DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1 and 7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Tu et al (CN 108068883). Tu discloses:
With regard to claim 1 - A steering knuckle configured to receive a bearing having a given outer diameter, the steering knuckle comprising:
a knuckle body having an exterior surface with a given surface treatment, the knuckle body defining a knuckle bore 3 having an interior surface and configured to receive an outer surface of the bearing in a fixed position (see Fig. 1);
wherein at least a portion of the knuckle bore 3 interior surface that receives the outer surface of the bearing is coated with a corrosion resistant material (“the lower swing arm mounting part, the upper swing arm mounting part, the shaft mounting part, the ball hole and the brake caliper mounting part is made of ductile cast iron casting and surface painting anti-corrosive treatment.” – see page 2 of the translation).
With regard to claim 7 - wherein the corrosion resistant material is applied to the entire knuckle bore interior surface material (“the lower swing arm mounting part, the upper swing arm mounting part, the shaft mounting part, the ball hole and the brake caliper mounting part is made of ductile cast iron casting and surface painting anti-corrosive treatment.” – see page 2 of the translation). Tu does not disclose the bore as being only partially coated and thus it is concluded that the entire bore is covered.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 2-4, 9-10, 13-16, and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tu in view of Komori (US 7,524,115). Tu fails to explicitly disclose wherein the corrosion resistant material is a non-metallic material. Komori teaches a steering knuckle configured to receive a bearing having a given outer diameter, the steering knuckle, wherein the knuckle includes a surface treatment comprising a corrosion resistant coating (“According to the wheel support bearing of the structure described above, since the outer member 1 is made of steel and the knuckle 14 is made of an aluminum alloy, the outer member 1 and the knuckle 14 have a metal-to-metal relation to develop a potential difference therebetween. However, since the respective contact surfaces of the outer member 1 with the knuckle 14 are covered with the electrocorrosion preventive coating 17, there is no possibility of the battery circuit established even though those contact surfaces are exposed to muddy salt water. Accordingly, it is possible to avoid the contact surfaces from suffering from electrode corrosion and difficulty in removing the wheel support bearing from the knuckle 14 during the repair of the automotive vehicle can be eliminated.” - column 7, lines 37-50);
wherein the corrosion resistant material is a non-metallic material (“It is to be noted that although in any one of the previously described embodiments, the electrocorrosion preventive coating 17 has been described as containing the hexavalent chrome-free chromate, the electrocorrosion preventive coating 17 may be, for example, a painted film of a baking type water-soluble paint or a powder-coated film. For the powder-coated film, any of various resins, for example, polyester, epoxy resin and acrylic resin can be employed. Although different from the present invention, as an antirust treatment, a gasket may be interposed between the wheel mounting flange 2a or 1b and the brake rotor 15.” - column 10, lines 56-66). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to modify the invention of Tu with the teaching of Komori such that the corrosion resistant material a non-metallic material, with a reasonable expectation of success, to utilize a non-toxic material safe to the environment.
With regard to claim 3, Komori teaches wherein the corrosion resistant material is selected from the group comprising: paints, epoxys, polymers, composites, and thermoplastics (“It is to be noted that although in any one of the previously described embodiments, the electrocorrosion preventive coating 17 has been described as containing the hexavalent chrome-free chromate, the electrocorrosion preventive coating 17 may be, for example, a painted film of a baking type water-soluble paint or a powder-coated film. For the powder-coated film, any of various resins, for example, polyester, epoxy resin and acrylic resin can be employed. Although different from the present invention, as an antirust treatment, a gasket may be interposed between the wheel mounting flange 2a or 1b and the brake rotor 15.” - column 10, lines 56-66).
With regard to claim 4, Komori teaches wherein the corrosion resistant material is applied via brushing, spraying, e-coating, dipping or adhesion (“It is to be noted that although in any one of the previously described embodiments, the electrocorrosion preventive coating 17 has been described as containing the hexavalent chrome-free chromate, the electrocorrosion preventive coating 17 may be, for example, a painted film of a baking type water-soluble paint or a powder-coated film. For the powder-coated film, any of various resins, for example, polyester, epoxy resin and acrylic resin can be employed. Although different from the present invention, as an antirust treatment, a gasket may be interposed between the wheel mounting flange 2a or 1b and the brake rotor 15.” - column 10, lines 56-66).
