DETAILED ACTION
Status of the Claims
Claims 1-28 are currently pending.
Double Patenting
Claims 1-28 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1 and 3-6 of U.S. Patent No. 12,100,287 in view of US Patent Application Publication No. 2010/0211192 (Stluka et al.).
Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the patented claim discloses causing by a computing device located external to the premises, storage of event data comprising at least one alarm event associated with a premise system located at the premises and at least one non-alarm event associated with the premises (sending, by the computing device and to a server device located external to the premises, the alarm event and the one or more non-alarm events, wherein the alarm event and the one or more non-alarm event are stored in a data store external to the premises), receiving a search parameter associated with the alarm event (determining, by a computing device located at a premises, an alarm event associated with a premise system located at the premises); and causing, based on the search parameter, output of at least a portion of the at least one non-alarm event (one or more non-alarm events associated with the premises system that occur within the threshold time period of the alarm event; and sending, by the computing device and to a server device located external to the premises, the alarm event and the one or more non-alarm events, wherein the alarm event and the one or more non-alarm event are stored in a data store external to the premises). The patented claim does not explicitly disclose “based on user input”. However, Stluka discloses an alarm system wherein [0032] filters or properties can include searching for a specific order of alarms or searching specific time intervals related to equipment trips or other events of interest. Using these filters and properties, the alarm rationalization tool 144 can perform a search through the collected history of events to identify groups of alarms satisfying the user's search parameters. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to modify Naidoo and when a user inputs a search parameter for an alarm event, return not only alarm event information, but also non-alarm event information around the time of the alarm event. This is an obvious modification to allow the user to search for not only alarm information, but get all the sensed information around the time of the requested alarm event to provide context to the user. As to dependent claims, see claim mapping below.
Instant Application No. 18/806,202
US Patent No. 12,100,287
1. A method comprising: causing, by a computing device located external to a premises, storage of event data comprising at least one alarm event associated with a premise system located at the premises and at least one non-alarm event associated with the premises; receiving, based on user input, a search parameter associated with the alarm event; and causing, based on the search parameter, output of at least a portion of the at least one non-alarm event.
1. A method comprising: determining, by a computing device located at a premises, an alarm event associated with a premise system located at the premises; determining, by the computing device, a threshold time period associated with the alarm event; determining, by the computing device, one or more non-alarm events associated with the premises system that occur within the threshold time period of the alarm event; and sending, by the computing device and to a server device located external to the premises, the alarm event and the one or more non-alarm events, wherein the alarm event and the one or more non-alarm event are stored in a data store external to the premises.
2. The method of claim 1, wherein the search parameter comprises one or more of a time period before the alarm event or a time period after the alarm event.
1. A method comprising: determining, by a computing device located at a premises, an alarm event associated with a premise system located at the premises; determining, by the computing device, a threshold time period associated with the alarm event; determining, by the computing device, one or more non-alarm events associated with the premises system that occur within the threshold time period of the alarm event; and sending, by the computing device and to a server device located external to the premises, the alarm event and the one or more non-alarm events, wherein the alarm event and the one or more non-alarm event are stored in a data store external to the premises.
3. The method of claim 1, wherein the search parameter comprises an indication of a threshold time period associated with the alarm event.
1. A method comprising: determining, by a computing device located at a premises, an alarm event associated with a premise system located at the premises; determining, by the computing device, a threshold time period associated with the alarm event; determining, by the computing device, one or more non-alarm events associated with the premises system that occur within the threshold time period of the alarm event; and sending, by the computing device and to a server device located external to the premises, the alarm event and the one or more non-alarm events, wherein the alarm event and the one or more non-alarm event are stored in a data store external to the premises.
4. The method of claim 1, wherein the at least one non-alarm event comprises at least one of a sensor event, a time delay event, a loss of communication event, a restoration of communication event, a disarming event, or an arming event.
3. The method of claim 1, wherein the one or more non-alarm events comprises at least one of a time delay event, a loss of communication event, a restoration of communication event, a disarming event, or an arming event.
5. The method of claim 1, wherein receiving the search parameter comprises receiving the search parameter via a user interface allowing for a user to enter the search parameter to select, from among a plurality of events, events relevant to an alarm event.
4. The method of claim 1, wherein a user interface allows filtering the non-alarm events stored in the data store external to the premises based on one or more filtering conditions.
