DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statements (IDS) submitted on August 15, 2024, and February 13, 2025, are in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statements are being considered by the examiner.
Specification
The disclosure is objected to because of the following informalities:
Paragraph [00276]: “…and the wake receiver is configured or activated to be turned on…”; “wake” seems to be a typo. It is suggested to the applicant to change “wake” to –wake-up—
Paragraph [00297]: “…while the wake-up receiver measures neighboring cells in the one state…”; “one” seems to be a typo. It is suggested to the applicant to change “one” to –on—
Appropriate correction is required.
The abstract of the disclosure is objected to because line 2 states “A method and performed by a user equipment…” “and” is not necessary, it is suggested to the applicant to remove –and--
A corrected abstract of the disclosure is required and must be presented on a separate sheet, apart from any other text. See MPEP § 608.01(b).
The lengthy specification has not been checked to the extent necessary to determine the presence of all possible minor errors. Applicant’s cooperation is requested in correcting any errors of which applicant may become aware in the specification.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-3, 7-9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Sharma (WO 2024178578 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Sharma teaches a method performed by a user equipment (UE) in a communication system, the method comprising:
receiving, via higher layer signaling, a first configuration of measurement gap (Fig. 2; [0090] For example, in some cases, the first serving cell 205-a may transmit control signaling 245 (e.g., RRC, DCI, system information, MAC-CE) , where the control signaling indicates a first set of measurement thresholds or cell selection criteria associated with cell reselection procedures performed using SSBs, and a second set of measurement thresholds or cell selection criteria associated with cell reselection procedures performed using LP-SSs 225. [0097] the control signaling 245 may indicate one or more parameters usable by the LP-WUR 220 for performing measurements on SSs 225, such as a quantity of DRX cycles between measurements (X) , a filtering operation (Y) , a quantity of measurements (Z) , a time interval between measurements (T) , or any combination thereof (a first configuration of measurement gap). [0117] By way of another example, the control signaling may indicate sets of time/frequency resources that may be used by the first serving cell 405-a (and/or other serving cells 405) to transmit SSs, such as a first set of resources associated with SSBs, and a second set of resources associated with LP-SSs.) and a second configuration associated with whether signal transmission that is available to be received by the UE using a wake-up receiver (WUR) of the UE is supported by a plurality of cells (Fig. 2; [0106] As such, the control signaling 245 may indicate cell IDs of neighboring serving cells 205 that support intra-frequency and inter-frequency LP-SSs 225.);
identifying the measurement gap based on the first configuration (Fig. 4; [0128] As such, the LP-WUR 410 may perform the measurements at 450 based on transmitting the capability information at 420, receiving the control signaling at 425 (first configuration)…or any combination thereof.);
identifying at least one cell supporting the signal transmission among the plurality of cells based on the second configuration (Fig. 4; [0128] As such, the LP-WUR 410 may perform the measurements at 450 based on transmitting the capability information at 420, receiving the control signaling at 425 (second configuration)…or any combination thereof.); and
performing, by using the WUR during the measurement gap, a measurement for the at least one cell (Fig. 4; [0128] At 450, the LP-WUR 410 may perform measurements (e.g., RSRP, RSRQ, SNR, SINR) on the second SS received from the second serving cell 405-b.).
Regarding claim 2, Sharma teaches the method of claim 1, wherein the signal transmission includes at least one of on-off keying (OOK)-based signal transmission or orthogonal frequency division multiplexing (OFDM)-based signal transmission ([0018] In other cases, the SSs received by the LP-WUR may include LP-SSs (LP-SSs) that are different from SSBs. For example, LP-SSBs may utilize a different modulation scheme (e.g., on-off keying (OOK) modulation scheme, orthogonal frequency domain modulation (OFDM) scheme, etc. [0087] For instance, LP-SSs 225 may be associated with an OOK waveform/modulation scheme, an OFDM-based waveform/modulation scheme, or both.), and wherein the plurality of cells includes at least one of a neighbor cell, a cell on a particular frequency band, or a cell on a particular frequency ([0106] As such, the control signaling 245 may indicate cell IDs of neighboring serving cells 205 that support intra-frequency and inter-frequency LP-SSs 225.).
Regarding claim 3, Sharma teaches the method of claim 2, wherein the OOK-based signal transmission includes at least one of OOK-based wake-up signal transmission or OOK-based synchronization signal transmission ([0018] In other cases, the SSs received by the LP-WUR may include LP-SSs (LP-SSs) that are different from SSBs. For example, LP-SSBs may utilize a different modulation scheme (e.g., on-off keying (OOK) modulation scheme, orthogonal frequency domain modulation (OFDM) scheme, etc.),), and wherein the OFDM-based signal transmission includes at least one of primary synchronization signal (PSS) transmission, secondary synchronization signal (SSS) transmission, physical broadcast channel (PBCH) transmission, or synchronization signal block (SSB) transmission ([0018] In some cases, the SSs received by the LP-WUR may include synchronization signals blocks (SSBs) that are used by the main radio to perform cell-selection related measurements. In other cases, the SSs received by the LP-WUR may include LP-SSs (LP-SSs) that are different from SSBs. For example, LP-SSBs may utilize a different modulation scheme (e.g., on-off keying (OOK) modulation scheme, orthogonal frequency domain modulation (OFDM) scheme, etc. ) , and may exhibit different parameters (e.g., different transmit power, different periodicity) as compared to SSBs.).
