DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 6 and 9 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Dong US 20240178621.
Regarding claim 6, Dong US 20240178621 discloses a head-mounted device, comprising:
a frame (frame of 10 in Fig. 6);
an optical module (510 in Fig. 1) connected to the frame (frame of 10), the optical module (510) configured to display content to a user wearing the head-mounted device;
a control board (400 in Fig. 4) connected to the frame (frame of 10);
a flexible cable (200 in Fig. 4) having a first end and a second end, the flexible cable (200) being electrically connected to the control board (400) at the first end and electrically connected to the optical module (510) at the second end; and
a grounding tab (300) that is in contact with an exterior surface of the flexible cable (200) adjacent to the first end of the flexible cable (200), connects the flexible cable (200) to the frame (frame of 10), and defines low impedance path from the exterior surface of the flexible cable (200) to the frame (frame of 10).
Regarding claim 9, Dong US 20240178621 discloses the head-mounted device of claim 6, wherein: the optical module (510) is configured to translate relative to the frame (frame of 10); and
the control board (400) is fixed relative to the frame (frame of 10).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 1-5 and 10-23 are allowed.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter:
Regarding claim 1, the prior art of record, taken alone or in combination, fails to teach or fairly suggest, in combining with other limitations recited in the claim, a combination of limitations that “an antenna configured to receive other signals from a source, the antenna having an antenna grounding path in conductive communication with the grounding member and the frame to direct the electrical charge from the grounding member to the frame through the antenna grounding path”.
None of the reference art of record discloses or renders obvious such a combination.
Claims 2-5 depending from claim 1 are therefore allowable.
Regarding claim 10, the prior art of record, taken alone or in combination, fails to teach or fairly suggest, in combining with other limitations recited in the claim, a combination of limitations that “a flexible cable having a first end and a second end, the flexible cable being electrically connected to the control board at the first end and electrically connected to the optical module at the second end;
a conductive gasket in contact with an exterior of the flexible cable adjacent to the first end of the flexible cable to define a first low impedance path from the flexible cable to a grounding path of the control board; and
a grounding member that defines a second low impedance path from the grounding path of the control board to the frame”.
None of the reference art of record discloses or renders obvious such a combination.
Claims 11-16 depending from claim 10 are therefore allowable.
Regarding claim 17, the prior art of record, taken alone or in combination, fails to teach or fairly suggest, in combining with other limitations recited in the claim, a combination of limitations that “a flexible electrical connector electrically coupled to the optical module connector and to the control board connector,
the flexible electrical connector configured to transmit a signal between the optical module and the control board; and
a grounding cable configured to direct an electrical charge to the frame, wherein the grounding cable includes a non-insulated conductor that extends along a portion of the flexible electrical connector”.
None of the reference art of record discloses or renders obvious such a combination.
Claims 18-23 depending from claim 17 are therefore allowable.
Claims 7-8 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter:
Regarding claim 7, the prior art of record, taken alone or in combination, fails to teach or fairly suggest, in combining with other limitations recited in claim 6, a combination of limitations that “wherein the grounding tab includes a collar that extends around the flexible cable to secure the grounding tab to the flexible cable”.
None of the reference art of record discloses or renders obvious such a combination.
Regarding claim 8, the prior art of record, taken alone or in combination, fails to teach or fairly suggest, in combining with other limitations recited in claim 6, a combination of limitations that “wherein: the flexible cable comprises micro-coaxial cables, the micro-coaxial cables are arranged laterally adjacent to one another at the first end for connection to the control board, and are arranged laterally adjacent to one another at the second end for connection to the optical module, the micro-coaxial cables are arranged in a bundle to define a central portion of the flexible cable between the first end and the second end, and the grounding tab is connected to the flexible cable along the central portion of the flexible cable”.
None of the reference art of record discloses or renders obvious such a combination.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Tempel US 20160366399, Su US 11388813, Miglietta US 20240334666, Howell US 12078870, Miller US 20030067585, Guo US 20170090201, and Yoshida US 20220128824 are cited as teaching some elements of the claimed invention including a grounding component, a ground wire, a shield, an inner chassis and/or a frame.
/CHRISTOPHER L AUGUSTIN/Examiner, Art Unit 2841 /IMANI N HAYMAN/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2841