DETAILED ACTION
The present application, filed on or after March 16, 2013, is being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA . This action is responsive to the application filed on 08/15/2024. Claims 1-25 are presented in the case. Claims 1, 2, 3, 10 and 13 are independent claims.
Priority
Applicant's claim for the benefit of a prior-filed United States Provisional Patent Application Number 62/768000, filed November 15, 2018 is acknowledged.
Double Patenting
Claims 1-24 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-22 of U.S. Patent No. 12093518.
In the table below, the left side is parts of claims 1-24 in the current application while the right side is the claims and text that conflict with the parts of claims 1-22.
18806021 (Present application)
US Patent 12093518B2
1. A method comprising:
receiving, at a machine, information indicating a swipe gesture over a frame having content, the swipe gesture being in a direction, the machine including a processor system having one or more processors and a memory system; and
in response, presenting by the processor system, on a screen an image of frames of content moving, arranged to convey a visible perception of a carousel holding the frames rotating about an axis perpendicular to the direction,
wherein
the frames are capable of including photos,
any of the frames is capable of storing a folder, and
any of the frames is capable of storing other types of content other than a folder; and
wherein only a portion of the carousel is visible on the screen and, during a mode in which details of content of individual frames of the carousel are viewable, in the portion of the carousel that is visible more than one frame of the carousel is visible, wherein when a frame of the carousel is centered in a display area of the screen for viewing content of that frame, only one version of the frame is displayed and at least a portion of each of at least two other frames of the carousel is visible.
1. A method comprising:
receiving, at a machine, information indicating a swipe gesture over a frame having content, the swipe gesture being in a direction, the machine including a processor system having one or more processors and a memory system;
in response, presenting by the processor system, on a screen, an image of frames of content moving, arranged to convey a visual perception of a carousel holding the frames rotating about an axis perpendicular to the direction; and
presenting on a display of the machine an image having a main frame surrounded by four border panels;
wherein
the frames are capable of storing content, the content including photos,
the content including content that any of the frames are capable of storing, which includes
a folder, and
other types of content other than a folder; and
wherein
only a portion of the carousel is visible on the screen and, during a mode in which details of content of individual frames of the carousel are viewable, in the portion of the carousel that is visible more than one frame of the carousel is visible, wherein when a frame of the carousel is centered in a display area of the screen for viewing content of that frame, only one version of the frame is displayed and at least a portion of each of at least two other frames of the carousel is visible; and
each border panel including a preview of content that is adjacent to the main frame, the content that is adjacent to the main frame being adjacent along a direction of rotation in which one of a first carousel and a second carousel rotates.
2. A method comprising:
receiving, at a machine, information indicating a swipe gesture in a first direction, the swipe gesture in the first direction being over a first frame selected from a first plurality of frames of content, the content including photos, the machine including a processor system having one or more processors and a memory system;
in response, presenting by the processor system, on a screen an image of the plurality of frames of content moving, arranged to convey a perception of a first carousel holding the first plurality of frames rotating about an axis perpendicular to the first direction;
receiving at the machine information indicating a swipe gesture in a second direction that is not parallel to the first direction the swipe gesture in the second direction being over a second frame selected from a second plurality of frames of content; and
in response, presenting, by the machine, on the screen an image of the second plurality of frames of content moving, arranged to convey a perception of a second carousel holding the second plurality of frames rotating about an axis perpendicular to the second direction, the first plurality of frames and the second plurality of frames sharing only one frame; and,
during a mode in which details of content of individual frames are viewable, more than one frame is visible, wherein when a frame is centered in a display area of the screen for viewing content of that frame, at least a portion of each of at least two other frames is visible, each of the at least two other frames is foreshortened to create an appearance of a carousel.
14. A method comprising:
receiving, at a machine, information indicating a swipe gesture in a first direction, the swipe gesture in the first direction being over a first frame selected from a first plurality of frames of content, the content including photos, the machine including a processor system having one or more processors and a memory system;
in response, presenting by the processor system, on a screen an image of the first plurality of frames of content moving, arranged to convey a perception of a first carousel holding the first plurality of frames rotating about an axis perpendicular to the first direction;
receiving at the machine information indicating a swipe gesture in a second direction that is not parallel to the first direction the swipe gesture in the second direction being over a second frame selected from a second plurality of frames of content;
in response, presenting, by the machine, on the screen an image of the second plurality of frames of content moving, arranged to convey a perception of a second carousel holding the second plurality of frames rotating about an axis perpendicular to the second direction, the first plurality of frames and the second plurality of frames sharing only one frame; and
during a mode in which details of content of individual frames are viewable, more than one frame is visible, wherein when a frame is centered in a display area of the screen for viewing content of that frame, at least a portion of each of at least two other frames is visible, each of the at least two other frames is foreshortened to create an appearance of a carousel; and
wherein the content includes images, and in at least one mode, a rotation inducing gesture in the first direction, causes a rotation in the first direction that changes a filter applied to an image that is at least one frame of a current set of frames from one filter to another filter, wherein the rotation inducing gesture in the first direction that changes the filter is performed over the at least one frame to which the filter is applied, and a rotation inducing gesture in the second direction causes a rotation in the second direction that changes a degree of the filter from one degree of filtering greater than an absence of filtering to another degree of filtering that is greater than an absence of filtering, wherein the rotation inducing gesture in the second direction that changes the degree of the filter is performed over the at least one frame in which the degree of the filter changes.
3. A method comprising:
receiving, at a machine, information indicating a swipe gesture over a frame having content the swipe gesture being in a direction, the machine including a processor system having one or more processors and a memory system; and
in response, presenting by the processor system, on a screen an image of frames of content moving, arranged to convey a perception of a carousel holding the frames rotating about an axis perpendicular to the direction,
wherein
the frames are capable of including photos,
any of the frames are capable of storing a folder, and
any of the frames are capable of storing other types of content other than a folder; and
wherein only a portion of the carousel is visible on the screen;
the carousel being a first carousel, the method further comprising:
presenting on a display of the machine an image having a main frame surrounded by four border panels,
each border panel including a preview of content that is adjacent to the main frame, the content that is adjacent to the main frame, being adjacent along a direction of rotation in which one of the first carousel and a second carousel rotates.
1. A method comprising:
receiving, at a machine, information indicating a swipe gesture over a frame having content, the swipe gesture being in a direction, the machine including a processor system having one or more processors and a memory system;
in response, presenting by the processor system, on a screen, an image of frames of content moving, arranged to convey a visual perception of a carousel holding the frames rotating about an axis perpendicular to the direction; and
presenting on a display of the machine an image having a main frame surrounded by four border panels;
wherein
the frames are capable of storing content, the content including photos,
the content including content that any of the frames are capable of storing, which includes
a folder, and
other types of content other than a folder; and
wherein
only a portion of the carousel is visible on the screen and, during a mode in which details of content of individual frames of the carousel are viewable, in the portion of the carousel that is visible more than one frame of the carousel is visible, wherein when a frame of the carousel is centered in a display area of the screen for viewing content of that frame, only one version of the frame is displayed and at least a portion of each of at least two other frames of the carousel is visible; and
each border panel including a preview of content that is adjacent to the main frame, the content that is adjacent to the main frame being adjacent along a direction of rotation in which one of a first carousel and a second carousel rotates.
4. The method of claim 1, further comprising:
receiving at the machine a rotation gesture on a frame; and
in response, presenting, by the machine, on the screen an image of the content rotated in the direction and by a degree of rotation indicated by a rotational movement of a user, the rotational movement being part of the rotation gesture.
2. The method of claim 1, further comprising:
receiving, at the machine, a rotation gesture on one of the frames; and
in response, presenting, by the machine, on the screen, an image of the content rotated in the direction and by a degree of rotation indicated by a rotational movement of a user, the rotational movement being part of the rotation gesture.
5. The method of claim 1, further comprising:
receiving at the machine a gesture activating a panoramic function; and
in response, presenting, by the machine, on the screen an image of a still panoramic picture, with different portions of the panoramic image located in different frames of the carousel.
3. The method of claim 1, further comprising:
receiving, at the machine, a gesture activating a panoramic function; and
in response, presenting, by the machine, on the screen, an image of a still panoramic picture, with different portions of the still panoramic picture located in different frames of the carousel.
6. The method of claim 5, further comprising:
receiving at the machine an indication of which picture to combine to create a panoramic image.
4. The method of claim 3, further comprising:
receiving, at the machine, an indication of which picture to combine to create a panoramic image.
7. The method of claim 5, further comprising:
receiving at the machine a gesture activating a pinning function; and
in response, presenting by the machine, activating a method for adding an augmented object to the image.
5. The method of claim 3, further comprising:
receiving, at the machine, a gesture activating a pinning function; and
in response, presenting by the machine, activating a method for adding an augmented object to the image.
8. The method of claim 7, further comprising:
receiving at the machine an indication of which of a plurality of augmented objects to include in the image.
6. The method of claim 5, further comprising:
receiving, at the machine, an indication of which of a plurality of augmented objects to include in the image.
9. The method of claim 1, wherein the content includes the photos, and in at least one mode of operation rotation of a carousel of filters changes a filter applied to an image that is applied to at least one of the frames from one filter to another filter, the carousel of filters being superimposed over the frames having content.
7. The method of claim 1, wherein the content includes the photos, and in at least one mode of operation rotation of a carousel of filters changes a filter applied to an image that is applied to at least one frames from one filter to another filter, the carousel of filters being superimposed over the frames having content.
10. A method comprising:
receiving, at a machine, information indicating a swipe gesture over a frame having content the swipe gesture being in a direction, the machine including a processor system having one or more processors and a memory system; and
in response, presenting by the processor system, on a screen an image of frames of content moving, arranged to convey a perception of a carousel holding the frames rotating about an axis perpendicular to the direction,
wherein
the frames are capable of including photos,
any of the frames are capable of storing a folder, and
any of the frames are capable of storing other types of content other than a folder; and
wherein only a portion of the carousel is visible on the screen;
wherein the content includes images, and in at least one mode, a rotation inducing gesture in the first direction, causes a rotation in the first direction that changes a filter applied to an image that is at least one of the frames from one filter to another filter, wherein the rotation inducing gesture in the first direction that changes the filter is performed over the at least one of the frames to which the filter is applied, and a rotation inducing gesture in the second direction causes a rotation in the second direction that changes the degree of the filter from one degree of filtering greater than an absence of filtering to another degree of filtering that is greater than an absence of filtering, wherein the rotation inducing gesture in the second direction that changes the degree of the filter is performed over the at least one of the frames in which the degree of the filter changes.
14. A method comprising:
receiving, at a machine, information indicating a swipe gesture in a first direction, the swipe gesture in the first direction being over a first frame selected from a first plurality of frames of content, the content including photos, the machine including a processor system having one or more processors and a memory system;
in response, presenting by the processor system, on a screen an image of the first plurality of frames of content moving, arranged to convey a perception of a first carousel holding the first plurality of frames rotating about an axis perpendicular to the first direction;
receiving at the machine information indicating a swipe gesture in a second direction that is not parallel to the first direction the swipe gesture in the second direction being over a second frame selected from a second plurality of frames of content;
in response, presenting, by the machine, on the screen an image of the second plurality of frames of content moving, arranged to convey a perception of a second carousel holding the second plurality of frames rotating about an axis perpendicular to the second direction, the first plurality of frames and the second plurality of frames sharing only one frame; and
during a mode in which details of content of individual frames are viewable, more than one frame is visible, wherein when a frame is centered in a display area of the screen for viewing content of that frame, at least a portion of each of at least two other frames is visible, each of the at least two other frames is foreshortened to create an appearance of a carousel; and
wherein the content includes images, and in at least one mode, a rotation inducing gesture in the first direction, causes a rotation in the first direction that changes a filter applied to an image that is at least one frame of a current set of frames from one filter to another filter, wherein the rotation inducing gesture in the first direction that changes the filter is performed over the at least one frame to which the filter is applied, and a rotation inducing gesture in the second direction causes a rotation in the second direction that changes a degree of the filter from one degree of filtering greater than an absence of filtering to another degree of filtering that is greater than an absence of filtering, wherein the rotation inducing gesture in the second direction that changes the degree of the filter is performed over the at least one frame in which the degree of the filter changes.