Regarding claim 7, Sharma teaches a user equipment (UE) in a communication system, the UE comprising:
a transceiver (Fig. 8; transceiver 815); and
a processor (Fig. 8; processor 840) coupled with the transceiver and configured to:
receive, via higher layer signaling, a first configuration of measurement gap (Fig. 2; [0090] For example, in some cases, the first serving cell 205-a may transmit control signaling 245 (e.g., RRC, DCI, system information, MAC-CE) , where the control signaling indicates a first set of measurement thresholds or cell selection criteria associated with cell reselection procedures performed using SSBs, and a second set of measurement thresholds or cell selection criteria associated with cell reselection procedures performed using LP-SSs 225. [0097] the control signaling 245 may indicate one or more parameters usable by the LP-WUR 220 for performing measurements on SSs 225, such as a quantity of DRX cycles between measurements (X), a filtering operation (Y), a quantity of measurements (Z), a time interval between measurements (T) , or any combination thereof (a first configuration of measurement gap). [0117] By way of another example, the control signaling may indicate sets of time/frequency resources that may be used by the first serving cell 405-a (and/or other serving cells 405) to transmit SSs, such as a first set of resources associated with SSBs, and a second set of resources associated with LP-SSs.) and a second configuration associated with whether signal transmission that is available to be received by the UE using a wake-up receiver (WUR) of the UE is supported by a plurality of cells (Fig. 2; [0106] As such, the control signaling 245 may indicate cell IDs of neighboring serving cells 205 that support intra-frequency and inter-frequency LP-SSs 225.),
identify the measurement gap based on the first configuration (Fig. 4; [0128] As such, the LP-WUR 410 may perform the measurements at 450 based on transmitting the capability information at 420, receiving the control signaling at 425 (first configuration)…or any combination thereof.),
identify at least one cell supporting the signal transmission among the plurality of cells based on the second configuration (Fig. 4; [0128] As such, the LP-WUR 410 may perform the measurements at 450 based on transmitting the capability information at 420, receiving the control signaling at 425 (second configuration)…or any combination thereof.), and
perform, by using the WUR during the measurement gap, a measurement for the at least one cell (Fig. 4; [0128] At 450, the LP-WUR 410 may perform measurements (e.g., RSRP, RSRQ, SNR, SINR) on the second SS received from the second serving cell 405-b.).
Regarding claim 8, Sharma teaches the UE of claim 7, wherein the signal transmission includes at least one of on-off keying (OOK)-based signal transmission or orthogonal frequency division multiplexing (OFDM)-based signal transmission ([0018] In other cases, the SSs received by the LP-WUR may include LP-SSs (LP-SSs) that are different from SSBs. For example, LP-SSBs may utilize a different modulation scheme (e.g., on-off keying (OOK) modulation scheme, orthogonal frequency domain modulation (OFDM) scheme, etc. [0087] For instance, LP-SSs 225 may be associated with an OOK waveform/modulation scheme, an OFDM-based waveform/modulation scheme, or both.), and wherein the plurality of cells includes at least one of a neighbor cell, a cell on a particular frequency band, or a cell on a particular frequency ([0106] As such, the control signaling 245 may indicate cell IDs of neighboring serving cells 205 that support intra-frequency and inter-frequency LP-SSs 225.).
Regarding claim 9, Sharma teaches the UE of claim 8, wherein the OOK-based signal transmission includes at least one of OOK-based wake-up signal transmission or OOK-based synchronization signal transmission ([0018] In other cases, the SSs received by the LP-WUR may include LP-SSs (LP-SSs) that are different from SSBs. For example, LP-SSBs may utilize a different modulation scheme (e.g., on-off keying (OOK) modulation scheme, orthogonal frequency domain modulation (OFDM) scheme, etc.),), and wherein the OFDM-based signal transmission includes at least one of primary synchronization signal (PSS) transmission, secondary synchronization signal (SSS) transmission, physical broadcast channel (PBCH) transmission, or synchronization signal block (SSB) transmission ([0018] In some cases, the SSs received by the LP-WUR may include synchronization signals blocks (SSBs) that are used by the main radio to perform cell-selection related measurements. In other cases, the SSs received by the LP-WUR may include LP-SSs (LP-SSs) that are different from SSBs. For example, LP-SSBs may utilize a different modulation scheme (e.g., on-off keying (OOK) modulation scheme, orthogonal frequency domain modulation (OFDM) scheme, etc. ) , and may exhibit different parameters (e.g., different transmit power, different periodicity) as compared to SSBs.).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 4 and 10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sharma in view of Nagaraja (US 20190021017 A1).