6. The method of claim 1, further comprising sending, based on receiving the search parameter, one or more notification messages comprising the alarm event.
6. The method of claim 1, wherein a notification is caused to be sent, by one or more of the computing device or the server device, to an additional computing device based on the alarm event and the one or more non-alarm events.
7. The method of claim 1, wherein causing storage of the event data is based on receiving the event data by a gateway device located at the premises and configured to communicate with an alarm system at the premises.
1. A method comprising: determining, by a computing device located at a premises, an alarm event associated with a premise system located at the premises; determining, by the computing device, a threshold time period associated with the alarm event; determining, by the computing device, one or more non-alarm events associated with the premises system that occur within the threshold time period of the alarm event; and sending, by the computing device and to a server device located external to the premises, the alarm event and the one or more non-alarm events, wherein the alarm event and the one or more non-alarm event are stored in a data store external to the premises.
5. The method of claim 1, wherein the computing device comprises one or more of a gateway device or a premises system controller.
8. A device comprising: one or more processors; and memory storing instructions that, when executed by the one or more processors, cause the device to: cause, external to a premises, storage of event data comprising at least one alarm event associated with a premise system located at the premises and at least one non-alarm event associated with the premises; receive, based on user input, a search parameter associated with the alarm event; and cause, based on the search parameter, output of at least a portion of the at least one non-alarm event.
1. A method comprising: determining, by a computing device located at a premises, an alarm event associated with a premise system located at the premises; determining, by the computing device, a threshold time period associated with the alarm event; determining, by the computing device, one or more non-alarm events associated with the premises system that occur within the threshold time period of the alarm event; and sending, by the computing device and to a server device located external to the premises, the alarm event and the one or more non-alarm events, wherein the alarm event and the one or more non-alarm event are stored in a data store external to the premises.
9. The device of claim 8, wherein the search parameter comprises one or more of a time period before the alarm event or a time period after the alarm event.
1. A method comprising: determining, by a computing device located at a premises, an alarm event associated with a premise system located at the premises; determining, by the computing device, a threshold time period associated with the alarm event; determining, by the computing device, one or more non-alarm events associated with the premises system that occur within the threshold time period of the alarm event; and sending, by the computing device and to a server device located external to the premises, the alarm event and the one or more non-alarm events, wherein the alarm event and the one or more non-alarm event are stored in a data store external to the premises.
10. The device of claim 8, wherein the search parameter comprises an indication of a threshold time period associated with the alarm event.
1. A method comprising: determining, by a computing device located at a premises, an alarm event associated with a premise system located at the premises; determining, by the computing device, a threshold time period associated with the alarm event; determining, by the computing device, one or more non-alarm events associated with the premises system that occur within the threshold time period of the alarm event; and sending, by the computing device and to a server device located external to the premises, the alarm event and the one or more non-alarm events, wherein the alarm event and the one or more non-alarm event are stored in a data store external to the premises.
11. The device of claim 8, wherein the at least one non-alarm event comprises at least one of a sensor event, a time delay event, a loss of communication event, a restoration of communication event, a disarming event, or an arming event.
3. The method of claim 1, wherein the one or more non-alarm events comprises at least one of a time delay event, a loss of communication event, a restoration of communication event, a disarming event, or an arming event.
12. The device of claim 8, wherein the instructions that, when executed by the one or more processors, cause the device to receive the search parameter comprises instructions that, when executed by the one or more processors, cause the device to receive the search parameter via a user interface allowing for a user to enter the search parameter to select, from among a plurality of events, events relevant to an alarm event.
4. The method of claim 1, wherein a user interface allows filtering the non-alarm events stored in the data store external to the premises based on one or more filtering conditions.
13. The device of claim 8, wherein the instructions, when executed by the one or more processors, further cause the device to send, based on receiving the search parameter, one or more notification messages comprising the alarm event.
6. The method of claim 1, wherein a notification is caused to be sent, by one or more of the computing device or the server device, to an additional computing device based on the alarm event and the one or more non-alarm events.
14. The device of claim 8, wherein the instructions that, when executed by the one or more processors, cause the device to cause storage of the event data comprises instructions that, when executed by the one or more processors, cause the device to cause storage of the event data based on receiving the event data by a gateway device located at the premises and configured to communicate with an alarm system at the premises.
