first liquid leakage detection wire, and the second liquid leakage detection wire (30) are allowed to be cut between the two first splice sub-sheets and between the two second splice sub-sheets”. For the purpose of examination, the phrase has been read as “the base band, the first liquid leakage detection wire, and the second liquid leakage detection wire includes a cut between the two first splice sub-sheets and between the two second splice sub-sheets”.
Regarding claim 9, this claim is rejected for failing to remedy the rejection of claim 8 above under 35 U.S.C. 112(b).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-4 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Soo (KR 10-2015-0127953, hereinafter Soo).
Regarding claim 1, Soo teaches a liquid leakage detection device (see Fig. 3 and 4, all elements; see Abstract; see also translation page 3, para. 4 through page 7, para. 7, discussion of liquid leak detection device) comprising a base layer (110), a first liquid leakage detection wire (120) and a second liquid leakage detection wire (130), wherein the first liquid leakage detection wire and the second liquid leakage detection wire are distributed on the base layer and are spaced apart from each other (see Fig. 3 and 4, the first liquid leakage detection wire 120 and the second liquid leakage detection wire 130 are distributed on the base layer 110 and are spaced apart from each other as shown); and the first liquid leakage detection wire and the second liquid leakage detection wire extend from a first end of the base layer to a second end of the base layer, and return back to the first end of the base layer, wherein the first end and the second end of the base layer refer to two ends of the base layer away from each other in a length direction of the base layer (see Fig. 3, the first liquid leakage detection wire 120 and the second liquid leakage detection wire 130 start at the left (first) end of the base layer 110, extend to the right (second) end of the bas layer 110, and subsequently both return to the left (first) end of the base layer 110 as shown).
Soo fails to specifically teach that the liquid leakage detection device is a band, wherein the base layer is a band.
However, Soo teaches that the base layer of the liquid leakage detection device is formed of thin flexible materials (see translation page 3, para. 6, use of 100 micron to 5 mm ETFE or PTFE).
Therefore, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, to utilize the device of Soo as a band. This is because one of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized that the device would be capable of being placed on a curved object so as to form a band due to the flexible nature of the materials used to form the liquid leakage detection device of Soo.
Regarding claim 2, Soo above teaches all of the limitations of claim 1.
Furthermore, Soo teaches that the first end of the base band (110) is provided with a first extension portion (120a) and a second extension portion (130a), a first terminal of the first liquid leakage detection wire and the second liquid leakage detection wire is located on the first extension portion (see Fig. 3, first terminal 121a of the first liquid leakage detection wire 120 located on the first extension portion 120a), and a second terminal of the first liquid leakage detection wire and the second liquid leakage detection wire is located on the second extension portion (see Fig. 3, second terminal 132a of the second liquid leakage detection wire 130 located on the second extension portion 130a).
Regarding claim 3, Soo above teaches all of the limitations of claims 1 and 2.
Furthermore, Soo teaches that the first extension portion (120a) and the second extension portion (130a) are parallel to each other (see Fig. 3, the first extension portion 120a and the second extension portion 130a extend left to right along parallel lines and thus considered parallel to each other).
Regarding claim 4, Soo above teaches all of the limitations of claims 1 and 2.
Soo fails to specifically teach that an arc transition is provided at a junction of the first extension portion and the base band, and another arc transition is provided at a junction of the second extension portion and the base band.
However, as described above, Soo does teach that the base layer of the liquid leakage detection device is formed of thin flexible materials (see translation page 3, para. 6, use of 100 micron to 5 mm ETFE or PTFE).
Therefore, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, that upon bending or formation of the device of Soo as a band, the junctions between the first and second extension portions and the base band would form an arc shaped transition in the cross-sectional view. This would occur as the first and second extension portions of Soo were flexed and maintained contact with the underlying base band.
Claims 5-7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Soo as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Olson et al. (US PGPUB 2019/0369153 A1, hereinafter Olson).
Regarding claim 5, Soo above teaches all of the limitations of claim 1.
Soo above fails to teach at least one first detection sheet is provided at a side of the first liquid leakage detection wire towards the second liquid leakage detection wire, and/or at least one second detection sheet is provided at a side of the second liquid leakage detection wire towards the first liquid leakage detection wire.