Regarding claim 4, Sharma teaches the method of claim 1, but does not teach further comprising: communicating, by using a main radio (MR) of the UE during the measurement gap, at least one of a downlink signal or an uplink signal with a serving cell different from the plurality of cells, wherein the downlink signal does not include a wake-up signal.
Nagaraja in the same field of endeavor of measurement gaps in wireless communications teaches communicating, by using a main radio (MR) of the UE during the measurement gap, at least one of a downlink signal or an uplink signal with a serving cell different from the plurality of cells, wherein the downlink signal does not include a wake-up signal ([0058] In an aspect, based on a type of application used for communication between the UE and the network, the network may configure UL resources during measurement gaps to allow UE to transmit on the UL during measurement gaps. For example, if the base station determines that the a given communication between the UE and the base station is associated with a particular type of application (e.g., an ultra-low latency application or a mission critical application), the base station may configure UL resources to be used by the UE during measurement gaps to communicate with the base station so that the UE may communicate information (e.g., latency sensitive signal or mission critical information) corresponding to the particular type of application even during the measurement gaps. The communication associated with the particular type of application may be a control signal and/or a data signal and/or a reference signal. [0059] In an aspect, the network may send a downlink control channel signal (e.g., PDCCH (in CSS (common search space) and/or USS (user specific search space)) during a measurement gap to check if the UE has completed measurements. For example, if a base station configures a long measurement gap, the UE may complete its measurements before the measurement gap expires and may not go into a sleep mode or may not perform other tasks until the measurement gap expires. In an aspect, if the UE completes its measurements before the measurement gap expires, the UE may monitor for a downlink control channel signal (e.g., in CSS and/or USS). The base station may send a downlink control channel during the measurement gaps to check if the UE has completed the measurements. By sending the downlink control channel signal, the base station may allocate a UL grant and/or may allocate resources for RS transmission on UL, and monitor UE's response. In an aspect, the UE may send a response based on the UL grant or the allocated resources for RS transmission if the UE has completed its measurements.).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teachings of Sharma to include the measurement gap configuration of Nagaraja. The motivation to do so would have been to allow the UE to communicate information (e.g., latency sensitive signal or mission critical information) corresponding to the particular type of application even during the measurement gaps. (Nagaraja; [0058]).
Regarding claim 10, Sharma teaches the UE of claim 7 but does not teach wherein the processor is further configured to: communicate, by using a main radio (MR) of the UE during the measurement gap, at least one of a downlink signal or an uplink signal with a serving cell different from the plurality of cells, wherein the downlink signal does not include a wake-up signal.
Nagaraja in the same field of endeavor of measurement gaps in wireless communications teaches communicate, by using a main radio (MR) of the UE during the measurement gap, at least one of a downlink signal or an uplink signal with a serving cell different from the plurality of cells, wherein the downlink signal does not include a wake-up signal ([0058] In an aspect, based on a type of application used for communication between the UE and the network, the network may configure UL resources during measurement gaps to allow UE to transmit on the UL during measurement gaps. For example, if the base station determines that the a given communication between the UE and the base station is associated with a particular type of application (e.g., an ultra-low latency application or a mission critical application), the base station may configure UL resources to be used by the UE during measurement gaps to communicate with the base station so that the UE may communicate information (e.g., latency sensitive signal or mission critical information) corresponding to the particular type of application even during the measurement gaps. The communication associated with the particular type of application may be a control signal and/or a data signal and/or a reference signal. [0059] In an aspect, the network may send a downlink control channel signal (e.g., PDCCH (in CSS (common search space) and/or USS (user specific search space)) during a measurement gap to check if the UE has completed measurements. For example, if a base station configures a long measurement gap, the UE may complete its measurements before the measurement gap expires and may not go into a sleep mode or may not perform other tasks until the measurement gap expires. In an aspect, if the UE completes its measurements before the measurement gap expires, the UE may monitor for a downlink control channel signal (e.g., in CSS and/or USS). The base station may send a downlink control channel during the measurement gaps to check if the UE has completed the measurements. By sending the downlink control channel signal, the base station may allocate a UL grant and/or may allocate resources for RS transmission on UL, and monitor UE's response. In an aspect, the UE may send a response based on the UL grant or the allocated resources for RS transmission if the UE has completed its measurements.).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teachings of Sharma to include the measurement gap configuration of Nagaraja. The motivation to do so would have been to allow the UE to communicate information (e.g., latency sensitive signal or mission critical information) corresponding to the particular type of application even during the measurement gaps. (Nagaraja; [0058]).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 5, 6, 11, 12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sharma in view of He (US 20240015653 A1); further in view of Elshafie (US 20240129854 A1).
