DETAILED ACTION
The application of Pasma et al. for a “electronic lock with battery use mitigation” filed on January 23, 2026 has been examined.
This application claims priority to U.S. provisional application number 63/519,752, which is filed on August 15, 2023.
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Group II, including claims 11-20, in the reply filed on January 23, 2026 is acknowledged.
Claims 1-10 are cancelled. The new set of claims 21-30 are introduced.
Claims 11-30 are pending.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 11-14, 18 and 20-30 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bryla (Pub. No. 2019/0228604) in view of Zabala Zabaleta et al. (US# 10,515,496).
Referring to Claim 11, Bryla discloses a power-saving electronic lock (110) (i.e. a lock unit) (page 1 paragraphs 0004 to 0006; see Figures 1 to 3) comprising:
a processor (111) (i.e. a lock controller) (page 3 paragraph 0023; see Figure 1); and
a memory (116) storing instructions (page 4 paragraph 0029; see Figure 1) that, when executed by the processor (111), cause the power-saving electronic lock (110) to:
detect a first input (i.e. receiving a wakeup signal for the lock system 111) (page 2 paragraphs 0016; 0018; page 5 paragraph 0038; see Figure 3);
based on the detection of the first input, activate an electrical component (114) (i.e. second wireless communicator) of the electronic lock (110) (i.e. in response to receiving the wakeup signal, the lock controller may activate power to the second wireless communicator. Once the second wireless communicator is powered on, the high bandwidth data transfer takes place between the lock unit and the gateway) (page 2 paragraphs 0016; 0018; page 5 paragraph 0038; see Figure 3);
detect a second input (i.e. receiving a termination signal at the second wireless communicator from the gateway 120) (page 2 paragraphs 0016; 0018; page 5 paragraph 0039; see Figure 3); and
based on the detection of the detection of the second input, deactivate the
electrical component of the electronic lock (i.e. the second wireless communicator may deactivate after a software update communication is finished. In yet another embodiment, the second wireless communicator may power down and/or enter a low-power standby state after a predetermined period of time has elapsed after activating the second wireless communicator, such as an expected amount of time to perform one or more desired functions) (page 2 paragraphs 0016; 0018; page 5 paragraph 0039; see Figure 3).
However, Bryla did not explicitly disclose receive a code; validate the code; and in response to validating the code, actuate a bolt to move the electronic lock from a locked state to an unlocked state or from the unlocked state to the locked state.
In the same field of endeavor of an electronic lock, Zabala Zabaleta et al. teach that receive a code (i.e. an access code); validate the code; and in response to validating the code, actuate a bolt to move the electronic lock from a locked state to an unlocked state or from the unlocked state to the locked state (i.e. operation in the online mode 406 is shown in the diagram in FIG. 5B. In the online mode 406 the RFID card 41 is read 410 (reading of access data may involve, inter alia, for example, an identifier of the RIFD card and/or an access code). Then, the system checks if the reading is correct 412, in which case the identification data of the RFID car are sent 414 to the central control unit 42 by means of TCP/IP protocol. If the sending event is incorrect 416 the link TCP/IP is checked and if it is correct the central control unit 42 is asked if the RFID card 41 is granted permission to open the lock 1, by sending the access data wirelessly. In case the RFID card 41 is granted permission, opening or locking 420 of the lock can occur, as appropriate) (column 12 lines 30 to 44; see Figures 5A to 5B) in order to operate the electronic lock in wake up mode for the batteries to last longer.
At the time of the effective filing date of the current application, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to recognize the need for having the RFID reader to read the access code from RFID card and to grant permission to activate the lock if the correct access code is read after the lock is in the wake up mode taught by Zabala Zabaleta et al. in the lock unit includes user input device to allow the user to provide an unlock code directly on the lock unit for authorize entry of Bryla because having the RFID reader to read the access code from RFID card and to grant permission to activate the lock if the correct access code is read after the lock is in the wake up mode would provide an alternative way to enter the access code to activate the lock.
