Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 11-16 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(d) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, 4th paragraph, as being of improper dependent form for failing to further limit the subject matter of the claim upon which it depends, or for failing to include all the limitations of the claim upon which it depends. Claims 11-16 all recite the limitation "a suction mechanism connected to the liquid reservoir to draw the liquid-cooling medium out of the liquid reservoir, wherein the suction mechanism comprises:
a liquid suction tube having an end extending into the liquid reservoir;
a liquid suction assembly connected to the liquid suction tube to draw the liquid-cooling medium out of the liquid reservoir through the liquid suction tube;
a leakage detection member arranged in the liquid reservoir to detect an amount of the liquid-cooling medium in the liquid reservoir; and
a control assembly electrically connected to the leakage detection member and the liquid suction assembly to control the liquid suction assembly to start and draw the liquid-cooling medium out of the liquid reservoir when the amount of the liquid-cooling medium in the liquid reservoir exceeds a warning amount."
This does not further limit claim 1 as it adds the same limitation as presented in claim 1. Applicant may cancel the claim(s), amend the claim(s) to place the claim(s) in proper dependent form, rewrite the claim(s) in independent form, or present a sufficient showing that the dependent claim(s) complies with the statutory requirements.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-7 and 11-16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhu (CN 115297693), and further in view of Franz (US 2022/404079).
Regarding claim 1 and 11-16, Zhu teaches a liquid leakage protection device (“liquid cooling plate includes a cooling main body, a leak-proof housing, a liquid inlet pipe and a liquid outlet pipe,” paragraph 0032), comprising:
a cold plate (“cooling body 100,” paragraph 54), wherein the cold plate comprises:
a heated plate (“bottom plate 110,” paragraph 54); and
a cover plate (“cover plate 120,” paragraph 54), wherein the heated plate and the cover plate are connected to form a liquid-cooling chamber (“cooling space formed between the opposite surface of the bottom plate 110 and the cover plate 120,” paragraph 55) for accommodating a liquid-cooling medium (“flow channel 130 and the cover plate 120 enclose a cooling space for the flow of cooling liquid,” paragraph 54); and
an enclosure structure (“leak-proof housing 200,” paragraph 57) arranged outside of the liquid-cooling chamber (“leak-proof housing 200 is placed on the bottom plate 110 where the cooling space is located, and is connected to the bottom plate 110 A leak-proof cavity 210 is formed, so that the cooling space and the cover plate 120 are located in the leak-proof cavity 210,” paragraph 57) to block the liquid-cooling medium leaking from the liquid-cooling chamber from flowing to a working component in contact with the heated plate (“When the cooling liquid in the cooling space leaks from the connection between the cover plate 120 and the bottom plate 110 to the outside of the cooling space, the leaked cooling liquid will fall into the leak-proof cavity 210, thereby preventing the cooling liquid from directly falling into the liquid. On the electronic devices attached to the cold plate,” paragraph 57),
wherein the enclosure structure and the cold plate form a liquid reservoir (leak-proof cavity 210,” paragraph 57), so that the liquid-cooling medium leaking from the liquid-cooling chamber is stored in the liquid reservoir (“the leaked cooling liquid will fall into the leak-proof cavity 210,” paragraph 57),
a mechanism connected to the liquid reservoir (“the liquid cooling plate may further include a sensor,” paragraph 76), wherein the mechanism comprises:
a leakage detection member arranged in the liquid reservoir (“sensing section 710 is located in the leak-proof cavity 210,” paragraph 76) to detect an amount of the liquid-cooling medium in the liquid reservoir (“sensor 700 is used for inductively monitoring the coolant leaking into the leak-proof cavity,” paragraph 77); and
a control assembly connected to the leakage detection member (“transmission section 720 of the sensor 700 is connected with the signal processing device,” paragraph 77)
Zhu does not teach the mechanism is a suction mechanism to draw the liquid-cooling medium out of the liquid reservoir, wherein the suction mechanism comprises:
a liquid suction tube having an end extending into the liquid reservoir;
a liquid suction assembly connected to the liquid suction tube to draw the liquid-cooling medium out of the liquid reservoir through the liquid suction tube
the control assembly is electrically connected to the leakage detection member and the liquid suction assembly to control the liquid suction assembly to start and draw the liquid-cooling medium out of the liquid reservoir when the amount of the liquid-cooling medium in the liquid reservoir exceeds a warning amount
