CTNF 18/806,056 CTNF 71589 DETAILED ACTION Notice of Pre-AIA or AIA Status 07-03-aia AIA 15-10-aia The present application, filed on or after March 16, 2013, is being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA. Priority 02-26 AIA Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55. Information Disclosure Statement The information disclosure statements (IDS) submitted on August 15, 2024 and February 27, 2026 have been considered by the examiner. Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102 07-06 AIA 15-10-15 In the event the determination of the status of the application as subject to AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103 (or as subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103) is incorrect, any correction of the statutory basis (i.e., changing from AIA to pre-AIA) for the rejection will not be considered a new ground of rejection if the prior art relied upon, and the rationale supporting the rejection, would be the same under either status. 07-07-aia AIA 07-07 The following is a quotation of the appropriate paragraphs of 35 U.S.C. 102 that form the basis for the rejections under this section made in this Office action: A person shall be entitled to a patent unless – 07-12-aia AIA (a)(2) the claimed invention was described in a patent issued under section 151, or in an application for patent published or deemed published under section 122(b), in which the patent or application, as the case may be, names another inventor and was effectively filed before the effective filing date of the claimed invention. 07-15-03-aia AIA Claim s 1-12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Chen et al (U.S. Patent Publication 2018/0059373) . With regard to independent claim 1, Chen et al teaches an optical imaging system (page 1, paragraph [0002] and Figure 14), comprising: a first lens (Figure 14, element 310) having a refractive power (Figure 16, Focus data for 1 st lens element); a second lens (Figure 14, element 320) having a concave image-side surface (Figure 16, Radius data for Surface 322); a third lens (Figure 14, element 330) having positive refractive power (Figure 16, Focus data for 3 rd lens element); a fourth lens (Figure 14, element 340) having a refractive power (Figure 16, Focus data for 4 th lens element); a fifth lens (Figure 14, element 350) having negative refractive power (Figure 16, Focus data for 5 th lens element); and a sixth lens (Figure 14, element 360) having a refractive power (Figure 16, Focus data for 6 th lens element), wherein the first to sixth lenses are sequentially disposed from an object side toward an imaging plane (Figure 14), wherein the optical imaging system has a total number of six lenses with refractive power (Figure 14), and wherein R1/f < 0.370, where f is a focal length of the optical imaging system and R1 is a radius of curvature of an object-side surface of the first lens (Figure 16, Radius data for Surface 311, wherein R1 = 1.522; f = 6.131 mm; and R1/f = 0.253). With regard to dependent claim 2, Chen et al teaches all of the claimed limitations of the instant invention as outlined above with respect to independent claim 1, and further teaches such an optical imaging system wherein the first lens has a concave image-side surface (Figure 16, Radius data for Surface 312). With regard to dependent claim 3, Chen et al teaches all of the claimed limitations of the instant invention as outlined above with respect to independent claim 1, and further teaches such an optical imaging system wherein the second lens has a convex object-side surface (Figure 16, Radius data for Surface 321). With regard to dependent claim 4, Chen et al teaches all of the claimed limitations of the instant invention as outlined above with respect to independent claim 1, and further teaches such an optical imaging system wherein the third lens has a convex object-side surface (Figure 16, Radius data for Surface 331). With regard to dependent claim 5, Chen et al teaches all of the claimed limitations of the instant invention as outlined above with respect to independent claim 1, and further teaches such an optical imaging system wherein the fourth lens has a convex image-side surface (Figure 16, Radius data for Surface 342). With regard to dependent claim 6, Chen et al teaches all of the claimed limitations of the instant invention as outlined above with respect to independent claim 1, and further teaches such an optical imaging system wherein the sixth lens has a convex object-side surface (Figure 16, Radius data for Surface 361). With regard to dependent claim 7, Chen et al teaches all of the claimed limitations of the instant invention as outlined above with respect to independent claim 1, and further teaches such an optical imaging system wherein the sixth lens has a concave image-side surface (Figure 16, Radius data for Surface 362). With regard to independent claim 8, Chen et al teaches an optical imaging system (page 1, paragraph [0002] and Figure 14), comprising: a first lens (Figure 14, element 310) having a refractive power (Figure 16, Focus data for 1 st lens element); a second lens (Figure 14, element 320) having a concave image-side surface (Figure 16, Radius data for Surface 322); a third lens (Figure 14, element 330) having positive refractive power (Figure 16, Focus data for 3 rd lens element); a fourth lens (Figure 14, element 340) having a refractive power (Figure 16, Focus data for 4 th lens element); a fifth lens (Figure 14, element 350) having a refractive power (Figure 16, Focus data for 5 th lens element); and a sixth lens (Figure 14, element 360) having a refractive power (Figure 16, Focus data for 6 th lens element), wherein the first to sixth lenses are sequentially disposed from an object side toward an imaging plane (Figure 14), wherein the optical imaging system has a total number of six lenses with refractive power (Figure 14), wherein a thickness of the second lens (Figure 16, Thickness data for 2 nd lens element, wherein the thickness = 0.275) is greater than a distance from the image-side surface of the second lens to an object-side surface of the third lens (Figure 16, Thickness data for Surface 322 = 0.192, wherein 0.275 > 0.192), and wherein R1/f < 0.370, where f is a focal length of the optical imaging system and R1 is a radius of curvature of an object-side surface of the first lens (Figure 16, Radius data for Surface 311, wherein R1 = 1.522; f = 6.131 mm; and R1/f = 0.253). With regard to dependent claim 9, Chen et al teaches all of the claimed limitations of the instant invention as outlined above with respect to independent claim 8, and further teaches such an optical imaging system wherein the first lens has a concave image-side surface (Figure 16, Radius data for Surface 312). With regard to dependent claim 10, Chen et al teaches all of the claimed limitations of the instant invention as outlined above with respect to independent claim 8, and further teaches such an optical imaging system wherein the second lens has a convex object-side surface (Figure 16, Radius data for Surface 321). With regard to dependent claim 11, Chen et al teaches all of the claimed limitations of the instant invention as outlined above with respect to independent claim 8, and further teaches such an optical imaging system wherein the third lens has a convex object-side surface (Figure 16, Radius data for Surface 331). With regard to dependent claim 12, Chen et al teaches all of the claimed limitations of the instant invention as outlined above with respect to independent claim , and further teaches such an optical imaging system wherein the sixth lens has a convex object-side surface (Figure 16, Radius data for Surface 361) . 07-07-aia AIA 07-07 The following is a quotation of the appropriate paragraphs of 35 U.S.C. 102 that form the basis for the rejections under this section made in this Office action: A person shall be entitled to a patent unless – 07-08-aia AIA (a)(1) the claimed invention was patented, described in a printed publication, or in public use, on sale, or otherwise available to the public before the effective filing date of the claimed invention. 07-15 AIA Claim s 1, 3-5, 8, 10 and 11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102( a)(1 ) as being anticipated by Jeong (U.S. Patent Publication 2014/0098239) . With regard to independent claim 1, Jeong teaches an optical imaging system (page 1, paragraph [0001] and Figure 1), comprising: a first lens (page 2, paragraph [0039] and Figure 1, element 110) having a refractive power (page 3, paragraph [0045], lines 1-2); a second lens (page 2, paragraph [0039] and Figure 1, element 120) having a concave image-side surface (page 4, Table 2, Surface Number data for Surface 5); a third lens (page 2, paragraph [0039] and Figure 1, element 130) having positive refractive power (page 3, paragraph [0046], lines 1-2); a fourth lens (page 2, paragraph [0039] and Figure 1, element 140) having a refractive power (page 3, paragraph [0046], lines 2-3); a fifth lens (page 2, paragraph [0039] and Figure 1, element 150) having negative refractive power (page 3, paragraph [0047], line 3); and a sixth lens (page 2, paragraph [0039] and Figure 1, element 160) having a refractive power (page 3, paragraph [0047], line 4), wherein the first to sixth lenses are sequentially disposed from an object side toward an imaging plane (Figure 1), wherein the optical imaging system has a total number of six lenses with refractive power (Figure 1), and wherein R1/f < 0.370, where f is a focal length of the optical imaging system and R1 is a radius of curvature of an object-side surface of the first lens (page 4, Table 1, wherein f = 4.17; Table 2, Curvature radius data , wherein R1 = 1.50; and R1/f = 0.359). With regard to dependent claim 3, Jeong teaches all of the claimed limitations of the instant invention as outlined above with respect to independent claim 1, and further teaches such an optical imaging system wherein the second lens has a convex