DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
Applicant should note that the large number of references in the attached IDS have been considered by the examiner in the same manner as other documents in Office search files are considered by the examiner while conducting a search of the prior art in a proper field of search. See MPEP 609.05(b). Applicant is requested to point out any specific references in the IDS which they believe may be of particular relevance to the instant claimed invention in response to this office action.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 73, 83-87 and 89 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Regarding claim 73, which sets forth the parameter of “a chamber internal to the anterior membrane and the perimeter membrane” (emphasis added); however, this parameter is found to be confusing since it is not clear what exactly, structurally, is meant by the chamber being internal to the anterior membrane and the perimeter membrane. Does this mean the chamber is inside of/encapsulated by the anterior membrane, or is it inside of/encapsulated by the perimeter membrane, or is it between the anterior and perimeter membranes, or does it mean something else/located somewhere else completely different. Thus, one having ordinary skill in the art would not be reasonably be apprised of the scope of the invention, thereby rendering the claim indefinite.
Regarding claims 83-87, all the claims recite the limitation “the fluid”, on line 1 of each claim 83-87; there is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claims. Additionally, it is unclear what exactly “the fluid” is and/or how exactly it relates the final structure of the claimed invention. Therefore, one having ordinary skill in the art would not be reasonably be apprised of the scope of the invention, thereby rendering the claim indefinite.
Regarding claim 89, it is not clear what, if any, additional structural limitation(s) this claim imparts on the structure of the final device. Specifically, the parameter set forth in the claim merely seems to recite intended use/functional language, however, it does not include any additional structure needed to meet the function/intended use. Thus, one having ordinary skill in the art would not be reasonably be apprised of the scope of the invention, thereby rendering the claim indefinite.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
Section 33(a) of the America Invents Act reads as follows:
Notwithstanding any other provision of law, no patent may issue on a claim directed to or encompassing a human organism.
Claim 92 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 and section 33(a) of the America Invents Act as being directed to or encompassing a human organism. See also Animals - Patentability, 1077 Off. Gaz. Pat. Office 24 (April 21, 1987) (indicating that human organisms are excluded from the scope of patentable subject matter under 35 U.S.C. 101). Claim 92 sets forth, in part, that the second lens device is “a natural lens of the eye”; however, this portion of the claim is directed toward a human organism; thus, the claim is rejected.
Examiner’s Notes
It is to be noted that in device/apparatus claims only the claimed structure of the final device bears patentable weight, and intended use/functional language is considered to the extent that it further defines the claimed structure of the final device (see MPEP 2114).
Examiner cites particular columns and line numbers in the references as applied to the claims below for the convenience of the applicant(s). Although the specified citations are representative of the teachings in the art and are applied to the specific limitations within the individual claim, other passages and figures may apply as well. It is respectfully requested that, in preparing responses, the applicant(s) fully consider the references in entirety as potentially teaching all or part of the claimed invention, as well as the context of the passage as taught by the prior art or disclosed by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 71, 72, 74-77, 80-82, 88, 89, 91 and 92 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Reich et al. (US PG Pub. 2012/0253459), as disclosed in the IDS dated 10/30/2024, hereinafter Reich.
Regarding claims 71, 72 and 88, Reich discloses an intraocular lens device (100) for treatment of an eye, illustrated in Figures 1, 2 and 4, comprising an anterior membrane (105) configured to bow outward in a central region (320), the anterior membrane comprising a first thickness near a perimeter region (325/330) of the lens device and a second thickness near the central region (320) of the lens device; a perimeter membrane (305) configured to undergo inward displacement relative to the anterior membrane upon application of a compressive force; a stabilization haptic (115) configured to be positioned within a capsular bag of the eye; and a force translation arm (110) projecting outward from, and having a length configured to extend between the perimeter membrane (305) of the lens device and configured to extend outside the capsular bag to engage a ciliary structure (25) of the eye, wherein, upon movement of the ciliary structure, the force translation arm (110) is configured to move inward towards an optical axis of the eye and to apply the compressive force on the perimeter membrane causing deformation of the perimeter membrane, illustrated in Figures 1, 2, 3C and 4 ([0035]; [0037]; [0041] & [0043] – [0045]).