Regarding claim 5, Sharma teaches the method of claim 1, but does not teach further comprising: receiving, via the higher layer signaling, a third configuration of a first transmission resource for a measurement report for the measurement performed by using the WUR; and transmitting the measurement report for the measurement performed by using the WUR on the first transmission resource.
He in the same field of endeavor of low power wake up receivers in wireless communications teaches further comprising:
receiving, via the higher layer signaling, a third configuration for a measurement report for the measurement performed by using the WUR (Fig. 5; [0052] The WUR configuration may additionally include a configuration for a new WUR-RS-based measurement report that transmitted upon the occurrence of a triggering event, to be described in further detail below with reference to FIG. 6. [0053] The WUR configuration parameters may be provided to the UE in the following ways. In a first option, the set of WUR-specific parameters may be provided by SIB for all UEs being served by the gNB 520. In a second option, the set of WUR-specific parameters may be provided through dedicated RRC signaling after receiving the WUR request in 525 above.); and
transmitting the measurement report for the measurement performed by using the WUR ([0055] In optional 540, assuming the first option of 530 described above is used (where WUR-specific parameters are broadcasted by SIB), the UE 505 may send measurement results, e.g., WUR-RS-RSRP, that are measured by the WUR 515 based on the configured WUR-RS.).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teachings of Sharma to include the triggered measurement report of He. The motivation to do so would have been to allow the UE 605 to keep the MR 610 in the powered off (or very deep sleep) state for a longer duration (He; [0061]).
He does not explicitly teach a first transmission resource.
Elshafie in the same field of endeavor of wake up radio receiver in wireless communications teaches a first transmission resource ([0154] In this case, the UE may transmit the CSI report using the second radio component when the second radio component wakes up using one or more resources.).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teachings of He to include the resources for transmitting a measurement report of Elshafie. The motivation to do so would have been to include information identifying at least one of an RSRP, an RSRQ, an SINR value, an interference level, a CQI, an MCS, a precoding matrix indicator (PMI), a beamforming parameter (e.g., analog beam information or energy information (e.g., a charging rate, a discharging rate, power consumption level, or an energy level), such as when the UE has an energy harvesting capability (e.g., via radio frequency (RF) transmission harvesting, solar harvesting, or laser harvesting) (Elshafie; [0154]).
Regarding claim 6, He teaches the method of claim 5, wherein the measurement report is transmitted by using a MR of the UE ([0061] To transmit this measurement report, the UE 605 may use the MR).
He does not teach wherein the first transmission resource is configured separately from a second transmission resource for a measurement report for a measurement performed by using the MR, or the second transmission resource is shared with the first transmission resource.
Elshafie teaches wherein the first transmission resource is configured separately from a second transmission resource for a measurement report for a measurement performed by using the MR, or the second transmission resource is shared with the first transmission resource ([0154] For example, the UE may transmit a CSI report based at least in part on a CSI-RS processed by the second radio component (MR) or an LP-RS processed by the first radio component (WUR). In this case, the UE may transmit the CSI report using the second radio component (MR) when the second radio component wakes up using one or more resources (first and second transmission resources). In some aspects, the UE may bundle a plurality of reports into a single resource (second transmission resource is shared with the first transmission resource) or may transmit a plurality of reports using a plurality of separate resources (first transmission resource is configured separately from a second transmission resource) (e.g., configured by the network node).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teachings of He to include the resources for transmitting a measurement report of Elshafie. The motivation to do so would have been to include information identifying at least one of an RSRP, an RSRQ, an SINR value, an interference level, a CQI, an MCS, a precoding matrix indicator (PMI), a beamforming parameter (e.g., analog beam information or energy information (e.g., a charging rate, a discharging rate, power consumption level, or an energy level), such as when the UE has an energy harvesting capability (e.g., via radio frequency (RF) transmission harvesting, solar harvesting, or laser harvesting) (Elshafie; [0154]).
Regarding claim 11, Sharma teaches the UE of claim 7 but does not teach wherein the processor is further configured to: receive, via the higher layer signaling, a third configuration of a first transmission resource for a measurement report for the measurement performed by using the WUR; and transmit the measurement report for the measurement performed by using the WUR on the first transmission resource.
