Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-3 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Zhu (CN 115297693).
Regarding claim 1, Zhu teaches a liquid leakage protection device (“liquid cooling plate includes a cooling main body, a leak-proof housing, a liquid inlet pipe and a liquid outlet pipe,” paragraph 0032), comprising:
a cold plate (“cooling body 100,” paragraph 54), wherein the cold plate comprises:
a heated plate (“bottom plate 110,” paragraph 54); and
a cover plate (“cover plate 120,” paragraph 54), wherein the heated plate and the cover plate are connected to form a liquid-cooling chamber (“cooling space formed between the opposite surface of the bottom plate 110 and the cover plate 120,” paragraph 55) for accommodating a liquid-cooling medium (“flow channel 130 and the cover plate 120 enclose a cooling space for the flow of cooling liquid,” paragraph 54); and
an enclosure structure (“leak-proof housing 200,” paragraph 57) arranged outside of the liquid-cooling chamber (“leak-proof housing 200 is placed on the bottom plate 110 where the cooling space is located, and is connected to the bottom plate 110 A leak-proof cavity 210 is formed, so that the cooling space and the cover plate 120 are located in the leak-proof cavity 210,” paragraph 57) to block the liquid-cooling medium leaking from the liquid-cooling chamber from flowing to a working component in contact with the heated plate (“When the cooling liquid in the cooling space leaks from the connection between the cover plate 120 and the bottom plate 110 to the outside of the cooling space, the leaked cooling liquid will fall into the leak-proof cavity 210, thereby preventing the cooling liquid from directly falling into the liquid. On the electronic devices attached to the cold plate,” paragraph 57),
wherein the enclosure structure and the cold plate form a liquid reservoir (leak-proof cavity 210,” paragraph 57), so that the liquid-cooling medium leaking from the liquid-cooling chamber is stored in the liquid reservoir (“the leaked cooling liquid will fall into the leak-proof cavity 210,” paragraph 57).
Regarding claim 2, Zhu teaches a flow-guiding passage (121 and 122, Fig. 3, paragraph 70) is further formed by the enclosure structure (“anti-leakage side plate 240 and the bracket 111 are integrally formed,” paragraph 82) and the cold plate (“first gap 121 between the outer peripheral side of the cover plate 120 and the inner peripheral wall of the stepped hole 113,” paragraph 69; Fig. 3 shows 121 between 120 and 111, where 111 is joined with 240 as part of the leak-proof housing 200) and is in communication with the liquid reservoir (“first gap 121 communicates with the second gap 122, and the second gap 122 communicates with the leak-proof cavity 210,” paragraph 69), and the flow-guiding passage is configured such that the liquid-cooling medium leaking from the liquid-cooling chamber flows into the liquid reservoir after being channeled through the flow-guiding passage (“coolant leaked from the joint between the cover plate 120 and the base plate 112 can flow into the leak-proof cavity 210 through the first gap 121 and the second gap 122,” paragraph 70).
Regarding claim 3, modified Zhu teaches the enclosure structure comprises:
a perimeter wall (“leak-proof side plate 240,” paragraph 81) arranged around the cover plate to form the liquid reservoir (“leak-proof housing 200 is composed of a leak-proof side plate 240,” paragraph 81; “anti-leakage side plate 240 surrounds the bottom plate 110,” paragraph 81; Fig. 2 shows 240 also surrounds cover plate 120); and
a blocking part connected to a bottom of the perimeter wall so as to form the flow-guiding passage and block a path along which the liquid-cooling medium in the liquid-cooling chamber leaks to the working component (anti-leakage side plate 240 and the bottom plate 110 are in a one-piece structure, it is possible to prevent the coolant leaked into the anti-leakage cavity 210 from further seeping through the connection between the anti-leakage side plate 240 and the bottom plate 110. out,” paragraph 82).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 4-7 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhu (CN 115297693).
Regarding claim 4, Zhu teaches the blocking part comprises: an outer edge (111, Fig. 3) arranged on the heated plate and extending beyond the cover plate; a shielding plate (240, Fig. 3) arranged on an outer periphery of the perimeter wall and abutting against the outer edge
Zhu does not teach a seal retainer ring compressed between the outer edge and the shielding plate to seal a gap between the outer edge and the shielding plate.
However, Zhu teaches the anti-leakage side plate 240 and the bracket 111 are integrally formed (“When the anti-leakage side plate 240 and the bottom plate 110 are in a one-piece structure, it is possible to prevent the coolant leaked into the anti-leakage cavity 210 from further seeping through the connection between the anti-leakage side plate 240 and the bottom plate 110. In an exemplary embodiment, when the bottom plate 110 includes the bracket 111 and the base plate 112 , the anti-leakage side plate 240 and the bracket 111 are integrally formed,” paragraph 82; Fig. 3, See annotated figure below).