However, Franz teaches a suction mechanism (220, Fig. 2, [0034]) to draw the liquid-cooling medium (coolant, [0062]) out of the liquid reservoir (106, Fig. 2, [0062], the cooling loop is broadly interpreted to be a liquid reservoir because it is a closed loop that stores fluids), wherein the suction mechanism comprises:
a liquid suction tube (piping, [0027], piping capable of allowing passage of fluid therethrough) having an end extending into the liquid reservoir ([0026], “fluid coupling” may be referred to as a coupling through which a fluid can be passed, which can be piping as piping allows fluid passage; [0061], fluid coupling between the cooling loop and the leak mitigation pump);
a liquid suction assembly (128, Fig. 2, [0027]) connected to the liquid suction tube ([0061], fluid coupling between the cooling loop and the leak mitigation pump) to draw the liquid-cooling medium out of the liquid reservoir through the liquid suction tube ([0062], the pump to transfer at least the portion of the coolant to the collection tank from the cooling loop)
the control assembly (130, Fig. 2, [0062]) is electrically connected to the leakage detection member (234A to 234F, Fig. 2, [0039]; [0029], the controller may include electronic circuitry for performing various functionalities described herein; [0042], controller may poll the pressure transducer and/or the sensors to receive respective sensed parameters and compare measured values of these parameters) and the liquid suction assembly ([0062]) to control the liquid suction assembly to start and draw the liquid-cooling medium out of the liquid reservoir when the amount of the liquid-cooling medium in the liquid reservoir exceeds a warning amount ([0031]; [0039], sensors 234A to 234F to detect levels of the coolant; [0042], if measured values parameters deviate from the respective normal values and/or respective normal ranges, the controller may determine that there exists a leak; [0031], in response to detection of the leak, the LM pump may cause the transfer of at least a portion of the coolant from the cooling loop to the collection tank; [0062], the controller may turn on the LM pump to transfer at least the portion of the coolant to the collection tank from the cooling loop).
Therefore, it would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the liquid cooling plate of Zhu to include the leak mitigation system of Franz in order to advantageously reduce or eliminate an outflow of the coolant from the cooling loop at the location of the leak (Franz: [0062]).
Regarding claim 2, modified Zhu teaches a flow-guiding passage (Zhu: 121 and 122, Fig. 3, paragraph 70) is further formed by the enclosure structure (Zhu: “anti-leakage side plate 240 and the bracket 111 are integrally formed,” paragraph 82) and the cold plate (Zhu: “first gap 121 between the outer peripheral side of the cover plate 120 and the inner peripheral wall of the stepped hole 113,” paragraph 69; Fig. 3 shows 121 between 120 and 111, where 111 is joined with 240 as part of the leak-proof housing 200) and is in communication with the liquid reservoir (Zhu: “first gap 121 communicates with the second gap 122, and the second gap 122 communicates with the leak-proof cavity 210,” paragraph 69), and the flow-guiding passage is configured such that the liquid-cooling medium leaking from the liquid-cooling chamber flows into the liquid reservoir after being channeled through the flow-guiding passage (Zhu: “coolant leaked from the joint between the cover plate 120 and the base plate 112 can flow into the leak-proof cavity 210 through the first gap 121 and the second gap 122,” paragraph 70).
Regarding claim 3, modified Zhu teaches the enclosure structure comprises:
a perimeter wall (Zhu: “leak-proof side plate 240,” paragraph 81) arranged around the cover plate to form the liquid reservoir (Zhu: “leak-proof housing 200 is composed of a leak-proof side plate 240,” paragraph 81; “anti-leakage side plate 240 surrounds the bottom plate 110,” paragraph 81; Fig. 2 shows 240 also surrounds cover plate 120); and
a blocking part connected to a bottom of the perimeter wall so as to form the flow-guiding passage and block a path along which the liquid-cooling medium in the liquid-cooling chamber leaks to the working component (Zhu: anti-leakage side plate 240 and the bottom plate 110 are in a one-piece structure, it is possible to prevent the coolant leaked into the anti-leakage cavity 210 from further seeping through the connection between the anti-leakage side plate 240 and the bottom plate 110. out,” paragraph 82).
Regarding claim 4, modified Zhu teaches the blocking part comprises: an outer edge (Zhu: 111, Fig. 3) arranged on the heated plate and extending beyond the cover plate; a shielding plate (Zhu: 240, Fig. 3) arranged on an outer periphery of the perimeter wall and abutting against the outer edge
Modified Zhu does not teach a seal retainer ring compressed between the outer edge and the shielding plate to seal a gap between the outer edge and the shielding plate.