11. The method of claim 1, wherein a grid of frames appears on the screen and rotation of a carousel in the direction causes all the frames of the grid appear to rotate in tandem in the direction.
8. The method of claim 1, wherein
a grid of frames appears on the screen, and
rotation of a carousel in the direction causes all the frames of the grid appear to rotate in tandem in the direction.
12. The method of claim 2, wherein
a grid of frames of the content appears on the screen, the grid being formed from multiple independent carousels that are parallel to the first direction and multiple independent carousels that are parallel to the second direction; and
in a mode of operation, rotation of a carousel in the first direction causes all the frames of the grid to rotate in tandem in the first direction, and rotation of a carousel in the second direction causes all the frames of the grid to rotate in tandem in the second direction.
9. The method of claim 1, wherein
a grid of frames of the content appears on the screen, the grid being formed from multiple independent carousels that are parallel to the first direction and multiple independent carousels that are parallel to the second direction; and
in a mode of operation,
rotation of a carousel in the first direction causes all the frames of the grid to rotate in tandem in the first direction, and
rotation of a carousel in the second direction causes all the frames of the grid to rotate in tandem in the second direction.
13. A method comprising:
presenting on a display of a machine an image having a content frame surrounded by border panels, each panel of the border panels being associated with a command, the machine including a processor system having one or more processors and a memory system;
receiving at the machine a gesture over a region associated with content that is surrounded by the border panels, the gesture including at least a motion of a portion of a body of the user towards one of the border panels; and
in response, invoking by the processor system the command associated with the one of the border panels as indicated by the gesture that was received over the region associated with the content.
15. A method comprising:
presenting on a display of a machine an image having a content frame surrounded by border panels, each panel of the border panels being associated with a command, the machine including a processor system having one or more processors and a memory system;
receiving at the machine a gesture over a region associated with content that is surrounded by the border panels the gesture including at least a motion of a portion of a body of a user towards one of the border panels; and
in response, invoking by the processor system the command associated with the one of the border panels as indicated by the gesture that was received over the region associated with the content;
the command of each panel of the border panels causing storage of the content in a different destination than commands of other panels of the border panels, wherein at least one destination is a file folder and the method further comprising: as a result of implementing the command having the destination of the file folder, causing the content that is in the content frame to be stored in the file folder.
14. The method of claim 13, the command of each panel of the border panels causing storage of the content in a different destination than commands of other panels of the border panels, wherein each destination is a social media, and the method further comprising: as a result of implementing the command, causing an image that is part of the content of the content frame to be posted on a wall of the social network.
16. The method of claim 15, the command of each panel of the border panels causing storage of the content in a different destination than commands of other panels of the border panels,
wherein each destination is a social media, and the method further comprising:
as a result of implementing the command, causing an image that is part of the content of the content frame to be posted on a wall of a social network.
15. The method of claim 1, wherein the content includes images, in a first mode the rotation of the carousel causes the image of frames of content to move and in a second mode rotation of the carousel changes a filter applied to the image of the frames of the content from one filter to another filter.
11. The method of claim 1, wherein the content includes images, in a first mode the rotation of the carousel causes the image of frames of content to move and in a second mode rotation of the carousel changes a filter applied to the image of the frames of the content from one filter to another filter.
16. The method of claim 12, wherein the first carousel is parallel to at least a third carousel,
the third carousel is perpendicular to the second carousel, the second carousel is parallel to at least a fourth carousel, the fourth carousel is perpendicular to the first carousel, and
the first carousel and third carousel each intersect the second and fourth carousels; and
where
the grid is formed from at least multiple carousels parallel to the first direction, which include the first carousel and the third carousel, and
the grid also includes at least multiple carousels parallel to the second direction, which include the second carousel and the fourth carousel.
10. The method of claim 9, wherein the first carousel is parallel to at least a third carousel,
the third carousel is perpendicular to the second carousel, the second carousel is parallel to at least a fourth carousel, the fourth carousel is perpendicular to the first carousel, and
the first carousel and third carousel each intersect the second and fourth carousels; and
where
the grid is formed from at least multiple carousels parallel to the first direction, which include the first carousel and the third carousel, and
the grid also includes at least multiple carousels parallel to the second direction, which include the second carousel and the fourth carousel.
17. The method of claim 13, wherein the a plurality of panes of the frame of the content, in which each border panel is a pane of the frame of the content, in which the border panels frame the content.
17. The method of claim 15, wherein the border panels are a plurality of panes of the content frame, in which each border panel is a pane of the content frame, in which the border panels frame the content.
18. The method of claim 13, wherein the gesture is a swipe in a direction, and in response to the swipe, the processor selects a command based on the direction of the swipe and which border panel is associated with the direction of the swipe.
18. The method of claim 15, wherein the gesture is a swipe in a direction, and in response to the swipe, the processor system selects a command based on the direction of the swipe and which border panel is associated with the direction of the swipe.
19. The method of claim 13, further comprising:
receiving, via the display, a rotation gesture;
in response, via the system, rotating locations of the border panels around the content of the frame, without rotating any visible carousel.
19. The method of claim 15, further comprising:
receiving, via the display, a rotation gesture; and
in response, via the machine, rotating locations of the border panels around the content of the content frame, without rotating any visible carousel.
20. The method of claim 19, the border panels comprising a top horizontal border panel, a bottom horizontal border panel, a left vertical border panel, and a right vertical border panel, the border panels do not obscure the content frame and a screen space occupied the border panels is less a screen space occupied the content frame.
20. The method of claim 19, the border panels comprising:
a top horizontal border panel,
a bottom horizontal border panel,
a left vertical border panel, and
a right vertical border panel,
the border panels do not obscure the content frame and a screen space occupied the border panels is less a screen space occupied the content frame.
21. The system of claim 1, the image of frames of content moving including a link for causing a selected image to fill the screen.
12. The method of claim 1, the image of frames of content moving including a link for causing a selected image to fill the screen.
22. The system of claim 2, wherein the at least two other frames are foreshortened, so that a first end of each the at least other two frames is narrower than a second end of each of the at least two other frames, the first end and the second end being opposite to one another and being parallel to one another.
13. The method of claim 1, wherein
the at least two other frames are foreshortened, so that a first end of each of the at least other two frames is narrower than a second end of each of the at least two other frames, and
the first end and the second end being opposite to one another and being parallel to one another.
23. The method of claim 20, the rotation gesture including a rotational motion of fingers of the user.
21. The method of claim 19, the rotation gesture including a rotational motion of fingers of the user.
24. The method of claim 20, the rotating locations of the border panels around the content of the frame causes a first border panel, which is one of the border panels to disappear, and a second border panel to appear instead, the first border panel being associated with a first command and the second border panel being associated with a second command that was not associated with the border panels prior to the rotating of the locations of the border panels.
22. The method of claim 19, the rotating locations of the border panels around the content of the content frame causes a first border panel, which is one of the border panels to disappear, and a second border panel to appear instead, the first border panel being associated with a first command and the second border panel being associated with a second command that was not associated with the border panels prior to the rotating of the locations of the border panels.
Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other. Claims 1-24 are rejected under obviousness double patenting because claims 1-24 are anticipated by claims 1-22 of US Patent No. 12093518.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 11, 21 and 25 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by DeWeese et al. (hereinafter DeWeese), US 20160291846 A1.
Regarding independent claim 1, DeWeese teaches a method comprising:
receiving, at a machine, information indicating a swipe gesture over a frame having content, the swipe gesture being in a direction ([0013] With reference to FIG. 1, shown is one example of a client device 103 according to an embodiment. In the example of FIG. 1, the client device 103 renders a carousel user interface element 105 on a display. In one scenario, an application facilitating the browsing or viewing of files that are acces3sible to the client device 103 can generate the carousel user interface element 105; Fig. 8; [0036] At element 801, the file viewer application 310 can determine whether a user input is obtained via the client device 103. A user input can include a gesture performed by the user on a touchscreen input device; [0037] At element 803, the file viewer application 310 can identify a particular gesture associated with a detected input. At element 805, the file viewer application 310 can determine whether the gesture necessitates an update to a carousel user interface element. For example, in the case of a swipe gesture, the file viewer application 310 can determine whether the gesture includes a component in the plane or axis in which the screenshots in the carousel user interface element are rotatable around the anchor point), the machine including a processor system having one or more processors and a memory system ([0018] With reference to FIG. 3, shown is a client device 103 in which various embodiments can be implemented. The client device 103 may include, for example, a processor-based system such as a computer system. In this respect, the client device 103 can include at least one processor circuit, for example, having at least one processor 303 and a memory 306, both of which are coupled to a local interface 309, respectively. The processor 303 is also referred to herein as a CPU. The client device 103 can also include a graphics processing unit 307, or a GPU, which is also coupled to a local interface 309. The GPU can include one or more processing cores or processors in which graphics operations or calculations can be performed. Accordingly, an operating system or another software component executed by the client device 103 may include a library or other software module providing a graphics API 311 that facilitates graphics operations); and
in response, presenting by the processor system, on a screen an image of frames of content moving, arranged to convey a visible perception of a carousel holding the frames rotating about an axis perpendicular to the direction ([0015] In the example of FIG. 1, the carousel user interface element 105 is generated by capturing screenshots 107, 109, 111, 113, 115, and 117 associated with recently accessed files. An anchor point can be created within a scene using the API. An application in which the scene is created can also attach the screenshots as objects to the anchor point within the scene using the API. In the example shown in FIG. 1, the anchor point can be created at a center point and the screenshots are attached to the anchor point within the scene using the API such that they are rotatable around the anchor point in a particular plane. In the example of FIG. 1, the screenshots are rotatable or “spinnable” around the anchor point in a first plane, such as a horizontal plane, but are not rotatable around the anchor point in another plane, such as a vertical plane. In other words, the screenshot are rotatable around the anchor point in a single plane and not in any other plane. In this way, a carousel effect is achieved in which the screenshots can be rotatable around the anchor point in response to a user input, such as a swipe gesture received via a touchscreen input device; [0037] At element 803, the file viewer application 310 can identify a particular gesture associated with a detected input. At element 805, the file viewer application 310 can determine whether the gesture necessitates an update to a carousel user interface element. For example, in the case of a swipe gesture, the file viewer application 310 can determine whether the gesture includes a component in the plane or axis in which the screenshots in the carousel user interface element are rotatable around the anchor point; [0016] In another example, the screenshots can be rotatable around the anchor point in a vertical plane but not in a horizontal plane. In another scenario, the screenshots can be rotatable around the anchor point in more than a single plane to create an effect in which the screenshots can be rotated around the anchor point in more than a single direction and axis; [0029] FIG. 4, a user has provided a user input, such as a swipe gesture that includes a component in a plane in which the carousel element is rotatable. In response to receiving the swipe gesture, the file viewer application 310 can initiate an update of the scene that can be rendered by the GPU 307 such that the carousel element spins in the direction of the swipe gesture. As shown in FIG. 4, the carousel user interface element 105 has spun in counterclockwise direction around an anchor point positioned in the center of the screenshots. The carousel user interface element 105 has been updated in response to a swipe gesture having a component in the plane in which the screenshots are rotatable. It should be appreciated that the carousel user interface element 105 can spin in a clockwise direction in response to a swipe gesture in an opposite direction as well),
