DETAILED ACTIONClaims StatusClaims 1-20 are pending and have been rejected.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 08/15/2024 is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-5, 8-11, 12-15, 18-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being unpatentable by Padgett et al. (U.S. Publication 2015/0350069), hereinafter “Padgett”.
As to claim 1, Padgett discloses a system comprising: a communication interface of a first device (Padgett, see [0036], communication between devices is enabled using a computer network); and a processor of the first device that is coupled to the communication interface, wherein at least one of the communication interface or the processor is configured to (Padgett, see fig. 5 and [0079-0082], processor is interconnected to the input/output device that includes network interface devices (e.g., an Ethernet card, a serial communication device)): receive a network packet from a second device, the network packet comprising an outer Internet Protocol (IP) header including a first outer IP address corresponding to a type of network function to be performed by the first device (Padgett, see [0026-0028], the encapsulation packet can be provided directly to the destination device, where the outer header of the encapsulation packet specifies the routable network identifier as the source address of the packet, so the destination device records the routable network identifier in its network connection table. After removing the outer header of the encapsulation packet, the inner packet, which includes the source address of the user device from which the packet originated, can be processed as the destination device would process a standard network packet); update the first outer IP address with a second outer IP address corresponding to the network function based on a mapping between IP addresses and types of network functions stored in the first device (Padgett, see [0049], the network connection table includes data used by the server device, such as IP address information, network identifiers, ports, protocols, etc., for managing network communications with various network devices. See [0062-0063], first encapsulation package and second encapsulation package are received by the edge device. See [0076], the second encapsulation packet is routed to the source network specified by the first outer source address, wherein the server device can forward the second encapsulation packet, directly or indirectly, to the edge device from which the first encapsulation packet was received); generate information regarding the network packet by processing the network packet according to the network function based at least on the second outer IP address (Padgett, see [0029], when the destination device responds to the first network packet, it generates a response packet including a destination address that is the address of the user device, and a source address that is the address of the destination device); and communicate the generated information of the processed network packet to the second device (Padgett, see [0033-0034], Network packets include a control data, e.g., a header that specifies information about the network packet, such as a source of the packet, a destination, a packet protocol, and other types of information. Edge devices and outer edge devices receive network packets from a networked device and route the packets to a destination network device).
As to claim 2, Padgett discloses everything disclosed in claim 1, wherein the first outer IP address comprises an IP address of the first device (Padgett, see [0070-0071], the server device that received the first encapsulation packet records the first outer source address, wherein the first destination address can specify the IP address of the server device).
As to claim 3, Padgett discloses everything disclosed in claim 1, wherein the second device is configured to: query another device to identify the type of network function to be performed by the first device (Padgett, see [0025-0028], packet is encapsulated and sent to destination device in order for destination device to process the packet. See [0078], the server device is capable of receiving encapsulated network packets and standard network packets, determining which type of network packet is received, and responding appropriately depending on the type of network packet received).
As to claim 4, Padgett discloses everything disclosed in claim 1, wherein the second device is configured to encapsulate the network packet with a tunnel header comprising network identifier information identifying a network adapter port via which the second device received the network packet (Padgett, see [0025], the header of each packet includes a source address specifying the user device as the source of the packet and a destination address specifying the destination device as the destination. For each received packet, the edge device selects a routable network identifier, such as a globally unique IP address, for the packet and encapsulates the packet, e.g., using IP in IP or GRE encapsulation. The outer packet includes an outer header that specifies the routable network identifier as the source address of the packet, and uses the same destination address to specify the destination device to which the packet is addressed).
As to claim 5, Padgett discloses everything disclosed in claim 1, wherein the second device is configured to encapsulate the network packet with a tunnel header comprising network identifier information and further comprising information describing at least one of: ingress port information; egress port information; or the type of network function to be performed on the network packet (Padgett, see [0042], ingress packet. See [0051], egress packet. See [0078], the server device is capable of receiving encapsulated network packets and standard network packets, determining which type of network packet is received).
