DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statements (IDS) submitted on 8/15/24 and 1/8/25 were filed in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statements are being considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 16 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 16 recites the limitation "the continuous and differentiable function" in lines 1-2. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. For purposes of examination, claim 16 is considered dependent on claim 13.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 11-13, 16, and 19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Hsu et al. (US 2023/0064550 A1).
Re. Claim 1, Hsu et al. discloses an electronic device ([0001]) comprising:
a waveguide 124 configured to propagate light (Fig. 1; [0018] and [0023]); and
an optical coupler 140 configured to redirect and replicate the light (Fig. 1; [0023]), wherein the optical coupler includes
a substrate on the waveguide (Fig. 4; [0038]), and
a surface relief grating (SRG) in the substrate, wherein the SRG has ridges with a pitch that varies continuously as a function of position along an axis orthogonal to the ridges (Fig. 4; [0039]).
Re. Claim 11, Hsu et al. discloses an input coupler 136 configured to couple the light into the waveguide 124; and an output coupler (e.g. waveguide end face) configured to couple the light out of the waveguide, the optical coupler 140 comprising a cross-coupler configured to redirect the light from the input coupler towards the output coupler (Fig. 1; [0018]).
Re. Claim 12, Hsu et al. discloses an electronic device comprising:
a waveguide 124 configured to propagate light (Fig. 1; [0018] and [0023]); and
an optical coupler 140 configured to redirect and replicate the light (Fig. 1; [0023]), wherein the optical coupler includes
a substrate on the waveguide (Fig. 4; [0038]), and
a diffractive grating in the substrate, wherein the diffractive grating is configured to impart a phase to the light upon diffracting the light and wherein the phase varies continuously as a function of position along an axis (Fig. 4; [0039]).
Re. Claims 13 and 16, Hsu et al. discloses the function is a continuous and differentiable function, such as a linear function ([0039]).
Re. Claim 19, Hsu et al. discloses the diffractive grating comprises a surface relief grating (Fig. 4; [0039]).
Claim(s) 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Lee (US 10,557,994 B1).
Re. Claim 20, Lee discloses an electronic device comprising:
a waveguide 110 configured to propagate light (Fig. 1A; col. 3 lines 54-60); and
an optical coupler 321 configured to redirect and replicate the light (Fig. 3; col. 5 lines 7-9), wherein the optical coupler includes
a substrate on the waveguide (e.g., best seen in optical coupler 521 coupled to plano-parallel waveguide 510; Fog. 5; col. 5 lines 60-67 and col. 6 lines 1-5), and
a surface relief grating (SRG) in the substrate, wherein the SRG has ridges and troughs 302 that follow sinusoidal paths (Fig. 3; col. 5 lines 9-16 and 36-38).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 2-3, 6-7, and 14-15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hsu et al. (US 2023/0064550 A1).
Hsu et al. discloses the electronic device as discussed above, wherein the continuous variation in pitch may be either fixed or variable ([0039]).
The claimed functional pitch variations are well known in the art, and include embodiments where the continuous pitch variation is fixed (e.g. periodic and sinusoidal functions) or variable (e.g., parabolic function), and would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to the claimed invention for the purpose of achieving a desired diffraction pattern. It has been held that discovering an optimum value of a result effective variable involves only routine skill in the art. In re Boesch, 617 F.2d 272, 205 USPQ 215 (CCPA 1980). It is noted that a decreasing parabolic variation along the path immediately followed by an increasing parabolic variation along the path inherently results in a minimum pitch halfway along the axis.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 4-5, 8-10, and 17-18 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter:
Re. Claims 4-5, the prior art does not disclose or reasonably suggest an electronic device as required by the claim, specifically wherein the ridges follow periodic paths.
Re. Claim 8, the prior art does not disclose or reasonably suggest an electronic device as required by the claim, specifically wherein the SRG has a length along the axis and the SRG has a minimum pitch that is offset from halfway along the length.
Re. Claim 9, the prior art does not disclose or reasonably suggest an electronic device as required by the claim, specifically comprising: an additional SRG in the substrate and overlapping the SRG, wherein the additional SRG has additional ridges oriented non-parallel with respect to the ridges in the SRG, and wherein the additional ridges have an additional pitch that varies continuously as a function of position along an additional axis orthogonal to the additional ridges.
Re. Claim 10, the prior art does not disclose or reasonably suggest an electronic device as required by the claim, specifically wherein the waveguide has a first lateral surface, a second lateral surface opposite the first lateral surface, and the substrate is layered on the first lateral surface, the electronic device further comprising: an additional substrate layered on the second lateral surface; and an additional SRG in the additional substrate and overlapping the SRG, wherein the additional SRG has additional ridges oriented non-parallel with respect to the ridges in the SRG, and wherein the additional ridges have an additional pitch that varies continuously as a function of position along an additional axis orthogonal to the additional ridges.
Re. Claim 17, the prior art does not disclose or reasonably suggest an electronic device as required by the claim, specifically wherein the phase varies continuously as a function of position along an additional axis orthogonal to the axis.
Re. Claim 18, the prior art does not disclose or reasonably suggest an electronic device as required by the claim, specifically wherein the phase varies parabolically along the axis and varies parabolically along the additional axis.
The most applicable prior art, Hsu et al. (US 2023/0064550 A1), fails to disclose or reasonably suggest the claimed invention as required by claims 4-5 and 8-10, specifically those portions highlighted above in combination with the remaining limitations of the claims.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. See the attached PTO-892.
/RHONDA S PEACE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2874 10/5/26