DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claims 1-12 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Lin et al (U.S. Patent Publication 2017/0212332).
With regard to independent claim 1, Lin et al teaches an optical imaging system (page 1, paragraph [0003] and Figure 1), comprising: a first lens (Figure 14, element 110) having a refractive power (page 4, paragraph [0059], lines 1-2); a second lens (Figure 1, element 120) having a concave image-side surface (page 4, paragraph [0060], line 3 and Figure 1, element 122); a third lens (Figure 1, element 130) having positive refractive power (page 4, paragraph [0061], lines 1-2); a fourth lens (Figure 1, element 140) having a refractive power (page 4, paragraph [0062], lines 1-2); a fifth lens (Figure 1, element 150) having negative refractive power (page 4, paragraph [0063], lines 1-2); and a sixth lens (Figure 1, element 160) having a refractive power (page 4, paragraph [0064], lines 1-2), wherein the first to sixth lenses are sequentially disposed from an object side toward an imaging plane (Figure 1), wherein the optical imaging system has a total number of six lenses with refractive power (Figure 1), wherein R1/f < 0.370, where f is a focal length of the optical imaging system and R1 is a radius of curvature of an object-side surface of the first lens (page 5, Table 1, Curvature Radius data for Surface 1, wherein R1 = -8.810; f = 1.94 mm; and R1/f = -4.54), and wherein an absolute value of an object-side surface of the fourth lens (page 5, Table 1, Curvature Radius data for Surface 8 = 5.884) is greater than an absolute value of an image-side surface of the third lens (page 5, Table 1, Curvature Radius data for Surface 7 = -1.099, such that |5.884| > |-1.099|).
With regard to dependent claim 2, Lin et al teaches all of the claimed limitations of the instant invention as outlined above with respect to independent claim 1, and further teaches such an optical imaging system wherein the first lens has a concave image-side surface (page 4, paragraph [0059], lines 3-4 and Figure 1, element 112).
With regard to dependent claim 3, Lin et al teaches all of the claimed limitations of the instant invention as outlined above with respect to independent claim 1, and further teaches such an optical imaging system wherein the second lens has a convex object-side surface (page 4, paragraph [0060], lines 1-2 and Figure 1, element 121).
With regard to dependent claim 4, Lin et al teaches all of the claimed limitations of the instant invention as outlined above with respect to independent claim 1, and further teaches such an optical imaging system wherein the third lens has a convex object-side surface (page 4, paragraph [0061], line 2 and Figure 1, element 131).
With regard to dependent claim 5, Lin et al teaches all of the claimed limitations of the instant invention as outlined above with respect to independent claim 1, and further teaches such an optical imaging system wherein the fourth lens has a convex image-side surface (page 4, paragraph [0062], line 3 and Figure 1, element 132).
With regard to dependent claim 6, Lin et al teaches all of the claimed limitations of the instant invention as outlined above with respect to independent claim 1, and further teaches such an optical imaging system wherein the sixth lens has a convex object-side surface (page 4, paragraph [0064], line 2 and Figure 1, element 161).
With regard to dependent claim 7, Lin et al teaches all of the claimed limitations of the instant invention as outlined above with respect to independent claim 1, and further teaches such an optical imaging system wherein the sixth lens has a concave image-side surface (page 4, paragraph [0064], lines 3-4 and Figure 1, element 162).
With regard to independent claim 8, Lin et al teaches an optical imaging system (page 1, paragraph [0003] and Figure 1), comprising: a first lens (Figure 14, element 110) having a refractive power (page 4, paragraph [0059], lines 1-2); a second lens (Figure 1, element 120) having a concave image-side surface (page 4, paragraph [0060], line 3 and Figure 1, element 122); a third lens (Figure 1, element 130) having positive refractive power (page 4, paragraph [0061], lines 1-2); a fourth lens (Figure 1, element 140) having a refractive power (page 4, paragraph [0062], lines 1-2); a fifth lens (Figure 1, element 150) having a refractive power (page 4, paragraph [0063], lines 1-2); and a sixth lens (Figure 1, element 160) having a refractive power (page 4, paragraph [0064], lines 1-2), wherein the first to sixth lenses are sequentially disposed from an object side toward an imaging plane (Figure 1), wherein the optical imaging system has a total number of six lenses with refractive power (Figure 1), wherein a thickness of the second lens (page 5, Table 1, Thickness data for Surface 4 = 0.220) is greater than a distance from the image-side surface of the second lens to an object-side surface of the third lens (page 5, Table 1, Thickness data for Surface 5 = 0.061, wherein 0.220 > 0.061), wherein R1/f < 0.370, where f is a focal length of the optical imaging system and R1 is a radius of curvature of an object-side surface of the first lens (page 5, Table 1, Curvature Radius data for Surface 1, wherein R1 = -8.810; f = 1.94 mm; and R1/f = -4.54), and wherein an absolute value of an object-side surface of the fourth lens (page 5, Table 1, Curvature Radius data for Surface 8 = 5.884) is greater than an absolute value of an image-side surface of the third lens (page 5, Table 1, Curvature Radius data for Surface 7 = -1.099, such that |5.884| > |-1.099|).
With regard to dependent claim 9, Lin et al teaches all of the claimed limitations of the instant invention as outlined above with respect to independent claim 8, and further teaches such an optical imaging system wherein the first lens has a concave image-side surface (page 4, paragraph [0059], lines 3-4 and Figure 1, element 112).
With regard to dependent claim 10, Lin et al teaches all of the claimed limitations of the instant invention as outlined above with respect to independent claim 8, and further teaches such an optical imaging system wherein the second lens has a convex object-side surface (page 4, paragraph [0060], lines 1-2 and Figure 1, element 121).
With regard to dependent claim 11, Lin et al teaches all of the claimed limitations of the instant invention as outlined above with respect to independent claim 8, and further teaches such an optical imaging system wherein the third lens has a convex object-side surface (page 4, paragraph [0061], line 2 and Figure 1, element 131).
With regard to dependent claim 12, Lin et al teaches all of the claimed limitations of the instant invention as outlined above with respect to independent claim 8, and further teaches such an optical imaging system wherein the sixth lens has a convex object-side surface (page 4, paragraph [0064], line 2 and Figure 1, element 161).
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/DARRYL J COLLINS/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2872
11 August 2026