wherein
the frames are capable of including photos ([0025] Next, a description of examples of how the file viewer application 310 or any other application executed by the client device 103 can generate a carousel user interface element 105 according to various examples. To begin, as one example, the file viewer application 310 can identify a set of content, such as a set of recently accessed files that is available to the client device 103. For example, the client device 103 can capture a screenshot associated with a particular file accessed by a user, which can include an image of a first page of a document, a representative page of the document, or any other representation of a document),
any of the frames is capable of storing a folder ([0025] In the case of a file that is an image or a picture, the screenshot captured by the file viewer application 310 can include a thumbnail of the image. In the case of a file that is a video, the screenshot can include a thumbnail or a screenshot of a particular frame of the video. In some scenarios, the screenshot may include a title screen or another image that is not captured from a frame of the video but that is representative of the video in some way), and
any of the frames is capable of storing other types of content other than a folder ([0014] In one example, the carousel user interface element 105 can include a scene including screenshots of the six most recently accessed documents. However, it should be appreciated that any number of most recently accessed documents can be incorporated into a carousel user interface element 105 according to various examples. Additionally, although an example of displaying recently accessed files in the carousel is used, any other type of content can also be displayed. For example, a user's favorite files, webpages, contacts, most often used files, webpages, or contacts, most relevant results to a search, recent locations, or any other type of content can be included in a carousel view); and
wherein only a portion of the carousel is visible on the screen and, during a mode in which details of content of individual frames of the carousel are viewable, in the portion of the carousel that is visible more than one frame of the carousel is visible, wherein when a frame of the carousel is centered in a display area of the screen for viewing content of that frame, only one version of the frame is displayed and at least a portion of each of at least two other frames of the carousel is visible ([0016] the carousel user interface element 105 can also respond to other user inputs or gestures, such as a tap, a mouse click, or a selection of one of the depicted screenshots. As indicated by the text 119, the carousel user interface element 105 can allow a user to view a document corresponding to a screenshot in a full screen mode by performing a first gesture; [0017] Accordingly, continuing the example of FIG. 1, reference is now made to FIG. 2, which illustrates a full-screen user interface 121 rendered by an application in response to a double tap gesture on the screenshot 115. The screenshot 115 corresponds to a particular document 123 that is accessible by the client device 103. In response to detecting a certain user input or a gesture, such as a double tap gesture, the client device 103 can launch a document viewer or editor in a full screen mode or a mode that provides for a larger view of the document. In a full screen mode, the user can scroll or page through the document 123, edit the document 123, or otherwise interact with the document. Additionally, by following user interface element 125, the user can return to the carousel user interface element 105 in which a carousel user interface element that displays screenshots of recently viewed documents; [0029] FIG. 4, a user has provided a user input, such as a swipe gesture that includes a component in a plane in which the carousel element is rotatable. In response to receiving the swipe gesture, the file viewer application 310 can initiate an update of the scene that can be rendered by the GPU 307 such that the carousel element spins in the direction of the swipe gesture. As shown in FIG. 4, the carousel user interface element 105 has spun in counterclockwise direction around an anchor point positioned in the center of the screenshots. The carousel user interface element 105 has been updated in response to a swipe gesture having a component in the plane in which the screenshots are rotatable. It should be appreciated that the carousel user interface element 105 can spin in a clockwise direction in response to a swipe gesture in an opposite direction as well).
Regarding dependent claim 11, DeWeese teaches all the limitations as set forth in the rejection of claim 1 that is incorporated. DeWeese further teaches wherein a grid of frames appears on the screen and rotation of a carousel in the direction causes all the frames of the grid appear to rotate in tandem in the direction ([0027] To generate the carousel user interface element 105 upon obtaining a request to enter carousel mode, the file viewer application 310 can include a representation of the screenshots associated with the most recently accessed files in a scene generating using the graphics API 311. The screenshots included in the scene as objects are attached to an anchor point in a radial pattern and configured user to rotate about the anchor point in a single plane. The anchor point can be established in a fixed location relative to a virtual camera representing a vantage point from which the scene is rendered. The screenshots can also be configured to rotate or spin around the anchor point in response to a user input, such as a swipe gesture, with an angular velocity that is related to a speed or acceleration associated with the user input. The screenshots can also be configured to have an angular momentum in a physics model associated with the scene in the graphics API 311 such that the screenshots may spin to a certain extent following the user input. In other words, the screenshots may spin around the anchor point for a certain amount of time even after a swipe gesture captured via a touchscreen input device and may progressively slow until stopping. In one example, the carousel can spin at a velocity that is related to a speed of the gesture until stopping at a rate dictated by the physics model specified using the graphics API. In some scenarios, the file viewer application 310 can establish a virtual camera in the scene using the graphics API 311 at a fixed location relative to the anchor point).
Regarding dependent claim 21, DeWeese teaches all the limitations as set forth in the rejection of claim 1 that is incorporated. DeWeese further teaches the image of frames of content moving including a link for causing a selected image to fill the screen ([0027] To generate the carousel user interface element 105 upon obtaining a request to enter carousel mode, the file viewer application 310 can include a representation of the screenshots associated with the most recently accessed files in a scene generating using the graphics API 311. The screenshots included in the scene as objects are attached to an anchor point in a radial pattern and configured user to rotate about the anchor point in a single plane. The anchor point can be established in a fixed location relative to a virtual camera representing a vantage point from which the scene is rendered. The screenshots can also be configured to rotate or spin around the anchor point in response to a user input, such as a swipe gesture, with an angular velocity that is related to a speed or acceleration associated with the user input. The screenshots can also be configured to have an angular momentum in a physics model associated with the scene in the graphics API 311 such that the screenshots may spin to a certain extent following the user input. In other words, the screenshots may spin around the anchor point for a certain amount of time even after a swipe gesture captured via a touchscreen input device and may progressively slow until stopping. In one example, the carousel can spin at a velocity that is related to a speed of the gesture until stopping at a rate dictated by the physics model specified using the graphics API. In some scenarios, the file viewer application 310 can establish a virtual camera in the scene using the graphics API 311 at a fixed location relative to the anchor point).
Regarding dependent claim 25, DeWeese teaches all the limitations as set forth in the rejection of claim 1 that is incorporated. DeWeese further teaches wherein the frame of the carousel that is centered in the display area of the screen has a larger width and larger average length than either of the at least two other frames of the carousel (Fig. 1, 115, 113, 117; [0015]).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 2, 3, 12, 16 and 22 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over DeWeese, in view of BRUNET et al. (hereinafter BRUNET), US 20100227689 A1.
Regarding independent claim 2, DeWeese teaches a method comprising:
receiving, at a machine, information indicating a swipe gesture in a first direction, the swipe gesture in the first direction being over a first frame selected from a first plurality of frames of content ([0013] With reference to FIG. 1, shown is one example of a client device 103 according to an embodiment. In the example of FIG. 1, the client device 103 renders a carousel user interface element 105 on a display. In one scenario, an application facilitating the browsing or viewing of files that are accessible to the client device 103 can generate the carousel user interface element 105; [0015] In the example of FIG. 1, the carousel user interface element 105 is generated by capturing screenshots 107, 109, 111, 113, 115, and 117 associated with recently accessed files. An anchor point can be created within a scene using the API. An application in which the scene is created can also attach the screenshots as objects to the anchor point within the scene using the API. In the example shown in FIG. 1, the anchor point can be created at a center point and the screenshots are attached to the anchor point within the scene using the API such that they are rotatable around the anchor point in a particular plane. In the example of FIG. 1, the screenshots are rotatable or “spinnable” around the anchor point in a first plane, such as a horizontal plane, but are not rotatable around the anchor point in another plane, such as a vertical plane. In other words, the screenshot are rotatable around the anchor point in a single plane and not in any other plane. In this way, a carousel effect is achieved in which the screenshots can be rotatable around the anchor point in response to a user input, such as a swipe gesture received via a touchscreen input device. Note: Examiner interprets the swipe gesture here as a left to right or right to left sweeping motion (i.e. in a first direction) to cause the screenshots rotatable or “spinnable” around the anchor point in a first plane, such as a horizontal plane); Fig. 3; [0024] the graphics API 311 can provide the ability to define how an object should move within a scene in response to user input, such as gestures captured by a touchscreen input device. For example, the graphics API 311 can provide the ability for an application, such as the file viewer application 310, to include one or more screenshots within a scene that are attached to an anchor point in a radial pattern. Additionally, the file viewer application 310, by leveraging the graphics API 311, can specify that the screenshots are rotatable around the anchor point in response to a swipe gesture captured at certain coordinates or within a region of the display 312. The graphics API 311 can also allow the file viewer application 310 to specify that the screenshots are rotatable in a single plane but not rotatable in another plane, so that a spinning or carousel effect is achieved in response to a swipe gesture; Fig. 8; [0036] At element 801, the file viewer application 310 can determine whether a user input is obtained via the client device 103. A user input can include a gesture performed by the user on a touchscreen input device; [0037] At element 803, the file viewer application 310 can identify a particular gesture associated with a detected input. At element 805, the file viewer application 310 can determine whether the gesture necessitates an update to a carousel user interface element. For example, in the case of a swipe gesture, the file viewer application 310 can determine whether the gesture includes a component in the plane or axis in which the screenshots in the carousel user interface element are rotatable around the anchor point), the content including photos ([0025] Next, a description of examples of how the file viewer application 310 or any other application executed by the client device 103 can generate a carousel user interface element 105 according to various examples. To begin, as one example, the file viewer application 310 can identify a set of content, such as a set of recently accessed files that is available to the client device 103. For example, the client device 103 can capture a screenshot associated with a particular file accessed by a user, which can include an image of a first page of a document, a representative page of the document, or any other representation of a document. In the case of a file that is an image or a picture, the screenshot captured by the file viewer application 310 can include a thumbnail of the image), the machine including a processor system having one or more processors and a memory system ([0018] With reference to FIG. 3, shown is a client device 103 in which various embodiments can be implemented. The client device 103 may include, for example, a processor-based system such as a computer system. In this respect, the client device 103 can include at least one processor circuit, for example, having at least one processor 303 and a memory 306, both of which are coupled to a local interface 309, respectively. The processor 303 is also referred to herein as a CPU. The client device 103 can also include a graphics processing unit 307, or a GPU, which is also coupled to a local interface 309. The GPU can include one or more processing cores or processors in which graphics operations or calculations can be performed. Accordingly, an operating system or another software component executed by the client device 103 may include a library or other software module providing a graphics API 311 that facilitates graphics operations);