As to claim 8, Padgett discloses everything disclosed in claim 1, wherein the first device is remote from the second device (Padgett, see [0092], a user and server are generally remote from each other).
As to claim 9, Padgett discloses everything disclosed in claim 1, wherein the type of network function is a security action (Padgett, see [0027-0028], the destination device then extracts the first network packet from the encapsulation packet for processing (i.e., performing network function (security action))).
As to claim 10, Padgett discloses everything disclosed in claim 1, wherein the second device is configured to perform a second network function on the network packet prior to sending the network packet to the first device (Padgett, see [0026-0028]. data packet is encapsulated prior to being sent to destination device, wherein destination device will process the standard network packet).
As to claim 11, Padgett discloses a method comprising: receiving, by a processor of a first device and via a communication interface of the first device, a network packet from a second device via a network adapter port, the network packet comprising an outer Internet Protocol (IP) header including a first outer IP address corresponding to a type of network function to be performed by the first device (Padgett, see [0026-0028], the encapsulation packet can be provided directly to the destination device, where the outer header of the encapsulation packet specifies the routable network identifier as the source address of the packet, so the destination device records the routable network identifier in its network connection table. After removing the outer header of the encapsulation packet, the inner packet, which includes the source address of the user device from which the packet originated, can be processed as the destination device would process a standard network packet); updating, by the processor, the first outer IP address with a second outer IP address corresponding to the network function based on a mapping between IP addresses and types of network functions stored in the first device (Padgett, see [0049], the network connection table includes data used by the server device, such as IP address information, network identifiers, ports, protocols, etc., for managing network communications with various network devices. See [0062-0063], first encapsulation package and second encapsulation package are received by the edge device. See [0076], the second encapsulation packet is routed to the source network specified by the first outer source address, wherein the server device can forward the second encapsulation packet, directly or indirectly, to the edge device from which the first encapsulation packet was received); generating, by the processor, information regarding the network packet by processing the network packet according to the network function based at least on the second outer IP address (Padgett, see [0029], when the destination device responds to the first network packet, it generates a response packet including a destination address that is the address of the user device, and a source address that is the address of the destination device); and sending, by the processor, the generated information of the processed network packet to the second device(Padgett, see [0033-0034], Network packets include a control data, e.g., a header that specifies information about the network packet, such as a source of the packet, a destination, a packet protocol, and other types of information. Edge devices and outer edge devices receive network packets from a networked device and route the packets to a destination network device).
As to claim 12, Padgett discloses everything disclosed in claim 11, wherein the second device is configured to: queries another device to identify the type of network function to be performed by the first device (Padgett, see [0025-0028], packet is encapsulated and sent to destination device in order for destination device to process the packet. See [0078], the server device is capable of receiving encapsulated network packets and standard network packets, determining which type of network packet is received, and responding appropriately depending on the type of network packet received).
As to claim 13, Padgett discloses everything disclosed in claim 11, wherein the first outer IP address comprises a first IP address of the first device (Padgett, see [0070-0071], the server device that received the first encapsulation packet records the first outer source address, wherein the first destination address can specify the IP address of the server device).
As to claim 14, Padgett discloses everything disclosed in claim 11, wherein the second device is configured to encapsulate the network packet with a tunnel header comprising network identifier information identifying a network adapter port via which the second device received the network packet (Padgett, see [0025], the header of each packet includes a source address specifying the user device as the source of the packet and a destination address specifying the destination device as the destination. For each received packet, the edge device selects a routable network identifier, such as a globally unique IP address, for the packet and encapsulates the packet, e.g., using IP in IP or GRE encapsulation. The outer packet includes an outer header that specifies the routable network identifier as the source address of the packet, and uses the same destination address to specify the destination device to which the packet is addressed).
As to claim 15, Padgett discloses everything disclosed in claim 11, wherein the second device is configured to encapsulate the network packet with a tunnel header comprising network identifier information and further comprising information describing at least one of: ingress network adapter port information; egress network adapter port information; or the type of network function to be performed on the network packet (Padgett, see [0042], ingress packet. See [0051], egress packet. See [0078], the server device is capable of receiving encapsulated network packets and standard network packets, determining which type of network packet is received).