Regarding claim 74, Reich discloses the device of claim 71, wherein the stabilization haptic (115) is selected from the group consisting of open-loop, j- loop, c-loop, modified J-loop, multi-piece, single-piece, and/or angulated, illustrated in Figures 4-5B.
Regarding claim 75, Reich discloses the device of claim 71, wherein the stabilization haptic (115) is positioned on a different plane than the force translation arm (110), illustrated in Figures 4-5B.
Regarding claims 76 and 77, Reich discloses the device of claim 71, further comprising a static element/lens (40) that does not undergo a shape change and has an optical power, wherein the static element/lens (40) is on a posterior side of the lens device (100), illustrated in Figures 1 and 2 ([0031] & [0034]).
Regarding claims 80-82, Reich discloses the device of claim 71, wherein the anterior membrane (105) comprises a variable/linear gradient thickness between the perimeter region (325/330) and the central region (320), such that the first thickness near the perimeter region (325/330) is greater than the second thickness near the central region (320), illustrated in Figure 3C ([0043] – [0045]).
Regarding claim 89, Reich discloses the device of claim 71, and inasmuch as only the final structure of the device/apparatus bears patentable weight, Reich discloses all the structural limitations set forth in the claims, and would be capable of having at least a portion of the lens device (100) positioned inside the eye and external to a capsulorhexis of an anterior portion of the capsular bag of the eye, illustrated in Figures 1 and 2, thereby reading on this claim.
Regarding claims 91 and 92, Reich discloses a system comprising the intraocular lens device of claim 71, wherein the intraocular lens device (100) is positioned anterior to a second lens device/artificial intraocular lens/natural lens of the eye (40) located within the capsular bag, illustrated in Figures 1 and 2 ([0034]).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 78 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Reich.
Regarding claim 78, Reich discloses the device of claim 77, and though it is not specifically disclosed the optical power of the static lens/IOL is up to ± 30D, this parameter is deemed to be a mere matter of normal design choice, not involving a novel, inventive step. Furthermore, Reich discloses that surgeons calculate a desired optical power/diopter specifically needed based on an individual patient’s need ([0031]). Therefore, it would have been obvious, and well within the capability of one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to determine an appropriate optical power for the static lens/IOL, including up to ± 30D, based on patient specific need, as taught by Reich.
Double Patenting
Claims 71-89 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-19 of U.S. Patent No. 12,090,044, and claims 71, 73, 76 and 90-92 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1, 4 and 14 of U.S. Patent No. 10,285,805. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because all sets of claims disclose an intraocular lens device comprising either: an anterior membrane/element configured to bow outward in a central region and comprising first and second thicknesses near a perimeter region and the central region, respectively, of the lens device, a perimeter/shape-deformation membrane configured to undergo inward displacement/deform relative to the anterior membrane upon application of a compressive force, a stabilization haptic, and a force translation arm projecting outward from the perimeter/shape-deformation membrane of the lens device and configured to extend outside the capsular bag to engage a ciliary structure of the eye, wherein, upon movement of the ciliary structure, the force translation arm is configured to move and to apply the compressive force on the perimeter membrane; and/or an elastic anterior membrane, a posterior element, an elastic side membrane/annular support extending between the anterior membrane and the posterior element, a chamber located between the anterior membrane and the posterior element containing a fluid material/silicone oil, wherein the anterior membrane is configured to be deformed by the fluid material within the chamber, a plurality of force translation arms, each force translation arm extending radially outward such that the plurality of force translation arms changes the shape of the anterior membrane via application of radial force relative to the periphery of the anterior membrane in a direction perpendicular to the optical axis, and a stabilization haptic.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 90 would be allowable if the Double Patenting Rejection, set forth in this Office Action, is overcome by filing an e-Terminal Disclaimer.
Conclusion
/DINAH BARIA/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3774 09/24/2026