in response, presenting by the processor system, on a screen an image of the plurality of frames of content moving, arranged to convey a perception of a first carousel holding the first plurality of frames rotating about an axis perpendicular to the first direction ([0015] In the example of FIG. 1, the carousel user interface element 105 is generated by capturing screenshots 107, 109, 111, 113, 115, and 117 associated with recently accessed files. An anchor point can be created within a scene using the API. An application in which the scene is created can also attach the screenshots as objects to the anchor point within the scene using the API. In the example shown in FIG. 1, the anchor point can be created at a center point and the screenshots are attached to the anchor point within the scene using the API such that they are rotatable around the anchor point in a particular plane. In the example of FIG. 1, the screenshots are rotatable or “spinnable” around the anchor point in a first plane, such as a horizontal plane, but are not rotatable around the anchor point in another plane, such as a vertical plane. In other words, the screenshot are rotatable around the anchor point in a single plane and not in any other plane. In this way, a carousel effect is achieved in which the screenshots can be rotatable around the anchor point in response to a user input, such as a swipe gesture received via a touchscreen input device); Fig. 3; [0024] the graphics API 311 can provide the ability to define how an object should move within a scene in response to user input, such as gestures captured by a touchscreen input device. For example, the graphics API 311 can provide the ability for an application, such as the file viewer application 310, to include one or more screenshots within a scene that are attached to an anchor point in a radial pattern. Additionally, the file viewer application 310, by leveraging the graphics API 311, can specify that the screenshots are rotatable around the anchor point in response to a swipe gesture captured at certain coordinates or within a region of the display 312. The graphics API 311 can also allow the file viewer application 310 to specify that the screenshots are rotatable in a single plane but not rotatable in another plane, so that a spinning or carousel effect is achieved in response to a swipe gesture; [0037] At element 803, the file viewer application 310 can identify a particular gesture associated with a detected input. At element 805, the file viewer application 310 can determine whether the gesture necessitates an update to a carousel user interface element. For example, in the case of a swipe gesture, the file viewer application 310 can determine whether the gesture includes a component in the plane or axis in which the screenshots in the carousel user interface element are rotatable around the anchor point; [0016] In another example, the screenshots can be rotatable around the anchor point in a vertical plane but not in a horizontal plane. In another scenario, the screenshots can be rotatable around the anchor point in more than a single plane to create an effect in which the screenshots can be rotated around the anchor point in more than a single direction and axis; [0029] FIG. 4, a user has provided a user input, such as a swipe gesture that includes a component in a plane in which the carousel element is rotatable. In response to receiving the swipe gesture, the file viewer application 310 can initiate an update of the scene that can be rendered by the GPU 307 such that the carousel element spins in the direction of the swipe gesture. As shown in FIG. 4, the carousel user interface element 105 has spun in counterclockwise direction around an anchor point positioned in the center of the screenshots. The carousel user interface element 105 has been updated in response to a swipe gesture having a component in the plane in which the screenshots are rotatable. It should be appreciated that the carousel user interface element 105 can spin in a clockwise direction in response to a swipe gesture in an opposite direction as well);
during a mode in which details of content of individual frames are viewable, more than one frame is visible, wherein when a frame is centered in a display area of the screen for viewing content of that frame, at least a portion of each of at least two other frames is visible, each of the at least two other frames is foreshortened to create an appearance of a carousel ([0016] the carousel user interface element 105 can also respond to other user inputs or gestures, such as a tap, a mouse click, or a selection of one of the depicted screenshots. As indicated by the text 119, the carousel user interface element 105 can allow a user to view a document corresponding to a screenshot in a full screen mode by performing a first gesture; [0017] Accordingly, continuing the example of FIG. 1, reference is now made to FIG. 2, which illustrates a full-screen user interface 121 rendered by an application in response to a double tap gesture on the screenshot 115. The screenshot 115 corresponds to a particular document 123 that is accessible by the client device 103. In response to detecting a certain user input or a gesture, such as a double tap gesture, the client device 103 can launch a document viewer or editor in a full screen mode or a mode that provides for a larger view of the document. In a full screen mode, the user can scroll or page through the document 123, edit the document 123, or otherwise interact with the document. Additionally, by following user interface element 125, the user can return to the carousel user interface element 105 in which a carousel user interface element that displays screenshots of recently viewed documents; [0029] FIG. 4, a user has provided a user input, such as a swipe gesture that includes a component in a plane in which the carousel element is rotatable. In response to receiving the swipe gesture, the file viewer application 310 can initiate an update of the scene that can be rendered by the GPU 307 such that the carousel element spins in the direction of the swipe gesture. As shown in FIG. 4, the carousel user interface element 105 has spun in counterclockwise direction around an anchor point positioned in the center of the screenshots. The carousel user interface element 105 has been updated in response to a swipe gesture having a component in the plane in which the screenshots are rotatable. It should be appreciated that the carousel user interface element 105 can spin in a clockwise direction in response to a swipe gesture in an opposite direction as well).
DeWeese does not explicitly teach
receiving at the machine information indicating a swipe gesture in a second direction that is not parallel to the first direction the swipe gesture in the second direction being over a second frame selected from a second plurality of frames of content; and
in response, presenting, by the machine, on the screen an image of the second plurality of frames of content moving, arranged to convey a perception of a second carousel holding the second plurality of frames rotating about an axis perpendicular to the second direction, the first plurality of frames and the second plurality of frames sharing only one frame.
However, in the same field of endeavor, BRUNET teaches
receiving at the machine information indicating a swipe gesture in a second direction that is not parallel to the first direction the swipe gesture in the second direction being over a second frame selected from a second plurality of frames of content ([0011] The method may further include detecting a first predetermined motion, by the player, on the touch-screen display, and responsive to detecting the first predetermined motion, scrolling through the provided plurality of game gadgets; [0012] The scrolling step may be carried out from left to right, from right to left, from top to bottom, from bottom to top and/or and diagonally; Note: Examiner interprets the swipe gesture from left to right, from right to left sweeping motion as the claimed swipe gesture in a first direction and from top to bottom or from bottom to top sweeping motion as the claimed swipe gesture in a second direction); and
in response, presenting, by the machine, on the screen an image of the second plurality of frames of content moving, arranged to convey a perception of a second carousel holding the second plurality of frames rotating about an axis perpendicular to the second direction, the first plurality of frames and the second plurality of frames sharing only one frame ([0136] FIG. 20 depicts one possible 3D menu carousel, according to an embodiment of the present inventions. In this interface, games are presented in a 3D orb-like (e.g., a globe or a sphere, spheroid or other surface of revolution such as a cylinder, for example) display 2002 that may be rotated (for example, either left or light, tip or down or diagonally) or otherwise moved by the player to reveal new game offerings via player selectable game gadgets (2051-2061). When selected, the game gadgets 2051-2061 may enable the player to play a game associated with the selected game gadget and/or may provide the player with additional information regarding the associated game such as, for example, a preview of the associated game or other relevant game information. Moves by the 3D orb-like display 2002 may be initiated by a four-way sweeping motion (right/left/up/down or diagonally) on the touch-screen by the player's hand or finger or fingers in an intuitive fashion that allows players to rapidly preview a large amount of game icons or icon animations; [0140] FIG. 21 demonstrates how the player may use a sweeping motion to navigate game menus in a 3D dynamic menu carousel (such as the above-described orb-like display 3802), according to embodiments of the present inventions. For the purposes of illustration, each column of game gadgets on the depicted 3D game menu carousel 2100.sub.t0 and 2100.sub.t1 has been assigned a common image pattern. In the depicted example, all games in the middle column of the "Before Move" version of the game menu carousel 2100.sub.t0 have been marked with an "X" pattern 2106; [0141] The player may move the orb and reveal new game gadgets (and simultaneously hiding other game gadgets) by performing an intuitive sweeping motion 2110 across the screen by sweeping his finger 2108 on the touch-screen. In the "After Move" section of FIG. 21, the player has made a short, leftward sweep 2110. As a result, the orb rotates to the position depicted at 2100.sub.t1 (wherein t.sub.1 is later in time relative to t.sub.0) those game gadgets in the center column) (marked with an "X" 2106) have moved two positions to the left and two new columns (one marked with vertical dotted lines and one marked with a single diagonal line) have now become visible. The player may continue this motion to scroll through) a game operator's entire gambling library. In addition, the player could perform sweeps in other directions (right, up, down and optionally even diagonally) to see new gaming choices or return to gaming choices that were previously viewed).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the teaching of a 3D orb-like display initiated by a four-way sweeping motion on the touch-screen by the player's hand or finger or fingers in an intuitive fashion that allows players to rapidly preview a large amount of game icons or icon animations as suggested in BRUNET into DeWeese’s system because both of these systems are addressing techniques to display and manipulate a collection of contents. This modification would have been motivated by the desire to enhance the visualization to improve the operability.
Regarding dependent claim 12, the combination of DeWeese and BRUNET teaches all the limitations as set forth in the rejection of claim 2 that is incorporated. BRUNET further teaches wherein
a grid of frames of the content appears on the screen, the grid being formed from multiple independent carousels that are parallel to the first direction and multiple independent carousels that are parallel to the second direction ([0136] FIG. 20 depicts one possible 3D menu carousel, according to an embodiment of the present inventions. In this interface, games are presented in a 3D orb-like (e.g., a globe or a sphere, spheroid or other surface of revolution such as a cylinder, for example) display 2002 that may be rotated (for example, either left or light, tip or down or diagonally) or otherwise moved by the player to reveal new game offerings via player selectable game gadgets (2051-2061). When selected, the game gadgets 2051-2061 may enable the player to play a game associated with the selected game gadget and/or may provide the player with additional information regarding the associated game such as, for example, a preview of the associated game or other relevant game information. Moves by the 3D orb-like display 2002 may be initiated by a four-way sweeping motion (right/left/up/down or diagonally) on the touch-screen by the player's hand or finger or fingers in an intuitive fashion that allows players to rapidly preview a large amount of game icons or icon animations. Alternatively, buttons (either displayed or mechanical) may be provided which, when depressed by the player, cause the 3D orb-like display 2002 to rotate to hide some game gadgets and to reveal others); and
in a mode of operation, rotation of a carousel in the first direction causes all the frames of the grid to rotate in tandem in the first direction, and rotation of a carousel in the second direction causes all the frames of the grid to rotate in tandem in the second direction ([0140] FIG. 21 demonstrates how the player may use a sweeping motion to navigate game menus in a 3D dynamic menu carousel (such as the above-described orb-like display 3802), according to embodiments of the present inventions. For the purposes of illustration, each column of game gadgets on the depicted 3D game menu carousel 2100.sub.t0 and 2100.sub.t1 has been assigned a common image pattern. In the depicted example, all games in the middle column of the "Before Move" version of the game menu carousel 2100.sub.t0 have been marked with an "X" pattern 2106; [0141] The player may move the orb and reveal new game gadgets (and simultaneously hiding other game gadgets) by performing an intuitive sweeping motion 2110 across the screen by sweeping his finger 2108 on the touch-screen. In the "After Move" section of FIG. 21, the player has made a short, leftward sweep 2110. As a result, the orb rotates to the position depicted at 2100.sub.t1 (wherein t.sub.1 is later in time relative to t.sub.0) those game gadgets in the center column) (marked with an "X" 2106) have moved two positions to the left and two new columns (one marked with vertical dotted lines and one marked with a single diagonal line) have now become visible. The player may continue this motion to scroll through) a game operator's entire gambling library. In addition, the player could perform sweeps in other directions (right, up, down and optionally even diagonally) to see new gaming choices or return to gaming choices that were previously viewed).