He in the same field of endeavor of low power wake up receivers in wireless communications teaches wherein the processor is further configured to:
receive, via the higher layer signaling, a third configuration for a measurement report for the measurement performed by using the WUR (Fig. 5; [0052] The WUR configuration may additionally include a configuration for a new WUR-RS-based measurement report that transmitted upon the occurrence of a triggering event, to be described in further detail below with reference to FIG. 6. [0053] The WUR configuration parameters may be provided to the UE in the following ways. In a first option, the set of WUR-specific parameters may be provided by SIB for all UEs being served by the gNB 520. In a second option, the set of WUR-specific parameters may be provided through dedicated RRC signaling after receiving the WUR request in 525 above.); and
transmit the measurement report for the measurement performed by using the WUR ([0055] In optional 540, assuming the first option of 530 described above is used (where WUR-specific parameters are broadcasted by SIB), the UE 505 may send measurement results, e.g., WUR-RS-RSRP, that are measured by the WUR 515 based on the configured WUR-RS.).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teachings of Sharma to include the triggered measurement report of He. The motivation to do so would have been to allow the UE 605 to keep the MR 610 in the powered off (or very deep sleep) state for a longer duration (He; [0061]).
He does not explicitly teach a first transmission resource.
Elshafie in the same field of endeavor of wake up radio receiver in wireless communications teaches a first transmission resource ([0154] In this case, the UE may transmit the CSI report using the second radio component when the second radio component wakes up using one or more resources.).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teachings of He to include the resources for transmitting a measurement report of Elshafie. The motivation to do so would have been to include information identifying at least one of an RSRP, an RSRQ, an SINR value, an interference level, a CQI, an MCS, a precoding matrix indicator (PMI), a beamforming parameter (e.g., analog beam information or energy information (e.g., a charging rate, a discharging rate, power consumption level, or an energy level), such as when the UE has an energy harvesting capability (e.g., via radio frequency (RF) transmission harvesting, solar harvesting, or laser harvesting) (Elshafie; [0154]).
Regarding claim 12, He teaches the UE of claim 11, wherein the measurement report is transmitted by using a MR of the UE ([0061] To transmit this measurement report, the UE 605 may use the MR).
He does not teach wherein the first transmission resource is configured separately from a second transmission resource for a measurement report for a measurement performed by using the MR, or the second transmission resource is shared with the first transmission resource.
Elshafie teaches wherein the first transmission resource is configured separately from a second transmission resource for a measurement report for a measurement performed by using the MR, or the second transmission resource is shared with the first transmission resource ([0154] For example, the UE may transmit a CSI report based at least in part on a CSI-RS processed by the second radio component (MR) or an LP-RS processed by the first radio component (WUR). In this case, the UE may transmit the CSI report using the second radio component (MR) when the second radio component wakes up using one or more resources (first and second transmission resources). In some aspects, the UE may bundle a plurality of reports into a single resource (second transmission resource is shared with the first transmission resource) or may transmit a plurality of reports using a plurality of separate resources (first transmission resource is configured separately from a second transmission resource) (e.g., configured by the network node).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teachings of He to include the resources for transmitting a measurement report of Elshafie. The motivation to do so would have been to include information identifying at least one of an RSRP, an RSRQ, an SINR value, an interference level, a CQI, an MCS, a precoding matrix indicator (PMI), a beamforming parameter (e.g., analog beam information or energy information (e.g., a charging rate, a discharging rate, power consumption level, or an energy level), such as when the UE has an energy harvesting capability (e.g., via radio frequency (RF) transmission harvesting, solar harvesting, or laser harvesting) (Elshafie; [0154]).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 13, 14, 17, 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sharma in view of He (US 20240015653 A1).
Regarding claim 13, Sharma teaches a method performed by a base station in a communication system, the method comprising:
transmitting, to a user equipment (UE) via higher layer signaling, a first configuration of measurement gap (Fig. 2; [0090] For example, in some cases, the first serving cell 205-a may transmit control signaling 245 (e.g., RRC, DCI, system information, MAC-CE) , where the control signaling indicates a first set of measurement thresholds or cell selection criteria associated with cell reselection procedures performed using SSBs, and a second set of measurement thresholds or cell selection criteria associated with cell reselection procedures performed using LP-SSs 225. [0097] the control signaling 245 may indicate one or more parameters usable by the LP-WUR 220 for performing measurements on SSs 225, such as a quantity of DRX cycles between measurements (X), a filtering operation (Y), a quantity of measurements (Z), a time interval between measurements (T) , or any combination thereof (a first configuration of measurement gap). [0117] By way of another example, the control signaling may indicate sets of time/frequency resources that may be used by the first serving cell 405-a (and/or other serving cells 405) to transmit SSs, such as a first set of resources associated with SSBs, and a second set of resources associated with LP-SSs.) and a second configuration associated with whether signal transmission that is available to be received by the UE using a wake-up receiver (WUR) of the UE is supported by a plurality of cells (Fig. 2; [0106] As such, the control signaling 245 may indicate cell IDs of neighboring serving cells 205 that support intra-frequency and inter-frequency LP-SSs 225.).
Sharma does not teach receiving a measurement report for a measurement for at least one cell supporting the signal transmission among the plurality of cells, wherein the measurement is associated with the WUR and the measurement gap.