As to claim 18, Padgett discloses a device comprising: circuitry configured to: receive a network packet from a second device via a network port, the network packet comprising an outer Internet Protocol (IP) header including a first outer IP address corresponding to a type of network function to be performed by the first device (Padgett, see [0026-0028], the encapsulation packet can be provided directly to the destination device, where the outer header of the encapsulation packet specifies the routable network identifier as the source address of the packet, so the destination device records the routable network identifier in its network connection table. After removing the outer header of the encapsulation packet, the inner packet, which includes the source address of the user device from which the packet originated, can be processed as the destination device would process a standard network packet); modify the first outer IP address with a second outer IP address corresponding to the network function based on a mapping between IP addresses and types of network functions stored in the first device (Padgett, see [0049], the network connection table includes data used by the server device, such as IP address information, network identifiers, ports, protocols, etc., for managing network communications with various network devices. See [0062-0063], first encapsulation package and second encapsulation package are received by the edge device. See [0076], the second encapsulation packet is routed to the source network specified by the first outer source address, wherein the server device can forward the second encapsulation packet, directly or indirectly, to the edge device from which the first encapsulation packet was received); process the network packet according to the network function based at least on the second outer IP address (Padgett, see [0029], when the destination device responds to the first network packet, it generates a response packet including a destination address that is the address of the user device, and a source address that is the address of the destination device); and sends to the second device information regarding the processed network packet (Padgett, see [0033-0034], Network packets include a control data, e.g., a header that specifies information about the network packet, such as a source of the packet, a destination, a packet protocol, and other types of information. Edge devices and outer edge devices receive network packets from a networked device and route the packets to a destination network device).
As to claim 19, Padgett discloses everything disclosed in claim 18, wherein the second device is configured to: query another device to identify the type of network function to be performed by the first device (Padgett, see [0025-0028], packet is encapsulated and sent to destination device in order for destination device to process the packet. See [0078], the server device is capable of receiving encapsulated network packets and standard network packets, determining which type of network packet is received, and responding appropriately depending on the type of network packet received).
As to claim 20, Padgett discloses everything disclosed in claim 18, wherein the first outer IP address comprises a first IP address of the first device (Padgett, see [0070-0071], the server device that received the first encapsulation packet records the first outer source address, wherein the first destination address can specify the IP address of the server device).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 6, 7, 16 & 17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Padgett et al. (U.S. Publication 2015/0350069), hereinafter “Padgett” in view of Cheng et al. (U.S. Publication 2018/0007123), hereinafter “Cheng”.
As to claim 6, Padgett discloses everything disclosed in claim 5, but is silent to wherein the second device is configured to: identify the type of network function to be performed on the network packet; and assign the network identifier information to the tunnel header based on the type of network function to be performed. However, Cheng discloses wherein the second device is configured to: identify the type of network function to be performed on the network packet (Cheng, se [0022], one or more encapsulation fields of the encapsulated data packet may include a tunneling protocol header/ID (e.g., a VXLAN ID)); and assign the network identifier information to the tunnel header based on the type of network function to be performed (Cheng, see [0022], [0038] & [0044], the tunneling protocol can be a cloud tunneling protocol, such as VXLAN). Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Padgett in view of Cheng in order to further modify the method for network packet encapsulation and routing from the teachings of Padgett with the method for load balancers of a cloud service from the teachings of Cheng.
One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated because it would allow network packet encapsulation and routing (Cheng – Abstract).