However, Zhu teaches the anti-leakage side plate 240 and the bracket 111 are integrally formed (Zhu: “When the anti-leakage side plate 240 and the bottom plate 110 are in a one-piece structure, it is possible to prevent the coolant leaked into the anti-leakage cavity 210 from further seeping through the connection between the anti-leakage side plate 240 and the bottom plate 110. In an exemplary embodiment, when the bottom plate 110 includes the bracket 111 and the base plate 112 , the anti-leakage side plate 240 and the bracket 111 are integrally formed,” paragraph 82; Fig. 3, See annotated figure below).
Therefore, it would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to prevent coolant leak into gaps between two components by having the two components integrally formed or have a seal retainer ring between the two components. Because either option would not have modified function of the leak-proof housing, the modification of sealing separable pieces together to prevent gaps would have been a design choice (See reJapikse, 181 F.2d 1019, 86 USPQ 70 (CCPA 1950)).
Regarding claim 5, modified Zhu does not teach a mounting groove is provided on the outer edge, the seal retainer ring is mounted in the mounting groove, and the mounting groove has a depth less than a thickness of the seal retainer ring.
However, Zhu teaches the anti-leakage side plate 240 and the bracket 111 are integrally formed (Zhu: “When the anti-leakage side plate 240 and the bottom plate 110 are in a one-piece structure, it is possible to prevent the coolant leaked into the anti-leakage cavity 210 from further seeping through the connection between the anti-leakage side plate 240 and the bottom plate 110. In an exemplary embodiment, when the bottom plate 110 includes the bracket 111 and the base plate 112 , the anti-leakage side plate 240 and the bracket 111 are integrally formed,” paragraph 82; Fig. 3).
Therefore, it would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to prevent coolant leak into gaps between two components by having the two components integrally formed or have a seal retainer ring between the two components, where the ring is mounted in a mounting groove on one of the component. Because either option would not have modified function of the leak-proof housing, the modification of sealing separable pieces together to prevent gaps would have been a design choice (See reJapikse, 181 F.2d 1019, 86 USPQ 70 (CCPA 1950)).
Regarding claim 6, modified Zhu teaches the shielding plates (Zhu: 240, Fig. 1) are arranged on four sides of the perimeter wall (Zhu: 240, Fig. 1), and a size of the shielding plates on both sides of the perimeter wall in a first direction is greater than that of the shielding plates on both sides of the perimeter wall in a second direction (Zhu: Fig. 1), so that the shielding plates cover the working component to prevent a liquid-cooling medium leaking from a pipeline connected to the cold plate from splashing onto the working components when dripping down to the liquid reservoir.
Regarding claim 7, modified Zhu teaches a cover, wherein the cover (Zhu: 250 and 260, paragraph 83) is arranged on the perimeter wall to prevent the liquid-cooling medium in the liquid reservoir from leaking to the outside (Zhu: “coolant leaked into the anti-leakage cavity 210 can be prevented from leaking from the connection between the anti-leakage top plate 250 and the side plate 240,” paragraph 83).
Claim(s) 9, 10, and 17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhu (CN 115297693) and Franz (US 2022/404079) as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Su (US 2021/0385970).
Regarding claim 9 and 17, modified Zhu does not teach a liquid collection groove and a guide slope located around the liquid collection groove are provided on the cover plate,
the guide slop is configured to guide the liquid-cooling medium on the cover plate to be collected into the liquid collection groove, and
the liquid suction tube extends into the liquid collection groove.
However, Su teaches moisture sensors using resistively driven exposed circuit board traces can be assessed using digital signal processing (DSP) to detect leaks as a very low cost and reliable solution ([0039]). Su also teaches a drip tray with a slant, concave surface (“guide slope,” [0071]) to funnel leaking fluid (“guide the liquid-cooling medium”) to a drain (“liquid collection groove”), the lowest point of the tray, to be focused on a specific area for an opportunity to minimize the size of the leak sensor board ([0028]). The leak sensor board (901, Fig. 11, [0073]) is mounted on top of the cold plate (“cover plate,” 1102, Fig. 11, [0073]), and the drip tray (1000, Fig. 11, [0073]) is mounted on top of the leak sensor board.