1. A method comprising: determining, by a computing device located at a premises, an alarm event associated with a premise system located at the premises; determining, by the computing device, a threshold time period associated with the alarm event; determining, by the computing device, one or more non-alarm events associated with the premises system that occur within the threshold time period of the alarm event; and sending, by the computing device and to a server device located external to the premises, the alarm event and the one or more non-alarm events, wherein the alarm event and the one or more non-alarm event are stored in a data store external to the premises.
5. The method of claim 1, wherein the computing device comprises one or more of a gateway device or a premises system controller.
15. A non-transitory computer-readable medium storing computer-executable instructions that, when executed, cause: cause, by a computing device located external to a premises, storage of event data comprising at least one alarm event associated with a premise system located at the premises and at least one non-alarm event associated with the premises; receive, based on user input, a search parameter associated with the alarm event; and cause, based on the search parameter, output of at least a portion of the at least one non-alarm event.
1. A method comprising: determining, by a computing device located at a premises, an alarm event associated with a premise system located at the premises; determining, by the computing device, a threshold time period associated with the alarm event; determining, by the computing device, one or more non-alarm events associated with the premises system that occur within the threshold time period of the alarm event; and sending, by the computing device and to a server device located external to the premises, the alarm event and the one or more non-alarm events, wherein the alarm event and the one or more non-alarm event are stored in a data store external to the premises.
16. The non-transitory computer-readable medium of claim 15, wherein the search parameter comprises one or more of a time period before the alarm event or a time period after the alarm event.
1. A method comprising: determining, by a computing device located at a premises, an alarm event associated with a premise system located at the premises; determining, by the computing device, a threshold time period associated with the alarm event; determining, by the computing device, one or more non-alarm events associated with the premises system that occur within the threshold time period of the alarm event; and sending, by the computing device and to a server device located external to the premises, the alarm event and the one or more non-alarm events, wherein the alarm event and the one or more non-alarm event are stored in a data store external to the premises.
17. The non-transitory computer-readable medium of claim 15, wherein the search parameter comprises an indication of a threshold time period associated with the alarm event.
1. A method comprising: determining, by a computing device located at a premises, an alarm event associated with a premise system located at the premises; determining, by the computing device, a threshold time period associated with the alarm event; determining, by the computing device, one or more non-alarm events associated with the premises system that occur within the threshold time period of the alarm event; and sending, by the computing device and to a server device located external to the premises, the alarm event and the one or more non-alarm events, wherein the alarm event and the one or more non-alarm event are stored in a data store external to the premises.
18. The non-transitory computer-readable medium of claim 15, wherein the at least one non-alarm event comprises at least one of a sensor event, a time delay event, a loss of communication event, a restoration of communication event, a disarming event, or an arming event.
3. The method of claim 1, wherein the one or more non-alarm events comprises at least one of a time delay event, a loss of communication event, a restoration of communication event, a disarming event, or an arming event.
19. The non-transitory computer-readable medium of claim 15, wherein receiving the search parameter comprises receiving the search parameter via a user interface allowing for a user to enter the search parameter to select, from among a plurality of events, events relevant to an alarm event.
4. The method of claim 1, wherein a user interface allows filtering the non-alarm events stored in the data store external to the premises based on one or more filtering conditions.
20. The non-transitory computer-readable medium of claim 15, wherein the instructions, when executed, further cause sending, based on receiving the search parameter, one or more notification messages comprising the alarm event.
6. The method of claim 1, wherein a notification is caused to be sent, by one or more of the computing device or the server device, to an additional computing device based on the alarm event and the one or more non-alarm events.
21. The non-transitory computer-readable medium of claim 15, wherein causing storage of the event data is based on receiving the event data by a gateway device located at the premises and configured to communicate with an alarm system at the premises.
1. A method comprising: determining, by a computing device located at a premises, an alarm event associated with a premise system located at the premises; determining, by the computing device, a threshold time period associated with the alarm event; determining, by the computing device, one or more non-alarm events associated with the premises system that occur within the threshold time period of the alarm event; and sending, by the computing device and to a server device located external to the premises, the alarm event and the one or more non-alarm events, wherein the alarm event and the one or more non-alarm event are stored in a data store external to the premises.
5. The method of claim 1, wherein the computing device comprises one or more of a gateway device or a premises system controller.