Therefore, it would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to prevent coolant leak into gaps between two components by having the two components integrally formed or have a seal retainer ring between the two components. Because either option would not have modified function of the leak-proof housing, the modification of sealing separable pieces together to prevent gaps would have been a design choice (See reJapikse, 181 F.2d 1019, 86 USPQ 70 (CCPA 1950)).
Regarding claim 5, Zhu does not teach a mounting groove is provided on the outer edge, the seal retainer ring is mounted in the mounting groove, and the mounting groove has a depth less than a thickness of the seal retainer ring.
However, Zhu teaches the anti-leakage side plate 240 and the bracket 111 are integrally formed (“When the anti-leakage side plate 240 and the bottom plate 110 are in a one-piece structure, it is possible to prevent the coolant leaked into the anti-leakage cavity 210 from further seeping through the connection between the anti-leakage side plate 240 and the bottom plate 110. In an exemplary embodiment, when the bottom plate 110 includes the bracket 111 and the base plate 112 , the anti-leakage side plate 240 and the bracket 111 are integrally formed,” paragraph 82; Fig. 3).
Therefore, it would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to prevent coolant leak into gaps between two components by having the two components integrally formed or have a seal retainer ring between the two components, where the ring is mounted in a mounting groove on one of the component. Because either option would not have modified function of the leak-proof housing, the modification of sealing separable pieces together to prevent gaps would have been a design choice (See reJapikse, 181 F.2d 1019, 86 USPQ 70 (CCPA 1950)).
Regarding claim 6, Zhu teaches the shielding plates (240, Fig. 1) are arranged on four sides of the perimeter wall (240, Fig. 1), and a size of the shielding plates on both sides of the perimeter wall in a first direction is greater than that of the shielding plates on both sides of the perimeter wall in a second direction (Fig. 1), so that the shielding plates cover the working component to prevent a liquid-cooling medium leaking from a pipeline connected to the cold plate from splashing onto the working components when dripping down to the liquid reservoir.
Regarding claim 7, Zhu teaches a cover, wherein the cover (250 and 260, paragraph 83) is arranged on the perimeter wall to prevent the liquid-cooling medium in the liquid reservoir from leaking to the outside (“coolant leaked into the anti-leakage cavity 210 can be prevented from leaking from the connection between the anti-leakage top plate 250 and the side plate 240,” paragraph 83).
Claim(s) 8 and 11-16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhu (CN 115297693) and Franz (US 2022/404079).
Note: The rejection below is applicable to claims 8 and 11-16 because claims 8, 11, 12, 13, 14, 15, and 16 depend upon claims 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, and 7, respectively, with the addition of the suction mechanism and the particular details of the suction mechanism and because claims 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, and 7 are rejected under the same embodiment of Zhu.
Regarding claim 8 and 11-16, Zhu teaches a mechanism connected to the liquid reservoir (“the liquid cooling plate may further include a sensor,” paragraph 76), wherein the mechanism comprises:
a leakage detection member arranged in the liquid reservoir (“sensing section 710 is located in the leak-proof cavity 210,” paragraph 76) to detect an amount of the liquid-cooling medium in the liquid reservoir (“sensor 700 is used for inductively monitoring the coolant leaking into the leak-proof cavity,” paragraph 77); and
a control assembly connected to the leakage detection member (“transmission section 720 of the sensor 700 is connected with the signal processing device,” paragraph 77)
Zhu does not teach the control assembly is electrically connected to the leakage detection member or the mechanism is a suction mechanism to draw the liquid-cooling medium out of the liquid reservoir and remaining particular details thereof.
However, Franz teaches a leak mitigation system including a controller (130, Fig. 2, [0028], [0062]), sensors (234A-234F, Fig. 2, [0042]), and a pump (128, Fig. 2, [0028], [0062]). The controller is coupled to the pump via a respective electronic switch through which supply of electric power to the pump may be controlled ([0028]). The controller may poll the sensors to determine if a leak exists ([0042]). If leakage of the coolant is detected (Fig. 6, [0059]) in the cooling loop (106, Fig. 2, [0059]), the pump would transfer at least the portion of the coolant from the cooling loop to the collection tank (Fig. 6, [0062]) to reduce or eliminate an outflow of the coolant from the cooling loop at the location of the leak (Fig. 6, [0062]).
Therefore, it would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the liquid cooling plate of Zhu to include the leak mitigation system of Franz to reduce or eliminate an outflow of the coolant from the cooling loop at the location of the leak (Franz: [0062]).