Therefore, it would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the liquid cooling plate of modified Zhu to use the moisture sensor and drip tray structure of Su for a low cost and reliable solution for detecting leaks (Su: [0039]). One of ordinary skill in the art would also insert piping into the drain as establish fluid coupling between the drain (Su: [0028]) as the cooling loop (Franz: 106, [0031]), the collection tank (Franz: 126, [0031]), and the pump (Franz: 128, [0031]) in order to reduce or eliminate an outflow of the coolant from the cooling loop at the location of the leak (Franz: [0062]) where the drain is the location of the leak (Su: [0028]).
Regarding claim 10, modified Zhu does not teach the leakage detection member is of a sheet-like structure, and covers a surface of the cover plate away from the heated plate.
However, Su teaches moisture sensors using resistively driven exposed circuit board (“sheet-like structure,” 901, Fig. 11, [0073]) traces can be assessed using digital signal processing (DSP) to detect leaks as a very low cost and reliable solution ([0039]). Su also teaches a drip tray with a slant, concave surface ([0071]) to funnel leaking fluid to a drain, the lowest point of the tray, to be focused on a specific area for an opportunity to minimize the size of the leak sensor board ([0028]). The leak sensor board (901, Fig. 11, [0073]) is mounted on top of the cold plate (“covers a surface of the cover plate surface away from the heated plate,” 1102, Fig. 11, [0073]), and the drip tray (1000, Fig. 11, [0073]) is mounted on top of the leak sensor board.
Therefore, it would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the liquid cooling plate of modified Zhu to use the moisture sensor and drip tray structure of Su for a low cost and reliable solution for detecting leaks (Su: [0039]). One of ordinary skill in the art would also insert piping into the drain as establish fluid coupling between the drain (Su: [0028]) as the cooling loop (Franz: 106, [0031]), the collection tank (Franz: 126, [0031]), and the pump (Franz: 128, [0031]) in order to reduce or eliminate an outflow of the coolant from the cooling loop at the location of the leak (Franz: [0062]) where the drain is the location of the leak (Su: [0028]).
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 04/25/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
The applicant argued on page 10 that “the sensing section 710 of the sensor 700 is in contact with the inner side wall and the bottom wall of the liquid reservoir so as to precisely sense or determine if a leak exists, instead of the amount of the liquid-cooling medium as recited in the present invention. Therefore, Zhu fails to disclose the claimed leakage detection member for detecting an amount of the liquid-cooling medium in the liquid reservoir in new claim 1, and thus fails to disclose the claimed suction mechanism for drawing the liquid-cooling medium out of the liquid reservoir when the amount of the liquid-cooling medium in the liquid reservoir exceeds a warning amount.”
The phrase “to detect an amount of the liquid-cooling medium” in the recited limitation “a leakage detection member arranged in the liquid reservoir to detect an amount of the liquid-cooling medium in the liquid reservoir” is broadly interpreted to be “to detect the presence of an amount of the liquid-cooling medium” as a definition of “detect” is “discover or identify the presence or existence of.” Also, “an amount” is broadly interpreted to be “any amount“ such that any amount of the liquid-cooling medium present would anticipate the claim because any amount of the liquid-cooling medium is an amount of the liquid-cooling medium. This is different from “to measure an amount of the liquid-cooling medium” that examiner believes the applicant intends to recite. By the examiner’s interpretation, Zhu teaches the leakage detection member (sensing section) to detect an amount of the liquid-cooling medium because detecting if a leak exists is also detecting the presence of an amount of the liquid-cooling medium. Because of this and current claim 1 rejection, Zhu also teaches the claimed suction mechanism for drawing the liquid-cooling medium out of the liquid reservoir when the amount of the liquid-cooling medium in the liquid reservoir exceeds a warning amount.
The applicant argued on page 11 that “the leak mitigation system 120 disclosed in Franz is connected to the cooling loop 106 to draw the liquid-cooling medium out of the cooling loop 106. In contrast, the claimed suction mechanism is connected to a liquid reservoir which is arranged outside of the liquid-cooling chamber (part of cooling loop) to collect liquid-cooling medium leaking from the liquid-cooling chamber. Further, as stated above, the claimed suction mechanism is configured to draw the liquid-cooling medium out of the liquid reservoir when the amount of the liquid-cooling medium collected in the liquid reservoir exceeds a warning amount.” In response to applicant's arguments against the references individually, one cannot show nonobviousness by attacking references individually where the rejections are based on combinations of references. See In re Keller, 642 F.2d 413, 208 USPQ 871 (CCPA 1981); In re Merck & Co., 800 F.2d 1091, 231 USPQ 375 (Fed. Cir. 1986).
