DETAILED ACTION
1. This action is response to communications: amendment, filed on 12/22/2025. Claims 1-21 are pending.
Claim rejections-35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 3, 8, 10, 15, 17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Gray (CN 111935035 A), hereafter Gray’5035 in view of Gray (US 20170220499), hereafter Gray’0499
Regarding claim 1:
A method, comprising:
algorithmically elaborating (expand) one or more of Network on Chips (NoCs) through a multi- level hierarchical topology composed of instantiations of sub-NoCs and leaf components: (Gray’5035 teaches performance expandable reason, a very large system includes a hierarchical system of interconnection, such as the hierarchical system comprises a plurality of secondary interconnection network and the NOC interconnected to the integrated system. Gray’5035 teaches to connecting the client core to a particular external interface, the NOC may provide an efficient way of interconnecting the various client cores to the second interconnect network and exchanging data with it. An embodiment, for performance hierarchical, very large system may include a hierarchical system of interconnection, such as the hierarchical system comprises a plurality of secondary interconnection network and the NOC interconnected to the integrated system in the integrated system. The hierarchical NOC routers can use the 3D or higher dimensional coordinates to address, for example, the router (x, y, i, j) is the (i, j) router in the secondary NOC found at the global NOC router (x, y) at the global NOC (Gray’5035, page 42).
one or more connectivity definitions: (it would have been obvious to understand connections between NOC, and other networks should be defined. Furthermore, with the similar art, Gray’0499 teaches NOC ring link pipeline registers ([0038]). Gray’0499 also teaches the destination address may comprise bits that describe the desired routing path to take through the routers of the NOC to reach the destination router. In general, a message comprises a description of the destination router sufficient to determine whether the message, as it is traverses a two (or greater) dimensional arrangement of routers (Gray’0499, [0100]). Ideally, Gray’0499 teaching reads on “one or more connectivity definitions” as claimed.
Thus, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention was made to modify Gray’0499’s ideas into Gray’5035’s system in order to provide an efficient network-on-chip (NoC) design network (see Gray’0499, [0004]-[0005]).
Regarding claim 3:
In addition to the rejection claim 1, Gray’5035- Gray’0499 further teaches the sub-NoCs and the leaf components are pre-elaborated: (a very large system includes a hierarchical system of interconnection, such as the hierarchical system comprises a plurality of secondary interconnection network and the NOC interconnected to the integrated system. Gray’5035 teaches to connecting the client core to a particular external interface, the NOC may provide an efficient way of interconnecting the various client cores to the second interconnect network and exchanging data with it. An embodiment, for performance hierarchical, very large system may include a hierarchical system of interconnection, such as the hierarchical system comprises a plurality of secondary interconnection network and the NOC interconnected to the integrated system in the integrated system: Gray’5035, page 42).
Regarding claim 8:
A non-transitory computer-readable storage medium storing instructions for executing a process, comprising:
algorithmically elaborating (expand) one or more of Network on Chips (NoCs) through a multi- level hierarchical topology composed of instantiations of sub-NoCs and leaf components: (Gray teaches performance expandable reason, a very large system includes a hierarchical system of interconnection, such as the hierarchical system comprises a plurality of secondary interconnection network and the NOC interconnected to the integrated system. Gray’5035 teaches to connecting the client core to a particular external interface, the NOC may provide an efficient way of interconnecting the various client cores to the second interconnect network and exchanging data with it. An embodiment, for performance hierarchical, very large system may include a hierarchical system of interconnection, such as the hierarchical system comprises a plurality of secondary interconnection network and the NOC interconnected to the integrated system in the integrated system. The hierarchical NOC routers can use the 3D or higher dimensional coordinates to address, for example, the router (x, y, i, j) is the (i, j) router in the secondary NOC found at the global NOC router (x, y) at the global NOC (page 42).
one or more connectivity definitions: It would have been obvious to understand connections between NOC, and other networks should be defined. Furthermore, with the similar art, Gray’0499 teaches NOC ring link pipeline registers ([0038]). Gray’0499 also teaches the destination address may comprise bits that describe the desired routing path to take through the routers of the NOC to reach the destination router. In general, a message comprises a description of the destination router sufficient to determine whether the message, as it is traverses a two (or greater) dimensional arrangement of routers ([0100]). Ideally, Gray’0499 teaching reads on “one or more connectivity definitions” as claimed.
Thus, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention was made to modify Gray’0499’s ideas into Gray’5035’s system in order to provide an efficient network-on-chip (NoC) design network (see Gray’0499, [0004]-[0005]).
