DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 2, 15, 16, 30, 31, 38, 39, and 44 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US Pub. 20210236944 to Summa et al (Summa) in view of US Pub. 20190143218 to Sulakhe.
Claims 1, 15, and 44. Summa discloses a system for providing application assistance,
running a game with the processor on a computer system (¶137 “gaming session”);
(as required by claim 44) non-transitory computer-readable medium storing instructions, that when executed by one or more processors of a computing system, cause the one or more processors to perform operations (¶¶38, 42, 177), comprising
(as required by claim 15) a processor;
(as required by claim 15) a memory coupled to the processor;
a mobile device (¶3 “mobile device”, ¶¶38-39 “smart phone”) coupled to the processor;
(as required by claims 15) non-transitory instructions stored in the memory that when executed by the processor cause the processor to carry out a method (¶¶38, 42, 177) for providing application assistance (¶¶9, 135-136 “assistance”) comprising;
detecting a game state of the application (Fig. 24, ¶¶7 “in-game events”, ¶¶137 “game state”);
generating one or more assistance frames for execution based on the game state (¶¶9, 135-136 “game play assistance”, “in-game events”, “video”; ¶¶147-150 “walk-through; ¶¶50, 69, 137 “capture one or more clips (e.g., highlights)”, “recent highlights (e.g., the clip 154)”, “in-game highlights”; also see ¶84); and
transmitting the one or more assistance frames (¶¶147-150 “walk-through”).
Summa fails to explicitly disclose:
identifying a mobile device paired with the computing system;
an assistance application;
transmitting the one or more assistance frames to the assistance application executing on the mobile device.
Sulakhe teaches identifying a mobile device paired with the computing system (¶71); an assistance application (¶¶71, 73 “companion app”); and transmitting the one or more assistance frames to the assistance application executing on the mobile device (¶¶72-73). The gaming system of Summa would have motivation to use the teachings of Sulakhe in order to provide game play assistance separately from video game play to players which would enhance the players’ gameplay experiences because of the continuous gameplay on a first display device while receiving hints or help on a second display device.
It would have been further obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the gaming system of Summa with the teachings of Sulakhe in order to provide game play assistance separately from video game play to players which would enhance the players’ gameplay experiences.
Claims 2 and 16. Summa in view of Sulakhe teaches wherein detecting the game state includes detecting that the game reached an end state and determining one or more states of the game prior to the end state to be one or more challenging states (see Summa ¶53 “level”; ¶¶127, 147 “fails to result in a cleared level”; ¶¶149-150 “in response to failing at a certain game level”, “assist a user in a particularly challenging game, level, or sequence”, “challeng…”; see Sulakhe ¶182 “pre-emptive monitor” “…continuously analyze the state of the game and the state of the player so that it can pre-emptively provide assistance…”).
Claims 30 and 38. Summa in view of Sulakhe teaches wherein identifying the mobile device paired with the computer system/processor comprises detecting a connection between the computer system and the mobile device via a wireless connection or a wired connection (see Summa ¶¶39-41).
Claims 31 and 39. Summa in view of Sulakhe teaches wherein the assistance application executes on the mobile device concurrently with, and independently of, running the game on the computer system (see Sulakhe ¶73).
Claims 5 and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US Pub. 20210236944 to Summa et al (Summa) in view of US Pub. 20190143218 to Sulakhe as applied to claims 1 and 15 above, and further in view of US Pat. 6699127 to Lobb et al (Lobb).
Claims 5 and 19. Summa in view of Sulakhe fails to explicitly disclose displaying a slowed down replay of image frames from the game (emphasis added).
Lobb teaches displaying a slowed down replay of image frames (col. 11, 18-63, “replay feature”, and “slow motion”). The gaming system of Summa in view of Sulakhe would have motivation to use the teachings of Lobb in order to provide help images at varying speeds according to players’ particular likings which would enhance the players’ viewing experiences.
It would have been further obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the gaming system of Summa in view of Sulakhe with the teachings of Lobb in order to help images at varying speeds according to players’ particular likings which would enhance the players’ viewing experiences.
Claims 6, 7, 20, and 21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US Pub. 20210236944 to Summa et al (Summa) in view of US Pub. 20190143218 to Sulakhe as applied to claims 1 and 15 above, and further in view of US Pub. 20120276992 to Moinuddin et al (Moinuddin).
Claims 6 and 20. Summa in view of Sulakhe fails to explicitly disclose having user key or button presses shown.
Moinuddin teaches having user key or button presses shown (¶¶49-51 “tutorials”, “button presses”). The gaming system of Summa in view of Sulakhe would have motivation to use the teachings of Moinuddin in order to provide additional information to a player that would make it easier to follow and understand a walk-through in doing so would provide a better gaming experience.
It would have been further obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the gaming system of Summa in view of Sulakhe with the teachings of Moinuddin in order to provide additional information to a player that would make it easier to follow and understand a walk-through in doing so would provide a better gaming experience.
Claims 7 and 21. Summa in view of in view of Sulakhe Moinuddin teaches wherein transmitting one or more assistance frames to the assistance application includes displaying one or more image frame on the mobile device having secret or lesser used key presses or key press combinations or button presses or button press combinations on the mobile device (see Sulakhe ¶¶71-73; see Moinuddin ¶¶49-51 “tutorials”, “button presses”).
Claims 8 and 22 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US Pub. 20210236944 to Summa et al (Summa) in view of US Pub. 20190143218 to Sulakhe as applied to claims 1 and 15 above, and further in view of YouTube video, The 12 most obvious enemy weak points in gaming history - https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=IeFmVvlvV9Y to GamesRadar.
Claims 8 and 22. Summa in view of Sulakhe fails to explicitly disclose an area of the frame highlighted or outlined.
GamesRadar teaches an area of the frame highlighted or outlined (at 0:47, 1:15-1:19, 2:47). The gaming system of Summa in view of Sulakhe would have motivation to use the teachings of GamesRadar in order to additionally help to make it easier for game players to beat monsters and complete different game stages.
It would have been further obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the gaming system of Summa in view of Sulakhe with the teachings of GamesRadar in order to additionally help to make it easier for game players to beat monsters and complete different game stages.
Double Patenting
Claims 1, 2, 5-8, 15, 19-22, 30, 31, 38, 39, and 44 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-26 of U.S. Patent No. 12070687. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because both cases recite the same and/or similar key limitations related to application assistance, detecting states of the application, and displaying assistance frames on the mobile device.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claims 1, 2, 5-8, 15, 16, 19-22, 30, 31, 38, 39, and 44 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 29, 32-37, and 40-43 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/DAMON J PIERCE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3715