Regarding dependent claim 16, the combination of DeWeese and BRUNET teaches all the limitations as set forth in the rejection of claim 12 that is incorporated. BRUNET further teaches wherein
the first carousel is parallel to at least a third carousel,
the third carousel is perpendicular to the second carousel,
the second carousel is parallel to at least a fourth carousel,
the fourth carousel is perpendicular to the first carousel, and
the first carousel and third carousel each intersect the second and fourth carousels ([0136] FIG. 20 depicts one possible 3D menu carousel, according to an embodiment of the present inventions. In this interface, games are presented in a 3D orb-like (e.g., a globe or a sphere, spheroid or other surface of revolution such as a cylinder, for example) display 2002 that may be rotated (for example, either left or light, tip or down or diagonally) or otherwise moved by the player to reveal new game offerings via player selectable game gadgets (2051-2061). When selected, the game gadgets 2051-2061 may enable the player to play a game associated with the selected game gadget and/or may provide the player with additional information regarding the associated game such as, for example, a preview of the associated game or other relevant game information. Moves by the 3D orb-like display 2002 may be initiated by a four-way sweeping motion (right/left/up/down or diagonally) on the touch-screen by the player's hand or finger or fingers in an intuitive fashion that allows players to rapidly preview a large amount of game icons or icon animations); and where
the grid is formed from at least multiple carousels parallel to the first direction, which include the first carousel and the third carousel, and the grid also includes at least multiple carousels parallel to the second direction, which include the second carousel and the fourth carousel ([0136] FIG. 20 depicts one possible 3D menu carousel, according to an embodiment of the present inventions. In this interface, games are presented in a 3D orb-like (e.g., a globe or a sphere, spheroid or other surface of revolution such as a cylinder, for example) display 2002 that may be rotated (for example, either left or light, tip or down or diagonally) or otherwise moved by the player to reveal new game offerings via player selectable game gadgets (2051-2061). When selected, the game gadgets 2051-2061 may enable the player to play a game associated with the selected game gadget and/or may provide the player with additional information regarding the associated game such as, for example, a preview of the associated game or other relevant game information. Moves by the 3D orb-like display 2002 may be initiated by a four-way sweeping motion (right/left/up/down or diagonally) on the touch-screen by the player's hand or finger or fingers in an intuitive fashion that allows players to rapidly preview a large amount of game icons or icon animations; [0137] Players may manually rotate the 3D orb-like display 2002 and look at the game gadgets as they are sequentially revealed).
Regarding dependent claim 22, the combination of DeWeese and BRUNET teaches all the limitations as set forth in the rejection of claim 2 that is incorporated. DeWeese further teaches wherein the at least two other frames are foreshortened, so that a first end of each the at least other two frames is narrower than a second end of each of the at least two other frames, the first end and the second end being opposite to one another and being parallel to one another ([0015] In the example of FIG. 1, the carousel user interface element 105 is generated by capturing screenshots 107, 109, 111, 113, 115, and 117 associated with recently accessed files. An anchor point can be created within a scene using the API. An application in which the scene is created can also attach the screenshots as objects to the anchor point within the scene using the API. In the example shown in FIG. 1, the anchor point can be created at a center point and the screenshots are attached to the anchor point within the scene using the API such that they are rotatable around the anchor point in a particular plane).
Regarding independent claim 3, DeWeese teaches a method comprising:
receiving, at a machine, information indicating a swipe gesture over a frame having content the swipe gesture being in a direction ([0013] With reference to FIG. 1, shown is one example of a client device 103 according to an embodiment. In the example of FIG. 1, the client device 103 renders a carousel user interface element 105 on a display. In one scenario, an application facilitating the browsing or viewing of files that are accessible to the client device 103 can generate the carousel user interface element 105; Fig. 8; [0036] At element 801, the file viewer application 310 can determine whether a user input is obtained via the client device 103. A user input can include a gesture performed by the user on a touchscreen input device; [0037] At element 803, the file viewer application 310 can identify a particular gesture associated with a detected input. At element 805, the file viewer application 310 can determine whether the gesture necessitates an update to a carousel user interface element. For example, in the case of a swipe gesture, the file viewer application 310 can determine whether the gesture includes a component in the plane or axis in which the screenshots in the carousel user interface element are rotatable around the anchor point), the machine including a processor system having one or more processors and a memory system ([0018] With reference to FIG. 3, shown is a client device 103 in which various embodiments can be implemented. The client device 103 may include, for example, a processor-based system such as a computer system. In this respect, the client device 103 can include at least one processor circuit, for example, having at least one processor 303 and a memory 306, both of which are coupled to a local interface 309, respectively. The processor 303 is also referred to herein as a CPU. The client device 103 can also include a graphics processing unit 307, or a GPU, which is also coupled to a local interface 309. The GPU can include one or more processing cores or processors in which graphics operations or calculations can be performed. Accordingly, an operating system or another software component executed by the client device 103 may include a library or other software module providing a graphics API 311 that facilitates graphics operations); and
in response, presenting by the processor system, on a screen an image of frames of content moving, arranged to convey a perception of a carousel holding the frames rotating about an axis perpendicular to the direction ([0015] In the example of FIG. 1, the carousel user interface element 105 is generated by capturing screenshots 107, 109, 111, 113, 115, and 117 associated with recently accessed files. An anchor point can be created within a scene using the API. An application in which the scene is created can also attach the screenshots as objects to the anchor point within the scene using the API. In the example shown in FIG. 1, the anchor point can be created at a center point and the screenshots are attached to the anchor point within the scene using the API such that they are rotatable around the anchor point in a particular plane. In the example of FIG. 1, the screenshots are rotatable or “spinnable” around the anchor point in a first plane, such as a horizontal plane, but are not rotatable around the anchor point in another plane, such as a vertical plane. In other words, the screenshot are rotatable around the anchor point in a single plane and not in any other plane. In this way, a carousel effect is achieved in which the screenshots can be rotatable around the anchor point in response to a user input, such as a swipe gesture received via a touchscreen input device; [0037] At element 803, the file viewer application 310 can identify a particular gesture associated with a detected input. At element 805, the file viewer application 310 can determine whether the gesture necessitates an update to a carousel user interface element. For example, in the case of a swipe gesture, the file viewer application 310 can determine whether the gesture includes a component in the plane or axis in which the screenshots in the carousel user interface element are rotatable around the anchor point; [0016] In another example, the screenshots can be rotatable around the anchor point in a vertical plane but not in a horizontal plane. In another scenario, the screenshots can be rotatable around the anchor point in more than a single plane to create an effect in which the screenshots can be rotated around the anchor point in more than a single direction and axis; [0029] FIG. 4, a user has provided a user input, such as a swipe gesture that includes a component in a plane in which the carousel element is rotatable. In response to receiving the swipe gesture, the file viewer application 310 can initiate an update of the scene that can be rendered by the GPU 307 such that the carousel element spins in the direction of the swipe gesture. As shown in FIG. 4, the carousel user interface element 105 has spun in counterclockwise direction around an anchor point positioned in the center of the screenshots. The carousel user interface element 105 has been updated in response to a swipe gesture having a component in the plane in which the screenshots are rotatable. It should be appreciated that the carousel user interface element 105 can spin in a clockwise direction in response to a swipe gesture in an opposite direction as well),
wherein
the frames are capable of including photos ([0025] Next, a description of examples of how the file viewer application 310 or any other application executed by the client device 103 can generate a carousel user interface element 105 according to various examples. To begin, as one example, the file viewer application 310 can identify a set of content, such as a set of recently accessed files that is available to the client device 103. For example, the client device 103 can capture a screenshot associated with a particular file accessed by a user, which can include an image of a first page of a document, a representative page of the document, or any other representation of a document),
any of the frames are capable of storing a folder ([0025] In the case of a file that is an image or a picture, the screenshot captured by the file viewer application 310 can include a thumbnail of the image. In the case of a file that is a video, the screenshot can include a thumbnail or a screenshot of a particular frame of the video. In some scenarios, the screenshot may include a title screen or another image that is not captured from a frame of the video but that is representative of the video in some way), and
any of the frames are capable of storing other types of content other than a folder ([0014] In one example, the carousel user interface element 105 can include a scene including screenshots of the six most recently accessed documents. However, it should be appreciated that any number of most recently accessed documents can be incorporated into a carousel user interface element 105 according to various examples. Additionally, although an example of displaying recently accessed files in the carousel is used, any other type of content can also be displayed. For example, a user's favorite files, webpages, contacts, most often used files, webpages, or contacts, most relevant results to a search, recent locations, or any other type of content can be included in a carousel view); and
wherein only a portion of the carousel is visible on the screen ([0029] FIG. 4, a user has provided a user input, such as a swipe gesture that includes a component in a plane in which the carousel element is rotatable. In response to receiving the swipe gesture, the file viewer application 310 can initiate an update of the scene that can be rendered by the GPU 307 such that the carousel element spins in the direction of the swipe gesture. As shown in FIG. 4, the carousel user interface element 105 has spun in counterclockwise direction around an anchor point positioned in the center of the screenshots. The carousel user interface element 105 has been updated in response to a swipe gesture having a component in the plane in which the screenshots are rotatable);
DeWeese does not explicitly teach the carousel being a first carousel, the method further comprising:
presenting on a display of the machine an image having a main frame surrounded by four border panels,
each border panel including a preview of content that is adjacent to the main frame, the content that is adjacent to the main frame, being adjacent along a direction of rotation in which one of the first carousel and a second carousel rotates.
However, in the same field of endeavor, BRUNET teaches the carousel being a first carousel, the method further comprising:
presenting on a display of the machine an image having a main frame surrounded by four border panels, each border panel including a preview of content that is adjacent to the main frame, the content that is adjacent to the main frame, being adjacent along a direction of rotation in which one of the first carousel and a second carousel rotates ([0010] An embodiment of the present invention is a method that includes providing a regulated gaming machine in a regulated gaming system that includes a plurality of distributed computer nodes communicating over a network using a service oriented communication protocol, the gaming machine including a touch-screen display; [0136] FIG. 20 depicts one possible 3D menu carousel, according to an embodiment of the present inventions. In this interface, games are presented in a 3D orb-like (e.g., a globe or a sphere, spheroid or other surface of revolution such as a cylinder, for example) display 2002 that may be rotated (for example, either left or light, tip or down or diagonally) or otherwise moved by the player to reveal new game offerings via player selectable game gadgets (2051-2061). When selected, the game gadgets 2051-2061 may enable the player to play a game associated with the selected game gadget and/or may provide the player with additional information regarding the associated game such as, for example, a preview of the associated game or other relevant game information. Moves by the 3D orb-like display 2002 may be initiated by a four-way sweeping motion (right/left/up/down or diagonally) on the touch-screen by the player's hand or finger or fingers in an intuitive fashion that allows players to rapidly preview a large amount of game icons or icon animations. Alternatively, buttons (either displayed or mechanical) may be provided which, when depressed by the player, cause the 3D orb-like display 2002 to rotate to hide some game gadgets and to reveal others. Note: Examiner interprets frame 2056 as the claimed main frame and frames 2053, 2055, 2057 and 2059 as claimed border panels).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the teaching of a 3D orb-like display initiated by a four-way sweeping motion on the touch-screen by the player's hand or finger or fingers in an intuitive fashion that allows players to rapidly preview a large amount of game icons or icon animations as suggested in BRUNET into DeWeese’s system because both of these systems are addressing techniques to display and manipulate a collection of contents. This modification would have been motivated by the desire to enhance the visualization to improve the operability.
Claim 4 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over DeWeese as applied in claim 1, in view of Ahn et al. (hereinafter Ahn), US 20120315954 A1.
Regarding dependent claim 4, DeWeese teaches all the limitations as set forth in the rejection of claim 1 that is incorporated. DeWeese does not explicitly disclose
receiving at the machine a rotation gesture on a frame; and in response, presenting, by the machine, on the screen an image of the content rotated in the direction and by a degree of rotation indicated by the rotation gesture.