Referring to Claim 12, Bryla in view of Zabala Zabaleta et al. disclose the power-saving electronic lock of claim 11, Zabala Zabaleta et al. disclose wherein the first input is a movement of a physically manipulatable component coupled to a switch; and wherein the first input causes the switch to close an electrical circuit that couples a power source with the electrical component (i.e. these locks are usually completely standing by and in order to wake up the electronics thereof, the users themselves have to push the door slightly, thereby activating a mechanical switch which, in turn, turns the electronics on, and then the lock can be operated with the RFID access means) (column 5 lines 16 to 27; column 7 lines 60 to 65; see Figure 1).
Referring to Claim 13, Bryla in view of Zabala Zabaleta et al. disclose the power-saving electronic lock of claim 11, Bryla discloses wherein the power-saving electronic lock is in a low-power standby mode prior to activating the electrical component (114) (i.e. the second wireless communicator 114) of the electronic lock (110); and wherein the electrical component is a network interface (i.e. one or more components (e.g., RFID readers and/or wireless communication devices) may be maintained in a powered-off or low-power standby state until the components are needed to be powered on, such as to detect an RFID signal, and/or to communicate with other components) (page 2 paragraph 0017; page 3 paragraph 0026; page 5 paragraph 0037; see Figures 1 and 3).
Referring to Claim 14, Bryla in view of Zabala Zabaleta et al. disclose the power-saving electronic lock of claim 11, Zabala Zabaleta et al. disclose wherein detecting the first input comprises receiving an initial communication via a network interface from a mobile device (i.e. activate the lock by means of devices featuring NFC or RFID technology, for example a mobile phone) (column 5 lines 44 to 48).
Referring to Claim 18, Bryla in view of Zabala Zabaleta et al. disclose the power-saving electronic lock of claim 11, Zabala Zabaleta et al. disclose wherein the instructions, when activated, further cause the power-saving electronic lock to receive a communication from one or more of a mobile device or a remote server using the electrical component (i.e. activate the lock by means of devices featuring NFC or RFID technology, for example a mobile phone) (column 5 lines 44 to 48);
wherein receiving the communication from one or more of the mobile device or the
remote server using the electrical component comprises receiving the code via a keypad or receiving an update from the remote server, the update related to an update to software of the electronic lock or an update to a programmable code (i.e. operation in the online mode 406 is shown in the diagram in FIG. 5B. In the online mode 406 the RFID card 41 is read 410 (reading of access data may involve, inter alia, for example, an identifier of the RIFD card and/or an access code). Then, the system checks if the reading is correct 412, in which case the identification data of the RFID car are sent 414 to the central control unit 42 by means of TCP/IP protocol. If the sending event is incorrect 416 the link TCP/IP is checked and if it is correct the central control unit 42 is asked if the RFID card 41 is granted permission to open the lock 1, by sending the access data wirelessly. In case the RFID card 41 is granted permission, opening or locking 420 of the lock can occur, as appropriate) (column 12 lines 30 to 44; see Figures 5A to 5B); and
Bryla discloses that wherein the instructions, when executed by the processor, further cause the power-saving lock to provide a status to the remote server, the status including one or more of a lock position, a lock actuation event, a date, a time, or a battery life (i.e. requests include, but are not limited to, a lock signal for the lock system, an unlock signal for the lock system, a status request for the lock system, a response to a status request for the gateway, and a wakeup signal for the lock system) (page 2 paragraph 0016; page 4 paragraph 0027).
Referring to Claim 20, Bryla in view of Zabala Zabaleta et al. disclose an electronic lock with battery use mitigation, the electronic lock, to the extent as claimed with respect to claim 11 above, and Bryla discloses the electronic lock further including:
detect a first input, the first input being a communication received via a low-power network (112) (i.e. receiving a wakeup signal for the lock system 111) (page 2 paragraphs 0016; 0018; page 5 paragraph 0038; see Figure 3);
based on the detection of the first input, activate an electrical component (114) of the electronic lock (110), the electrical component (114) being the high-power network interface (114) (page 2 paragraphs 0016; 0018; page 5 paragraph 0038; see Figure 3);
detect a second input, the second input being a second communication received via the low-power network interface (112) (i.e. receiving a termination signal at the second wireless communicator from the gateway 120) (page 2 paragraphs 0016; 0018; page 5 paragraph 0039; see Figure 3); and
based on the detection of the second input, deactivate the electrical component of
the electronic lock, wherein deactivating the electrical component comprises putting the electrical component in a low power mode (i.e. the second wireless communicator may deactivate after a software update communication is finished. In yet another embodiment, the second wireless communicator may power down and/or enter a low-power standby state after a predetermined period of time has elapsed after activating the second wireless communicator, such as an expected amount of time to perform one or more desired functions) (page 2 paragraphs 0016; 0018; page 5 paragraph 0039; see Figure 3).
