DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 2, and 8 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tetsuhiro et la. (JP2019117901A) in view of Kaneda et al. (US Publication 2018/0162780).
In re claim 1, Tetsuhiro discloses a multilayer electronic component comprising:
a body (10 – Figure 1, ¶19) including a dielectric layer (2 – Figure 1, ¶19) and internal electrodes (3 – Figure 1, ¶19) alternately disposed with the dielectric layer (Figure 1); and
an external electrode (4 – Figure 1, ¶22) disposed on the body (10 – Figure 1, ),
wherein the external electrode includes a first electrode layer (401 – Figure 2, ¶30) in contact with the internal electrodes (3 – Figure 2) and a second electrode layer (402 – Figure 2, ¶30) disposed on the first electrode layer (Figure 2),
the first electrode layer includes Cu (¶34), the second electrode layer includes Cu and SiC (¶36). Tetsuhiro further discloses adjusting the amount of SiC in the second external electrode layer to reduce the defects from thermal shock (¶36). Tetsuhiro further discloses forming a plating layer (403 – Figure 2, ¶32) on the second external electrode layer (402 – Figure 2).
Tetsuhiro does not disclose an area fraction of SiC in the second electrode layer is 5% or more and 20% or less.
Kaneda discloses adjusting the volume fraction of an additive such as SiC in the external electrode layer is correlated to the formation of defects formed during process on the external electrode layer (¶19-20, ¶28).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to adjust the amount of SiC, and thus area fraction, in the second external electrode layer to achieve a desired balance between defects caused by thermal shocks and defects formed during the plating process on the second external electrode layer, since it has been held that discovering an optimum value of a result effective variable involves only routine skill in the art. In re Boesch, 617 F.2d 272, 205 USPQ 215 (CCPA 1980).
In re claim 2, Tetsuhiro in view of Kaneda discloses the multilayer electronic component of claim 1, as explained above. Tetsuhiro further discloses wherein the first electrode layer (401 – Figure 1) includes SiC in an area fraction less than 1% (¶33; Note that no SiC is included in the first external electrode layer.).
In re claim 8, Tetsuhiro in view of Kaneda discloses the multilayer electronic component of claim 1, as explained above. Tetsuhiro further discloses the external electrode (4 – Figure 2) further includes a plating layer (403 – Figure 2) disposed on the second electrode layer (Figure 1, Figure 2).
Claim(s) 3 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tetsuhiro et la. (JP2019117901A) in view of Kaneda et al. (US Publication 2018/0162780) and in further view of Bang et al. (US Publication 2021/0335546).
In re claim 3, Tetsuhiro in view of Kaneda discloses the multilayer electronic component of claim 1, as explained above. Tetsuhiro does not disclose wherein the first electrode layer further includes a first glass, the second electrode layer further includes a second glass, and the first glass has a composition different from a composition of the second glass.
Bang discloses wherein the first electrode layer (131a – Figure 2, ¶28) further includes a first glass (¶28), the second electrode layer (131b – Figure 2, ¶28) further includes a second glass (¶28), and the first glass has a composition different from a composition of the second glass (¶28, ¶36).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art to incorporate the glass composition as described by Bang into the external electrodes to achieve a device having improved reliability and reduction in plating solution permeability (¶97: Bang).
Claim(s) 4-5 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tetsuhiro et la. (JP2019117901A) in view of Kaneda et al. (US Publication 2018/0162780) and in further view of Bang et al. (US Publication 2021/0335546) and in further view of Oh et al. (US Publication 2022/0406524).
In re claim 4, Tetsuhiro in view of Kaneda and in further view of Bang discloses the multilayer electronic component of claim 1, as explained above. Tetsuhiro does not disclose wherein the first electrode layer further includes a first glass including Ba and Zn, and the second electrode layer further includes a second glass including Si and Al.
Bang discloses wherein the first electrode layer further includes a first glass including Ba and Zn, and the second electrode layer further includes a second glass including Si (¶28, ¶36).
Tetsuhiro does not disclose the second electrode layer further includes a second glass including Al.
Oh discloses incorporating an anti-oxidating agent including Al into the glass composition in an external electrode layer (¶68).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to incorporate the anti-oxidating agent as described by Oh to improve the density of the external electrode layers, improve shrinkage and contact properties, and adhesion properties (¶68: Oh).
In re claim 5, Tetsuhiro in view of Kaneda and in further view of Bang and in further view of Oh discloses the multilayer electronic component of claim 4, as explained above. Tetsuhiro does not disclose wherein at least a portion of an end of the dielectric layer in contact with the first electrode layer includes the first glass.
