DETAILED ACTION
Priority
The instant application was filed 08/15/2024 and is a continuation of 16549387, filed 08/23/2019 which is a continuation of 13819398 filed 05/09/2013 which is a national stage entry of PCT/JP2011/069734 with and international filing date: 08/31/2011and claims foreign priority to JP2010-193213, filed 08/31/2010. There is no English translation of the priority document in the instant file wrapper.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 8/15/2024 is being considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-4 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 1 recites, “wherein the sample comprises FGF-23 in a concentration ranging from 1,000 pg/mL to 10,000 pg/mL.” However, the preamble recites, “A method for measuring fibroblast growth factor-23 (hereinafter indicated as FGF-23) in a sample.” Thus the metes and bounds are confusing and unclear as the wherein clause appears to require a specific range of FGF-23 concentration, however the preamble is to just measuring or detecting FGF-23. Thus it is unclear if the wherein clause limits the sample, the antibodies, assay conditions, etc to provide for the required range.
Claim 2 recites, “The method for separating a bonded wafer according to claim 1, wherein the epitaxial functional layer has a light emitting device structure.” This limitation is confusing and unclear as claim 1 does not provide a step for separating a bonded wafer or antecedent basis for “the epitaxial functional layer has a light emitting device structure.” Thus the claim is confusing and unclear how it relates to claim 1.
Claim 3 recites, “wherein the sample comprises FGF-23 in a concentration ranging from 5 pg/mL to 10,000 pg/mL when subjected to the reaction, and/or (b) the sample comprising FGF-23 in a concentration ranging from 5 pg/mL to 10,000 pg/mL is directly subjected to the reaction.” However, the preamble recites, “A method for measuring fibroblast growth factor-23 (hereinafter indicated as FGF-23) in a sample.” Thus the metes and bounds are confusing and unclear as the wherein clause appears to require a specific range of FGF-23 concentration, however the preamble is to just measuring or detecting FGF-23. Thus it is unclear if the wherein clause limits the sample, the antibodies, assay conditions, etc to provide for the required range.
Claim 4 recites, “wherein the sample comprises FGF-23 in a concentration ranging from 5 pg/mL to 10,000 pg/mL.” However, the preamble recites, “A method for measuring fibroblast growth factor-23 (hereinafter indicated as FGF-23) in a sample.” Thus the metes and bounds are confusing and unclear as the wherein clause appears to require a specific range of FGF-23 concentration, however the preamble is to just measuring or detecting FGF-23. Thus it is unclear if the wherein clause limits the sample, the antibodies, assay conditions, etc to provide for the required range. Further claim 4 recites, “determining a concentration of FGF-23 in the sample by comparing a measured value obtained in (c) with a calibration curve prepared using known concentrations of FGF-23 ranging from 5 pg/mL to 10,000 pg/mL.” The metes and bounds are unclear as there is no step ©. Thus the metes and bounds are unclear.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
(a) A patent may not be obtained though the invention is not identically disclosed or described as set forth in section 102, if the differences between the subject matter sought to be patented and the prior art are such that the subject matter as a whole would have been obvious at the time the invention was made to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which said subject matter pertains. Patentability shall not be negated by the manner in which the invention was made.
Claim 1-4 is/are rejected under pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 103(a) as being unpatentable over Luethy (2006/0160181), Ibrahim (Int Urol Nephrol (2009) 41:163–169), Kazama et al (Kidney International Vol. 67, pp 1120-1125, 2005), Pandian (US Patent Number 7,439,026).
Leuthy teaches, “[0211]The anti-FGF-23 antibodies of the invention may be employed in any known assay method, such as competitive binding assays, direct and indirect sandwich assays, and immunoprecipitation assays (Sola, Monoclonal Antibodies: A Manual of Techniques 147-158 (CRC Press, Inc., 1987)) for the detection and quantitation of FGF-23 polypeptides.”
Leuthy does not specifically teach the use of two antibodies, use of magnetic particles or concentration ranges.
However, Ibrahim teaches detection of FGF-23 in serum in subjects in chronic hemodialysis,(title). Ibrahim teaches, “Serum FGF23 level was markedly elevated in the study patients compared with healthy controls (1525 ± 373 pg/ml vs. 37 ± 9 pg/ml, P\0.0001). Serum FGF23 was markedly elevated in all haemodialysis patients irrespective of serum calcium and phosphate levels” (165, bottom 1st column-2nd column). Ibrahim teaches, “FGF23 (pg/ml) 1525 ± 373 (845–2196)) table 1, bottom)
Kazama teach serum FGF-23 levels can be used to predict the efficacy of calcitrol therapy in dialysis patients. (See abstract). Kazama et al measured FGF-23 levels in serum samples taken from patients who were undergoing hemodialysis, and further indicate that such patients were also treated with anticoagulants. Kazama et al further teach that antibodies to FGF-23 were known in the art. (See page 1121).
