CTNF 18/805,964 CTNF 83030 DETAILED ACTION This is in response to the Applicant's arguments and amendments filed on 18 October 2024 in which claims 1-20 are currently pending. Notice of Pre-AIA or AIA Status 07-03-aia AIA 15-10-aia The present application, filed on or after March 16, 2013, is being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA. Information Disclosure Statement The references listed in the Information Disclosure Statement, filed on 09 September 2024, 26 December 2024, 15 July 2025, 16 October 2025, have been considered by the examiner (see attached PTO-1449 form or PTO/SB/08A and 08B forms). Claim Objections 07-29-01 AIA Claim s 3, 10, 17 are objected to because of the following informalities: Regarding claims 3, 10, 17, there is insufficient antecedent basis for the claimed limitation “the basis” in line 2 respectively. Regarding claims 3, 10, 17, it is suggested to spell out the acronym “DC” in line 2 respectively . Appropriate correction is required. Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112 07-30-02 AIA The following is a quotation of 35 U.S.C. 112(b): (b) CONCLUSION.—The specification shall conclude with one or more claims particularly pointing out and distinctly claiming the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor regards as the invention. The following is a quotation of 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA), second paragraph: The specification shall conclude with one or more claims particularly pointing out and distinctly claiming the subject matter which the applicant regards as his invention. 07-34-01 Claims 8-14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention. Claim 8 is directed to an apparatus, which is considered a machine. A machine is defined as “a concrete thing, consisting of parts, or of certain devices and combination of devices” (MPEP 2106). However, the body of the claim does not consist of at least two parts/components. It includes a single component: “a processor”. Therefore, claim 1 is indefinite. Claims 9-14 depend from claim 8; therefore, they contain the same problem explained above. Appropriate correction is required. Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103 07-06 AIA 15-10-15 In the event the determination of the status of the application as subject to AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103 (or as subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103) is incorrect, any correction of the statutory basis (i.e., changing from AIA to pre-AIA) for the rejection will not be considered a new ground of rejection if the prior art relied upon, and the rationale supporting the rejection, would be the same under either status. 07-20-aia AIA The following is a quotation of 35 U.S.C. 103 which forms the basis for all obviousness rejections set forth in this Office action: A patent for a claimed invention may not be obtained, notwithstanding that the claimed invention is not identically disclosed as set forth in section 102, if the differences between the claimed invention and the prior art are such that the claimed invention as a whole would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains. Patentability shall not be negated by the manner in which the invention was made. 07-21-aia AIA Claim s 1-2, 6-9, 13-16, 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Mittal et al. (PG Pub US 2020/0228178 A1) in view of Chakraborty et al. (PG Pub US 2018/0063693 A1) . Regarding claims 1, 8, 15, Mittal discloses an apparatus, a method, and a method. receiving, from a base station, a set of channel state information reference signals (“receives 505 a set of reference signals transmitted from a RAN node” [0094]); selecting a common subset of the set of CSI-RS ports from the set of CSI-RS ports to each layer in a multi-layer codebook (“identifying 510 a set of beams based on the set of reference signals” [0094], “transforming 515 the set of reference signals to obtain per-layer vectors of amplitude and phase coefficients of a Discrete Fourier Transform (DFT)-compressed codebook, each amplitude coefficient vector and phase coefficient vector corresponding to an identified beam” [0095], “common basis reporting, the reporting has to be over an entire range to taps” [0069]); transmitting, to the base station, first feedback information to include one or more CSI-RS port indices of the common subset of the set of CSI-RS ports (“transmitting 520 CSI feedback to the RAN node includes reporting an index corresponding to the particular beam” [0099]). However, Mittal does not explicitly disclose CSI-RSs associated with a set of CSI-RS ports and each CSI-RS index of the one or more CSI-RS port indices corresponds to a first CSI-RS port corresponding to a first polarization and a second CSI-RS port corresponding to a second polarization. Nevertheless, Chakraborty discloses “CSI-RS” [0073], “an antenna port numbering scheme. In one approach, the antenna port numbering scheme may be a beam pair {subarray index, antenna index}. Then, the selection and corresponding configured parameters may refer to the subarray index” [0058], “the subarray SA1 may support H-polarization only with component carrier 1, and the subarray SA2 may support V-polarization only with component carrier 2. When the subarray SA3 is used, this subarray SA3 may support both H-polarization with component carrier 1 and V-polarization with component carrier 2” [0076]. Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have CSI-RSs associated with a set of CSI-RS ports and each CSI-RS index of the one or more CSI-RS port indices corresponds to a first CSI-RS port corresponding to a first polarization and a second CSI-RS port corresponding to a second polarization because it “may help with efficient utilization of network resources” [0077]. Regarding claims 2, 9, 16, Mittal, Chakraborty discloses everything claimed as applied above. In addition, Mittal discloses receiving a window size for use in coefficient compression, wherein coefficient compression uses discrete Fourier transform (DFT) compression to compress frequency domain coefficients; and performing coefficient compression, for feedback of associated coefficients of the multi-layer codebook, using the window size (“the transceiver 425 receives a set of reference signals and the processor 405 identifies a set of beams based on the set of reference signals. The processor 405 transforms the set of reference signals to obtain per-layer vectors of amplitude and phase coefficients of a Discrete Fourier Transform (DFT)-compressed codebook, each amplitude coefficient vector and phase coefficient vector corresponding to an identified beam” [0078], “To support spatial multiplexing and MU-MIMO, the remote unit 105 provides CSI feedback 125 to the base unit 110 using Type-II codebook compression using phase modification of the beams” [0052]). Regarding claims 6, 13, 20, Mittal, Chakraborty discloses everything claimed as applied above. Further, Chakraborty discloses for a given polarization, each CSI-RS port of the common subset of the set of CSI-RS ports is selected with restriction from a set of CSI-RS ports corresponding to the given polarization (“When the UE 466 reports CSI for the subarray SA1 to the eNB 462, the eNB 462 may determine and restrict the codebook for the subarray SA1 to the restricted subset of precoders (e.g., Rank 1) based on the reported CSI. The eNB 462 may provide the codebook restriction as the indication 506 to operate the antenna subarray (e.g., the subarray SA1) with the at least one polarization” [0074]). Regarding claims 7, 14, Mittal, Chakraborty discloses everything claimed as applied above. In addition, Chakraborty discloses the set of CSI-RSs is received and the first feedback information is transmitted using a 5th Generation (5G) New Radio (NR) radio access technology (RAT) (“fifth generation new radio (5G-NR)” [0057]) . 07-21-aia AIA Claim s 5, 12, 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Mittal, Chakraborty in view of Cheraghi et al. (PG Pub US 2020/0403656 A1) . Regarding claims 5, 12, 19, Mittal, Chakraborty discloses everything claimed as applied above. However, Mittal, Chakraborty does not explicitly disclose each CSI-RS of the set of CSI-RSs is transmitted according to a respective specific resource configuration that corresponds to a respective CSI-RS port of the set of CSI-RS ports. Nevertheless, Cheraghi discloses “a base station allocates uplink resources (e.g. x amount of bits) based on Type II CSI feedback for a UE to transmit precoding information in uplink control information (UCI)” [0081]. Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have each CSI-RS of the set of CSI-RSs be transmitted according to a respective specific resource configuration that corresponds to a respective CSI-RS port of the set of CSI-RS ports because it will allow “bringing more beamforming gain and separating users with higher granularity” [0068] . Allowable Subject Matter 12-151-08 AIA 07-43 12-51-08 Claim s 3-4, 17-18 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims. 07-43 Claims 10-11 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims and when the 112(b) rejection are addressed. Conclusion Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to CHRISTINE D FUQUA whose telephone number is (571)270-1664. The examiner can normally be reached Monday - Friday 8 AM - 6 PM EST with every other Friday off. Examiner interviews are available via telephone, in-person, and video conferencing using a USPTO supplied web-based collaboration tool. To schedule an interview, applicant is encouraged to use the USPTO Automated Interview Request (AIR) at http://www.uspto.gov/interviewpractice. If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner’s supervisor, Yemane Mesfin can be reached at (571)272-3927. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300. Information regarding the status of published or unpublished applications may be obtained from Patent Center. Unpublished application information in Patent Center is available to registered users. To file and manage patent submissions in Patent Center, visit: https://patentcenter.uspto.gov. Visit https://www.uspto.gov/patents/apply/patent-center for more information about Patent Center and https://www.uspto.gov/patents/docx for information about filing in DOCX format. For additional questions, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free). If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer Service Representative, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000. CHRISTINE DUONG FUQUA Primary Examiner Art Unit 2462 /CHRISTINE T DUONG/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2462 06/09/2026 Application/Control Number: 18/805,964 Page 2 Art Unit: 2462 Application/Control Number: 18/805,964 Page 4 Art Unit: 2462 Application/Control Number: 18/805,964 Page 5 Art Unit: 2462 Application/Control Number: 18/805,964 Page 6 Art Unit: 2462 Application/Control Number: 18/805,964 Page 7 Art Unit: 2462