He in the same field of endeavor of low power wake up receivers in wireless communications teaches
receiving a measurement report for a measurement for at least one cell supporting the signal transmission among the plurality of cells, wherein the measurement is associated with the WUR and the measurement gap ([0055] In optional 540, assuming the first option of 530 described above is used (where WUR-specific parameters are broadcasted by SIB), the UE 505 may send measurement results, e.g., WUR-RS-RSRP, that are measured by the WUR 515 based on the configured WUR-RS. [0111] In some embodiments, neighbor cell measurement by the WUR can be enabled whenever WUR is enabled. The configuration of the signals for neighbor cell measurements by the WUR may be provided in broadcast messages such as a SIB, or a UE-specific message before the UE enters the idle/inactive state.).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teachings of Sharma to include the triggered measurement report of He. The motivation to do so would have been to allow the UE 605 to keep the MR 610 in the powered off (or very deep sleep) state for a longer duration (He; [0061]).
Regarding claim 14, Sharma and He teaches the method of claim 13, and Sharma teaches wherein the signal transmission includes at least one of on-off keying (OOK)-based signal transmission or orthogonal frequency division multiplexing (OFDM)-based signal transmission ([0018] In other cases, the SSs received by the LP-WUR may include LP-SSs (LP-SSs) that are different from SSBs. For example, LP-SSBs may utilize a different modulation scheme (e.g., on-off keying (OOK) modulation scheme, orthogonal frequency domain modulation (OFDM) scheme, etc. [0087] For instance, LP-SSs 225 may be associated with an OOK waveform/modulation scheme, an OFDM-based waveform/modulation scheme, or both.), wherein the plurality of cells includes at least one of a neighbor cell, a cell on a particular frequency band, or a cell on a particular frequency ([0106] As such, the control signaling 245 may indicate cell IDs of neighboring serving cells 205 that support intra-frequency and inter-frequency LP-SSs 225.), wherein the OOK-based signal transmission includes at least one of OOK-based wake-up signal transmission or OOK-based synchronization signal transmission ([0018] In other cases, the SSs received by the LP-WUR may include LP-SSs (LP-SSs) that are different from SSBs. For example, LP-SSBs may utilize a different modulation scheme (e.g., on-off keying (OOK) modulation scheme, orthogonal frequency domain modulation (OFDM) scheme, etc.),), and wherein the OFDM-based signal transmission includes at least one of primary synchronization signal (PSS) transmission, secondary synchronization signal (SSS) transmission, physical broadcast channel (PBCH) transmission, or synchronization signal block (SSB) transmission ([0018] In some cases, the SSs received by the LP-WUR may include synchronization signals blocks (SSBs) that are used by the main radio to perform cell-selection related measurements. In other cases, the SSs received by the LP-WUR may include LP-SSs (LP-SSs) that are different from SSBs. For example, LP-SSBs may utilize a different modulation scheme (e.g., on-off keying (OOK) modulation scheme, orthogonal frequency domain modulation (OFDM) scheme, etc. ) , and may exhibit different parameters (e.g., different transmit power, different periodicity) as compared to SSBs.).
Regarding claim 17, Sharma teaches a base station in a communication system, the base station comprising:
a transceiver (Fig. 12; transceiver 1210); and
a processor (Fig. 12; processor 1235) coupled with the transceiver and configured to:
transmit, to a user equipment (UE) via higher layer signaling, a first configuration of measurement gap (Fig. 2; [0090] For example, in some cases, the first serving cell 205-a may transmit control signaling 245 (e.g., RRC, DCI, system information, MAC-CE) , where the control signaling indicates a first set of measurement thresholds or cell selection criteria associated with cell reselection procedures performed using SSBs, and a second set of measurement thresholds or cell selection criteria associated with cell reselection procedures performed using LP-SSs 225. [0097] the control signaling 245 may indicate one or more parameters usable by the LP-WUR 220 for performing measurements on SSs 225, such as a quantity of DRX cycles between measurements (X), a filtering operation (Y), a quantity of measurements (Z), a time interval between measurements (T) , or any combination thereof (a first configuration of measurement gap). [0117] By way of another example, the control signaling may indicate sets of time/frequency resources that may be used by the first serving cell 405-a (and/or other serving cells 405) to transmit SSs, such as a first set of resources associated with SSBs, and a second set of resources associated with LP-SSs.) and a second configuration associated with whether signal transmission that is available to be received by the UE using a wake-up receiver (WUR) of the UE is supported by a plurality of cells (Fig. 2; [0106] As such, the control signaling 245 may indicate cell IDs of neighboring serving cells 205 that support intra-frequency and inter-frequency LP-SSs 225.).
Sharma does not teach receive a measurement report for a measurement for at least one cell supporting the signal transmission among the plurality of cells, wherein the measurement is associated with the WUR and the measurement gap.