As is made clear in the discussion by Pandian et al of other sandwich immunoassay formats, reacting the sample with the two antibodies results in formation of an immunocomplex involving the two antibodies, the magnetic particle, and the antigen. (See column 13, lines 36-56; Example 1). Furthermore, Pandian et al make clear that their sandwich assay formats that use magnetic particles involve washing by exposure to a magnetic field to immobilize the magnetic particles, allowing solution to be removed from the well while antigen remains bound to the magnetic particles that are immobilized by the magnetic field.
Pandian teach of sandwich immunoassay methods using streptavidin-coated magnetic particles and biotinylated antibodies. The methods may be conducted in one of three formats, the first being a simultaneous assay format in which two antibodies (capture and labeled antibody) and the solid phase (magnetic particles) are incubated with the sample at the same time. The antibodies should recognize different epitopes of the antigen being assayed. (See column 13, lines 4-35; column 10, lines 4-54, column 12 line 11 to column 13, line 3; and column 14, line 58 to column 15, line 3). Pandian et al teach measuring antigen (ITA in this case) in biological samples including blood, and further teach providing the immunoassay reagents in liquid solutions such as those containing PBS buffer. (See column 5, line 66 to column 6, line 39; column 9, lines 49-51; column 13, lines 36-38; column 14, lines 61-66; and Example 1). Pandian et al further teach antibodies labeled with alkaline phosphatase. (See column 8, lines 5-18). Pandian teaches the use of a standard curve to determine concentrations (example 1).
Accordingly, it would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to adapt the sandwich immunoassay format of Pandian et al in order to measure serum FGF-23 and a standard curve in the ranges of the claims in hemodialysis patients undergoing anticoagulant treatment in order to predict whether patients are likely to benefit from treatment with calcitriol therapy. More particularly, it would have been obvious to adapt sandwich immunoassay format of Pandian et al to the detection of FGF-23 as the antigen by providing antibodies specific to FGF-23, which were known in the art as indicated by Kazama, Ibrahim, and Luethy. One of ordinary skill in the art would have had a reasonable expectation of success in measuring serum FGF-23 in such patients using known sandwich immunoassay format of Pandian et al because Kazama, Ibrahim, and Luethy taught that serum FGF-23 can indeed be successfully measured by sandwich immunoassay.
Claim 2 is rejected over the prior art as it is indefinite and thus appears to be within the teachings of the cited prior art.
Double Patenting
Claims 1-4 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-10 of U.S. Patent No12,498,366. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because they are coextensive in scope.
Instant claims are drawn to a method for measuring fibroblast growth factor-23 (hereinafter indicated as FGF-23) in a sample, wherein the method comprises the steps of: (1) reacting, in an aqueous medium, FGF-23 in a sample with a magnetic particle, a first antibody or a fragment thereof which binds to FGF-23, and a second antibody or a fragment thereof which binds to FGF-23, to form on the magnetic particle an immunocomplex comprising the first antibody or a fragment thereof which binds to FGF-23, FGF-23, and the second antibody or a fragment thereof which binds to FGF-23, wherein the sample comprises FGF-23 in a concentration ranging from 1,000 pg/mL to 10,000 pg/mL; (2) collecting the magnetic particle in the reaction mixture after step (1) by magnetic force, and separating the magnetic particle collected by magnetic force from the other components; and (3) measuring the immunocomplex on the magnetic particle separated in step (2).
The claims of 366 are drawn to A method for measuring fibroblast growth factor-23 (FGF-23) in a sample, which comprises the steps of: (1) reacting in a first aqueous medium, a sample and a first antibody produced by FERM BP-7838 hybridoma or an antibody fragment thereof which binds to FGF-23 to produce Immunocomplex 1 consisting of FGF-23 and the first antibody or the antibody fragment thereof which binds to FGF-23; (2) reacting in a second aqueous medium, a second antibody produced by FERM BP-7839 hybridoma or an antibody fragment thereof which binds to FGF-23 with Immunocomplex 1 produced in the aforementioned step (1) to produce Immunocomplex 2 consisting of the first antibody or the antibody fragment thereof which binds to FGF-23, FGF-23, and the second antibody or the antibody fragment thereof which binds to FGF-23; and (3) measuring Immunocomplex 2 produced in the aforementioned step (2); wherein the first aqueous medium comprises at least one type of surfactant selected from the group consisting of NONION E-230, NONION K-220, PLONON 208, and NEWCOL 740, or the first aqueous medium comprises at least one type of surfactant selected from the group consisting of NONION E-230, NONION K-220, PLONON 208, and NEWCOL 740 and the second aqueous medium is the same as first aqueous medium.