Referring to Claim 21, Bryla in view of Zabala Zabaleta et al. disclose a method associated with a power-saving electronic lockset, to the extent as claimed with respect to claim 11 above, and Bryla discloses the method further including:
detect, by the electronic lockset, a first input, the first input comprising a touch or
a press of a button (i.e. the lock unit 110 may include a first user input device 115 coupled to the lock controller 111 to allow a user to provide input (e.g., an unlock code) directly on the lock unit 110. In some instances, the user input may be used to authorize entry for a particular user) (page 3 paragraph 0025; page 5 paragraph 0037; see Figure 3);
based on the detection of the first input (115), activate an electrical component of the electronic lockset, the electrical component comprising a processor (111) (i.e. in response to the user input, the lock controller 111 may operate the lock actuator 113a to move the lock 113b between the locked and unlocked position as desired) (page 3 paragraph 0025; page 5 paragraph 0037; see Figure 3);
detect a second input, the second input comprising an expiration of a timer or a
time delay (i.e. the second wireless communicator may deactivate after a software update communication is finished. In yet another embodiment, the second wireless communicator may power down and/or enter a low-power standby state after a predetermined period of time has elapsed after activating the second wireless communicator, such as an expected amount of time to perform one or more desired functions. For example, the expected amount of time may be just an amount of time to complete a communicated task (e.g., to communicate a software update)) (page 2 paragraph 0018; see Figure 3); and
based on the detection of the second input, deactivate the electrical component of
the electronic lockset, wherein deactivating the electrical component comprises putting the electrical component in a low power mode (i.e. the second wireless communicator may deactivate after a software update communication is finished. In yet another embodiment, the second wireless communicator may power down and/or enter a low-power standby state after a predetermined period of time has elapsed after activating the second wireless communicator, such as an expected amount of time to perform one or more desired functions) (page 2 paragraphs 0016; 0018; page 5 paragraph 0039; see Figure 3).
Referring to Claims 22-24, Bryla in view of Zabala Zabaleta et al. disclose the method of claim 21, Bryla discloses wherein the button is coupled to a switch (not shown) that, in a closed position, electrically couples the processor and a battery (i.e. the one or more components may be operated for as long as needed, and may subsequently be powered off and/or switched to a low-power standby state until they are later needed to be powered on again) (page 2 paragraph 0017; see Figures 1 and 3).
Referring to Claim 25, Bryla in view of Zabala Zabaleta et al. disclose the method of claim 21, Bryla discloses wherein the first input is the touch of the button (115) (i.e. the lock unit 110 may include a first user input device 115 coupled to the lock controller 111 to allow a user to provide input (e.g., an unlock code) directly on the lock unit 110) (page 3 paragraph 0025; see Figure 1).
Referring to Claim 26, Bryla in view of Zabala Zabaleta et al. disclose the method of claim 21, Bryla discloses wherein the button is flat and is disposed on an exterior assembly of the electronic lockset (i.e. the lock unit 110 may include a first user input device 115 coupled to the lock controller 111 to allow a user to provide input (e.g., an unlock code) directly on the lock unit 110) (page 3 paragraph 0025; see Figure 1).
Referring to Claim 27, Bryla in view of Zabala Zabaleta et al. disclose the method of claim 21, Zabala Zabaleta et al. disclose wherein the electronic lockset (1) comprises a battery charging system (40) electrically coupled to a battery; and wherein the battery charging system comprises a signal harvesting device (i.e. a compartment 40 for the battery supply module, which can be formed by conventional batteries, a battery unit, a rechargeable battery or any other autonomous power supply source) (column 2 lines 42 to 50; column 9 lines 33 to 38; see Figure 2B).