However, in the same field of endeavor, Ahn teaches receiving at the machine a rotation gesture on a frame; and in response, presenting, by the machine, on the screen an image of the content rotated in the direction and by a degree of rotation indicated by the rotation gesture (Figs. 5A-5C; [0049] illustrates an exemplary view of a UI which allows the user to reorient or rotate the full screen image by accessing (e.g., touching, wheeling, dragging, gesturing, etc.) a GUI in the shape of a wheel (e.g., a wheel icon 318). In one exemplary implementation, as illustrated in FIG. 5B, as the user rotates the wheel icon 318 formed at the edge of the thumbnail image 316 of the full screen image 302, the thumbnail image 316 may be rotated into a thumbnail image 322 according to the degree of the rotation being applied on the wheel by a touch 320 or a finger, a stylus, etc. Then, as illustrated in FIG. 5C, upon release of the wheel icon 318, the full screen image 302 may be displayed in the rotated angle (e.g., the image in the second orientation 310). In another exemplary implementation, both the thumbnail image 316 and the full screen image 302 may be rotated at the same time as the wheel icon 318 is rotated, and both the thumbnail image 322 and full screen image 310 are set or reoriented as the user release the wheel icon 318).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the teaching of providing a user interface configured to process a user input for reorienting the image and display the image in a new orientation in response to the user input as suggested in Ahn into DeWeese’s system because both of these systems are addressing techniques to display and manipulate a collection of images. This modification would have been motivated by the desire to provide more versatile, efficient methods, systems, and devices for displaying captured images on a mobile device. (Ahn, [0023]).
Claims 5-8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over DeWeese as applied in claim 1, in view of Sanjoto et al. (hereinafter Sanjoto), US 20200264695 A1.
Regarding dependent claim 5, DeWeese teaches all the limitations as set forth in the rejection of claim 1 that is incorporated. DeWeese does not explicitly disclose
receiving at the machine a gesture activating a panoramic function; and in response, presenting, by the machine, on the screen an image of a still panoramic picture, with different portions of the panoramic image located in different frames.
However, in the same field of endeavor, Sanjoto teaches receiving at the machine a gesture activating a panoramic function (Fig. 1; [0047] illustrates the AWS architecture 100 for implementing the Cloud-based virtual tour builder involves two AWS Elastic Cloud Computing (EC2) virtual machines 102, 104, one 102 for hosting the VR tour builder, and the other one 104 for hosting the 360 panorama image stitching; Fig. 2, 220; [0083] discloses when the user identifies that no panorama image exists for creating the virtual tour, the process proceeds to the flow of creating 220 a 360 panorama image); and in response, presenting, by the machine, on the screen an image of a still panoramic picture, with different portions of the panoramic image located in different frames ([0083]-[0084] describes the process of creating 220 a 360 panorama image from selected uploaded images; Fig. 3K; [0085] illustrates an example of the user interface for adding the images for stitching).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the teaching of providing a user interface configured to allow a user to upload images for stitching of a 360 panorama image as suggested in Sanjoto into DeWeese’s system because both of these systems are addressing techniques to display and manipulate a collection of images. This modification would have been motivated by the desire for an improved system and method for creating and customizing a panorama image (Sanjoto, [0023]).
Regarding dependent claim 6, the combination of DeWeese and Sanjoto teaches all the limitations as set forth in the rejection of claim 5 that is incorporated.
Sanjoto further teaches receiving at the machine an indication of which picture to combine to create a panoramic image (Figs. 3K-3P; [0085] illustrates an example of the user interface for adding the images for stitching).
Regarding dependent claim 7, the combination of DeWeese and Sanjoto teaches all the limitations as set forth in the rejection of claim 5 that is incorporated.
Sanjoto further teaches receiving at the machine a gesture activating a pinning function ([0069] discloses the content creator can be provided with a widget to embed one or more interactive 3D elements, objects or assets into the virtual tours. These embedded 3D objects, when viewed in the VR mode with a VR headset or goggle, are controllable by the user through control elements or interface associated with the VR headset or goggle); and in response, presenting by the machine, activating a method for adding an augmented object to the image (Fig. 3C; [0075] describes an example of the “Editor” page 214 user interface where a number of widgets 300 are shown including a button 302 for adding a hotspot; a button 304 for embedding a 3D model; a button 306 for setting the background music and its mode; and a button 308 for adding a contact number; Fig. 4, 406; [0093] discloses the user is allowed (406) to edit the virtual tour by embedding an object for the user to interact with, when the virtual tour is viewed with a VR headset).
Regarding dependent claim 8, the combination of DeWeese and Sanjoto teaches all the limitations as set forth in the rejection of claim 7 that is incorporated.
Sanjoto further teaches receiving at the machine an indication of which of a plurality of augmented objects to include in the image (Figs. 3C-3G; [0075]-[0078] illustrates the functions of a number of widgets 300 to add objects to image).
Claims 9, 10 and 15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over DeWeese, in view of Miyakawa et al. (hereinafter Miyakawa), US 20150172534 A1.
Regarding dependent claim 9, DeWeese teaches all the limitations as set forth in the rejection of claim 1 that is incorporated. DeWeese does not explicitly disclose
wherein the content includes the photos, and in at least one mode of operation, rotation of a carousel of filters changes a filter applied to an image that is applied to at least one of the frames from one filter to another filter, the carousel of filters being superimposed over the frames having content.
However, in the same field of endeavor, Miyakawa teaches wherein the content includes the photos, and in at least one mode of operation, rotation of a carousel of filters changes a filter applied to an image that is applied to at least one of the frames from one filter to another filter, the carousel of filters being superimposed over the frames having content (Fig. 5; [0054] Note that in the above explanation, an example in which the buttons for selecting the type of filter are displayed on the filter list display area 212 and the two types of filter effects including the filter OFF are compared is explained, but, it is also possible to design such that the method of operation in which the type of filter is drawn out one by one as described above is not employed, and different types of filter layers formed of a plurality of frames which are continuously connected in which an area on which the filter processing is performed is set as one frame, like a 35 mm film, as illustrated in FIG. 5, are scrolled in right and left directions to perform the filter processing in accordance with a position of the frame in the image display area 211 of the display part 203, and the filter effects can be compared at a boundary position of adjacent frames. In this case, the filter list display area 212 illustrated in FIG. 1 and the like is not necessary, and by stopping a boundary position 162 of the filter at an arbitrary position on the screen of the display part 203, images to which the filters of different types including OFF are applied, are displayed on the right and left of the boundary position 162, so that it is possible to compare the two types of filter effects at a position at which the frames of the filter layers are adjacent to each other. Note that it is also possible to design such that an order of the types of filters can be arbitrarily set on the menu screen or the like).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the teaching of a filter unit performing filter processing on the image corresponding to the predetermined area designated in the movable manner by the operation unit as suggested in Miyakawa into DeWeese’s system because both of these systems are addressing techniques to display and manipulate a collection of images. This modification would have been motivated by the desire to facilitate an operation of overlapping a plurality of filter effects (Miyakawa, [0005]).
Regarding dependent claim 15, DeWeese teaches all the limitations as set forth in the rejection of claim 1 that is incorporated. DeWeese does not explicitly disclose wherein the content includes images, in a first mode the rotation of the carousel causes the image of frames of content to move and in a second mode rotation of the carousel changes a filter applied to the image of the frames of the content from one filter to another filter.
However, in the same field of endeavor, Miyakawa teaches wherein the content includes images, in a first mode the rotation of the carousel causes the image of frames of content to move and in a second mode rotation of the carousel changes a filter applied to the image of the frames of the content from one filter to another filter (Fig. 5; [0054] Note that in the above explanation, an example in which the buttons for selecting the type of filter are displayed on the filter list display area 212 and the two types of filter effects including the filter OFF are compared is explained, but, it is also possible to design such that the method of operation in which the type of filter is drawn out one by one as described above is not employed, and different types of filter layers formed of a plurality of frames which are continuously connected in which an area on which the filter processing is performed is set as one frame, like a 35 mm film, as illustrated in FIG. 5, are scrolled in right and left directions to perform the filter processing in accordance with a position of the frame in the image display area 211 of the display part 203, and the filter effects can be compared at a boundary position of adjacent frames. In this case, the filter list display area 212 illustrated in FIG. 1 and the like is not necessary, and by stopping a boundary position 162 of the filter at an arbitrary position on the screen of the display part 203, images to which the filters of different types including OFF are applied, are displayed on the right and left of the boundary position 162, so that it is possible to compare the two types of filter effects at a position at which the frames of the filter layers are adjacent to each other. Note that it is also possible to design such that an order of the types of filters can be arbitrarily set on the menu screen or the like).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the teaching of a filter unit performing filter processing on the image corresponding to the predetermined area designated in the movable manner by the operation unit as suggested in Miyakawa into DeWeese’s system because both of these systems are addressing techniques to display and manipulate a collection of images. This modification would have been motivated by the desire to facilitate an operation of overlapping a plurality of filter effects (Miyakawa, [0005]).
Regarding independent claim 10, DeWeese teaches a method comprising:
receiving, at a machine, information indicating a swipe gesture over a frame having content the swipe gesture being in a direction ([0013] With reference to FIG. 1, shown is one example of a client device 103 according to an embodiment. In the example of FIG. 1, the client device 103 renders a carousel user interface element 105 on a display. In one scenario, an application facilitating the browsing or viewing of files that are acces3sible to the client device 103 can generate the carousel user interface element 105; Fig. 8; [0036] At element 801, the file viewer application 310 can determine whether a user input is obtained via the client device 103. A user input can include a gesture performed by the user on a touchscreen input device; [0037] At element 803, the file viewer application 310 can identify a particular gesture associated with a detected input. At element 805, the file viewer application 310 can determine whether the gesture necessitates an update to a carousel user interface element. For example, in the case of a swipe gesture, the file viewer application 310 can determine whether the gesture includes a component in the plane or axis in which the screenshots in the carousel user interface element are rotatable around the anchor point), the machine including a processor system having one or more processors and a memory system ([0018] With reference to FIG. 3, shown is a client device 103 in which various embodiments can be implemented. The client device 103 may include, for example, a processor-based system such as a computer system. In this respect, the client device 103 can include at least one processor circuit, for example, having at least one processor 303 and a memory 306, both of which are coupled to a local interface 309, respectively. The processor 303 is also referred to herein as a CPU. The client device 103 can also include a graphics processing unit 307, or a GPU, which is also coupled to a local interface 309. The GPU can include one or more processing cores or processors in which graphics operations or calculations can be performed. Accordingly, an operating system or another software component executed by the client device 103 may include a library or other software module providing a graphics API 311 that facilitates graphics operations); and
in response, presenting by the processor system, on a screen an image of frames of content moving, arranged to convey a perception of a carousel holding the frames rotating about an axis perpendicular to the direction ([0015] In the example of FIG. 1, the carousel user interface element 105 is generated by capturing screenshots 107, 109, 111, 113, 115, and 117 associated with recently accessed files. An anchor point can be created within a scene using the API. An application in which the scene is created can also attach the screenshots as objects to the anchor point within the scene using the API. In the example shown in FIG. 1, the anchor point can be created at a center point and the screenshots are attached to the anchor point within the scene using the API such that they are rotatable around the anchor point in a particular plane. In the example of FIG. 1, the screenshots are rotatable or “spinnable” around the anchor point in a first plane, such as a horizontal plane, but are not rotatable around the anchor point in another plane, such as a vertical plane. In other words, the screenshot are rotatable around the anchor point in a single plane and not in any other plane. In this way, a carousel effect is achieved in which the screenshots can be rotatable around the anchor point in response to a user input, such as a swipe gesture received via a touchscreen input device; [0037] At element 803, the file viewer application 310 can identify a particular gesture associated with a detected input. At element 805, the file viewer application 310 can determine whether the gesture necessitates an update to a carousel user interface element. For example, in the case of a swipe gesture, the file viewer application 310 can determine whether the gesture includes a component in the plane or axis in which the screenshots in the carousel user interface element are rotatable around the anchor point; [0016] In another example, the screenshots can be rotatable around the anchor point in a vertical plane but not in a horizontal plane. In another scenario, the screenshots can be rotatable around the anchor point in more than a single plane to create an effect in which the screenshots can be rotated around the anchor point in more than a single direction and axis; [0029] FIG. 4, a user has provided a user input, such as a swipe gesture that includes a component in a plane in which the carousel element is rotatable. In response to receiving the swipe gesture, the file viewer application 310 can initiate an update of the scene that can be rendered by the GPU 307 such that the carousel element spins in the direction of the swipe gesture. As shown in FIG. 4, the carousel user interface element 105 has spun in counterclockwise direction around an anchor point positioned in the center of the screenshots. The carousel user interface element 105 has been updated in response to a swipe gesture having a component in the plane in which the screenshots are rotatable. It should be appreciated that the carousel user interface element 105 can spin in a clockwise direction in response to a swipe gesture in an opposite direction as well),
wherein
the frames are capable of including photos ([0025] Next, a description of examples of how the file viewer application 310 or any other application executed by the client device 103 can generate a carousel user interface element 105 according to various examples. To begin, as one example, the file viewer application 310 can identify a set of content, such as a set of recently accessed files that is available to the client device 103. For example, the client device 103 can capture a screenshot associated with a particular file accessed by a user, which can include an image of a first page of a document, a representative page of the document, or any other representation of a document),
any of the frames are capable of storing a folder ([0025] In the case of a file that is an image or a picture, the screenshot captured by the file viewer application 310 can include a thumbnail of the image. In the case of a file that is a video, the screenshot can include a thumbnail or a screenshot of a particular frame of the video. In some scenarios, the screenshot may include a title screen or another image that is not captured from a frame of the video but that is representative of the video in some way), and
any of the frames are capable of storing other types of content other than a folder ([0014] In one example, the carousel user interface element 105 can include a scene including screenshots of the six most recently accessed documents. However, it should be appreciated that any number of most recently accessed documents can be incorporated into a carousel user interface element 105 according to various examples. Additionally, although an example of displaying recently accessed files in the carousel is used, any other type of content can also be displayed. For example, a user's favorite files, webpages, contacts, most often used files, webpages, or contacts, most relevant results to a search, recent locations, or any other type of content can be included in a carousel view); and
wherein only a portion of the carousel is visible on the screen (([0029] FIG. 4, a user has provided a user input, such as a swipe gesture that includes a component in a plane in which the carousel element is rotatable. In response to receiving the swipe gesture, the file viewer application 310 can initiate an update of the scene that can be rendered by the GPU 307 such that the carousel element spins in the direction of the swipe gesture. As shown in FIG. 4, the carousel user interface element 105 has spun in counterclockwise direction around an anchor point positioned in the center of the screenshots. The carousel user interface element 105 has been updated in response to a swipe gesture having a component in the plane in which the screenshots are rotatable).