With regard to claim 9, Tu fails to explicitly disclose wherein the knuckle bore interior surface defines a minimum diameter which is larger than the given outer diameter. Komori teaches wherein the knuckle bore interior surface defines a minimum diameter which is larger than the given outer diameter (see Fig. 1). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to modify the invention of Tu with the teaching of Komori such that the knuckle bore interior surface defines a minimum diameter which is larger than the given outer diameter to allow for a significant amount of corrosion resistant coating.
With regard to claim 10, Tu fails to explicitly disclose a bearing have a given outer diameter, wherein the bearing is positioned in the knuckle bore and a circumferential gap is defined between the knuckle bore interior surface and the bearing. Komori teaches a steering knuckle assembly comprising the steering knuckle 14 according to claim 9 and a bearing 1 have a given outer diameter, wherein the bearing is positioned in the knuckle bore 14a and a circumferential gap is defined between the knuckle bore interior surface and the bearing (see Figs. 1 and 5). ). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to modify the invention of Tu with the teaching of Komori such that a bearing having a given outer diameter positioned in the knuckle bore, wherein a circumferential gap is defined between the knuckle bore interior surface and the bearing to ensure proper rotation of the wheel with a lack of friction.
With regard to claim 13, Tu discloses a method of treating a steering knuckle including a knuckle body having an exterior surface with a given surface treatment, the body defining a knuckle bore 3 having an interior surface and configured to receive the bearing, the method comprising:
covering at least a portion of the knuckle bore 3 interior surface with a corrosion resistant material (“the lower swing arm mounting part, the upper swing arm mounting part, the shaft mounting part, the ball hole and the brake caliper mounting part is made of ductile cast iron casting and surface painting anti-corrosive treatment.” – see page 2 of the translation).
Tu fails to explicitly disclose installing the bearing with an outer surface of the bearing held in a fixed position relative to the coating on the knuckle bore interior surface. Komori teaches installing a bearing 1 within a knuckle bore 14a of a knuckle 14 by fixing an outer surface of the bearing 1 to the knuckle bore 14a via fixing member 19. Therefore it would have been obvious to oen of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to modify the steering knuckle of Tu with the teaching of Komori such that the bearing is installed with an outer surface of the bearing held in a fixed position relative to the coating on the knuckle bore interior surface, with a reasonable expectation of success, to ensure the bearing does not slip or move undesirably within the bore.
With regard to claim 14, Komori teaches wherein the corrosion resistant material is a non-metallic material (see the rejection to claim 2 above).
With regard to claim 15, Komori teaches wherein the corrosion resistant material is selected from the group comprising: paints, epoxys, polymers, composites, and thermoplastics.
With regard to claim 16, Komori teaches wherein the covering is done via brushing, spraying, e-coating, dipping or adhesion.
With regard to claim 19, Tu discloses wherein the corrosion resistant material is applied to the entire knuckle bore interior surface material (“the lower swing arm mounting part, the upper swing arm mounting part, the shaft mounting part, the ball hole and the brake caliper mounting part is made of ductile cast iron casting and surface painting anti-corrosive treatment.” – see page 2 of the translation). Tu does not disclose the bore as being only partially coated and thus it is concluded that the entire bore is covered.
Claim(s) 11 and 12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tu and Komori. Tu and Komori fail to explicitly disclose the claimed the circumferential gap width. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to form circumferential gap to have a width between 0.5 mm to 2.0 mm or between 0.7 mm to 1.2 mm, since it has been held that where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or workable ranges involves only routine skill in the art.
Claim(s) 5, 6, 17 and 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tu. Tu fails to explicitly disclose the claimed thickness of the corrosion resistant material. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to form the layer of corrosion resistant material to have a thickness between 0.05 mm to 1.0 mm or between 0.1 mm to 0.5 mm, since it has been held that where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or workable ranges involves only routine skill in the art.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 8 and 20 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims. Tu discloses the same treatment being applied to multiple parts of the knuckle without defining any instance where a separate finish may be applied to the knuckle bore. There are no teaching references that cure this deficiency.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, see Remarks, filed 2/24/2026, with respect to the rejection(s) of claim(s) 1-20 under 102 and 103 have been fully considered and are persuasive. Therefore, the rejection has been withdrawn. However, upon further consideration, a new ground(s) of rejection is made in view of Tu et al (CN 108068883).
Conclusion
/TIMOTHY WILHELM/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3617 May 1, 2026