Regarding claim 10:
In addition to the rejection claim 8, Gray’5035- Gray’0499 further teaches the sub-NoCs and the leaf components are pre-elaborated: (a very large system includes a hierarchical system of interconnection, such as the hierarchical system comprises a plurality of secondary interconnection network and the NOC interconnected to the integrated system. Gray’5035 teaches to connecting the client core to a particular external interface, the NOC may provide an efficient way of interconnecting the various client cores to the second interconnect network and exchanging data with it. An embodiment, for performance hierarchical, very large system may include a hierarchical system of interconnection, such as the hierarchical system comprises a plurality of secondary interconnection network and the NOC interconnected to the integrated system in the integrated system: Gray’5035, page 42).
Regarding claim 15
An apparatus, comprising a processor configured to:
algorithmically elaborating (expand) one or more of Network on Chips (NoCs) through a multi- level hierarchical topology composed of instantiations of sub-NoCs and leaf components: (Gray teaches performance expandable reason, a very large system includes a hierarchical system of interconnection, such as the hierarchical system comprises a plurality of secondary interconnection network and the NOC interconnected to the integrated system. Gray’5035 teaches to connecting the client core to a particular external interface, the NOC may provide an efficient way of interconnecting the various client cores to the second interconnect network and exchanging data with it. An embodiment, for performance hierarchical, very large system may include a hierarchical system of interconnection, such as the hierarchical system comprises a plurality of secondary interconnection network and the NOC interconnected to the integrated system in the integrated system. The hierarchical NOC routers can use the 3D or higher dimensional coordinates to address, for example, the router (x, y, i, j) is the (i, j) router in the secondary NOC found at the global NOC router (x, y) at the global NOC (page 42).
one or more connectivity definitions: It would have been obvious to understand connections between NOC, and other networks should be defined. Furthermore, with the similar art, Gray’0499 teaches NOC ring link pipeline registers ([0038]). Gray’0499 also teaches the destination address may comprise bits that describe the desired routing path to take through the routers of the NOC to reach the destination router. In general, a message comprises a description of the destination router sufficient to determine whether the message, as it is traverses a two (or greater) dimensional arrangement of routers ([0100]). Ideally, Gray’0499 teaching reads on “one or more connectivity definitions” as claimed.
Thus, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention was made to modify Gray’0499’s ideas into Gray’5035’s system in order to provide an efficient network-on-chip (NoC) design network (see Gray’0499, [0004]-[0005]).
Regarding claim 17:
In addition to the rejection claim 15, Gray’5035- Gray’0499 further teaches the sub-NoCs and the leaf components are pre-elaborated: (a very large system includes a hierarchical system of interconnection, such as the hierarchical system comprises a plurality of secondary interconnection network and the NOC interconnected to the integrated system. Gray’5035 teaches to connecting the client core to a particular external interface, the NOC may provide an efficient way of interconnecting the various client cores to the second interconnect network and exchanging data with it. An embodiment, for performance hierarchical, very large system may include a hierarchical system of interconnection, such as the hierarchical system comprises a plurality of secondary interconnection network and the NOC interconnected to the integrated system in the integrated system: Gray’5035, page 42).
Claims 2, 9, 16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Gray’5035-Gray’0499 in view of Triplet et al. (US 20250168053)
Regarding claim 2:
Gray’5035-Gray’0499 discloses the invention substantially as disclosed in claim 2, but does not explicitly teach the hierarchical topology comprises a plurality of root nodes.
In similar art, Triplet teaches facilitating paths through plural of root nodes: (see, Triplet, figure 3 [0087]-[0088]).
Thus, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention was made to modify Triplet’s ideas into Gray’5035-Gray’0499’s system in order to save resources and development time by implying Triplet’s ideas into Gray’5035-Gray’0499’s system.
Regarding claim 9:
Gray’5035-Gray’0499 discloses the invention substantially as disclosed in claim 8, but does not explicitly teach the hierarchical topology comprises a plurality of root nodes.
In similar art, Triplet teaches facilitating paths through plural of root nodes: (see, Triplet, figure 3 [0087]-[0088]).
Thus, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention was made to modify Triplet’s ideas into Gray’5035-Gray’0499’s system in order to save resources and development time by implying Triplet’s ideas into Gray’5035-Gray’0499’s system.
Regarding claim 16:
Gray’5035-Gray’0499 discloses the invention substantially as disclosed in claim 15, but does not explicitly teach the hierarchical topology comprises a plurality of root nodes.
In similar art, Triplet teaches facilitating paths through plural of root nodes: (see, Triplet, figure 3 [0087]-[0088]).
Thus, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention was made to modify Triplet’s ideas into Gray’5035-Gray’0499’s system in order to save resources and development time by implying Triplet’s ideas into Gray’5035-Gray’0499’s system.
Claims 4-6, 11-13, 18-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Gray’5035-Gray’0499 in view of Pusuluri et al. (US 20170228481)
Regarding claim 4:
Gray’5035-Gray’0499 discloses the invention substantially as disclosed in claim 1, but does not explicitly teach combining the hierarchical topology with traffic specifications associated with the NoCs.