object-side surface (page 4, Table 2, Curvature radius data for Surface 4). With regard to dependent claim 4, Jeong teaches all of the claimed limitations of the instant invention as outlined above with respect to independent claim 1, and further teaches such an optical imaging system wherein the third lens has a convex object-side surface (page 4, Table 2, Curvature radius data for Surface 6). With regard to dependent claim 5, Jeong teaches all of the claimed limitations of the instant invention as outlined above with respect to independent claim 1, and further teaches such an optical imaging system wherein the fourth lens has a convex image-side surface (page 4, Table 2, Curvature radius data for Surface 9). With regard to independent claim 8, Jeong teaches an optical imaging system (page 1, paragraph [0001] and Figure 1), comprising: a first lens (page 2, paragraph [0039] and Figure 1, element 110) having a refractive power (page 3, paragraph [0045], lines 1-2); a second lens (page 2, paragraph [0039] and Figure 1, element 120) having a concave image-side surface (page 4, Table 2, Surface Number data for Surface 5); a third lens (page 2, paragraph [0039] and Figure 1, element 130) having positive refractive power (page 3, paragraph [0046], lines 1-2); a fourth lens (page 2, paragraph [0039] and Figure 1, element 140) having a refractive power (page 3, paragraph [0046], lines 2-3); a fifth lens (page 2, paragraph [0039] and Figure 1, element 150) having a refractive power (page 3, paragraph [0047], line 3); and a sixth lens (page 2, paragraph [0039] and Figure 1, element 160) having a refractive power (page 3, paragraph [0047], line 4), wherein the first to sixth lenses are sequentially disposed from an object side toward an imaging plane (Figure 1), wherein the optical imaging system has a total number of six lenses with refractive power (Figure 1), wherein a thickness of the second lens (page 4, Table 2, Thickness or distance data for Surface 4 = 0.39) is greater than a distance from the image-side surface of the second lens to an object-side surface of the third lens (page 4, Table 2, Thickness or distance data for Surface 5 = 0.34; wherein 0.39 > 0.34), and wherein R1/f < 0.370, where f is a focal length of the optical imaging system and R1 is a radius of curvature of an object-side surface of the first lens (page 4, Table 1, wherein f = 4.17; Table 2, Curvature radius data , wherein R1 = 1.50; and R1/f = 0.359). With regard to dependent claim 10, Jeong teaches all of the claimed limitations of the instant invention as outlined above with respect to independent claim 8, and further teaches such an optical imaging system wherein the second lens has a convex object-side surface (page 4, Table 2, Curvature radius data for Surface 4). With regard to dependent claim 11, Jeong teaches all of the claimed limitations of the instant invention as outlined above with respect to independent claim 8, and further teaches such an optical imaging system wherein the third lens has a convex object-side surface (page 4, Table 2, Curvature radius data for Surface 6). Conclusion Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to DARRYL J COLLINS whose telephone number is (571) 272-2325. The examiner can normally be reached M-Th 5:30 a.m. - 4:00 p.m. Examiner interviews are available via telephone, in-person, and video conferencing using a USPTO supplied web-based collaboration tool. To schedule an interview, applicant is encouraged to use the USPTO Automated Interview Request (AIR) at http://www.uspto.gov/interviewpractice. If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner’s supervisor, Ricky L Mack can be reached at 571-272-2333. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300. Information regarding the status of published or unpublished applications may be obtained from Patent Center. Unpublished application information in Patent Center is available to registered users. To file and manage patent submissions in Patent Center, visit: https://patentcenter.uspto.gov. Visit https://www.uspto.gov/patents/apply/patent-center for more information about Patent Center and https://www.uspto.gov/patents/docx for information about filing in DOCX format. For additional questions, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free). If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer Service Representative, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000. /DARRYL J COLLINS/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2872 22 April 2026 Application/Control Number: 18/806,056 Page 2 Art Unit: 2872 Application/Control Number: 18/806,056 Page 3 Art Unit: 2872 Application/Control Number: 18/806,056 Page 4 Art Unit: 2872 Application/Control Number: 18/806,056 Page 5 Art Unit: 2872 Application/Control Number: 18/806,056 Page 6 Art Unit: 2872 Application/Control Number: 18/806,056 Page 7 Art Unit: 2872 Application/Control Number: 18/806,056 Page 8 Art Unit: 2872 Application/Control Number: 18/806,056 Page 9 Art Unit: 2872