DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 8-12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Shinohara et al (U.S. Patent Publication 2015/0109685).
With regard to independent claim 8, Shinohara et al teaches an optical imaging system (page 1, paragraph [0003] and Figure 11) comprising: a first lens (Figure 11, element L1) having a refractive power (page 4, paragraph [0069], lines 1-2); a second lens (Figure 11, element L1) having a concave image-side surface (page 16, Table 21, data for R4); a third lens (Figure 11, element L1) having a refractive power (page 5, paragraph [0075], lines 1-2) and a concave image-side surface (page 16, Table 21, data for R6); a fourth lens (Figure 11, element L1) having positive refractive power (page 5, paragraph [0077], lines 1-2) and a convex image-side surface (page 16, Table 21, data for R8); a fifth lens (Figure 11, element L1) having a refractive power (page 5, paragraph [0078], lines 1-2); and a sixth lens (Figure 11, element L1) having a refractive power (page 5, paragraph [0079], lines 1-2), wherein the first to sixth lenses are sequentially disposed from an object side toward an imaging plane (Figure 11), wherein the optical imaging system has a total number of six lenses with refractive power (Figure 11), wherein a radius of curvature of the image-side surface of the second lens (page 16, Table 21, data for R4 = 2.9401) is greater than a radius of curvature of an object-side surface of the second lens (page 16, Table 21, data for R3 = -61.1788, such that 2.9401 > -61.1788), and wherein a radius of curvature of an object-side surface of the fifth lens (page 16, Table 21, data for R9 = 11.6955) is greater than a radius of curvature of an image-side surface of the fifth lens (page 16, Table 21, data for R10 = 4.0956, such that 11.6955 > 4.0956).
With regard to dependent claim 9, Shinohara et al teaches all of the claimed limitations of the instant invention as outlined above with respect to independent claim 8,and further teaches such an optical imaging system wherein the first lens has a convex object-side surface (page 16, Table 21, data for R2).
With regard to dependent claim 10, Shinohara et al teaches all of the claimed limitations of the instant invention as outlined above with respect to independent claim 8,and further teaches such an optical imaging system wherein the third lens has a convex object-side surface (page 16, Table 21, data for R5).
With regard to dependent claim 11, Shinohara et al teaches all of the claimed limitations of the instant invention as outlined above with respect to independent claim 8,and further teaches such an optical imaging system wherein the sixth lens has a convex object-side surface (page 16, Table 21, data for R11).
With regard to dependent claim 12, Shinohara et al teaches all of the claimed limitations of the instant invention as outlined above with respect to independent claim 8,and further teaches such an optical imaging system wherein the sixth lens has a concave image-side surface (page 16, Table 21, data for R12).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 1-7 are allowed.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter: The prior art taken either singularly or in combination fails to anticipate or fairly suggest the limitations of the independent claims, in such a manner that a rejection under 35 U.S.C. §102 or §103 would be proper.
With regard to independent claim 1, although Huang (U.S. Patent Publication 2013/0050846) teaches an optical imaging system (page 1, paragraph [0003] and Figure 1) comprising: a first lens (Figure 1, element 110) having a refractive power (page 5, paragraph [0051], lines 1-2) and a concave image-side surface (Figure 1, element 112 and page 6, Table 1, Curvature Radius data for Surface 1); a second lens (Figure 1, element 120) having a concave image-side surface (Figure 1, element 122 and page 6, Table 1, Curvature Radius data for Surface 4); a third lens (Figure 1, element 130) having positive refractive power (page 5, paragraph [0053], lines 1-2); a fourth lens (Figure 1, element 140) having a refractive power (page 5, paragraph [0054], lines 1-2); a fifth lens (Figure 1, element 150) having a refractive power (page 5, paragraph [0055], lines 1-2); and a sixth lens (Figure 1, element 160) having a refractive power (page 5, paragraph [0056], lines 1-2), wherein the first to sixth lenses are sequentially disposed from an object side toward an imaging plane (Figure 1), wherein the optical imaging system has a total number of six lenses with refractive power (Figure 1), and wherein a radius of curvature of an object-side surface of the second lens (page 6, Table 1, Curvature Radius data for Surface 3 = 6.331207) is greater than a radius of curvature of an image-side surface of the first lens (page 6, Table 1, Curvature Radius data for Surface 1 = 2.086509, such that 6.331207 > 2.086509), wherein a radius of curvature of an object-side surface of the fifth lens (page 6, Table 1, Curvature Radius data for Surface 10 = 3.081457) is greater than a radius of curvature of an image-side surface of the fifth lens (page 6, Table 1, Curvature Radius data for Surface 11 = 2.199585, such that 3.081457 > 2.199585), wherein a thickness of the first lens (page 6, Table 1, Thickness data for Lens 1 = 2.000) is greater than a thickness of the fifth lens (page 6, Thickness data for Lens 5 = 0.633, such that 2.000 > 0.633), Huang fails to teach such an optical imaging system simultaneously satisfying wherein 7.0 mm < 2ImgHT (Figure 2, wherein ImgHt = 2.88 and 2ImgHT = 5.76), wherein 21mgHT is a diagonal length of the imaging plane.
With regard to dependent claims 2-7, claims 2-7 are allowable as they depend, directly or indirectly, from independent claim 1 and therefore inherit all of the limitations of the claim from which they depend.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/DARRYL J COLLINS/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2872
19 August 2026