As to claim 7, Padgett in view of Cheng discloses everything disclosed in claim 6. Cheng further discloses wherein the second device is configured to: map, in a second mapping, each of a plurality of network identifiers for a plurality of types of network functions performed by the first device to a corresponding one of a plurality of Internet protocol (IP) addresses of the second device (Cheng, see [0082], the switch can access a flow table that indicates one or more destination IP addresses that are mapped to one or more computing devices of the cloud service, and the one or more computing devices may be designated as express route destinations for data packets. See [0084], the destination IP address of the data packet corresponds to an express route destination, then the data packet is encapsulated based on a tunneling protocol (e.g., a Virtual Extensible Local Area Network (VXLAN) tunneling protocol) to produce a first encapsulated data packet); and responsive to identifying the type of network function to be performed on the network packet by the first device, address, using the second mapping and based on the network identifier information and a network identifier for the identified type of network function, the outer IP header of the encapsulated network packet with the first outer IP address corresponding to the type of network function to be performed by the first device (Cheng, see [0024], the switch can map, in the flow table, the IP address of the front end computing device to the public IP address of the cloud service such that a data packet indicating the public IP address of the cloud service as a destination address may be sent to the front end computing device via an express route that bypasses one or more load balancers of the cloud service. See [0038], the encapsulated data packet further includes an outer layer of one or more encapsulation fields and/or headers. The one or more encapsulation fields of the encapsulated data packet may include a tunneling protocol header/ID (e.g., a VXLAN ID), a user datagram protocol (UDP) header, an outer destination IP address (e.g., a load balancer IP address), and an outer source IP address).
As to claim 16, Padgett discloses everything disclosed in claim 15, but is silent to wherein the second device is configured to: identify the type of network function to be performed on the network packet; and assign the network identifier information to the tunnel header based on the type of network function to be performed. However, Cheng discloses wherein the second device is configured to: identify the type of network function to be performed on the network packet (Cheng, se [0022], one or more encapsulation fields of the encapsulated data packet may include a tunneling protocol header/ID (e.g., a VXLAN ID)); and assign the network identifier information to the tunnel header based on the type of network function to be performed (Cheng, see [0022], [0038] & [0044], the tunneling protocol can be a cloud tunneling protocol, such as VXLAN). Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Padgett in view of Cheng in order to further modify the method for network packet encapsulation and routing from the teachings of Padgett with the method for load balancers of a cloud service from the teachings of Cheng.
One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated because it would allow network packet encapsulation and routing (Cheng – Abstract).
As to claim 17, Padgett in view of Cheng discloses everything disclosed in claim 16. Cheng further discloses wherein the second device is configured to: map, in a second mapping, each of a plurality of network identifiers for a plurality of types of network functions performed by the first device to a corresponding one of a plurality of Internet protocol (IP) addresses of the second device (Cheng, see [0082], the switch can access a flow table that indicates one or more destination IP addresses that are mapped to one or more computing devices of the cloud service, and the one or more computing devices may be designated as express route destinations for data packets. See [0084], the destination IP address of the data packet corresponds to an express route destination, then the data packet is encapsulated based on a tunneling protocol (e.g., a Virtual Extensible Local Area Network (VXLAN) tunneling protocol) to produce a first encapsulated data packet); and responsive to identifying the type of network function to be performed on the network packet by the first device, address, using the second mapping and based on the network identifier information and a network identifier for the identified type of network function, the outer IP header of the encapsulated network packet with the first outer IP address corresponding to the type of network function to be performed by the first device (Cheng, see [0024], the switch can map, in the flow table, the IP address of the front end computing device to the public IP address of the cloud service such that a data packet indicating the public IP address of the cloud service as a destination address may be sent to the front end computing device via an express route that bypasses one or more load balancers of the cloud service. See [0038], the encapsulated data packet further includes an outer layer of one or more encapsulation fields and/or headers. The one or more encapsulation fields of the encapsulated data packet may include a tunneling protocol header/ID (e.g., a VXLAN ID), a user datagram protocol (UDP) header, an outer destination IP address (e.g., a load balancer IP address), and an outer source IP address).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant’s disclosure. This includes: U.S. Publication 2013/0097335, which describes managing network protocol address assignment with a controller.
U.S. Publication 2018/0176294, which describes server load balancing.
/TANIA M PENA-SANTANA/Examiner, Art Unit 2443
/NICHOLAS R TAYLOR/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2443