Referring to Claim 28, Bryla in view of Zabala Zabaleta et al. disclose the method of claim 21, Bryla discloses wherein the processor, when activated, is configured to
provide an update to a remote server via a network interface, the update comprising data
indicating a movement of the bolt from the locked state to the unlocked state or from the
unlocked state to the locked state (i.e. a lock controller may initiate one or more functions, for example, operating a lock actuator to move a lock between a locked position and an unlocked position in response to receiving lock or unlock signals from the gateway, determining a status of the lock (i.e., whether the lock is in a locked or an unlocked position and/or whether a latch is in the latched or unlatched position) and communicating the status to the gateway in response to status requests received from the gateway, activating one or more components associated with the lock unit in response to a wakeup signal received from the gateway, and/or other functions) (page 2 paragraph 0016; see Figure 3).
Referring to Claim 29, Bryla in view of Zabala Zabaleta et al. disclose the method of claim 21, Bryla discloses wherein the electronic lockset does not include wireless communication capabilities; and wherein the processor, when activated, is configured to receive the code via the keypad (i.e. In some embodiments, the lock unit 110 may include a first user input device 115 coupled to the lock controller 111 to allow a user to provide input (e.g., an unlock code) directly on the lock unit 110. In some instances, the user input may be used to authorize entry for a particular user. In response to the user input, the lock controller 111 may operate the lock actuator 113a to move the lock 113b between the locked and unlocked position as desired) (page 3 paragraph 0025; see Figure 1).
Referring to Claim 30, Bryla in view of Zabala Zabaleta et al. disclose the method of claim 21, Bryla discloses wherein validating the code is performed by comparing the code to a preprogrammed code stored in a memory of the electronic lockset (i.e. In some embodiments, the lock unit 110 may include a first user input device 115 coupled to the lock controller 111 to allow a user to provide input (e.g., an unlock code) directly on the lock unit 110. In some instances, the user input may be used to authorize entry for a particular user. In response to the user input, the lock controller 111 may operate the lock actuator 113a to move the lock 113b between the locked and unlocked position as desired) (page 3 paragraph 0025; see Figure 1); and
wherein actuating the bolt (113b) comprises activating an electrical motor (113a) of the electronic lockset (110) (i.e. the lock 113b may be operatively coupled to the lock actuator 113a (e.g., a lock motor) that may be actuated to move the lock between the locked and unlocked positions. The lock actuator 113a may be operatively coupled to the lock controller 111 that controls the operation of the lock actuator 113a based on signals received by the lock controller 111) (page 3 paragraphs 0023-0024; see Figure 1).
Claims 15 and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bryla (Pub. No. 2019/0228604) in view of Zabala Zabaleta et al. (US# 10,515,496) as applied to claim 11, and further in view of Turon (US# 10,203,748).
Referring to Claim 15, Bryla in view of Zabala Zabaleta et al. disclose the power-saving electronic lock of claim 11, however, Bryla in view of Zabala Zabaleta et al. did not explicitly disclose wherein detecting the first input comprises detecting that a user left a location premises at which the electronic lock is located; wherein the electrical component is a network interface for remotely communicating with a mobile device of the user; and wherein detecting the second input comprises detecting that the user entered the premises.
In the same field of endeavor of an electronic security device, Turon teaches that wherein detecting the first input comprises detecting that a user left a location premises at which the electronic lock is located; wherein the electrical component is a network interface for remotely communicating with a mobile device of the user; and wherein detecting the second input comprises detecting that the user entered the premises (i.e. The smart doorbell 52 may detect a person's approach to or departure from a location (e.g., an outer door), control doorbell functionality, announce a person's approach or departure via audio or visual means, or control settings on a security system (e.g., to activate or deactivate the security system when occupants go and come). The smart doorbell 52 may interact with other devices 10 based on whether someone has approached or entered the smart-home environment 30) (column 8 lines 13 to 21) in order to provide power efficient in the smart home device.