22. A system comprising: a gateway device located at a premises and configured to communicate with a premises system located at the premises; and a computing device located external to the premises and configured to: cause storage of event data comprising at least one alarm event associated with the premise system and at least one non-alarm event associated with the premises; receive, based on user input, a search parameter associated with the alarm event; and cause, based on the search parameter, output of at least a portion of the at least one non-alarm event.
1. A method comprising: determining, by a computing device located at a premises, an alarm event associated with a premise system located at the premises; determining, by the computing device, a threshold time period associated with the alarm event; determining, by the computing device, one or more non-alarm events associated with the premises system that occur within the threshold time period of the alarm event; and sending, by the computing device and to a server device located external to the premises, the alarm event and the one or more non-alarm events, wherein the alarm event and the one or more non-alarm event are stored in a data store external to the premises.
23. The system of claim 22, wherein the search parameter comprises one or more of a time period before the alarm event or a time period after the alarm event.
1. A method comprising: determining, by a computing device located at a premises, an alarm event associated with a premise system located at the premises; determining, by the computing device, a threshold time period associated with the alarm event; determining, by the computing device, one or more non-alarm events associated with the premises system that occur within the threshold time period of the alarm event; and sending, by the computing device and to a server device located external to the premises, the alarm event and the one or more non-alarm events, wherein the alarm event and the one or more non-alarm event are stored in a data store external to the premises.
24. The system of claim 22, wherein the search parameter comprises an indication of a threshold time period associated with the alarm event.
1. A method comprising: determining, by a computing device located at a premises, an alarm event associated with a premise system located at the premises; determining, by the computing device, a threshold time period associated with the alarm event; determining, by the computing device, one or more non-alarm events associated with the premises system that occur within the threshold time period of the alarm event; and sending, by the computing device and to a server device located external to the premises, the alarm event and the one or more non-alarm events, wherein the alarm event and the one or more non-alarm event are stored in a data store external to the premises.
25. The system of claim 22, wherein the at least one non-alarm event comprises at least one of a sensor event, a time delay event, a loss of communication event, a restoration of communication event, a disarming event, or an arming event.
3. The method of claim 1, wherein the one or more non-alarm events comprises at least one of a time delay event, a loss of communication event, a restoration of communication event, a disarming event, or an arming event.
26. The system of claim 22, wherein the computing device is configured to receive the search parameter based on receiving the search parameter via a user interface allowing for a user to enter the search parameter to select, from among a plurality of events, events relevant to an alarm event.
4. The method of claim 1, wherein a user interface allows filtering the non-alarm events stored in the data store external to the premises based on one or more filtering conditions
27. The system of claim 22, wherein the computing device is further configured to send, based on receiving the search parameter, one or more notification messages comprising the alarm event.
6. The method of claim 1, wherein a notification is caused to be sent, by one or more of the computing device or the server device, to an additional computing device based on the alarm event and the one or more non-alarm events.
28. The system of claim 22, wherein the computing device is configured to cause storage of the event data based on receiving the event data from the gateway device.
1. A method comprising: determining, by a computing device located at a premises, an alarm event associated with a premise system located at the premises; determining, by the computing device, a threshold time period associated with the alarm event; determining, by the computing device, one or more non-alarm events associated with the premises system that occur within the threshold time period of the alarm event; and sending, by the computing device and to a server device located external to the premises, the alarm event and the one or more non-alarm events, wherein the alarm event and the one or more non-alarm event are stored in a data store external to the premises.
5. The method of claim 1, wherein the computing device comprises one or more of a gateway device or a premises system controller.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
Claims 1-28 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to an abstract idea – collecting/storing event data - without significantly more. Specifically, claims 1, 8, 15, and 22 recite(s) causing…storage of event data…, receiving…a search parameter…., and causing…output of at least a portion of the at least one non-alarm event. This judicial exception is not integrated into a practical application because the claimed invention is directed merely to collecting, storing, and outputting event data. The claim(s) does/do not include additional elements that are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception as the only additional recited elements are generic computing devices.
Claims 2, 3, 9, 10, 16, 17, 23, and 24 do not add significantly more because specifying a specific search parameter of a certain time period is only specifying which selected data to receive, store, and output.