Olson teaches a liquid leakage detection device (see Fig. 2A, all elements); see also Abstract and [0046], discussion of leakage detection device 230), including at least one first detection sheet is provided at a side of the first liquid leakage detection wire towards the second liquid leakage detection wire (see Fig. 2A, inner fingers (sheets) of first liquid leakage detection wire of contact 2 extend left-to-right towards the second liquid leakage detection wire of contact 3), and/or at least one second detection sheet is provided at a side of the second liquid leakage detection wire towards the first liquid leakage detection wire (see Fig. 2A, inner fingers (sheets) of second liquid leakage detection wire of contact 3 extend right-to-left towards the first liquid leakage detection wire of contact 2).
Therefore, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, to modify the device of Soo such that the interleaved serpentine shaped leakage detection wires were replaced with the fingers (sheets) of Olson. This design can allow for identification of the regions of the device associated with a leak or short as described by Olson (see [0008]).
Regarding claim 6, Soo as modified by Olson above teaches all of the limitations of claim 1 and 5.
Soo as modified by Olson above fails to specifically teach that the at least one first detection sheet and the at least one second detection sheet are arranged alternatively, and a preset distance is present between the at least one first detection sheet and the at least one second detection sheet.
However, Olson further teaches that the at least one first detection sheet and the at least one second detection sheet are arranged alternatively, and a preset distance is present between the at least one first detection sheet and the at least one second detection sheet (see Fig. 2A, inner fingers (sheets) of first liquid leakage detection wire of contact 2 and inner fingers (sheets) of second liquid leakage detection wire of contact 3 arranged alternatively with the preset distance shown).
Therefore, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, to further modify the device of Soo with the arrangement of the fingers (sheets) of Olson. This design can allow for identification of the regions of the device associated with a leak or short as described by Olson (see [0008]).
Regarding claim 7, Soo above teaches all of the limitations of claim 1.
Soo above fails to specifically teach that the base band is provided with a first break detection wire and a second break detection wire; the first break detection wire is located at a side of the first liquid leakage detection wire away from the second liquid leakage detection wire, and the second break detection wire is located at a side of the second liquid leakage detection wire away from the first liquid leakage detection wire; and the first break detection wire and the second break detection wire extend from the first end of the base band to the second end of the base band, and return back to the first end of the base band.
However, Soo does teach that each of the first liquid leakage detection wire (120) and the second liquid leakage detection wire (130) may be tested for disconnection (breakage) (see translation page 5, para. 9-12, discussion of use of terminals 121a, 122a, 131a, and 132a to measure breakage of teach leakage detection wire).
Additionally, Olson teaches a liquid leakage detection device (see Fig. 2A, all elements); see also Abstract and [0046], discussion of leakage detection device 230), wherein the device includes a first liquid detection wire (see Fig. 2A, wire between 2 and 6) and a second liquid leakage detection wire (see Fig. 2A, wire between 3 and 5); and further including an additional wire capable of break detection (see Fig. 2A, wire between 1 and 7; see also [0043], each wire may be utilized to for detecting open (broken) wires).
Therefore, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, to modify the device of Soo such that one or more break detection wires were provided adjacent the leakage detection wires so as to measure open or breakage of the device as suggested by Olson. This allows for the device to ensure the accuracy of leakage testing by ensuring there are no breaks or shorts within each wire of the device as is known in the art.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 8-16 would be allowable if rewritten to overcome the rejections under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), 2nd paragraph, set forth in this Office action and to include all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter:
Regarding claims 8-16, Soo in view of Olson above represents the best art of record. However, Soo in view of Olson above fails to encompass all of the limitations of dependent claims 8 and 11-16.
Regarding claims 8 and 11-16, Soo in view of Olson above fails to critically teach that the first liquid leakage detection wire is provided with a first splice sheet, and the second liquid leakage detection wire is provided with a second splice sheet; the first splice sheet and the second splice sheet extend towards each other, and are spaced apart by a preset gap; the base band, the first liquid leakage detection wire, and the second liquid leakage detection wire include a cut along a body of the first splice sheet and a body of the second splice sheet.
Hence the best prior art or record fails to teach the invention as set forth in dependent claims 8-16 and the examiner can find no teachings for a liquid leakage detection band as particularly claimed and including the above limitations, nor reasons within the cited prior art or on his own to combine the elements of these references other than the applicant's own reasoning to fully encompass the current pending claims.
Conclusion
/NATHANIEL T WOODWARD/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2855