At the time of the effective filing date of the current application, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to recognize the need for having the electronic device to activate and/or deactivating certain power-consuming components when the device detect a person’s approach to or departure from the location taught by Turon in the lock unit includes plurality of mode operations to save battery consumption of Bryla in view of Zabala Zabaleta et al. because having the electronic device to activate and/or deactivating certain power-consuming components when the device detect a person’s approach to or departure from the location would provide the electronic lock operate more power efficient to extend the life of the batteries of the electronic lock.
Referring to Claim 19, Bryla in view of Zabala Zabaleta et al. disclose the power-saving electronic lock of claim 11, however, Bryla in view of Zabala Zabaleta et al. did not explicitly disclose wherein detecting the first input comprises detecting, based on an activation schedule, that the electrical component is scheduled to be active; and wherein detecting the second input comprises detecting, based on the activation schedule, that the electrical component is schedule to be deactivated.
In the same field of endeavor of an electronic security device, Turon teaches that detecting the first input (i.e. a communication schedule signal) comprises detecting, based on an activation schedule, that the electrical component is scheduled to be active; and wherein detecting the second input comprises detecting, based on the activation schedule, that the electrical component is schedule to be deactivated (i.e. to use battery power efficiently, devices capable of communicating with each other in the smart home environment 30 may operate in some kind of low-power mode. Operating in the low-power mode may involve deactivating or placing certain power-consuming components (e.g., processor, radios, sensors, bus peripherals, power domains, clock domains) within the device in a sleep state for a certain period of time and periodically awaking certain components to detect whether the device should perform certain operations. With this in mind, in certain embodiments, to achieve additional power efficiencies while operating in a low-power mode, each device in the smart home environment 30 may communicate with each according to a communication schedule that works according to a common time source across the smart home environment 30) (column 27 lines 53 to 67) in order to provide power efficient in the smart home device.
At the time of the effective filing date of the current application, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to recognize the need for having the electronic device to activate and/or deactivating certain power-consuming components in the sleep state for a certain period of time using the communication schedule signal from the transmitting device taught by Turon in the lock unit includes plurality of mode operations to save battery consumption of Bryla in view of Zabala Zabaleta et al. because having the electronic device to activate and/or deactivating certain power-consuming components for a certain period of time would provide the electronic lock operate more power efficient to extend the life of the batteries of the electronic lock.
Claim 17 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bryla (Pub. No. 2019/0228604) in view of Zabala Zabaleta et al. (US# 10,515,496) as applied to claim 11, and further in view of Gorkovenko et al. (US# 12,567,295).
Referring to Claim 17, Bryla in view of Zabala Zabaleta et al. disclose the power-saving electronic lock of claim 11, however, Bryla in view of Zabala Zabaleta et al. did not explicitly disclose wherein the second input is an indication that a battery life has fallen below a threshold value; and wherein deactivating the electrical component of the electronic lock comprises putting the electronic component into a low-power mode.
In the same field of endeavor of an electronic lock, Gorkovenko et al. teach that the second input is an indication that a battery life has fallen below a threshold value; and wherein deactivating the electrical component of the electronic lock comprises putting the electronic component into a low-power mode (i.e. when the electronic lock 100 battery power is below a threshold, the electronic lock 100 may turn off or otherwise deactivate the facial authentication hardware on the electronic lock.) (column 21 line 59 to column 22 line 8) in order to operate the electronic lock in the secondary authentication mechanism.
At the time of the effective filing date of the current application, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to recognize the need for having the electronic lock turn off or deactivate the primary authentication mechanism if the battery power is below the threshold taught by Gorkovenko et al. in the lock unit includes plurality of mode operations to save battery consumption of Bryla in view of Zabala Zabaleta et al. because having the electronic lock turn off or deactivate the primary authentication mechanism if the battery power is below the threshold would provide the electronic lock to extend the life of the batteries to last longer and conserve the battery in case the lock unit needs power to operate.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 16 is objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Referring to claim 16, the following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter: the prior art fail to suggest limitations wherein detecting that the user left the location or premises at which the electronic lock is located is performed by one or more of determining a location of the mobile device, determining a connection status of the mobile device with the electronic lock, using a geofence to determine that the user left the premises, using a sensor to determine that the user left the premises, or using a video camera.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Refer to the enclosed PTO-892 for details.
/NAM V NGUYEN/
Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2685