Claims 4, 11, 18, and 25 do not add significantly more because specifying the type of alarm event does not add significantly more than receiving, storing, and outputting data.
Claims 5, 12, 19, and 26 do not add significantly more because allowing a user to input data does not add significantly more than receiving, storing, and outputting data.
Claims 6, 13, 20, and 27 do not add significantly more because sending one or more notifications does not add significantly more than outputting data.
Claims 7, 14, 21, and 28 do not add significantly more because causing storage of data by receiving event data by a gateway device does not add significantly more because the additional recited element is a generic computing device.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
(a) A patent may not be obtained though the invention is not identically disclosed or described as set forth in section 102, if the differences between the subject matter sought to be patented and the prior art are such that the subject matter as a whole would have been obvious at the time the invention was made to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which said subject matter pertains. Patentability shall not be negated by the manner in which the invention was made.
Claims 1-4, 6-11, 13-18, 20-25, 27, and 28 is/are rejected under pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 103(a) as being unpatentable over US Patent No. 6,658,091 (Naidoo et al.) in view of US Patent Application Publication No. 2010/0211192 (Stluka et al.).
Regarding claims 1, 8, and 15, Naidoo discloses a method (and device and non-transitory computer-readable medium storing computer-executable instructions that, when executed, cause)) comprising:
One or more processors (Fig. 3 and 4); and
Memory storing instructions that, when executed by the one or more processors, cause the device to (Fig. 3 and 4)
causing, by a computing device located external to a premises, storage of event data comprising at least one alarm event associated with a premise system located at the premises (Col. 16, lines 47-51; Automation system server 420 is generally configured to store customer data, for example contact information, billing information, passwords, as well as alarm history. Alternatively, some or all of this information may be stored in monitoring client 133 or at another remote site) and at least one non-alarm event associated with the premises (continuous caching of audiovisual data while the security system 100 is armed; if the security system 100 is armed and one of the sensors 105 is triggered, the segment of cached audiovisual data immediately prior to, during, and immediately following the triggering of the sensor 105 is stored in memory, preferably located in the security gateway 115 for privacy reasons, or in another storage device that is operatively coupled to the security gateway 115 via a network; Col. 8, lines 28-50; Col. 16, lines 47-63, Automation system server 420 may also serve as a workflow system for operators responding to alarm conditions, as well as a log of all monitoring activity. In an exemplary embodiment, automation system server 420 is a database application based on, for example Microsoft SQL Server 7, running under Windows NT. CMS personnel may interface with automation system server 420 over the network via a client application, which may be built into monitoring client 133);
receiving, based on user input, a parameter associated with the alarm event; and causing, based on the parameter, output of at least a portion of the at least one non-alarm event (If the alarm system is triggered, the monitoring agent can in substantially real time access the various non-alarm audiovisual events. The non-alarm information is used by the monitoring agent to provide contextual information surrounding an actual alarm event; Col. 8, lines 55-65).
Naidoo fails to explicitly disclose receiving a search parameter associated with the alarm event.
Stluka discloses an alarm system wherein [0032] filters or properties can include searching for a specific order of alarms or searching specific time intervals related to equipment trips or other events of interest. Using these filters and properties, the alarm rationalization tool 144 can perform a search through the collected history of events to identify groups of alarms satisfying the user's search parameters. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to modify Naidoo and when a user inputs a search parameter for an alarm event, return not only alarm event information, but also non-alarm event information around the time of the alarm event. This is an obvious modification to allow the user to search for not only alarm information, but get all the sensed information around the time of the requested alarm event to provide context to the user.
Regarding claims 2, 3, 9, 10, 16, 17, 23, and 24, Stluka further discloses wherein the search parameter comprises one or more of a time period before the alarm event or a time period after the alarm event and wherein the search parameter comprises an indication of a threshold time period associated with the alarm event (Stluka discloses an alarm system wherein [0032] filters or properties can include searching for a specific order of alarms or searching specific time intervals related to equipment trips or other events of interest. Using these filters and properties, the alarm rationalization tool 144 can perform a search through the collected history of events to identify groups of alarms satisfying the user's search parameters. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to search for alarms during a specific time period of interest, whether that be before or after the alarm, or a specific threshold time period.