DeWeese does not explicitly disclose
wherein the content includes images, and in at least one mode, a rotation inducing gesture in the first direction, causes a rotation in the first direction that changes a filter applied to an image that is at least one of the frames from one filter to another filter, wherein the rotation inducing gesture in the first direction that changes the filter is performed over the at least one of the frames to which the filter is applied, and a rotation inducing gesture in the second direction causes a rotation in the second direction that changes the degree of the filter from one degree of filtering greater than an absence of filtering to another degree of filtering that is greater than an absence of filtering, wherein the rotation inducing gesture in the second direction that changes the degree of the filter is performed over the at least one of the frames in which the degree of the filter changes.
However, in the same field of endeavor, Miyakawa teaches wherein the content includes images, and in at least one mode, a rotation inducing gesture in the first direction, causes a rotation in the first direction that changes a filter applied to an image that is at least one of the frames from one filter to another filter (Fig. 5; [0054] Note that in the above explanation, an example in which the buttons for selecting the type of filter are displayed on the filter list display area 212 and the two types of filter effects including the filter OFF are compared is explained, but, it is also possible to design such that the method of operation in which the type of filter is drawn out one by one as described above is not employed, and different types of filter layers formed of a plurality of frames which are continuously connected in which an area on which the filter processing is performed is set as one frame, like a 35 mm film, as illustrated in FIG. 5, are scrolled in right and left directions to perform the filter processing in accordance with a position of the frame in the image display area 211 of the display part 203, and the filter effects can be compared at a boundary position of adjacent frames. In this case, the filter list display area 212 illustrated in FIG. 1 and the like is not necessary, and by stopping a boundary position 162 of the filter at an arbitrary position on the screen of the display part 203, images to which the filters of different types including OFF are applied, are displayed on the right and left of the boundary position 162, so that it is possible to compare the two types of filter effects at a position at which the frames of the filter layers are adjacent to each other. Note that it is also possible to design such that an order of the types of filters can be arbitrarily set on the menu screen or the like), wherein the rotation inducing gesture in the first direction that changes the filter is performed over the at least one of the frames to which the filter is applied, and a rotation inducing gesture in the second direction causes a rotation in the second direction that changes the degree of the filter from one degree of filtering greater than an absence of filtering to another degree of filtering that is greater than an absence of filtering ([0063] FIG. 7(a) illustrates a state where a first filter type (filter A in FIG. 7(a)) is selected at the filter list display area 212 on the right side, and is slid in the image display area 211 in the left direction while performing the drag operation to set a boundary position 163, and the processing of the filter A is performed on an area 404 from the position at which the first filter type slides in the image display area to the boundary position 163, as described before (first operation). At this time, the filter is not applied to an area 403 on the left side of the boundary position 163. As illustrated in FIG. 7(b), a second filter type (filter C in FIG. 7(b)) is selected under this state at the filter list display area 213 on the upper side, and is slid in the image display area 211 in the lower direction while performing the drag operation to set a boundary position 164 (second operation)), wherein the rotation inducing gesture in the second direction that changes the degree of the filter is performed over the at least one of the frames in which the degree of the filter changes ([0064] Here, if a state where the first operation in FIG. 7(a) is not performed (state where the filter processing is not performed on the whole area) is created, the processing of the filter C is performed on an area from the upper side from which the filter C being the type of filter selected at the filter list display area 213 slides in the image display area 211 to the boundary position 164, but, since the second operation is performed after performing the first operation, two types of filter processing are performed on an area in which the first operation and the second operation are overlapped. For example, as illustrated in FIG. 7(b), the area 404 in which only the processing of the filter A by the first operation is performed, an area 405 in which only the processing of the filter C by the second operation is performed, an area 406 in which both of the processing of the filter A by the first operation and the processing of the filter C by the second operation are performed, and the area 403 in which none of the filter processing is performed, are displayed in a matrix format; [0065] As described above, in the electronic camera 100 according to the present embodiment, it is possible to compare the filter effect in the case where the plurality of types of filters are synthesized, and the filter effect in the case where the synthesis is not conducted, in the matrix format. For example, in FIG. 7(b), the filter lists are disposed on two sides being the upper side and the right side of the image display area 211, and by making the filter A slide in the image display area 211 from the right side and making the filter C slide in the image display area 211 from the upper side, it is possible to compare the four types of filter effects obtained by applying no filter, applying only the filter A, applying only the filter C, and synthesizing the filter A and the filter C; [0088] (Step S111) The camera control part 202 checks whether or not the operation in the direction orthogonal to the drawn-out direction is performed on the area 402 after being subjected to the filter processing. In FIG. 4, for example, when the slide operation is performed on the area 402 after being subjected to the processing of the filter A, in a direction orthogonal to the drawn-out direction of the filter A, it is determined that an applied part exists and the process proceeds to step S112, and even when the slide operation is conducted in the orthogonal direction, if the slide operation is performed on the area 401 on which no filter processing is performed, it is determined that the applied part does not exist and the process returns to step S101; [0089] (Step S112) The camera control part 202 adjusts the strength level of the filter in accordance with the operation in the direction orthogonal to the drawn-out direction. For example, the effect of the filter A is increased in FIG. 4(a), and the effect of the filter A is decreased in FIG. 4(b)).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the teaching of a filter unit performing filter processing on the image corresponding to the predetermined area designated in the movable manner by the operation unit as suggested in Miyakawa into DeWeese’s system because both of these systems are addressing techniques to display and manipulate a collection of images. This modification would have been motivated by the desire to facilitate an operation of overlapping a plurality of filter effects (Miyakawa, [0005]).
Claims 13, 17 and 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kupka, US 20070101292 A1, in view of Sharifi et al. (hereinafter Sharifi), US 20160117072 A1.
Regarding independent claim 13, Kupka teaches a method comprising:
presenting on a display of a machine an image having a content frame surrounded by border panels, each panel of the border panels being associated with a command (Fig. 1; [0039] describes User interface 100 may be displayed, for example, on a display screen of a conventional personal computer. Object 102 is an example of an on-screen object displayed within user interface 100. In the example of FIG. 1, object 102 is a graphic object. However, one skilled in the art will recognize that object 102 can be a text object, or a representation of a video or audio object, or any other type of object that can be displayed or represented within the context of user interface 100; [0040] discloses object 102 is surrounded by various zones 103(A-K), referred to collectively as a control region. Each zone 103 provides a designated type of functionality for controlling one or more aspects of object 102, or otherwise manipulating object 102), the machine including a processor system having one or more processors and a memory system ([0166]-[0167]).
Kupka discloses content that is surrounded by the border panels ([0040] discloses object 102 is surrounded by various zones 103(A-K), referred to collectively as a control region. Each zone 103 provides a designated type of functionality for controlling one or more aspects of object 102, or otherwise manipulating object 102), Kupka does not explicitly disclose
receiving at the machine a gesture over a region associated with content that is surrounded by the border panels, the gesture including at least a motion of a portion of a body of the user towards one of the border panels; and
in response, invoking by the processor system the command associated with the one of the border panels as indicated by the gesture that was received over the region associated with the content.
However, in the same field of endeavor, Sharifi teaches
receiving at the machine a gesture over a region associated with content ([0047] FIGS. 2A and 2B illustrate an example display used to select an entity for an improved drag-and-drop operation, in accordance with the disclosed subject matter. The display 200 of FIG. 2A is an example user interface used in a text messaging mobile application, although it is understood that the improved drag-and-drop operation functions in the same manner for any application executing on the mobile device. In the example of FIG. 2A, the user performs a drag command over the text “the rock” in the display 200. The drag command can be any combination of gestures recognized by the mobile device as a drag command. As examples only, the drag command may be a smudge, a two-finger tap, a long press, etc. As a result of the drag operation, the drag area 205 appears on the display, as illustrated in display 200′. The drag area 205 is the area of the display selected during or as a result of the drag command. As indicated above the mobile device may provide a selection box to assist the user in defining the drag area 205), the gesture including at least a motion of a portion of a body of the user towards one of the border panels ([0053] FIG. 4A illustrates another example of a drop location for the drag area of FIG. 2B. In the example of FIG. 4A, the drop site is a user interface that includes icons for various mobile applications installed on the mobile device. The display 400 includes the user interface and the icon 405 that indicates the mobile device is in a drag-and-drop mode. In the example of FIG. 4A, the user drops the icon 405 on the mobile app icon 410 for the restaurant reservation application); and
in response, invoking by the processor system the command associated with the one of the border panels as indicated by the gesture that was received over the region associated with the content ([0053] Responsive to the drop command the system determines which application is associated with the icon at the drop location and opens that application. In addition to opening the application, the system may use drag-and-drop features, such as features 134 or 194 of FIG. 1, to determine a default action. For example, based on the entity type (e.g., a restaurant) for the entity in the drag area, the system may determine that the mobile application should open the application to an interface for that particular restaurant, as illustrated in display 450 of FIG. 4B; [0054] The action performed may depend on the entity in the drag area and the type of mobile application associated with the icon at the drop location. For example, if the drop location is an icon for a communications application, the action may be to open a new message in the communications application and share the entity. Sharing the entity may depend on the content of the drag area. For example, if the drag area is text-based, sharing the entity may include providing the text equivalent for the entity and other data, such as a link to a website or address for the entity. When the drag area is image-based, sharing the entity may include inserting a link to an image for the entity. For example, the system may search for a public URL for the image and provide a link to the public URL. In some implementations, the public URL may be an attribute of the corresponding entity node in the data graph. As another example the system may, with user permission, transmit the image to a server and provide a URL to the location of the image at the server. When the drop location is an icon for an application that has a search interface, the action may be to initiate a search for the entity in the drag location, as illustrated in FIG. 4B. Examples of applications with search interfaces are map applications, browser applications, reservation and review applications, news applications, etc.).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the teaching of an improved drag-and-drop operation using an entity-based model to determine what to drop and what action the system takes as a result of the drop as suggested in Sharifi into Kupka’s system because both of these systems are addressing sharing information between applications in a mobile environment. This modification would have been motivated by the desire to enhance the sharing information between applications to improve the operability.