He in the same field of endeavor of low power wake up receivers in wireless communications teaches
receive a measurement report for a measurement for at least one cell supporting the signal transmission among the plurality of cells, wherein the measurement is associated with the WUR and the measurement gap ([0055] In optional 540, assuming the first option of 530 described above is used (where WUR-specific parameters are broadcasted by SIB), the UE 505 may send measurement results, e.g., WUR-RS-RSRP, that are measured by the WUR 515 based on the configured WUR-RS. [0111] In some embodiments, neighbor cell measurement by the WUR can be enabled whenever WUR is enabled. The configuration of the signals for neighbor cell measurements by the WUR may be provided in broadcast messages such as a SIB, or a UE-specific message before the UE enters the idle/inactive state.).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teachings of Sharma to include the triggered measurement report of He. The motivation to do so would have been to allow the UE 605 to keep the MR 610 in the powered off (or very deep sleep) state for a longer duration (He; [0061]).
Regarding claim 18, Sharma and He teaches the base station of claim 17, and Sharma teaches wherein the signal transmission includes at least one of on-off keying (OOK)-based signal transmission or orthogonal frequency division multiplexing (OFDM)-based signal transmission ([0018] In other cases, the SSs received by the LP-WUR may include LP-SSs (LP-SSs) that are different from SSBs. For example, LP-SSBs may utilize a different modulation scheme (e.g., on-off keying (OOK) modulation scheme, orthogonal frequency domain modulation (OFDM) scheme, etc. [0087] For instance, LP-SSs 225 may be associated with an OOK waveform/modulation scheme, an OFDM-based waveform/modulation scheme, or both.), wherein the plurality of cells includes at least one of a neighbor cell, a cell on a particular frequency band, or a cell on a particular frequency ([0106] As such, the control signaling 245 may indicate cell IDs of neighboring serving cells 205 that support intra-frequency and inter-frequency LP-SSs 225.), wherein the OOK-based signal transmission includes at least one of OOK-based wake-up signal transmission or OOK-based synchronization signal transmission ([0018] In other cases, the SSs received by the LP-WUR may include LP-SSs (LP-SSs) that are different from SSBs. For example, LP-SSBs may utilize a different modulation scheme (e.g., on-off keying (OOK) modulation scheme, orthogonal frequency domain modulation (OFDM) scheme, etc.),), and wherein the OFDM-based signal transmission includes at least one of primary synchronization signal (PSS) transmission, secondary synchronization signal (SSS) transmission, physical broadcast channel (PBCH) transmission, or synchronization signal block (SSB) transmission ([0018] In some cases, the SSs received by the LP-WUR may include synchronization signals blocks (SSBs) that are used by the main radio to perform cell-selection related measurements. In other cases, the SSs received by the LP-WUR may include LP-SSs (LP-SSs) that are different from SSBs. For example, LP-SSBs may utilize a different modulation scheme (e.g., on-off keying (OOK) modulation scheme, orthogonal frequency domain modulation (OFDM) scheme, etc. ) , and may exhibit different parameters (e.g., different transmit power, different periodicity) as compared to SSBs.).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 15, 16, 19, 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sharma in view of He; further in view of Elshafie (US 20240129854 A1).
Regarding claim 15, Sharma and He teach the method of claim 13, and He teaches further comprising: transmitting, via the higher layer signaling, a third configuration for the measurement report (Fig. 5; [0052] The WUR configuration may additionally include a configuration for a new WUR-RS-based measurement report that transmitted upon the occurrence of a triggering event, to be described in further detail below with reference to FIG. 6. [0053] The WUR configuration parameters may be provided to the UE in the following ways. In a first option, the set of WUR-specific parameters may be provided by SIB for all UEs being served by the gNB 520. In a second option, the set of WUR-specific parameters may be provided through dedicated RRC signaling after receiving the WUR request in 525 above.).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teachings of Sharma to include the triggered measurement report of He. The motivation to do so would have been to allow the UE 605 to keep the MR 610 in the powered off (or very deep sleep) state for a longer duration (He; [0061]).
He does not explicitly teach a first transmission resource, wherein the measurement report is received on the first transmission resource.
Elshafie in the same field of endeavor of wake up radio receiver in wireless communications teaches a first transmission resource, wherein the measurement report is received on the first transmission resource. ([0154] In this case, the UE may transmit the CSI report using the second radio component when the second radio component wakes up using one or more resources.).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teachings of He to include the resources for transmitting a measurement report of Elshafie. The motivation to do so would have been to include information identifying at least one of an RSRP, an RSRQ, an SINR value, an interference level, a CQI, an MCS, a precoding matrix indicator (PMI), a beamforming parameter (e.g., analog beam information or energy information (e.g., a charging rate, a discharging rate, power consumption level, or an energy level), such as when the UE has an energy harvesting capability (e.g., via radio frequency (RF) transmission harvesting, solar harvesting, or laser harvesting) (Elshafie; [0154]).