Franz teaches that upon leakage detection, the pump transfers coolant from the cooling loop to the collection tank to advantageously reduce or eliminate an outflow of the coolant from the cooling loop at the location of the leak. In the combination, it would have been obvious to connect the pump and collection tank to the location of the leak, which in Franz is the cooling loop and in Zhu would be the leak-proof cavity, in order to reduce or eliminate an outflow of the coolant at the location of the leak upon detecting coolant leakage. If the pump and collection tank is not connected to the leak-proof cavity, the leak mitigation system of Franz would not have been able to advantageously perform the function of reducing or eliminating coolant outflow. As the claimed suction mechanism is established to be connected to the liquid reservoir (leak-proof cavity), the applicant’s argument is not considered to be persuasive, and therefore the claimed suction mechanism is maintained to be configured to draw the liquid-cooling medium out of the liquid reservoir when the amount of the liquid-cooling medium collected in the liquid reservoir exceeds a warning amount.
The applicant also argued on page 11 that “Franz fails to disclose a leakage detection member configured to detect an amount of the liquid-cooling medium in the liquid reservoir, a liquid suction assembly configured to draw the liquid-cooling medium out of the liquid reservoir through the liquid suction tube, and a control assembly electrically connected to the leakage detection member and the liquid suction assembly to control the liquid suction assembly to start and draw the liquid-cooling medium out of the liquid reservoir when the amount of the liquid-cooling medium in the liquid reservoir exceeds a warning amount.” In response to applicant's arguments against the references individually, one cannot show nonobviousness by attacking references individually where the rejections are based on combinations of references. See In re Keller, 642 F.2d 413, 208 USPQ 871 (CCPA 1981); In re Merck & Co., 800 F.2d 1091, 231 USPQ 375 (Fed. Cir. 1986).
The applicant argued on page 12 that “Su only discloses the drain hole 1004 for allowing passage of liquid to the sensor for detection purpose, but does NOT disclose a liquid collection groove which collects and stores the leaking liquid guided by the guide slope and is communicated with the liquid suction tube for drawing the leaking liquid out of the liquid reservoir.” As to “the liquid collection groove which collect and stores the leaking liquid,” storing the leaking liquid does not commensurate with the claimed limitation. Also, Su teaches the drain is configured to collect liquid leaks at a focus or funnel point, using the concave surface (1002, Fig. 10), and to deliver the collected fluid to a sensor on a leak sensor board (901A) ([0072]), and Fig. 11 of Su teaches a space portion between the hole portion of the drain (1004) and the sensor (901A). As the drain is configured to collect liquid and is shown to be a long and narrow depression (See annotated Fig. 11 below), being a definition of groove, the drain is a liquid collection groove.
As previously stated above, Franz teaches that upon leakage detection, the pump transfers coolant from the cooling loop to the collection tank to advantageously reduce or eliminate an outflow of the coolant from the cooling loop at the location of the leak. In the combination, it would have been obvious to communicate or couple the pump and collection tank with the location of the leak, which in Franz is the cooling loop and in Su would be the drain, in order to reduce or eliminate an outflow of the coolant at the location of the leak upon detecting coolant leakage. If the pump and collection tank is not communicated with the drip dray, the leak mitigation system of Franz would not have been able to advantageously perform the function of reducing or eliminating coolant outflow.
Moreover, Franz teaches coupling between the pump and collection tank is done by piping capable of allowing passage of fluid therethrough ([0027]). Because Franz also teaches “fluidly coupled” or “fluid coupling” may be referred to as a coupling through which a fluid can be passed ([0026]), piping is applicable for coupling components. Additionally, Franz teaches in response to detection of the leak, the controller may operate the first valve unit, the second valve unit, and the LM pump to establish a fluid coupling between the collection tank and the cooling loop ([0031]), where the fluidly coupling can be performed by piping. Therefore, the piping communicating the pump with the drip dray is a liquid suction tube, and the pipe extends into the drain, which is the location of the leak.
The applicant also argued on page 12 that “the sensor on the leak sensor board is NOT used to detect the amount of the liquid in the drip tray 1000.” In response to applicant's arguments against the references individually, one cannot show nonobviousness by attacking references individually where the rejections are based on combinations of references. See In re Keller, 642 F.2d 413, 208 USPQ 871 (CCPA 1981); In re Merck & Co., 800 F.2d 1091, 231 USPQ 375 (Fed. Cir. 1986).
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/A.B.P./Examiner, Art Unit 3763
/LEN TRAN/
Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3763