Regarding dependent claim 17, the combination of Kupka and Sharifi teaches all the limitations as set forth in the rejection of claim 13 that is incorporated. Kupka further teaches wherein the border panels are a plurality of panes of the frame of the content, in which each border panel is a pane of the frame of the content, in which the border panels frame the content (Fig. 1; [0040] discloses object 102 is surrounded by various zones 103(A-K), referred to collectively as a control region. Each zone 103 provides a designated type of functionality for controlling one or more aspects of object 102, or otherwise manipulating object 102).
Regarding dependent claim 18, the combination of Kupka and Sharifi teaches all the limitations as set forth in the rejection of claim 13 that is incorporated. Kupka further teaches wherein the gesture is a swipe in a direction, and in response to the swipe, the processor selects a command based on the direction of the swipe and which border panel is associated with the direction of the swipe ([0018] discloses the user specifies commands for manipulating the on-screen object by interacting with the zones within the object's control region. Interaction modes include, for example: pen (touch, press, stroke, or the like); mouse; keyboard; voice; remote controller; and the like; Fig. 4B; [0143] describes keyboard 400 includes touchpad 405 for performing stroke actions. Moving a finger across touchpad 405 is equivalent to a pen stroke or mouse movement; Fig. 2; [0051]-[0054] describes a menu 801, including commands 803 and icons 802 indicating corresponding stroke directions, and commands 803 having icons 802 indicating other actions such as a double-click and an Enter key. Click alternate button (e.g. right-click), or modified button (e.g. shift-click), or click and hold button while cursor 110 is in zone 103 (or, for pen input, either touch zone 103 with pen button pressed, or touch and hold the pen in zone 103): activates an alternate pop-up menu, which may also be called a secondary menu. The alternate pop-up menu operates in a similar manner as the first pop-up menu 801, and also includes icons or indicators showing direct actions that correspond to stroke directions, double-click, and the like, where applicable. In one embodiment, the on-screen cursor 110 changes to indicate that the button has been held long enough to activate the alternate menu. Stroke (i.e., hold down button and move cursor 110 a short distance in a particular direction) starting in zone 103 (or, for pen input, stroke without pressing pen button): performs an action associated with the particular stroke direction. Strokes can be of any type, including straight lines, curves, or more complex shapes or gestures. In one embodiment, as described herein, strokes are associated with particular directions (up, down, left, or right), although one skilled in the art will recognize that other types of strokes may also be used. As described above, in one embodiment, the pop-up menu 801 for a zone 103 includes each of the stroke directions and indicates what command is associated with each stroke direction).
Claim 14 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kupka, in view of Sharifi as applied in claim 13, in view of Primiani et al. (hereinafter Primiani), US 20130132904 A1.
Regarding dependent claim 14, the combination of Kupka and Sharifi teaches all the limitations as set forth in the rejection of claim 13 that is incorporated. The combination of Kupka and Sharifi does not explicitly disclose the command of each panel of the border panels causing storage of the content in a different destination than commands of other panels of the border panels, wherein each destination is a social media, and the method further comprising: as a result of implementing the command, causing an image that is part of the content of the content frame to be posted on a wall of the social network.
However, in the same field of endeavor, Primiani teaches the command of each panel of the border panels causing storage of the content in a different destination than commands of other panels of the border panels, wherein each destination is a social media, and the method further comprising: as a result of implementing the command, causing an image that is part of the content of the content frame to be posted on a wall of the social network (Fig. 2; [0041] discloses displaying a radially-distributed menu of destinations for identified content displays a pie menu or radial menu of online content sharing destinations. In this embodiment, six menu items represent Facebook 200, Twitter 210, Backplane 220, Instapaper 230, Tumblr 240, and a designated group of Facebook friends 250 with associated icons and colors; [0042] discloses displaying a radially-distributed menu of destinations for identified content displays a menu in response to a first user interaction. In further embodiments, a menu is displayed in response to a user interaction indicating a desire to select one or more sharing destinations for identified content; [0068] discloses a software module for sending content identified for sharing to selected destinations and/or individuals sends the content, a copy of the content, or a representation of the content).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the teaching of providing a content sharing application for identifying content to share, displaying a radially-distributed menu of destinations for identified content wherein said menu of destinations allows a user to select at least one destination as suggested in Primiani into Kupka and Sharifi’s system because both of these systems are providing a menu of commands applicable to an identified content. This modification would have been motivated by the desire for an application that offers easy-to-access and extremely fast content sharing that does not impose a high cognitive load on users (Primiani, [0003]).
Claims 19, 20, 23 and 24 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kupka, in view of Sharifi, in view of Noto, US 20130191784 A1.
Regarding dependent claim 19, the combination of Kupka and Sharifi teaches all the limitations as set forth in the rejection of claim 13 that is incorporated. The combination of Kupka and Sharifi does not explicitly disclose receiving, via the display, a rotation gesture; in response, via the system, rotating locations of the border panels about the content of the frame, without rotating any visible carousel.
However, in the same field of endeavor, Noto teaches
receiving, via the display, a rotation gesture ([0070] FIG. 6A shows menu items displayed when the finger touches a content image. If a menu item is selected according to the first method of selection, the finger touching the content image will hide a part of a menu item as a plurality of menu items are displayed. FIG. 6A shows that the DELETE display area 62 and the INFO display area 64 are displayed but a part of the PLAY display area 60 is hidden. Each display area is marked with characters representing the assigned function. For the PLAY display area 60, the characters cannot be read. To address this, the menu item displaying unit 148 rotates the menu items around the content image when a plurality of menu items are displayed);
in response, via the system, rotating locations of the border panels around the content of the frame, without rotating any visible carousel ([0071] FIG. 6B shows that the menu items are rotated. The menu item displaying unit 148 rotates the plurality of menu items so that a rotation is completed once in 5-10 seconds. In the illustrated example, the menu items are rotated clockwise, but they can be rotated counterclockwise. The PLAY display area 60 hidden by the finger in FIG. 6A will be visible as a result of the rotation. This allows the user to see the character (PLAY) drawn in the PLAY display area 60 and slide the finger to the PLAY display area 60, maintaining contact of the finger with the touch panel 20).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the teaching of displaying a plurality of menu items defined for a selected content image so as to surround the content image where these menu items are rotatable around the content image upon a gesture as suggested in Noto into Kupka and Sharifi’s system because both of these systems are providing a menu of commands applicable to an identified content. This modification would have been motivated by to provide an excellent user interface that enables intuitive user operation (Noto, [0007]).
Regarding dependent claim 20, the combination of Kupka, Sharifi and Noto teaches all the limitations as set forth in the rejection of claim 19 that is incorporated. Kupka further teaches the border panels comprising a top horizontal border panel, a bottom horizontal border panel, a left vertical border panel, and a right vertical border panel, the border panels do not obscure the content frame and a screen space occupied the border panels is less a screen space occupied the content frame (Fig. 1; [0040] discloses object 102 is surrounded by various zones 103(A-K), referred to collectively as a control region. Each zone 103 provides a designated type of functionality for controlling one or more aspects of object 102, or otherwise manipulating object 102).
Regarding dependent claim 23, the combination of Kupka, Sharifi and Noto teaches all the limitations as set forth in the rejection of claim 20 that is incorporated. Noto further teaches the rotation gesture including a rotational motion of fingers of the user (Fig. 6C; [0071] FIG. 6C shows that the finger is slid to the PLAY display area 60).
Regarding dependent claim 24, the combination of Kupka, Sharifi and Noto teaches all the limitations as set forth in the rejection of claim 20 that is incorporated. Noto further teaches the rotating locations of the border panels around the content of the frame causes a first border panel, which is one of the border panels to disappear, and a second border panel to appear instead, the first border panel being associated with a first command and the second border panel being associated with a second command that was not associated with the border panels prior to the rotating of the locations of the border panels ([0082] The user interface for presenting a menu according to the embodiment displays menu items to surround a selected content image. For this reason, the circle forming a display area may not fit within the display 24, depending on the position of the content image. FIG. 8A shows that a part of the display area does not fit within the display 24. The part that does not fit is indicated by dotted lines; [0083] When the first acknowledgment unit 144 acknowledges an instruction for selection of a content image, the menu item displaying unit 148 determines whether the display area of a menu item that should be displayed fits within the display 24. First, the menu item displaying unit 148 refers to the number of menu items defined for the content image and identifies the outer perimeter of the display area of the menu item. More specifically, the menu item displaying unit 148 identifies the radius from the center of the content image by determining the required number of circles by referring to the number of menu items. The menu item displaying unit 148 determines whether all of the display areas of the menu items can be displayed on the display 24 by referring to the coordinates of the center of the content image and the radius of the outer perimeter. If the menu item displaying unit 148 determines that all of the display areas can be displayed on the display 24, the menu item displaying unit 148 displays the menu items as shown in FIGS. 5 and 7; [0084] Meanwhile, if the menu item displaying unit 148 determines that a part of a display area cannot be displayed on the display 24, the menu item displaying unit 148 generates a display area by drawing an arc. FIG. 8B shows display areas generated in the shape of an arc. The minimum area is predefined for a display area in order to maintain high operability. Preferably, the menu item displaying unit 148 has a knowledge of the minimum display area, and determine the number of arcs and define display areas such that each display area is equal to or larger than the minimum area. It is preferable that the most frequently selected menu item be located on the arc closest to the content image, i.e. the innermost arc).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Applicant is required under 37 C.F.R. § 1.111(c) to consider these references fully when responding to this action.
BORTNER et al. (US 20100175026 A1) discloses displaying multiple elements of information to a user in a carousel.
It is noted that any citation to specific pages, columns, lines, or figures in the prior art references and any interpretation of the references should not be considered to be limiting in any way. A reference is relevant for all it contains and may be relied upon for all that it would have reasonably suggested to one having ordinary skill in the art. In re Heck, 699 F.2d 1331, 1332-33, 216 U.S.P.Q. 1038, 1039 (Fed. Cir. 1983) (quoting In re Lemelson, 397 F.2d 1006, 1009, 158 U.S.P.Q. 275, 277 (C.C.P.A. 1968)).
/AMY P HOANG/ Examiner, Art Unit 2143
/JENNIFER N WELCH/ Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2143