In similar art, Pusuluri teaches generating transition state specifications that include information regarding low power behavior of a System on Chip (SoC) and/or a Network on Chip (NoC). Such transition state specifications can enable verification of switching behavior when elements/components of a SoC/NoC or a subset thereof switch from one power profile to another, or when the elements/components switch in stable states of power based on inputs such as voltages, clocks, power domains, and traffic (see Pusuluri abstract).
Thus, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention was made to modify Pusuluri’s ideas into Gray’5035-Gray’0499’s system in order to save resources and development time by implying Pusuluri’s ideas into Gray’5035-Gray’0499’s system.
Regarding claim 5:
In addition to the rejection claim 4, Gray’5035-Gray’0499-Pusuluri further teaches determining a path for each flow in the traffic specifications; and for each path, configuring each component or wire in each path to carry a type of packet for the flow from a prior component of the path to the next component in the path: (packets are message transport units for intercommunication between various components. Routing involves identifying a path composed of a set of routers and physical links of the network over which packets are sent from a source to a destination. A NoC interconnect may contain multiple physical networks. Over each physical network, there may exist multiple virtual networks, wherein different message types are transmitted over different virtual networks: Pusuluri [0007]; [0012]).
Thus, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention was made to modify Pusuluri’s ideas into Gray’5035-Gray’0499’s system in order to save resources and development time by implying Pusuluri’s ideas into Gray’5035-Gray’0499’s system.
Regarding claim 6:
In addition to the rejection claim 5, Gray’5035-Gray’0499-Pusuluri further teaches the path of the packet through each of the sub-NoCs comprises virtual channel information: (a NoC interconnect may contain multiple physical networks. Over each physical network, there may exist multiple virtual networks, wherein different message types are transmitted over different virtual networks: Pusuluri [0012]).
Thus, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention was made to modify Pusuluri’s ideas into Gray’5035-Gray’0499’s system in order to save resources and development time by implying Pusuluri’s ideas into Gray’5035-Gray’0499’s system.
Regarding claim 11:
Gray’5035-Gray’0499 discloses the invention substantially as disclosed in claim 8, but does not explicitly teach combining the hierarchical topology with traffic specifications associated with the NoCs.
In similar art, Pusuluri teaches generating transition state specifications that include information regarding low power behavior of a System on Chip (SoC) and/or a Network on Chip (NoC). Such transition state specifications can enable verification of switching behavior when elements/components of a SoC/NoC or a subset thereof switch from one power profile to another, or when the elements/components switch in stable states of power based on inputs such as voltages, clocks, power domains, and traffic (see Pusuluri abstract).
Thus, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention was made to modify Pusuluri’s ideas into Gray’5035-Gray’0499’s system in order to save resources and development time by implying Pusuluri’s ideas into Gray’5035-Gray’0499’s system.
Regarding claim 12:
In addition to the rejection claim 11, Gray’5035-Gray’0499-Pusuluri further teaches determining a path for each flow in the traffic specifications; and for each path, configuring each component or wire in each path to carry a type of packet for the flow from a prior component of the path to the next component in the path: (packets are message transport units for intercommunication between various components. Routing involves identifying a path composed of a set of routers and physical links of the network over which packets are sent from a source to a destination. A NoC interconnect may contain multiple physical networks. Over each physical network, there may exist multiple virtual networks, wherein different message types are transmitted over different virtual networks: Pusuluri [0007]; [0012]).
Thus, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention was made to modify Pusuluri’s ideas into Gray’5035-Gray’0499’s system in order to save resources and development time by implying Pusuluri’s ideas into Gray’5035-Gray’0499’s system.
Regarding claim 13:
In addition to the rejection claim 12, Gray’5035-Gray’0499-Pusuluri further teaches the path of the packet through each of the sub-NoCs comprises virtual channel information: (a NoC interconnect may contain multiple physical networks. Over each physical network, there may exist multiple virtual networks, wherein different message types are transmitted over different virtual networks: Pusuluri [0012]).
Thus, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention was made to modify Pusuluri’s ideas into Gray’5035-Gray’0499’s system in order to save resources and development time by implying Pusuluri’s ideas into Gray’5035-Gray’0499’s system.
Regarding claim 18:
Gray’5035-Gray’0499 discloses the invention substantially as disclosed in claim 15, but does not explicitly teach combining the hierarchical topology with traffic specifications associated with the NoCs.
In similar art, Pusuluri teaches generating transition state specifications that include information regarding low power behavior of a System on Chip (SoC) and/or a Network on Chip (NoC). Such transition state specifications can enable verification of switching behavior when elements/components of a SoC/NoC or a subset thereof switch from one power profile to another, or when the elements/components switch in stable states of power based on inputs such as voltages, clocks, power domains, and traffic (see Pusuluri abstract).
