DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Regarding claims 1 and 13, the phrase “at least one baffle arranged in the air passage to separate the air passage in several channels” is indefinite. The term “several” implies a number greater than two, but the claim allows for a single baffle (i.e. “at least one baffle”), which would only yield two channels, not several as required by the claim. For the rejection, the examiner will interpret the phrase “at least one baffle” as meaning “at least two baffles,” but appropriate correction is necessary.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-2, 6-7 and 11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Kojima (4,533,015).
With respect to claim 1, Kojima teaches a noise damper (Figure 18), comprising: a casing (defined by the outermost walls of the bundles units #56) delimiting an air passage (defined by passage through units, when unit is formed as the modification of Figure 12), the casing having walls each comprising an acoustic insulation layer (see abstract, note that the pipe can be made from porous metal, plastic or ceramic, which are all broadly known materials for use in acoustic insulation), wherein the noise damper comprises: at least one baffle (defined by outer pipe of each of units #56 within the casing) arranged in the air passage to separate the air passage in several channels, each channel extending substantially parallel to a longitudinal direction of the noise damper (clearly seen); and a helical deflector (defined by spiral blades within each cylinder as depicted in Figure 1-5) arranged in each channel, extending parallel to the longitudinal direction, wherein said at least one baffle (defined by outer pipe of each of units #56 within the casing) is inclined in regard to the longitudinal direction (when formed as in the modification of Figure 12), so that the channels do not have a constant cross section along the longitudinal direction.
With respect to claim 2, Kojima teaches wherein the casing is made of metal (see abstract).
With respect to claim 6, Kojima teaches wherein each baffle (defined by outer pipe of each of units #56 within the casing) comprises an acoustic insulation layer on its faces (see abstract, note that the pipe can be made from porous metal, plastic or ceramic, which are all broadly known materials for use in acoustic insulation, and are considered to be “on its faces”).
With respect to claim 7, Kojima teaches wherein each helical deflector has a helical surface extending around a central axis and extending radially from the central axis to an inner surface delimiting a corresponding channel (clearly seen in Figures 1-5 and 12).
With respect to claim 11, Kojima teaches comprising a plurality of baffles (Figure 18, (defined by outer pipe of each of units #56 within the casing), wherein the plurality of baffles is arranged in a plane comprising the longitudinal direction.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 3-4, 8 and 12-13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kojima (4,533,015).
With respect to claim 3, Kojima teaches the noise damper of claim 1. Kojima further teaches wherein the casing is made from a metal material (see abstract).
Kojima fails to explicitly teach wherein the casing is made of metal or aluminum.
However, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to wherein the casing is made of metal or aluminum., since it has been held to be within the general skill of a worker in the art to select a known material on the basis of its suitability for the intended use as a matter of obvious design choice. In re Leshin, 125 USPQ 416. In this case, selecting material or aluminum for forming outer members #56 would have been well known and obvious to one of ordinary skill.
With respect to claim 4, Kojima teaches the noise damper of claim 1. Kojima further teaches the noise damper having a length, in the longitudinal direction, of an obvious, but unspecified amount.
Kojima fails to explicitly teach the noise damper having a length, in the longitudinal direction, substantially equal to 1 meter.
It would have been an obvious design choice to provide wherein the noise damper having a length, in the longitudinal direction, substantially equal to 1 meter, since such a modification would have involved a mere change in the size of a component. A change in size is generally recognized as being within the level of ordinary skill in the art. In re Rose, 105 USPQ 237 (CCPA 1955). In this case, selecting a particular length for the device would have been well known and obvious to one of ordinary skill.
With respect to claims 8, Kojima teaches the noise damper of claim 1.
Kojima fails to explicitly teach an assembly of a railway vehicle comprising the noise damper of claim 1.
It has been held that a recitation with respect to the manner in which a claimed apparatus is intended to be employed does not differentiate the claimed apparatus from a prior art apparatus satisfying the claimed structural limitations. If the prior art structure is capable of performing the intended use, then it meets the claim. Ex Parte Masham, 2 USPQ F.2d 1647 (1987). The muffler device of Kojima is capable of being used in an assembly of a railway vehicle, so as to reduce exhaust or any other fluid flow noise.
With respect to claim 12, Kojima teaches the noise damper of claim 1. Kojima further teaches wherein said several channels (defined by passages through units #56 of Figure 18, when shaped as in the modification of Figure 12) comprise two central channels (defined by two of central units #56) which cross section is increasing along the longitudinal direction and two lateral channels.
Kojima fails to explicitly teach two lateral channels which cross section is decreasing along the longitudinal direction.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide wherein two lateral channels in which cross section is decreasing along the longitudinal direction, since it has been held that mere duplication of the essential working parts of a device involves only routine skill in the art. St. Regis Paper Co. v. Bemis Co., 193 USPQ 8. In this case, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to reverse at least two of the lateral channels of units #56 from the flow direction depicted in Figure 12, so as to tune the device.
With respect to claim 13, Kojima teaches a noise damper (Figure 18), comprising: a casing (defined by the outermost walls of the bundles units #56) delimiting an air passage (defined by passage through units, when unit is formed as the modification of Figure 12), the casing having walls each comprising an acoustic insulation layer (see abstract, note that the pipe can be made from porous metal, plastic or ceramic, which are all broadly known materials for use in acoustic insulation), at least one baffle (defined by outer pipe of each of units #56 within the casing) arranged in the air passage to separate the air passage in several channels, each channel extending substantially parallel to a longitudinal direction of the noise damper (clearly seen); and a helical deflector (defined by spiral blades within each cylinder as depicted in Figure 1-5) arranged in each channel, extending parallel to the longitudinal direction, wherein the noise damper has a length, in the longitudinal direction, of an obvious, but unspecified amount.
Kojima fails to explicitly teach the noise damper having a length, in the longitudinal direction, substantially equal to 1 meter.
It would have been an obvious design choice to provide wherein the noise damper having a length, in the longitudinal direction, substantially equal to 1 meter, since such a modification would have involved a mere change in the size of a component. A change in size is generally recognized as being within the level of ordinary skill in the art. In re Rose, 105 USPQ 237 (CCPA 1955). In this case, selecting a particular length for the device would have been well known and obvious to one of ordinary skill.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claims 1-4, 6-8 and 11-13 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument. The Examiner considers Kojima to teach all of the limitations as claimed by Applicant.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/JEREMY A LUKS/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2837