Regarding claims 4, 11, 18, and 25, Naidoo further discloses wherein the at least one non-alarm event comprises at least one of a sensor event, a time delay event, a loss of communication event, a restoration of communication event, a disarming event, or an arming event (continuous caching of audiovisual data while the security system 100 is armed; if the security system 100 is armed and one of the sensors 105 is triggered, the segment of cached audiovisual data immediately prior to, during, and immediately following the triggering of the sensor 105 is stored in memory, preferably located in the security gateway 115 for privacy reasons, or in another storage device that is operatively coupled to the security gateway 115 via a network; Col. 8, lines 28-50; Col. 16, lines 47-63; thus Examiner considers the non-alarm event to be the audiovisual data surrounding the triggered sensor event).
Regarding claims 6, 13, 20, and 27, Stluka further discloses sending, based on receiving the search parameter, one or more notification messages comprising the alarm event ([0033] the search results can be processed and presented to the user. For example, the presented results may summarize the alarm groups that have been identified). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to modify Naidoo with this feature of Stluka and allow a user to search alarm data and present alarm data to the user for review.
Regarding claims 7, 14, 21, and 28, Naidoo further discloses wherein causing storage of the event data is based on receiving the event data by a gateway device located at the premises and configured to communicate with an alarm system at the premises (Figs. 1 and 2; (continuous caching of audiovisual data while the security system 100 is armed; if the security system 100 is armed and one of the sensors 105 is triggered, the segment of cached audiovisual data immediately prior to, during, and immediately following the triggering of the sensor 105 is stored in memory, preferably located in the security gateway 115 for privacy reasons, or in another storage device that is operatively coupled to the security gateway 115 via a network; Col. 8, lines 28-50; Col. 16, lines 47-63).
Regarding claim 22, Naidoo discloses a system comprising:
A gateway device located at a premises and configured to communicate with a premises system located at the premises (Fig. 2; 115); and
A computing device located external to the premises (Fig. 2-4) and configured to:
Cause storage of event data comprising at least one alarm event associated with the premise system ((Col. 16, lines 47-51; Automation system server 420 is generally configured to store customer data, for example contact information, billing information, passwords, as well as alarm history. Alternatively, some or all of this information may be stored in monitoring client 133 or at another remote site) and at least one non-alarm event associated with the premises (continuous caching of audiovisual data while the security system 100 is armed; if the security system 100 is armed and one of the sensors 105 is triggered, the segment of cached audiovisual data immediately prior to, during, and immediately following the triggering of the sensor 105 is stored in memory, preferably located in the security gateway 115 for privacy reasons, or in another storage device that is operatively coupled to the security gateway 115 via a network; Col. 8, lines 28-50; Col. 16, lines 47-63 Automation system server 420 may also serve as a workflow system for operators responding to alarm conditions, as well as a log of all monitoring activity. In an exemplary embodiment, automation system server 420 is a database application based on, for example Microsoft SQL Server 7, running under Windows NT. CMS personnel may interface with automation system server 420 over the network via a client application, which may be built into monitoring client 133);
Receive, based on user input, a parameter associated with the alarm event; and
Cause, based on the parameter, output of at least a portion of the at least one non-alarm event (If the alarm system is triggered, the monitoring agent can in substantially real time access the various non-alarm audiovisual events. The non-alarm information is used by the monitoring agent to provide contextual information surrounding an actual alarm event; Col. 8, lines 55-65).
Naidoo fails to explicitly disclose receiving a search parameter associated with the alarm event.
Stluka discloses an alarm system wherein [0032] filters or properties can include searching for a specific order of alarms or searching specific time intervals related to equipment trips or other events of interest. Using these filters and properties, the alarm rationalization tool 144 can perform a search through the collected history of events to identify groups of alarms satisfying the user's search parameters. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to modify Naidoo and when a user inputs a search parameter for an alarm event, return not only alarm event information, but also non-alarm event information around the time of the alarm event. This is an obvious modification to allow the user to search for not only alarm information, but get all the sensed information around the time of the requested alarm event to provide context to the user.
Conclusion
Claims 5, 12, 19, and 26 have no prior art rejections, but are not allowable if rewritten in independent form due to the 101 and double patenting rejections as discussed above.
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure:
US 8,675,071 (Slavin et al.) discloses a video monitoring and alarm verification technology
US 8,269,623 (Addy) discloses method and apparatus for Interrogation of a Security System
/KERRI L MCNALLY/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2686