Thus, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention was made to modify Pusuluri’s ideas into Gray’5035-Gray’0499’s system in order to save resources and development time by implying Pusuluri’s ideas into Gray’5035-Gray’0499’s system.
Regarding claim 19:
In addition to the rejection claim 18, Gray’5035-Gray’0499-Pusuluri further teaches determining a path for each flow in the traffic specifications; and for each path, configuring each component or wire in each path to carry a type of packet for the flow from a prior component of the path to the next component in the path: (packets are message transport units for intercommunication between various components. Routing involves identifying a path composed of a set of routers and physical links of the network over which packets are sent from a source to a destination. A NoC interconnect may contain multiple physical networks. Over each physical network, there may exist multiple virtual networks, wherein different message types are transmitted over different virtual networks: Pusuluri [0007]; [0012]).
Thus, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention was made to modify Pusuluri’s ideas into Gray’5035-Gray’0499’s system in order to save resources and development time by implying Pusuluri’s ideas into Gray’5035-Gray’0499’s system.
Regarding claim 20:
In addition to the rejection claim 19, Gray’5035-Gray’0499-Pusuluri further teaches the path of the packet through each of the sub-NoCs comprises virtual channel information: (a NoC interconnect may contain multiple physical networks. Over each physical network, there may exist multiple virtual networks, wherein different message types are transmitted over different virtual networks: Pusuluri [0012]).
Thus, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention was made to modify Pusuluri’s ideas into Gray’5035-Gray’0499’s system in order to save resources and development time by implying Pusuluri’s ideas into Gray’5035-Gray’0499’s system.
Claims 7, 14, 21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Gray’5035-Gray’0499-Pusuluri in view of Boucard et al. (US 20250300930)
Regarding claim 7:
Gray’5035-Gray’0499-Pusuluri discloses the invention substantially as disclosed in claim 4, but does not explicitly teach traffic flows of the traffic specifications comprise information defining whether virtual channels or physical channels of the NoCs can be shared or not shared with other ones of the traffic flows.
In similar art, Boucard teaches method for enhancing data communication and computation efficiency in Systems on a Chip (SoC). In one aspect, a system is provided that uses a network on a chip (NOC) to route communications between chip components using a plurality of network interfaces linked by shared data connections. The system may be configured to route communications via multiple virtual channels along the shared connections, with credit restrictions for the channels. Additionally, the system may support mechanisms for maintaining both private and shared credit balances for these virtual channels (Boucard abstract).
Thus, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention was made to modify Boucard’s ideas into Gray’5035-Gray’0499-Pusuluri’s system in order to save resources and development time by implying Boucard’s ideas into Gray’5035-Gray’0499-Pusuluri’s system.
Regarding claim 14:
Gray’5035-Gray’0499-Pusuluri discloses the invention substantially as disclosed in claim 11, but does not explicitly teach traffic flows of the traffic specifications comprise information defining whether virtual channels or physical channels of the NoCs can be shared or not shared with other ones of the traffic flows.
In similar art, Boucard teaches method for enhancing data communication and computation efficiency in Systems on a Chip (SoC). In one aspect, a system is provided that uses a network on a chip (NOC) to route communications between chip components using a plurality of network interfaces linked by shared data connections. The system may be configured to route communications via multiple virtual channels along the shared connections, with credit restrictions for the channels. Additionally, the system may support mechanisms for maintaining both private and shared credit balances for these virtual channels (Boucard abstract).
Thus, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention was made to modify Boucard’s ideas into Gray’5035-Gray’0499-Pusuluri’s system in order to save resources and development time by implying Boucard’s ideas into Gray’5035-Gray’0499-Pusuluri’s.
Regarding claim 21:
Gray’5035-Gray’0499-Pusuluri discloses the invention substantially as disclosed in claim 18, but does not explicitly teach traffic flows of the traffic specifications comprise information defining whether virtual channels or physical channels of the NoCs can be shared or not shared with other ones of the traffic flows.
In similar art, Boucard teaches method for enhancing data communication and computation efficiency in Systems on a Chip (SoC). In one aspect, a system is provided that uses a network on a chip (NOC) to route communications between chip components using a plurality of network interfaces linked by shared data connections. The system may be configured to route communications via multiple virtual channels along the shared connections, with credit restrictions for the channels. Additionally, the system may support mechanisms for maintaining both private and shared credit balances for these virtual channels (Boucard abstract).
Thus, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention was made to modify Boucard’s ideas into Gray’5035-Gray’0499-Pusuluri’s system in order to save resources and development time by implying Boucard’s ideas into Gray’5035-Gray’0499-Pusuluri’s.
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
Conclusions
/LAN DAI T TRUONG/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2444