One of ordinary skill in the art would connect the transmission section (Zhu: 720, paragraph 77) of the sensor (700, paragraph 77) to the controller (Franz: 130, [0042]) as the signal processing device because this would overall improve leakage detection by having more sensors. One of ordinary skill in the art would also establish fluid coupling between the leak-proof cavity (Zhu: 210, paragraph 76) as the cooling loop (Franz: 106, [0031]), the collection tank (Franz: 126, [0031]), and the pump (Franz: 128, [0031]) in order to reduce or eliminate an outflow of the coolant from the cooling loop at the location of the leak (Franz: [0062]) where the leak-proof cavity is the location of the leak (Zhu: “When there is a signal of coolant in the body 210,” paragraph 77).
Modified Zhu does not teach the fluid coupling at the leak-proof cavity is performed by a liquid suction tube. Also, modified Zhu does not teach the control assembly is electrically connected to the leakage detection member.
However, Franz teaches piping capable of allowing passage of fluid therethrough for coupling the collection tank and the pump ([0027]) and “fluid coupling” to be referred to as coupling through which a fluid can be passed ([0026]).
Therefore, it would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use piping material for coupling the collection tank and the pump as piping for fluidly coupling the collection tank and pump with the cooling loop because the piping is applicable as fluid coupling since coupling with piping is coupling in which fluid can be passed.
Also, one of ordinary skill in the art would understand that a sensor is connected to a signal processing device or controller using electrical connection. Therefore, it would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to connect the sensor to a signal processing device or controller using electrical connection because electrical connection is commonly used in the art to connect a sensor to a signal processing device or controller.
Claim(s) 9 and 10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhu (CN 115297693) and Franz (US 2022/404079) as applied to claim 8 above, and further in view of Su (US 2021/0385970).
Regarding claim 9, modified Zhu does not teach a liquid collection groove and a guide slope located around the liquid collection groove are provided on the cover plate,
the guide slop is configured to guide the liquid-cooling medium on the cover plate to be collected into the liquid collection groove, and
the liquid suction tube extends into the liquid collection groove.
However, Su teaches moisture sensors using resistively driven exposed circuit board traces can be assessed using digital signal processing (DSP) to detect leaks as a very low cost and reliable solution ([0039]). Su also teaches a drip tray with a slant, concave surface (“guide slope,” [0071]) to funnel leaking fluid (“guide the liquid-cooling medium”) to a drain (“liquid collection groove”), the lowest point of the tray, to be focused on a specific area for an opportunity to minimize the size of the leak sensor board ([0028]). The leak sensor board (901, Fig. 11, [0073]) is mounted on top of the cold plate (“cover plate,” 1102, Fig. 11, [0073]), and the drip tray (1000, Fig. 11, [0073]) is mounted on top of the leak sensor board.
Therefore, it would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the liquid cooling plate of modified Zhu to use the moisture sensor and drip tray structure of Su for a low cost and reliable solution for detecting leaks (Su: [0039]). One of ordinary skill in the art would also insert piping into the drain as establish fluid coupling between the drain (Su: [0028]) as the cooling loop (Franz: 106, [0031]), the collection tank (Franz: 126, [0031]), and the pump (Franz: 128, [0031]) in order to reduce or eliminate an outflow of the coolant from the cooling loop at the location of the leak (Franz: [0062]) where the drain is the location of the leak (Su: [0028]).
Regarding claim 10, modified Zhu does not teach the leakage detection member is of a sheet-like structure, and covers a surface of the cover plate away from the heated plate.
However, Su teaches moisture sensors using resistively driven exposed circuit board (“sheet-like structure,” 901, Fig. 11, [0073]) traces can be assessed using digital signal processing (DSP) to detect leaks as a very low cost and reliable solution ([0039]). Su also teaches a drip tray with a slant, concave surface ([0071]) to funnel leaking fluid to a drain, the lowest point of the tray, to be focused on a specific area for an opportunity to minimize the size of the leak sensor board ([0028]). The leak sensor board (901, Fig. 11, [0073]) is mounted on top of the cold plate (“covers a surface of the cover plate surface away from the heated plate,” 1102, Fig. 11, [0073]), and the drip tray (1000, Fig. 11, [0073]) is mounted on top of the leak sensor board.
Therefore, it would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the liquid cooling plate of modified Zhu to use the moisture sensor and drip tray structure of Su for a low cost and reliable solution for detecting leaks (Su: [0039]). One of ordinary skill in the art would also insert piping into the drain as establish fluid coupling between the drain (Su: [0028]) as the cooling loop (Franz: 106, [0031]), the collection tank (Franz: 126, [0031]), and the pump (Franz: 128, [0031]) in order to reduce or eliminate an outflow of the coolant from the cooling loop at the location of the leak (Franz: [0062]) where the drain is the location of the leak (Su: [0028]).
Conclusion
/A.B.P./Examiner, Art Unit 3763
/LEN TRAN/
Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3763