Therefore it would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention the claims of 366 were a species which anticipates the instant claims.
Claims 1-4 rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-21 of U.S. Patent No. 10,422,796. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because they are coextensive in scope.
Instant claims are drawn to a method for measuring fibroblast growth factor-23 (hereinafter indicated as FGF-23) in a sample, wherein the method comprises the steps of: (1) reacting, in an aqueous medium, FGF-23 in a sample with a magnetic particle, a first antibody or a fragment thereof which binds to FGF-23, and a second antibody or a fragment thereof which binds to FGF-23, to form on the magnetic particle an immunocomplex comprising the first antibody or a fragment thereof which binds to FGF-23, FGF-23, and the second antibody or a fragment thereof which binds to FGF-23, wherein the sample comprises FGF-23 in a concentration ranging from 1,000 pg/mL to 10,000 pg/mL; (2) collecting the magnetic particle in the reaction mixture after step (1) by magnetic force, and separating the magnetic particle collected by magnetic force from the other components; and (3) measuring the immunocomplex on the magnetic particle separated in step (2).
The claims of 796 are drawn A method for measuring fibroblast growth factor-23 (FGF23) in a serum or plasma sample, comprising: (1) simultaneously reacting, in an aqueous medium, FGF23 in the sample with (i) a magnetic particle, (ii) a first antibody which binds to FGF23, and (iii) a second antibody which binds to FGF23, to form on the magnetic particle an immunocomplex comprising the first antibody, FGF23, and the second antibody in a reaction mixture, wherein the first antibody is an anti-FGF-23 monoclonal antibody produced by hybridoma deposited as FERM BP-7838, and the second antibody is an anti-FGF-23 monoclonal antibody Fab or Fab′ fragment produced by digesting anti-FGF23 monoclonal antibody produced by the hybridoma deposited as FERM BP-7839, the magnetic particle does not directly immobilize the first antibody; and one of two substances with affinity to each other is fixed to the magnetic particle and the other of the two substances with affinity to each other is bound to the first antibody, (2) collecting the magnetic particle after step (1) by magnetic force, and separating the magnetic particle collected by magnetic force from the other components; and (3) measuring the immunocomplex on the magnetic particle separated in step (2).
Therefore it would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention the claims of 796 were a species which anticipates the instant claims.
Claims 1-4 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-7 of U.S. Patent No12,092,637. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because they are coextensive in scope.
Instant claims are drawn to a method for measuring fibroblast growth factor-23 (hereinafter indicated as FGF-23) in a sample, wherein the method comprises the steps of: (1) reacting, in an aqueous medium, FGF-23 in a sample with a magnetic particle, a first antibody or a fragment thereof which binds to FGF-23, and a second antibody or a fragment thereof which binds to FGF-23, to form on the magnetic particle an immunocomplex comprising the first antibody or a fragment thereof which binds to FGF-23, FGF-23, and the second antibody or a fragment thereof which binds to FGF-23, wherein the sample comprises FGF-23 in a concentration ranging from 1,000 pg/mL to 10,000 pg/mL; (2) collecting the magnetic particle in the reaction mixture after step (1) by magnetic force, and separating the magnetic particle collected by magnetic force from the other components; and (3) measuring the immunocomplex on the magnetic particle separated in step (2).
The claims of 637 are drawn A method for measuring fibroblast growth factor-23 (FGF-23) in a sample, wherein the method comprises the steps of: (1) reacting, in an aqueous medium, FGF-23 in a sample with a magnetic particle bonded with a first antibody or a fragment thereof which binds to FGF-23, and a second antibody or a fragment thereof which binds to FGF-23, to form on the magnetic particle an immunocomplex comprising the first antibody or a fragment thereof which binds to FGF-23, FGF-23, and the second antibody or a fragment thereof which binds to FGF-23, wherein the sample comprises FGF-23 in a concentration ranging from 5 pg/mL to 10,000 pg/mL; (2) collecting the magnetic particle in the reaction mixture after step (1) by magnetic force, and separating the magnetic particle collected by magnetic force from the other components; and (3) measuring the immunocomplex on the magnetic particle separated in step (2)..
Therefore it would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention the claims of 637 were a species which anticipates the instant claims.
Summary
No claims are allowed.
Conclusion
/Steven Pohnert/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1683