Regarding claim 16, Sharma, He and Elshafie teach the method of claim 15, and Elshafie teaches wherein the first transmission resource is configured separately from a second transmission resource for a measurement report for a measurement associated with a main radio of the UE, or wherein the second transmission resource is shared with the first transmission resource ([0154] For example, the UE may transmit a CSI report based at least in part on a CSI-RS processed by the second radio component (MR) or an LP-RS processed by the first radio component (WUR). In this case, the UE may transmit the CSI report using the second radio component (MR) when the second radio component wakes up using one or more resources (first and second transmission resources). In some aspects, the UE may bundle a plurality of reports into a single resource (second transmission resource is shared with the first transmission resource) or may transmit a plurality of reports using a plurality of separate resources (first transmission resource is configured separately from a second transmission resource) (e.g., configured by the network node).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teachings of Sharma and He to include the resources for transmitting a measurement report of Elshafie. The motivation to do so would have been to include information identifying at least one of an RSRP, an RSRQ, an SINR value, an interference level, a CQI, an MCS, a precoding matrix indicator (PMI), a beamforming parameter (e.g., analog beam information or energy information (e.g., a charging rate, a discharging rate, power consumption level, or an energy level), such as when the UE has an energy harvesting capability (e.g., via radio frequency (RF) transmission harvesting, solar harvesting, or laser harvesting) (Elshafie; [0154]).
Regarding claim 19, Sharma and He teach the base station of claim 17, and He teaches further configured to: transmit, via the higher layer signaling, a third configuration for the measurement report (Fig. 5; [0052] The WUR configuration may additionally include a configuration for a new WUR-RS-based measurement report that transmitted upon the occurrence of a triggering event, to be described in further detail below with reference to FIG. 6. [0053] The WUR configuration parameters may be provided to the UE in the following ways. In a first option, the set of WUR-specific parameters may be provided by SIB for all UEs being served by the gNB 520. In a second option, the set of WUR-specific parameters may be provided through dedicated RRC signaling after receiving the WUR request in 525 above.).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teachings of Sharma to include the triggered measurement report of He. The motivation to do so would have been to allow the UE 605 to keep the MR 610 in the powered off (or very deep sleep) state for a longer duration (He; [0061]).
He does not explicitly teach a first transmission resource, wherein the measurement report is received on the first transmission resource.
Elshafie in the same field of endeavor of wake up radio receiver in wireless communications teaches a first transmission resource, wherein the measurement report is received on the first transmission resource. ([0154] In this case, the UE may transmit the CSI report using the second radio component when the second radio component wakes up using one or more resources.).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teachings of He to include the resources for transmitting a measurement report of Elshafie. The motivation to do so would have been to include information identifying at least one of an RSRP, an RSRQ, an SINR value, an interference level, a CQI, an MCS, a precoding matrix indicator (PMI), a beamforming parameter (e.g., analog beam information or energy information (e.g., a charging rate, a discharging rate, power consumption level, or an energy level), such as when the UE has an energy harvesting capability (e.g., via radio frequency (RF) transmission harvesting, solar harvesting, or laser harvesting) (Elshafie; [0154]).
Regarding claim 20, Sharma, He and Elshafie teach the base station of claim 19, and Elshafie teaches wherein the first transmission resource is configured separately from a second transmission resource for a measurement report for a measurement associated with a main radio of the UE, or wherein the second transmission resource is shared with the first transmission resource ([0154] For example, the UE may transmit a CSI report based at least in part on a CSI-RS processed by the second radio component (MR) or an LP-RS processed by the first radio component (WUR). In this case, the UE may transmit the CSI report using the second radio component (MR) when the second radio component wakes up using one or more resources (first and second transmission resources). In some aspects, the UE may bundle a plurality of reports into a single resource (second transmission resource is shared with the first transmission resource) or may transmit a plurality of reports using a plurality of separate resources (first transmission resource is configured separately from a second transmission resource) (e.g., configured by the network node).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teachings of Sharma and He to include the resources for transmitting a measurement report of Elshafie. The motivation to do so would have been to include information identifying at least one of an RSRP, an RSRQ, an SINR value, an interference level, a CQI, an MCS, a precoding matrix indicator (PMI), a beamforming parameter (e.g., analog beam information or energy information (e.g., a charging rate, a discharging rate, power consumption level, or an energy level), such as when the UE has an energy harvesting capability (e.g., via radio frequency (RF) transmission harvesting, solar harvesting, or laser harvesting) (Elshafie; [0154]).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Zhang (US 20260173030 A1) discloses measurement reporting during paging operations with a wake-up receiver.
/NANCY SIXTO/Examiner, Art Unit 2465
/GARY MUI/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2465