Bang discloses the first electrode layer (131a – Figure 2) includes a greater amount of Ba and Zn than the second electrode layer (131b – Figure 2), and therefore the glass transition temperature of the first glass is lower than that of the second glass. Therefore, Bang discloses wherein at least a portion of an end of the dielectric layer in contact with the first electrode layer includes the first glass ([¶66] of the Specification of the Instant Application describes if the glass transition temperature meets these properties, the first glass will diffuse into the dielectric layer.)
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art to incorporate the glass composition as described by Bang into the external electrodes to achieve a device having improved reliability and reduction in plating solution permeability (¶97: Bang).
Claim(s) 4 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tetsuhiro et la. (JP2019117901A) in view of Kaneda et al. (US Publication 2018/0162780) and in further view of Itamura et al. (US Publication 2009/0002920).
In re claim 4, Tetsuhiro in view of Kaneda and in further view of Bang discloses the multilayer electronic component of claim 1, as explained above. Tetsuhiro does not disclose wherein the first electrode layer further includes a first glass including Ba and Zn, and the second electrode layer further includes a second glass including Si and Al.
Itamura discloses wherein the first electrode layer (14 – Figure 2, ¶47) further includes a first glass including Ba and Zn (¶47), and the second electrode layer 15 – Figure 2, ¶51) further includes a second glass including Si and Al (¶52, ¶47).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to incorporate the external electrode composition as described by Itamura to provide for improved moisture and plating solution permeability characteristics.
Claim(s) 10, 11, and 16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tetsuhiro et la. (JP2019117901A) in view of Bang et al. (US Publication 2021/0335546).
In re claim 10, Tetsuhiro discloses a multilayer electronic component comprising:
a body (10 – Figure 1, ¶19) including a dielectric layer (2 – Figure 1, ¶19) and internal electrodes (3 – Figure 1, ¶19) alternately disposed with the dielectric layer (Figure 1); and
an external electrode (4 – Figure 1, ¶22) disposed on the body (10 – Figure 1, ),
wherein the external electrode includes a first electrode layer (401 – Figure 2, ¶30) in contact with the internal electrodes (3 – Figure 2) and a second electrode layer (402 – Figure 2, ¶30) disposed on the first electrode layer (Figure 2),
the first electrode layer includes Cu (¶34), the second electrode layer includes Cu, SiC (¶36), and a glass (¶33).
Tetsuhiro does not disclose wherein the first electrode layer further includes a first glass, the second electrode layer further includes a second glass, and the first glass has a composition different from a composition of the second glass.
Bang discloses wherein the first electrode layer (131a – Figure 2, ¶28) further includes a first glass (¶28), the second electrode layer (131b – Figure 2, ¶28)further includes a second glass (¶28), and the first glass has a composition different from a composition of the second glass (¶28, ¶36).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art to incorporate the glass composition as described by Bang into the external electrodes to achieve a device having improved reliability and reduction in plating solution permeability (¶97: Bang).
In re claim 11, Tetsuhiro in view of Bang discloses the multilayer electronic component of claim 10, as explained above. Tetsuhiro further discloses wherein the first electrode layer (401 – Figure 1) includes SiC in an area fraction less than 1% (¶33; Note that no SiC is included in the first external electrode layer.).
In re claim 16, Tetsuhiro in view of Bang discloses the multilayer electronic component of claim 1, as explained above. Tetsuhiro further discloses the external electrode (4 – Figure 2) further includes a plating layer (403 – Figure 2) disposed on the second electrode layer (Figure 1, Figure 2).
Claim(s) 12-13 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tetsuhiro et la. (JP2019117901A) in view of Bang et al. (US Publication 2021/0335546) and in further view of Oh et al. (US Publication 2022/0406524).
In re claim 12, Tetsuhiro in view of Bang discloses the multilayer electronic component of claim 10, as explained above. Tetsuhiro does not disclose wherein the first electrode layer further includes a first glass including Ba and Zn, and the second electrode layer further includes a second glass including Si and Al.
Bang discloses wherein the first electrode layer further includes a first glass including Ba and Zn, and the second electrode layer further includes a second glass including Si (¶28, ¶36).
Tetsuhiro in view of Bang does not disclose the second electrode layer further includes a second glass including Al.
Oh discloses incorporating an anti-oxidating agent including Al into the glass composition in an external electrode layer (¶68).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to incorporate the anti-oxidating agent as described by Oh to improve the density of the external electrode layers, improve shrinkage and contact properties, and adhesion properties (¶68: Oh).
In re claim 13, Tetsuhiro in view of Bang and in further view of Oh discloses the multilayer electronic component of claim 12, as explained above. Tetsuhiro does not disclose wherein at least a portion of an end of the dielectric layer in contact with the first electrode layer includes the first glass.
Bang discloses the first electrode layer (131a – Figure 2) includes a greater amount of Ba and Zn than the second electrode layer (131b – Figure 2), and therefore the glass transition temperature of the first glass is lower than that of the second glass. Therefore, Bang discloses wherein at least a portion of an end of the dielectric layer in contact with the first electrode layer includes the first glass ([¶66] of the Specification of the Instant Application describes if the glass transition temperature meets these properties, the first glass will diffuse into the dielectric layer.)
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art to incorporate the glass composition as described by Bang into the external electrodes to achieve a device having improved reliability and reduction in plating solution permeability (¶97: Bang).
Claim(s) 18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tetsuhiro et la. (JP2019117901A) in view of Bang et al. (US Publication 2021/0335546) and in further view of Kaneda et al. (US Publication 2018/0162780).
In re claim 18, Tetsuhiro in view of Bang discloses the multilayer electronic component of claim 10, as explained above. wherein an area fraction of SiC in the second electrode layer is 5% or more and 20% or less, and the first glass includes Ba and Zn. Tetsuhiro further discloses adjusting the amount of SiC in the second external electrode layer to reduce the defects from thermal shock (¶36). Tetsuhiro further discloses forming a plating layer (403 – Figure 2, ¶32) on the second external electrode layer (402 – Figure 2).
Tetsuhiro does not disclose an area fraction of SiC in the second electrode layer is 5% or more and 20% or less.
Kaneda discloses adjusting the volume fraction of an additive such as SiC in the external electrode layer is correlated to the formation of defects formed during process on the external electrode layer (¶19-20, ¶28).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to adjust the amount of SiC, and thus area fraction, in the second external electrode layer to achieve a desired balance between defects caused by thermal shocks and defects formed during the plating process on the second external electrode layer, since it has been held that discovering an optimum value of a result effective variable
Claim(s) 19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tetsuhiro et la. (JP2019117901A) in view of Bang et al. (US Publication 2021/0335546) and in further view of Kaneda et al. (US Publication 2018/0162780) and in further view of Oh et al. (US Publication 2022/0406524).
In re claim 19, Tetsuhiro in view of Bang and in further view of Kaneda discloses the multilayer electronic component of claim 18, as explained above. Tetsuhiro does not disclose the second electrode layer further includes a second glass including Si.
Bang discloses wherein the second electrode layer further includes a second glass including Si (¶28, ¶36).
Tetsuhiro does not disclose the second electrode layer further includes a second glass including Al.
Oh discloses incorporating an anti-oxidating agent including Al into the glass composition in an external electrode layer (¶68).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to incorporate the anti-oxidating agent as described by Oh to improve the density of the external electrode layers, improve shrinkage and contact properties, and adhesion properties (¶68: Oh).
Claim(s) 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tetsuhiro et la. (JP2019117901A) in view of Bang et al. (US Publication 2021/0335546) and in further view of Kaneda et al. (US Publication 2018/0162780) and in further view of Oh et al. (US Publication 2022/0406524) and in further view of Hur et al. (US Publication 2012/0154977).
In re claim 20, Tetsuhiro in view of Bang and in further view of Kaneda and in further view of Oh discloses the multilayer electronic component of claim 19, as explained above. Tetsuhiro does not disclose wherein the second electrode layer further includes an alkali metal or an alkaline earth metal.
Hur discloses the glass composition of an external electrode comprises an alkali metal or an alkaline earth metal (¶17-20).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to incorporate the alkali metal or alkaline earth metal as described by Hur to improve corrosion resistance to the plating solution (¶38, ¶131-132: Hur).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 6 is objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims. The prior art does not teach nor suggest (in combination with other claim limitations) wherein at least some of the SiC is spherical.
Claim 7 is objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims. The prior art does not teach nor suggest (in combination with other claim limitations) an average thickness of the second electrode layer is greater than an average thickness of the first electrode layer.
Claim 9 is objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims. The prior art does not teach nor suggest (in combination with other claim limitations) the external electrode further includes a conductive resin layer that is disposed on the second electrode layer.
Claim 14 is objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims. The prior art does not teach nor suggest (in combination with other claim limitations) wherein at least some of the SiC is spherical.
Claim 15 is objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims. The prior art does not teach nor suggest (in combination with other claim limitations) an average thickness of the second electrode layer is greater than an average thickness of the first electrode layer.
Claim 17 is objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims. The prior art does not teach nor suggest (in combination with other claim limitations) the external electrode further includes a conductive resin layer that is disposed on the second electrode layer.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Park et al. (US Publication 2013/0120898) Figure 3
/ARUN RAMASWAMY/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2848